So’oialo shock favours Boks

Corne Krige believes that Rodney So’oialo is not an adequate replacement for Richie McCaw.

So’oialo was today confirmed as captain for the first Test against the Springboks, but more pertinently, has been handed the responsibility of bossing the breakdown in the absence of formidable openside flank, McCaw.

McCaw was injured in the second Test against England a fortnight ago and is set to miss the bulk of the Tri-Nations. So’oialo has very little experience in the role, playing predominantly as a No 8 for both the Hurricanes and All Blacks.

Former Springbok captain, Krige, was perplexed by the decision, admitting that he thought Chris Masoe would be the logical option. He believes the move gives the Springboks a significant edge at the breakdown – a facet of play that will be central to success.

“I thought it was just nothing talk when they were touting So’oialo as a possible openside. He’s best position is clearly No 8 and I don’t think his strength is playing towards the ball,” Krige told keo.co.za.

“Masoe is far more suited to the role, has experience playing there and provides you with a solid ball carrying option as well. I think the Springboks will be smiling when they see this call. Perhaps [the All Blacks] were looking for a player that could provide them with another lineout option. But other than that I can’t understand the decision.

“As far as McCaw goes, he’s a massive loss from both a playing and leadership perspective. I’m not sure So’oialo commands the same respect.”

So’oialo is the only seasoned Test player in a loose trio that features rookies Jerome Kaino and Adam Thomson. The Springboks, by contrast, are expected to field an experience trio of Schalk Burger, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies. Burger, widely recognised as one of the premier openside flankers in world rugby, will go head-to-head with So’oialo.

Krige, however, hopes that Ryan Kankowski, concussed in the Test against Italy two weeks ago, will recover in time to oust Spies.

“I think Kankowski has done enough in the Super 14 to earn a start ahead of Spies,” he said. “Spies never really showed that much in the Incoming Tours and given the style of play [coach] Peter de Villiers has been speaking about it makes sense to have a eigthman like Kankowski. He also gives the team another option in the lineout.”

In fact, Krige can’t find a place for Spies in his match 22.

“I would use Luke Watson off the bench instead of Spies,” he said. “Please understand that I think Spies can be phenomenal on his day, but Luke will provide a different dimension to the trio and ensures that there is a sustained threat at the breakdown. He has also shown the ability to offload in contact, which will be crucial if the Springboks are to play that high tempo style that’s been spoken about.”

However, while Krige thinks the battle of the back rows will be important in determining the winner, he pointed to the set phases as being the decisive facet of play.

“I think we’ll trouble them at the lineouts which will give us a advantage and a mental edge, but I’m not convinced our scrum will stand up,” he said.

“They’ve made a major mistake in leaving a strong scrummager like BJ Botha at home. I can’t understand that and it wasn’t very sharp. To take rookie props [Brian Mujati and Tendai Mtawarira] on the tour of New Zealand is questionable.

“If you are dominated in the lineouts you can put it down to the technical superiority of the opposition and you can circumvent that issue by changing certain tactics. But if you’re being dominated in the scrums it has a major psychological impact because you’re losing a one-on-one battle and are essentially being bullied and physically beaten.

“The All Blacks backline is dangerous at the best of times but with an attacking platform [if they dominate the scrums] they can be devastating. We’ll have to work hard and smart there or we could be in trouble.”

299 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251.chalvador: Reply to this comment

#247 sondebok: And last weekend Heinke was demolished by a relatively unknown Werner Kruger.

I see Loffie is resting Heinke this weekend against the Valke. He has been playing too much rugby this year and wil have to be managed better.

1. JC van Rensburg 2. Ettiene Reyneke 3. Sephaka are this weekends front row.

• 252.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#250 rangerman:

A bit disappointed that the ” I do not socialise with whites” did not generate more reaction.

I should have omitted the flippen smiley ;-)

• 253.katman: Reply to this comment

We whites don’t “socialise”. We suip and we bliksem. What will it be? (we can do combos)

• 254.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#252 Sheriff: lol sheriff, just finished my meeting so here it is just for you:

HOW DARE YOU!!!!! (loud voice).

if you are one of those chinese coloureds and cant understand english ploperly then i understand why you dont want to socialise with a bunch of dutchies, thats a bridge too far (soft voice).

• 255.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#252 Sheriff: H freegin haaaaaa, jy moet beter aas uitgoooooi as jy die grooooter visse wil uittrek !!

• 256.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#253 katman: sometimes we suip and moer.

• 257.katman: Reply to this comment

#247 sondebok: Replied to your mail.

Wasn’t the FS prop Kobus Caldo?

• 258.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

Wanneer word die span aangekondig of is dit al gekies maar Snorre te bang om Lulu se naam in die publiek uit te lees?

• 259.asha1: Reply to this comment

#254 rangerman:
    chinese coloureds :lol:

• 260.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#253 katman:

Maar een ou met wie ek sal kuier is Valkman, flippen kif ou daai!

• 261.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#251 chalvador: Was Heinke really demolished? Or did Kruger just `do well`, ie hold his own? Who do you support?

• 262.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#254 rangerman:

• 263.asha1: Reply to this comment

#258 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
    nee, jy verwys seker na jw

wat na daai loesing van 50 – min (bulls vs stormers – loftus) die bekendmaking van sy span ñ dag of wat uitgestel het!

• 264.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#3 wpw: #19 World Cup: #34 yebo:

Krige played provincial, Super and Bok rugby with a few medals and titles picked up along the way.

More than most on this site (if not all), I reckon I’ll take his opinion over anyone else on here.

• 265.cane: Reply to this comment

#252 Sheriff:

“Freedom of Association”, is a basic right, in any free and democratic society Sheriff.
    As long as you do not impinge the rights of others.

• 266.katman: Reply to this comment

#260 Sheriff: Daai ouens stiek jou met ‘n Spur steakmes vir jou Reeboks en ‘n halwe pakkie Gunston. Jy dink jy ken die Oosrand maar jy maak ‘n fout.

• 267.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ja guys, my eye stretching operation is scheduled for next week.

in future i will mix up my r’s and l’s.

i had good plactice with the zulus. they have no r. i was forever having zebla and white lino pointed out to me.
    lunch was a treat on tuesdays too: sheecken, lice and glavy.

lovely.

• 268.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#258 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Ou Leeu, ons drink more-aand (Wroensdagaand) by Barcelona in Elarduspark, Pretoria (nie te vêr van Olifante af nie)……… dit sal wees, ekke, Kwagga, AB, shooter…… en moontlik jy……… as jy jou weg kan oopsien……… en nie “te veel ysters in die vuur” het nie.

Ek neem aan dis gereel ?

• 269.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#265 cane: ag shuddup!

• 270.chalvador: Reply to this comment

#261 sondebok:
    He came of second best, but as I said, he has been playing to much rugby and was clearly not at his best. Demolished maybe not the right term.
    I don’t want to say who I support.

• 271.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

Hi All!
    All this “dissing” CK – seriously guys – the man deserves better than that! He was a man who always put his 110% into the battle and fought way above his weight catagory! He might have made mistakes as a captain under the nazi but then again who wouldn’t – you want to represent your country and do the best you can under the circumstances!!! – poor show to all you who discredit a man with a good rugby brain and ability who played with the passion shown by few!

• 272.pauld: Reply to this comment

#267 rangerman: All the Chinese in London live near Heathrow in a town called HARROW. Not really by choice either. When the arrive at Heathrow airport and walk up to the nearest black cab they always say : HARRO and thats where the driver takes them to.

• 273.pauld: Reply to this comment

Seeing we have the AB’s on Saturday I thought I would repost this ;

Quotes from NZ Rugby

“Nobody in Rugby should be called a genius. A genius is a guy like
    Norman Einstein.” – Jono Gibbs – Chiefs

“I’m going to graduate on time, no matter how long it takes.” – Rodney
    So’ialo – Hurricanes – on University

“You guys line up alphabetically by height.” and “You guys pair up in
    groups of three, then line up in a circle.” – Colin Cooper -
    Hurricanes head coach

Chris Masoe (Hurricanes) on whether he had visited the Pyramids during
    his visit to Egypt : “I can’t really remember the names of the clubs
    that we went to.”

“He’s a guy who gets up at six o’clock in the morning regardless of
    what time it is.” – Colin Cooper on Paul Tito

Kevin Senio ( Auckland ), on Night Rugby vs Day Games “It’s basically
    the same, just darker.”

David Nosafora ( Auckland ) talking about Troy Flavell “I told him,
    ‘Son, what is it with you. Is it ignorance or apathy?’ He said,
    ‘David, I don’t know and I don’t care.’

David Holwell (Hurricanes) when asked about the upcoming season: “I
    want to reach for 150 or 200 points this season, whichever comes
    first.”

“Andy Ellis – the 21 year old, who turned 22 a few weeks ago”(Murray
    Mexted)

“Colin has done a bit of mental arithmetic with a calculator.” (Ma
    Nonu)

“He scored that try after only 22 seconds – totally against the run of
    play.” ( Murray Mexted)

“We actually got the winning try three minutes from the end but then
    they scored.” (Phil Waugh Warratah)

“I’ve never had major knee surgery on any other part of my body.”
    (Jerry Collins)

“That kick was absolutely unique, except for the one before it which
    was identical.” (Tony Brown)

“I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father.” (Tana
    Umaga)

“Sure there have been injuries and deaths in rugby – but none of them
    serious.” (Doc Mayhew)

“If history repeats itself, I should think we can expect the same
    thing again.”(Anton Oliver)

“I would not say he (Rico Gear) is the best left winger in the Super
    14, but there are none better.” ( Murray Mexted)

“I never comment on referees and I’m not going to break the habit of a
    lifetime for that prat.” (Ewan McKenzie)

Murray Deaker: “Have you ever thought of writing your autobiography?”
    Tana Umaga: “On what ?”

“Well, either side could win it, or it could be a draw.”( Murray
    Mexted)

“Strangely, in slow motion replay, the ball seemed to hang in the air
    for even longer.”( Murray Mexted

• 274.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#270 chalvador: Hey come on! It can`t be that bad! Why won`t you say who you support?

• 275.chalvador: Reply to this comment

#264 PissAnt: I agree 100%, it is so easy to criticize a player on a blog like this. Check out post #221

• 276.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#266 katman:

• 277.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#265 cane:

I’m gonna exercise my “right to win” on Saturday.

Trust you find the above in order.

• 278.BuckT: Reply to this comment

sondebok, wouldn’t say totally stoner, unless you consider the following bands to fall into the same category – white/rob zombie, manson, disturbed, karma to burn, the union underground, therapy!, powerman 5000, syliva, RATM, nin(except maybe downward spiral)
    although these might, tool, deftones, audioslave, everlast, soundgarden
    (post 90′s of course)
    never been a SOAD fan, although i haven’t heard much from them in recent years, will def have a listen

• 279.chalvador: Reply to this comment

Ok, WP, but I try to stay objective and not look through the white and blue glasses.

• 280.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#272 pauld: lmao!

• 281.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#268 grootblousmile:

Dit gaan ‘n lekwar aand wees :lol:

• 282.BuckT: Reply to this comment

who is the ref for sat? stu

• 283.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#273 pauld:

Certainly worth reading again.

• 284.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#278 BuckT: Hey Buck, the album I`m referring to is by Down, not SOAD! Totally different, it`s actually the vocalist from Pantera`s band. I would definitely categorise Soundgarden as a big influence on the stoner bands like Fu Manchu, Monster Magnet and QTSA to an extent. I`m a big White Zombie fan. (And Western Province for all of who who beive that music has no place on a rugby blog.)

• 285.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#279 chalvador: ha ha, wolf in sheeps clothing! I have to admit though, Schalk F must be the worst scrummaging prop playing professional rugby. We are in dire need of quality props. Sorry for implying you were a bulls fan :lol:

• 286.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#281 Sheriff: Ek praatie met jou nie !

• 287.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#284 sondebok: You are a Big White Zombie………. full stop !

• 288.chalvador: Reply to this comment

#285 sondebok: I felt quite offended, but thats OK.
    Schalk F should not be playing rugby with that neck of his, he had the same op as S Burger. Wp definitely needs props, I think they should lure Daan Human back

• 289.sglazer: Reply to this comment

What are the iRB thinking?! Playing two new laws in tests that none of the players have played before. I think it’s absurd.

• 290.sglazer: Reply to this comment

It’s like to their unwillingness to properly manage the laws of the game on the field. Many matches are decided, or strongly influenced, by refereeing errors.

• 291.sglazer: Reply to this comment

I think Corne is right about the scrums. If we loose there, we’re in trouble.

• 292.sglazer: Reply to this comment

I think PDV favors Kankowski. He played Spies at 8 for the incoming tours to see what he had to offer. He took Kankowski on tour notwithstanding Kankowski’s concussion.

• 293.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Krige

STFU!

***** that prick got a mouth

Spies is King!!

• 294.cab: Reply to this comment

#184 cane:

lol, u only like him cos he beat both of our big bad dirty bokke props up.
    read the stories, was he ‘cowboy’ skinner or was that another flanker?

• 295.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

The All Blacks are not one man. They will still be tough.

• 296.lapoftherugbygods: Reply to this comment

Kevin skinner was ought into the 56 AB team to play the Boks. He was a NZ rep heavy weight boxer. Legend is that he started at loose prop dealt to I think it was Bekker his oposite number then moved to tighthead and dealt to that prop. Dealt to meaning punched out.It was war in those days.
    Skinner is folklore now but he wouldnt rate as one of the great ABs. Ken Gray, Olo Brown, Ashworth,Knight etc had you would imagine given the length of their AB careers would be considered greater players.
    The cowboy you refer to is Cowboy shaw in the eigties who was a blindside flanker. Certainly the hardest man to play for the Bs in the modern era.

• 297.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#296 lapoftherugbygods: Skinner made a huge difference by sorting out Jaap Bekker and Chris Koch and helping the ABs win a test series — home or away — against the Boks for the first time in 1956.

• 298.ohtanisjacket: Reply to this comment

Skinner was brought out of retirement to play the Boks in ’56, after Mark Irwin and Frank McAtamney were injured. He was a legendary Otago/All Black prop before that. On the 1949 tour to South Africa, he formed with Has Catley and Johnny Simpson perhaps the best front row New Zealand had then fielded under the 3-4-1 scrum formation. Even Danie Craven raved about them. So, yes, he was a great All Black prop, who didn’t actually dish out as much punishment in ’56 as legend has it.

• 299.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

I had always believed that story too but recently I read an interview with Don Clarke’s brother, who was the other prop, and he said it was a myth. “I could take care of myself!”.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.