Seven steps to glory
30 Jun 2008
The Springboks have not won a Test in New Zealand since 1998. Former Springbok mental coach Henning Gericke explains how Peter de Villiers can achieve what Jake White couldn’t.
White may have a World Cup winner’s medal, but the former Springbok coach has something missing from his impressive CV – his side never beat the All Blacks in New Zealand.
In 2004, White’s first year in charge, the Boks came agonisingly close to claiming what would have been a shock victory in Christchurch. With 30 seconds to go, they led 21-18, having scored three tries to nil. But a botched line-out call 5m out from the Springbok tryline led to an All Blacks scrum from which winger Doug Howlett slid over in the right-hand corner.
In 2005, the Boks arrived at the House of Pain in Dunedin needing a win to clinch their second consecutive Tri-Nations title. With six minutes to go, they lead 27-24, only for All Blacks hooker Kevin Mealamu to be driven over from a line-out for the match-winning try.
The Boks were never going to make it third time lucky for White in New Zealand last year, after the coach opted to rest almost all of his first-choice players ahead of the World Cup. While the second-stringers put up a good fight and trailed 12-6 with 20 minutes to go, three All Blacks tries in the final 10 minutes resulted in a 27-point thrashing.
Former Springbok mental coach Henning Gericke was a key member of White’s management team during that time, and it still grates him that the Boks never won in 2004 or 2005. He believes that while they were mentally prepared for the task, they didn’t have the experience or self belief that the finished product, which won the World Cup, had.
‘I honestly believe that the Boks can win one Test, if not two, in New Zealand this year,’ says Gericke. ‘They just need to focus on these seven points …’
1. HAVE A NO-RESPECT MENTALITY
‘Springbok teams are guilty of putting the All Blacks on a pedestal and believing they are unbeatable. Don’t get me wrong, they are a great team, but we’ve shown them too much respect over the years. We now need to change our underdog mentality into a world champion mentality. We mustn’t listen to all the talk that we haven’t won there since 1998 or that we have never won a Test in Dunedin. We are the world champions and we should believe in ourselves.’
2. AIM TO DOMINATE
‘If your enemy responds to you, you are strong; if you respond to them, you are weak. The Boks must arrive in New Zealand, with the intention of dominating the opposition.’
3. PLAY TO YOUR STRENGTHS
‘The Boks must do what they do best. The All Blacks don’t like to be tackled hard and confronted physically. New Zealanders throw 50-50 passes in the Super 14 because there’s space, but in Tests you can close that space down and put them under pressure. Playing a physical game doesn’t mean you are playing boring, one-dimensional rugby. It means you are playing clever rugby and giving yourself the best possible chance to win.’
4. HAVE SEVERAL LEADERS
‘The more the unyielding the challenge, the more flexible your leadership has must be. In 2004 and 2005, [captain] John Smit was the only real leader in the team. The Bok side of 2008 will have quite a few leaders, and that could make a big difference. Jean de Villiers was an excellent captain for the Stormers this year, while Juan Smith did a good job with the Cheetahs. Victor Matfield captained the Bulls to the Super 14 title last year. The All Blacks, meanwhile, don’t have many strong leaders, which is why I believe they lost to France in the World Cup last year.’
5. BECOME A FAMILY
‘You need to create an inner circle that creates positive energy. If you have a family environment, you will be able to handle outside pressures because you are so tight-knit. However, it may take time for De Villiers to create the kind of family vibe that we had under Jake. Look at what happened to the Bulls when Heyneke Meyer and a couple of key players left. That family structure was broken to some extent.’
6. SEE OPPORTUNITIES, NOT OBSTACLES
‘When you are in New Zealand, you must really want to be there. Embrace the people, the culture and even the weather. Go out and explore the country. If you have a negative mindset about how terrible a place it is, your game will suffer.’
7. HAVE BIG MATCH TEMPERAMENT
‘When you play the All Blacks in New Zealand, the games are going to be close more often that not. You’re going to find yourself in a situation where there are just three or four points in it with a few minutes to go. Your players have to be able to stay mentally strong and close out the game, which is what the Boks didn’t do in 2004 and 2005.’
What Peter de Villiers says:
ON THE CHALLENGE AHEAD
‘It goes without saying that playing the All Blacks anywhere is one of the toughest tests in the game, but in New Zealand it becomes even tougher. New Zealand have been the most successful rugby country in the world over the last decade, with the exception of their World Cup performances. They are true rugby thinkers and they play with supreme confidence at home, resulting in an attitude that does not contemplate defeat when on home soil. I’m not surprised at all that we have struggled there since 1998, but it should be remembered how close the Boks came to victories in 2004 and 2005.’
ON MENTAL PREPARATION
‘We will leave this country with our minds focused on the first Test [in Wellington] and the first Test only. There’s no use planning and getting worked up about the novelty of two Tests in New Zealand. The reality is one Test is played after the next, so I will prepare the squad for the first Test only. When it’s completed, we’ll reassess and then prepare for the second Test [in Dunedin].’
ON WHETHER HE WILL VALUE EXPERIENCE OVER YOUTH
‘I trust all South African rugby players, and will pick the side I feel has the best chance of winning. That doesn’t just go for the New Zealand Tests. Whoever I name in my 22 for any Test, regardless if they have one cap or 100, will have my full faith and backing.’
ON WHETHER HE’LL BE HAPPY TO WIN JUST ONE OF THE TWO TESTS
‘I am not a loser. I will never be satisfied if we lose.’

928 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 19 » Show All
30 Jun 2008, 14:44 pm
#365 pauld:
Burger is to rugby is what Tiger is to golf’ ?
Excuse the hyperbole…….
Now Im as big a fan of the Bokke loosies as anyone (Kankowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww ski !), but youve been blinded a little by hyperbole there. Burger is a physical brute, incredible fitness and bravery. But to compare him to Tiger is a complete nonsense. His banning in the RWC showed up his deficiencies (which are few) – who worth his salt gets banned for rough play vs lightweight Tonga ? At the very least he was reckless, if not dangerous, and that just highlights mental flaws.
Tiger obviously has the physical attributes but its his top-2-inches that separate him from the chasing pack. Burger, as brilliant as he is, aint no Einstein on the paddock.
30 Jun 2008, 14:44 pm
#382 JL1: ag man, that old WP-are -the-be-all-and-end-all argument again eh?
cmon mate, who cares how many sharks fans there were TWENTY years ago.
live in the now.
30 Jun 2008, 14:45 pm
#396 JL1: who’s stoop was that?
#380 BlackPanther:
but its the bookies who rate the boks as underdogs, not the boks themselves.
the Boks are going to NZ to win, like they tried to do in France with success.
the ABs are under tremendous pressure, especially with Henry and some players whose careers could be decided saturday.
#344 st.a.t.w: puh-lease……how much stick did we Kiwis receive for blaming the ref for the loss against France….now the ref is always on Ritchies side…keep clutching at straws mate…you have no Idea….
seems that that excuse (which is used often by SA supporters) has no credence this year, so for your sakes I hope your team wins, imagine not beating NZ when they are minus THE REF’s MATE ……..really would be discouraging no doubt…….I could list a litany of excuses if NZ dont win, but I wont….I will congratulate SA if that is what happens, but then I look at factors like some of your WC stars not having played ELV’s, our buildup has been slightly better (not much diff. between England and Italy really, aye Big Hit !!),
the pressure of winning in NZ (much like the AB’s and the WC), and a new coach and combinations that havent settled (same as the AB’s)…..the ELV”s are going to be the difference, and we all seen the result once all the AB players where back in the S14…the trophy returned to the right country…and Im sure any objective SA fan realises this…..
#383 pauld: i’m not attacking you i’m agreeing
did you p*ss the rooineck of cause he’s having a go at me know
30 Jun 2008, 14:46 pm
#389 cab: agree cab it all depends on how much they want it.
30 Jun 2008, 14:46 pm
#401 BlackPanther: Lets be honest , Einsteins are not actually in abundant supply in rugby. Not these days at least. Point is , Burger has redefined aspects of the game. Simple.
30 Jun 2008, 14:47 pm
#403 the peanut gallery: Show your lack of knowledge, hey?
30 Jun 2008, 14:47 pm
#397 rangerman:
My apologies. I mistook you for someone who knows what theyre talking about.
Explain ‘supposed home invincibility’ ? I deal in facts, not, er, ‘myths’.
Au contraire. How would your Champion boys look if they lost both Tests against the weakest AB team in 10years ?
30 Jun 2008, 14:49 pm
#409 JL1: just yanking your chain. chill
#406 st.a.t.w: I know you are not having a go at me dude. The rooinek forgot his FACTOR 45 this weekend and we all know that heatstroke leads to erratic , irrational and delerious behaviour. So take him with a pinch of salt.
#398 Richie_7:
cause the exrea 2 or 3 guys are struggling to keep up with skalk
30 Jun 2008, 14:50 pm
#410 BlackPanther: Weak strong teams, that is all irrelevant when it comes down to test match rugby
That 1995 AB team was supposedly the best AB team in 20 years and they got thumped 15-12 at the Coke Tin
#405 poppa69: the AB’s have a new coach?
i heard richie was helping rodney prepare but i didnt realise he was now player manager!
poppa, slow down. accept the possibility that we will stuff your team twice right now and it wont hurt as much when we do.
#410 BlackPanther:
The All Blacks have nothing to lose. They’re playing the World Champions with their weakest team in 10 years – the Boks simply have to win this one or face humiliation
30 Jun 2008, 14:51 pm
#410 BlackPanther: Why are you banging on about the weakest AB team in years. I for one have never seen a weak AB team particularly at home.
30 Jun 2008, 14:51 pm
why is’nt richie mcaw the IRB world player year in and year out
30 Jun 2008, 14:52 pm
#408 pauld:
this looks more entertaining than I could have imagined. Please explain the aspects of rugby that Burger has ‘redefined’.
Redefined ??????!!!!!!!!
he’s good. Bloody good. A potential Great.
But redefined ?
Gee, I wish I was a teenager again. You can say anything and actually bloddy well believe it !
30 Jun 2008, 14:53 pm
#413 st.a.t.w:
Concentrate on his direct opponants, the opposition team’s game plan, and especially the ref…
#416 Richie_7: if this is their weakest team, which was their strongest?
#414 JL1:
1995 ?
be careful chucking the abuse around without a firm grip of the facts. The Cake Tin wasnt even built in 1995.
30 Jun 2008, 14:54 pm
#419 BlackPanther: The tackle would be one. And what he does after making the tackle. Everybody tries to do it the way he does it these days. Thats why he got pinged so often in the beginning. Refs could work out how he could make a big hit , bounce back to his feet and win the ball. All in a flash.
#418 st.a.t.w:
The same reason Schalk isn’t
#410 BlackPanther: now now lets not get nasty shall we? its you boys who keep talking up the fact that we havent won there in 10 years. keep it up. pile on the pressure mate. your team must be loving having to defend that statistic.
is this the “weakest All Black team in 10 yrs”?
or is it the strongest bok team in years?
perception, they say, is reality.
with the current AB tight 5 (which remains their greatest strength) and so’ialo and carter there and with all their depth, no ways they are a weak side, they’ve just annhihalted twice an england side that is not as bad as made out.
30 Jun 2008, 14:55 pm
#422 BlackPanther: He said the COKE Tin. The new name for Ellis Park
#383 pauld: McCaw is a great. I think he is the benchmark and I’m definitely not an AB fan. He reads ref’s incredibly well and adapted well to new ELV’s before others did. He has a weakness, doesn’t enjoy it when opposing players don’t give him the respect he thinks he deserves, both Scahlk and Pedrie have shown him up last season. I also don’t think he’s handling the captaincy well.
#422 BlackPanther: Coke Tin, the “new” name for Ellis Park and the score is was and will always remain 15-12
30 Jun 2008, 14:56 pm
#421 the peanut gallery:
over the past 8 years they’ve had much stronger teams. Strong enough to win a world cup? No. But a lot more experience and talent that the current one
30 Jun 2008, 14:56 pm
#417 pauld:
Im sorry, where did I say the AB team ‘is weak’ ?
Weak-est.
They are the weak-est AB team in 10years. Fact.
Not weak tho. But nowhere near as good as AB teams since 1998. Which part of that do you NOT understand ?
30 Jun 2008, 14:57 pm
I`m going to see if oats can be sown on the Sharks thread
30 Jun 2008, 14:58 pm
#425 rangerman: What are the stats
10 Years without losing against SA in NZ and what 5 years off not losing at home against anyone except against Tana and his handbags
The pressure is mounting on the ABs, I can smell a choke coming up
30 Jun 2008, 14:58 pm
#416 Richie_7: Nothing to lose? Tell another one.
With the whole Deans/Henry fiasco many NZ fans are already pissed off. Should the AB’s lose on Saturday that pot is going to boil over.
30 Jun 2008, 14:59 pm
#431 BlackPanther: Weak , Weaker , Weakest. All semantics. Fact is that you are hedging your bets and thats always sad. There is no such thing as a weakest AB side. Prior to this current 3N , none of your other sides played ELVIS rules for example so how you can call your current team the weakest in the last 10 years is beyond me. Hey , they might still surprise all of us.
i love the “weakest team in 10yrs” manta that is being developed here by the kiwis.
love it!
just shows how much they rate McCaw and how devestated they are by his loss.
for my part its a pity. if we beat them now, we will never hear the end of the “McCaw was missing” moan. it will join barnes and suzy in the lexicon of Nz sporting disasters.
question to all you rugby gurus. you can only pick one – schalk or mccaw?
30 Jun 2008, 15:00 pm
If anyone out there has the chance go and watch the federe hewitt match. Tie break Federer 9/7 first set. That man is magnificent. If only he could play flyhalf.
30 Jun 2008, 15:00 pm
#400 JL1: sorry ??? how many times have we heard SA supporters whine on about Dickinson ?????????? face it, you guys are scared that you have what you think is a dominating team, who won the easiest WC ever, and the lack of belief you supporters hold in them, the only way to make yourselves feel good is to berate the AB’s who could list thousands of reasonsd why we shouldnt win this series, but we wont…best team wins on the day, but its nice to see all the SA supporters hiding behind a hollow yellow cup, thinking they are going to roll over a country that had what was rightfully theirs stolen in 87……our first chance to show the world the injustice of last year…without the REF’s MATE (as some SA poster refers to on this thread)….
nice to see how NERVOUS SA’s are , you are expected to win, your the WC champs and the No.1 ranked side….how could you lose ????????
30 Jun 2008, 15:01 pm
#416 Richie_7:
“The All Blacks have nothing to lose”
is’nt there 3N title at stake?
30 Jun 2008, 15:02 pm
#437 the peanut gallery:
mccaw … any day!
30 Jun 2008, 15:02 pm
#429 JL1:
very good !
the 1995 AB team proved to all’n'sundry their quality about 6mths after the Final.
Thats what quality teams do. They win matches on foreign soil. No argument. No debate. 1-off matches are 1 thing, away-Series are absolutely another.
If SA win 2-0 in NZ, there will be absolutely no arguments. 1996, Loftus……..happy happy days.
30 Jun 2008, 15:03 pm
#439 poppa69: WTF ? Let it all out. Don’y hold back please.
30 Jun 2008, 15:05 pm
#442 BlackPanther: lol, i seem to recall the same kinda confidence in 2007.
nice to see you are finally back to yourself mate. hopefully (for your sake) the boks dont COMPLETELY shatter your fragile psyche.
#434 siener:
And how does that relate to the players? Surely the pressure would be on the coach/administrators?
But the boks walk off the field on Saturday having suffered a loss and it’ll be post 2003 England all over again. And who will get it then? The players? The coach? The administrators? Quotas? Selections? Luke Watson? Face it, another loss could destroy everything the 2007 WC win created.
#435 pauld:
I cant name 1 AB team since 1998 that wasnt better than this one.
2 wins over an England team who fielded props in midfield is no marker for establishing ‘quality’. Who in their right mind thinks a win over any England team since 2003 is anything to shout from the rafters about ???
30 Jun 2008, 15:06 pm
#439 poppa69: Two words. Sour and Grapes. Come on , surely you can do better than dragging that old chestnut out again.
30 Jun 2008, 15:06 pm
#439 poppa69: if we won the easiest world cup ever, then that means you lot couldn’t even make the semis of the easiest world cup ever.
30 Jun 2008, 15:07 pm
#439 poppa69:
Only ranked number 1 on the IRB site that gives tripple bias to WC games.
The IRB ranking is biased (statisticly)
30 Jun 2008, 15:07 pm
It will be lovely if we can win this one.
It’s like Province beating the BB’s this weekend.
92% of the joy comes from the fact that you know the losing party will feel the pain more than most.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 19 » Show All