Power personified

In the wake of a brilliant World Cup, Juan Smith remains the Springboks’ most hardened warrior at the frontline.

The dull thunk of rock meeting metal reverberates in the background. Over the phone, it really does sound as if the Cheetahs’ team bus is under attack. A metronomic thump greets my every word as I shout down the receiver to Juan Smith, who’s clearly on a different planet. Six months ago, Smith lapped the Stade de France clutching a shiny new addition to the Springbok family. Right now, he’s bouncing along a gravel road on the outskirts of Kimberley. I feel like asking him what he ever did to deserve this.

Smith, typically, is never one to complain. The archetypal hard man is likened to Springbok legends André Venter and Gary Teichmann, men who’ve always prized walking the walk over talking the talk. Both featured prominently in the Nick Mallett era when the Boks won the Tri-Nations and equalled the world record of 17 consecutive victories. Both were grafters whose performances inadvertently secured reverence reserved for legends of the game.

Is Smith in the same class, and at 26, is the comparison premature? Smith absorbs the question as the bus ploughs through another pothole minefield. A World Cup-winner’s medal sits on the mantelpiece in Bloem, and there are plenty who believe the Man of the Tournament accolade should rest at its side. However, the mere mention of Venter and Teichmann shatters this image, taking Smith back 10 years to when the two Springbok loosies were gods in the eyes of a young JBM Hertzog student.

‘I always looked up to Gary Teichmann and André Venter,’ he gushes. ‘They weren’t all that talkative, but their actions spoke loudest. I was privileged enough to play alongside André at the end of his career. He’s remarkably self-disciplined and his attitude is a real strength. I still look up to him, even more so given everything that’s happened [Venter was confined to a wheelchair in 2006 due to a crippling virus]. He remains positive no matter what the situation, and if I can adopt that attitude, it’s going to make me an even better player.’

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotské played hooker for the 1998 Bok side and is well qualified to elaborate on the Teichmann comparison.

‘The players followed Gary out of respect,’ Drotské recalls. ‘He led by example. When the guys see Juan dishing out a big defensive hit, it inspires them in a similar way.

‘Juan’s grown a lot in the last three years and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him going on to lead the Boks. Personally, I like a captain who’s physical. I prefer a man who’ll do all the talking through his actions on the field.’

Smith is already recognised as a leader in the Springbok structures and has skippered the Cheetahs for the past three seasons. But is he truly a candidate at Test level? It would appear it’s a responsibility he’s reluctant to take on.

‘I can’t say I’d turn down an opportunity to lead my country, but I’ve never seen myself as a captain,’ Smith explains. ‘I’m enjoying the responsibility at Free State, but to be absolutely honest, I don’t think I have what it takes at the highest level. You look at a guy like John Smit who has all the great qualities of a Test captain. We were fortunate last year to have seven or eight senior guys in that World Cup-winning side. I would love to continue in that sort of role, helping the captain on the field as a senior player.’

Former Bok and Cheetahs prop Ollie le Roux is aware of Smith’s reluctance, but he also realises why coaches prefer him in a position of power.

‘He was never groomed to be a leader; he was thrown into the job,’ says Le Roux, who’s also captained Free State. ‘John Smit’s captained at all levels, but it wasn’t like that for Juan. He leads by example and expects others to follow.

‘For instance, we had a terrible captain’s practice ahead of a big game last season. The guys were absolutely diabolical, dropping balls and getting everything wrong. I’m a believer that the captain’s practice doesn’t necessarily impact on the game, so I wasn’t too worried.

‘But Juan called the guys together. He was clearly pissed off and shat them out. After training, I spoke with him privately and asked him why he reacted that way. He told me he demanded excellence in training. That was the way it was for the Springboks, and he expected the same from the Cheetahs.’

Modern media seems to favour the glamour over the grit, as the thousands of pages dedicated to players such as Dan Carter and Gavin Henson attest. Thousands of Bryan Habana posters adorn the walls of teenagers everywhere following the World Cup. Dust aside this superficial layer and you’ll obtain a clearer rugby view that allows the unsung heroes to come into focus. Nobody can accuse Smith of deferring any of the dirty duties he’s afraid to take on himself.

‘He’s such a determined person,’ says Cheetahs assistant coach Hawies Fourie. ‘When he injured his knee in the Blues match this year, he could barely walk, but he refused to leave the field. Most players would have thought about Springbok selection at the end of the Super 14. Naka was trying to get him off and so was the team doctor, but being the kind of person Juan is, he waved them away. The younger guys see this and they can’t help but admire him. There’s no doubt that attitude will rub off.’

Springbok rugby is entering a new era. Bill’s safely stowed in the Saru trophy cabinet and with the appointment of Peter de Villiers, there are bound to be changes in personnel and playing style. The Bok coach would be a fool to neglect Smith, but the Cheetahs blindside is willing to earn his keep.

‘It’s an exciting time for South African rugby. We had an awesome season last year, but for me, it’s an honour every time I run out for the Boks. As a player, I’ll just look to keep doing what I did last year.’

At the time of writing, Smith’s future with the Cheetahs was less certain. Both the Stormers and the Sharks are scrapping for his signature, while financial minnows Free State are praying he remains loyal to the union that gave him his big break.

Teichmann played in a different era, but as captain of dominant Bok and Sharks teams, he understands the demands of self-motivation. Smith could stagnate if he remains at the Cheetahs when he should be building on the superlative form seen at the World Cup.

‘There’d be a public outcry if Juan left Bloem, but the reality is a top player wants to play in a winning team,’ Teichmann says. ‘For a guy like Juan, he needs to be on the front foot to realise his potential. It’s very difficult to shine if you’re getting pounded in other areas of the game.

‘I’m quite honoured to be compared to a player like Juan. Looking in from the outside, he seems the type of guy who puts his head down and gets on with it. His work rate is excellent and he carries the ball strongly. Unlike a lot of loose forwards, he also has the ability to read play exceptionally well.’

‘Juan is one of the best ball-carriers in world rugby, as his tremendous strength allows him to stay on his feet,’ remarks Drotské. ‘It’s hard to highlight one attribute as he is such a gifted player; one of the best loose forwards in the world. He really has no real weaknesses.

‘His performance in the line-out has come a long way since the early days, and he’s now a sure thing at the back. On defence, he’s learnt to read the opposition and has fast become one of the strongest contesters for opposition ball.’

Teichmann reckons Smith could still be a force at No 8 such is his natural feel for the game. But it’s at blindside where Smith has few peers in world rugby, although it is widely known he relishes a bruising confrontation with the All Blacks, and with Jerry Collins in particular. Teichmann says Smith’s versatility makes him potentially a better player than the belligerent Collins.

‘They are two quality players, but they are two different players. Jerry uses his strength to get across the advantage line at close quarters. Juan has more impact when he’s out in the backs. The reason for this is that he has the pace and skill to compete with backs of international quality.’

Getting older has taught Smith many things. He’s no longer the brash youth who’d initiate a bar brawl or drink his peers under the table. He’s become the quintessential family man, a model for the youngsters both on and off the field. It’s been a steep learning curve for Smith, and he’s only too keen to impart any hard-earned advice to the new wave of budding Springboks.

‘The role of the senior player is more demanding, but that in turn gives you more confidence. I can honestly say my own game has improved because of this leadership role,’ he says. ‘I don’t want to take too much credit, but when Duane [Vermeulen] arrived from
the Pumas, he was never a line-out option.

I tried to help him in winning his own ball and in the contest, and at the moment he is one of the best jumpers in our team. That’s my job; a senior player is always expected to help the youngsters.’

He is the first to admit pain comes with the territory. The rugby spotlight is no place for men of his nature, but those in the know will always raise a glass in acknowledgement to his efforts at ground zero.

Smith has already ascended to the pantheon occupied by Teichmann and Venter, but the next chapter of his career should determine whether he goes on to rise to even greater heights.

By Jon Cardinelli

– This article first appeared in the June issue of SA Rugby rugby magazine.

jean-2.png

134 Comments

• 1.flanka: Reply to this comment

HARD DRAGON

• 2.flanka: Reply to this comment

so I see the theme with the articles tonight is talking up our boys..i like it, cheap and easy way to spark debate like the raucus going on in mujati’s thread

• 3.rangerman: Reply to this comment

howdy flanka!

juan is no. 1 on my team sheet. no doubt about it. lets see him kick some ***!!!!

• 4.pauld: Reply to this comment

Best player we have at the moment. And as far as I am concerned if we didn’t have him at RWC07 we would not have won

• 5.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

What can I say he is the man!

• 6.flanka: Reply to this comment

#3 rangerman: howzit ranger…ja this boy is just the epitome of what springbok rugby is about…hard grafting talented youngster who goes about his business with professionalism. First name to be penned down on the teamsheet for sure.

• 7.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Bigger , stronger ,faster and surely in a class of his own.

• 8.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#3 rangerman:
    agreed 100% the only other blind side I ever rated with Juan was Andre Venter had the huge privilege of meeting Andre in 2000 in Bloem got him to sign a coaster for my son

• 9.flanka: Reply to this comment

actually there really can’t be any debate on this thread as it’s pretty straightforward…why not do an article praising Luke Watson, Simon :-D

• 10.puff: Reply to this comment

My favourite Springbok player, hands down.

• 11.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

The only bad thing about Juan is that he wont leave the Free State for another union, He is just the player the Sharks need to start winning trophies again.

• 12.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#11 It is just a game:

shows the pedigree of this guy no words to describe him he will retire as one of SA’s greatest ever.

• 13.pokkel: Reply to this comment

Prior to the RWC2007 I wasn’t a great Juan fan because he never seemed to distribute the ball. He really earned my respect during the RWC and is my first choice blind sider.

• 14.pauld: Reply to this comment

Just reading an article like this puts things into perspective. And I wish a few bloggers would take note. I bang on all the time about what is world class and what is not. Juan would be the first name on any team sheet from the AB’s to Canada. You see blokes on this site waxing lyrical about Botes , Deysel , Vermeulen etc. Granted they are good players but not world class. And world class wins world cups. Go Juan you good thing. You will be spoken about as people speak about the Friks , naas’s , Andre venters , Teichmanns , Rob Louws of this world until your dying days.

• 15.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#12 MR Lam:

Howzit Kalahariman?
    Tyd dat ons n slag Gemsbokpark toe en kameeldoringvuur maak met n lekker vet skaaporibbetjie.
    Jis, ek verlang daai wereld!
    My broer kuier op die oomblik daar.

• 16.Thamesside Bok Fan: Reply to this comment

“It’s an honour every time I run out for the Boks.” – There you have it in a nutshell the pride in the jersey, this guy would bleed buckets for the Boks and he never ever gives up on us. He’s a real asset to us and one of the best in his position in the world. His Wc form was AWESOME and long will his hand off of Matthew Tait live in the memory!! Legend!

• 17.pauld: Reply to this comment

#15 Pietman: My ma en pa vertrek moreoggend Gemsbokpark toe vir twee weke. Tent en alles. Stop more aand in Keimoes oor. Lekker trippie vir die twee ou ballies

• 18.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#17 pauld:
    Vir seker!
    Wonder waar slaap hulle in Keimoes, daai hotel was laas toe.
    Lekker plek is Attie van Niekerk se gastehuis, soos jy die dorp uitry Upington toe, teen die klipkop oorkant die skool.

• 19.pauld: Reply to this comment

#18 Pietman: Ek sal bietjie vra. Wat is die naam van Attie se gastehuis ?

• 20.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

One of possibly only two guys I will always pick in my Bok team fitness permitting.

• 21.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#19 pauld:

Kan wraggies nie onthou nie, dis sulke kliphuisies met lekker geriewe.
    Sal by my ma ****.

• 22.pauld: Reply to this comment

#21 Pietman: Ok kwaai. Dankie ou pel

• 23.Thamesside Bok Fan: Reply to this comment

#20 PissAnt:

The other being Burger?! Damn our loosies are good!! :D

• 24.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#22 pauld:
    ‘Die Werf’, val dit my skielik by.
    Dit is in die Keimoes gids.
    Se vir Attie ek het hulle verwys.

• 25.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Ya definitely a red grass player honestly can say i have never heard anyone say he is anything but great.Sad to hear about Andre Venter i did not know that he was confined to a wheel chair,Sean Fitzpatrick rated him the hardest player he has ever played against.

• 26.cab: Reply to this comment

really is what springbok rugby is all about, great player.

• 27.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#15 Pietman:

pietman

lekker en daar gee die datum dan kry ek jou daar enige tyd, was baie lekker my drie jaar daar groot respek vir upingtoners

• 28.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

best handoff in the game too, someone should really make a compilation video os his handoffs.

always thought he was the best playerin the wc too.

• 29.pauld: Reply to this comment

#25 4moreyears: So did Richard Hill who has just recently retired from rugby. He was a hard man as well so coming from the likes of Fitzy and Hill the compliment is even better

• 30.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hey lammie, PA, pauld, flanka and the rest!

this is going to be a short thread. everyone agrees, juan is in a class of his own. never seen him have a slump in form, never seen him showing a big head. just gets on with his work. it is an HONOUR to be compared to teich and andre venter (two of my all time favourites) but the guy has earned it. definately my player of the wc. but flashy players get noticed as opposed to hard grafters.

cant wait to see juan use his “fokkof uit my pad uit, jammer die bus is vol!” handoff on sat.(with apologies to katman).

• 31.katman: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith = The Conductor.

(the man who decides who gets on the bus and who doesn’t)

• 32.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#29 pauld:
    Check mail oor ‘Die Werf’..

• 33.katman: Reply to this comment

#30 rangerman: weird timing.

• 34.pauld: Reply to this comment

#32 Pietman: Het hom. Dankie

• 35.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#30 rangerman:

gerry collins reckons juan is the hardest he has ever come up against even JP redcard nel once said when juan tackles you you get up (if you can) and say, that guy knows what he is doing

• 36.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

rangerman 30..”.fokkof uit my pad uit.jammer die bus is vol” priceless mate absolutely priceless.

• 37.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Saw that hand off in the super 14 it was so big it looked illegal.

• 38.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#33 katman: ja katman, sorry about that. just too good a line to leave out. i gave you credit though.

i like that, “the conductor”. MR juan smith.

• 39.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#35 MR Lam: ja lammie, jerry rates juan, what more do we need to know?
    kinda reminds me of the fear the AB’s had for a certain flyhalf named lem!

• 40.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#37 4moreyears: didnt some poor province chappie get THE hand off this year?

• 41.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and juan taught it to kanko. and kanko showed Richie what he had learnt. and then it was try time baby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 42.katman: Reply to this comment

#40 rangerman: Francois Louw. Doctor says he can have the handprint on his chest surgically removed, but he reckons he might keep it.

• 43.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

lunchtime lettuce leaf and Keo for dressing. What a meal. Pity the subject matter is boring. Jean is the greatest loose forward in world rugby right now IMO(yes even Richie) and seems nobody disagrees. So its off to more interesting stuff on the Mujati post for me. If his old man should pop down to Newlands to watch his son play for the Boks, I’ll be looking for a broad pair of shoulders to rest my old R1 on,so that I can get a good shot in between the peepers. ANIMAL.

• 44.ruggamad_dave: Reply to this comment

Hey Keo, Im just wondering, whats the point of buying the SA Rugby magazines if you guys publish the articles. For me, its gr8 but I dont think SA Rugby Mag feels the same way.

• 45.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

I agree with the article 100%. Just like Teichmann and Andre’ Venter. Actions speak louder than words. In the 2005 I went to watch The boks face the All Blacks at Newlands. And geeze , Juan Smith would be tackling a storming Jerry Collins and smashing him backwards in the tackle. F***king amazing china;s.

Juan Smith can tatoo No7 on his back. The bok No7 jersey will be his for a very long time.

• 46.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#42 katman: lmao!

• 47.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

ruggamad Dave , i think the new issue is not far away , and therefore these slighly outdated articles are of less value.

• 48.katman: Reply to this comment

#43 TASSIES: That story was bullshit. No relation to Brian. Please stop spreading this prejudicial ****.

• 49.katman: Reply to this comment

#44 ruggamad_dave: You can’t put the website in the guest loo.

• 50.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#42 katman:

LMFAO I remeber Spies handing off schalla at loftus in 2007 stormers bulls game, schall almost killed everyone he tackled after that he was so pissed off thats teh day luke went off ans schall took over CPT but we still had our arses handed to us at the WP supporters tent after the game their were still more BB supporters tahn WP supporters trying to get in to see schalla

• 51.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#43 TASSIES:

they aren’t related in anyway just **** stirrers causing KUK here once again.

• 52.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

That hand off on Francious Louw was on his face , not his chest …..

• 53.shooter: Reply to this comment

Kankowski is probably just as fast as Spies.
    Wat noem ‘n hasie in die Spur? Inspirasie.Wat noem jy ‘n hasie in ‘n pyp. Blokasie. Wat noem jy die nobelpryswenner haas? Vilikazi.wat ‘n lag.

• 54.flanka: Reply to this comment

#31 katman: hahaha, love it..”bus is full, p*ss off”

• 55.Tjorts: Reply to this comment

Ja, Juan is another “Yster” from the Freestate. Whilst the Bulls may have the “Lock-factory” of SA, the Freestate have produced many fine blindside flankers – Piet Greyling, Theuns Stofberg, Andre Venter and Juan comes to mind.

• 56.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

I wish I knew who came up with the idea to spell K@K , with a “u” in the middle. KUK. so ***!! geeze. kuuuuuuuurk. say that out loud to yourself , kuuuuuurk. Its *** , so get with the programme and pronounce that A Kaaaaaaa…k. Kaaaaaaa – k … there we go.

• 57.Pompa: Reply to this comment

I just have a eeling Juan and Bakkies will be back to their best saterday

• 58.Pompa: Reply to this comment

Sorry “feeling”

• 59.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Katman I’m spreading nothing mate. All sounded pretty legit to me unless the author was a master fiction writer. Confirm how you established it’s nonsense and I’ll reserve judgement. What’s reported to be going down in Zim certainly isn’t ‘prejudicial ****’. So I’ll ignore the insult and move on.

• 60.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#56 wp_boytjie:

**** OFF lol its started with GBS he is a bull supporter so it must be *** the wont say K@K like that again HAPPY

• 61.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

lol lol , ya pronounce the “A” and i wont complain. Lekke

• 62.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

and before I move on, I happen to like the way young Mujati goes about his business. Good player. Decent person by all accounts. So I object to be ringfenced with G3G and his ilk. But same goes for the stuff in reverse. Now endof subject and move onto why we’re here.

• 63.FrenklyMuDeah: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith is best in World at number 7.

• 64.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#59 TASSIES:

tassies Brian was in boarding school in ZIM very prominent one his family did not and do not own farms it was established the name is pure coincidence and the story doesn’t ever imply that they were related just that the surnames are the same and no matter what happened to the family in zim he still supports the brian mujati that now plays for the springboks

• 65.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#61 wp_boytjie: could never understand the use of the U when I first landed on this site several years ago. I even used it once (I think) influenced by others apparently more worldly. The A/@ makes far more sense. So in deference to youself, I revert to K@K logic.

• 66.flanka: Reply to this comment

#59 TASSIES: nowhere in the article (which by the way is taken from a zim online paper/blog and we can all imagine the high standard of zimbabwean journalsim) is a link created between Brian and this Joseph fella…the only thing they have in common is their last name which is a typically sounding name of the shona people, not to mention the kids parents don’t even farm (I have my sources)…he went to Peterhouse Boys which is 1 of zims top schools and trust me when I say his pa isn’t a hobo running around kicking down farm doors.

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i think “kuk” started when no swearing was allowed? at least i thought that was it but i am happy to say that it is a kak discussion.

• 68.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#64 MR Lam: thanks for clearing that one up. Regardless, I don’t believe one member of a family takes on the responsibilities of another’s problems. Anyway we all get a fly in our ear by what’s going down in this neck of Africa.

• 69.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#23 Thamesside Bok Fan:

Actually no hey – the other guy who would always make my side is Mossie, aka Jaque Fourie

• 70.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#68 TASSIES:

no problems

#67 rangerman:

your right when IG the draconian ruled here (apologies Dawn)
    all swearing was forbidden and resulted in swift banishment from his lordships website

• 71.stormbokbefok: Reply to this comment

#56 wp_boytjie:
    kuk man

• 72.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#70 MR Lam:

LONG LIVE IG

• 73.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#67 rangerman: Ja a kak discussion. Looking forward to 5.15 Saturday. Even delayed my flight to Germany to watch the game on S1. Priorities. Priorities. Going to be a hella scrap. The lighties are going to catch a little suprise from the step up to Test level but equally the Taffs are in for a suprise of their own when Juan and his mates follow Butchies kick-off into the Freestate clear blue sky down onto a hard yellow turf.

• 74.cane: Reply to this comment

#63 FrenklyMuDeah:

He’s good Frenkly…………………………………but da best. That can be decided by Historians when he retires.

I must admit I was surprised to see he is only 26. His best two years are in front of him.

• 75.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#71 stormbokbefok: Kak man. Read the new rules.

• 76.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

#74 cane: howzit Cane. You’re late. And I’m outta here. Lettuce leaf is done/dusted.

• 77.cane: Reply to this comment

#70 MR Lam:

Ambassador,

Iggy was firm………………………….but fair.
    He gave us all enough rope to hang Ourselves.

Which some did several times over.
    Also Herr Iggy usually gave the perpertraitor of the indiscretion a warning……..perhaps several warnings……perhaps several Lives even………..Ask Fern how many lives Iggy gave him?

• 78.SAfan4life: Reply to this comment

Now here is a farkin player. Leaves the glitz out of it and just gets on with the job. Harder than frikken nails. WHAT A LEGEND.

Frans Steyn take a leaf outta Juan’s book.

• 79.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#77 cane:

I remember well Cane just taking the piss see if it brings Dawn out IG was her man, I was warned many times by him he favoured a few bloggers and nailed others ask Supa and GBS hahaha of course there was one BB supporter cant remember him but he got banned for life by IG but he used to jaag KUK aan here

• 80.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

#79 MR Lam: Stan is the BB supporter you looking for. He deserved to be banned for life. He was later banned on Ruggaworld as well. Are we now allowed to mention the “other” site?

• 81.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

Nope, seems we are not allowed to mention the “other” site, I got the “Your comment is awaiting moderation”

• 82.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

He’s not a legend until he wins a test on NZ soil something he hasn’t done and probably won’t do.

• 83.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#81 NZINCHINA: just like the AB’s arent legends til they win a world cup eh?

dont be too sure we wont scalp your boys this year mate.

• 84.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#79 MR Lam:

You thinking of Stan?

• 85.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#82 rangerman:

We choke at world cups your boys choke on NZ soil, am I wrong?

• 86.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#83 PissAnt:

That’s him he then moved to your side of the world PA and blogged on rugga world might still be there

#81 NZINCHINA: with that rationality it means the AB’s aren’t legends cause they haven’t yet won a fully integrated WC, rethink your post being upside down in China has made all the blood rush to your head

• 87.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#84 NZINCHINA: yip you are. yoor boys OUTPLAY us in NZ. but the first part was right.

• 88.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#85 MR Lam:

Nope last I remember he got banned there too! :)

Dont know by who though…

• 89.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#84 NZINCHINA: listen my china, you are opening a can of worms. why disrespect juan?

he frequently smashes your boys around and this year will be no different. get ready mate, the bus is full.

• 90.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

#85 NZINCHINA: :rant:

• 91.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#55 Tjorts:
    Not forgetting Rassie Erasmus, Ruben Kruger and Naka Drotski (schools), Eben Jansen, Hannes Botha, Kleintjie Grobler, Klippies Kritzinger, Kabamba Floors, Hendro Scholtz, Gerrie Britz,….

• 92.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

best 6 on the planet hands down.

Best player in last yrs WC

Has no weaknesses

Close to perfect as they come

MR CONSISTENCY

Nowhere near as naturally talented as lets say a Spies,Kaino,Messam etc

But is the REAL DEAL

• 93.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#81 NZINCHINA:

Pieter bloody Rossouw won a test on NZ soil and that hardly makes him a legend.

In fact, he scored the try to whip the Kiwi’s that day.

• 94.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Even worse, Stefan bloody Terblanche won a test on NZ soil!

Your yardstick on legends is a bit skewed mate.

• 95.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#86 rangerman:

No you choke in NZ thats why you have won once there since 1992. Happy to concede we choke come world cup time.

• 96.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#91 mshiniwami: howdy mshini!

i am loving your well considered posts of late. good work.

i am sure you mean best 7 though?

but ja, he is indeed the real deal. blessed to have him as a bok.

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#94 NZINCHINA: mate, last time we won there was 1998 i think. but no worries, in china, rugby she is not very beeg.

• 98.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#94 NZINCHINA: i actually dont think the kiwis choke, they are shown up come levle playing fields time (we all know that the tri nations and s14 are skewed by the travel issue eh? thats why its no surprise your lot have overtaken us on the win/loss ledger since the demise of traditional tours).
    no worries, we enjoy rugby and our rivalry.

the bus is full this year. you heard it here first.

• 99.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#94 NZINCHINA:

you mean 1998

• 100.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#97 rangerman:

could’nt agree more rangerman, level playing fields in the old test days meant no travel advantage as the boys were ell rested and ready, anyway that aside, YES THE BUS IS FULL

• 101.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#98 MR Lam:

No I mean 92′

• 102.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#99 MR Lam:lol, fokkof uit my pad UIT!!!!!!!!!!

• 103.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#97 rangerman:

Neutral refs also help

• 104.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#100 NZINCHINA: uhmmmmm, dont make your name arse now buddy. everyone makes mistakes.
    except schalk burger.

• 105.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#102 NZINCHINA: lmao! ja, neutral refs like the anzac “lets *** up those japies” brigade?
    get real.

we beat you in nz in 1998. check it up. come back and apologise. we can still be friends.

• 106.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Since readmission in 92 you have won once in NZ, have you boys been strau rum (spelling)?

• 107.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

on the strau rum?

• 108.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Stroh Rum

• 109.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Drank some in J’burg a few years back nearly killed me

• 110.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#108 NZINCHINA:

That is what it is designed for!

• 111.bigg: Reply to this comment

I read this article last week in the paper.

• 112.bananas: Reply to this comment

Juan is a great player but all Bok loosies need to evolve with the ELVs so what worked in 07 will not always work in 08 !
    Juan, Shalk and Spies are the perfect blend.
    Watson can play a part if he is humble enough to be a team player.
    Kanko is too cocky and does not get around the rucks enough, fantastic on the beak but test rugby is attrition – trench warfare and he will be expected to hit the rucks vs ABs….. will he cope ?

• 113.puff: Reply to this comment

Players I would currently put down on my ideal Bok team sheet:

John Smit
    Bakkies Botha
    Victor Matfield
    Schalk Burger
    Juan Smith
    Fourie Du Preez (form is temporary, class is permanent)
    Butch James
    Bryan Habana
    Jean De Villiers
    Jacques Fourie
    Percy Montgomery

11 players. There’s a reason why we’re the best in the world at the moment.

• 114.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

#109 NZINCHINA: actually, it should have

• 115.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#113 Boerboel:

It wasn’t as bad as the beer they served us in Soweto though, that is a taste I will never forget!

• 116.bigg: Reply to this comment

kudu balls

• 117.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#16 Thamesside Bok Fan: Hey, we do agree on something!

• 118.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#62 TASSIES: Thing is, there are plenty of Mujatis in Zim. It’s a pretty common surname there.

• 119.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Juan the only player who is number 1 in his position and cant be replaced.

• 120.Bullish: Reply to this comment

Agree with all above. No surprise everyone has the same point of view.
    Juan Smith: Utterly unreplaceable.

#106 NZINCHINA: Stroh is actually meant for cooking, but it is popular in clubs/pubs too.
    Heartburn city!!

• 121.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#119 Bullish:

I nearly “choked” on it..

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#120 NZINCHINA: so you have been to sa? naaice! hope you enjoyed. i plan on being in your neck of the woods for 2011.

• 123.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#121 rangerman:

Was there in 96′ friends live in J’burg, went to J’burg, Pretoria ,Durban was fortunate to catch a domestic game at Ellis and Loftus magnificent grounds had a quick walk on the turf at Loftus – highlight of SA was a 3 day diving trip north of Durban at Sodwana ( spelling) Great that your going to NZ for 2011 ****** we might even win that won….

• 124.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#122 NZINCHINA: mate, sounds like you lived the highlife!
    the diving in sodwana is fantastic! i worked in a game reserve just down the road and was there all the time.

ja, nz may win in 2011 but maybe the boks are saving themselves for that first win in more than a decade-in the final!!!lol.

• 125.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

#115 NZINCHINA: Just never ask what is in the beer! But the pure stuff is brewed from mealies and is quite good. I tasted some from a commercial brewery, nice stuff.

• 126.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

When they find out you are a kiwi you get treated exceptionally well, although my timing was off it was after the 95′ loss and just before the 96′ series so I got plenty of stick

• 127.Rev. Jim Jones: Reply to this comment

The hardest men in SA rugby are that lot sitting in the stands in Durban, drooling into their cucumber sandwiches whilst ogling the Sharks Strippers.

• 128.cab: Reply to this comment

LMAO

• 129.katman: Reply to this comment

#126 Rev. Jim Jones: Ha ha. You can tell exactly where the strippers have been performing: the section of the crowd that won’t stand up when the Mexican wave comes round.

• 130.zeitgeist: Reply to this comment

One of the players I most respect in SA rugby.

• 131.Rev. Jim Jones: Reply to this comment

#128 katman: haha

• 132.paulynz: Reply to this comment

Respect!! Juan Smith has long been admired here in New Zealand. Jerry Collins has been quoted as saying that Smith was the toughest player he had played against. The Boks will be able to field two sets of fearsome loose forwards in 2008. It’s gonna be a tough Tri-Nations this year…

• 133.Tjorts: Reply to this comment

#90 Pietman: Ja Pietman, although I consider Ruben, Rassie and Kabamba to be more openside flankers. Kleintjie and Klippies was a little before my time. I am also not sure who was open/blindside with the Jan Ellis/Piet Greyling duo.

• 134.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#132 Tjorts:

Yes, true.
    Jan Ellis was # 6, as far as I can recall.
    Klipppies and Kleintjie # 7.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.