Heyneke pushes Tigers to the max
5 Sep 2008
Tom Varndell says Heyneke Meyer pushed Leicester to the limit during a gruelling pre-season schedule.
Varndell, the Premierships leading try-scorer last season, believes the Tigers are fitter than ever and are raring to go ahead of Sunday’s opening clash against Gloucester.
“Heyneke has worked us hard. He has worked us until breaking point,” Varndell told the Leicester Mercury.
“He kept saying ‘I can’t break you boys’. But there were points where I felt close to breaking. However, I have enjoyed myself. It has been mentally tough, as well as physically demanding, but I have enjoyed every minute of it. It has been one of the hardest pre-seasons I have done, and we have had some hard fitness coaches in the past.”
“But everyone is still smiling and looking forward to hitting the ground running at Gloucester. Physically, I feel ready to take on the marathon that is the Premiership.
“We won’t lose games because we are not fit enough. That is not going to be an excuse. Everyone is fitter than they have ever been. The team is looking good.”
Meyer replaces Marcelo Loffreda who was sacked after just seven months in charge and has made an immediate impact in his short time in England. Varndell believes the club made the right decision appointing the South African.
“Heyneke is brilliant,” said Varndell. “He is a breath of fresh air and has a really positive attitude. He loves his rugby and it’s fantastic to have him around. He encourages all the players and the players want to play for him. There is a really good atmosphere.
“He is completely different to Marcelo. I’m not saying that Marcelo was bad, I didn’t have a problem with him, but Heyneke is fantastic to have around. The whole atmosphere of the club is very different and everyone is a lot more positive.”

213 Comments
5 Sep 2008, 13:41 pm
Dragons
5 Sep 2008, 13:41 pm
Nothing personal, but 2nd for the day…
5 Sep 2008, 13:51 pm
They have a great coach thats all I can say. See them doing well in the season. SA loss their gain.
5 Sep 2008, 13:52 pm
Heyneke should not push the English boys too hard. They don’t have the sun and mieliepap to build up energy.
5 Sep 2008, 13:53 pm
1. Castrogiovanni
2. Chuter
3. White
4. Correy
5. Kaye
6. Moody
7. Croft
8. Newby
9. Ellis
10. Flood
11. Tuialigi
12. Mauger
13. Hipkiss
14. Varndell
15. Murphy
Can see why Heyneke wants to coach this side.
5 Sep 2008, 13:55 pm
#5 puff: Where’s Liefling?
5 Sep 2008, 14:01 pm
#6 It is just a game: Shoulder injury
#4 It is just a game: whats mieliepap?
5 Sep 2008, 14:04 pm
#5 puff: By next year he will have a lot of SA players there. Just watch. He is going to build that side to the best with our players.
5 Sep 2008, 14:05 pm
#7 Big Hit: Porridge.
5 Sep 2008, 14:09 pm
#9 hater: oh, we have bacon and eggs
5 Sep 2008, 14:10 pm
#8 Puma: might not win this weekend tho, lot of players out
5 Sep 2008, 14:12 pm
#11 Big Hit: Yeah its a shame but just watch Meyer build that team to the best. Just give him anothe year. He is a great coach. No doubt he will be looking here for some players that rate and respect him too.
5 Sep 2008, 14:12 pm
Big Hit
Maize meal – carbo load extreme.
Yes, Hougaard’s injured but should be in the mix soon. It will be interested to see who Meyer chooses as his first-choice flyhalf. It’s no secret that Liefling is his darling, but Flood is also showing a lot of promise. I doubt Meyer would put Hougie at 10 and move Flood out to 12, because Mauger is defs a player I think Heyneke rates highly. His kind of 12.
Flood on the bench to cover 10 and 12?
5 Sep 2008, 14:13 pm
Hyneke is the perfect coach for NH style of rugby. I wouldn’t be overly surprised if he is a coach at the next WC, probably for one of the UK sides.
5 Sep 2008, 14:14 pm
#11 Big Hit: Anyway Big Hit the biggest game for me this weekend is in the CC Bulls against Sharks. Just hope our Sharks can match those Bulls. It should be a cracker. We also have Bismarck on the bench and John is still out injured.
5 Sep 2008, 14:15 pm
#13 puff: Who knows. I would drop Mauger and play Flood at 12 if he’s intent on picking Hougaard at 10, especially given Mauger’s awful form last season. Not sure why he made him captain tbh.
5 Sep 2008, 14:16 pm
Saracens and Leicester already have a good few SA players:
Saracens: Visagie, Van Heerden, De Kock, Barrit, Russell
Tigers: Hougaard, Wentzel
The new Aussie rule whereby their S14 sides can sign 2 foreign players – one capped international and one developing player – will also make things interesting.
5 Sep 2008, 14:17 pm
Big Hit
did you see my post about Russell on the other thread?
5 Sep 2008, 14:17 pm
#13 puff: Dan Carter, Johnny Wilkinson, Freddy Michalack and Mat Giteau can all be in his stable, he will still start with Hougaard. For ever.
That is the one vice he has IMO, his ridiculous obsession with Liefling.
5 Sep 2008, 14:19 pm
#15 Puma: I think Sharks will win, more naturally attacking side
5 Sep 2008, 14:21 pm
#18 puff: no I didn’t, which thread? Russell is out for Sarries first game I hear.
#19 Kerneels: I didn’t think he rated him THAT highly
I think they made a fantastic choice by appointing Heyneke Meyer.
Meyer is a team man and will not repeat the mistakes he made whe he started out with the Bulls. He will continue to learn but his recipe will be a refined one to start off with.
It’s a pity that he is not involved with the Boks. It was really 50-50 and with the current political order, it went PdV’s way. He must now make the most of his opportunity.
No doubt that if the Nats were in power, they would not even have considered PdV, so dont try and tell me naively politics should not play a role. The Nats treated the blacks of this country literally like sh*t yet people expect EXTRAORDINARY FAIRNESS from the ANC. At times the “innocent” has to pay a price later, like perhaps Heyneke.
Meyer is a values based coach and the players will take to him.
I personally wish him all the success in Europe! And PdV will not be the Bok coach for the rest of his life, Meyer can come back later and coach them.
But there is also another man here in SA, that will be in there with a chance.
Rassie Erasmus.
Kerneels
Agreed. It’s the one aspect that makes me relieved he’s not Bok coach. Hougaard would be our #1 flyhalf for the next four years. Our backs would never see the ball.
5 Sep 2008, 14:23 pm
#22 Sheriff:
Agreed about Rassie – IMO I would like to go coach overseas a bit in order to broaden his horizons.
Watch HM – he’ll be back in a few years, probably after 2011 RWC. IMO, I think that we will be awesome then.
5 Sep 2008, 14:24 pm
#24 SyKoPlaya:
Sorry – Rassie overseas, not me (LOL)
5 Sep 2008, 14:25 pm
#23 puff: I agree 100%.
5 Sep 2008, 14:25 pm
Big Hit
My (hopeful) prediction:
With Pienaar and Steyn looking to specialise at 9 and 10 respectively, and with Percy retiring, there is no real back-up for Jantjes at 15 moving forward. I don’t rate Kirchner as world class and Rose is too erratic with a lot yet to prove.
Surely Russell should be brought back into the Bok fold. I think it would make a fantastic comeback story ala Montgomery. The Pocket Rocket is older and wiser, has experience playing on wet plodding norther fields and has been specialising in the 15 jersey at sarries for a while now, so he’s no longer the proverbial jack of all trades and master of none.
I reckon Russell still has a point to prove when it comes to the Boks. Would dig to see him in the green and gold 15 or 22 jersey again.
5 Sep 2008, 14:26 pm
Bye Guys – have a good one, and may the best teams win ………….
5 Sep 2008, 14:27 pm
9. Du Preez, January, Pienaar
10. Steyn, Grant (both can cover 12)
11. Habana, Nokwe
12. De Villiers (potential captain post 2009)
13. Fourie, Jacobs
14. Pieterson, Odwa
15. Jantjes. Pocket Rocket
Looks great to me!
5 Sep 2008, 14:28 pm
#22 Sheriff: I support Free State – so call it sour grapes but Rassie has dissapointed me. I’ve always been saying – more so with our player outflow – that when its your job – money is important.
So ja Rassie maybe went to WP for the money and greater player budget but he now finds himself in a driector of rugby roll yet his not really paid his dues as a coach.
He had a cc in his 1st season and a draw in his second. He had a really bad S14 season with the FS and in all fairness an average S14 season with Stormers. It just appears to me that he wants all the shine that comes with the coaching job but the hard work is behond him?
I don’t know – lets call it sour grapes.
5 Sep 2008, 14:31 pm
adj nm
This year, the Stormers were the most exciting Super 14 team, and I expect great things from them in next year’s comp. Rassie is Stormers coach. He is only overseeing Coetzee re WP.
Sour grapes? Me thinks you are right.
5 Sep 2008, 14:31 pm
#24 SyKoPlaya:
Mate, Rassie has impressed me with his willingness to try new things.
Remember the disco lights? Crazy, but effective. A blend of structured play and high innovation is the way forward. Players must be equipped with skill to do whatever they need to do on the day.
It will be good for him to familiarise himself with conditions there, but I guess our local competitions (CC, S14 and 3N) are on par if not better than the rest.
Look Rassie is a smart guy. He had the chance to be tech advisor to Jake during the RWC but knew that afterwards he may well have been stranded. So he opted for the Stormers role ie deferred gratification. He wants to be Bok Head Coach in the long run and knew he had to decline the Boks tech role in the short run …
5 Sep 2008, 14:33 pm
#31 puff: Exciting doesn’t fill up the thropy cabinet and the WP throphy cabinet is testament to that.
And something tells me your easily excited.
5 Sep 2008, 14:36 pm
#30 adj nm:
Well you wont lose Brussow – he signed till 2010
5 Sep 2008, 14:37 pm
#27 puff: I too would love to see our pocket rocket again in the green jersey. Such a great player. Another one that just got away to NH without getting enough game in just one postions. Who knows PdV may just be watching!!! but I doubt it.
5 Sep 2008, 14:38 pm
#34 PissAnt: Yeah I’m on that! But thanks anyway – great relief.
5 Sep 2008, 14:38 pm
Yes, I guess I am.
When I see the likes of Brussouw, Ebershon and Wilton Peterson, I get really excited too.
Do you know what Naka’s plan is when it comes to lock depth for next year?
He’s brought back Breedt who is more of a converted loosie. De Villiers and Flip show a lot of promise, but not too much experience?
Any solutions on the horizon to bolster the Cheetahs’ second row?
5 Sep 2008, 14:42 pm
#19 Kerneels: That was very funny.
5 Sep 2008, 14:42 pm
#37 puff: I heard that his been in contact with Bula du Plooy. Think his stint in france is over and he might have a hail mary SA season with the team where he started. BUT nothing final.
Apart from that I agree we’re thin in that area his brought Nico in but he needs another young player. Pitty we lost Wouter Moore – he went to the sharks and now the bulls but his on loan to the valke.
5 Sep 2008, 14:45 pm
#30 adj nm:
No mate, not quite.
Look I dont know Rassie personally, but obviously base my opinions on many things. Interviews (love those post-match interviews) articles etc.
But career wise, I guess he had to leave the Cheetahs sooner or later. Surely he cannot be expected to retire there. As a player I think he was very loyal to them. But he needed exposure and the resources in a bigger environment.
I disagree with you. The 2008 Stormers brought me as fan lots of joy! It was sort of the “beginning of nice things” as he put it himself.
And think about it this way, when he left it opened the way for Naka to take over who himself, did not do badly. So in the big scheme of things, not bad.
5 Sep 2008, 14:46 pm
adj nm
It would be cool if Cheetahs could lure Van Schouwenberg down to Bloem. With Bakkies, Matfield, Pakslae, Steenkamp, Kruger, Moore and Mabeta at the Bulls, competition is fierce in the 2nd row.
5 Sep 2008, 14:47 pm
There is no denying HMs credentials but we must not forget the following:
It took him 5 years to get it right (win S14). The caveats are that the officials missed a blatant offence by the Bulls on the ground to get the ball otherwise Sharks would have won. If ABs were not rested we would not have won the competition (my genuine belief). The boundaries between success and failure is thus so close. Hacing said this HM would have been the best guy to coach the forwards
5 Sep 2008, 14:49 pm
#40 Sheriff: #37 puff: You boys are starting the ‘watch us next year’ WP speech a bit early this year…usually you wait untill you are out of the CC before telling us how great next season is going to be!
5 Sep 2008, 14:51 pm
heh
5 Sep 2008, 14:51 pm
#40 Sheriff: But his won the cc in FS with no names. And his left no names at WP to AC who has led them no where. Why can you not coach the cc team and the S14 team?
Ja he had a oraait S14. The best side in the latter parts of the competition. And no momentum has been taken through to the cc.
Don’t get me wrong I’m not dishing his coaching ability – I’ll be a hypocrite if I do that. All I’m saying is it just appears to me that his now all of a sudden become to good for cc rugby?
5 Sep 2008, 14:56 pm
No momentum because Brits, Mujati, Bekker, Watson, Burger, January, Grant, De Villiers, Bobo, Chavhanga and Jantjes were all with the Boks at one time or another. That’s virtually the entire S14 team.
5 Sep 2008, 14:57 pm
#41 puff: You actually got me thinking. Isn’t it funny how a region always preduces certain positions on a continious basis?
FS has done more than its part in the front row and loose forwards for the springboks.
At nine there were Smiley Swanepoel and Michael Claassens of late.
Fly half we had de Beer and I’ll claim Honiball if you don’t mind
Centres Brendan Venter, Muller brothers.
Full Back Jouba is ours because he made his debut when still at FS.
Lock – ? Braam Els in the mid week team – No other locks?
Very funny?
Van Schouwenberg yes that will be GREAT!
5 Sep 2008, 14:59 pm
#46 puff: Yes thats the players side – but the coach forms part of the momentum as well?
He won something like 6 games in the S14 on the trot right?
Come cc you lose all that players to the springboks and just to make thing even more difficult you throw in a new coach as well?
5 Sep 2008, 15:06 pm
#44 puff: Kidding.
#47 adj nm: Wasn’t Hanibol from somewhere in Northern Natal? Vryheid or something?
5 Sep 2008, 15:08 pm
#45 adj nm:
You will recall that Allister Coetzee, as part of a triumphant Bok team, returned and I think unions were looking at him as one of the better “black” coaches.
So I think on that basis he (AC) agreed to assist the Stormers (with his wealth of exp) and then to build up gradually starting as WP Head Coach.
Jake and Allister share a passion. Marketing. Just look how Jake is asking for his appointment as Director of Coaching via the media and his blog.
Look in fairness Allister did not have the players that Rassie had at his disposal but the WP lacked imagination and fire under AC. So let’s see how he goes with his Boks back…
I think there is pressure to transform (maybe even fin incentives for provinces?) so they need to bring these sort of coaches through the ranks.
But to my mind, if Rassie had things his way he will run with both.
That’s my (observer’s) point of view.
I see we are almost going to have as much cover of NH rugby as of Curry Cup. And that becuase HM is there and most want to keep up to date with how one of our best coaches is doing. Not that I mind. Just glad he to liefling with him so that Steyn can play as preferred starter
#22 Sheriff: Thats the problem with SA – too much politics and we are willing to accept 2nd best in the name of “empowerment”. Our best people are not going to sit around and wait for a call from SA Rugby. Meyer is gone foreever, SA Rugby missed their chance. He’s future now lies in Europe where the entire setup is more professional. He is free to select whoever he wants without political interverence. He has a nice budget to purchase the world’s best players (guaranteed a few “non quota” SA players). He earns pounds. Why will he want to come back to this political circus?
And as for Rassie, SA Rugby wont even consider him as a couch. Too white & afrikaans and probably has family that stayed in the University of Free State Reitz hostel. Rassie wil only take the Bok couching job when it is on his terms and that wount happen soon – not in Rassie’s lifetime. He will be the next South African to couch in Europe.
5 Sep 2008, 15:09 pm
IS Heyneke beter as Ludike???
5 Sep 2008, 15:09 pm
#47 adj nm: Weird that the best forwards ussualy come from the inland unions while the best backs are from the coast.
5 Sep 2008, 15:10 pm
#47 adj nm:
Where is Werner (Smiley) Tshwanepoel ® these days?
5 Sep 2008, 15:12 pm
#55 Sheriff: He is in Hollywood, apparently he is now Adam Sandler’s stunt double/drinking buddy.
5 Sep 2008, 15:12 pm
#49 Kerneels: Absolutely right – on a farm there somewhere – but that the whole debate on when do you claim someone – where he was born or where he made his rugby name.
Honnibal was punted as the next springbok 10 when he was still at FS. Joel Stransky was the current bok 10. I think Honniball moved to the sharks in 95 and became springbok in 96. So I guess I cannot claim him for FS.
Just like I’ll never claim Gaffie as a FS springbok – his a Griekwa Springbok.
But its all up for debate?
5 Sep 2008, 15:15 pm
#57 adj nm: Nah, it is easy down here in Durbs – if the guy still speaks Afrikaans the Sharks can’t claim him!
5 Sep 2008, 15:15 pm
#55 Sheriff: Funny you mention it – I was at a wedding a few weeks ago and he led the ceremony. He can be a stand up comedian any day – brilliant and yet down to earth.
His a successful businessman in JHB. Not sure what think his got a few restaurants.
5 Sep 2008, 15:16 pm
I tell you one thing, Coetzee is helluva more articulate then PDV. I’m not saying this makes a difference to the players, but it sure would help me if I was a player and I wanted to understand what my coach is saying.
5 Sep 2008, 15:17 pm
#52 Horing:
Let us not turn this into an ideological debate cos best for you will always equate to white.
5 Sep 2008, 15:18 pm
#52 Horing:
Ag nee Horing nou praat jy mos sommer loutere k*k.
Hou op so negatief wees.
Verlede jaar was Stofile in die mix en het die lewe moeilik gemaak vir baie; en ou? Waar’s hy nou?
Ruk jou reg.
5 Sep 2008, 15:18 pm
#50 Sheriff: fair point. I didn’t look at it that way.
Debate is good – well then I apologize to Rassie if he ever reads this.
5 Sep 2008, 15:19 pm
#56 Kerneels:
Very good observation Neelsie.
Ek verander sommer my opinie van jou…
5 Sep 2008, 15:20 pm
#54 Kerneels: That is true.
#49 Kerneels: Honiball is from Berville in
#60 puff:
I am sure the players understand him cos he can speak afrikaans (his language after all). Not easy to clarify yourself having to do interviews in your 2nd language
Don’t mess with Smiley and the Zohan!
#59 adj nm:
Interessant, met sy “bry” en alles.
Ek is bly vir hom.
Was hy en Rassie dan nie destyds gabbas nie?
5 Sep 2008, 15:23 pm
#69 Sheriff: Ja hy Rassie, MJ Smith, AJ Venter en Naka het altyd saam in bloem uitgegaan.
Hulle wou nooit Jannie De Beer saam vat nie want hy het al die girls weg gejaag
#60 puff:
He is so articulate but in the 4 years he could not get the Bok backline going.
You have short memory.
A relaxed PdV will put his point across quite nicely in Eng, but I know he has a strong pref for Afrikaans. (Musiek op die boereseuns se ore …)
#66 Loosehead: Whoops lets try againg. Honball was from Bergville in KZN. The story gors that he was playing 3rd team koshuis league[for Huis Karee if my memory is correct] at Kovsies, the next week 1st team, the next week Shimla’s and then for the Vrystaat.
If The lunatic fringe can claim Beast and Brian as transformation players then the Vrystaat can claim Honiball.
5 Sep 2008, 15:25 pm
#61 Shakes: Fact is SA has quotas. And teh fact is PdV got the job because of his colour, as admitted by Hoskins. What do you want to debate?
5 Sep 2008, 15:25 pm
#71 Sheriff: PdV just cannot finish a sentence without some saying or reference to the Bible or something.
I’v got nothing against that – its just funny.
Just imagine him being your history teacher or something.
5 Sep 2008, 15:26 pm
#70 adj nm:
Baie snaaks, maar het Jannie dan nie toe vir hom ‘n Engelse aster gekry nie?
Ou Jannie Drop Goal de Beer …
5 Sep 2008, 15:26 pm
#70 adj nm: Rassie used to sleep in the kitchen of the Digs that he lived in.
5 Sep 2008, 15:27 pm
#66 Loosehead: Thanks Loose – Bergville is in Natal isn’t it? Right on the border with the States.
5 Sep 2008, 15:28 pm
#72 Loosehead: Thanks loosehead – them we CLAIM him!
5 Sep 2008, 15:29 pm
#74 adj nm:
Pressure mate pressure.
When under immense pressure you draw from your deepest inner person. He comes across as a very religious person.
Heyneke as well. You will remember the Bulls’ mantra (we know where our strength comes from)
Look at it this way, at least he is not a satanist
#77 Kerneels: Ja. He also helped his wife deliver their first child on the back seat of the car on their way to the hospital.
#62 Sheriff: IF I know Snor is a quota selection does that make me racist. I base my theory on the announcement by Hoskins on Snor’s Appointment. And If I think that all forms of social engineering is wrong does that make me racist?
5 Sep 2008, 15:30 pm
#72 Loosehead: Fair enough…
5 Sep 2008, 15:30 pm
#75 Sheriff: ek weet nie kan wees want daai pommies is so f$%*en lelik Jannie is above average looking daar.
Hi ek is nou lelik
5 Sep 2008, 15:31 pm
#81 Airwell: There is a thread dealing with that stuff, about 2000 posts long. Please feel free to post there.
#79 Sheriff: At least he is not a satanist unlike all the Ancestrol Worshipers in our country
#79 Sheriff: LOL ja nee dan het hy seker slipnot verse aangehaal
#52 Horing: Hoe kan jy nou so iets gaan staan en sê. Al stem ek 100% saam jou, gaan ek dit nie hardop sê nie..
Ek wil nou nie vir kak soek nie.
5 Sep 2008, 15:32 pm
#83 adj nm: Hey moenie ‘n voud maak nie, Jannie se girl op daai tyd was v0kken mooi. Miskien was sy blind?
5 Sep 2008, 15:33 pm
#83 adj nm: Ja ou Jannie is nou nie sy ma se mooiste kind nie…who will win the ugly stick between Jannie and Neil Jenkins?
AND WHAAL BAARTMAN TAKES IT BY A NOSE!
5 Sep 2008, 15:33 pm
#84 Loosehead: I dont want to really do that as this is a rugby blog but Sherrif brought it up first. My opinion is the HM should have been the bok coach and due to the racist policies followed in this country he is now coaching in the UK
5 Sep 2008, 15:34 pm
#88 Loosehead: Al die lelike mense se mos dit is binne in jou wat jou mooi maak.
Ek is seker hy is ‘n nice ou.
5 Sep 2008, 15:35 pm
#87 Ed_the_Lion:
Ja man kry jou gat in rat …
#91 adj nm: That is just something ugly people say
What are you smoking? No. Don’t tell me. I don’t wanna know.
#89 Kerneels: Sjoe, onthou jy Hendrik Truter..Goeie moer, maar hy was ook nie model kwaliteit nie.
5 Sep 2008, 15:36 pm
#90 Airwell: Ja boet, most of us feel exactly the same way. There has just been so much of that kak posted this week. Lets talk rugby. Did you know that #86 adj nm: has a tattoo of Ollie on his arse?
#92 Sheriff: Ek speel net so bietjie rond. Dit is vrydag en almal moet so bietjie ontspan, en net politiek vergeet vir so ruk.
#89 Kerneels: I think Jannie and Jenkins was playing in the ugly tree at the same time. Together they slipped each of them it every single branch on their way down but then Jannie landed on Neil – hence Neil just being a tad bit more uglier.
5 Sep 2008, 15:37 pm
#95 Ed_the_Lion: Moenie eers van Stompie Fourie praat nie.
#73 Horing:
Horing I agree with your comment but want to add that PDVs credentials added to the fact that he is a PDI got him the nod. Too many of us think that HM had the automatic right to get the job. If the Sharks held on to win the 2007 final what would (realistically) HMs claim to fame have been. Apart from the overall result I am excited by the game the Boks are playing. HM and JW would never have been able to beat the convicts like we did last saturday. In fact I shudder to think how we would have operated with Liefling and Meisiekind in this ELV era.
#98 adj nm: And he had no skin colour either.
5 Sep 2008, 15:38 pm
#99 Loosehead: lelikste van alle tye Andrew Walker
5 Sep 2008, 15:39 pm
#95 Ed_the_Lion: But Hendrik might be ugly but his mullet was legendary.
And he was slower than a KB250 Izusu – I remember when he got the ball I always used to scream – PASS! of DROP!
**** that oak could drop a ball!
5 Sep 2008, 15:39 pm
Janni De Beer, Phillip Schutte, Wahl Baartman, Adri Geldenhuys, Pota Human, Casper Steyn, Tenk Hendriks, Adolf Malan
5 Sep 2008, 15:40 pm
This year’s field:
New Zealand – Tana Umaga, Paul Tito, Andrew Hoare, Alam Iiremia, Chris Jack
Australia – Andrew Walker, Jim Williams, Matt Dunning, Phil Waugh, John Eales, Willy O
South Africa – Janni De Beer, Phillip Schutte, Wahl Baartman, Adri Geldenhuys, Pota Human, Casper Steyn, Tenk Hendriks, Adolf Malan
Wales – Niel Jenkins, Rupert Moon, Gareth Thomas
England – Graham Rowntree, Phil Greening
The final result was no surprise!
Andrew Walker, who went missing half way through the prize giving and has had to have his lip-gloss and ‘nip-n-tuck’ session DHL’d to him, won the event for the 6th year running.
Runner up was the Welsh trophy, Neil Jenkins.
5 Sep 2008, 15:41 pm
#105 Ed_the_Lion: Study last year
5 Sep 2008, 15:42 pm
#101 Loosehead:
5 Sep 2008, 15:43 pm
#62 Sheriff: Waarmee stem jy nie saam nie. Feit is SA het kotas, en feit is PdV het die job gekry oor sy kleur.
#104 Ed_the_Lion: There is a guy that used to play for griekwas – he represented namibia at the WC. There was a photo of him on the griekwa website (yes they actually have a website)
Now he is ugly as f**k.
#109 adj nm: I know who you talking off. Let me look.
5 Sep 2008, 15:44 pm
#90 Airwell:
recollection of what Hoskins said is this: we ALSO looked at transformation; in other words they’re pretty much on par but Peter gets the nod as that is the direction which we would like to take.
Again, that’s my recollection. What you believe and dont believe is your problem. Just take full accountability for it.
There are many white bloggers here who will explain why they believe that he should NOT have been the coach.
My early impression is that you have a lot of things to work through.
I’m sure you know I’m cullert. It’s like St Petersburgbok calling me “a quota” the other day. It means absolutely half of nothing to me. I can accommodate different points of view.
I read the Beeld, Rapport and even listen to Radio Pta – so put that in your pipe and smoke it.
5 Sep 2008, 15:45 pm
#105 Ed_the_Lion: LOL – ja daai is nogal ‘n lelike seun…
5 Sep 2008, 15:46 pm
#108 Horing:
feit is die kwota spelers
speel f&kken goeie rugby?????
5 Sep 2008, 15:47 pm
#109 adj nm: There was a prop who played for Kings Country or one of those weird provinces in the Super 10, ugliest MoFo ever!
5 Sep 2008, 15:48 pm
#110 Ed_the_Lion: jacques burger – google that face – OMG – careful you might throw up in your mouth
5 Sep 2008, 15:50 pm
#108 Horing:
Horing
Lang week, rerig nie nou die inklinasie om met jou oor daai klas k*k te begin praat nie.
Lees my post 111; wat jy doen/glo of nie pla my regtig nie.
Maar ek maat ‘n nota om verder te voer in die komende weke…
5 Sep 2008, 15:51 pm
#111 Sheriff:
ja, ek voel oek petykeer soe!!
ek kry hie indruk die ouens hier stem petykeer met my sam omdat ek ñ kwota blogger is!
issie fair nie, man!
#104 Ed_the_Lion: Tenk Hendriks was also from KZN, studied Lanbou at Glen, then played for the Pumas [I think] and then for Russia or Georgia. A moerse nice guy.
#113 asha1: Jy’s reg ek dink nie daar is meer n kwota in die span nie.
5 Sep 2008, 15:53 pm
#79 Sheriff: Does Rassie also believe in a talking snake and liewe ***** like Pietie “Charles Bronson” De Villiers? Hope not. Then again he is white so he will never coach the only successful sporting brand this country has.
5 Sep 2008, 15:53 pm
#105 Ed_the_Lion: A very comprehensive list but I can add one name and that is Adriaan Richter
5 Sep 2008, 15:54 pm
#119 Corndog:
Dan werk die kwota plan mos want hoe anders sou hierdie spelers hulself bewys het?
5 Sep 2008, 15:56 pm
#120 Marinus van der Lubbe:
Marinus
Het jy hiernatoe gekom om by my te kom huil?
Ek kan jou nie help nie.
Lê jou probleme voor die Nats se deur wat die “downward spiral” begin het.
5 Sep 2008, 15:56 pm
Geen probleem met ‘kwota’ spelers wat verdienste spelers is nie, soos Habana, Jantjes, Beast, Jacobs, Januarie, Nokwe, Pietersen.
Probleem is mense wat nie regtig verdienste by hul name kan sit nie, soos Luke Watson
5 Sep 2008, 15:57 pm
#116 Sheriff: some people just can’t see past skin colour. A unfortunate truth of our broken world. They’ve got short comings in their lives and always look for something to blame. Skin colour is just something they use and it comes so easy because it visual. Even if all people in the world had the same skin colour you would have still had discrimination.
5 Sep 2008, 15:57 pm
#109 adj nm:
Nou hoe nou?
Moet ‘n rugbyspeler aantreklik wees?
Julle ouens maak my mos nou onrustig
5 Sep 2008, 15:58 pm
Come on folks, give the politics / quota kak a rest. Just for one day please.
5 Sep 2008, 15:58 pm
#122 Shakes: Ja dit is n belediging vir die spelers wat nou in die span is om enigsins te verwys na kwotas.
5 Sep 2008, 15:59 pm
#120 Marinus van der Lubbe: you need help
#119 Corndog:
jy’s ve’keed … alweer!
die kwota spelers is nou die “whities” wat o’s wiek na wiek na wiek (djy ve’staan .. of moet ek nogge wiek bysit?)
na wiek
moet kies innie hoep dat hy eendagie gamplan ga vestaan!
#124 Darquan:
Ja het dit ook so. Luke is nog nog die laaste kwotaspeler in die span.
Selfs Nokwe wat ek my bedenkinge oor gehad het het gewys dat hy kan meeding op daai vlak. Ver van die volkome produk maar definitief ‘n ou om in te belê
#124 Darquan:
Hoe gaan kwota spelers ooit verdienste spelers word as hulle nie die geleentheid kry nie
#111 Sheriff: Quote van interview:
REGAN HOSKINS: I want to be honest with South Africa and say that the appointment did not take into account purely rugby reasons and we as an organisation have made the appointment which we stand by and we took into account the issue of transformation in rugby very, very seriously when we made the appointment.
5 Sep 2008, 16:00 pm
#126 Sheriff: Hoe anders gaan hulle tv endorsements kry. Dit is net altyd goed vir n laugh op n vrydag middag.
#115 adj nm: Sjoe, kyk daai hare.
#126 Sheriff: vandag daai poppies op die veld begin dans het voor ‘n game smaak dit my so ja!
5 Sep 2008, 16:01 pm
#121 Corndog: He deserves to be there.
5 Sep 2008, 16:01 pm
#127 Loosehead: Haaa…thats funny. Our coach was selected because he is not white. Our team gets selected on a quota system. You asking us to watch the Food Channel and not discuss food.
5 Sep 2008, 16:02 pm
#132 Shakes: Hulle moet om CC en S14 vlak geleentheid kry. Sprinkbok moet op verdienste wees. En as daar 50/50 keuse is, vat met graagte die ‘kwota’.
#130 asha1: Jy’s reg maar ons moet hierdie nie verder vat nie, dit gee mense amunisie om oor te praat ek dink baie min van ons het die krag daarvoor
#134 Ed_the_Lion: sy neus my ou – hy moet mooi blaas of hy skiet sy eie f@kken oog uit!
#120 Marinus van der Lubbe:
aaah, reverting to name calling again, i see!
5 Sep 2008, 16:03 pm
#137 Ed_the_Lion: sorry some names are coming to the fore: Willie Hills, Albert van der Bergh and Johann Styger
#138 Darquan:
Maar die Whitey afrigters wil hulle nie kies nie, hulle volstaan net met Nandos se hot wings
#133 Darquan:
So jy het dit “actually” gebêre.
Ons kan diekanttoe of daaikanttoe. Hou op huil en staar die werklikheid in die gesig, net soos swartes dit moes doen in daai jare.
Hou op sanik.
5 Sep 2008, 16:04 pm
#140 adj nm:
#137 Marinus van der Lubbe: No we’re asking you to not watch at all
Leke Heyneke! Drill daai pommies!
5 Sep 2008, 16:05 pm
#135 adj nm:
Los daai poppies uit.
Hulle het in elk geval almal boyfriends
5 Sep 2008, 16:05 pm
#47 adj nm:
Vleis Visagie
Theuns Stofburg
Wasn’t Klippies Kritzinger from the OFS?
5 Sep 2008, 16:06 pm
#142 Corndog: Persoonlik dink ek Cabous vd westhuizen, pieter hendriks en rudolf strauli is ook nie die face of africa award werd nie.
#147 McSchalkBurger: my ouma sal nou ‘n warm gevoel gekry het as sy kon leef om te **** ‘n boer dril souties in london
#141 asha1: You have to admit, PDV = Charles Bronson. Mmmmmm… Come on? Its Friday.
5 Sep 2008, 16:07 pm
#148 Sheriff: hoe meer ringe hoe beter die kompressie!
5 Sep 2008, 16:08 pm
#146 adj nm:
lmao!!
#149 David: sorry david – ek ken die name maar dit is voor my tyd – so was hulle slotte?
mooi man
#144 Sheriff: Hey, ek het dit ge-google net om die presiese woorde te post wat gesê is. Sodat niemand kan sê jy re-collect verkeerd nie. As jy lees, sê hulle nie hy is oor kleur aangestel nie, net dat transformasie ‘n rol gespeel het. M.a.w dat hulle dalk gedink het hy sal dit beter toepas. Net toe ek gedink het jy is ‘n cool ou
5 Sep 2008, 16:09 pm
Het julle die fotos van Monty se afskeid gesien waar almal sulke lekker blonde mullet pruike aangetrek het. Beast lyk priceless daarin
5 Sep 2008, 16:09 pm
#150 Ed_the_Lion:
Praat van Rudolf Straeuli.
Kyk een dag rugby saam met vriende en die een ou ( ter wille van die storie ‘n Afrikaner omie so in sy vyftigs) sê vir my.
“Ek wil nou vir jou sê ou Sheriff (but my real name) hierie RS lyk vir my net soos ‘n mofskaap. Weet jy hoe lyk ‘n mofskaap?”
5 Sep 2008, 16:10 pm
#157 Corndog: Ja, Beast lyk goed, en dit lyk of hy dit die meeste geniet ook!
5 Sep 2008, 16:11 pm
#152 Marinus van der Lubbe:
you mean everything goes unless its sunday when you
have to sit in front of the church,
singing “alle nasies”?
#111 Sheriff: I do not agree with this as he said Snor is being chosen not on rugby logic. As for you being pink or blue is not something I care about. My dream is to live in a non racist democratic country but with people with your outlook seem to destroy this.
#157 Corndog: ja ek het gesien!
My classics is jantjies – lyk soos sy eie hare!
en **** muir – hy lyk soos ‘n ex-pornstar!
5 Sep 2008, 16:12 pm
Cheers all have a good weekend and enjoy the classic CC games should be a cracker.
5 Sep 2008, 16:12 pm
#153 adj nm:
Skaam jou, dis skoolmeisies wat jy so bewonder
5 Sep 2008, 16:13 pm
Wel, ek gaan nou huistoe, so geniet maar die “PdV bashing”, was dit sy kleur, was dit sy bla bla bla yada yada who cares hy is gekies. En elkeen lees wat hy wil in die quote in. Cheers
5 Sep 2008, 16:14 pm
#156 Darquan:
Sorry man! Duidelik moer moeg.
5 Sep 2008, 16:15 pm
#164 Sheriff: ek vra altyd eers hulle lisensie.
Mens kan nie te versigtig wees nie!
5 Sep 2008, 16:16 pm
#125 adj nm: Like Sherrif he brings colour into every argument he makes
5 Sep 2008, 16:16 pm
#163 adj nm: I just thought it was a great gesture. There is at least some humour in the change room after a tough tournament. Im sure the drubbing of Aus helped the spirits.
5 Sep 2008, 16:17 pm
#161 Airwell:
Then live the dream.
Start today. Dont let me be in the way. This is all virtual, remember?
5 Sep 2008, 16:18 pm
#158 Sheriff: Klink vir my na iemand wat weet waarvan hy praat..
5 Sep 2008, 16:19 pm
#167 adj nm:
Risiko bestuur?
#162 adj nm:
#168 Airwell: i have to disagree. i’ve conversed with sheriff over the past few days and I only today heard his cullert. Which doesn’t matter but what I’m trying to say is his never made a issue of colour so that I could know what his skin colour is?
5 Sep 2008, 16:20 pm
#170 Sheriff: Thank I try to every day. But my life is reality unlike yours clearly…
5 Sep 2008, 16:20 pm
#164 Sheriff: Google die new england patriots football team se cheerleaders. Ek het laas week ‘n kalender van hulle gekry, goeie moer. Party mense kan mooi kinders maak.
5 Sep 2008, 16:21 pm
#171 Ed_the_Lion:
Ek weet waarop jy sinspeel, maar nou ja, hoe sal ek nou weet?
5 Sep 2008, 16:21 pm
#169 Corndog: can’t agree more – I can just imagine myself being there – I would have pissed my self laughing.
5 Sep 2008, 16:22 pm
#177 Sheriff: Wat bedoel jy?
5 Sep 2008, 16:23 pm
#100 Shakes: Appart from the S14 title HM’s claim to fame is taking a fbottom of the log franchise and building them to one of the strongest in the world, not only the senior team but also schools, U21, U23, Vodacom – 4 Currie Cups in 5 years + 4 Vodacom Cup finals. The best record of any SA couch.
I agree under HM the Boks would not have played the same exciting game – but under HM they would not have lost the way they did @ Newlands and Kings Park. And I am not naive to think we will win World Cups with this expansive game plan. Top teams will eventually work you out defensively.
5 Sep 2008, 16:23 pm
#176 Ed_the_Lion: all daai NFL teams se cheerleaders sal ‘n man onwettige goed maak aanvang.
5 Sep 2008, 16:24 pm
#175 Airwell:
Airwell, what is the problem here?
Listen man, chill, forget about it all and have a lovely weekend. Braai something and have a few beers.
Come on man, heavy on a Friday afternoon? Most things are tongue in cheek here on keo.
5 Sep 2008, 16:24 pm
#181 adj nm: Dit is so hartseer. Ons kan vir enige glipsie toegesluit word. Dit is nie ons skuld dat hulle so mooi is nie.
5 Sep 2008, 16:25 pm
#174 adj nm: I do not care what colour he is but as soon as you criticise the quota selection of snor you want a white coach etc. etc. To me Gold and Muir are just as much to blame. The problem is he believes in social engineering and you cannot argue with that. All these social engineering policies are destined to fail i.e. communism, apartheid, facism, transformation, BEE, AA etc. they do mot work and lead to disasters like SAA, Escom, SA Police Services, SA Government hospitals etc and etc.
5 Sep 2008, 16:26 pm
#175 Airwell: Hey Airwolf, google something funny and chill out. Hey Hey Its ________, come on, you can do it.
#182 Sheriff: Fair enough have had a kak day today. Enjoy your weekend too.
#176 Ed_the_Lion:
Jy kan dus verstaan hoekom dit my dronkslaan dat mans van ander mans kan hou.
Hel, hoe bly is ek nou dat ek ‘n mooi vrou het.
5 Sep 2008, 16:27 pm
#180 Horing: PdV is coach so his bok win lose ratio is fact which you can dwell on.
HM bok win ratio is 0 – 0. What it should / could / will / will not be is your opinion vs any other persons who dares to disagree with you.
Don’t you think its time to fold away your vierkleur. Hang up your kakie atire and move on?
#113 asha1: Sommige, maar wat soek die Bolla Conradies van die wereld in ‘n bok groep??
#179 Ed_the_Lion:
Te moeg om te verduidelik Ed.
Kan dit oorstaan vir volgende week asb?
#187 Sheriff: Ja nee, ek kan ook nie hierdie man on man action stront verstaan nie. Ek is bly my girlfriend en skelmpie is altwee mooi.
5 Sep 2008, 16:28 pm
#185 Ed_the_Lion: What do you suggest?
5 Sep 2008, 16:28 pm
#190 Sheriff: Natuurlik..
5 Sep 2008, 16:29 pm
#185 Ed_the_Lion:
Airwolf, dis snaaks daai !!!
5 Sep 2008, 16:30 pm
#186 Airwell:
For sure mate! Take care!
5 Sep 2008, 16:30 pm
#190 Sheriff: Google iets van die bulle aansoek form. Ek weet dit is oud, maar dit is kak snaaks, veral die een punt waar hulle sê “jou dogtertjie speel bulletjie rugby”.
5 Sep 2008, 16:32 pm
Cheers everbody. Have a great weekend, and have as many drinks as you want…
5 Sep 2008, 16:33 pm
#184 Airwell: can you appreciate the fact that one’s opinion of things are mostly derived from YOUR OWN perseption of the world?
it doesn’t make you right and him wrong or you wrong and him right.
debate it if you want – but you not going to change anybody’s point of view – and once you can handle that fact – you’d be able to enjoy sheriff’s post and vice versa
#191 Ed_the_Lion:
Jy snaaks Ed! Ons praat volgende week verder!
Ek moet nou maak soos beesmis … in die pad val!
Cheers adj nm, airwell, horing, ash (if still there) and others
Soos Hennie le Roux sê: Enjoy our shoes, enjoy the game!
#196 Ed_the_Lion: Sorry, meant for Airwell
#197 Ed_the_Lion: don’t go do stupid things if you come across any cheerleaders!
5 Sep 2008, 16:34 pm
#201 adj nm: Can’t promise anything, but thanks for the advice.
5 Sep 2008, 16:36 pm
#189 Horing:
there you start with the name calling again!!
stefan terblanche
jorrie?
5 Sep 2008, 16:37 pm
Ah, so everybody’s left the visitors thread! Comrades no one is talking rugby anymore..
it’s been reduced to a kuk praat chatroom. Very sad.
5 Sep 2008, 16:44 pm
Hi Everyone, I’ve created a Guinness Premiership pool on SuperBru.
Everyone’s welcome to join in.
Pool name : Keo’s GP
Pool code :swadloft
Big Hit, put your money where your mac is. All the UK based muppits, give it a go.
5 Sep 2008, 16:51 pm
#204 ministerterrorlekota:
They’ve knocked off work, if that’s what they’re paid to do during the day.
5 Sep 2008, 17:00 pm
#206 David: There’s that joke about the kids at school bragging about their dads and the one kid say my dad’s so quick he plays cricket and can throw a glass at a brick wall and runs to the wall and catches the glass before it breaks! The second kid says ag that’s nothing my dad is so quick he works in a restaurant and can pour wine without spilling a drop into 10 glasses in 3 seconds! The last kid says aaaaag, that’s nothing my dad works for da govament and he is so quick he finishes at 4 but gets home at 2:30.
5 Sep 2008, 17:07 pm
#207 ministerterrorlekota:
5 Sep 2008, 17:17 pm
sounds to be doing well at leicester so far, can they understand him?
hope its not like northampton, that club nearly ruined a very good coach in Solomons.
5 Sep 2008, 17:42 pm
Solomons is KAK
5 Sep 2008, 21:43 pm
#203 asha1:
Stephan Terblance: He was joint top try scorer in the 1998 Super 12 with 10 tries and also holds the record for the most tries in a Test Match for the Springboks, scoring five against Italy in Durban 2000. To date he has played 22 Tests for the Springboks. He also holds the top try scorer record for the Sharks in the Super 12 with a total of 28 tries, seven of which were scored during the 2002 campaign.
Jorrie Muller: Strong runner of the ball, versatile capable of playing centre, wing and fullback. Played in the SA Under-21 team that won the inaugural IRB Under-21 World Cup.
Bolla: ????? Coloured ?????
6 Sep 2008, 08:38 am
#211 Horing: All three of them are **** and Tonderai Chavanga holds the record with 7 tries and someone else got 6 so I don’t know where you get that stat from the Terblance is the record holder.