Jongi gets Bok call-up
5 Aug 2008
Cheetahs winger Jongi Nokwe has been handed his Bok debut in the team to face Argentina at Ellis Park.
Nokwe was a surprise addition to the Tri-Nations squad, but due to Bryan Habana’s shoulder injury he will start his first Test for South Africa. Schalk Burger has also been given an extra week to recuperate from his neck ailment (which occurred in the match against the Wallabies), allowing Luke Watson to start as openside flank.
“They [Habana and Burger] both could’ve played, but we now have the luxury of giving them another week to recover,” coach Peter de Villiers said after the team announcement.
De Villiers said Nokwe’s inclusion was due to his impressive try-scoring form this year. “This is just reward for his play in the Super 14 and Currie Cup. He must now show he can make the step up and it also gives us a chance to see who the next guy is we can fall back on in case of injury.”
Adrian Jacobs returns to claim the No 13 jersey after his hamstring strain, while World Cup-winner Jaque Fourie should make his long-awaited Bok comeback off the bench. Fourie du Preez is also included in the 22 for the first time this year after recovering from a hand injury.
Beast Mtawarira will pack down at loosehead in Gurthro Steenkamp’s absence, as De Villiers had been impressed with the Sharks prop whenever he has received the opportunity. “Sometimes a player takes a step up and makes an impression. That is what he [Mtawarira] did, as did Adriaan Strauss. One won’t know if the player is good enough until he gets the chance,” said De Villiers.
Pierre Spies will play his second consecutive Test at eighthman, this time ahead of Joe van Niekerk. If replacement loose-forward Van Niekerk enters the fray it will be his 50th Test, while Percy Montgomery could win his 99th cap on Saturday.
Springboks – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Butch James, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Luke Watson, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira. Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Joe van Niekerk, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Jaque Fourie, 22 Percy Montgomery.

548 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All
5 Aug 2008, 21:19 pm
#488 blhoo: “Unappreciated by his teammates” – He still has some baggage but don’t forget his teammates gave him the initiation and they denied him that when he was forced onto J.White. So it seeems that the players themselves are saying ok he deserves his blazer. He still needs to put in plenty honest yards but I’m hoping that he sees this and just gets the feck on with it.
5 Aug 2008, 21:21 pm
#498 Sheriff: Ag daar wassie eintlik so groot fight nie………..
Dit was eintlik meer fun as enigiets anders.
5 Aug 2008, 21:23 pm
#489 grootblousmile: LMAO Spuitskyt…. Very appropriate in view of his constant and hysterical verbal diarrhea
5 Aug 2008, 21:23 pm
#497 Robzim: They’ll give it everything no doubt, but I think the Boks have too much quality and James penalties will probably seal it.
5 Aug 2008, 21:24 pm
#501 grootblousmile:
Dis mos maar altyd fun
Cheers GBS, praat weer – het net gou kom inloer …
5 Aug 2008, 21:27 pm
#502 SA Barbarians: Ek like nogal Sheriff se weergawe….. “Kopskoot”
5 Aug 2008, 21:30 pm
Cheers all chat again tomorrow
5 Aug 2008, 21:31 pm
#504 Sheriff:
#506 Puma:
Cheers brothers !
Slaap sag !
5 Aug 2008, 21:31 pm
#505 grootblousmile: hehehe kan soms nie besluit of ‘n mens die moer in moet raak, of sommer net lag nie! Paar lekker ekstrimiste hier….
5 Aug 2008, 21:32 pm
Ek is ook oor en uit………
5 Aug 2008, 21:33 pm
#503 Big Hit:
The public here will not be satisfied with anything short of a drubbing!
5 Aug 2008, 21:33 pm
Groot ek het met my SP gepraat hulle se my mailbox is leeg , kyk more hoe gaan dit.
5 Aug 2008, 21:34 pm
#508 SA Barbarians: Ag, as mens nie ‘n sin vir humor hettie, dan moet mens maar suffer !
Nag broer.
5 Aug 2008, 21:35 pm
#511 superBul: Maak so ou Bul…….. nag mater.
#502 SA Barbarians:
Why not try ‘skopskiet-is-a-doos’ seems to be the most profound and well thought out synonym amongst you holier than though brigade.
Maybe ou Groot Krokodil will honor us with his most holy of presences in a moment or three, just to add to this mutual admiration weergawe we have over here.
Then we can have the ‘Doos’s of the blogs’ vergadering right here, right now.
#512 grootblousmile: cheers, gaan ook nou duik
5 Aug 2008, 21:36 pm
#508 SA Barbarians:
Ja, gelukkig, want hier is ook ‘n moerse klomp dinosaurisse wat dink hulle outydse idees geld nog vandag ook.
5 Aug 2008, 21:38 pm
#510 Robzim: It might happen especially given the occasion but I envisage a fairly tight encounter.
5 Aug 2008, 21:41 pm
I guess some Barbarians just find it a little tough becoming a little civilized seeing as they pride themselves so in such barbaric surroundings and escapades, another little twitty twatty two bit schmuck we have here. Schmucky Idiot fool.
5 Aug 2008, 21:42 pm
#514 skopskiet: “Then we can have the ‘Doos’s of the blogs’ vergadering right here, right now”
Well enjoy your meeting. You must be used to your one-way rantings by now, so check your mirror.
5 Aug 2008, 21:44 pm
#482 filthy Luca:
He is bigger than both George and Waugh mate. He is 2cm smaller than McCaw and about the same weight. Interesting thought: If McCaw was Safrican would he be deemed too small?
5 Aug 2008, 21:45 pm
#516 Robzim:
Thanks all the same Rob,
Some schmucks, well what else can one expect of them, schmucks once, schmucks forever will be, too bad, what can we say, just unfortunately too sorrowfully bad.
But thanks anyway man, just the same.
5 Aug 2008, 21:47 pm
#518 skopskiet:
That is why I prefer it to visit the site late at night when most of the local brandy and coke brigade are at sleep.
5 Aug 2008, 21:52 pm
#519 SA Barbarians:
My mirror is reasonably clear Schmuckalak, checked yours lately? Huh holy misery?
5 Aug 2008, 21:55 pm
#516 Robzim: Stem saam. Die probleem is luidrigtige fanatiese klompie aan beide kante van die spektrum wat geen respek vir ander opinies toon nie
5 Aug 2008, 22:02 pm
#522 Robzim:
Yeah seems my presence brings out the most noble of human traits on here, if it isn’t wine women and wat nogal they’re sprouting about all day long then its political philandering in amongst the smattering of rugby that gets discussed between 8 and 5 on the day shift.
Could just be somehow a little nerve gets struck when they see this doos skopskiet hold the mirror right up in their holy faces, perhaps, who knows, either the mirror is a little cracked or else perhaps somebody got to hold it up amongst all the happy clappy fun filled back slapping buddy buddy bravado.
5 Aug 2008, 22:09 pm
#520 SAfan4life: There has always been an unhealthy obsession with size in our rugby so yes in fact McCaw may at one time have been considered too small but I don’t think PDV has the same view as some of our previous coaches when it comes to picking monster forwards. The modern game favours skillful thinking players not bashers ala Pakslae – sorry but there have been some calls for the guy to come back – please teach him to hold onto the ball in a tackle first… in addtion is hardly an intellectual giant. Watson minus “k@k houding” plus plenty of graft and some sprint training and then I would seriously look at him to replace Joe at half-time.
5 Aug 2008, 22:16 pm
#525 skopskiet: Yes I would say you have the knack of causing the natives to revolt..this is not always a bad thing – it can be cathartic.
5 Aug 2008, 22:18 pm
Anyway I’ve already said far too much already, so time I left the ‘egter barbaars’ to get on and along with each other, let them chit chat away, and enjoy the fray that they find so appealing, even to some utter dismay.
Arrivaderci julle nagmerrietjies
5 Aug 2008, 22:21 pm
#528 skopskiet: well never stop giving your opinion skop even if some other don’t like it, its always interesting to hear what u have to say.
cheers and g’nite.
5 Aug 2008, 22:26 pm
#527 filthy Luca:
Well thank you Mr. Luca,
‘cathartic’ now thats a novel concept, I bet they won’t be agreeing with you much on that synopsis, but you too might have just ‘hit a raw nerve’,
keep it up, the more raw nerves exposed the better for the holy minority monopoly to realize they may just be as unwashed as all the rest of humanity, what say?
Night, nacht, aufwiedersein
5 Aug 2008, 22:28 pm
#529 Big Hit:
Thanks BH appreciate it mate, you are one true soldier yourself, Sir Galahad.
Cheers.
5 Aug 2008, 22:47 pm
Surely luke has had his chance and has proven hes decent against mediocre but rubbish against quality. why not give wikus a run, whose proven he can compete against the best? Why not give others a chance to prove themself if you giving jongi one?
5 Aug 2008, 23:00 pm
#532 liefling:
Jongi is a young up and coming player while Wickus is going to Europe next season. PdV has indicated that he will in future give preferance to local players and with Habana not 100% fit this is an ideal opportunity to test Nokwe.
In my view Luke made a vital contribution against the AB’s when he came on so I do not know what is the basis of you saying he has proved he is rubbish against quality.
5 Aug 2008, 23:36 pm
#36 Sheriff: Agree with you there – Chavangha and Nokwe have shown VERY LITTLE inclination to be good defenders. If they play Nokwe against Australia, then expect them to put big runners in his channel all day.
5 Aug 2008, 23:37 pm
It is high time that Cobus Grobbelaar got a run in teh bok jersey – he has been an outstanding fetcher, and a born leader for the Lions, and has stood out in a sea of mediocirty for a while now.
6 Aug 2008, 04:39 am
So true Sjambok,Cobus Grobbelaar has been outstanding for a long time now,pity he aint with the Boks
6 Aug 2008, 04:43 am
#536 wpforever:
Yep there is simply no longer an argument for Watson being in the squad at 6 over Baywatch, Brussouw nor Botes… ZERO!
6 Aug 2008, 04:45 am
#537 bryce_in_oz:
Add Wickus…
6 Aug 2008, 04:59 am
Yes Wickus i recall in the 3 Nations test against New Zealand last year was brilliant.Games against Italy,Argentina etc should rather be used to give those guys Wickus…more game time,and in Cobus Grobbelaar and Bradley Barrit`s case a chance to play for the Boks to see what they can do.I think BJ Botha could also do with game time.Be good as it serves to motivate players.
I also think that Shaun Sowerby imho should have been given a place on the bench against the likes of italy and Argentina
6 Aug 2008, 07:07 am
#535 SjamBok: if Pdv acts like father Christmas in rewarding players with Bok colors i agree with you. Read his explanation on his selections in the following news article in News24…
‘Fate can grab you by the tail’
05/08/2008 22:16 – (SA)
Beeld
Liam Del Carme
Johannesburg – If they really had to, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana could have played against Argentina here on Saturday.
However, Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has decided to take no chances with two of South Africa’s brightest rugby stars.
Luke Watson will take Burger’s place on the flank and Jonghi Nokwe has been selected in Habana’s place on the wing for the Mandela Tribute Test at Coca-Cola Park.
Burger suffered whiplash during the recent Tri-Nations Test against Australia and Habana has a shoulder injury. They were not exposed to contact training last week and will miss the match against the Pumas.
“We are in a position to give them another week to recover,” De Villiers said on Tuesday, adding that both could have played if it were necessary.
“This is Jonghi’s reward for his good Super 14 and Currie Cup performances. He could take the next step up.
“If anything happens to Bryan, we’ll know who the next best player in that position is,” De Villiers explained.
Nokwe’s inclusion was nothing new, because he had been with the national squad for some time and had been in the original training squad at the start of the season.
No excuses
“We laid down the principles for our game at the time.” De Villiers added. “We do not view practice sessions in isolation. I regard him as an international player and he just has to fit in.
“There are no excuses; not from him and not from me.”
Tendai Mtawarira, loosehead prop of the Sharks, is another player who has impressed the coach. The Zimbabwe-born forward has been given Gurthrö Steenkamp’s place because he has surpassed De Villiers’s expectations.
“Players sometimes improve so much that they deserve to be up there. The same applies to Adriaan Strauss. We feel they should be there.
“I only hope he (Mtawarira) does not let himself and me down. One never knows whether you have made the right selections until you have given them an opportunity to play.”
In addition to players who have made their mark this year, experienced Springbok centre Jaque Fourie and World Cup star Fourie du Preez have been included in the 22-strong squad.
The two are among the substitutes and De Villiers is still uncertain how important their role will be against the Pumas.
“Let’s first see what happens on the field. If you do things too quickly, fate can grab you by the tail and then you don’t know where you’re sitting.
“We know Jaque is ready to play. We know where to use him and when to use him. We’ll certainly use him,” the coach said.
The Springbok team:
Conrad Jantjes, JP Pietersen, Adrian Jacobs, Jean de Villiers, Jonghi Nokwe, Butch James, Ricky Januarie, Pierre Spies, Juan Smith, Luke Watson, Victor Matfield (capt), Bakkies Botha, CJ van der Linde, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtwarira.
Substitutes: Adriaan Strauss, Brian Mujati, Andries Bekker, Joe van Niekerk, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie and Percy Montgomery.
6 Aug 2008, 07:17 am
“This is Jonghi’s reward for his good Super 14 and Currie Cup performances. He could take the next step up”
I say maybe , maybe not, thats why i was always against dishing out Colors , be it Blue Bul jerseys , Province (although i laughed at them doing it) and especialy SPRINGBOK colors. A player must be the best in the country and proven to earn Bok colors. Not a afirmitive action reward because he was underpriveledged.
All you Jongi yes sayers , think back 2 months ago how you all tried to convince us that Chavanga is the best thing around, his brilliant S14 ????? you all mentioned. The fact is he had a few good games and then disapeared in the later stages. Now this guy.
6 Aug 2008, 07:27 am
#34 grootblousmile: They should play Pissie at FB where he belongs Fransie as back-up FB to fill the boots of the great man when he retires, and play Connie at left wing where he will excel. Then all shite is solved in the back 3. Connie is way better than Chavanga, Nokwe and the 2 Ndunganes combined and will be a great MERIT wing. Now he’s reduced to a so-so quota FB who we all know is not the best in his position. Make no kistake he did well for Stormers at FB in the S14, but there he is by far the best MERIT choice, but for Boks there are better options in that position.
6 Aug 2008, 07:28 am
#541 superBul: Superbul – Chavs disappeared in the later stages of the S14 because he was injured jou brood!!!! Kry jou feite reg!!
6 Aug 2008, 08:02 am
Good side for the Argies test. Should be strengthened against the AB’s by playing Steyn at 15, Habana at 11, Burger at 6 and BJ Botha at 3.
6 Aug 2008, 09:13 am
daardie snorman kan net sukses behaal met 0/19 en 0/21.ek onthou nog hoe het almal vir du pleissis opgehemel het,snorman se sogenaamde nuwe rugby styl laat my baie herhinder aar mr du pleissis.(snaakse span keuses,belaglike verskoonings as die bokke verloor en n game plan wat nie bestaan nie.)die bokke het wel n swak new zealand span oorsee geklop maar dit was beslis nie deur snorman se rugby kennis nie, januarie se drie glad nie beplan nie.
ek hoop maar ek is verkeerd want suid afrika het al swak afrigters gehad.
6 Aug 2008, 13:16 pm
Lets se we should hammer them!
6 Aug 2008, 13:53 pm
Percy at 15, Steyn on the bench and on at 15 in the second half, Janjes on the left wing, then were talking…….palookas!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All