Only the best for Heyneke

Heyneke Meyer wants to make the Leicester Tigers the best club team in the world.

Meyer and Leicester’s competitive season begins on Sunday against Gloucester. After his predecessor, Marcelo Loffreda, lasted less than a year, there is pressure on Meyer to deliver in his first season at the helm. Moreover, Meyer wants the Tigers to set the standard in the Premiership and across Europe throughout his next three years in charge.

“My long-term goal is to make Leicester the best club side in the world,” Meyer told The Guardian.

“We should be able to achieve that in my time here. When I left the Bulls after winning the Super 14 last year and failed to get the job of South Africa coach, I thought my time in rugby was over. I turned down a number of offers from international and club sides. Then Leicester came in, a club which shares my vision and values, and here I am.”

Meyer’s vision and values include success via hard work. This is epitomised by the coach’s current injury, where he ruptured his Achilles tendon during training last week. “It was a sort of race. Put it down to team-building. I will be in plaster for six weeks and then see how it goes,” he said.

With these core values in mind, Meyer will only sign players who are willing to put the collective before the individual. “We need a wing because of all the injuries we have: we will take our time because as well as being a world-class player, the guy must fit into the values of the club. Individualism must not come before the team. Every aspect of Leicester and everything we do must be totally professional,” said Meyer.

“It [the English season] will be a new experience for me, but I have watched a lot of Premiership rugby in recent years. It is different to the Currie Cup because it has 12 good teams in it. The English season is tough because three competitions overlap and you have international calls, but we have drawn up plans and we have a very strong squad,” he said.

Much has been talked about the new attacking inclinations of teams under the ELVs, but a pragmatic Meyer noted how sides have to play to their traditional strengths. “We will change tactically, improving when it comes to intensity, skill levels and try scoring, but you always have to play to your strengths.”

Meyer left South Africa having nurtured the best provincial side in the world. You wouldn’t bet against him revitalising a tiring Leicester outfit into the flagship team of Europe.

356 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.gunther: Reply to this comment

Personally I would never let a dog lick my nuts, they would choke to death. I have had to be very carefull after an unfortunate incident with an Albanian stripper..

• 302.adj nm: Reply to this comment

It will only be fair if Vindi can get the 300. His achieved nothing else here today.

• 303.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Guys, let give the bloke a break.

He has been on this particular thread (on and off but mostly on) since 11h11.

That’s a solid 5 hours.

The only problem is he usually starts the rubbish.

• 304.adj nm: Reply to this comment

#300 asha1: and now asha 1 has beat him to it. Poor old Vindi

• 305.shooter: Reply to this comment

#303 Sheriff: he deserves a break. now that he also missed the 300.

• 306.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

What’s it with Dawn today?

On and off… on and off…

• 307.shooter: Reply to this comment

What can we break for you?

• 308.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Hey, you 3 the same 3 from Ellis Park the other day? I see you ganging up on Vindi…… ;)

• 309.adj nm: Reply to this comment

Just read an article in the times – page 33. Very interesting.

• 310.adj nm: Reply to this comment

#308 Richie_7: Wonder what the reward will be?

• 311.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#308 Richie_7:

Vindi-custard’s little fight today is nothing in comparison with what you had the other day, would you go with that?

• 312.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

#311 Sheriff:

Yeah, I got jumped from all ends. But the next day it was business as usual – no hard feelings

• 313.asha1: Reply to this comment

#309 adj nm:
    info?

• 314.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#312 Richie_7:

Why didn’t you want to accept my advice on the day?

• 315.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

#314 Sheriff:

Which was?

• 316.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#315 Richie_7:

Relax mate.

I suggested that you should basically say “guys, my apol if I offended anyone – let’s move ” I even apol to Rugbyrulz to show you how it’s done.

You could have cut the process in half, time-wise anyway.

• 317.adj nm: Reply to this comment

Its to whole race card thing. I hate talking about it, but its this black rugby writer who critised PdV on his game plan and then PdV didn’t counter with a rugby argument but just called him a coconut

• 318.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

#316 Sheriff:

The truth is I wasn’t sorry. I can choose to support whoever I like; they seemed to take exception to this. But the norm on this blog is for everybody to gang up on the individual who has a different opinion or view and then insult him. As soon as you turn the tables on them they threaten you with reporting you and all that.

I actually found it quite amusing that 4 or 5 guys were getting upset because I supported a different team to them. So yes, I didn’t apologise because I wasn’t sorry. My opinion didn’t hurt anybody until they insulted me, and I then simply fought fire with fire

• 319.gunther: Reply to this comment

I sense there is some sort of “blogger boycott” in progress here today. I feel like a scab, and the itching doesn’t help.

• 320.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

#317 adj nm:

wow, really? The same PDV who called the ex All Black a racist forr criticising him?

• 321.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#318 Richie_7:

Fair enough.

No long term damages from what I can gather. In a sense, I appreciate it more when a guy takes a hammering like that only to be back the next day to start on a clean slate.

Shows resilience. My style is pretty simple: I’m abrasive during the game, but can always have a beer with you afterwards.

• 322.Porra: Reply to this comment

us porras
    we have a beer
    with you
    but if there’s
    enough of us
    we’ll bliksem you
    regardless

• 323.Staal: Reply to this comment

#322 Porra: LMAO :lol:

• 324.shooter: Reply to this comment

#319 gunther: yes, true. the heavy weight boxers is leaving this site. Keo is thinking where is he gonna get another lot of fast talking rugby bloggers. Maybe there’s a new site somewhere. w.w.w.TheFirm.co.za. This brawling is just not right. maybe there is a new vakbond, what’s that again in english, and they must stay away.
    Blogstrike, I’ve said it this afternoon already. Without them to write about and around. Maybe the threads aren’t interesting enough today. Maybe Keo don’t give away enough of his Click$ in test tickets for them to be bothered anymore to blog. It can be many things, Gunther, maybe they’re all in the Alps, maybe they all have more than one name, and Richie for instance is Dawn. Like a ventriliquist, if you know what I mean.

• 325.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#303 Sheriff: dont you ever feel like you need to give me a break – what is it with you and you important sense of self – you’re a real nutcase !!!!

• 326.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#324 shooter:

Yeah we missed the regulars here today.

Are we in transition?

• 327.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#325 vindicated:

Champions have high levels of self-efficacy.

It always comes across as arrogance, but champions are comfortable with other champions.

Look into this a bit more. Make it a side project with the rest of your studies.

Will make sense then.

• 328.shooter: Reply to this comment

#326 Sheriff: Is that a rhetoric question?

• 329.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#328 shooter:

Could be. But what say you?

• 330.shooter: Reply to this comment

They were absent today, no denying that. I thought ‘Arme WP’ was old Wptid, striking resemblance and funny as another thing. But now I’m not so sure. It really is a big co-incidence that alot of the well known okes are not present. And like any good low strapper, I don’t believe in co-incidence. That is where the word incident originated from…

• 331.shooter: Reply to this comment

If you maybe meant if we are in transition as a country because of them, I don’t know. The worst post in the history of blogging kind was Snoek’s contribution of today, I suspect some may have views like that on my ramblings and other similar nonsensical posts, for instance. Look what is happening here, already we are self analysing. Maybe that is the idea here.

• 332.shooter: Reply to this comment

Maybe Ryan’s use of the word “brace’ for the xillionth time was the final straw that broke the camel’s back.

• 333.shooter: Reply to this comment

The mary month of maybe.

• 334.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#330 shooter:

Shooter, you and your theories :lol:

I think it is an interesting situation, but guess that people are very busy and also tired.

I refer to the tiredness part as “blogger’s fatigue”. The whole debacle with WPTID and WP Till I Die was also interesting, I remember 2x apologies in capitals. Is the “firm” at a crossroad? Time will tell. Their PR is normally good and most things are handled “internally”

The rest is a ripple effect really. Bloggers generally get the mood of what’s going down before actually logging in. So if it’s quiet, some will simply say, ok I’ll check back later. And so on.

You must look at members vs guests ratios; normally (not always) 1:5; many of the guests are those checking out where to land.

That’s my guess.

• 335.shooter: Reply to this comment

#334 Sheriff: where there is a smokey there is dancing, like they say here in north.

• 336.Fern: Reply to this comment

#331 shooter:
    co-incidence is like a assumption

• 337.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#327 Sheriff: you dont strike me as arrogant

• 338.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#334 Sheriff: maybe its cause you’re out of the Tri-Nations and all there is for you now lot is the Currie Cup

that and shopping trips with the wife

• 339.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

CHEERS GENTS!

Wife you say. What’s your alternative, the hand?

• 340.shooter: Reply to this comment

#339 Sheriff: yes, he speaks to the hand all the time :)

• 341.shooter: Reply to this comment

#336 Fern: howdy Fern.
    het jy al daai Johanny Cash song gehoor, ‘a boy named Sue’.
    How do you do? My name is Sue, now you’re gonna die!!!’
    Wil gese’ het, how do you do, toe dink ek daaraan.

• 342.shooter: Reply to this comment

ek bedoel obviously, Johnny.

• 343.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#339 Sheriff: whats yours – Shooters hand ??

• 344.shooter: Reply to this comment

Did any one mention that Heineke Meyer tore his ligaments in a friendly sprint between coaches. Seriously. Yesterday or the weekend.

• 345.shooter: Reply to this comment

#343 vindicated: well, metaphorically he has a shooters’ hand, being a shreiff and all.

• 346.shooter: Reply to this comment

Like Marat Safin will say, speak to the backhand.

• 347.Fern: Reply to this comment

#341 shooter:
    nog nie daai song gehoor nie.
    het al so n episode oorleef.
    die boy was net n girl.
    psycho dizzy ******
    mar daai is n preek vir n ander dag

• 348.shooter: Reply to this comment

#347 Fern: Ha, jy het dit seker verdien?

• 349.Fern: Reply to this comment

#348 shooter:
    fokol
    ek is nie n sielkundige nie.
    hoe de volk moes ek geweet het sy het n gesplete persoonlikheid…
    nooi my oor na haar plek,sluit die deur oop.
    ek gaan in en sy ruk n 9mm uit druk hom tussen my oge,gaan n gedaanteverwisseling deur en se in n ander stem vir my ek vrek vanaand hier.

• 350.shooter: Reply to this comment

#349 Fern: :shock: karma kan mens inhaal, haha, nee ek joke, dit is verseker psycho. Ek sal die storie eendag by jou uitvind. Intussen, wees maar versigtig vir die girls wat jou kan wen met armdruk.
    Ek gaan cruise. Cheers tot later.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.