Mujati’s tight fit

From Zimbabwean schoolboy to Bok prop – Brian Mujati must be pinching himself.

There’s no disputing that he was the form South African tighthead in the Super 14, although Mujati would disagree that he was so integral to his team. He points to the other seven blokes around him at the Stormers, not to mention the other seven behind the pack and the seven on the bench.

‘Sure, I have improved, but it’s a work in progress,’ he says. He doesn’t quite come out with the ‘aw, shucks’ routine, but he’s not
far off.

Though at 24 he is still very young for a tighthead, Mujati’s path to Stormers’ anchorman has been somewhat zigzag.

There was no stellar but steady rise from prominent South African rugby-playing school via Craven Week to age-group representation. Instead, there was the prominent Zimbabwe rugby-playing school (Peterhouse), Zim Craven Week … and then the lean times.

Mujati left Zimbabwe after matriculating in 2002, determined to make a career out of rugby.

‘It was during Craven Week that I realised I wasn’t too shabby as a player,’ he says. ‘I held my own against some powerful South Africans in the set phases even though as a team we were getting caned. I was lucky going to Peterhouse, though, as it has a long and traditional rugby-playing history. Coaching is still quite established there, so I had a good foundation. But after school …’ his voice trails off. ‘I can’t speak for others, but growing up in Zim you don’t think of playing there. I knew I had to come to SA.’

Mujati duly got to Johannesburg on a student visa and debuted for the Lions U21s. He played a few Vodacom Cup games, then a couple in the Currie Cup. Last year he graduated to the Super 14 side following a spate of injuries, and he played the entire season. He had been given a gap and he grabbed it. It should have been a dream year careerwise, but it ended in acrimony when he was accused of jumping ship during the Currie Cup. He disputes this, saying his student visa had expired, which made his contract null and void. The resentment from Ellis Park still simmers, however, and there was much talk at the beginning of the season of lawyers and courts.

His signing with the Stormers this year only increased the rumblings from Gauteng. ‘Look, I didn’t feel valued at the Lions,’ he says. ‘There wasn’t any major blowout – more like a series of little incidents. Nothing racial, if that’s what people are thinking. I just didn’t fit into their set-up, that’s all.’

He has very much fitted into the set-up in the Mother City. ‘I like Cape Town. I like the people and the lifestyle. I like the Stormers’ organisation and I like Rassie [Erasmus, the head coach]. I like the way he coaches. He’s very chilled.’

Tighthead is renowned as the most demanding position in rugby, but Mujati seems to have taken to it like a natural.

‘I’ve been lucky that I’ve only played prop my whole life,’ he says. ‘A lot of guys started out playing flank or hooker and then moved to prop, but for me it was only about tighthead. From the first I’ve loved the grunt and groan of the position. The scrumming, the mauling, the one-on-one with the opposition loosehead – that’s what gets me going. No-one sees that in the crowd, but I dig it.’

South African rugby digs it too.

By Patrick Farrell

This article first appeared in the June issue of SA Rugby magazine.

mujati-dps.png

571 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 251.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#242 pauld: ja pauld, thought i would get a bite outta that one. all tongue in cheek mate.

• 252.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

eish that was fun while it lasted
    now lunch time is over

now back to work for me

ciao girlshark hun tc and greetings to hubby
    ciao tighthead keep the fort going lol

• 253.Clanerk: Reply to this comment

#247 sharks_lover: Getting personal? Aren’t you the one who told me to go and “screw myself” because I made a joke about one of your posts. You’re irrational, like a small child.

• 254.pauld: Reply to this comment

#248 sharks_lover: Typical Natal comment. Get a life you insecure oversensitive jerk. Call the Samaritans , they might be able to help you. Or Crisis Line. 10101010. Thats won nothing won nonthing ……………

• 255.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#243 sharks_lover: thats him, andy aitken. of course there was joel stransky, **** muir and a host of others “hired” by province. its a subject thats been done ad nauseum.

natal is a glorious place, with a great rugby culture. its just laid back n’all!

• 256.pauld: Reply to this comment

I am off to the pub now and will order a large brandy and coke as all good dutchmen do Sharks_lover. You take another sip of your Ijuba

• 257.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

#174 flanka:
    Flanka, you Schalla you.

• 258.AB: Reply to this comment

#252 sharks_lover: Do your posts on Word and use the spellcheck fascility! Then we can all understand what you are on about.

• 259.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#254 pauld: nothing “typical” about natal! stop brawling guys, its bok time (until natal takes province apart first cc game of course!).

• 260.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#256 pauld: pauld you ******** you! dont drink too many “moer-my-vrou-wyne”!

• 261.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

I am a Bulls fan living in Durbs ‘n all and let me tell those of you who do not know it – Natal is awsome!!

I played Durban CC on sunday and had to look for shade at around 15:00 the afternoon because it was a bit hot – on 1 June! I have been living here for a few years and I will never move to any other place in SA. Finish en klaar!

• 262.ansie: Reply to this comment

What’s all this Mujati business? Form front row my backside…..where’s the BEAST ?????

• 263.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#261 Kerneels: too true kerneels. and kings park is an awesome place to watch rugby eh?
    in all my time going there, nasty incidents have been few and far between. great vibe, great view, good people.

• 264.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#262 ansie: ansie, they play diff positions. mujati is a tighthead, beast a looshead. beast will get his shot.

• 265.ruggaluvva: Reply to this comment

#215 the peanut gallery: LMAO!!!!!

….I met Louis Koen after a practice session once

• 266.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#252 sharks_lover: Cheers! and please send my hellos to your wife as well! Tell her I am trying to muster my courage to have that famous tatoo (like hers) done, but I am still poop scared! :oops:

• 267.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i will do M hun tc and hey it isnt that bad

remember a sharks tattoo is a very valuable commity specially on a decent lady like urself

the strongest front row in SA would be (heinke , smit , bj )

rangerman mate have a good one , dont let sonme of them clowns in here influence you :mrgreen:

they have short memories and are so one eyed its scary

• 268.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#263 rangerman: The wife and I are coming to durban next month to see what all the fuss is about. We`re flying up and then we`re gonna do a roadtrip down the coast back to cape town, stopping wherever takes our fancy.

• 269.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#254 pauld: and how is that a typical Natal comment? Actually tell me what IS a typical Natal comment? And that shot about Ijuba a bit out of line isn’t it?

• 270.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#268 sondebok: sounds awesome sondebok! my boet did it the other way round a few months ago. his pommie bird LOVES cape town. then again, what has she got to compare it to?

try stay in the northern part of durbs. defo catch a game at kings park if you can. the beaches are glorious at that time of year and though the water is a little cooler than normal, its still 20 degrees warmer than anything you are used to.

if you are up for a beer around then, let me know.

• 271.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#247 sharks_lover: talk about getting personal.

• 272.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

sondebok you will have a good time mate
    if you go with an open mind to have a good time you will

road trip down the coast back to cape town is awesome

• 273.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

grond boontjie look who started right at the beginning before you start with assuming things

but then again its comming from the peanut gallery right ?? lmao

• 274.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#270 rangerman: We`ll stay with my gran, she lives in that area close to the sharks board up on the hill behind umhlanga. I haven`t been to durbs since in about 15 years.

• 275.sondebok: Reply to this comment

ps. the wife has never been to durban in her life. I also need you Durbanites to recommend the best curry den if you don`t mind.

• 276.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

#274 sondebok: Prestondale is that suburb’s name – I stayed there until recently. Be sure to pop into Indian Summer when you are there (about four km down Umhlanga Rocks Drive) for a taste of the local fare…just don’t order it hot!

• 277.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#23 Muck: Piss off you muckraker you

• 278.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#30 tight head: And how does one get experience if you never get to play? I think PdV wants to see what Mujati van bring to the party and better against Wales (who don’t have the strongest scrummagers) than the Kiwis.

• 279.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

All those saying Heinke is the best loosehead in SA…in the scrum probably yes but a modern prop (especially under the ELVs) needs to do more than just scrum and Heinke prowess in the loose has not impressed. Far rather have Beast and Guthro for now but if Heinke ups his workrate in the loose he will be a Bok sooner rather than later.

• 280.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#274 sondebok: mate, now we will have to go for a drink! i live about 800m from your grans place.

there is a great curry den in umhlanga called Kashmir. really good food and you can drink indian beers like kingfisher there.

• 281.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#273 sharks_lover: actually seeing as you’re asking – you started at #108.

• 282.tight head: Reply to this comment

#278 squonkmonk:
    Firstly who says Wales do not have strong scrummagers?
    Don’t answer.
    We will see on Saturday.
    Secondly you play every test to win with your best 15 available.
    The best teams the world has ever seen, have played many games together with little change to the team sheet.
    You play your first choice prop and your second choice plays if there is an injury, or if you are well up and want to blood number 2.
    If he is good enough, his time will come.
    You cannot substitute experience in the front row.
    Lastly your best prop is your best scrummager.
    That is his primary job, and dominating the scrums in tests is vital.
    You do not pick props because they are good runners, you pick them because they are the best scrummagers, and if they are good runners after that then that is excellent.
    You would not pick a wing who was not very fast, but was good at the breakdown.
    Or would you?

• 283.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#280 rangerman: Deal!

• 284.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#283 sondebok: ok mate, itinerary is a beer at the pub in the village (seriously vibey little place) and then dinner at kashmir.

in the morning the fire will subside sometime and you can always cool it off in the sea lol!

• 285.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

peanut gallery uhm selective reading ??

check 107 and the sarcasm ??? also this person has started before so if you can read??? youll understand the way he made his remark its not the first time ??

so please before getting involved when you dont know all the facts , please refrain as it is not warrented

• 286.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

or need i say i spoke to the doctor not the disease ???

tighthead mate they dont get the basics of the game at all

first rule is make sure you dominate scrums and lineouts , and of course dominate the loose

you cant do that if you are weak in scrums and lineouts

ask the sharks team about line out loss????????????????????????????

yes we understand clearly why john smit is the best hooker and why matfield is so important in the lineouts

• 287.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#284 rangerman: Sounds like fun! I`ll give you a shout closer to the time with dates.

• 288.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#285 sharks_lover: i read 107. from sarcasm, to go screw urself, to insulting afrikaans speakers (#247).
    uncalled for

• 289.tight head: Reply to this comment

#286 sharks_lover:
    Maybe Keo will send me a holiday to get away for a while!!

• 290.katman: Reply to this comment

#285 sharks_lover: Thanks for pointing us back there. Reminds me that I wanted to ask you what this means:

“you have know it alls on here that 99% chance have never played rugby”

You claim you’re not a dutchie so we must excuse your kak Afrikaans. But what can we blame for that?

• 291.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

yeah isit on clearly gallery
    and you have no clue of the history before today from the same people

as i asked nicely before , dont interfere when you dont know all the facts
    ok????

• 292.JL1: Reply to this comment

#282 tight head: If you are a great player you do not need experience (Os/Carl Hayman etc) average players bloom later and need experience

• 293.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#282 tight head: You misunderstand me…I would never pick a prop who wasn’t a good scrummager just because he looks good with ball in hand. But I would rather have a prop who is a good scrummager and good in the loose than a prop who scrums the **** out of opponents and does nothing else.
    Also, one must keep in mind this weird country we live in where colour is so important to some. Having props like Beast and Brian (who are damn good if inexperienced) must make PdV smile when he thinks of all the political ****. Whether we agree with the PC stuff or not, it’s here to stay for the forseeable future. Far rather Beast or Brian than Steady Eddie!
    As for Wales and the scrum…from what I saw in the WC and the 6N the Welsh scrum is nothing to have sleepless nights over. They will not be pushovers but not quite the same as facing a Hayman or Sheridan. If PdV wants to see what his other props offer, rather now so he knows that Brian/Beast/whomever can be called if BJ/Guthro are injured come 3N time.

• 294.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

lol tighthead hope its a good holliday lol

katman seriously not in the mood to chit chat with you all day
    i recall not having spoken to you or about you till you butted in ???

just as i am asking the gallery to stay out of it
    ok???

ill still to talking to those who actually do know what they talk about

• 295.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

katman infact its easy i dont feel like talking to you ?? right
    and the reverse is true right ??/ so ignore what i am saying to others and ill refrain from reading what you have to say , its that easy

its called freedom of speech and its my right to ignore you if i so wish ??

AND I SO WISH !!!! NOW BYE BYE

• 296.tight head: Reply to this comment

#292 JL1:
    Sorry mate, but that is nonsense.
    Os walked off a rugby field once because he had enough.
    He will tell you that his scrumming was weak for a long time and he had to work very hard to get it right and mature.
    Every prop has a journey of learning and maturing, no matter who he is.

• 297.JL1: Reply to this comment

#295 sharks_lover: At least show respect when talking about other people’s language

• 298.katman: Reply to this comment

#291 sharks_lover: And what the **** is this: “yeah isit on clearly gallery”

Post in decent English. No one knows what you’re on about, except that it must be something dim. I can’t even get properly upset with you because your posts are the written equivalent of a stuttering Mongolian halfwit with a lisp.

• 299.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

sqonkmonk although i get your point and listen i am a sharks fan a big fan of beast but he isnt the strongest scrummager

in a bok team id start with bj and heinke who are clearly the proven stroingest scrummagers

and when the heat is off you bring on a brian or beast

problem is mate yes they do need the experience , but you also need to win and if it goes wrong we in trouble

also you need you best team to gel together , understand each other before the kiwis games etc

if you lose to wales can you imagine the morale ??

• 300.JL1: Reply to this comment

#296 tight head: No he walked off when he played under mediocre coaches with average players. His quote was still that he was “gatvol”

Go speak to any of the props who scrummed against him

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.