Bok wrecking ball

Schalk Burger is a rugby phenomenon, but what makes him the player he is?

In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, Jake White, Richie McCaw, Rudolf Straeuli, Derick Coetzee and Henning Gericke all offer unique insights into arguably the greatest Springbok of all-time by explaining exactly what sets him apart from the rest.

White, during a detailed discussion, reveals that Burger “averages 21 tackles per game – seven more than the average for an elite international flank. He’s got great ball skills, an unbelievable feel for the game in the sense that his running lines are so good that he gets into excellent positions long before the opposition even realise he’s there.”

McCaw says, “He just flies in [to the rucks]. Every time you play against him, he’s everywhere. His work rate is amazing.”

In a revealing Q&A, we also ask Schalk if opensiders are born or made, what he defines as failure, if he’s received offers from overseas clubs and if he misses having Jake around.

Also in the new issue of SAR:

– The Springbok scrum no longer strikes fear into their opponents. Former Springbok front rankers John Allan and Guy Kebble explain why

BJ Botha was a shock omission from the Boks’ Tri-Nations squad, but the tighthead prop, who recently signed for ulster, believes he can force his way back

– Player depth remains a top priority but South Africa can no longer afford to neglect the development of local coaches. SA Rugby magazine investigates Saru’s plan to implement a new coaching programme in 2009

– The increased involvement of the TMO has been the most hotly debated point of this year’s Absa Currie Cup. SA Rugby magazine assesses the positives and negatives of the system

Craven Week is supposed to be a festival of South African schoolboy rugby where winning isn’t a matter of life or death. but for a group of determined talent scouts, it’s merely an opportunity to snap up the next Frans Steyn or John Smit. SA Rugby magazine finds out how a respected talent scout goes about his job, and how others, with less integrity, will do almost anything to get that important signature

– At just 19, Robert Ebersohn has already lent the Free State Cheetahs backline some much needed attacking flair this season

– Last year, a disillusioned Gcobani Bobo was released by the Sharks to play for the Springbok Sevens team. Now he’s an automatic selection for the Stormers, captaining Western Province, back in the Bok set-up and revelling in his amazing change of fortune

– Former Springbok flyhalf Gerald Bosch has played a major role in the development of Wallabies utility back Berrick Barnes

– Outside centre has been an All Blacks weakness since Tana Umaga retired at the end of 2005. But the problem of who to play there has finally been solved by the emergence of Conrad Smith

Andre Pretorius’s career has been plagued by leg injuries, especially during the last four years. The latest setback came when he played for the Boks against the Barbarians last year, limping off the Twickenham turf after 33 minutes with a crocked foot. The Lions flyhalf has not played in a match since, yet despite calls for him to retire, he believes he will have a big 2009 season

– SA Rugby magazine is on sale from Wednesday, 20 August. To subscribe, e-mail subscriptions@hsm.co.za or phone (021) 416-0141.

667 Comments

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All

• 601.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#588 vindicated:
    You seem to have an unhealthy obssesion with SA rugby, are you a bitter ex-pat or are you actually a closet Bok supporter ???

• 602.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#597 blhoo: thats the issue – against class opposition – too many souls got sold on the World Cup victory – the hurt will last longer than the enjoyment of that one-time victory

• 603.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#597 blhoo: Baloo he would not have said yes. My impression is that Nick likes to be in charge, set the standards and not mess around with the palookas at SARU. He is also smart in having his quality of life a key reason for his career.

He’s a smart guy.

And we are dumb, dumb, dumb to lose him.

And England were dumb, dumb, dumb and dumber not to have taken him.

• 604.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#601 justrugby: Come she goes to boarding school in the Cape. Everyone knows that.

• 605.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#601 justrugby: I’m an Aussie living in SA and I’m telling it like it is

I am the bringer of the truth to a blinkered population

• 606.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#604 SodaJoe: LOL , I’m learning fast !!!

• 607.blhoo: Reply to this comment

#603 SodaJoe:

Sorry to hear that.

Have you met the man?

• 608.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#598 SodaJoe:

Yer they are next door, was up there last year certainly some niggle up there, lol they eat noodles up in this part of China, I’ve eaten so many different kinds of noodles here I’m going farking crazy..

• 609.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#601 justrugby: and you can tell me your troubles – i will listen and i will understand

• 610.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#609 vindicated: because I’ve heard it all before

• 611.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#599 blhoo: Dogs and horses sorted thanks. How has your day been ? or are you still at work in some wierd time zone?
    (What are dog pellets anyway)?

• 612.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#611 carol meredith: something you feed to your horse ??

• 613.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#605 vindicated: Nah !!!! I think you are a closet SA supporter, they say if you admit it you feel better, come clean boet !!!

• 614.blhoo: Reply to this comment

#608 NZINCHINA:

Are you free to move around?

Can you blog, watch tv without fear of reprisal?

• 615.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#614 blhoo:

Mate the western press have no idea, you can even **** up here and you won’t get arrested.

• 616.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#600 SodaJoe: LOL, what a wonderful way you have with words!
    I will have to buy the DVD and see if I missed something on Saturday.
    Luckily as “Dan the Man” missed so many it must show how tricky conditions were on Saturday. (Am I clutching at straws)?

• 617.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#608 NZINCHINA: It amazes me how widely dispersed yet connected we remain. My brother lives in Shanghai, he’s been there and in HK for about 12 years now. I haven’t been to Shanghai, and HK & Taiwan quite a while ago.

• 618.justrugby: Reply to this comment

For anybody that is interested (probably no-one)Milan Baros has just scored against England, Chezk Rep. 1-.0
    The Poms are great all rounders Can’t play cricket, rugby or soccer.
    Shame man !!!!

• 619.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#610 vindicated: And in this only would she be correct.

• 620.blhoo: Reply to this comment

#615 NZINCHINA:

Hehe so no guys with headphones in a plumbers van outside then?

• 621.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#612 vindicated: They get “Nuts” so watch it!!

• 622.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#613 justrugby: you can think what you like – but im already inside your head

• 623.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#616 carol meredith: Perhaps. But I think that Percival needs some cool shorts. The Aussie Rules fashion “cramps his style”.

I take it no suntanning in the Cotswold’s at the moment. Department of Defence must be humming with productivity. Until it gets to 19C – then they will be in their bikinis.

• 624.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#620 blhoo:

I hope not I’ve been quite busy lately.

• 625.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#620 blhoo: I hear that the weejer gals are not so hot too. So our mate just plays with his satellite and eats pasta. And this is where Marco Polo discovered pasta and took it to Italy for Nick Mallet’s breakfast of champions.

• 626.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#625 SodaJoe:

I can confirm that statement.

• 627.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#626 NZINCHINA: Can you not bring a few sheep from home?

Take 2 and have a 3-some.

Sorry cheap shot. I’m a classy yarpie (spelled Japie – but you won’t get that).

• 628.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#621 carol meredith: from the land of Mad Cow Disease

• 629.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#623 SodaJoe: I did not realise my “Hero/pin up” wore uncool shorts. What is the best dresssed rugby player wearing this season? Should someone tell him?

Shocking conditions in the Cotswolds continue. I should be out and about enjoying warm evening sunshine, drinking wine in the garden with friends etc instead I am inside, avoiding more showers.

• 630.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#627 SodaJoe: you better be careful next time you take your girlfriend to the rugby – incest is sill illegal in SA

• 631.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#629 carol meredith:
    I can see it’s chucking it down in London at wembley Stadium !!

• 632.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#628 vindicated: We admitted to it…………, the others pretended their cows were falling over because they were drunk or some other lame reason.

• 633.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#630 vindicated: I see you know that law well. Did you and your brother get in to trouble?

• 634.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#627 SodaJoe:

I certainly gave it some thought but common sense prevailed, I get the Japie I spent 6 weeks in SA a few years back.

• 635.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#632 carol meredith: but you need to be carefull that you’re not feeding your horse, horse

• 636.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#631 justrugby: You must have satellite TV as well.
    Am I the only person that has to beg a place on pals sofas to watch the Boks because I don’t have sky TV

Whats the score by the way?

• 637.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#634 NZINCHINA:
    Must of been hell having to go back LOL

• 638.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#629 carol meredith: Ms Cheltenham. Don’t worry. He is the only Springbok Centurian. No matter what he wears he is covered in glory.

So another great summer. Oh well. Winter’s peeping it’s head here, and Minneapolis winter is tough.

• 639.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#635 vindicated: Thats the Belgians that do that!

• 640.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#636 carol meredith:
    England down 1-0, 40 mins gone. Entertaining game !!!!

• 641.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#640 justrugby:
    England just equalised , Wes Brown header.

• 642.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#638 SodaJoe: I hope he still has a “warm glow” when he thinks of the reception he got on Saturday at Newlands.

Do you have those incredibly cold winters in your neck of the woods then?

• 643.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#641 justrugby: The wonders of modern technology. The Czech republic will come back for more.

Wes Brown plays for Grant 10′s team Man U. (I am not a great soccer fan, husband just informed me)

• 644.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

Oh rats, have just let the vegs boil dry!!

Stop being so entertaining lads……………..

• 645.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#643 carol meredith: yip Grant 10 a big Man U fan ,but a FANATICAL Springbok and rugby fan !!!

• 646.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#636 carol meredith: Carol – MediaZone.com – rugby to your computer. Quite cheap too, especially in Pounds. I think you get the whole season every game for about 50 Quid. Check it out. Cheaper than Sky. Although you must be the last person in Britain without Sky. Buy a smaller horse. NZinChina might have an extra cheap sheep – they cost nothing to feed (well that’s what he tells me – but I think he’s mean to his girlfriends).

• 647.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#646 SodaJoe: That could be the answer. Do you think they would show your Currie cup matches?
    Do you think I could also catch Percy placing for W.P on that service?
    Could be £50 well spent!

• 648.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#647 carol meredith: Carol – almost every game on earth. Check it out. I used to use it, but now get Sky, believe it or not via a sattelite channel called Setanta. $99 for the year MediaZone. You can also buy game by game.

• 649.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#645 justrugby: Well he did wangle a ticket for Saturday didn’t he, although having to share a box with lawyers etc (could have been a bit of a trial) Ha Ha

Dawn was desperate for a ticket. ( She was offering her body at one point to Insider) I hope she did’nt have to resort to anything she would regret “in the morning to get in”!!! .

• 650.carol meredith: Reply to this comment

#648 SodaJoe: We must get ripped off over here. I am quoted £25 a month just for Sky sport!

Your tips could be invaluable. Thanks

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.