Province ‘fighting for form’

A simple yet structured approach is key to curbing the dangerous Bolanders this Saturday, says WP coach Allister Coetzee.

It was just over a year ago when the heads started to roll at Western Province. After two consecutive failures in the Super 14, a 15-10 defeat to Boland in the Absa Currie Cup was the final nail in the coffin for Kobus van der Merwe.

Coetzee is only five games into the job and under no such pressure, but after back-to-back disappointments against Griquas and the Valke, WP are desperate for victory. Despite their current position, Coetzee told keo.co.za this is no time to panic.

“It may sound a bit strange but these experiences can be very valuable to a new coach. Rassie [Erasmus] went through it in the first three games of the Super 14, and Jake [White] was also struggling at one stage [with the Springboks].

“I don’t think there is a lack of desire in this team, but we need to take the fight to Boland this weekend.”

It is unclear whether WP-contracted Isma-eel Dollie will start for Boland after being officially loaned to the Wellington side last week. The Kavaliers also have Louis Koen on their coaching staff, a man who helped with the Stormers during the Super 14.

These two are certain to hand the smaller side significant intel. It’s one of the major reasons WP have had only one open training session this week, as some alterations to the game plan needed to be made.

“We are trying a few new things and our neighbours aren’t far away. A few of them have played in our system before and know the calls. It’s going to be an interesting game,” said Coetzee.

“We are looking at this Saturday as an opportunity to fix a few problem areas. We have a good defensive system but we slipped off too many tackles last week. The Valke play a high-risk, high-reward kind of game and it came off last week. Our mistakes cost us and we ended up playing catch-up rugby.

“I also wasn’t happy with our attack. We had seven opportunities to score. We’ve got to round off those chances.”

WP captain Gcobani Bobo was one of the few players who stood out, but the Bok centre admitted he was unhappy with the overall showing. Having four Test players back should lift the side for a must-win encounter.

“There is a bit of pressure,” Bobo said. “We didn’t respect the ball last week; our ball retention was definitely not up to scratch. That will be our primary focus against Boland.”

By Jon Cardinelli

44 Comments

• 1.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

O jinne WP…. as julle teen Boland verloor dan weet ek nie…….. dan gaan daar ‘n geween en ‘n gekners vannie tanne wees !

Bergbok Drake !

• 2.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Teen die Bulle en die leeus was Boland se verdediging vrot gewees. Hierdie keer het die WP ‘n goeie kans.

• 3.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

So, how did Allister ever get to be an assistant coach of the Boks when he’s stuffing up so spectacularly with WP — one of the proudest “brands” in SA rugby? What does he really and truly know about coaching rugby?

• 4.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Jees thank God this guy is not coaching the Boks…although to be fair to him, no other coaches managed anything better – except Rassie in the S14. I guess that proves that Allistair is an average coach.

“The Valke play a high-risk, high-reward kind of game and it came off last week” – WRONG!! it is not high risk, because the laws favour teh attacking team – I have explained this before as well. Ref’s tend to blow for the team attacking because they are ultimately trying to make the game flow. Penalties by the attacking team must be blatant before they get blown. this may explain why it always appears to Bok supporters that teh ref’s tend to support teh other team – it is because we give possession away, and defend all day.

The Valke have commited fully to running rugby – and it is not risky if your loosies KNOW that you will not be kicking, and that they MUST be there to clean an secure ball. The fact that the Valke have taken a few scalps, and have not been thrashed by any magin also reflects that when you keep the ball, the other team can’t score!!

• 5.Staal: Reply to this comment

Imo they are on form! :lol:

#3 TheTackler:

A4Y!

• 6.stavros: Reply to this comment

#3 TheTackler: What do you care? You wish only the worst for all SA rugby teams.

• 7.stavros: Reply to this comment

#4 SjamBok: What amazes me when WP do well, how everyone tells what a fcucking genius Rassie is. But when they dont do well it’s now Coetzee’s fault.

Pleeeeez.

• 8.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Dollie is playing club rugby, can’t even get a game at Boland. Is he bigger than Luke?

• 9.Staal: Reply to this comment

#8 Loosehead:

No! :lol:

• 10.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#4 SjamBok: I have been trying to say that since the Sharks vs Valke game. I think us as SA do not give the smaller unions or the “minnows” enough credit. The fact that the Valke made so many breaks in the Sharks match was according to the pundits because the Sharks were Crappy not because the Valke were playing good rugby, now the same again WP lost to Valke because they are down right shite not because the Valke may have played intelligent rugby. I didn’t watch the match so cannot say whether WP did infact play good rugby or not, but I think we need to acknowledge that the Valke this season are a far better team than in previous seasons and they deserve that credit.

• 11.stavros: Reply to this comment

#10 Sharksgirl: So does their coach…

• 12.David: Reply to this comment

#6 stavros:
    I think you’ll find that Tackler is originally from Cape Town.

• 13.Snoek: Reply to this comment

Knock, knock.

• 14.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#13 Snoek:

Who’s there?

• 15.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#14 Snoek:

WP.

• 16.Staal: Reply to this comment

#13 Snoek:

Who’s there?

• 17.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#15 Snoek:

WP who?

• 18.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#17 Snoek:

Exactly.

• 19.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#11 stavros: Definitely!

• 20.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#16 Staal:

Sorry, im playing with myself this morning.

• 21.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#18 Snoek: did you have all your oats this morning :)

• 22.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#21 Sharksgirl:

Two bowls, and i’m feeling great.

What is your prediction for our beloved sharks this weekend?

• 23.David: Reply to this comment

I’ve never understood why a Sharks supporter would highjack the nic “snoek”. Is there some subliminal jealousy there? :grin:

• 24.Staal: Reply to this comment

“Province fighting for form” – there are 3 words in that sentence that cant be used together in one sentence when posting about WP. :lol:

• 25.Staal: Reply to this comment

#23 David:

Was wondering about that as well? Snoek in Durbs???

• 26.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#20 Snoek: I am sure that came out wrong otherwise its a little more information than we needed :shock:

• 27.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

The dangerous Bolanders?

To what depths have WP sunk in the space of two games?

• 28.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#22 Snoek: I predict a win, the Boks will inject much needed umpf into the team also Deysel and Barritt are back for the game so I predict a solid win, don’t know about a bonus point though.

This is the team I hope gets chosen:

15 Odwa Ndugane
    14 Wesley Bodmer
    13 Waylon Murray
    12 Bradley Barritt
    11 Chris Jordaan
    10 Ruan Pienaar
    9 Charl McLeod
    8 Ryan Kankowski
    7 Jean Deysel
    6 Jaques Botes
    5 Johan Muller
    4 Stephen Sykes
    3 Jannie Dup (BJ still injured)
    2 Skipper :(
    1 Beast/Deon

• 29.Staal: Reply to this comment

#27 Windhoek.Lager:

It’s called an Abyss!! :lol:

• 30.stavros: Reply to this comment

GO SHARKS!!!! just getting ready for next year.

• 31.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#30 stavros: Why next year? be positive we may be in a bit of trouble but I am sure we will pull through! I was saying to my hubby just the other day, for all these years (Putt era excluded) we have missed winning any silverware playing good attacking rugby, watch us win this CC only because we are playing poorly ;)

• 32.bboy: Reply to this comment

get your facts right loosehead wp dont want to release him until next week.

• 33.stavros: Reply to this comment

#31 Sharksgirl: We lost our ability to attack the day Campese was thrown out the door.

• 34.stavros: Reply to this comment

#28 Sharksgirl: What about Kockott? Is he injured?

• 35.Staal: Reply to this comment

Mind you – my teams form was ok maar useless in die S14! :shock:

• 36.Staal: Reply to this comment

#34 stavros:

No – his head has become so big he is walking upright and that seems to be a problem! :lol:

• 37.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#33 stavros: I agree! They need to get a new skills and attacking coach and fast!

#34 stavros: Yep Rory is still injured and no good news yet, they cannot say yet when he will be able to play.

• 38.Reserve Naartjie: Reply to this comment

Were we really that depleted that Griquas and the Valke were always in with a chance of beating us? AC should be in kak for those losses.

• 39.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#35 Staal: I think S14 was just getting used to a new coach and some players had other agendas (Bakkies and Habana) however all those problems have been ironed out. Hope you maintain this form in S14! and I sincerely hope the SHarks get some form before the S14 :) But it sounds like we will have a Kiwi attacking coach for S14 lets hope!

#36 Staal: :lol:

• 40.Benchsitter: Reply to this comment

What a load off bull. If you start talking up the bottom of the table team and talk of switching your calls, have closed practice seesions you know one of two things, your team is **** or your coach is ****. Jeeshhh, I wonder which one is it. 100 bucks Rassie will get an SOS shortly.

• 41.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#40 Benchsitter: He already has, Last week I believe before the Valke game – I kid you not!

• 42.EEE: Reply to this comment

Morning all……

#41 Sharksgirl: almost like what happened last year with the bulls in the currie cup when Heineke was also roped in

• 43.Robzim: Reply to this comment

This particular WP team should beat Boland comfortably at Newlands. They just went through a temporary “dip” and it does not mean that Alistair is now suddenly a bad coach. We should reserve our judgement on him until the end of the season.

I am also looking forward to see what Koster can add coming off the bench. That boy has awesome talent.

• 44.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#42 EEE: Yes you are right, I remember that!

#43 Robzim: That is what I keep telling myself about the Sharks this year :(

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.