Bok wrecking ball
20 Aug 2008
Schalk Burger is a rugby phenomenon, but what makes him the player he is?
In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, Jake White, Richie McCaw, Rudolf Straeuli, Derick Coetzee and Henning Gericke all offer unique insights into arguably the greatest Springbok of all-time by explaining exactly what sets him apart from the rest.
White, during a detailed discussion, reveals that Burger “averages 21 tackles per game – seven more than the average for an elite international flank. He’s got great ball skills, an unbelievable feel for the game in the sense that his running lines are so good that he gets into excellent positions long before the opposition even realise he’s there.”
McCaw says, “He just flies in [to the rucks]. Every time you play against him, he’s everywhere. His work rate is amazing.”
In a revealing Q&A, we also ask Schalk if opensiders are born or made, what he defines as failure, if he’s received offers from overseas clubs and if he misses having Jake around.
Also in the new issue of SAR:
– The Springbok scrum no longer strikes fear into their opponents. Former Springbok front rankers John Allan and Guy Kebble explain why
– BJ Botha was a shock omission from the Boks’ Tri-Nations squad, but the tighthead prop, who
recently signed for ulster, believes he can force his way back
– Player depth remains a top priority but South Africa can no longer afford to neglect the development of local coaches. SA Rugby magazine investigates Saru’s plan to implement a new coaching programme in 2009
– The increased involvement of the TMO has been the most hotly debated point of this year’s Absa Currie Cup. SA Rugby magazine assesses the positives and negatives of the system
– Craven Week is supposed to be a festival of South African schoolboy rugby where winning isn’t a matter of life or death. but for a group of determined talent scouts, it’s merely an opportunity to snap up the next
Frans Steyn or John Smit. SA Rugby magazine finds out how a respected talent scout goes about his job, and how others, with less integrity, will do almost anything to get that important signature
– At just 19, Robert Ebersohn has already lent the Free State Cheetahs backline some much needed attacking flair this season
– Last year, a disillusioned Gcobani Bobo was released by the Sharks to play for the Springbok Sevens team. Now he’s an automatic selection for the Stormers, captaining Western Province, back in the Bok set-up and revelling in his amazing change of fortune
– Former Springbok flyhalf Gerald Bosch has played a major role in the development of Wallabies utility back Berrick Barnes
– Outside centre has been an All Blacks weakness since Tana Umaga retired at the end of 2005. But the problem of who to play there has finally been solved by the emergence of Conrad Smith
– Andre Pretorius’s career has been plagued by leg injuries, especially during the last four years. The latest setback came when he played for the Boks against the Barbarians last year, limping off the Twickenham turf after 33 minutes with a crocked foot. The Lions flyhalf has not played in a match since, yet despite calls for him to retire, he believes he will have a big 2009 season
– SA Rugby magazine is on sale from Wednesday, 20 August. To subscribe, e-mail subscriptions@hsm.co.za or phone (021) 416-0141.

667 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
20 Aug 2008, 13:21 pm
#184 Rooinek07: OK.
Look at the difference So’oialo has made to the ABs since moving back to 8. McCaw’s return was big for the ABs, but equally, So’oialo’s return to no.8 and Kaino’s switch to no.6 was as big a reason for their change in fortunes IMO.
He is more assured at the back of the scrum than any other NZ no.8, and he cleans up well as he showed again on Saturday.
He is usually in the top 3 NZ players to make it to the breakdown, a role which is critical to the ABs generating quick ruck ball and a support role that any good fetcher, even McCaw, needs to effect turnover opportunities.
His work ethic on defence is always huge, he works hard in the tight and supports well.
For the Boks, Juan Smith is the glue that makes the Bok backrow work. He is off form, or the game plan PdV is plying under the ELVs isn’t suiting him which is affecting the Bok backrow’s balance and effectiveness.
Like So’oialo, he does the dirty work and the basics, they are the unsung heroes which allows the flashier players like McCaw, spies, Burger and Kaino to play to their potential. Every great backrow has had a player who fulfills this role.
This type of player plays blindside flanker in most teams, but in NZ, he plays at no.8.
#192 katman:
#195 Dawn:
good afternoon Dawn, have you remembered to take your Chill medication?
#191 greatest13gerber: Yes I rate Kanko our best. Then he was not picked first time by the coach and should have been. I also rate Barrit but going to lose him. He has had enough of waiting around to be picked and will do a KP and will be playing for the Poms next year. Has British grandparents so can play straight away for them no waiting for a few years. So we have lost him and he has said he has always wanted to play for the Boks. No one listens and it seems no one sees how good he is.
20 Aug 2008, 13:22 pm
#187 tight head: THe helter-skelter appproach gives me a queasy feeling in the pit of my stomach with regards to the end of year tour. If we can`t catch or run the ball in firm, dry conditions how the hell are they going to do it in sodden conditions against the home unions? It`s not inconceivable that we could be in for a rough tour if the current trend continues.
20 Aug 2008, 13:24 pm
#198 katman:
don’t you mean..”fck this, I got dropped because of BS politics”
20 Aug 2008, 13:25 pm
#187 tight head:
I hear your viewpoint and agree to a large extent.
But,at scrumtime the platform was well-layed by the pack but Fourie/Butch/Percy still kicked aimlessly.Im not advocating that their bad players all of a sudden but they had a bad day at the office.
Granted the breakdown was a major problem,so yes Matfield and co less playing with ball more SECURING IT.
But in saying that we werent in the right position on the field to launch constructive,methodical attacks due to our poor execution in tactical kicking.What should have done?Carry on kicking the ball by Fourie and co till they get it right?They were abysmal and the more they kicked the worse it got.On top of that we then were running out of time after Carter scored 12-0,o we resorting to running.
Our execution and the ground and kicking was poor,thats what i attribute to us losing.
The issue about mentality is noted and valuable,a slight tweek here and there especially the tight 5 but not totally abandoning the gist of the overall game plan.
20 Aug 2008, 13:25 pm
#197 grant10: Will lose him to the Poms for sure. See him playing for the lions next year. Please not hate from SA towards him as he wants to play for us but is not getting picked.
#200 MightyQuin: I know cant see us playing smart. Well just wishfull thinking. Who knows.
#199 FrenklyMuDeah: Agree there we don’t need a team but for sure need a game plan. Well said.
20 Aug 2008, 13:27 pm
#203 Puma:
didn’t know that about Barritt eligibility for the ***** Poms. The form Super 14 12 and the closest thing we had to Aaron Mauger. He will excel in England and sh*t could even be here next year with the Lions.
more and more saffas in Europe will play for their adoptive countries. I wish Brent Russell was able to do likewise. Wasted talent and player world deserves to see still active in the test arena
20 Aug 2008, 13:28 pm
#199 FrenklyMuDeah: Couldn’t agree with you more. Average players that have a good gameplan that is executed to the best of their abilities, wil beat a team full of names that have NO plan…case in point: last Saturdays test. Only reason we f*ucked up Pumas were that that it was there C team, they were unfit and the Highveld…
#204 sondebok: You said it. This helter skelter stuff is not working for us. And when they start doing that I just have a horrible feeling we are going to have many run away tries against us. Doing that in the wet in the NH. Will be just plain crazy stupid.
#206 mshiniwami:
Seriously Mshini, what game plan is that?
#198 katman:
Unfortunately I live in Nam, so we will probably only get it tomorrow or so
Can’t wait
20 Aug 2008, 13:29 pm
“THE LONG ROAD BACK”
where?..to home?..to Europe? ..you need fresh start, move to Pretoria
20 Aug 2008, 13:30 pm
#204 sondebok: More frigtening is giving forwards freedom to express their style of play. We all know every single forward thinks inside that hulking bloated body is lurking a wispy fleet of foot flyhalf just waiting to escape. We see Brits, locks flowing, breaking the line from fullback, Matlock calmly kicking grubbers, Watson organising the flyhalf, Schalk lining up the flyhalf (while Ritchie heads in other direction after stealing ball from Spies who got stranded after trying to break from fullback). Dis kak man. PdV needs to get the hairstylist out of the forwards cubicle, drop any forward that “pops” up in backline (he’s not creating and overlap he’s creating a f..up) and fine any fellow who comes off the field with his shorts clean.
20 Aug 2008, 13:30 pm
#207 Puma: huge respect for Barritt….. always!
20 Aug 2008, 13:32 pm
#206 mshiniwami: A slight tweak at this stage will get us on the scoreboard, in single figures. We need a major miracle.
20 Aug 2008, 13:32 pm
1.De Villers
2.Steyn
3.Bosman
4.Olivier
5.Barritt
Poor Brad was indeed hanging around and wasting his time down here.
20 Aug 2008, 13:33 pm
#208 greatest13gerber: Yeah, Barrit already has a British passport. Has British grandparents. But he has always said he just wants to play for the Boks that was always he dream. I read that awhile back. Now never getting picked he will just be back here next year playing for the Lions as he can play for England straight away. Yes me too felt really bad when Brent Russel left. He is just SA and had already played for the Boks so cant play for anyone else. We will lose many, many great players as Oz is going to open their doors I heard next year to players in the super 14. That means our young ones that have not played for the Boks will leave and they will be able in a few years play for Oz. Terrible times ahead for our rugby if we don’t get rid of this quota thing. It should always be that players get picked on merit. To think about it. Rugby is our only sport that we really, really can be proud of. We have to keep it that way.
#210 Puma: Saw the defeat against Scotland in 2002 (I think) where we lost in the wet at Murrayfield, trying to throw the ball around. The thing is, we make far too many mistakes with this kind of approach. Against a patient team who performs the basics well, we`re always going to struggle.
#208 greatest13gerber: Don’t tell me you also bought into all that baseless Barrit hype. Classic case of the media writing cheques on the poor boy’s behalf which he had no hope of ever cashing.
#205 greatest13gerber:
Why you talking such a lot.
You pissed?
20 Aug 2008, 13:35 pm
Cheers all. Chat later.
20 Aug 2008, 13:36 pm
#211 tight head: tight head, with a couple of small tweaks, the Boks could get back on track.
PdV wants to play a wider game, so his game plan relies on fewer players committing to the rucks to secure continuity of possession. However, the ball needs to be quick ball to keep the defending side from getting their defensive line in place. This didn’t happen enough on Saturday to trouble the ABs. When it did, the ABs were stretched and had to scramble hard.
The ABs countered this lack of numbers to the breakdown and gang tackled the Bok runner and drove over the ball, effecting the turnovers through sheer weight of numbers at times.
I look at the Bok pack and I see a potent ball running pack, but few players whose role it is to hit rucks all day long. Beast, Bismarck, CJ, Bekker, Matfield and Spies are all ball runners first, ruck hitter second. The two Bok props should be tasked with hitting rucks as their no.1 priority with the odd ball run, not the other way around. If this happens, and Bakkies returns, the Boks will suddenly have 5 players, not 2, whose sole focus is on retaining possession and generating quick ruck ball.
It’s not that far away IMO.
#221 Dawn: Ephedrine, by the sounds of it.
The Province style of rugby doesn’t suit test rugby against teams like NZ/AUS
Remember the disaster that was Harry Viljoen and Carel DuP?
Now we’re going down the same road again
20 Aug 2008, 13:37 pm
#214 FrenklyMuDeah: That was funny…just sent it to friend of mine…but also funny like: Getting shot with an arrow through the neck…and finding a gas bill attached to it…ie NOT funny on the field Saturdays
20 Aug 2008, 13:37 pm
Why do they have a photo of Steven Segal in a rugby mag?
20 Aug 2008, 13:38 pm
#219 sondebok: Yes agree we just cant go throwing ball around in the wet. Going to be a tough tour for us and it could look like that time in 2002. I hope not. Also watching that Springbok Saga last night. Saw that game we played against Oz where we won right in the end. I was at that game that day. Just great. Anyway I was watching Brent Russell in that game and though why did we just let him go. Just like Greatest13Gerber said. It was such a loss to lose him.
20 Aug 2008, 13:39 pm
Chat later. Outer here now.
20 Aug 2008, 13:39 pm
Those refs’ hands look creepy.
20 Aug 2008, 13:40 pm
#215 grant10: Me too.
20 Aug 2008, 13:43 pm
#214 FrenklyMuDeah:
20 Aug 2008, 13:43 pm
#223 stodders: A while ago someone said Bakkies should run more with ball, he replied running with the ball is for the fancy boys, he will rather clean rucks!
20 Aug 2008, 13:45 pm
#223 stodders:
Stodders.
I always respect your view.
However too many ifs and buts in this great game plan.
Secondly has been shown to be totally ineffective.
We have sacrificed ball winning forwards for ball running forwards.
That is breaking the first golden rule of test rugby.
Further to that, even if this was a good idea, we do not have the ball handling skills for this.
We are behind Aussie and NZ in basic technique and player skills.
We are trying to fly a jumbo jet, when we have not yet passed our microlight exam!!
20 Aug 2008, 13:49 pm
I think its unfair to compare Richy with Schalk or the other way around.
They are very different players. Schalk tends to play the man (with the ball) whereas Richy plays the balls.
Just emagine a team with both Richy and Schalk in it. AWSOME!!
20 Aug 2008, 13:52 pm
good day everyone
gm TH boet ^5
i find that we try everything with power in our forwards and nothing with brains and skill
our lineouts are nowhere near what they should be
our players do not clear out at the loose mauls and rucks
they crouch over the ruck without attempting to win the ball
they easily get pushed off the rucks
and they all seem to want to play wing and center
to me the forwards are forgetting the basics
or maybe we are playing the wrong forwards ?? if not its not the right coaching or structures
20 Aug 2008, 13:54 pm
#227 Sheriff: yeah, ap is odd-looking enough without still taking photos from odd angles.
20 Aug 2008, 13:56 pm
#167 grant10: Exactly we are never goign to beat the All Blacks playing their game. Which is loose, well not as loose as teh Wallabies but still very loose. Springboks have a great scruumaging tight culture. Jake White capitalised on this asset while expanding his game subtley.
We cannot do a 180 on a tight game that has won us two world cups.
#221 Dawn:
No I am sober. I am down to my last bottle of Private Stock ’85 so am saving it for a rainy day(eg we get a hiding from the convicts)
i know this might not be the most experienced pack but i reckon it would be far more structured and powerful
1 heinke
2 smitty
3 bj
4 bakkies
5 matfiel or muller , the latter more a tight player then a lock come wing
6 brussouw
7 deysel
8 joe or alberts
i know some would laugh but i tell ya that loose trio although big is very fast , mobile
good fetchers in brussouw and deysel
joe and alberts 2 strong 8th men
20 Aug 2008, 13:57 pm
Schalk with have a blinder on saturday as he always does. We however might not win.
20 Aug 2008, 13:57 pm
#217 greatest13gerber:
I agree with u gbg
The hype about barritt was too much,can any1 say he is better than those u have posted this season?
plus that there is so much competition,who should we let go and who should we keep?
I askd a question a wyl back that wat if this happened:
Come 2011:Bok 8 competition(all for 1 position)
Koster
Joe
Vermeulen
Kankowski
Johnson
Then Lets say any 1 of those guys feel agrieved if not chosen for Boks and go overseas.Are we going to blame the normal scapegoats?(Quota,DeVilliers,Provincialism,Gameplans etc)or is it the case of too much talent?(if there is such a thing really?)
20 Aug 2008, 13:58 pm
#217 greatest13gerber: Barritt better than Olivier and Bosman !!
20 Aug 2008, 13:59 pm
#237 the peanut gallery:
List at least 2 things that AP have in common with Jacque Fourie
20 Aug 2008, 13:59 pm
Koster is fantastic. That kid is so dynamic and his pace is ridiculous.
20 Aug 2008, 14:00 pm
#234 tight head: True tight head.
The game plan needs quick ruck ball. If PdV wants that, he needs players cleaning out the breakdown. It needs to be a 15 man effort to seamlessly generate quick ruck ball and drive it up. This is not the sole responsibility of the big guys up front, especially when the Boks are looking to spread the play across the pitch.
If you’ve ever played touch rugby (which is a good way of teaching players continuity), you’ll know that one man takes it up, another plays scrummie and the next runs it up as first receiver. This needs to be done at pace to enable you play opposition territory and to tire the defence out.
Taking this further, when playing the 15 man game, you need to add the support players whose role it is to clear the ruck and make the ball available as soon as possible. This is the quick, front foot ball that PdV’s game plan requires. without it, the game plan becomes ineffective and players look like they did on Saturday.
Also, compare the ABs and Boks on the weekend. Look at the angles the AB backs were hitting rucks and then look at the Bok backs. The AB backs at times generated quick ruck ball when the forwards were tied up, or the ball had been played wide. When the Boks were offloading in the tackle, they looked good. But when they went to ground, their fellow backline players just weren’t clearing out the ABs at all, which allowed the ABs to turnover or at the very least slow down the Boks in good attacking areas.
on the reserve side id have
juan
bismark
beast or cj
spies can cover wing and loose forward
schalk
#236 sharks_lover:
It is all about what your inner belief is about test rugby as a coach.
If you believe that it is a game of structure, and subdue up front then strike with your backs, then you play a game like the All Blacks are playing today and have played for years as well as the Boks.
If you believe that test rugby needs to be changed and is a game of running and passing at pace constantly, then you play like PDV has got us playing now, and how we have never been successfull in the past.
You make the choice!!
#240 sharks_lover:
Not a bad pack, but to leave out schalk is unthinkable.
20 Aug 2008, 14:01 pm
thats my point TH mate
we now running at all costs which has never been a bok strength
and again it comes back to the basics of bok rugby
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All