Matfield’s magnetic pull

Victor Matfield believes a number of elite Springboks could follow his lead and return to play in South Africa in the near future.

Matfield, who joined French second division club Toulon in December 2007, decided to take advantage of a release clause in his contract that came into effect after six months, and rejoin the Bulls. Matfield was one of six World Cup Springboks to take up lucrative European offers after the showpiece event in France in 2007.

Matfield, speaking to keo.co.za from Toulon, said his decision to return to South Africa was heavily influenced by his view that his chances of playing for the Springboks would improve significantly if he was “in the system”. He added that in his discussions with other Springboks it had become clear that many now hold similar views.

“I spoke to Percy [Montgomery] recently and he said he was very keen to come back to South Africa at some stage in the near future. He definitely still wants to play for the Boks,” Matfield said, citing just one such example.

“There are a couple of other guys from the World Cup squad who are in the same situation because they feel it would best serve their chances of playing for the Boks. But that’s a decision they’ll make when the time is right for them. I realised shortly after I got here that I may have made the move a couple of years too early. I still had ambitions with the Bulls and the Springboks and thankfully I’ve got another chance to have a crack at achieving those now.

“I knew that the Bok selectors would be able to follow my progress on television if we gained promotion to the Top 14 [Toulon are currently three points clear at the top of the table with five matches remaining in their season] but it made sense for me to be playing within the South African structures where I could test myself against the best players and in what in my opinion is the best tournament in the world [the Super 14]. I also want to play a mentorship role to youngsters coming through at the Bulls. Other Boks realise the value in that and there are those who are contemplating their futures.”

Matfield said the Springboks’ form in 2008 will be a massive influence on whether elite Europe-based Springboks returned to South Africa. “Everyone wants to be part of a winning team and a winning culture, so if the Boks are going well I think it will be difficult for the guys who were part of that [World Cup] squad but miss out [in 2008] to just be content and stay in Europe.”

Matfield, who also had big money offers from Top 14 clubs Toulouse and Montpellier, as well as Premiership-bound Northampton, revealed that his former Bulls coach, Heyneke Meyer, had been influential in his decision to return to South Africa.

When Meyer applied for the job of Springbok coach he asked Matfield to play in South Africa if he got the job, arguing that it was critical that the country retained it’s best players – of which he said Matfield was the finest. Matfield agreed to the request, but when the South African Rugby Union pushed the election date back to January 9, Matfield could no longer honour his promise as he was contractually obligated to be in Toulon by the start of that month.

“Heyneke stills holds the view that the country’s best players should be playing in South Africa despite not having got the [Springbok] job,” Matfield said. “That played a big part in my decision because I respect him and his views a lot. He also spoke about family values, both with my immediate family and the Bulls family, and how it was important to look after their interests as well as mine. Toulouse was a very appealing option to me because of the style of rugby that they play and the fact that they would offer me the opportunity to play in the Heineken Cup, so I was really considering them seriously.

“But at the end of the day what Heyneke said made sense to me, and that made a difficult decision a little easier.”

The 30-year-old said he met with millionaire Toulon president Mourad Boudjellal last week to discuss his departure. Boudjellal was disappointed to lose him but said he supported whatever decision he made. Matfield said Boudjellal had not sought to keep him in Toulon with an improved contract offer, and also rejected reports that their relationship had been strained during his time at the club.

“I’ll leave on good terms. Those reports are completely false,” he said. “I even spoke to him at length about some of my ideas about how we could improve certain facets of the club and the team. This is a special team with special supporters and if they are promoted to the Top 14 a couple of elite players will join, which will be superb for the club and the city. I’ll do my best to get us there because I want to repay their loyalty in some way.”

The Bulls tied Matfield down to a three-year deal which, he said, will see him end his playing career in Pretoria. Asked why he had eliminated his chances of playing oversees again Matfield explained that he wanted security in his contract and also spoke of his desire to stay involved at the franchise in a coaching capacity once his contract expires.

Matfield was adamant that the union have the structures and calibre of players to be a force in Super Rugby and on the domestic scene in future.

“The fact that they are struggling was a big part of the reason why I wanted to go back,” he said in response to question of why he would return to a union who are besieged by a number of on and off field troubles. “I think I can play a part in turning that situation around.”

143 Comments

• 1.whatever: Reply to this comment

mmmmmmmm……….dragons

• 2.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Nup – nothing to do with the lure of the springboks. It too cold to braai up there, and the pap and koeksisters are just not the same….

• 3.stew: Reply to this comment

Matfield and Bakkies – wine and cheese – one just isnt good enough without the other

• 4.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

I think that we will see the end of FL and the reappointment of the DRAGON Meyer at the end of the S14.

• 5.whatever: Reply to this comment

Monty’s leaving France cause he’s too doff to learn the language :)

• 6.stew: Reply to this comment

The grass is not always greener on the other side

• 7.whatever: Reply to this comment

Big Vic, on the otherhand………out of his comfort zone perhaps?

• 8.stew: Reply to this comment

#4 Loosehead: If not then the Bulls are fu$%#ing dumb and deserve what they get – dreadful season for the “champs”

• 9.whatever: Reply to this comment

A flurry and then vokall…….dead today………….outaya

• 10.bbf: Reply to this comment

Wow Heyneke Meyer has a lot of influence on him

• 11.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Vic, you shouldn’t be coming back.

And, you haven’t played under the new ELVs yet, so what if you totally suck at it and become just another ordinary player? You could miss out on being a Bok altogether and everything was a huge waste of time.

• 12.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

morning boys. Hey whatever, with those muscles he’ll bop you one china. Monty must have learnt about the maurading Haniball in his history classes in that place below Forries. He’ll take a leaf and bring his elephants down to Auckies and donner you for that sleight.

• 13.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#11 BlueBlood: more Blue. don’t share your concern. ELV’s aren’t the big deal they were at the beginning of the season. Even the plodding Bulls are adapting in their own little way.

• 14.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#9 whatever: but you right on that one. Like Maitland cemetary here this morning.

• 15.bok and lion fan: Reply to this comment

Wether he stays there or not. the ELV’s are going global anyway so he has to get used to them. ELV’s don’t affect the lineout and that is where he earns his keep.

• 16.FrenklyMuDeah: Reply to this comment

Matfield’s crazy. Should take more time over-there, get out of his comfort zone, pick up a few foreign diseases (maybe some Bolivian ones) and think of more things to do between line-outs while the pressures off. And he can earn Euro’s. Bulls problems are deeper than coach Some genius think tank made that decision-must have been more than one decision maker to be that succesful at f…. up all that was good last season in first three games (somehow genius, think tank and Bulls seems a contradiction of terms this year).

• 17.Snoek: Reply to this comment

I wonder what the bulls will pay Matfield for the next three years.

• 18.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Has anyone told Matfield that FL is now the Bulls coach?

• 19.JL1: Reply to this comment

Meyer should become a player agent

Now Vic and Bakkies are the perfect ELV’s combination

• 20.JL1: Reply to this comment

#17 Snoek: Bakkies salary =3 locks

Big Vic salary = 3 locks and a flanker :lol:

• 21.FrenklyMuDeah: Reply to this comment

# 20JL1
    Big Vic salary also = Opposition line-out ball = possession = pressure on opposition set pieces = goooood value for money

• 22.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Now I know why our team is called the Stormers.

Yeesh!

• 23.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Tassies, the thing is that PDV knows what he has in the locks playing ELVs at the moment but all he knows about Vic is what Vic has done under the old laws.

Besides, after the absolute disgrace and humiliation of the Bulls S14 no Bulls players deserves a Bok jersey; even the ones playing overseas who didn’t play in the S14. The utter patheticness reaches that far.I wish every day that the S14 is finished. I can not bare this burden. The disgrace is too much.

PDV must rather pick Stormers and Sharks players for the Boks this year.

• 24.JL1: Reply to this comment

What happened to the Wingmen thread??

• 25.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Look at how good A Bekker is now, amagine with a int. season with Matfield! Amagine a matfield but just taller. I am getting goose bumps. And Kershner or Jantjes with Monty, and Grant with Butch and Brits with Smit!!! If the old boks can teach the youngsters, we will have a succesor Bok team to 2007 wc winners!!!!!

• 26.bobbok: Reply to this comment

Victor your words are music to mine ears

• 27.JL1: Reply to this comment

What is with everyone rating Kirchner, he is average

• 28.offsides: Reply to this comment

reckon it’ll take a couple of years before anything happens for the bulls again! watch, 2010 – bulls will make the final… maybe even next year if the whole contract saga blows over!

• 29.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

The big mistake most people make is that form is not the critical criteria to select a player. Form can disappear in the next game a player plays. The critical criteria is the ability of the player as well as the strategy and game plan.

In SA rugby color of the skin will be a criteria as well.

• 30.kwensie: Reply to this comment

JL1

We as Bulls supporters rate Kirchner because we got so used to having an average fullback in Roets. Zane is definitely a huge improvement on Roetsie.

• 31.daniel: Reply to this comment

If guys like Matfield and John Smit struggle to adapt, I can’t believe that Bakkies will fit in better.
    No offence to him but Matfield and Smit seem more, how can one say, worldly, and Bakkies is as Afrikaans as boerewors and Mrs. Balls

• 32.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#28 offsides: In the same way some folk seem to rate Adrian Jacobs….equally average.

It’s strange to see a grown man (Matfield) following so blindly what another says (Meyer).

And what’s up with Bulls coach/player/fans using the words “structures” and “family values” all the time?

• 33.daniel: Reply to this comment

#30 Kwensie
    I find it difficult to believe what you said.
    I am no Bull fan and wasn’t a Roets fan either, but he was solid and was a common link during the previous good years you had.
    One missed catch cost you a CC but otherwise he was Mr consistency and had very few bad games.
    His retirement hurt the Bulls almost as much as Matfield leaving

• 34.kwensie: Reply to this comment

daniel

The problem with Roetsie’s consistency was that he became so predictable. It was always an up and under when he got the ball and I must admit on a few occasions he even took his own up and under but nothing much came of it. I also saw him missing a few crucial tackles on numerous occasions.

• 35.4teen: Reply to this comment

#30 kwensie: Gaan praat kaak oor Roets op `n ander plek!

• 36.daniel: Reply to this comment

Kwensie
    The fact was he was solid and consistent in a team that operated like a machine.
    I hate having to admit this, but they played damn well and he was perfect in that team environment.
    Kirchner scored one winning try in the VC Cup against the Bulls and he gets to play S14.
    The Bulls slipped up by not grooming another fullback during the Roets years and they have been caught out for it

• 37.pepinillo: Reply to this comment

You need a squad of 30/35 if you want to be competitive all year round. Wales is so much weaker after losing 3 key player due to injury. Having Bekker and Matfield is such a security.
    One player PDV need to look is Gavin Hume who play fly half: born in 1980, 187cm for 104 kgs……..he is having a great season………and sure the French national team will fetch him soon…….Cliff Mitton also need to be secured from Soth Africa.

• 38.crikey_mate_did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

matfield the magnet…

can just see tannie dawn having an ****** right about now he he…

i am sure he will help the bulls, sheit knows they need it… but moer importantly i think it is great that he values a springbok jersey that much that he forfeits some pounds…

• 39.kwensie: Reply to this comment

4teen
    Ek het niks teen Roetsie nie maar ek verkies Kirchner. Op hierdie stadium het hy geen Bok gehalte nie maar ek sien potensiaal …….meer potensiaal as wat ek ooit by Roets gesien het.

• 40.crikey_mate_did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

i saw a funny thing in the sunday papers…
    those gauteng based reportes had on average 4 lions and some bulls in theirs S14 form team… what a load of sheit! i mean spies ahead of kanko, ludik ahead of jantjies, watson in the team?! … i want some of what they are smoking!

• 41.daniel: Reply to this comment

Crickey
    Those teams are going to be PdV’s worst enemy.
    Remember how they stirred by never having Smit in their teams while knowing that he was the captain.
    Every province has their bias and it will always stay the same.

• 42.Pietman: Reply to this comment

What happened to the ‘De Villiers wings thread’?
    I was about to read it, and then it disappeared…

• 43.crikey_mate_did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

surely when you look at a possible bok team your allegiances dwindle… i mean you can have your personal preferences if it is a close call but mostly there is a player head above another in this year’s S14.

• 44.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

To those who reckons that no player of the Bulls will be selected or deserve to be selected:

When a national team/squad is selected there is usually one or two surprises. I try to identify those players I reckon might be surprises. On of them is Bandise Maku of the Bulls. His biggest shortcoming is experience, and that can be managed by the coach.

• 45.Dr Rugby: Reply to this comment

How do you say “BLYMOEDIGE VERWAGTINGLOOSHEID” in good english and/or french. Its happening in South Africa since early times. A school boy stops playing rugby whe he leaves school, why? Because there is no fan base anymore. No hysterical teenagers screaming when the team runs on he field. No blushing maidens when he leaves the change rooms. The “elite” boks left South Africa with “blymoedige verwagtingloosheid” only to be part of the crowd. No flag waving fanatics next to the field, no hero worship next to it. They left on a high, getting of the double decker bus with their wifes, girlfriends etc. They got on a plane and arrived alone. Now they are comming back with “Blymoedige verwagtingloosheid”. Hoping that again the fans will wave the flags. That lesser men will stand aside to give them back their places in their teams. Vacate their seats in the change rooms. The only meaningfull english way to describe “blymoedige verwagtingloosheid” can be the feeling a 24+ handicap golfer has on the first tee, with strong wind and water in front of him. When he lines up to play the shot, he has a feeling of “blymoedige verwagtingloosheid”. So does every rugby fan in South Africa …

• 46.daniel: Reply to this comment

I personally believe players should be judged on what they have done while playing for the Boks as well, hence guys like Fourie and Spies should not be discarded because of a failed S14.
    Form is temporary but class is permanent.
    I am however concerned by the Bulls players under Ludeke. If they play inconsistent because Meyer is not there, then I hope the same doesn’t happen at the Boks with White not there

• 47.crikey_mate_did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

dweeper, what are you smoking?! he is just a temp replacement until chillieboy takes his spot and moves whats his face at nr at the moment to the bench…

i agree daniel but Kankowski has been great for the last 2/3 seasons and really deserves a spot, if we still have spies on the bench, hell arent we lucky!
    as for fdp, the great of last year has been well below double bogey never mind par… i like him and as little as i like ricky, one cant argue the difference in their quality this season… even wilkinson had to make way for some you kiddo and hopefully it will just motivate him to come back stronger…

• 48.daniel: Reply to this comment

Agreed, but imagine Fourie under Rassie in a happy camp without the burden of captaincy.
    The Bulls should keep Wikus as captain because it definately affected Fouries play this year.
    Kanko was rewarded last year and to me he is still the incumbent.

• 49.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#24 JL1:
    O, ok, I am not going cuckoos then, there was such a thread, I only saw it momentarily.
    Pity it is gone, looked interesting.

• 50.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#47 crikey_mate_did you see that shark:
    I have forgotten what Chiliboy looks like!
    Wonder if PdeV still remembers him.

• 51.katman: Reply to this comment

If Vic comes back, Pieter de Villiers won’t have to look north to fill his team.

With the exception of John Smit, the entire Bok squad can (and should) then come from SA based players. (The jury is still out on whether Butch or Grant should play at 10). And if Smitty is the only foreigner in the squad it might make him think twice about staying in France – a bit weird if only the captain doesn’t play in SA.

Percy doesn’t have more than a season left, so now is an ideal time for de Villiers to establish a new fullback with an eye on the next WC. Enter Conrad Jantjes. Or even Francois Steyn. We’re lucky to have two great options here.

Even if Bakkies leaves, we don’t need to pursue him too boldly. Andries Bekker is a future star in the second row.

I think our game is in a very healthy state and I think it will be great reward for our local based players if the entire team plays their rugby here, even when the coach is allowed to select from abroad.

• 52.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

#47 Crickey

I smoke rugby wisdom. Chilliboy was never really tested at senior level.

Maku played in the 2006 for the U-21 side, coached by PDV
    Maku played in 2007 in the emerging bok side coached by PDV

To me that does not look temporary.

Further the lenth of Maku 1.87 and weight 111 Kg Chilli is only 1.79 and 100 kg.

My bet is on Maku. It is only time when he will replace Kuun

• 53.crikey_mate_did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

he cant be worse that Kuun… and he sounds like quite a sizeable fellow…
    let the bugger play then damnit!!

• 54.brentie: Reply to this comment

Perhaps the threat by the Bok coach to pick only 3 players based
    overseas hastened Matfield’s return

• 55.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#53 crikey_mate_did you see that shark:
    He is injured, Chiliboy started one VodaCup game the beginning of the season and he went down again…..knee problem, I recall.

• 56.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#51 katman:

Kicking off early today Kat?

• 57.stavros: Reply to this comment

Hey, anyone know what happened to the “Tigers Stalk Muir” article that was up this morning and has now mysteriously vanished…?

• 58.pommie: Reply to this comment

Its a feel good story this one. Respect Victor!

• 59.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Kwensie, Roets may not have been a superstar, but one thing about him was that he played with pride. Even Oily le Roux respected Roets. And that says something because Oily is a piece of ****.

• 60.JL1: Reply to this comment

#30 kwensie: Aha, now that is sense speaking there, I totally agree

• 61.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#57 stavros:
    It is up again, but the other thread has now disappeared!

• 62.stavros: Reply to this comment

#61 Pietman:

thanks got it. where there is smoke there is…

• 63.JL1: Reply to this comment

#59 BlueBlood: In 2 weeks from now people will be saying Roets who?

• 64.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Tue, 06 May 2008 09:15

Legendary All Black hooker Sean Fitzpatrick has blasted the Lions, and specifically Earl Rose, after their dismal Super 14 showing against the Hurricanes last weekend.

Fitzpatrick watched the Hurricanes hammer the Lions in Wellington at the weekend and launched a savage attack on the South African players.

“It’s pretty disappointing to see the Lions perform like this,” Fitzpatrick told Independent Newspaper’s Peter Bills.

“Those guys should be handing back their pay cheques after that performance.

“We always used to fear the old Transvaal when we went there and played them – more so than any other province. So it’s pretty disappointing to see them like this. It was a poor performance,” he said bluntly.

Fitzpatrick reserved special criticism for Lions fullback Earl Rose, who had a shocking game.

His suicidal run from behind his own try-line and subsequent hospital pass to Joe van Niekerk which was stolen from the No.8 by Hurricanes hooker Andrew Hore for a try, summed up Rose’s day.

Fitzpatrick’s summary of the hapless Rose was less than complementary.

“Poor old Earl Rose. He looked like he got his pay cheque from the Hurricanes,” joked Fitzpatrick.

But the Lions weren’t the only team experience the wrath of Fitzpatrick.

The Highlanders, who won only their second game of the competition against the Cheetahs last Friday, had not impressed the former All Black skipper in the least.

“It doesn’t look as though they’re good enough,” he said.

“It doesn’t seem as though the players are there for a fifth New Zealand provincial team,” he concluded.

• 65.JL1: Reply to this comment

#49 Pietman: Pietman, I think it was a premature announcement of the Bok management/coaching team

They missed out on keeping Sheryl Calder

• 66.daniel: Reply to this comment

Bulls supporters
    Am I optimistic in predicting a 23 point win on Friday?

• 67.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Fitzy….lend me your ear….

JOHAN ROUX

• 68.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#67 Manlybok:

• 69.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#65 JL1:
    Yes, JL, must be. I started to read and then it just vanished before my eyes, possibly because of Muir not having signed yet.

• 70.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#64 THE MAULER: no 8)

• 71.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#63 JL1: Roets who?

• 72.cab: Reply to this comment

#51 katman: yes I think thats fair enough.
    Bismarck has been in outstanding form. My first choice is Butch, but Peter Grant has had a great season too. Its a refreshingly open-minded approach to allow the coach full freedom in selection (if this is in fact the case), if he has preference for local players then the players overseas cannot complain. one thing tho, we are thin at no 4, there is no-one close to a committed bakkies imo, becker is a 5.

• 73.Cyberspider: Reply to this comment

Matfield should go @#$% himself and get it over with. He was the first to publicly state that he would support any new coach after Jake White, thinking that it can’t be anybody else than Heineke Meyer, and him as captain instead of John Smit. He was as quiet as a klei os se gat when it was announced to be Pieter de Villiers and he promptly @$#% of to France.

Now he is coming back and think the rest will “follow”. He never in his life will be as good a captain or leader as John Smit. It is only bakkies and gary botha who follows him like stupid puppies.

Matfield is always the first to try and use the press as a tool to back stab others and glorify himself.

He is the best lock, and would be a better leader if he shuts up.

• 74.katman: Reply to this comment

#72 cab: I don’t agree that a player like Bekker can’t play alongside a player like Matfield. The roles are less defined than, say, a fetcher flank vs a ball carrier flank. And with the new rules opening the game up, two athletes like Bekker and Matfield are worth their considerable weight in gold. It’s everyone’s task to still remain aggressive at the breakdown, but mobility becomes even more important.

• 75.superstormer: Reply to this comment

5 – Andries Bekker (Stormers):
    People can now stop calling him ‘the son of former Province star Hennie Bekker’ or ‘one of the most promising locks’ in South Africa. He has arrived in all his glory and deserves a look-in at the Springbok team … he IS Andries Bekker!

yet again he makes the super14 team of the week

matfield must have read a few articles…..

• 76.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

is the exodus of players up north to blame here??

SEAN FITZPATRICK SLAMS S14

The South African sides also came in for severe criticism from the man who won 92 test caps from 1986 to 1997 and easily holds the record for the most tests as All Blacks captain, 51.

Fitzpatrick watched the Lions’ 38-12 hammering by the Hurricanes in Wellington last weekend and launched a savage attack on the South African players.

He said: “It’s pretty disappointing to see the Lions perform like this. Those guys should be handing back their pay cheques after this performance.

“We always used to fear the old Transvaal when we went there and played them. More so, in fact, than any other province. So it’s pretty disappointing to see them like this. It was a poor performance.”

• 77.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#75 Super WP,

Bekker Junior lacks the mongrel of his old man..Please do not compare him to Bakkies or Victor..they are world’s apart

thank you.

• 78.superstormer: Reply to this comment

he does not have the expierience that vic/bak have YET,,,so you cant compare them,lets just wait till the end of 2009,

did you see the tackles he made on sat?? his got mongrel

• 79.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#77 greatest13gerber:

Are you back here spewing your bile again.

Bakkies and Victor. Is your whole world blue once more.

There are other players you know.

• 80.katman: Reply to this comment

#77 greatest13gerber: Bekker is playing far better rugby than Bakkies. And none of us really know how well Matfield is playing right now.

Thank you.

• 81.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Katman,

wouldn’t there be a language barrier if Bekker and Victor play together???

although Moolman and Burger Snr were good together :)

• 82.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#77 greatest13gerber:

Thank you.

• 83.katman: Reply to this comment

#81 greatest13gerber: Probably. Most of what Bekker says would fly straight over Vic’s head.

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

greatest13

Are you really a security guard?

• 85.katman: Reply to this comment

#84 Dawn: Apprentice security guard.

Thank you.

• 86.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#85 katman:

Thank you

• 87.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#77 greatest13gerber: Vic has mongrel?????? Please….he is a jolly jumper and a utility back.

• 88.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And a cover boy model complete with moody French look and tasteful red sweater.

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Thank you

• 90.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

vic has to have stubble to make him look tough. ever seen him without stubble?

• 91.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

sorry
    thank you

• 92.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#90 the peanut gallery: Meisiekind likes it.

• 93.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#76 greatest13gerber: the boy knows his stuff. Most within that team are nowhere near the required level yet. Can’t be argued because it shows in the results. Building maybe? But not on a solid foundation from where I’m sitting.

• 94.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tassies

You forgot “thank you”.

• 95.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

dankie Dawn

• 96.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

and its back to work after that 1 min lunch
    chat later

• 97.Brando: Reply to this comment

The issue isn’t how good Bekker is – my issue is that he is the same player as Matfield – probably a better defender but oviously less effective in the lineout. Bekker needs Fondse to be his Bakkies (and Fondse is crazy underrated – he does all the dirty work). I think Matfield would be a great mentor for Bekker.

• 98.superstormer: Reply to this comment

brando agree 100%

bekker and fondse will one day take over from vic/bak, maybe sooner than later,

• 99.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#98 superstormer:

Now that’s a big joke!!

Thank you

• 100.Brando: Reply to this comment

#98 Superstormer – I agree just maybe better if later rather than sooner… Vic and Bakkies are still the real deal, just nice to know we’re covered for the future and nice to know the Stormers are back and I dont have to deal with Bulls and Sharkies running their mouths disrespecting the greatest union in SA.

• 101.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I am not security guard

Brando,

greratest union in SA..lets not start ok bru?

• 102.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Does anyone else believe that Bakkies should be excommunicated from the Springboks due to his treachorous ways?

• 103.rangerman: Reply to this comment

howdy all!
    just how big is this bulls family and which inbred cousin gets to play patriarch next?

• 104.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#101 greatest13gerber: cctv observer = security guard

• 105.rangerman: Reply to this comment

slow today I see.

• 106.ansie: Reply to this comment

# 4 Loosehead. Spot on. I agree. No way HM won’t be back at the Bulls.

• 107.rugby911: Reply to this comment

wow just shows the depth of relationship Heyneke has with his players..
    impressive. You find the same thing amongst say a group of artists going for something new – the individual is mentored to be just that, himself.
    Matfield is relaying aspects of the rugby sentiment of old – before professionalism. Rugby was something lived, not just executed. Yes we have very exciting entertainment now, but people like Matfield/Heyneke are keeping the heart in the game. Vodacom is not the greatest supporter of blah blah blah – they ensure spectacle that’s all. It is the players on the ground that should be credited with supporting the supporters.

My next point. Yes we need sponsers money. Fine. But this relentless colonisation of branding into rugby is despicable and sick. Vodacom is a corrupt and bloated corporate blood sucker that is attempting to “own” the heart of the game- the very players and coaches like Matfield etc.. Voda has shown they are corrupt – did anyone try that win a BMW competition? Where you had to send countless R10 sms just to enter? They are the abusive step-father of SA rugby. Sure there are very nice people working for them – but naive of the reality of a corrupt organisation. Voda make it more expensive for the poor to use cells, then the rich. How can one justify that when that is the only source of comunication for many poor SA folk with no Telkom infrastructure?

Folks remember when you don that supporters clothing you are being openly manipulated and ridiculed by a classic corporate behemoth, rather then purely supporting the guys that really matter – the players. I dont mind advertising per se, but anyone would think it was a Vodacom political rally because of the size of their branding of everything. They pour money in – but believe me they are sucking the heart out in return!

• 108.pauld: Reply to this comment

Bakkies Botha ‘exclusive’
    Article By: Dan NichollMon, 05 May 2008 10:50
    Dan: It’s obviously been a difficult time for you, Bakkies…

Bakkies: It has, Dan. I really didn’t want it come to this — courts, lawyers, legal action. It’s been emotionally draining, I’m not sleeping, and time and again I just burst into tears for no apparent reason. But I’m determined to leave and get to France, and this is the only route left open to me.

Dan: Why are you so determined to go? Is it more to get out of Pretoria, or to get to France?

Bakkies: Both, to be honest. Last year’s World Cup was a catalytic experience for me, Dan. Walking down streets in the morning, stopping at a café for coffee and a pain au chocolat, dropping in at a gallery and discovering a surrealist retrospective or an undiscovered young impressionist — Gurthro and I had some magical moments exploring the culture between matches, and I’m absolutely hooked on all things Gallic.

Dan: But you’re also keen to leave Loftus…

Bakkies: Don’t get me wrong here, Dan — I love Pretoria, the people, the place. And I’ve been part of an incredibly special team. But it’s just all become too much, too one-dimensional. I’m sick of team braais after every game — how about a sushi evening, or a fondue with a couple of bottles of lightly wooded chardonnay? I absolutely hate 7 de Laan, but after every single practice, it’s off to the team room, and an excruciating half hour with SABC2. And all Derick has to do during a game is tie his shoelaces, and they start playing Liefling; I absolutely hate that wretched song. I just can’t take it anymore — I need to get out, and Toulon is where I want to be.

Dan: Do you think your team-mates will understand your feelings?

Bakkies: I hope so, Dan, but I’m not sure. To be honest, most of the guys aren’t very good about talking about their feelings. I’ve tried a couple of times on pre-season camps to get everyone together, and speak openly about love, fear, hope, the important things in life. A few candles, some incense sticks, a little Café del Mar playing quietly in the background. But no one except Gurthro ever makes the effort; in minutes they’re all talking about cars, or women, or hunting, which I absolutely abhor. Senseless killing — brings me to the verge of tears just thinking about it.

Dan: So there’s no way back to the Bulls, then?

Bakkies: I don’t think so, Dan. Last year I tried to get the guys to do something different for pre-season team-building — take in a festival, go to the theatre, maybe put on a musical as a squad. A little Gilbert and Sullivan, maybe even some Lloyd Webber; having seen Wynand tackle, he’d have been a perfect Phantom. But what did we end up doing? Monster truck racing, and a night at Pedrie’s place watching old editions of Wrestlemania. With a braai. It’s not me, Dan. I guess I’m just drifting away from them all.

Dan: So it’s off to Toulon, then, if all goes according to plan. Some people have pointed out the irony of you moving to a club that Victor has just quit because of the levels of violence?

Bakkies: I thought that might come up. Look, I don’t have an unblemished record, but it’s never been more than passion for the game spilling over. And that’s exactly what you see in France: passion. Sometimes it’s a little excessive, granted, but I rather that than a game in which everyone isn’t completely involved and dedicated.

Dan: Would you ever bite another player?

Bakkies: No. That was a terrible mistake. After I bit the Australian (Brendan Cannon), I was on rabies jabs, yellow fever medication and TB alert for nearly six months. In and out of hospital in case I’d contracted something from him. Thankfully I was okay — heaven knows what would have happened if I’d bitten someone like Matt Dunning or Owen Finegan — but I learnt a salient lesson.

Dan: Adieu, then, Monsieur Botha. Will we see you back in South Africa again?

Bakkies: Definitely. Gurthro is launching an anthology of poetry later this year, a collection of beautiful, poignant work on life in the front row. Robbie Kempson, CJ van der Linde and James Dalton have all contributed to it, so I’ll be back for that. And I have my final cello exam in Pretoria in November, which would put me at orchestra level. But rugby? Non; je vais finir en France. C’est la vie pour moi maintenant. L’Afrique du Sud? Je l’ai aime, mais maintenant, je dois partir.

• 109.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#108 pauld: We’ve had this posted yesterday already………. but it’s still good.

Fank joeee

• 110.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#107 rugby911: was posted yesterday. good stuff, though.

• 111.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

110 was in reply to 108. sorry

• 112.pauld: Reply to this comment

humble apologies. was a public holiday in the UK yesaterday so still catching up

• 113.rugby911: Reply to this comment

pauld – a classic laugh, shot

• 114.rangerman: Reply to this comment

so the exodus may slow to a trickle locally but nick evans is headed for harlequins.
    poor nz.

• 115.Pompa: Reply to this comment

I think a Bakkies/Bekker combo will be much better than a Matfield/Bekker combo. What do you guys think?

• 116.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

I Fink dervor I Jam !

• 117.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Pompa,

Bakkies and Matfield are the BEST we had since Moolman and Burger Snr.

Bekker and Muller are our second best combo. But both combos are world’s apart.

• 118.stew: Reply to this comment

#117 greatest13gerber: What about Hannes & Kobus ????

• 119.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Stew

Kobus and Hannes(ex EP boy) were solid but not in the same league. Hannes really was not a middle of the lineout exponent(he was too static and easy to read by opposition). Kobus was reliable at front of the lineout and poweful in the scrum.

Bakkies/Matfield are far better then these two were at their peak.

• 120.adj nm - supporting Vrystaat since 1979: Reply to this comment

Who did Matfield pull?

Some X-men caracter

• 121.katman: Reply to this comment

Wat van Philip Schutte?

• 122.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Kat

You were really nasty with that bloke yesterday. I think you hurt his feelings

• 123.katman: Reply to this comment

#122 Sheriff: Then he can’t be DaOne. We’ll have to see what the oracle has to say about him.

• 124.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

DaOne’s ramblings were nothing neo, surely?

• 125.katman: Reply to this comment

#124 Harry the beach walker: No, matrix of ’89 I think.

• 126.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 125 – I liked the ramblings of the matrix of ’89. I was kean.U?

• 127.katman: Reply to this comment

Not really. Too much rambling while I was trying to braai – made the fish burn.

• 128.Paloeka: Reply to this comment

Will Big Vic’s magnetic pull bring back Joost, Naas, Thys and Frik?

• 129.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 127 – fish bournes easily. You should have a look at your braai though. Could be something wrong with the dezion.

• 130.katman: Reply to this comment

#129 Harry the beach walker: Apparently there was a glitch.

• 131.katman: Reply to this comment

It was hard to construct the braai. I tried to bolt one piece on and my wife looked at the instructions, laughed and said: No, Mr. Andersom.

• 132.Paloeka: Reply to this comment

#76 greatest13gerber: That Transvaal team that Fitzy feared was a Blue Bulls team in disguise – Uli, Heinrich Rodgers, Hannes Strydom, Sannie Breedt, Theo van Rensburg….

• 133.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 131 – Instructions can be difficult and impossible to decypher. They make me curse, to the extent that I take the names of the Trinity in vain.

If you get it wrong, just reload and try again.

(Andersom is unbeatable)

• 134.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 130 – is your braai a webber? If so, get some assistance from your local AgentS.Myth that they won’t help you.

• 135.OCO: Reply to this comment

Matfield not speak with forked tounge. Playing for the Boks the ultimate accolade and hell, we need him, Smit and Butch back.

• 136.OCO: Reply to this comment

#116 grootblousmile:

Think you should change your nic to George!
    You keep on ‘slaying’ me!

• 137.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#136 OCO: Hehehe, hello Boetman….

I’ve called George a few times in my life………. mostly near or in “Witbank”…. The White Chair wiff de water in it !

• 138.OCO: Reply to this comment

#137 grootblousmile:

So, you were doing Witbank a favour?
    I know the dude, called him ‘huey’. head was spinning like a ‘copter at the time :-)

• 139.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

He’s also well known in Brakpan as the Groot Blou Blues Brother.

• 140.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#139 SodaJoe: Hehehe…….. I’m the glue that keeps Brakpan together !

• 141.Romain: Reply to this comment

I like to hear that Matfield actually is leaving on good terms from here. I’m also really glad he thinks he needs to repay us by getting us in Top14. We need him more than ever at this stage of the competition.

• 142.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

this is fantastic news. it seems the world cup win has really had a positive impact on the desires of south african players.

if what matfield is saying is true it is completely at odds with what is happening in new zealand where players are practically tripping over each other in their haste to get out of here.

• 143.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Now that matfield is officially coming back to loftus,all we need now is ludekak and slaptjips to resign bring HM back and hopefully normal service will be resumed as soon as possible.I wish the vodacom cup team all the best in the final against free state,come on bulls kick their arses all the way back to bloemfontaine.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.