Mujati’s tight fit

From Zimbabwean schoolboy to Bok prop – Brian Mujati must be pinching himself.

There’s no disputing that he was the form South African tighthead in the Super 14, although Mujati would disagree that he was so integral to his team. He points to the other seven blokes around him at the Stormers, not to mention the other seven behind the pack and the seven on the bench.

‘Sure, I have improved, but it’s a work in progress,’ he says. He doesn’t quite come out with the ‘aw, shucks’ routine, but he’s not
far off.

Though at 24 he is still very young for a tighthead, Mujati’s path to Stormers’ anchorman has been somewhat zigzag.

There was no stellar but steady rise from prominent South African rugby-playing school via Craven Week to age-group representation. Instead, there was the prominent Zimbabwe rugby-playing school (Peterhouse), Zim Craven Week … and then the lean times.

Mujati left Zimbabwe after matriculating in 2002, determined to make a career out of rugby.

‘It was during Craven Week that I realised I wasn’t too shabby as a player,’ he says. ‘I held my own against some powerful South Africans in the set phases even though as a team we were getting caned. I was lucky going to Peterhouse, though, as it has a long and traditional rugby-playing history. Coaching is still quite established there, so I had a good foundation. But after school …’ his voice trails off. ‘I can’t speak for others, but growing up in Zim you don’t think of playing there. I knew I had to come to SA.’

Mujati duly got to Johannesburg on a student visa and debuted for the Lions U21s. He played a few Vodacom Cup games, then a couple in the Currie Cup. Last year he graduated to the Super 14 side following a spate of injuries, and he played the entire season. He had been given a gap and he grabbed it. It should have been a dream year careerwise, but it ended in acrimony when he was accused of jumping ship during the Currie Cup. He disputes this, saying his student visa had expired, which made his contract null and void. The resentment from Ellis Park still simmers, however, and there was much talk at the beginning of the season of lawyers and courts.

His signing with the Stormers this year only increased the rumblings from Gauteng. ‘Look, I didn’t feel valued at the Lions,’ he says. ‘There wasn’t any major blowout – more like a series of little incidents. Nothing racial, if that’s what people are thinking. I just didn’t fit into their set-up, that’s all.’

He has very much fitted into the set-up in the Mother City. ‘I like Cape Town. I like the people and the lifestyle. I like the Stormers’ organisation and I like Rassie [Erasmus, the head coach]. I like the way he coaches. He’s very chilled.’

Tighthead is renowned as the most demanding position in rugby, but Mujati seems to have taken to it like a natural.

‘I’ve been lucky that I’ve only played prop my whole life,’ he says. ‘A lot of guys started out playing flank or hooker and then moved to prop, but for me it was only about tighthead. From the first I’ve loved the grunt and groan of the position. The scrumming, the mauling, the one-on-one with the opposition loosehead – that’s what gets me going. No-one sees that in the crowd, but I dig it.’

South African rugby digs it too.

By Patrick Farrell

This article first appeared in the June issue of SA Rugby magazine.

mujati-dps.png

571 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

• 401.pauld: Reply to this comment

#396 JL1: Ek lag now dat die trane loop. Lekker ou bloutrein

• 402.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#401 pauld:

we call it safe *** here innie kaap no teeth to scratch your ….

• 403.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#395 JL1: okai now you are scaring me :shock:

• 404.JL1: Reply to this comment

#400 MR Lam: :lol:

• 405.pauld: Reply to this comment

#397 GirlShark: You are a good girl Girlshark and we love you. Serious my stukkie.

• 406.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

okay really now,

CHEERS

GS email me your details on lumsdensa@yahoo.com so we can discuss dates and times etc will check the mail tomorrow

and no stalker mails from you other weirdos on this site I KNOW PEOPLE WHO KNOW PEOPLE

• 407.pauld: Reply to this comment

#403 MR Lam: a passion gap

• 408.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#398 pauld:

A center pulling trucks and lifting boulders bare hands, don’t we produce such phenomenons anymore, where they all gone, how do centers become stronger than props, ?? Boggling the mind a little, I thought Hennie le Roux and Mannetjies Roux, these are centers, not world champion strong men.

• 409.JL1: Reply to this comment

#403 GirlShark: I think that you are actually tempted by that offer, you like? Classy blokes us

For dinner a paar viskoppe en lekka ou tik to set the mood

• 410.pauld: Reply to this comment

#410 JL1: And a few bottles of Virginia. 2008 Vintage

• 411.JL1: Reply to this comment

#410 pauld: Now we are talking

• 412.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#400 MR Lam: I’ll do that only please confirm that you are not telling JL1 that I have no teeth :evil: Didn’t take you as one who would kiss and tell!

#405 pauld: I was starting to believe you all loved me until you followed it with “serious” sounds a bit like “trust me I’m a doctor”

• 413.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#391 JL1:

OK last question, cause I have to go.

Your really saying Gurthro is our strongest LH to take over from Os, stronger than Heinke, or Mujati ? What I know is dangerous, but I would not say he has that much potent power, maybe quite mobile in the loose, but perhaps Beast is more powerful, again what do I know.?

Gotta go

catch up with the answers later

• 414.pauld: Reply to this comment

#412 JL1: And a few of those lighthouse white candles for a romantic candlelight dinner. Those cheap ones that burn down in 2 minutes flat. And some plastic vygies to greet her with as you pull up outside her house in your Datsun SSS

• 415.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

“Mujati’s tight fit” will never ever be as tight as Looke’s jersey!

• 416.pauld: Reply to this comment

#413 GirlShark: Ah. The three biggest lies. Cheque’s in the mail , this will hurt me more than you and I promise I won’t … in … …..

• 417.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

JL1
    Continuing to make trouble I see ;)

• 418.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Calling all Stormers/WP supporters, we have a Fantasy League going on TestRugbyDOTcom.

Please sign up to our division: The division name is: wwwDOTiamastormerDOTcom

• 419.pauld: Reply to this comment

#418 Rugby_Princess: Been a titanic battle here today. I think a number of folks have been casevac’d and are regrouping for the final onslaught tomorrow

• 420.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

So its not only rhino that are poached from Zimbabwe ?

let me get this right……the ABs get flak for (supposedly) ‘poaching’ Pacific Islanders despite the fact most of them are born there or atleast have all their education there. They might be proud Tongan/Samoan/Fijian but they sure as anything feel like a Kiwi too !

But Mujati is not only 1 of 3 Zims in the Bok squad but all of them are born AND bred Zim. And lets just forget the Skinstads, Kriges and Mordts etc for now shall we ?

So, who is wearing the poachers boot now then ?

What next……..an Englishman playing for England ?

• 421.crickey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

galo peeps…

must say after that article about mujatis dad its hard to look at things the same again, but hey, cant blame the sone for the sins of the father… hey?

#416 pauld:
    hee hee, a girl only fall for that once, damnit you guys are ****** chancers ;-)

• 422.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

pauld

You grubby little brat ! :shock: Or was that “I promise I won’t post date the cheque in the mail” ? :lol:

• 423.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#409 JL1: The more I read the more afraid I become! Mr. Lam has to chew my food, Pauld doesn’t whant to spend any money even on a decent candle, but I guess if I do have some of that concoction you are sugesting its the people of CT that should be afraid, after one drink I think I am an opera singer who can pole dance, and trust me you do NOT whant to hear me sing!

• 424.JL1: Reply to this comment

#413 skopskiet: Guthro is the man

#417 Rugby_Princess: What do you also want to go for a drink, this is ending up to be an expensive round

• 425.crickey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

#420 BlackPanther:
    they run to us (literally) we dont poach them…

• 426.flanka: Reply to this comment

WOW…i went off for a few hours and have returned to the remains of a warzone…lol, sharklover and tighthead have been murdered here and quite honestly it might be well deserved. You cant come onto this site and assume you’re the only person thats ever played rugby before hence everyone elses opinion is kak boeties…coz ur not, thats a fact.

• 427.JL1: Reply to this comment

#423 GirlShark: Eh, dancing that sounds like an extra, how many songs will you do? :lol:

• 428.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

#419 pauld:

I am not sure exactly what “casevac’d” is but it certainly does not sound comfortable :(

• 429.katman: Reply to this comment

#421 crickey mate did you see that shark: Apparently that article is bullshit – different Mujati and not related to Brian. But no doubt his reputation has taken a knock by now.

• 430.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Skoppies
    I didnt read it all but it seems we had a few props disputing who is best in what position. Tighthead,as usual, waded in with technical info which does it for me, as I too am front row dof. There were also one or two fox terriers keffing away and stirring the pot, or should that be chumming the oceans. And there was hardly a Bull in sight.

• 431.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Hope Mujati has a great game on day booh

• 432.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#420 BlackPanther: I wondered how long it would take a NZer to come up with that, but please don’t stir the pot today I am really tired :) All this brawling takes it out of a girl!

• 433.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

#424 JL1:

Is the “drink” in London ? I am always up for a good time :lol: of course I only fly in the “pointy bit” you know …

• 434.crickey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

#429 katman:
    i am soooo glad to hear that, i think that poster should apologise to brian then, this could make a little war of annomosity out of nothing…
    but i would still start heinke and bj and bring beast an mujati on later ;-)

• 435.4man: Reply to this comment

#405 pauld:
    You clearly have no work to do today and are also clearly over your hangover. Piano bar stripper joint !!!! I’m glad I left early.

• 436.JL1: Reply to this comment

Cheers all

• 437.crickey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

#432 GirlShark:
    c’mon, a girl is never too tired for a good fight, we do it without reason all of the time ;-)
    glad to see there are more shark ladies here on keo…

• 438.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

#423 GirlShark:

Oohh but you paint such a pretty picture !

• 439.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

#431 Sheriff: I sincerely hope Piter de Snor and Co will kick some serious Welsh butt this weekend.
    The poor guy has opened himself up to som much criticism its crazy.

The best time to experiment with a new team etc is now. Why not?

• 440.4man: Reply to this comment

The only prop I knew of any note was Adrian Garvey, so i can drop his name. he sold me a cell phone. He made the Boks, but I always thought he was a bit “light” for the job.

• 441.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#427 JL1: I supose that would depend on how many drinks and on how good I felt on the day, and on how hard the audience shouted for the men in black and white :wink:

• 442.4man: Reply to this comment

#436 JL1: As soon as I arrive…you leave, is it something I said?

• 443.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#429 katman:

Naah, I don’t think so.
    Or else Stefan Terreblanche would have been tainted by Eugene a long time ago.
    We have Van der Merwes in SA, Joneses in Wales, Mujati’s in Zim, Van Zyl’s in KZN, Watson’s in EC, and Botha’s in Snorcity…
    Not related necessarily.

• 444.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

#420 BlackPanther:

Dude that is old news. They don’t only poach Zimbos, but Namibian Desert Warriors get poached too.

Come on the BOKKE!!!

• 445.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#440 4man:

Lood Muller and Percy Hall (MrX) were the best way back then.
    Adrian was a Zimbo too….

• 446.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#439 Desert Stormer:

Yeah mate, been away a bit so I might not be in step with the thread.

There’s lots a talking going on and Peter is also not keeping quiet. What is it with coaches before a game?

• 447.GirlShark: Reply to this comment

#437 crickey mate did you see that shark: Where were you earlier could have done with some assistance!!! The way they slagged our team, and now they are going around saying that I have no teeth, and that is after Mr. Lam promised not to tell anyone!
    #438 Rugby_Princess: You have obviously not heard me sing!

• 448.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#431 Sheriff:

Pity we don’t have the opportunity of hearing Mongrel on this…I am sure he would have had a few pearls to add.

• 449.4man: Reply to this comment

#445 Pietman: I didnt know Lood personally, he played for Maritzburg police, and moved to Natal from N Tvl, as far as rugby was concerned (he came home in other words) he was a great Bok prop. I didnt know Percy too well, bit more your era I think, he was a good wrestler though :)
    Garvey was from Zim and he played for Zim and SA.

• 450.pauld: Reply to this comment

#423 Rugby_Princess: RP. Thats the one. You know me far too well

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.