Tahs torture shocking Sharks

The Sharks completely fell apart as the Waratahs produced an impressive performance to win 28-13 and secure their place in the Super 14 final.

Forty four minutes. That’s all it took for this contest to be declared over. Two first half rabbit punches in the space of five minutes were followed a double blow to the jugular just after the break. Just like that, the Sharks’ final ambitions crumbled. They never deserved to get there though. Fifteen points was the difference on the scoreboard but the gap in class between the two sides was far wider than that.

The Sharks came into this match aware that the Tahs possessed a number of attacking threats. Beale, Palu, Tuqiri. These were the names which would have been bandied about in the Sharks’ camp this week.

Vickerman and Waugh would have featured to a lesser extent, but it would be those men who were at the heart of everything that was good about the Tahs, and were the root cause of everything that was bad about the Sharks.

Vickerman had clearly cracked the Sharks’ lineout calls. With every lineout feed Sharks hooker Bismarck du Plessis’s self confidence was devoured by the South African-born lock. Thrice in the first half alone, Vickerman’s skill saw Johann Muller and Steven Sykes grabbing a handful of Sydney air – two of those in the red zone, while the other lead directly to the Tahs’ first try – Lote Tuqiri profiting after Rob Horne had put a strong shoulder tackle on Adi Jacobs which dislodged the ball.

Waugh, the Sharks’ bane in their Round 11 fixture, played a supporting role this time. But his contribution was equally pivotal.

If Vickerman ruled the air, there was no disputing who the general of the ground patrol was. An isolated Shark was a dead one, the blond scavenger gobbling up every opportunity to slow and turnover ball.

Déjà vu for the Sharks? Damn right. And it was only a matter of time before the they were watching an all too familiar scene play out. Waugh turned over in his own half and a couple of phases later Sam Norton-Knight was floating a pass out to Horne, who cruised over.

That double strike rattled the cage. Beale’s try just after the break shattered all resistance, and Luke Burgess’ intercept shortly thereafter was the blow that ensured that for the remaining 36 minutes, the Sharks were nothing more than a rotting carcass.

Ryan Kankowski threw the pass that Burgess gratefully poached. It topped a forgettable night for the No 8, who has been sensational this season. But Kankowski certainly wasn’t the only big name player who was anonymous when they most needed to front.

Frans Steyn’s supposed game breaking ability won him a place ahead of the dependable Brad Barritt. Retrospect will show coach Dick Muir that was a mistake. Ruan Pienaar. Who? Adi Jacobs. Non-factor. JP Pietersen. His descent from 12-try champ to tryless chump was made complete tonight. No need to revisited Bismarck du Plessis’ lineout woes.

They stood up well at scrum time, but that is hardly a consolation.

Flops, however, will seldom come more spectacular than Epi Taione. The Tongan wrecking ball was sent into the cauldron as a replacement for AJ Venter, who injured his thumb an hour before kick-off.

Taione, of course, would have been acutely aware of his huge debt to Muir for bringing him back into the side after he was suspended and subsequently released by the Sharks. Five handling errors later, Muir would have been lamenting an ill-conceived plan. Paddy Power. Powder puff.

Outside of the two botched lineouts in the red zone and their late consolation score, not once did the Sharks seriously threaten the tryline.

They fell off straight up hits with alarming regularity, particularly in the 10-12 channel. When they did manage to hold on to a ball carrier they inevitably were taken on a tour of the ground on the back of that player.

Where was the clinical unit who scored 12 tries in the last fortnight? How did they regress from their best performance of the campaign against the Chiefs, to their worst in the space of a week? Muir and Sharks’ supporters will want definitive answers.

Questions will be asked of Muir’s penchant for rotation but that won’t fully explain the disaster that unfolded in Sydney.

Muir departs for the Springboks on the worst note possible. This performance hardly represents the quality of the side he has built. Sadly, he’ll be remembered as the coach who twice took the team close, only to see them falter when they most needed to stand up.

Waratahs - Tries: Lote Tuqiri, Rob Horne, Kurtley Beale, Luke Burgess. Conversion: Beale. Penalty: Beale. Drop goal: Beale.
Sharks - Try: Craig Burden. Conversion: Rory Kockott. Penalty: Frans Steyn. Drop goal: Ruan Pienaar

728 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] Show All

• 701.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Sharks need to acquire the following:

1. John Smit (captain). Bismark will have to be happy as number 2 or else hit the N3, as Craig Burden is a very good sub himself.

2. Tighthead. Isn’t BJ Botha going to Ireland? Jannie Du Plessis isn’t the definitive answer at 3. He’s a good squad player but I’d want more grunt up front.

3. lock. Muller, Sykes, Uncle Albert all have a habit of going invisible when it matters most.

4. Blindside flank (I say blindside as the Sharks have Botes and Daniel at openside). AJ’s gone and Deysel looks a good player but we need another big name player (I recall the Sharks being interested in signing Sebastien Chabal before the S14…)

5. Flyhalf (Ruan must play scrumhalf). Sharks currently don’t have a specialist flyhalf.

6. Wing. We have no speed. JP is still better than Odwa though.

7. Fullback. Terblance is over the hill and frankly, not good enough to do anything other than kic the ball away.

Better get that cheque book out, true Sharks style!

• 702.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I’d be tempted to get Steyn to play at fullback, and to leave him there for an entire season. He needs to play in one position and I don’t think he is a flyhalf.

• 703.superBul: Reply to this comment

#697 pauld: All i can say i agree with you and there is far too many al-rounders there get SPECIALISTS. Lets see who realizes it first GH or DM

• 704.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Anyone know anything more about the big bust up between **** Muir and AJ Venter? Must have been pretty big for AJ to leave, knowing **** Muir is also leaving.

• 705.superBul: Reply to this comment

Sharks Blog

im sorry to say,
    **** MUIR, last it for the sharks!!!!!
    what was he thinking, epi did not at all deserve to play!
    the guys decision taking was terrible!
    the ball retention was poor!
    the line outs????? what line outs!
    and that again comes down wanting to play epi.
    last week we were showing a beautiful display of mauling! then we give it to the backs, today the maul was nothing more then a mob milling around to see how they can best knock it on

from the start we should have stuck with the combinations of ruan, barret, murray! end of story, the super sub later on

what was the tactic for this game, im suspecting it was
    hurry up so i can go take up my role with the spring boks!

im sure everyone is gana wana add there 2 cents woth on how the sharks should have played, and im really no expert to go by.
    in fact my girlfriene says im jus being nasty, but really ****, how can u play epi, what evea happened to the motto u started off with. u used to give the local guys who put their hands up to play preference! by playing epi, what does that really say.
    this is just so heart breaking!

1. Posted by kevSta (Midrand) on Saturday, May 24, 2008 – 13:57

• 706.superBul: Reply to this comment

Have anyone been on the Sharks website? I dont need to say anything more , just refer you to that site , it all said by the Shark supporters themselves.
    sharksrugby.co.za/default.asp?id=255705&des=article

• 707.pauld: Reply to this comment

#703 superBul: 100%. Far too many allrounders and these allrounders look very good when the tight 5 are getting ball on the front foot. Sharks need to settle on playing the best players week in week out. Ruan has played virtually every position in the backline. Put Steyn at 15 and leave him there for the entire season. Leadership ? What leadership ? Muller is not up to it. Thats why Smit must be a priority. Bismarck was badly shown up when some temperament was required and a cool head. Hopefully next season they play the same team week in week out. But hats off for getting to the Semis. The beauty about watching the Crusaders for example is that you never really remember any one player after watching a game with the exception of the Mccaws , Carters and Ali Wiliams’. Thats why they are such a great side and will win the S14. The players do the job without too much fanfare.

• 708.brentie: Reply to this comment

Stop moaning, the Waratahs were tactically far better, The Sharks
    were the authors of their own misfortune,playing Jacobs and a flanker
    who had been suspended for 6 weeks was a mistake. Was Venter punished
    for joining the Sormers next season.?
    I hope the Bok selectors don’t make the same mistakes.

• 709.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

superBul – I’ve just been reading that site – some of the comments are rather scathing. Especially about **** Muir and Steyn. I wonder if any of the administrators at the Sharks read the blog?

I also note that someone said Frans Steyn’s father was causing some kind of commotion at the Sharks. Don’t know much about that, or the AJ/DM bust up, but it just goes to show how many behind the scenes altercations go unnoticed by the average joe supporter. Wonder how much of an influence they have on the team?…

• 710.pauld: Reply to this comment

When **** joins the bok camp I just hope he doesnt try and apply the Sharks logic when it comes to selection and combinations. You never mess with a winning centre comination for example. Having said that , the Sharks backline cannot be blamed. The game was lost upfront and that was pretty apparent in the first 20 minutes. The game was all but over at that point.

• 711.superBul: Reply to this comment

#709 wooden spoon: It seems that they kept their fights under wrap, not much leaked from there. Maybe both the Sharks and the Bulls couldnt cope with all the players demands.

The writting was on the wall for the Bulls when the players decided that the appointed back line coach couldnt learn them anything. Who turned the whole attitude around no one knows, maybe they just realised that they are playing such **** rugby they totally lost their bargaining power for renewal of contracts.

• 712.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#671 petoors: Jinne, het jy fookin mooi gekyk hoe laat het jy gepost vir my vanoggend oppie heilge Sondag…

Daasie ‘n manier dat ek wakker is om 06:03 op ‘n Sondag nie…….. ek surface nie voor 11:00 op ‘n Sondag nie, uit en verby…. trek af en plak toe !

Jinne mense ek het gisteraand lekker geëet…….. ons was by O’ Patios in Boksburg, dis ‘n Porra Seekosplek………… ek en my Handbriekie het saam geëet aan ‘n 2 kg Moz Kreef met ‘n Thermidor-sous……… freeeeeeeeginnnnn B E A U T I F U L !!!!!

My shares was HOOOOOOG laasnag !

• 713.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

the fact that **** is going to be the boks backline coach makes me worried,i’m not a sharks supporter but i was shouting for them .one would have thought after last week’s performence they would have at least kept the backline the same .during the game phil kearns said that terreblanche does’nt like playing against the tahs so maybe steyn cold have played 15.

• 714.superBul: Reply to this comment

Hierdie is die Bokspan in die Wereld beker finaal. In the WC final almost everyone was regarded as SA best* and in a few cases the Worlds best**
    Now after the 2008 S14 where do you place them.

Os du Randt* Retired
    John Smit* Played overseas , many still reckon he is the best, debatable.
    CJ van der Linde ?????
    Bakkies Botha* ???? good comeback though
    Victor Matfield** played overseas , no one really knows his form
    Schalk (junior) Burger* injured
    Juan Smith* good season still a favourite
    Danie Rossouw poor season , dumped?
    Fourie du Preez** season poor totally out of form, injured
    Butch James* played overseas no one knows whats his form
    Bryan Habana** quiet season but didnt lose any class ,was injured
    Francois Steyn , lost all his confidence away from his mentor Jake
    Jaque Fourie* , injured almost the whole season, still not available
    JP Pietersen , lost form
    Percy Montgomery* , played overseas , dont know his state
    Bismarck du Plessis , had a reasonable good season , lost the plot yesterday
    Wikus van Heerden , injured.

Whooow what do we have left of the WC winning team, its scary , poor PdV.

• 715.superBul: Reply to this comment

This was the last Bok team vs Wales

CJ van der Linde
    John Smit
    Jannie du Plessis , not great
    Bakkies Botha
    Johann Muller , eeeeish, what more can one say
    Schalk (junior) Burger
    Juan Smith
    Ryan Kankowski , now what after yesterday
    Enrico Januarie , good season now #1
    André Pretorius , is he still alive?
    Bryan Habana
    Francois Steyn
    Jaque Fourie
    JP Pietersen
    Ruan Pienaar , he must be as confused as a chameleon on a smarties box by now
    Heinke van der Merwe , good season but how many is convinced …
    Albert van den Berg , cant see him in a Bok jersey
    Wynand Olivier , let me rather say nothing
    Bismarck du Plessis
    Conrad Jantjes , played good rugby
    Akona Ndungane , still the same , i reckon good enough

• 716.CamelToe: Reply to this comment

Tough luck Sharks. Well done to get as far as you did for a team that was not firing on all cylinders this season. I’m just glad that us (Stormers) don’t have to hear how kak we are this weekend, as it is your turm. For those Sharks who slated us last weekend, Shame on you! For the rest, my hart goes out to you!

The Bully Boys are celebrating, knowing that they are to date the most successful S14 team. Hope that will change over the coming years. However, I believe the Stormers and Bulls are going to be the best SA teams in next year’s S14, with the Sharks at risk of missing out due to changes in coaching staff and the players struggling to shrug off the choking label.

• 717.Tjorts: Reply to this comment

And PDV said we would have three teams in the S14 semi’s which means at least one in the final…

Now we have no team in the final….

• 718.Joke_Wrong: Reply to this comment

Epi = Epic Failure!

One of the worst performances I have ever seen on a rugby field. Perhaps he was trying too hard, but he was hopeless.

**** needs to take the blame for his shocking selection of Epi and leaving out Barritt.

• 719.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Joke-wrong. I agree Barrit and AJ should have played, not sure if AJ was injured, but it is a team sport and you can only play as well as your opposition lets you. So credit to the tahs, but Sharks did not play up to their expectations.
    Maybe the travel had a bigger effect this time

• 720.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

Superbul:
    The bok 30 squad team after yesterdays performance to look like this: 1st mentioned the starting 15. I count 16 out of 30 who played in the WC.

1) Gurthro/Heineke
    2) Smit/Brits
    3) Mujati/The Beast
    4) Bakkies/Bekker
    5) Victor/Danie Rossouw
    6) Schalk/Mostert
    7) Juan/Wikus
    8 Spies/Kanko
    9) Januarie/Du Preez
    10) Butch/Grant
    11) Habana/Nokwe
    12) JDV/Steyn
    13) Fourie/Olivier/Bosman (personally I would have Barritt in for Wynand)
    14) Chavanga/Akona
    15) Percy/Jantjies

• 721.MaraudingJ: Reply to this comment

#697 pauld:

What the? What’s everyone’s beef with JP?

Look, just because he’s not scoring tries doesn’t mean he’s playing poorly. He may have been the Sharks’ best player on the field against the Tahs. He also played well against the Chiefs.

• 722.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

#721 MaraudingJ:

I said it even last year. JP is not a player worthy to play for the boks – he was found wanting in the WC too. Last year’s S14 tries came because he was in a backline that was coached by Campese and he sharks backline last year was in much better shape last year than now. The sharks backline this year has been directionless, almost to the degree that the bulls backline is with Hougaard and Wynand at the helm.

We have much better wingers in SA and JP should not be included in the team.

• 723.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

Forgot to add that JP also has no kicking attributes and as a wing he is very 1 dimentional. He reminds me of gaven johnson – tall guy but looks like he’s gonna fall over his own feet. Compare him with the likes of Habana that can kick, tackle, thinks, accelerate and look for work, JP is probably last in line in my opinion to get a bok jersey on the wing.

• 724.MaraudingJ: Reply to this comment

#722 mellowyellow:

haha

Hey, we can agree to disagree. I guess I just look at wing play differently than others.

I look for three things in a wing. I need to see (in order of importance):

1. That they know where to be when they need to be there, off the ball or on the ball. Particularly off the ball. Positional play is the key to wing play. If you do it well, it’s like a chess game — you cut down the options of your opposing playmakers, and you start controlling the game by what you’re NOT doing just as much as you do by what you ARE doing.
    2. That they don’t get beaten 1-on-1 defensively. They don’t get rounded, they don’t get stood up, they don’t get run over, they don’t miss open field tackles.
    3. That they look for work. This is very important. Lazy wings make life difficult for the rest of the team. Wings who look for work make a huge difference because defenses don’t really know how to adjust sometimes.

I would also add fielding a high ball, but then, I look for that in every single backline player, so it’s not one of the top 3 specifically for wings.

In his first year, JP wasn’t very good at any of those 3 except the last one, and I was skeptical. Last year, though, JP excelled in all three categories. I was especially impressed by his improvement in positional play. It was like night and day. I think Monty (and, I would wager, Breyton Paulse, who is one of the best in the world at this) made a big difference here. And he’s one of the hardest working wings in world rugby, bar none.

He has also shown that he can do the last important thing well: finish. You can’t teach speed — while he’s not very quick off a standing start, he’s extremely fast at top speed, and if he gets good ball once he’s picked up some pace, he’s a clinical finisher. This season that part of his game let him down, but he improved in all three the categories I listed above. So I’d say he was unlucky this year, not poor.

• 725.MaraudingJ: Reply to this comment

#723 mellowyellow:

Ja, I would agree that his kicking needs work, but I don’t think that’s debilitating as a wing. Fullback, yes. Flyhalf, yes. But you can get around it with a wing. He clears well when he’s got time.

I don’t think he’s one-dimensional at all. I think this is a hangover from his first year — he still gets this rap, but in the last 9 or 10 games I watched him play, he was surprisingly (and subtly) creative, both on and off the ball.

• 726.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#510 Big Hit:
    What a laugh,you want excuses.Maybe you should look at your post when Scotland beat England.Wasnt one of your excuses cos it was raining,lol.

• 727.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#510 Big Hit:
    Oh and by the way,4 more years doesnt sound right from an Englishman,arent you in the same boat as us.
    #519 Big Hit:
    Sending a development team to NZ,lol.You guys are scared,you players are scared.Truth is if you send a full #1 squad to NZ yo will find out how much of a fluke your RWC campaign was.You lost to Scotland and Wales of late.Both of those teams are not good,your team sir are ****,live with it

• 728.Joke_Wrong: Reply to this comment

Even if AJ was injured, **** could have played Keegan Daniel instead of Epi(c) failure.

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.