Taking centre stage

Jean de Villiers is determined to become the axis around which the Springboks revolve.

jean.jpg

In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale Wednesday 11 June, the Bok centre talks about the pain of missing the 2007 World Cup, what he has that Frans Steyn doesn’t (and vice versa), and why he’d be happy to wear the Bok No 13 jersey even though he prefers 12.

He also expresses his burning desire to beat the All Blacks in New Zealand this year. ‘It’s still a huge goal among the senior players,’ he says. ‘We achieved a lot under Jake [White], but the fact that we’ve never won in New Zealand has always bugged me. After this year’s Super 14, I’m confident we can head over there with a very strong side and pick up the win.’

Also in the latest issue:

Ian McIntosh on the ELVs: the former Bok coach (who was on the IRB’s Law Group Project) gives unique insight into how they were conceived, why they were supposed to be adopted as a package, and the ‘orchestrated’ effort to undermine them

– Seven steps to glory: former Bok mental coach Henning Gericke on how to beat the All Blacks in New Zealand

– The key to Robbie Deans: why he’s the right man for the Wallabies job

– Frank Bunce rates Anthony Tuitavake, while Stirling Mortlock aims to bury the Wallabies’ World Cup ghosts

– Jeremy Guscott on why Ian McGeechan will get the Lions roaring in 2009

– Former Bok centre Joe Gillingham left South Africa for France and never returned. Keo finds out why

– WP scrumhalf Paul Delport has suffered more setbacks than most, but he hasn’t given up on his Bok dream

Currie Cup preview: Can the Sharks win first title since 1996?

219 Comments

• 1.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Jean De Dragon!

• 2.Sniper: Reply to this comment

In the centre – Dragon

• 3.Sniper: Reply to this comment

Oh Shucks – beaten again!!!

• 4.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

“what he has that Frans Steyn doesn’t (and vice versa), why he’d be happy to wear the Bok No 13 jersey even though he prefers 12.”

Speed and power but lacking tactical variation and a kicking game ?

• 5.Disa: Reply to this comment

I am the biggest supporter Province ever had (in my own mind) but must say i had my reservations about Jean when Rassie made him captain but he came out on top. I rate him on current form the best centre in the southern hemisphere

• 6.Storm Voort: Reply to this comment

Jean is definitely the most complete centre in South Africa and probably in the world at the moment….

• 7.Windhond_Sharks: Reply to this comment

#6 Storm Voort: yes storm, and of course you convieniently forget about brian o’driscoll, mortlock and conrad smith….

• 8.out wide: Reply to this comment

#7 Windhond_Sharks: exactly my thoughts too – he is good but let’s not get carried away.

• 9.puff: Reply to this comment

Giteau and Mortlock

Deans would either be incredibly brave or really foolish to break up this deadly combination.

Aside from the two above:

De Villiers
    Fourie
    Darcy
    O’ Driscoll
    Barkley
    Jauzion
    Noon
    Contempomi
    McAllister
    Mauger
    Tait
    Steyn

Man, there are some good centres on the planet.

• 10.Skopskiet is a doos: Reply to this comment

7 & 8: This is patr of the problem. The Kiwis has a helluva lot of faith in the ability of their players to be the best in the world. We seem to want to always say something along the lines of, “He is good, but….” The attitude difference can make itself make a difference.

• 11.Rager: Reply to this comment

Gents,

Where are the results of the Super 14 predictions competition.

10 days down the line and we haven’t heard a thing from Keo.co.za.

Was this just a false ploy to boost ‘hit’ numbers?

• 12.out wide: Reply to this comment

I admire your grit and determination Jean, but just stay off the injury list. We need you for those tests in NZ in Wellington and Dunedin. News today on NZ’s Radio Sport was that Carisbrook in Dunedin is already 80% sold out for the House of Pain test against the Boks. Not sure if it is the World Cup holders tag the Boks now proudly own or the fact that the the Southern Men last had a test 3 years ago. Seems they want to remind their North Island detractors that they can fill the ground and deserve to host test matches there.

• 13.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

#7 Windhond_Sharks:
    i disagree with #6 Storm Voort: he is’nt “probebly”he is “definately” the best centre in the world far better then #9 puff: australiens

• 14.superstormer: Reply to this comment

for me all JDV previous coaches made him play with a structered plan, “jean you must run into your opp.”
    since rassie came to CT jean has been playing what he see’s infront of him…

• 15.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

puff

you left out the name of pierre speis

• 16.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

It looks like SA Rugby mag and keo are run on the same priciples.

Keo recycles articles time and again and SA Rugby magazine recycles cover pictures.

True or false?

• 17.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Where’s that guy that always writes about the WP?

Westelike Provinsie deel rugbylesse uit in Windhoek

DIE Namibiese rugbyspan, oftewel die FNB Vyftiental soos die telbord hulle genoem het, se dapperste verdediging was Saterdag teen die Westelike Provinsie nie genoeg om ‘n neerlaag met 45-6 af te weer nie.

‘n Goeie skare het die Hage Geingob-stadion volgepak, net om te sien dat harde werk nog vir die Welwitschias voorlê om hul wedstrydplan en spankeuse reg te kry voordat hulle Woensdag na Dakar vertrek vir die allerbelangrike Afrika- en Wêreldbekertoets teen Senegal.

Beserings en onttrekkings het afrigter John Williams nie veel ander opsies gelaat as om ‘n redelik onervare agterlyn in die veld te stoot nie. Met Melrick Africa se laat onttrekking is die nuwelinge in die middelveld aan die diepkant ingegooi en moes hulle boonop vir die grootste deel van die wedstryd verdedig.

Op die aanval was daar maar min kans om die Streeptruie te beproef. Die telling getuig nie werklik hoe hard die wedstryd voorlangs was nie. Die besoekers het vier drieë in die laaste tien minute gedruk nadat die Namibiërs vir groot dele van die wedstryd moedig verdedig het. Die Namibiese heelagter TC Losper het eerste punte aangeteken met ‘n strafskop.
    © wiets Coeetzee
    Die persoon met sy arms in die lug op die foto is die wenner van ‘n getekende WP-rugbytrui.
    Die voorsprong was egter van korte duur aangesien die WP-haker Deon Fourie kort daarna in die middelveld verby Wacca Kazombiaze is om onder die Namibiese pale oor te duik. Losskakel Ricardo Croy het verdoel om die WP met 7-3 te laat voorloop. Die WP-voorspelers het sterk gedryf met die bal.

Agtsteman Justin Melck het ‘n losbal opgeraap en sy span se tweede drie gedruk. Croy het weer verdoel. Met die WP 14-3 voor, het die skeidsregter mnr. TC Fontein die WPvoorspelers gestraf omdat hulle die bal op die grond vasgehou het. Losper het weer geslaag met die strafskop. Kort voor rustyd het die WPstut Schalk Ferreira met krag oor die doellyn gedryf om die rustydtelling 19-6 in WP se guns te maak.

Die Namibiërs het meer aanvalle in die tweede helfte geloods, maar afronding het ontbreek. Die voorspelers het heelwat balle in losgemale asook lynstane verloor. Die fiksheid het ook nie gehou nie. Die WP-heelagter Johan Pietersen, en later ook Gio Aplon as impakspeler, het uitstekend gespeel en met vaart en vlugvoetigheid die Namibiese verdediging geflous.

Pietersen is as die speler van die wedstryd aangewys. Een van sy breekslae het die WP se volgende drie vir die plaasvervanger Terry Jacobs geskep. Croy het oorgeskop en die WP se voorsprong het tot 26-6 vergroot. Enkele minute later het Jacobs sy tweede gaan druk. Die reserweslot Adriaan Fondse en senter Dylan des Fountain het in die laaste paar minute ook drieë gedruk. Croy het weereens akkuraat verdoel.

• 18.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#6 Storm Voort:

Complete ? You do realize that a complete 12 can also kick for territory and chip through a rush defense. I can not recall JdV ever doing anything else but putting his head down and running.

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Everything starting with “Axis” this morning.

I wonder why.

• 20.stavros: Reply to this comment

#11 Rager: keep asking. if you post maybe 25 times in every thread, someone will have to give you an answer.

• 21.katman: Reply to this comment

#19 Dawn: Coz why Axis a chick magnet. You sprey, dey come.

• 22.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’ve always said he is one of the two world class stars at WP.

I just wish he would stop with that ridiculous habit of “signing his name in the air” for the camera when celebrating a try. It is so windgat, and rather embarrassing as well.

Compare that to the men who score a try, get up and start walking back to the halfway line without indulging in fits of self-praising vanity.

Come on Jean. Develop the maturity to match your undoubted talent, man.

• 23.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#21 katman:

• 24.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

#22 Tacitus:

You being a little pedantic. Young players will express their joy. They don’t have to be robotic metronomes. I don’t think JdV goes cringefully over the top. He has his way as does Habana etc.

If you remember how Bulls winger JJ Van Der Walt celebrated a few years back you would see that JdV in hardly over the top in his exhuberance.

Tacitus, life is for enjoyment too. Smile and shake those hips of yours!

• 25.wpw: Reply to this comment

Tact

Just like when Habana puts his hand on his brow after he scores hey???

Very immature né???

Grow up bru. You must be one of the most negative people on this site!!!

• 26.katman: Reply to this comment

#22 Tacitus: It still beats the quasi-religious mannerisms our northern brothers employ as their try-scoring insignia. That really gives me the heebie-jeebies.

• 27.Stoney: Reply to this comment

I sincerely hope JdeV will remain injury free this season as we do not have another centre of his caliber. He made Jacobs look good on saterday.As for Butch , he has improved a hell of alot. I do hope that Piet snor will bring Matfield back in the starting 15.Wales however did not come up to expectations. 2nd test will be a run away for the Boks which unfortunately is not good with the trinations coming up as the AB and ausies is a different game

• 28.katman: Reply to this comment

And how was Shane Williams with his “where are they” gesture after he arrived at the posts hours before anyone else – was that embarrassing too?

• 29.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

#24 Jinx da Lynx:
    The best one ever was Gaffie du Toit’s Apollo ‘Lord of the Sliver Bow’ manoeuvre when he scored try – I choked on my biltong. :lol:

• 30.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

Katman

Tacitus would like all folk not to enjoy themselves too much. Being serious is more important than being happy. Never show emotion. Just “druk” it down and soldier on. Never show any little imperfection, never be spontaneous, never sparkle…just be reptilian and f#cking serious.

Chicks must dig you Tac.

• 31.jondood: Reply to this comment

#7 Windhond_Sharks:

I am not so syre about Smith but the other 2 for sure.

• 32.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

#29 Kerneels:

Hilarious!

I think Tac likes ostrich biltong because it’s the only biltong he eats with his head in the sand.

• 33.wpw: Reply to this comment

Mortlock is finished.

I’m surprised nobody mentioned Jauzion and Giteau.

• 34.katman: Reply to this comment

#30 Jinx da Lynx:

Jy moet staan in jou ry
    Jy moet jou hare kort sny
    Jy moet altyd netjies bly
    Jy moet al die pryse kry

Trou en kinders kry
    In jou karretjie ry
    En stem vir die party.

• 35.wpw: Reply to this comment

‘I think Tac likes ostrich biltong because it’s the only biltong he eats with his head in the sand.’

…and his poephol in the air… :mrgreen:

• 36.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

#34 katman:

Whoooo…potent stuff. Who wrote that Katman? Very truthful.

• 37.crickey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

the longer butch and jean can play along side each other and throw in a ‘little’ jaque fourie on the outside, the better it will certainly be for the boks!

• 38.BokiNZ: Reply to this comment

#7 Windhond_Sharks: You have got to be kidding me! BoD! The same one Smith cut into little pieces just the other day. When was the last time he had a major hand in anything creative for Ireland. The other 2 JdV played in the S14 with his rep in tact. Didn’t Jean score the first try vs the Brumbies? About time we give our guys the cred they deserve and we stop living in awe of anyone who wears a black jumper. ‘Nough said!

• 39.sharkster: Reply to this comment

Guys
    Go to the mg’s new sportleader to give Tony “Southern Spears” Mckeever a hard time

http://www.sportsleader.co.za/tonymckeever/2008/06/05/note-to-south-african-rugby-fans-7-days-of-shock-awe/

• 40.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#36 Jinx da Lynx: i think that was jonny k (johannes kerkorrel).

• 41.katman: Reply to this comment

#36 Jinx da Lynx: Johannes Kerkorrel on his 1988 album Eet Kreef. Song called Energie. All about the conformist,non-questioning role Afrikaners were expected to play to keep the big old machine greased.

Jy moet staan in jou ry
    Jy moet jou hare kort sny
    En stem vir die party

Jy moet in ‘n huisie bly
    Trou en kinders kry
    In jou karretjie ry
    Jy moet al die pryse kry

Ek sê nee dis ‘n mors
    Ek sê nee dis ‘n mors, ja
    Ek sê nee dis ‘n mors
    ‘n Mors van energie

Betaal jou paaiemente
    Selfs al kak jy weens die rente
    Wees versigtig wat jy doen
    Of jy verloor jou pensioen

O, en moenie vrae vra
    Oor die dinge wat jou pla
    Jy moet leer om stil te bly
    Jy sal ‘n goue horlosie kry

Ek sê nee dis ‘n mors
    Ek sê nee dis ‘n mors, ja
    Ek sê nee dis ‘n mors
    ‘n Mors van energie

• 42.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

#40 the peanut gallery:

Thanks bru.

Sometimes I think Tacitus is still in his army browns and his doiby at his computer.

In fact… in vol webbing en geweer.

• 43.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#4 klingon_x: maturity and a brain…

• 44.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#42 Jinx da Lynx: ya, there’s only one blogger more anal – g13g

• 45.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#18 klingon_x: You need to watch more rugby then…I’ve seen him chip, grubber and even take line kicks in the past.

• 46.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#41 katman:

Ja well not to be callous, but we all know where that guy ended up. So by all means, rely on that genius as your spiritual guru and life coach…

• 47.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#22 Tacitus: Wish Spies would stop pointing to the sky when he scores…as an athiest I find it offensive

• 48.crickey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

#41 katman:
    was a great song… that, hillbrow and someting about a bmw, i really love those songs…

• 49.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

#41 katman:

I still have that album on cassette from my JHB days in the late 80′s. I must get it out. I still have some old casettes from THAT time but hardly play them. In 2 drawers collecting dust.

Ons ry ‘n BMW ons stem vir die PFP.

• 50.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#47 squonkmonk: halleluya

• 51.shooter: Reply to this comment

#41 katman: spaar ‘n gedagte vir Bernoldus die legende van Marie Ferrari en ‘hou my vas korporaal’ faam.

• 52.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#47 squonkmonk:

Ja well as a religious person I find atheists offensive…

• 53.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#45 squonkmonk:

Must be my short term memory problem again. Last year in the RWC he was almost invisible. It took Steyn at 12 to bail us out. Yep – that boy hasn’t got a brain ?

• 54.katman: Reply to this comment

#46 Tacitus: Well, whether you preceded it by “not be be callous” or not, it still was.

You seriously saying that because his life took a sad turn we should discount everything he said or stood for? Shall we start applying this logic to everyone?

• 55.katman: Reply to this comment

#51 shooter: He was a legend before his time.

Hou my vas, Korporaal,
    ek’s ‘n kind skoon verdwaal
    Gaan ek weer my cherry sien,
    as ek van die trein af klim?

Ja, sowaar, Korporaal,
    dis maar swaar, Korporaal
    Ek speel oorlog met my beste dae
    Ja ja ja.
    Ek en al my maatjies bymekaar

• 56.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#4 klingon_x: He has class my friend! How can you try and compare Steyn to him? Steyn will be lucky making the Sharks Currie Cup team this year!

• 57.Butch James 4 president: Reply to this comment

Jean is good, very very good. He’s playing some great rugga at the moment… I believe he is up there with the world’s best… Must admit it does help when you are playing outside BJ… Butch could even make Bobo look good last year playing for the sharks.
    I’d still like to see Steyn at 12 and Jean at 13… If Steyn does get a bit selfish, Butch can always throw one of his famous skip passes… Jacobs deserves to be on the bench where he plays his best rugby from.

• 58.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

This should be fun – Tac, what is your opinion on Koos Du Plessis and Eugene N Marais?

• 59.Windhond_Sharks: Reply to this comment

#31 jondood: he is the only center that i rate as a specialist in the all black set-up.

• 60.Windhond_Sharks: Reply to this comment

#47 squonkmonk: ja boet, he points to his dad who died a while ago. man you have a short memory…..it was all over the media the first time he did it.

• 61.Butch James 4 president: Reply to this comment

Sniper, where do you get off insulting steyn… As far as I’m concerned I think he’s a national hero. Remember those two drops against Australia to win the match. Let’s see De Villiers do that. Let’s see any other player in the world do that. He’s a match winner that makes rugga worth watching.

• 62.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#47 squonkmonk:

I find your comment offensive!!!!!! Live and let live, please all get off the ***** bashing……not good at all and not warranted on this rugby site!!!!!!!!!!

• 63.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#61 Butch James 4 president: I havent insulted Steyn! I have called the obvious! He is not up to standard this year. Match winner – Mmmm one match – don’t think so!

• 64.katman: Reply to this comment

#58 Kerneels: Marais was not only a brilliant writer and poet and one of the most important voices that helped shape Afrikaans as we know it today. He was also an expert in several fields of natural science and much of his work on ant colonies and primate behaviour was widely plagiarised by European scholars at the time.

He was also a morphine addict and took his life in the thirties with a shotgun. By Tacitus’s standards we should shun him too.

• 65.Jinx da Lynx: Reply to this comment

#58 Kerneels:

Koos Dup was a genius. Very powerful.

Tac prefers Carike Krezenkamp singing “Kaalvoet in die reen”.

• 66.Windhond_Sharks: Reply to this comment

#62 Tripple E: #47 squonkmonk: you like stirring don’t you. you need to seek attention elsewhere muppet….

• 67.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#61 Butch James 4 president: I can only remember him losing matches. Remember the Super 14 Final?

• 68.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#62 Tripple E: Don’t take everything so seriously…it was a comment said in jest to rile Tac who has an unnatural obsession with the man and a seeming dislike for any sort of reaction by a try-scorer.
    #60 Windhond_Sharks: ditto
    PS He seems very sure that his dad went up when there are in fact two directions (according to old testament scripture) one can go

• 69.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What the hoohaa is going on here?

• 70.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#66 Windhond_Sharks: now I like stirring?

Koos Dup and Marais were both brilliant

• 71.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#61 Butch James 4 president:

Typical saffer twats. You find them on all the forums. They were ecstatic when Steyn helped us at the RWC with one of the most impressive performances from a youngster ever at the RWC.

• 72.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#66 Windhond_Sharks: Everyone on here seems to like stirring, I’m just trying to fit in.

• 73.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

It is amasing how so many amasing poets and song writers tend to just loose the plot and end up taking the so called sad turn in life.

• 74.Windhond_Sharks: Reply to this comment

#70 Tripple E: not you, obviously. i merely seconded your reply to sm’s post….

• 75.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#53 klingon_x: That’s a touch unfair…he played one game!
    Besides, I think Jake (and I am NOT a Jake basher…I actually liked him a lot as coaches go) stifled his natural ability in getting him to be a crash-ball centre.
    See how much better he is under Rassie and PdV

• 76.Windhond_Sharks: Reply to this comment

#72 squonkmonk: of course you are….

• 77.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#47 squonkmonk:

Why do you find it offensive. He might be ponting at the birds for all you know.

• 78.katman: Reply to this comment

#68 squonkmonk: Led Zeppelin also confirmed this two-direction theory in their anthemic hit, Stairway to Heaven:

If there’s a bustle in your hedgerow
    Don’t be alarmed now
    It’s just a spring clean for the May Queen

Yes there are two paths you can go by
    but in the long run
    There’s still time to change the road you’re on

• 79.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#77 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: Maybe I don’t like birds

• 80.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#75 squonkmonk:

What does your nick mean?

• 81.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#80 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: **** stirrer!

• 82.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#79 squonkmonk:

So Atheists don’t believe in birds either?

• 83.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#77 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: Or maybe I’m just like Tac and dislike any show of emotion, be it directed at the fans, the coach, the team, God, *****, the Devil, Allah, ********, mother, father or the cape bloody vulture

• 84.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#83 squonkmonk: or I might just be taking the piss…
    or, ooops, stirring!

• 85.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

#64 katman: That was my point Kat…

Eugene Marais is (in my opinion) the best Afrikaans poets and his work in natural science (Soul of the Ape, Soul of the Ant) are nothing short of brilliant. But as you , he took his own life (shot himself in the stomach with a shotgun) after some truly tragic events – mostly derived from depression and his addiction to morphine.

gewis is alles net ‘n grap
    ons speel in die komedie mee
    geblinddoek deur ‘n lamfer lap
    was selfs doe son ‘n skadu gee…
    (from Skoppensboer)

• 86.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#75 squonkmonk:
    His try on Saturday being an example. Clinging on to the ball and just keep going until he is buried – lucky to make the tryline against a weak Welsh team. He is really not much of different player than Steyn : although we have seen Steyn showing much more imagination on the break at 12 in the RWC.

• 87.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#80 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: it means what is says

• 88.Snoek: Reply to this comment

Tri-Nations op Superbru vir Keo bloggers.

Pool code: bearamid
    Pool name: Keo?s Bigmouths

• 89.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

JDV is the best centre in the world on current form.

• 90.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Can I join this brawl?

• 91.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#87 squonkmonk:

What does it say?

• 92.rangerman: Reply to this comment

why are the christians brawling with the atheists?

arent the christians supposed to turn the other cheek?

i am a man of faith myself, but i have little faith in the human condition.

• 93.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#90 Dawn: please do dawnie.

• 94.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#71 klingon_x:

Who you calling saffa twats.

I WILL hurt you.

• 95.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#90 Dawn:

Since when do you ask?

• 96.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#86 klingon_x: The thing is I’ve seen him offload for more often than Steyn has (can’t recall Steyn passing to Fourie once in the final…not that I care…we won).
    Not that I dislike Steyn…awesome talent…but we seem to forget that the guy is barely out of nappies and still has lots of learning to do. To do so under the mentorship of JdV and Fourie (and Jacobs…he’s not large but he’s a very intelligent player and we need some of those) will make him an even greater player.
    I don’t for a moment subscribe to the idea of dropping Steyn entirely, but for now at least I see him as a bench player, especially as he is so versatile.
    However, in the 3N if I were coach I would start Steyn ahead of Adi if Jacques’s not back in the mix.
    What I really like though is the competition developing for just about every spot in the team…very healthy for Bok rugby

• 97.wallabie - Superbru S14 Champion!: Reply to this comment

JDV…now this is a good player. Noone can over rate him!

Unfortunately RSA dont see this…remember RWC…everyone was hoping he was dropped for steyn…wonder what happened to steyn.
    Steyn sometimes plays like a ‘rabbit in headlights’.

• 98.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#91 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: **** Stirrer bro **** stirrer

• 99.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

There is not a better 12 in NZ nor Aus than JDV. Not on current form.

• 100.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#87 squonkmonk:
    Seriously though, don’t think it has a particular meaning, just liked the ring of it.
    A squonk, however, is a mythical creature of the Scottish forests that is very ugly and very shy because of its ugliness; when cornered by humans it gets so uptight it bursts in to tears and melts away to nothing.
    Read in to that what you will

• 101.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#97 wallabie – Superbru S14 Champion!: Thank you! I rest my case!

• 102.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#91 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: like a few folk here…nothing much at all

• 103.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#97 wallabie – Superbru S14 Champion!: listen you bloody aussie! no one wanted JdV dropped for steyn. it was circumstantial and steyn grabbed his chance.

we see and we believe.

and by the way, mujati was never a loosie. thats beast. you will see the difference soon.

• 104.johnnybravo: Reply to this comment

Can’t help but get excited about the combo of Butch, JDV and Mossie.

Probably the most physical midfield in the wolrd. And between JDv and Mossie – they car run riot.

• 105.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#98 Sniper:

Brrrr…..say it again, say it again….brrrrrr!!

• 106.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#102 squonkmonk:

Do you always try to avoid a question?

• 107.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#100 squonkmonk:

And how do you connect that to monk?

• 108.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#92 rangerman: Yeah well that idea seems to have been chucked out along with love thy neighbour and all those other wonderful lessons many so-called Christians prefer to ignore…it’s the unfortunate fact of organised religion, it’s got bugger all to do with spirituality, ethics and morals.

• 109.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#106 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: Perhaps

• 110.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#104 johnnybravo:

My mond water.

• 111.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#107 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: I’m a religious squonk, my athiest remark was an obvious stir!

• 112.PlayBall: Reply to this comment

#104 johnnybravo: Do they share a car?

• 113.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#57 Butch James 4 president:

We have quite a few solid combos there. Grant can play 10 when Butch is injured. JdV, Grant and Steyn can play 12. Fourie, JdV and Steyn can play 13. It is not unusual for 12 and 13 to move around in a match.

• 114.rangerman: Reply to this comment

walla, you googling mujati or what?

i dont know how to make the smileys so dont take me too seriaaas eh?

you arent a bloody aussie. just an aussie.

• 115.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#113 klingon_x: Thanks for the lesson! I thought all players move around during a match! I will watch carefully on Saturday though!

• 116.katman: Reply to this comment

#85 Kerneels: I read his biography (written by Leon Rossouw) – Die Groot Verlange – and it’s an amazing story about an amazing individual.

I found a pretty good English translation of Winternag:

O the small wind is frigid
    and spare
    and bright in the dim light
    and bare
    as wide as God’s merciful boon
    the veld lies in starlight and gloom
    and on the high lands
    spread through burnt bands
    the grass-seed, astir,
    is like beckoning hands.

O East-wind gives mournful
    measure to song
    Like the lilt of a lovelorn
    lass who’s been wronged
    In every grass fold
    bright dewdrop takes hold
    and promptly pales to frost in the cold!

But the original poem is really special:

O koud is die windjie
    en skraal.
    En blink in die dof-lig
    en kaal,
    so wyd as die Heer se genade,
    lê die velde in sterlig en skade
    En hoog in die rande,
    versprei in die brande,
    is die grassaad aan roere
    soos winkende hande.

O treurig die wysie
    op die ooswind se maat,
    soos die lied van ‘n meisie
    in haar liefde verlaat.
    In elk’ grashalm se vou
    blink ‘n druppel van dou,
    en vinnig verbleek dit
    tot ryp in die kou!

• 117.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#114 rangerman: Morning Bro! I was even to scared to comment! I thought: “Rangerman is getting violent!” Yes all sometimes I do “thought”!

• 118.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#117 Sniper: lol, never violent. very little gets under the skin nowadays, must be this website. great therapy!

• 119.johnnybravo: Reply to this comment

#112 PlayBall:

grapgat, after submitting – thaught some-one was gonna say something.:-)

• 120.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#116 katman: katman, that is a great bit of prose i must say.
    thanks for the translation too. i forget you are a dutchie.

• 121.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#116 katman:

Ek het vir Baas gewaarsku gisteraand van te veel Port drink.

Nou kyk nou.

• 122.gman: Reply to this comment

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves Jdv blows hot and cold in the Green and Gold , he is a great player but he to tends to hold onto the ball sometimes when he really should swing it . Steyn lifted our game in the World cup even Jdv would admit it himself it’s a shame that Steyn is dipping in form I think the two of them will be a great centre combo .

• 123.johnnybravo: Reply to this comment

#122 gman:

and drop Fourie? – now way. He’s in a league of his own.

• 124.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#116 katman: What talent! Great translation!!!

• 125.katman: Reply to this comment

#120 rangerman: Not my translation though. It’s by a guy called JW Marchant.

• 126.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#122 gman: Sounds like a a Steers special – Great Combo!

• 127.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#116 katman:

Hy sit soo eensaam in die aande as dit so koud is en die wind waai en hy luister na Kerkorrel dan huil hy so in sy port in.

Ek en my man Johannes kry hom vreeslik jammer, as ons vir hom so beskou van die shack af … maar wat kan ‘n mens nou maak.

• 128.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#127 Dawn: lol

• 129.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

hie hie

• 130.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#122 gman:

Since when do we select players on form only ? Everybody says Steyn had “dropped form” this season. The matches I watched he was always excellent on defense and he made more meters in the Sharks backline this season than any other player. For Steyn it appears that “dropping form” means not single handedly winning a match with a try, two drop kicks and three 60 meter penalties.

• 131.katman: Reply to this comment

#127 Dawn: So gepraat van die shack: julle moet teen Sondagmiddag uit wees.

I’m letting you go. Interest rates. Fuel price. Xenophobia. Something’s got to give. You are it. Sorry.

• 132.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

#116 katman: Jip, read it as well. He is my dad’s hero (even named the first born after him) so we grew up with his work.

My personal favourite:

O die dans van ons Suster!
    Eers oor die bergtop loer sy skelm,
    en haar oge is skaam; en sy lag saggies.
    En van ver af wink sy met die een hand;
    haar armbande blink en haar krale skitter;
    saggies roep sy.

Sy vertel die winde van die dans
    en sy nooi hulle uit, want die werf is wyd en die bruilof groot.
    Die grootwild jaag uit die vlakte,
    hulle dam op die bulttop,
    wyd rek hulle die neusgate
    en hulle sluk die wind;
    en hulle buk, om haar fyn spore op die sand te sien.
    Die kleinvolk diep onder die grond **** die sleep van haar voete,
    en hulle kruip nader en sing saggies:
    “Ons Suster! Ons Suster! Jy het gekom! Jy het gekom!”
    En haar krale skud,
    en haar koperringe blink in die wegraak van die son.
    Op haar voorkop is die vuurpluim van die berggier;
    sy trap af van die hoogte;
    sy sprei die vaalkaros met altwee arms uit;
    die asem van die wind raak weg.
    O, die dans van ons Suster!

Anyone who has ever seen a Lowveld thunderstorm approaching should know what this means.

• 133.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#111 squonkmonk:

Oh, and here I though that I just exposed you for the true hipocryte you are. I am offended.

• 134.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#130 klingon_x:

It was JW’s way. You no to select players based on reputation and talent. Look where it got him. mmmm aaaa….. he won a world cup. Damn, there goes the form theory.

• 135.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#130 klingon_x: Are you Steyn’s father? We all watched the same games and don’t come to the same conclusions!

• 136.cab: Reply to this comment

very interesting on marais, never heard of the chap until now.

• 137.katman: Reply to this comment

#132 Kerneels: sy trap af van die hoogte; sy sprei die vaalkaros met altwee arms uit

I love the image.

• 138.wallabie - Superbru S14 Champion!: Reply to this comment

#103 rangerman:

Sorry I got them mixed up. :lol:

But I think my point was understood.

• 139.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#131 katman:

Ek sal maar gaan as baas dit so wil he.

Ons vat die shack saam sommer.

• 140.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#134 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!:

As said in my opinion Steyn did nothing this season to get dropped. He didn’t have a few absolute shockers like DR for example.

• 141.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#135 Sniper:

Do you want me to point you to SArugby stats LOL

• 142.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#140 klingon_x: When you do nothing you actually get dropped! “As I said in my opinion Steyn did nothing this season..”

• 143.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

#28 katman: I loved it. Very good and give credit where its due. He had Habananana on his butt

• 144.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#141 klingon_x: Don’t believe them – they never tell the truth!

• 145.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

• 146.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#142 Sniper:

See Brickwall’s comment. Anybody who says Steyn “did nothing” this season must have missed the Hurricanes and the Cheetahs games. Or requires Steyn to deliver sub-human miracles each and every time he runs on the pitch.

• 147.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#140 klingon_x:

I agree with you. i also think Ruan is class and should play whether he is on form or not. He will not dissapoint.

• 148.gman: Reply to this comment

123 johnnybravo ..

Mate Fourie is our best outside centre yes indeed but you want someone to fill his shoes when he’s not there .

klingon_x .. ???? Let’s pick everyone because of what they did in the past ..

• 149.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#146 klingon_x:

You’ll find that 80% of rugby supporters get high on flash in the pan performances and still fails to recognise true class.

In afrikaans we call them “mooiweers ondersteuners”

• 150.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#148 gman:

No, lets pick them cause we know what they are capable of.

• 151.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#69 Dawn:

Good question…

• 152.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the sardines have arrived on the natal coast!!!!!

**** it, my weekend has just got soooo much better. every gamefish in the indian ocean will be lining up for my hook this weekend. i am so excited i cant control myself!!!!!

fishing, rugby and braai, in no particular order please.

• 153.katman: Reply to this comment

#136 cab: He was one of the most remarkable individuals in South Africa’s history. Leon Roussouw’s biography, Die Groot Verlange was translated into English – called The Dark Stream. I’m sure the English will be a good read too. It’s not simply the story of this incredibly gifted individual, but also a glimpse into what South Africa was like at the turn of the previous century, with towns like Pretoria, Johannesburg and Heidelberg starting to develop into the political and cultural hub of the region. And of the parallel developments of Afrikaans – up in the Transvaal and down in the Cape – and the battles and efforts to streamline this into one unified language. Well worth a read.

• 154.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

• 155.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

#152 rangerman: SEEE- RI – YAS?

Where are they?

• 156.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#152 rangerman:

Do you have any contacts for fishing charters around the Durban and immediate North Coast area?

• 157.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#152 rangerman: Are you talking about your rugby team or the genuine ‘sardine run’! hehe

• 158.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#133 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: better luck next time

• 159.cab: Reply to this comment

#153 katman: amazing, never heard of him, learn something every day, also never heard of leon roussow, will get a copy.

• 160.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#140 klingon_x: That’s another subject entirely…Daniesauraus should not be anywhere near this team. Steyn, on the other hand, should but he’s not an automatic choice to start.

• 161.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Remember to sign up for Superbru

Pool code: barndial
    Pool name: Keo Muppet?s Battle

• 162.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#141 klingon_x: beware trusting anything published on the SA Rugby website…they tend to get things *** backwards most of the time

• 163.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

#152 rangerman:

Where are they?
    How long are they going to be there?
    I have missed the sardine run for about 3 years… And now I’m in Egypt flying down to SA next Saturday.

• 164.katman: Reply to this comment

#163 Desert Stormer: Tackler should be able to tell you.

Hang on. That’s the chicken run, right?

• 165.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

Snorre!!

• 166.Brickwall: Don't run into it!: Reply to this comment

#161 Desert Stormer:

Your pool does not excist?

• 167.Dust: Reply to this comment

#116 katman:
    Not a good Winternag translation IMO
    It would take some linguist like JM Coetzee to pen a good translation
    I think it will be difficult to get both rhyme and the feel of the original in an English translation

• 168.Dust: Reply to this comment

Like dust sounds different to stof

• 169.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

afternoon all ye muppits,

Dawn me, lady how are you on this fine cold day in the Mother City

• 170.katman: Reply to this comment

#167 Dust: I thought it was particularly well done, considering the very specific metre of the original. And I certainly get a sense of the mood. Plus he’s done a decent job in keeping the rhyme intact.

• 171.katman: Reply to this comment

#139 Dawn: Unless you’re prepared to take a significant pay-cut. If you’ll work 5 and a half days a week for R200 plus the shack we can work something out.

• 172.Dust: Reply to this comment

(every time I refresh the page I get an error message and I have to press the Back button on my IE)
    I dont think he kept the rhythm – the English lines are longer. That detracts from the desolate efficiency of the Afrikaans

• 173.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

#172 Dust:

download Mozilla Firefox, sow much nicer the IE

• 174.Dust: Reply to this comment

Wonder what HtBW would se

• 175.katman: Reply to this comment

#172 Dust: I don’t agree. Line for line the metre is exactly the same – same amount of syllables with accents and stresses in the exact same spots. The translator clearly paid a lot of attention to not only translate the text accurately, but to make the flow identical to the original. And if you’ve ever tried to translate poems or lyrics, you’ll discover just how tricksy this can prove.

• 176.Dust: Reply to this comment

#173 MR Lam:
    Does the page auto-refresh in Mozilla?

• 177.Dust: Reply to this comment

#175 katman:
    Hell, don’t I know Katman
    I once tried converting that rap ballad … and then I got high, yes I got high, it was ‘cos I was high … into Afrikaans
    CAme up with … want ek was gerook etc … and twas a lot of fun but mega difficult

Just say it was you who did the translation!

• 178.katman: Reply to this comment

#177 Dust: Not me, I assure you.

How about: Ek was op ‘n plak

• 179.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#177 Dust:

Why would you want to translate that into Afrikaans?

• 180.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#169 MR Lam:

Ja it is cold.

I really need a cuddle buddy.

• 181.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#180 Dawn:

Keep believing.

• 182.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

#166 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: They always mess up the apostrophe. Just use the pool code: BARNDIAL

• 183.Dust: Reply to this comment

#179 Dawn:
    For fun, a challenge
    What do you think of “Winter Night”

An example of desolate efficiency in English is the book by JM Coetzee “Waiting for the Barbarians”. Not dont all you rugby lovers rush out and buy one; its not about men in black and white jumpers

• 184.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

What the hell are you talking about #175 katman ?

• 185.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#181 Sheriff:

You mean there’s no hope!!!!!!

• 186.Dust: Reply to this comment

184, DS
    Go back to #116 – it all started way back there, and at #85

• 187.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#185 Dawn:

I sent you something by courier; did you get?

• 188.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

arrogant prick

stay out of the media and just focus on the game.

• 189.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I would never go for a NZ chick.

Unless of course if she is Jewish…

• 190.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#187 Sheriff:

R u serious?

• 191.MADaboutrugby: Reply to this comment

Good Morning All,

Although my pre-match prediction of 48-12 was not far off, I have to say I was a little disappointed in the easy way we gave Wales their tries. We also had a further 5 opportunities to score tries which we didn’t make use of. Both these things can be corrected in a very short time though, so…no real problems here. On the other side I was very disappointed in Wales as well as they would not even have beaten Scotland, the way they played against us.

My analyses for each player in the game against Wales.

Guthro Steenkamp – He had a great game, and at times you would have figured Guthro to be a loose forward in how he was making his way around the park.

John Smit – John lead from the front, and I have to praise John as it was not just the old cliché of John just being a great captain, but also his general hooker play in all departments stood out. Through what John did on the field on Saturday, John has affirmed himself as not only being a great Captain for South Africa, but also a great player.

Brian Mujati – Two things that were noticeable was that Brian gave away one penalty, but also won us another. I think Brian generally had a good start, keeping in mind that it was only his first test.

Bakkies Botha – So nice to see the Bakkies of old, Bakkies had a great game, he was good in the lineouts and he was great at doing what Bakkies does best, sure there is going to be many bruised Welch forwards after the game on Saturday.

Andries Bekker – Had a great start to his career, yes he knocked a couple, which I am sure he would normally catch with his eyes closed, but he also stole one of the Welch lineouts, which led to one of our tries. Andries will be a future great, no doubt about that.

Luke Watson – This was the best game that I have seen Luke play, he was great in the Super 14, but he was even better in the game against Wales. Luke also made 2 tries for the “Boks”. Luke would have been my man of the match.

Jean Smith – Jean had a good game like he always does. But it far from Jean’s best.

Pierre Spies – Pierre is playing better every time he gets his chance, but he is still far from being at his best. It was noticeable that Pierre missed one very important tackle, when Wales scored a try, and also knocked one ball near the end of the game when the “Boks” would surely have put 50 on the board. But Pierre did however show touches of brilliance with also making many great tackles, running with the ball like the Pierre we knew last year, and great finishing and support running which led to the try he scored.
    Pierre at his best is better than Kanko at his best. They are both destructive runners, Pierre is stronger though, Pierre is also faster, and when Pierre gets his defense back up to scratch he will not only be the no.1 eight man in the country, but also the no.1 eight man in the world. Tough game this, because Kanko for me would be the second best eight man in the World. But there is only space for one of the 2.

Bolla Conradie – This is the best game that I have seen of Bolla this year. Pieter choosing Bolla was definitely justified.

Butch James – Butch was just as good if not better than he was at the 2007 World Cup.

Brian Habana – I can still see that Brian is lacking in confidence, Brian is very far from being at his best. The problem off course, as it always has been lies between the ears, sure he will get it sorted out soon though, whatever it is causing his major lack in confidence in his own ability at present.

Jean De Villiers – Jean is playing his best rugby of his career. Jean was fantastic.

Adi Jacobs – Adi has what it takes, but you can see Adi doesn’t quite believe it yet. Adi did have a better game than his last for the Sharks, and you can see that he is slowly growing in confidence, but he is not where he wants to be yet. I know Adi has the goods, but I think Adi doesn’t fully believe it yet.

Tonderai Chavhanga – He will be one of our future greats, and if Habana does not rediscover his confidence in his own ability soon, Tondi will start being the talk of the town. Tondi did not have a good game against Wales, but it was his first game, and you could see that the belief and confidence in his own ability was there, he was just too tense and made many mistakes because of it. Was only his first test though, “watch” him next week.

Conrad Jantjes – Another future great of “Springbok” rugby. Conrad was excellent in every department of his fullback play and I am afraid to say that Percy will be the player that will be phased out sooner than we all think. Conrad will certainly be our fullback at the 2011 World Cup.

Cheers everyone

• 192.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#188 greatest13gerber:

Oh shut up you yard of wet tripe.

• 193.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#161 Desert Stormer:
    Ok I joined. Who you on there?

• 194.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#190 Dawn:

Ag Dawn, I sent you a mail. To that shell e-mail address.

Did you get it?

• 195.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No, it’s emmett with two t’s @ shelldotcom.

Try it again.

• 196.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

What pool should I join for the 3nations????

• 197.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#191 MADaboutrugby:

When you started to write this document on MS Word it was morning.

Point no 2; is the idea not to post and then interact with those who want to engage you on it.

Bit of a hit and run scenario here

• 198.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#197 Sheriff:

That’s a mean thing to say.

• 199.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#198 Dawn:

I think the bloke makes some interesting points and I’m tempted to respond, only to see the “cheers everyone” at the end

Postman mentality.

MadAbout, come back here

• 200.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

#193 THE MAULER: Desert Stormer

• 201.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#200 Desert Stormer:
    Your name isnt there and I joined barndial

• 202.wallabie - Superbru S14 Champion!: Reply to this comment

#195 Dawn:

How is dawn today…is it bright and sunny or dull and cloudy.

• 203.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#202 wallabie – Superbru S14 Champion!:

What the heck is wrong with you.

You not insulting me.

• 204.wallabie - Superbru S14 Champion!: Reply to this comment

#203 Dawn:

• 205.wallabie - Superbru S14 Champion!: Reply to this comment

#203 Dawn:

Did you watch the football?

• 206.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#205 wallabie – Superbru S14 Champion!:

So far, all the games.

• 207.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#195 Dawn:

No jokes. I’m sure I sent it with the 2 t’s.

Having difficulty accessing my mail. I will have to try to resend it tonight.

• 208.wallabie - Superbru S14 Champion!: Reply to this comment

#206 Dawn:

The dutch gave the italianos some spaghetti!

• 209.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

JDV is fantastic and had he been at the WRC, he would have been amazing. Always breaks the line etc. However I rate Jaque Fourie.. The man is a amazing centre. He picks great lines, runs a great crush ball and is always there in support, not forgetting his awesome defence.. You know that when South Africa come up against world class centers you feel at ease knowing Jaque Fourie is there to tackle any threats in sight. He is legendary..

While Jean De Villiers scores all the tries Fourie is running the decoys and moving men out of position then there is his rucking like a loosey..

• 210.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Byt Jean op sy tande of wat?

• 211.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#201 THE MAULER:
    Ok dont worry I got it right!!!

• 212.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#200 Desert Stormer: desert stormer you still here?

the sards are at the wild coast sun and heading north with just a light n-westerly blowing.
    apparently there are thousands of dolphins and tens of thousands of sea birds!

it isnt called the “greatest shoal on earth” for nothing and anyone who has the chance should try to witness this phenomenon.

and eata da potugees sardines with cheepsh!

• 213.rangerman: Reply to this comment

someone asked me if i had contacts with fishing charters and the answer is no, unfortunately!

• 214.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#208 wallabie – Superbru S14 Champion!:

That was an excellent game.

• 215.squonkmonk: Reply to this comment

#191 MADaboutrugby: I think we all got it…it’s about the seventh time you’ve posted that since Sunday, all on different threads. Talk about covering your bases.

• 216.SAfan4life: Reply to this comment

JdV is an awesome player. He will benefit under PdV as he will beable to play is natural game. Remember a couple of years back when he was touted as our most creative back with the most flair? Well we saw glimpses of that Jean this year.

Frans Steyn is an enigma. He has talent but something is missing. I think he needs a few hours on the psychologists chair to set his head right coupled with someone who can manage him properly. He needs some guidance and needs to play with players that will set him straight and tell him to stop farking up.
    He does not deserve the Springbok jersey at the moment.

Age isn’t the reason for his kak performances. Beale, those 2 centres for the Tahs (their names escapes me), James O’Connor who is frikken 17 have all been playing with more maturity than our Steyn. So “he is young and must be given time to mature” isn’t an excuse anymore.

• 217.Skim: Reply to this comment

Geez great cover….I’ll be waiting outside my nearest SASOL Delight tomorrow morning in anticipation.

• 218.spt: Reply to this comment

can’t agree with you more, will drives couple of km just to get a look at that cover

• 219.MainRugbyGuru: Reply to this comment

#6 Storm Voort: If Jean is so great, how come we got the ball once to Habana (standing still) and not once to Chevanga? why have we scored so few tries the past two years, besides out of broken play and intercepts – why could Wales on Saturday score such an easy looking try against our ‘star studded’ backline? Why did JdV again throw two passes where the ball bounced on the ground before reaching the guy next to him, and these weren’t passes where someone tackled him?!

**** Muir is stuffing up Francois Steyn and Ruan – keeps moving them around all the time – trying to make another few Brent Russels? Ruan should be the future bok 9 and Frans the bok flyhalf – ask Murray Mexted – Frans needs help to kick the ball faster at flyhalf – taking a few steps too many resulting in charge downs.

SA had two lucky breaks in the 2007 RWC – the one was Eddie Jones who fixed in a few weeks what Alistair Coetzee couldn’t do in 4 years!! and the other was JdV getting injured.

JdV should be playing wing – he has an uncanny ability to get across the line with little space on the wing – but with him, Jacobs and Chevanga, the Aussies and All Blacks are licking their lips – open paved road to the try line. There is no way they’ll stop Gitteau and Mortlock when they start running hard.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.