Does Jean rock your world?
19 Jun 2008
Tell us what you think of the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine and you could win a pair of Ray-Ban glasses.
We want to know what articles you enjoyed reading and which you didn’t. Tell us what you’d like to see more of in the mag, and what you’d like to be scrapped. Do you like our current columnists or is there someone else we should get on board?
Of course, we also welcome letters from you, as long as they are well written, topical and no more than 300 words. You can e-mail them to judge@hsm.co.za.
– To subscribe to the mag, click on the link at the top of the home page

68 Comments
20 Jun 2008, 09:32 am
Behemoths?
20 Jun 2008, 09:33 am
“They must not trouble the trouble before the trouble, trouble them”.
20 Jun 2008, 09:36 am
Having said that, I still think you need a female editorial staff member, preferably the same ethnic persuasion as the national coach.
You will go far with someone who praats die taal.
Also, the game from a female perspective! Inject some humour, something that the guy and his girl can have a laugh about!
20 Jun 2008, 09:37 am
I thought you guys said that Frans Steyn was our best centre in SA, and that JDV would struggle to regain his position – and what k@k did PDV talk about players didn’t put up there hands. Bliksem is te kort, hy kon dit nie sien nie.
20 Jun 2008, 09:58 am
Jean should be playing outside centre. Wiff Steyn at 12, they will be the next great combination in world rugby
20 Jun 2008, 09:59 am
PS:
Jean’s shorts are beautifully ironed.
20 Jun 2008, 10:00 am
#5 Zulushark:
dupreez,butch,steyn, mossie
with jean on the wing!
20 Jun 2008, 10:02 am
#6 Dawn:
I agree 100%
20 Jun 2008, 10:05 am
I need those glasses.
My pair was stolen from my car by evil panelbeaters during repairs after I trashed a white Citi Golf.
20 Jun 2008, 10:07 am
—Attention all WP supporters—
Join our (ALL WP) pool in Superbru for the TriNations and Currie Cup:
Currie Cup:
Pool code: autoread
Pool name: Currie Cup Kom Weer
Tri Nations:
Pool code: beadedge
Pool name: WP Stormer Bokke
20 Jun 2008, 10:08 am
o, and i presume we have a new sponsor?
SOL … is that short for solly philander?
Come on guys (and girls), I’m looking for some constructive feedback. The best posts will go into the next issue.
#9 Dawn:
dont lie!
you never had a pair of baanas in your life!
20 Jun 2008, 10:10 am
#12 Simon:
what about #2?
that’s from a speech i heard. i presume it was the guy’s punchline, cause he paused just before delivering it, and immediatly afterwards!
20 Jun 2008, 10:10 am
#9 Dawn: Roudly South African…
20 Jun 2008, 10:19 am
#7 asha1:
I can live with that.
20 Jun 2008, 10:21 am
#12 Simon:
Mine is constructive.
20 Jun 2008, 10:23 am
#12 Simon: to do that i would have to go out now in the bitter cold and rain to purchase a copy.
last night the missus comes back with a copy of the sports illustrated for me so that i wont mind her sitting with her lady mags for hours.
My first words to her as they always are when she constently buys me the SA sports illustrated were , ” babe, ive told you SA RUGBY! sports illustrated only has a section for rugby”, then the rest is shite golf and cricket which involves graeme smith, who has made it shite.
Funny how she doesnt buy me the sports illustrated when its a swimwear edition.then its men’s health for me.
20 Jun 2008, 10:33 am
I have not finished the whole mag yet, but enjoyed the interview with Jean. In fact, I would say I enjoy the articles with senior players more with perhaps too many pages taken up by features on future stars, but from the looks of it, it seems to be sponsored articles or pages in the mag.
I used to enjoy the columnist quite a bit, in fact used to be my favourite part of the mag, the current lot apart from Keohane from time to time is a bit boring.
Bring back Schalk Snr! Even perhaps get Morne du Plessis to do something for you. Always love their views.
20 Jun 2008, 10:39 am
#9 Dawn: Dawn, are you actually Cindy Nell?
20 Jun 2008, 10:53 am
pa – Do agree that our best centre combo is still JDV/Fourie. I have a feeling that Steyn’s performance in last RWC has given JDV the neccessary kick up the arse to lift his game to new heights and it seems this year JDV has done just that. However i do feel that Steyn is probably better suited to 12 as well which does give PDV a selection headache but a backup from heaven.
20 Jun 2008, 10:58 am
I’m with PA.. the columns aren’t really what they use to be, but Keo’s ones arent half bad.
and there are some really good articles, but I just get the feeling there’s too much **** in between. 1 page of really good reading and then 10 pages of nothing…
and just keep Ryan away from the whole bloody thing, if his writing matures a wee bit more he’ll be well qualified to write parking tickets!
20 Jun 2008, 11:00 am
Jean is the man at 12 THE END. Line breaker and defending machine !!! Maybe Steyn outside when Fourie is not available.
20 Jun 2008, 11:00 am
He looks like a priest.
20 Jun 2008, 11:06 am
#22 LoveJoy: What ****. Ryan is one of the best rugby writers in the country. His writing is probably too intellectual for you.
20 Jun 2008, 11:07 am
I thought the mag was brilliant. Great value at R23 when you consider that Sports Illustrated is R30 and only has one or two rugby articles.
20 Jun 2008, 11:10 am
#21 grunt:
Not even a debate.
Steyn is also not a 10 for me but who am I to go against a player himself?
I still reckon he needs to have a straight fight with Jean for the 12 jersey, or go and develop his game to be the complete 15.
20 Jun 2008, 11:14 am
#26 I agree. I article on Stirling Mortlock really captivated me. It is always interesting to see what is happening in Australia and with the new addition of Robbie Deans. Also i enjoyed the piece on Joe Gillingham-its always interesting to see what ex players are doing after the game. Would love tpo see an article on Michael du Plessis, Faffa Knoetze or Goggie van Heerdan who went from Maties 3rd side to scoring the winnig try in the CC final in 86 in the space of 3 months.
Keep up the good work Sa Rugby Mag!
20 Jun 2008, 11:15 am
#12 Simon:
SA Rugby mag has been awesome forever. The best thing about it is that you are not scared to call out the “problems” in our rugby fraturnities and back those threads up with facts. The problem I have is that you always run the similar kind of centerfold stories, who is the best in this position or what combination will he have to select or why does this coach hate that player. Why dont you get Peter de Villiers to do a piece every month and give his perspective on the Boks, Currie Cup and Internationals coming up at the end of the year. He said at the start of the S14 that rugby belongs to the people and he was going to rate the players in the media ect. It would be great to read about what the Bok coach thinks of rugby and how he feels about the things we blog about everyday.
20 Jun 2008, 11:17 am
#20 wernergreeff fanclub membership 3:
No.?
20 Jun 2008, 11:17 am
#20 wernergreeff fanclub membership 3:
That’s so funny. No she’s not…but heck that was a good lag on a cold winter’s morning.
20 Jun 2008, 11:19 am
Hi Dawn…next you’ll get someone asking if you are Patricia De Lille.
20 Jun 2008, 11:21 am
Yeesh you guys can really suck up.
20 Jun 2008, 11:22 am
You so funny. Noticing Jean Div’s lekker neatly ironed broek. Lekker squeeky clean crease. You my best. Good laugh susta. Keep rockin’.
20 Jun 2008, 11:22 am
#32 Jinx da Lynx:
You’d like that huh.
An ugly old hag.
20 Jun 2008, 11:25 am
All that “bediende” work for Katman has given you that eye for detail. Jy stryk soos ‘n koningin.
20 Jun 2008, 11:26 am
I want those Baana.
But the seriaas fundis will win.
20 Jun 2008, 11:27 am
12 Simon, I would if I could get the Mag in London, send us a copy via e-mail, cheers
20 Jun 2008, 11:27 am
#36 Jinx da Lynx:
And still he’s not happy.
20 Jun 2008, 11:30 am
#39 Dawn:
Eish…maybe he just needs a little tenderness. Like an evening of Ludo or Snakes and Ladders. Let him win. Milo and cookies too in die mooi en skoon kombuis.
20 Jun 2008, 11:43 am
ok, here goes.
havent bought this month’s issue yet, so cannot comment on any of the articles!
what i would love to see in sa mag though, is a breakdown of every position. i remember the cricket guys do that a while ago (ok, they’ve done it at their live coverage of games etc explaining each fielding position and the thinking behind it). remember that rugby no longer is a sport for …. wait for it (did anyone think “whites”?) no i was going to say … men exclusively! look at your live coverage of games and the amount of women attending them … i think there is a definate need for articles like this to provide a better understanding of what is expected of each player in each position, how they go about doing their jobs, the best (at this point in time) in the coverred position … and the guys who revolutionised that position eg fetcher kronfeld, what his thinking was and how he went about changing the way everyone (except jw
) thought about the fetcher role!
then there are different tactics (both on defense and offense) employed by different teams and why it suit them (or not).
just think, the possibilities are endless!
oh, by the way, you have my e-mail address, make me an offer!
20 Jun 2008, 11:45 am
pa – Off the subject again. Why is there no Bok A side in the Pan Pacifics? Why are the emerging Boks in a second rate tournament in Romania instead of taking on the Maoris, Australia A and Fiji in the Pan Pacific cup?
20 Jun 2008, 11:53 am
#42 grunt:
Could be a case of geographics.
I believe South Africa is expected to grow the game in the African countries and central part of the world more with New Zealand and Aus looking after the Islands.
The Emerging Boks, way I believe, is a farce. It would serve this country so much better to have an A-side where the Bok hopefulls can play sides like Italy and the Maori’s, Aus A and the Islands.
20 Jun 2008, 11:58 am
#41 asha1:
… and who knows, maybe one day when we’re able to field our own “carter, mccaw etc” (sorry for all the nz names), they may credit your magazine for changing the way they think about the position they play in because they learnt from your articles how that position changed over the years, why it happened, and how the guys who had the biggest influence on a position identified the oppertunities to do exactly that!
who knows, it may not even stay with players, but have a huge influence on the thinking of youngsters who want to go into coaching!
again, the possibilities are endless!
20 Jun 2008, 12:13 pm
#41 asha1:
Hey.
Are you implying women don’t know these things.
20 Jun 2008, 12:18 pm
#45 Dawn:
no, theres a lot everyone can learn from such articles. i just think because more and more women start to attend games or watch the coverage of those games, theres a definate market there. in post #44 i’ve conceded that it may even be an advantage for youngsters coming through the ranks or even for those thinking of going into coaching!
20 Jun 2008, 12:47 pm
some constructive criticism…change the heading of this article.
it sounds a tad ***. i think it only applies to dawn and she’s only interested in his shorts.
20 Jun 2008, 12:48 pm
mind you, jean looks a lil *** on the cover too.
20 Jun 2008, 12:49 pm
jeans article cud have been better. think u guys need to get naas column back!i love his insight.dont ever scrap jakes column tho!Gary’s play book is good.i like the interview section,this issue was mortlock and previous one was Latham.the mag needs 2 or 3 articles more cz its too short.
why not have a work-out section. each issue u’ll have 2player from the current Bok squad giving their training methods and tips such as when they gym, which kind of exercise they do on each day of the week, the number of sets,reps they do.At the same time showing what they themselves bench etc. imagine schalk or danie giving their respective stats and compare it to luke&bakkies. or even better..u compare it to that of richie mccaw&Ali williams.*** ON GUYS THIS SHOULD BREATHE SUM FRESH AIR TO THE MAG AND WILL HELP THE YOUNGSTERS PLAYING AGE GROUP RUGBY THE TRAINING SCHEDULE THEY CAN USE.THIS ARTICLE SHOULD BE 3PAGES AND OFCOURSE HAVE A PIC OF THE PLAYER IN GYM DOING SUM SORT OF EXERCISE.
20 Jun 2008, 13:01 pm
Once agen a great cover. I always love your witty captions.Keep it up guys
20 Jun 2008, 13:03 pm
#46 asha1:
Hence my initial offer.
20 Jun 2008, 13:03 pm
I don’t know what’s more *** – the headline or the fact that you can win a pair of Ray Bans.
20 Jun 2008, 13:05 pm
Please tell me why the last few mags all had Stormers/Sharks poster??
20 Jun 2008, 13:12 pm
Bully, want a nice Bulls poster to hang on your wall? Which “hunk” you want sonny?
Tsk tsk, you Pretoria boys
20 Jun 2008, 13:15 pm
#53 Bully:
Half last cover was dedicated to Pierre Spies, with the other half Kanko?
20 Jun 2008, 13:16 pm
#42 grunt: Well, duhhh… SA isn’t washed by the Pacific Ocean. Do you need a map to find your way home?
20 Jun 2008, 13:21 pm
soek#53 Bully:
Gaan kry vir jou die Landbou Weekblad as jy bulls posters soek
20 Jun 2008, 13:29 pm
#57 bergbok:
Man moenie onbeskof wees nie.
He has the right to ask the question.
20 Jun 2008, 13:37 pm
Its called SA Rugby magazine not Coastal rugby. All supporters read the mag not jus you sour Sharks and stormers.
20 Jun 2008, 14:02 pm
#51 Dawn:
you mean at #3?
agree. will be a good move!
20 Jun 2008, 14:53 pm
#60 asha1:
as long as it doesnt become a 2nd mens health or sport illustrated …
o, and while you’re there … lose the poster of “rugby heroes”
a nice centrefold of a completely naked anna kournikova for the 1st edition will do!
20 Jun 2008, 15:28 pm
Jean Pant rock ma werld.
20 Jun 2008, 16:31 pm
I’m glad to see Pieter see’s Jean as part of the squads core.
20 Jun 2008, 16:50 pm
#47 pakalolo: um, simon posted the article.
What did you expect?
20 Jun 2008, 17:42 pm
Big blond male plays rugby marketed himself well, now if were miss SA he would have to tell how he will solve SA and the worlds problems. likely no, he go and play in UK and say ‘rearrange these letters: fyauolculk’
20 Jun 2008, 17:44 pm
oh Jean has never beaten the ABs in NZ, live in hope Jean.
20 Jun 2008, 18:22 pm
Jean rock my world – no not really.
As for reading the magazine, no I don’t read it because it is not distributed where I live and I refuse to pay the extortionate shipping charges added on.
However when friends or family come to visit me they usually bring me the latest mag which I do enjoy.
Please could you look into a way of providing the magazine online.
21 Jun 2008, 10:19 am
#41 asha1: very good point, would like to see that. almost like a job disc. so you can measure the players. Then some1 should then just send a copy to the bulls
what ever happend to the whole bakkies saga?