Bulking up the bench

The importance of the forward battle should mean the Springboks pick only two backs on the bench for Saturday’s Test.

The All Blacks have impressively dealt with the Irish and English packs in the opening three Tests of the season, most notably in the scrums. Props Greg Somerville and Neemia Tialata have been the standouts, with Somerville easily dismantling the machine that is Andrew Sheridan for the first Test versus the Poms.

Tialata has made way for loosehead Tony Woodcock for the match against the Springboks, with the former providing adequate cover on the bench for both sides of the scrum.

Conversely, the Boks have been far from convincing at the set-piece against Wales and Italy. Only in the second Test against the Welsh – where BJ Botha anchored the scrum – did the Springboks have any ascendancy here. Botha has since been left out, and the Boks need to pick two props on the bench to counter the All Black trio’s strength.

The weather in Wellington is notoriously bad, and the Boks’ arrival in the capital this weekend was greeted with wet, cold and windy conditions. New Zealand’s first Test of the year against Ireland at the Westpac Stadium was played in the near-freezing temperatures, with Brian O’Driscoll stuttering after the game: “I don’t know if I’ve played in colder than that.”

The Boks may not get as extreme a situation as that this weekend, but the conditions will not be conducive to free-flowing running rugby and an expansive game-plan. Again, having extra grunt in terms of forward depth on the bench can only aid the Boks.

Much will depend on who Peter de Villiers selects in his starting XV, but a run-on backline of Ricky Januarie, Butch James, Brian Habana, Jean De Villiers, Adrian Jacobs, Conrad Jantjes (at wing) and Percy Montgomery only needs two players as cover on the bench.

Frans Steyn and Ruan Pienaar’s versatility will hold them in good stead as the front-runners to get the spots. Between the two of them they have enough flair and ability to break the game open if the match-situation allows.

Even if Steyn does start ahead of Jacobs, there is still only need for two backline players. Only if Montgomery can’t win a starting position ahead of Odwa Ndungane or JP Pietersen, then the 96-Test veteran will be needed as cover on the bench.

However, the optimum would be a 5-2 split on the wood. In a Test match expected to be typically tough up-front, the Springbok super-sub who has the biggest impact could be a forward-reserve.

By Grant Ball

46 Comments

• 1.Pretoria_Blue_Jay: Reply to this comment

backline dragons?

• 2.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Behemoths

• 3.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

Having the luxury of Pienaar, Steyn and Pierre Spies makes the option of a 5-2 split more than feasable. A worst case scenario of Spies on the wing is not that terrifying …well maybe for the opposition.

• 4.Seven: Reply to this comment

I can’t wait for the team to be announced…i for one am tired of the spceculation and idiots like skopskiet who i think secretly prays the bokke fall down.

Have no complaints on a 5 2 split….hell i think ruan and percy will be adequate cover, i can’t see him dropping Jantjies and im hoping dV won’t let personal emotions get the better of him and let adi slide out gently

a bench of
    beast
    biscmarck
    musjati
    bekker
    Big Jo/Kanko
    Ruan
    Percy

im assuming gurthro, cj and steyn are starting!

• 5.ferraro: Reply to this comment

am i the only person worried about adi jacobs tryin to tackle nonu?? Much has been highlighted about the weakness in the scrums but what about in midfield??? hmmmm

• 6.Seven: Reply to this comment

#5 ferraro: read above…and alot of other posts. most people are worried!

• 7.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

The battle in the backs is more impt.

• 8.ruffle: Reply to this comment

Adi will show you lot what he is about. I would rather worry about steyn being near the park and ruan on the bench.

• 9.Slappes: Reply to this comment

I’m not worried about AD. Rather be worried about Pierre S being picked ahead of Joe…

• 10.Boots: Reply to this comment

Put Jantjies at 14 Monty 15.
    If Steyn is going to Start in the midfield and PDV is going for a 5-2 split I would rather have Peter Grant on the Bench with Ruan.
    Adi only covers 1 position

• 11.Seven: Reply to this comment

#8 ruffle: Ruffle, i hope so if he gets picked but i dont think it will be the est decision. I’m a shark supporter, and i like Adi but the bottom of the line is that i dont think he is the best 13 in the country nor is he the best available option. My opinion, nothing else to say.

Also Luke probably wouldn’t be there and neither would jantjies.

• 12.Boots: Reply to this comment

#8 ruffle:

Hope you right. Got to say every time he has come on for the sharks he has been good and credit must be given in that he has stayed with the sharks for a while now even though he has been on the bench all the time. Shows his loaylty.

If Adi starts Steyn must play wing and Monty Fullback. In a NZ test and maybe a wet one at that kicking will have to be accurate which Monty will provide and Steyn can punnish the AB’s if they infringe from a long way out.

This game will be won by penalties.

• 13.Seven: Reply to this comment

#12 Boots: Boots, i posted something yesterday regardinig Adi Jacobs. Over the alst couple of years he has done little else than act as an excellect super sub. Whenever he has come on he has performed…however starting the game when everyone is fresh and feeling each other out with the game plans adopted, is entirely different to coming on having watched the game and knowing what is required.

I think if Adi has to be used he should be used in a similar capacity with the Boks…

• 14.Seven: Reply to this comment

#12 Boots: you know what as well, playing steyn on the wing…certainly would solidize the backline a bit more defensively, and i dont think we would lose much with Steyn there. Its not tha Ndgugane will give us that much more and Pieterson is still coming back.

If Adi has to play, i wouldnt complain if Steyn s next to him but i still think it wouldnt be a strongest side and that my dear friends should be the criteria for picking the side, not allowing emotions to influence

• 15.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Guys , this game is going to be forward dominated and if it goes to the backs its going to be kicked away.

• 16.james bond: Reply to this comment

PdV kan sy fout – deur BJ Botha tuis te los – regstel deur net een voorry op die bank te sit. Mujati is duidelik nie opgewasse om vaskop te speel teen NZ nie. Kies Beast op die bank. Indien CJ seer kry, moet Guthro ook vinnig “seer kry” en dan gebruik die Bokke (alias Rassie) “uncontested scrums”. Speel lekker verder met Beast / Bismarck / John. NZ sal gou hul voorry vervang.

Dit is seker onsportief, maar gebruik die reel en leer uit jou foute. Kies jou twee beste en mees ervare vaskoppe as jy gaan toer.

• 17.magog: Reply to this comment

Forget kicking NZ will run the pants off everything and under the ELV’s the Boks kicking will have to nothing short of exception to pin NZ back in cold wet windy conditions.However good line kicking will have a double bonus because of the weak NZ lineout. Conversely scrums will be a problem for the boks as well as the breakdown where the will be luckly to achieve parity despite the inexperienced loose trio. The NZ backline will be electric, especially Carter with the benefit of the ELVs giving the double bonus of a lack of the feared rush defense which caused Butch to shut down Carter in Newlands. The big wobblely is the weather, as witnessed against ENG and Irish, NZ will throw ‘that’ pass that will stick and its game over. SA on the other hand will go to the 50-50 intercept.

• 18.grunt: Reply to this comment

Seven – Good bench. But it is a frightening prospect of maybe a front row of

beast
    bismarck
    mujati

Being on the field for the last 20 minuntes against the ABs in New Zealand, mmm the ABs are going to say yum yum and eat those 3 up i am afraid. If that was the sharks front row

BJ
    Bismark
    Beast

Then another story all together. I think the mistake of leaving BJ at home is going to haunt PDV i am afraid, which is very sad for the rest of the players as they are ready to take an AB scalp in New Zealand.

• 19.Seven: Reply to this comment

#17 magog: good point magog…i think the kiwis will look to keep the ball loose an dlive while spreading it wide with every oppurtunity..
    If Adi Jacobs starts, i think he may be targeted and dont be surprised to see the ball stay in hand a bit more, especially if Jantjies retains his place.
    The kiwis are a good team….they will definitely try to exploit our weaknesses, watson, jacobs,

arent we going to be doing the same?
    anyway i think its important to play to your stengths and target the opposition weakness that you ca exploit with you strength

• 20.Charlie: Reply to this comment

#5 ferraro: Everybody was writing Adi off before the Wales tests…Big & fast centres running all over and through him…I have not seen anything, rather Jacobs doing the job for the Boks…The All Blacks midfields defence still needs to be challenged…the English prima donnas were not worthy opponents… BTW, Nonu’s not the world’s best defender either… ;)

• 21.Seven: Reply to this comment

#18 grunt: Hey grunt, have to agree with you but we are in that situation because BJ has been left at home.
    Also i have a feeling Smittie is going to be tired, hes been flying all over the place….

you know i would much rather have BJ there with CJ on the bench with the beast but hey we can only use what u got.

I think they’ll be able to hold there own…problem is i hope we can keep up with the pace in the last 20 unlike last year in durban.

But last year, without Smit…it really was a different story

• 22.Seven: Reply to this comment

#20 Charlie: i agree that the midfield needs to be targeted but we can only do that with the correct team…
    Jacobs does not scare me…quite frankly i dont think he is devasting and done nothing spectacular, Frans Steyns chip and pick up was spectacular as were some of his clearances and tackles.

there is no room for compassion and sympathy, give him annadda chance should not exist!

win at all costs i say this saturday

• 23.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

NZL will not be keen to play full lineouts against us – i expect them to constantly be taking quick throw-ins (as made provision for with the ELVs)

They will be using long backward passes and restarting the attack, kicking many up n unders on our back 3. So using a full back as wing (Jantjies) might not be a bad call.

• 24.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

#21 Seven:

keeping up in the last 20mins is all got to do with the tackle count – Bok sides against NZL make in the region of 90 tackles per game and NZL only make about 40 tackles. it’s obvious why we concede so many points in the last quarter.

the same happened in the WP vs Bulls game. the bulls made 90-something tackles vs WP’s 30-something. AND – WP scored 2 tries in the last 10mins.

we need to control possetion more and make the AB’s defend.

• 25.Charlie: Reply to this comment

#22 Seven: That might be your opinion, but Steyn plays more of an individual, where we need team players when playing aginst NZ… The “chip & pick up” was all good but what if he stuffed it up with a whole backline and overlap awaiting a pass, as I said yesterday it’s not about the individual it’s about the team… ;)

• 26.Seven: Reply to this comment

#23 brains_trust: decent points that have already been made….we all know the benefitsof fielding a different player at 14…depends if percy plays. percy plays…team starts stronger, and can possibly play JP or Jantjies.

If Jantjies starts, i think u have to go for JP or Steyn, cant consider ndgugane

• 27.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

whether you like it or not luke’s gonna be on the bench

• 28.MG: Reply to this comment

Guys, I think that we have got a problem with scrums. What we also need to remember, is that John Smit can also move over to the tight-head position. So why not start with CJ at 3 and Beast at 1.Guthro is in my opinion a bit overrated.

The bench:
    16. Bismarck
    17. Mujati
    18. Bekker
    19. Watson
    20. Spies
    21. Ruan
    22. Percy

Steyn(14) must play, he is a special talent with a huge boot. Adi(13) deserves to have a go at real opposition. Jantjes(15) can move to wing and Steyn to 13 later on.

• 29.Seven: Reply to this comment

#25 Charlie: we had the overlap if i remember correctly, but the defensive line was coming up and i owuld put money on the fact that their would of been a tackle and the ball slowed up and held down…there was no fullback at home, I say great vision, great execution

I feel steyn does try do a bit to much hiimself, but i dont think it was his instinct to kick alot of ball away on Saturday

• 30.Seven: Reply to this comment

#28 MG: MG..i would rather include a second front ranker than Watson.

Dont know why Adi Deserves it but i think he’ll get it….i think everyone is viewin he deserves it out of compassion.
    i just dont see the potential, that will have people talking about mortlock, umaga, fourie…..

Maybe your happy seeing how things roll out, bu i would take destiny in my own hands and make it what i want it to be

• 31.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

#28 MG: What happened to Kankowski? He needs to be on the bench or in and around that squad..

• 32.Seven: Reply to this comment

#31 Tbozknows: assuming he is starting with him…. one loosie bench spot and no 8 goes to spies, kanko or jo

• 33.Seven: Reply to this comment

Anyway im off to do some work….

Kanko suits the so called desired game plan, personally i wouldnt look far past spies.

• 34.Charlie: Reply to this comment

#29 Seven: Adi Jacobs had been the incumbent for the Boks @ 13 so far…Frans Steyn needs to settle down in one position, so too actually move him around won’t be good, IMO Steyn would become a world class 15… ;)

• 35.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

you all seem to be forgetting that it’s most likely gonna be cold and wet, therefor not a freeflowing game,both spies and kanko don’t look comfertable when the game is tight as both of them like to run with the ball,basically the weather is’nt gonna suit the way they like to play rugby

• 36.Seven: Reply to this comment

#34 Charlie: agreed with steyn at 15, great boot,vison and counter attack skills….howerve id play steyn at 12 not 13. jean

• 37.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

There is no ways Adi should be playing in NZ. He is unfortunatly to light for the opposition. He WILL get flattened by Nonu and co. It’s just not what he is suited to. We must play steyn and Jean to keep the midfield honest and I fear we are in trouble at scrum time. Our front row IS going to smoked and then it does’nt matter who the loosies are, they’ll be playing backwards all day.. I hope I’m wrong

• 38.ruffle: Reply to this comment

#37 Zulushark:
    just like williams was going to get flattened by the boks???we had to wait for the welsh to see ad flattened. It didnt happen. we then had to wait for the welsh in week 2. didnt happen. now why must he be dropped?? if he plays well on saturday you are going to say drop him again because next week they going to target him. give the oke a break. rather concentrate on how kak steyn has been.

• 39.ferraro: Reply to this comment

#20 Charlie: yeah bro for sure, we all know that adi can make things happen, i just dont believe that he is the best player around, my personal opinion would be to have steyn and jean in the middle, but other people might think differently. The reason i rate that combo is because they pretty much owned every other pair in the world cup? dont u agree?

• 40.Charlie: Reply to this comment

#38 ruffle: Seems like a tough mission to prove a point here buddy… ;)

• 41.Charlie: Reply to this comment

#39 ferraro: Mmm…Nope, ‘coz they did not play against the All Blacks… ;)

• 42.Garry_Owen: Reply to this comment

#28 MG:
    how can you say guthro is overrated and say beast is better? did you not watch the previous games? people pushed him off the ball. he is just as bad as powder puff ferreira from WP.

• 43.MG: Reply to this comment

Guys,

The way I see it, is that we allready have a second frontranker in John Smit. If he moves over to 3 and Bismarck comes on, we don’t loose his leadership. As for Adi, if you look at him, you will notice that he keeps his legs pumping over the advantage line more often than not. He takes his hands through the tackle and offloads. He is not as slow as everybody thinks. He is not brought down easily. He also combined well with Jaun.

• 44.MG: Reply to this comment

I also have to agree that Schalck Ferreira was a shocker for WP. Beast has shown in S14 what he can do. I might regret saying this, but give him a chance.

• 45.rex: Reply to this comment

I have not yet seen a good explanation for the omission of BJ – which seems to be a major issue. Does anyone feel able to provide some rationale? The most I’ve heard is that he gives away penalties. However there seems to be general consensus that it was a foolish decision given his strength and technical ability in the scrum. If anyone can furnish a reasonable argument for his omission I would love to hear it.

• 46.ferraro: Reply to this comment

k well lets see what happens on saturday then…. then we can reevaluate

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.