Matfield D-Day looms
22 Apr 2008
Victor Matfield will decide this week whether to return to the Bulls or stay with French second division club Toulon.
Matfield, widely regarded as the world’s best lock, joined big spending Toulon in December 2007 on a multi-million rand deal. He does, however, have a clause in his contract that allows him to reassess his position after six months.
In a recent interview with SA Rugby magazine Matfield hinted strongly that he would like to return to play for the Bulls, but said his earning potential and being able to spend more time with his family was the appealing thing about staying in the southern French city.
“Two or three seasons here would set me up for life financially and being able to see [his wife] Monja and [daughter] Jaime everyday is something I’m loving,” he said.
“[But] I think I made the move to France two years to early. The decision to come here was based on the fact that I believed I had two years of international rugby left in me. In my mind the Lions tour in 2009 was going to be my final series, so I decided that it would be good to finish by experiencing a different rugby culture and be paid handsomely for it in the process. Then, after the World Cup, I felt great, and at this stage I want to play for another four years, with the World Cup in New Zealand the obvious target. If I want to realise that goal I need to be playing my rugby in South Africa.
Asked whether the incessant pressure he was under in South Africa wouldn’t deter him from coming home Matfield said: “You’d think that I grew tired of it, but I really miss the pressure for some strange reason.
“To test yourself against the world’s best players weekly is a privilege, and something that I miss terribly. Toulon is a great club and I‘m still dead set on playing my part in getting us into the Top 14. They’ve been very good to me, and for that I’ll be eternally grateful. But the Bulls have a special place in my heart. I miss what we’ve built up over the last eight years. The majority of that squad went through hell in the early 2000s in the (then) Super 12. We came through that together, and won the competition last year. So there’s a strong bond between the guys.
“If I can get stuff sorted out with Toulon and back in South Africa I’ll probably be coming home.”
Last year, South Africa lost a host of World Cup winning Springboks to lucrative contracts with European clubs and there are currently 93 other South Africans playing in the Premiership, French Top 14 and Frennch Pro 2 Division. Matfield said players who sign to play in Europe have to be clear in their motivation.
“If they’re coming here for the retirement package and more time with their families, there really isn’t a better place than France, Toulon in particular. But if they still have ambitions to achieve something in South Africa, those “what if” questions will always be there. Those questions have haunted me a lot since I‘ve been here.”
Toulon are known to be very reluctant to release their star signing, hoping that he will be their trump card if they gain promotion to the Top 14 – which now looks likely with them seven points clear at the top of the table with six rounds remaining. It would not be surprising if millionaire club president Mourad Boudjellal offered to improve Matfield’s current deal to retain his services.
Boudjellal told SA Rugby Magazine that he envisages creating a team of stars who are able to compete for the title in their first year in the Top 14. Toulon, who are coached by Tana Umaga, already boast players of the calibre of George Gregan, Anton Oliver and Andrew Mehrtens. Last year they attempted to sign Schalk Burger and Jerry Collins but were rejected, while an approach was made to Bulls Super 14 winning coach Heyneke Meyer. Most recently they’ve been linked with Dan Carter, although French giants Toulouse look favourites to land the All Black flyhalf.
Matfield’s Springbok lock partner Bakkies Botha recently expressed his desire to move join Matfield at Toulon. Boudjellal told keo.co.za that he had signed a pre-contract agreement, committing himself to the club from 1 April 2008. However, the Bulls refused to release Botha, who last year signed a four year extension to his existing Bulls contract.

301 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All
22 Apr 2008, 15:36 pm
You go Tacitus!
Sock it to ‘em!
22 Apr 2008, 15:37 pm
#247 katman: 1995 – World Champs.
No denying we sucked 1998 – 2002 but we can not allow ourselves to go back to that time.
Going from being champs in 2007 to the rubbish in 2008 is like walking into the promised land and finding the place inhabited by Aussies.
This is quite hilarious, me and Klipspinnekop are engaging in some statistical karate!
22 Apr 2008, 15:39 pm
Julle kan probeer maar julle sal nooit vir Tacitus buig nie.
22 Apr 2008, 15:40 pm
248-Nice one-about what I suspected.
22 Apr 2008, 15:44 pm
#248 WP Till I Die: Looks quite similar to the current table?
22 Apr 2008, 15:44 pm
You have a rather disturbing fixation with Tinkerbelles china.
By your use of the word I am assuming you are saying that Bobby and Percy are weak and fragile folk.
Are you perhaps forgetting that Percy played over half the world cup final with torn knee ligaments and performed like a Trojan, kicking all his goals and staying immensely calm under pressure. If that’s a tinkerbelle I wanna be one too
22 Apr 2008, 15:45 pm
Stats can say anything…….
Face it, this year the Bulls are kaaaaaaaaaaak, last year the Stormers were kaaaaaaak.
What is important is that we do not accept that the Bulls are now kaaaaak and that something is done to remedy the situation…….. that’s all……
All this bragging / show off stunts and stats about “my DAD was bigger than your DAD years ago…….. now your DAD is bigger than my DAD” is utter bullshit !
A bigger & better BULLS, STORMERS, SHARKS, CHEETAHS & LIONS is better for all of South Africa !
22 Apr 2008, 15:48 pm
Ah, here’s one for greatest13gerber:
Rangi was standing on the doorstep watching Tama collect rubbish. As Tama went past Rangi he yelled, “Hey, bro, where’s your bin?” Rangi replied: “I bin in Australia.” “NO,” replies Tama, “where’s your Wheelie Bin?” Rangi grins and says, “Oh, I wheelie bin in jail, but I tell people I bin in Australia.”
22 Apr 2008, 15:59 pm
So let me get this straight, we are now disputing who is the better team, bulls or Stormers? And everyone wants to force their team down on the other, and then say how great it is to stay true to your team? Very confusing… I mean we all know the Stormers are better…
But in all seriousness, FL is useless and my only fear is that if the Bulls start winning now (maybe help the Stormers), FL will say: See it just needed time!
Could the changing of a captain make such a difference?
22 Apr 2008, 15:59 pm
there is still only 1 stat that really counts…..
Bulls 20 Sharks 19
The Stormers may never have been wooden spooners…..but they haven’t been actual champs yet either.
So who would you say is the most succesful?
hell, when did WP last win a CC? or the Sharks for that matter? Did their vodacom cup side ever actually win it?
Do you okes actually know what winning and being champions means?
22 Apr 2008, 16:08 pm
nice brawl folks, i am off to the pub.
the bulls suck this year and i think it is a combination of bad administration, bad coaching and bad attitudes.
blueblood
i did not condone crime anywhere you crackhead. lol, you still banging that tinkerbelle drum? you are probably a tinkerbelle yourself mate. go sing liefling and cheer for your team you nut, its when a team is down that they NEED support, when they are up its a bonus!
sheesh, thought fans knew that!
22 Apr 2008, 16:17 pm
the biggest problem Ludeke has now is that it would appear that he has lost the changing room.
…this usually means curtains in any sport.
To compare the bulls off 2008 with the Bulls of the late 90′s is laughable. Look at the talent availible at Ludeke’s disposal compared with what Meyer had to initially work with.Hell, the recently selected junior Bok side is 70% Bulls.
Ironically, I still imagine that ludeke has a wealth of rugby knowlege and know-how, but he misses that key ingredient….a little luck. Give me a lucky coach over a good one any day.Sure, there must be massive planning and all other aspects that go into a head coaching position, but finally, regardless of how great your work is during the week, a coach is strictly judged on 80 minutes every saterday. Important wins at the right time saved jake whites arse many times. Imagine the Bulls had beaten the sharks,blues and force….all games they probably should have won.Hell, imagine the players had taken all the early chances against the Reds. The Bulls would be looking at an extra 16+points on the log and would now be contemplating semi-final time.
Ludeke, as a coach, does not appear to get wins at the right time.
I also class Meyer in the good as well as lucky category, had Derrik Hougaard not won him a CC in 2003 I think he would have got the boot also. The rest is history
22 Apr 2008, 16:58 pm
#22 Tacitus: Holy **** – Tacitus & Gerbs together. I’m speechless.
Almost.
Tacs – I don’t think you get any extra points for your pristine assortment of Blue Bulls collectibles. I think that the JamJams and duvet cover will have to be left behind – you ok with that?
22 Apr 2008, 17:17 pm
SodaJoe, and the Pierre Spies *** doll
22 Apr 2008, 17:24 pm
Vergeet van Matfield, hy kom nie terug nie.
Hy het nou die groot geld geproe.
Sy volgende stop is die UK.
Hy sal nie weer terugkom Pretoria toe nie.
22 Apr 2008, 17:27 pm
Hello Pietman en Boerboel
Ja Matfield gaan dalk Northamton toe…klink my baie ponde aangebied.
22 Apr 2008, 17:28 pm
#264 Boerboel: Hahaha goeie een!!!!
22 Apr 2008, 17:31 pm
#247 katman: Katmancan’t/won’t/don’t – glad to see you still have a sense of humour relative to the Mighty Lions.
We need Shaun Edwards or Graham Henry, or Pissant.
22 Apr 2008, 17:32 pm
#266 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
Ek dink Bakkies is ook op pad.
22 Apr 2008, 17:34 pm
#264 Boerboel: The one with the blue undies? I think he would rather die than leave that behind.
22 Apr 2008, 17:36 pm
Yes manne
22 Apr 2008, 17:37 pm
I was always interested in Tacitus’ screenname. Here’s some illumination for all:
Publius (or Gaius) Cornelius Tacitus (ca. 56 – ca. 117) was a senator and a historian of the Roman Empire. The surviving portions of his two major works—the Annals and the Histories—examine the reigns of the Roman Emperors Tiberius, Claudius, Nero and those that reigned in the Year of the Four Emperors. These two works span the history of the Roman Empire from the death of Augustus in 14 AD to (presumably) the death of emperor Domitian in 96 AD. There are significant lacunae in the surviving texts.
Other works by Tacitus discuss oratory (in dialogue format, see Dialogus de oratoribus), Germania (in De origine et situ Germanorum), and biographical notes about his father-in-law Agricola, primarily during his campaign in Britannia (see De vita et moribus Iulii Agricolae).
Tacitus’ historiographical style in his major works is annalistic. An author writing in the latter part of the Silver Age of Latin literature, his work is distinguished by a boldness and sharpness of wit, and a compact and sometimes unconventional use of Latin.
So the biggest difference is that the Roman Tacitus wrote in an annalistic style – whilst our beloved Blue Bulls Broer writes in an analistic style – he’s far up his own arse and usually speaks ****.
Interesting.
K9, ek dink ons Storemers supporters moet die Stormers/Lions westryd daar by julle kom kyk. Sal jy kan kaartjies reël
#270 SodaJoe: haha…..with a WO wig…….
22 Apr 2008, 17:40 pm
#273 Boerboel: Dit sal nou GREAT wees. Ek sal kyk wat ek kan doen. Sal bietjie by daai ander klomp stormpies **** wat sê hulle ook……
22 Apr 2008, 17:41 pm
Ons ry net nie trein nie!! Ons sal maar moet vlieg.
22 Apr 2008, 17:47 pm
#276 Boerboel: Ja-nee…treinry is uit soos visvang in ‘n geyser. Ek sal ook nie weer nie. Vlieg en kry klaar.
22 Apr 2008, 18:16 pm
Jy weet K9, in my jongdae het ek gereeld trein gery Upington/Stellenbosch. Dit was lekker met eetsalon en skoon beddegoed. Deesdae is dit blykbaar heel anders.
22 Apr 2008, 18:24 pm
If he what he says then he has no choice BUT to come back. Many of the WC guys should remember that they would probably not have been there if not of Bulls. Think about it, most WC guys came from the Sharks and Bulls, and the Cheetahs had a few, arguably there based on their CC results. And in 1995, where did alot of the squad come from, and who was the first team to then win a super series. YES the TvL.
The Stormers/ WP had ONE guy in the squad at the end of the WC, but look where rugby in the Cape is now…
Bakkies, Matfield, Fourie, Habana and the whole bloody lot should remember where they come from or just **** off. SARU should place a limit on players going overseas, hopefully they will realise the real shade of green then…
Personally I feel that Matfield should be shocked and horrered about what is going on at the Bulls SO much, that he would have no choise BUT to return. And when he returns and the Bulls are back to (almost) full strenth, and if they still do bad, people will stop using the KAK excuse that the Bulls lost valuable players (John Smit, Butch James, Percivelle), and realise that Ludicrous should not ever again come near a rugby field.
22 Apr 2008, 18:25 pm
sorry “If he means what he says”
22 Apr 2008, 18:31 pm
Steph, excuse my ignorance, but are you a boy or a girl?
22 Apr 2008, 19:00 pm
South Africa should join the Top 14 rather then the Super 14
that way we keep the players, the better money and we are in
the same time zone for the braai. Best of all we move away
from those awful Kiwi refs and commentators who think that
rugby revolves around them.
22 Apr 2008, 19:17 pm
Here in Toulon, i think that Matfield will leave us to go back to SA.
Sure he’s winning alot of money but he doesn’t seem very motivated to play. My guess is he’ll outlook the pay and go back to the one club he loves, even though it’s not fairing well in 2008 and people aren’t happy with coach FL.
It seems ridiculous to think that he’ll move to Northampton, or they must have made a truely great offer. But as he said, he could be set for life by staying in Toulon a bit longer.
Go where you’re happy Victor.
As for #18′s question, we have two “foreigners” in Toulon (for the league) and Anton Oliver leaving at the end of the season will leave one spot available for one aussie/NZ player
22 Apr 2008, 19:33 pm
STORMER FANS….
Boerboel has come up with a FAN-******-TASTIC IDEA…
We fly up to Jhb for our boys last game against the Lions on the 17th of May….C’mon folk – air travel is cheap….Ellis Park is cheap and our boys opposition is cheap…..(JOKING..GRRRR FANS)
It will be a blast and we would be sure to be on the telly….
22 Apr 2008, 19:35 pm
Romain, we must do all we can to prevent Victor from coming back. We are a disgrace and he must stay away to protect his good name. Rather, he must go to England and allow us to try and salvage something from the ashes of our once mighty Blue Empire. We are faced with an impossible challenge, but still we go on.
22 Apr 2008, 20:01 pm
Darth BlueBlood Vader – do not be so pessimistic. It might be a double edged sword (coz you might have to keep Ludeke) but don’t write off your beloved Blue Empire yet.
22 Apr 2008, 20:02 pm
#284 ruck(STILLTHINKFLECKSHOULDCOACHTHEBULLS): Robbie would just be punching everyone in sight. He might even punch his own players.
22 Apr 2008, 20:07 pm
#287 – Robbie is ideal for the Bulls…He is a moral, humble and culturally sensitive dude. He is also my FAVE FAVE player of all ****** time….(anywhere in the world – ever)
And you don’t think some of those Bulls players need a good ****** punch? hahaha
I WILL CONTINUE WITH MY CAMPAIGN…..
22 Apr 2008, 20:10 pm
Blueblood, the Bulls have changed into Tinkerbells!! Do you agree?
22 Apr 2008, 20:11 pm
Could have been a legend – Greatest13Fleck (aaargh imagine another sibling in Aukland) if he kept his mitts down and mouth shut.
On the field – which is all I know of him – and you know him personally.
Did you read the Coastal thread yesterday? All time best ever.
22 Apr 2008, 20:15 pm
Blueblood, what about calling your team the Tinkerbell Bulls
22 Apr 2008, 20:30 pm
ek het klaar tickets vir daai game kani wag ni gaan my stormers trui met groot trots daai dag dra………….
22 Apr 2008, 21:29 pm
This isn’t a chatroom for rockspiders. It’s a rugby forum. In English.
22 Apr 2008, 21:34 pm
Tackler
Hierdie chatroom is vir ouens wat die WorldCup gewen het. En jy is buitendien net so ‘n rockspider soos die meeste van ons.
22 Apr 2008, 21:47 pm
Hi Kingpaul, ignoreer die dr@l.
Hoe gaan dit met jou?
22 Apr 2008, 21:50 pm
Tackler moenie hierdie boere die moer in maak. Rugby is tweetalig.
Can’t understand why I responded.
Just when you were developing a sense of humor.
23 Apr 2008, 00:15 am
i must say the bulls fans are feeling q
23 Apr 2008, 09:00 am
Boerboel. Boy, like Stef Bos… ja, I know. It happens, unfortunately.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All