Bath in move for Steyn?

Reports from England suggest that Bath are poised to make a move to contract Frans Steyn.

The Independent reports that the Premiership club are keen to acquire the services of South Africa’s brightest young talent.

“His name is being bandied around Recreation Ground with considerable gusto, as is that of the All Black flanker Jerry Collins, and it is not difficult to see why,” Independent rugby correspondent Chris Hewitt wrote. “Olly Barkley, a goal-kicking centre in the form of his life, is in the last throes of his career at Bath before heading up the M5 to Gloucester, and Olly Barkleys do not grow on trees. If, as is widely expected, the England midfielder Toby Flood joins Leicester, the West Countrymen will have to look elsewhere to replace their most influential back.”

The Sharks lost Springbok flyhalf Butch James to a lucrative contract offer from Bath at the end of 2007 and Steyn’s departure would be a another massive blow to the Durban-based franchise.

However, Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl has strongly denied the rumours. “Thats absolute rubbish. Frans is contracted until the end of 2009 so it is impossible that he will leave before then,” Van Zyl told keo.co.za. “We’ve had no contact with Bath and neither will we entertain any offers for Frans He is a key player for us.”

This week SA Rugby announced that Steyn was among the group of 11 Springboks who signed a one-year contract. However, the outcome of Bakkies Botha’s pending legal action against the Blue Bulls Company will have a profound influence on how binding contracts are in future.

Botha is attempting to have his Bulls contract, which runs until 2011, declared null and void, allowing him to accept a multi-million rand contract offer from French second division club Toulon. Steyn is unlikely to follow a similar course of action should the rumoured approach be credible, but interest from European clubs will certainly intensify the closer he gets to the end of his contract.

IRB regulations prohibit any player or their representatives from negotiating with another union/franchise until 120 days prior to the expiration of the player’s contract. The Sharks will surely attempt to tie him down to a long-term deal well before the northern-hemisphere big spenders come knocking.

However, if Steyn left South Africa as a 21-year-old he would have, at the very least, 10 years of commanding a massive salary from whichever European club contracted him (should he choose not to return).

With SA Rugby poised to scrap restrictions on overseas-based players, Steyn’s Test career would not be threatened, although it would take a skilled juggling act to manage the club versus country clash. It would therefore not be inconceivable to suggest that Steyn could finish his career as the richest South African rugby player in history, given the extended time period he would be able to spend playing in Europe, when compared to the majority of his peers who move in their mid-to-late 20s.

With rumours abound linking Steyn to Bath, another former Sharks could well be on his way back from Europe. Van Zyl intimated that there is a strong possibility that John Smit could re-join the franchise by the end of May.

“With John having been appointed captain of the Springboks and [Springbok head coach] Peter de Villiers keen to see him playing in South Africa, we have been in contact. If he does return, it will have to be well before the Springboks’ first Test [7 June].”

The French season only concludes in six weeks time and Smit’s Clermont are currently embroiled in an almighty scrap with Toulouse for the top log position. Given that scenario, Clermont are understandably reluctant to release one of their prized assets and that situation could turn ugly in the coming weeks.

Van Zyl also confirmed that French maestro Frederic Michalak could return to the Sharks to play in the Currie Cup. Michalak injured knee ligaments in their match against the Waratahs, ruling him out of the Super 14, but according to his agent he does not require surgery and will be ready to play in six weeks.

“There is a chance Fred could come back but we haven’t seen any of his medical records yet. When we do we will discuss the issue,” Van Zyl said. “The likelihood is that Frans and Ruan [Pienaar] will be in the Springbok squad this season and that obviously leaves us short of options at flyhalf. We need to find a solution to that challenge and in that regard we haven’t completely ruled out a return for Fred.”

86 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.OCO: Reply to this comment

#42 Tacitus:
    Have to agree with you there Tac. Wasn’t the rot started by Basil Dolly-Fever?

• 52.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#49 Comment by: Money Talks!

• 53.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#42 Tacitus: We could always watch the european leagues – It will be brimming with Southern Talent!!! – Will be like watching super14 – but our stadiums wil be empty!

• 54.PissCat: Reply to this comment

The only reason Steyn would move overseas is if he feels that, at least there, he will be allowed to play in the position he wants to play, i.e. flyhalf.

Honestly, all the kid likes at this stage is rugby and girls. But he really wants to play flyhalf.

• 55.WP-Matador: Reply to this comment

#54 PissCat: pLAY WITH HIS FLY AND 5/8TH THEN?

• 56.TKZ: Reply to this comment

#23 saffa_guy: lol good one there

• 57.WP-Matador: Reply to this comment

#56 TKZ: dON’T SEE THE HUMOUR IN BEING ANOREXIC BRO

• 58.WP-Matador: Reply to this comment

#56 TKZ: Where is TKZ , Benoni

• 59.TKZ: Reply to this comment

#58 WP-Matador: Take a guess and if you get it right by Jove i will swear by Frans Steyn to be the greatest and all that **** being spewed.No im not in Benoni.

• 60.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#54 PissCat: Are you PissAnt’s illegitimate son?

• 61.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#54 PissCat: Or Katman’s illegitimate daughter?

• 62.TKZ: Reply to this comment

#58 WP-Matador: Going by your name can I take it too that you are somewhere in Pamplona running the bulls! Hope you dont get shafted in the kisser!

• 63.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

haha

Earlier today there was a thread debating where Styne should play. Looks like we all got it wrong …. the correct answer was Europe :-)

• 64.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

SodaJoe,

Did you get my reply on how to do autorefreshing of your web page (from a couple of weeks ago) ?

• 65.TKZ: Reply to this comment

#64 church – like chch but pronounceable: I also need to know how to do this as I either do a cnrtl F5 or manually click the refresh icon on top by the url.

• 66.Stoney: Reply to this comment

Sharks better allow Frans to speciailze in one position or he will bite the carrot and go for overseas rugby where he can earn lots of $. At the moment he is sure to go the Brent Russel way.

• 67.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#65 TKZ:
    Use Firefox as your browser. There is a certified plug in called ‘reload every’. You can set the reload interval on each individual open tab (very cool).

• 68.4man: Reply to this comment

#4 rangerman:
    Ranger if you are there long enough to be naturalised, then you can play again for another country. John Allen played for Scotland and South Africa. Unless the IRB has a specific rule. But I have a feeling its 3 years.

• 69.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

it will be great for frans to go to europe, as long at PDV chooses the oke im happy then! go vrystaaaat!

• 70.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#68 4man:

It is 3 years.

• 71.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Brian, I wouldn’t get too worried about Ruan being in the Bok squad…..he hasn’t exactly been on form this year.

• 72.stavros: Reply to this comment

I think the IRB law is a load of FU%&*G bollocks!

If you’ve lived somewhere long enough to be CALLED a citizen, of course you deserve to be allowed to play for them. Regardless of your past.

I don’t believe the laws of the IRB in this regard are fair at all.

However, to be sure I am not misunderstood; current laws stand that once you have earned your senior cap (even if you warmed the bench), you are no longer allowed to play for any other country.

Under 21 Springbok Clyde Rathbone play(ed) for Australia. How? Because he did not play for the Springboks.

Same way that our lock (forget his name…) is now playing for the all blacks (when they pick him).

These guys left BEFORE they played for the Springboks. They played baby boks, but not the senior bok team.

Sorry Luke. Either they pick you now (and they should), or its over.

THIS LAW SUCKS!

• 73.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#71 stavros:

That is wrong. The 3 year rule is what is currently in place.

• 74.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#64 church – like chch but pronounceable: Chch I did thanks. I did say thanks on that thread. I was pretty amazed at the add-ons for Firefox which I was totally unaware of.

• 75.TKZ: Reply to this comment

#67 church – like chch but pronounceable: Thanks bru.While im at it wld u also know how to open a beer with your eye as that broad does on the Hyundai TV advert.LOL!!!

• 76.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#73 SodaJoe:

Sorry, I must have already logged out. I am a big Firefox fan. I used IE today on someone elses laptop to configure a router and modem. It was so hard in IE to get it to stop cashing from a specific IP. The Router kept showing the pre-reboot details through the portal. Sooooo **** I installed Firefox then configured everything :-)

The **** thing for me as that I am now currently on dial-up so can’t use ‘reload every’ :-(

For anyone with a PDA, phone or PDA-phone I recommend Opera for a browser. I can be on Keo with tabbed browsing and finger scrolling

• 77.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#75 church – like chch but pronounceable: I am not sure that I can get Opera on my iPhone? Safari is ok on the phone but really slow in US (no 3G, at least with ATT).

How come you know all of this stuff Chch.

• 78.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#76 SodaJoe:

Occupational hazard. I am an IT contractor. Business Apps is my field (not the stuff we are discussing) but everyone working on the move in IT are communication and gadget freaks.

Opera is made for Symbian (S60 and UIQ), Pocket PC and Windows Mobile formats. Check out the new 9.5 version (just released) demoed on the worlds best phone (just released Monday) on Youtube. The phone is the ‘HTC Touch Diamond’. Half the size of an i-phone with twice the features.

• 79.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#76 SodaJoe:

In fact go to PDAnet dot com
    Use the comparison page to compare your iPhone with the HTC Touch Diamond and you will cry.

The Diamond uses a new interface called TouchFlo3D … you have to see it on youtube to believe it. These things will be on the market in Asia in June. Hope to have one by September

Anyway…. back to the rugby

• 80.PissCat: Reply to this comment

#60 SodaJoe:
    No, I am his father.

• 81.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#79 PissCat: OK that’s good. Just checking on pedigrees.

• 82.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#78 church – like chch but pronounceable: That’s all I need, to feel that my $300 phone is a piece of ****.

Actually I like the iPhone, but it’s really slow if no wifi. Everything else is good.

US cellphone service is about 3 years behind Europe & RoW.

• 83.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#81 SodaJoe:

hehe, don’t feel bad, still a good phone. You just need a spare battery for all the wifi surfing … doh

The thing is if you like the plugins on firefox then you shouldn’t have a phone running a Mac O2 operating system. I am on WindowsMobile 6.0 and there are a zillion extra applications including the coolest free stuff from communties like those on the xda-developers web site.
    You are on EDGE and could still Skype if you could install an application to allow for the bandwidth limitation like Fring …. but you can’t install Fring because of your OS

• 84.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

By all means take him for a season, refine his game… and send him back before the Lions tour thanks

• 85.stavros: Reply to this comment

#72 church – like chch but pronounceable:

Not so Chch

Read the IRB players laws. They changed in 2000. Once a player has played for one national senior side, he may never play for another country, regardless of how long he lives there. (I don’t agree with this law, but it is still a law)

you can download the PDF from http://www.irb.com/mm/document/lawsregs/0/060924gfirbregulation8%5f883.pdf

8.1 Subject to Regulation 8.2, a Player may only play for the senior fifteen-aside
    National Representative Team, the next senior fifteen-a-side National
    Representative Team and the senior National Representative Sevens Team
    of the Union of the country in which:
    (a) he was born; or
    (b) one parent or grandparent was born; or
    (c) he has completed thirty six consecutive months of Residence
    immediately preceding the time of playing.
    8.2 A Player who has played for the senior fifteen-a-side National
    Representative Team or the next senior fifteen-a-side National
    Representative Team or the senior National Representative Sevens Team
    of a Union is not eligible to play for the senior fifteen-a-side National
    Representative Team or the next senior fifteen-a-side National
    of another Union.
    8.3 For the purposes of this Regulation,

If a Player has dual eligibility, can he play for the
    senior or next senior fifteen-a-side National Representative
    Team or the senior National Representative Sevens Team of
    more than one Union?
    No, save for those Players that, before 1 January 2000, allowed a period of
    36 consecutive months to elapse after they had played for another Union
    and who played for the second Union before 1 January 2000. The one
    Union only rule, introduced by the IRB from 1st January 2000 (as set out
    in Regulation 8.2), will be maintained. A Player is only entitled to play
    Rugby Union for the senior or next senior fifteen-a-side National
    of one Union. Accordingly, if a Player is deemed to have played for such a
    team, even if he is able to satisfy one or more of the eligibility criteria set
    out in Regulation 8.1, he will not be able to play for any other Union.
    Consistent with the overall rationale underlying the eligibility Regulations,
    the one Union only rule is designed to maintain the integrity of the
    international Game. Once a Player has committed himself to a particular
    Union, through participation in one of the Matches or Tours identified in
    Regulations 8.3 or 8.4, he is unable to change his “Rugby Nationality”
    which becomes fixed.
    5. When is a Player deemed

• 86.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#82 bryce_in_oz: they don’t need to come back anymore, Euro boks are eligible remember? :)

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.