Arendse bats for Bok coach
14 Aug 2008
Cricket SA president Norman Arendse says Peter de Villiers’s commitment to transformation cannot be questioned.
The Bok coach was this week slammed by Cedrick Frolick, vice-chairperson of the parliamentary portfolio committee for sport, for including only four players of colour in his starting XV for Saturday’s match against the All Blacks. Frolick questioned the selections of white players Fourie du Preez and Percy Montgomery ahead of black players Ricky Januarie and Conrad Jantjes.
However, Arendse, who last season refused to sign off a Proteas squad because it didn’t have enough players of colour, says politicians should give De Villiers a break.
“One has to be pragmatic in his position as the coach of the national rugby team,” Arendse told News24. “Peter has shown that he is wholly committed to the process of transformation and if he decides on a certain permutation for a specific match one cannot then question his commitment.
“We’ve seen since the outset of Peter’s tenure as the national coach that he has created a climate on the rugby landscape for black talents to develop, and one just has to recall who was included in his first Springbok training group.
“After a few months now Peter has significantly increased the pool of black talent that can do South African rugby proud and his efforts must be commended. Peter has the delicate task of balancing results and transformation and no one can fault him on this score.”
Arendse said he hoped the South Africans at Newlands would all be behind the Boks.

187 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All
14 Aug 2008, 16:02 pm
#149 crazy ******:
Becuase selecting on race and not abillity will catch up with us. The AB’s are difficult to beat already.
14 Aug 2008, 16:02 pm
#150 Ig:
Where on earth do you come from???
14 Aug 2008, 16:04 pm
#149 crazy ******:
Easy, if not tackled with care. Look a bit wider than rugby and cricket. What happened to our netbal team (2 nd best in the world to, where are we, stone last?), athletics, hockey……………. need more?
14 Aug 2008, 16:05 pm
Ruffles the whole point about the Rudolph saga is that it did neither his nor Ontong’s careers any good, and yes Rudolph is quite a special player. Also why is there such a problem with Fourie du Preez? Just about the whole world thinks he is the best no 9 in rugby.. Januarie is a good player and we are lucky to have him, its just that du Preez is better. Why is that so bad?
14 Aug 2008, 16:05 pm
#150 Ig:
Some things did change. Even more posts are being deleted since you were in charge.
14 Aug 2008, 16:06 pm
I believe my mothers womb, but even i am begining to doubt that.
Last time i checked i was from earth.
14 Aug 2008, 16:07 pm
More censorship?! Didn’t realise Keo and his minions was into social engineering….thought they enjoyed the mob mentality
14 Aug 2008, 16:15 pm
#144 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: For the purposes of transformation coloured and black players are grouped together as previously disadvantaged, so no need to start dropping anyone. And rugby has been played in the Eastern Cape for more than 100 years as well, just to reinforce my point that playing sport has nothing to do with culture.
#147 touchjudge: I don’t know what you’re actually saying, so no, you don’t make any sense.
14 Aug 2008, 16:16 pm
#148 Pietman:
Ons kort nie, maar hulle sê ons kort.
Of sommer net simpatie…
14 Aug 2008, 16:19 pm
#153 touchjudge:
And yet most of our athletes are white…
Damn quotas!!!
14 Aug 2008, 16:22 pm
lol wpw
14 Aug 2008, 16:22 pm
#151 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: Are you saying that black and coloured players lack ability. I’m not advocating simply excluding white players…as we’ve been di
#153 touchjudge: We were second best in the world because of Irene Bester (I think that was here name)…she moved to NZ and now they’re second best in the world.
Athletics? How many olympic medals have we won since 1992. I think Elana Meyer one one, and Sepeng and Mauladzi have one one each. Is transformation keeping any white guys from dominating the 100m? LoL
When was our hockey team any better than just average? I don’t know who’s in the team right now, but I’d be surprised if most of them werent white.
Please, give me more examples. Next thing, you’ll be telling me that transformation is the reason none of our white swimmers have won any medals!
14 Aug 2008, 16:27 pm
#158 crazy ******:
Ok I will rephrase. You said: “Why does transformation = a losing team?”
My point is that it is easily possible to come to that conclusion if it is not tackled with care. Look a bit wider than rugby and cricket. What happened to our netball team (we wnt from 2 nd best in the world to, where are we, stone last?), athletics, hockey……………. need more?
14 Aug 2008, 16:28 pm
#151 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: Are you saying that black and coloured players lack ability. I’m not advocating simply excluding white players…as we’ve been discussing, transformation, in its proper sense is not about excluding white people, its about including other groups. Most of the Bok teams that have taken hammerings in NZ over the last 15 years only had one black guy on the wing (if that!). The team that won in Dunedin was our most representative ever.
14 Aug 2008, 16:29 pm
crazy
Irene Van Dyk
14 Aug 2008, 16:30 pm
#163 touchjudge: I already responded to that. I didn’t know what your point was at #147.
14 Aug 2008, 16:30 pm
#165 wpw: Who’s Irene Bester…oh, she’s a tv presenter, LoL
14 Aug 2008, 16:33 pm
LMAO
Crazy
Last night Objective 101 (who is so NOT objective) blamed Mr Naidoo for the problems within SA Swimming and the fact that he is in charge is the cause that our ‘white’ Olympic swimmers are not performing…
Talk about being delusional…
14 Aug 2008, 16:34 pm
#168 wpw: And most of those guys are at universities in the US
14 Aug 2008, 16:40 pm
#162 crazy ******:
Ok, here goes,
1. “We were second best in the world because of Irene Bester (I think that was here name)…she moved to NZ and now they’re second best in the world.”
Not because of Irene van Dyk only but becaues of selection process and management and caoching staff. The whole bunch were fired and the rest is history.
2. “Athletics? How many olympic medals have we won since 1992. I think Elana Meyer one one, and Sepeng and Mauladzi have one one each. Is transformation keeping any white guys from dominating the 100m? LoL
”
Correct on the Olympic medal count, but we always had world class athletes a plenty and what was amazing a lot of world class black athletes mind you. Mathews Themane, Loop en Val Motswaratau, Sydney Maree before he left for the USA, Myrtle Bothma, Jean Verster, Henning Gericke, Riaan Dempers (2X junior world cahmpion), Ockert Britz, Desiree du Plesiss, March Fiasconaro (who joined the Italian Olympic team), Hestrie Cloete. How many descent tahletes do we have at the moment.
3. “When was our hockey team any better than just average? I don’t know who’s in the team right now, but I’d be surprised if most of them werent white.” when the were politically left out of the Olympic Squad with the last or the second last Olympics not sure which one it was). If my memory serves me correct they beat the no 1 team in the world in that year.
4. “Next thing, you’ll be telling me that transformation is the reason none of our white swimmers have won any medals!”
Exactly. The whole swimming situation was handled amateurish by the swimmers themselves and the swimming authorities. No SA based swimmer has really achieved anything. I am not sure but was Penny Heyns not also based in the USA?
14 Aug 2008, 16:47 pm
#155 Brickwall: Don’t run into it!: Hey Brick and everyone else!
Can I ask you why everyone is so quite ’bout Adi lately? Did he pass the test of proving himself worthy? Or is the jury still out?
14 Aug 2008, 16:49 pm
#166 crazy ******:
Sorry for that one. I just noticed that you have already side-stepped that one like a politician by using a statement which has the coloured community up in arms. When it suits the politicians the coloured/brown people are too white and then again when it suits them otherwise, they are black enough. So what you saying is that when we deal with sports we have two ethnic groups, i.e. white and non-white, if i could use the term. When we get to AA, BEE or BBEE or whatever you wanna call it we have to distinguish between white, coloured, asian and wait for it “ethnic blacks”
14 Aug 2008, 17:02 pm
Khompela’s has stunted growth as a result of a bout of polio in his childhood. I think one of his feet was also amputated as a result.
14 Aug 2008, 17:03 pm
#170 touchjudge: Touchjudge, we were talking about the need for transformation in sport in SA.
I’ve read through your post twice, and I still don’t get your point.
1. My understanding of the netball situation is that they have problems with funding and sponsorship, which is impacting on their development programs, which in turn has led in part to their poor performances.
2. Most of the athletes you mention were at their peak during the 80′s. I fail to see how transformation is to blame for athletes not being able to run very fast. Athletics is quite simple, there’s a qualifying time and athlete’s have to qualify. Ockert Brits weren’t to the Olympics in 1992 and 1996, and bombed out without clearing a height on both occassions. That’s got nothing to do with transformation, he just wasn’t good enough on the day.
3. Our hockey team weren’t selected in 2000 because it was felt that they weren’t good enough to compete at those games, and the money to take them was better spent on other athletes.
4. Same issue as with the athletics team. Kirsty Coventry has won two silver medals at these games, and she’s representing Zim! The only conslusion to be drawn is that our guys just weren’t good enough this year.
It’s a common misconception that black people are the first one’s to play the race card, but the fact is that white people are past masters at the art as well. When we fail, or we’re not good anough, its always transformation’s fault….its pathetic.
14 Aug 2008, 17:09 pm
#172 touchjudge: LoL, I’m just sticking to sport mate. If we get into AA, BEE, etc. we’ll be here all day
14 Aug 2008, 17:11 pm
#173 King Shaka:
Yes, right.
I think he hates being physically impaired like that, being a sports lover.
While his brother went on and coached soccer at higher levels.
I can understand his frustration.
14 Aug 2008, 17:21 pm
#176 Pietman: What’s going on here! Thought you hated this guy’s guts? Or did you forget?
14 Aug 2008, 17:28 pm
#174 crazy ******:
Ok, last things first. Kirsty Coventry is lily-white and does not reside in Zimbabwe.The following, courtesy of Wikipedia: “Kirsty Leigh Coventry (born in Harare, Zimbabwe September 16, 1983) is a Zimbabwean swimmer and world record holder. She attended and swam competitively for Auburn University in Alabama, in the United States, and speaks with an American accent.”
1. As you say it is your unnedsranding of the netball situation. The fact is however that after their successes the management, caoches etc were ousted. Obviously the next generation did not have the know-how to secure the necessary funding, etc or keep up the development of young blood.
2. They are from the 80′s yes. I am not talking about their performances at the Olympics only beacuse a lot of them didnt have the opportunity to compete there. And yes you are quite correct about Ockert but he did beat the great Serge Bubcka a number of times and came very close to his record hight a number of times. It was real said when he did bombed out because he became too big-headed to start at lower heihts. I think he started jumping with the bar at 5,75 or something. But back to the rest. It is well known that the in-fighting in ASA is bringing us nowhere and is harming our upcoming stars of all races.
3. Our hockey team was actually right there at that stage and they were actually excluded due to the make-up of the team. the official story was however that “they” did not deem them good enough. Just as suddenlu Pikoli wasn’t performing in his job as NP.
4. Kristy Coventry has been answered.
“It’s a common misconception that black people are the first one’s to play the race card, but the fact is that white people are past masters at the art as well. When we fail, or we’re not good anough, its always transformation’s fault….its pathetic.” This is getting boring, since the only people that pla the race card in SA is in all cases. Nobody else has the same problem, not even our President.
14 Aug 2008, 17:33 pm
#177 BokiNZ:
No, I don’t.
Nothing personal.
I know him better than you might think, the boytjie from Springfontein.
I just hated the way he played political sports and made a fool of himself.
But I understand why.
14 Aug 2008, 17:49 pm
#177 BokiNZ:
And another thing, I may dislike some people, but I hate nobody.
It is not in my nature.
Remember that.
14 Aug 2008, 17:55 pm
#176 Pietman:
Steve Khompela also boasts about 30 Bafana caps, in addition to his coaching.
14 Aug 2008, 18:07 pm
#180 Pietman: Dislike some people as in ‘hate their guts’. Never heard of it? If not, remember it!
14 Aug 2008, 18:15 pm
#182 BokiNZ:
Your words, not mine bro.
14 Aug 2008, 20:30 pm
Two Wongs don’t make a white – well not any more; Wong’s black now. How many in the wugby team. I can hear ole Henry saying ” I spot a Chink in their armour”. Ha fkg ha.
Crazy munky, boet, I’m sure Nats defending apartheid, Nazis sticking up for, well, Nazism, Hutu’s explaining why they clubbed a million Tutsi’s and Zanu PFer’s clearing up why they bliksem the MDC and a few thousand Shona’s sounded just like you. Vok voort ou maat, dust unto dust, ashes unto ashes, you reap what you sow etc. Gezundheit.
15 Aug 2008, 10:50 am
#184 husky: You obviously haven’t read all the posts above. If you did you’d realise that we were discussing a policy, not an ideology. Check the facts before throwing in your 5 cents.
The examples you mentioned were of evil ideologies, but if you take the Nazi’s for example, weren’t the victims of their hate crimes compensated somehow for the crimes commited against them? Think before you speak…
15 Aug 2008, 12:15 pm
Snoek
” The UK of Cape Town running smoothlty”
How is that hapening when you have a million plus people living in shacks/informal settlements?
These shack dwellers provide the very cheap labour that you the UK of CT so desires be it ***********, maids and waitresses.
These people take the train, taxi and the Golden Arrow and head back to the crime infested shacks and townships run by druglords and corrupt ANC councillors. Plus the fact that the DA (euphemism for Nats) and some coloured people still waver between opinions.
How is that smooth?
The income and welfare gap; how is that smooth?
Look at who will be at Newlands watching the game tommorrow. It will be the 1st class and 2nd class citizens of SA and the fans in CT still believe in the classification just mentioned, the only black guy or lady you’ll see at Newlands will be a groundsmand, bathroom cleaner or the jovial dude selling coca cola and simba chips. if it’s hot the guy will the red coke t-shirt and the weather is rainy he’ll have some raincoat.
I do not think that is smooth.
I have not forgotten, this is a rugby blog but what i’ve just described also informs the representation which will be at Newlands so you can not really separate these things.
If that is smooth for you then i do not consider it to be so.
15 Aug 2008, 12:16 pm
The jury is still out on Adi
While i like what i have seen so far. I’m still out to see whether he can stamp his authority on the game because that is what he must do in the next three weeks.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All