Royals claim IPL title

Shane Warne’s wizardry led the Rajasthan Royals to the inaugural IPL title.

Warne’s captaincy has been exemplary throughout the tournament, and he again guided his team to victory – this time over the Chennai Super Kings by three wickets.

Sohail Tanvir stole a single off the final ball of the match and this was a fitting end to a thrilling encounter. The Super Kings set the Royals a moderate target of 164 on a bouncy wicket thanks to Suresh Raina’s 43, but this proved insufficient to claim the title.

Yusuf Pathan had earlier taken three wickets and he also spear-headed the run chase with 56 off 39 balls, while Albie Morkel was the pick of Chennai’s bowlers as he claimed 2-25.

Chennai Super Kings 163-5 in 20 overs (Suresh Raina 43, Yusuf Pathan 3-22)

Rajasthan Royals 164-7 in 20 overs (Pathan 56, Albie Morkel 2-25)

For full scorecard click here.