Seven steps to glory
30 Jun 2008
The Springboks have not won a Test in New Zealand since 1998. Former Springbok mental coach Henning Gericke explains how Peter de Villiers can achieve what Jake White couldn’t.
White may have a World Cup winner’s medal, but the former Springbok coach has something missing from his impressive CV – his side never beat the All Blacks in New Zealand.
In 2004, White’s first year in charge, the Boks came agonisingly close to claiming what would have been a shock victory in Christchurch. With 30 seconds to go, they led 21-18, having scored three tries to nil. But a botched line-out call 5m out from the Springbok tryline led to an All Blacks scrum from which winger Doug Howlett slid over in the right-hand corner.
In 2005, the Boks arrived at the House of Pain in Dunedin needing a win to clinch their second consecutive Tri-Nations title. With six minutes to go, they lead 27-24, only for All Blacks hooker Kevin Mealamu to be driven over from a line-out for the match-winning try.
The Boks were never going to make it third time lucky for White in New Zealand last year, after the coach opted to rest almost all of his first-choice players ahead of the World Cup. While the second-stringers put up a good fight and trailed 12-6 with 20 minutes to go, three All Blacks tries in the final 10 minutes resulted in a 27-point thrashing.
Former Springbok mental coach Henning Gericke was a key member of White’s management team during that time, and it still grates him that the Boks never won in 2004 or 2005. He believes that while they were mentally prepared for the task, they didn’t have the experience or self belief that the finished product, which won the World Cup, had.
‘I honestly believe that the Boks can win one Test, if not two, in New Zealand this year,’ says Gericke. ‘They just need to focus on these seven points …’
1. HAVE A NO-RESPECT MENTALITY
‘Springbok teams are guilty of putting the All Blacks on a pedestal and believing they are unbeatable. Don’t get me wrong, they are a great team, but we’ve shown them too much respect over the years. We now need to change our underdog mentality into a world champion mentality. We mustn’t listen to all the talk that we haven’t won there since 1998 or that we have never won a Test in Dunedin. We are the world champions and we should believe in ourselves.’
2. AIM TO DOMINATE
‘If your enemy responds to you, you are strong; if you respond to them, you are weak. The Boks must arrive in New Zealand, with the intention of dominating the opposition.’
3. PLAY TO YOUR STRENGTHS
‘The Boks must do what they do best. The All Blacks don’t like to be tackled hard and confronted physically. New Zealanders throw 50-50 passes in the Super 14 because there’s space, but in Tests you can close that space down and put them under pressure. Playing a physical game doesn’t mean you are playing boring, one-dimensional rugby. It means you are playing clever rugby and giving yourself the best possible chance to win.’
4. HAVE SEVERAL LEADERS
‘The more the unyielding the challenge, the more flexible your leadership has must be. In 2004 and 2005, [captain] John Smit was the only real leader in the team. The Bok side of 2008 will have quite a few leaders, and that could make a big difference. Jean de Villiers was an excellent captain for the Stormers this year, while Juan Smith did a good job with the Cheetahs. Victor Matfield captained the Bulls to the Super 14 title last year. The All Blacks, meanwhile, don’t have many strong leaders, which is why I believe they lost to France in the World Cup last year.’
5. BECOME A FAMILY
‘You need to create an inner circle that creates positive energy. If you have a family environment, you will be able to handle outside pressures because you are so tight-knit. However, it may take time for De Villiers to create the kind of family vibe that we had under Jake. Look at what happened to the Bulls when Heyneke Meyer and a couple of key players left. That family structure was broken to some extent.’
6. SEE OPPORTUNITIES, NOT OBSTACLES
‘When you are in New Zealand, you must really want to be there. Embrace the people, the culture and even the weather. Go out and explore the country. If you have a negative mindset about how terrible a place it is, your game will suffer.’
7. HAVE BIG MATCH TEMPERAMENT
‘When you play the All Blacks in New Zealand, the games are going to be close more often that not. You’re going to find yourself in a situation where there are just three or four points in it with a few minutes to go. Your players have to be able to stay mentally strong and close out the game, which is what the Boks didn’t do in 2004 and 2005.’
What Peter de Villiers says:
ON THE CHALLENGE AHEAD
‘It goes without saying that playing the All Blacks anywhere is one of the toughest tests in the game, but in New Zealand it becomes even tougher. New Zealand have been the most successful rugby country in the world over the last decade, with the exception of their World Cup performances. They are true rugby thinkers and they play with supreme confidence at home, resulting in an attitude that does not contemplate defeat when on home soil. I’m not surprised at all that we have struggled there since 1998, but it should be remembered how close the Boks came to victories in 2004 and 2005.’
ON MENTAL PREPARATION
‘We will leave this country with our minds focused on the first Test [in Wellington] and the first Test only. There’s no use planning and getting worked up about the novelty of two Tests in New Zealand. The reality is one Test is played after the next, so I will prepare the squad for the first Test only. When it’s completed, we’ll reassess and then prepare for the second Test [in Dunedin].’
ON WHETHER HE WILL VALUE EXPERIENCE OVER YOUTH
‘I trust all South African rugby players, and will pick the side I feel has the best chance of winning. That doesn’t just go for the New Zealand Tests. Whoever I name in my 22 for any Test, regardless if they have one cap or 100, will have my full faith and backing.’
ON WHETHER HE’LL BE HAPPY TO WIN JUST ONE OF THE TWO TESTS
‘I am not a loser. I will never be satisfied if we lose.’

928 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 19 » Show All
30 Jun 2008, 15:52 pm
#546 rangerman: I disrespect the ABs.
Boks are favouites. They are the World Champions and all the reasons from: Burger, Smit, Smith, Bakkie, Matfield, Spies, Kanko, Butch, Steyn, JDV, Habana and Monty shows that NZ are underdogs. They are underdogs because Hayman, Jack, Williams, Colins, McCaw, Mauger, McAlister and Tanaare no longer their. Lets take the mantle and wear it proudly and lose bravely.
#522 tight head: Tighthead, with your knowledge of how rugby should be played I’m surprised you’re not heading off to Leicester with Heineke Meyer!
“First order of business for your team is prepare them.”
“If he selects the right players we have a chance of winning.”
“However they then need to play test match rugby.”
That’s really insightful…although you forgot to mention that: “If we want to beat New Zealand, in New Zealand, first thing we have to do is fly to New Zealand”
LoL – this site is always good for a laugh!
the paranoia is lovely to see.
i sense weakness. GH senses it too. never heard him talk like this before.
let the games begin!
besides the ’87 & 95 WC the blacks never made a WC final
they must have the worst pool draws ever
#549 church – like chch but pronounceable: The question was asked. Would be rude not to answer.
30 Jun 2008, 15:53 pm
#526 rangerman: yes loving the banter myself. Dont know poppa69, but BlackP has some some good rugby brains!#528 siener: Hahaha, yes it seems a little convenient.
Just for the record, banter aside, I give full and humble respect to the AB’s. I will cheer the AB’s in any match they play, except against us, because they represent the best, most important aspects of rugby. Self-belief, trust in the team ethic, hard but fair, gentlemanly(well mostly! eg Mcaw) but uncompromising, never give up.
Like tighthead, I believe we can do it.
#546 rangerman: Ranger. I went to Paris for the final. There were more AB supporters than Eng/SA folks. They were so confident they were going to win that they all booked non-refundable package tours valid for the entire WC. Ended up having a few drinks with some of them. They were really down. A lot of people pretty much put their entire savings into the trip as well as taking unpaid leave. I expect a lynching party for GH if he loses a game in the 3N.
#549 church – like chch but pronounceable:
Howzit ChCh.
Some people revert back to their basic instincts when they have nothing better to say.
Score prediction?
30 Jun 2008, 15:54 pm
#548 BlackPanther: IF ? If my aunt had balls she would be my Uncle. We cannot deal in if’s and but’s only reality
#548 BlackPanther: if the boks had naas, danie gerber, carel duplessis………..but they dont.
front up buddy. the game is this weekend, not last year.
#556 Rev. Jim Jones – Champion of the people (2008), harbinger of awesomeness: you are sick
30 Jun 2008, 15:55 pm
#534 poppa69: wrong, no one says that beside a few stragglers. We know it will be a thing
30 Jun 2008, 15:57 pm
#558 pauld:
That is my single biggest fear. What will happen to GH should they lose?
#558 pauld:
At least they got some enjoyment out of it. Equally possible was for some ‘broker’ to steal their life savings with invalid/non-existent stocks.
At least enjoy it while you can!
#558 pauld: my boet went to the AB vs frogs game wearing a bok jersey. he took so much abuse from the kiwis, being called a “dirty saffa” and a “japie” that he proceeded to have a frog tricolores painted on his bald pip in protest.
we all know how that turned out.
#531 Boots: 1937 Springboks, 3rd test.
Regards
30 Jun 2008, 15:58 pm
#559 OCO:
Hi OCO. Wait till after AB team annouced tomorrow
#553 crazy ******
#538 BlackPanther:
Honestly, I would trade the Boks position of World Champs 2x with that of being ranked #1 in the world for almost every month of 20 years but being called a choker cause they cant win WC.
Its our only way of getting back at you guys, I mean what else besides submission would we otherwise have on you guys.
And you cant honestly tell me that any team John Eales took to NZ was a favourite in NZ. Id like to know the stats on the amt of Tests the Ozzies won under JE in NZ.
Ill be happy for the Kiwis to call us favourites, its just one more notch that gets lost on the respect for the black jersey and makes you guys more vulnarable.
Hell Im enjoying this
#553 crazy ******: Tight Head was going to go with Meyer but he has decided to ghost write Meyers book on the Scrum and the need for a good right shoulder. Should be more rivetting than the unedited edition of War and Peace.
30 Jun 2008, 15:59 pm
#450 Sheriff:
agree. especially after it started to look as if the win as a mere formality!
aplon jou lekke’ ding!
#568 church – like chch but pronounceable:
Also wait until the SA team is announced. Can either be a good one or poor.
Hope springs eternal!
#564 Sheriff: Men with pointy hats and burning rugby poles will appear at his front door
30 Jun 2008, 16:00 pm
#562 church – like chch but pronounceable: Cough.
30 Jun 2008, 16:00 pm
#568 church – like chch but pronounceable:
lol, ja then this whole site will be doom and gloom for a bloody whole day!
30 Jun 2008, 16:01 pm
#564 Sheriff:
He will just say “judge me after the tri-nations”
30 Jun 2008, 16:01 pm
#569 Boots: i am loving it too.
even if we lose, i will cherish these moments of rabid uncertainty.
hell, when did you last hear guys like blackpanther talking about “weakest” and wishing for a return of the stars of yesteryear?
we need to PUNISH the AB’s NOW!!!!!!!
Cmon BOKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
30 Jun 2008, 16:02 pm
#553 crazy ******:
Trying to understand your comment?
Heineke won a S14 title.
PdV won what, some junior matches?
30 Jun 2008, 16:04 pm
#571 asha1:
Gee jou Appels!
Really could not enjoy the game as I wasl getting ready to “saag” AC
30 Jun 2008, 16:05 pm
#545 poppa69:
Read my comment on choking at 569.
The difference between this bok side and Eng 2003 is that most Eng guys called it a day after that or ran away like cowards. ie: Robinson, Dalaligo. Our guys have sacrificed huge contracts in the NH to come deal with some unfinnished bussiness.
30 Jun 2008, 16:05 pm
#573 pauld:
Talk about being caught between a rock and a hard place.
But from what I understand NZRU always had an “open door policy” ; coaches can leave whenever they want to…
30 Jun 2008, 16:06 pm
#578 OCO:
and jw won …. before he became bok coach?
#580 Boots: ja, this 3n and the lions tour.
unfinished business. now if supersport can just find a catchy tune……..
I hear there are many AB supporters going to support the Bokke, in protest of GH.
I will say thanks my nasal-accented friends
30 Jun 2008, 16:08 pm
#578 OCO: OCO, the reason you don’t understand my comment is probably because you can’t read.
Where in my comment am I knocking HM or comparing him with PdV?
30 Jun 2008, 16:09 pm
i really hope our kiwi friends arent typing long winded retorts aimed at putting us in our places.
short and sweet is how banter should be.
30 Jun 2008, 16:10 pm
#581 Sheriff: The open door policy is usually excercised after every RWC
30 Jun 2008, 16:10 pm
#580 Boots: appreciate your honesty…
but have your guys actually had a chance to gel and return to the team they were last year ??? 6 months is a long, long time in rugby……..that has to be a major worry going into this weekend…..
30 Jun 2008, 16:11 pm
#532 the peanut gallery:
I agree, 17% is a pathetic hit rate. But AB supporters realise that and thus the big uproar after last years world cup. So nobody is disputing that he AB’s should be better come WC time, but there’s no denying that out of WC they’re simply phenomonal
#576 church – like chch but pronounceable:
Steven Hansen to coach Crusaders. Wayne Smith applying for an overseas job.
And these are recent developments.
The difficult thing for NZ is, lose the 1st one, stand a very big chance to lose both. That would be something. The pressure, yes the pressure is already mounting.
30 Jun 2008, 16:12 pm
Yip. GH will be in a bad spot if they lose a game.
30 Jun 2008, 16:13 pm
Interesting to note is that the ABs has had what 5 losses
3 from SA which means that they win 17% of RWCs and SA inflict 66% of their losses
#586 rangerman:
Agree Ranger. Less is more.
#592 Keo: Rare insight Keo
#591 shooter: mate , we havent been beaten at home for a while, we realise that eventually it will happen…just gives us something to throw back at all the choker labels that constantly get hurtled around……..
you know, you call my team chokers, I say, it hasnt been since last century that you won in our country …
30 Jun 2008, 16:14 pm
#589 Richie_7: no denying that.
#593 JL1: Sorry meant to say 60%
So GH will be a trouble coach, losing the 3N and losing Hansen
#553 crazy ******:
If you are taking the piss and really don’t understand that it is those basic fundamentals that are the difference between winning and losing, as well as the fact that we are very capable of stuffing up those very things I mention, then you got your nic right and the laugh is on you!!
30 Jun 2008, 16:15 pm
#587 JL1:
Under those sort of circumcisions® I would have exercised my right to walk
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 19 » Show All