Beauty of the Beast
16 Sep 2008
Tendai Mtawarira has the potential to become one of the great loosehead props.
Beast was the success story of the recent Tri-Nations and is the future of Springbok rugby as far as the No 1 jersey is concerned. In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale Wednesday, we speak to him about his storming season and he whether he can become the new Os du Randt. Bok forwards coach Gary Gold also explains in detail what makes Beast so special.
“He is the most improved player in South Africa over the last 12 months bar none,” Gold says. “He’s come on in leaps and bounds in all departments – his fitness and conditioning, his game sense and understanding of his role. But the most notable improvement has been his scrumming. I’ve never seen a player develop so quickly in this regard. It’s phenomenal.”
Also in issue 139 of SA Rugby magazine:
– Jake White speaks out: “I have never tried to undermine Peter de Villiers or the Boks this season”
– Two victories out of six in the Tri-Nations was just not good enough for the world champions. We compile a report card for Peter de Villiers’s stint at the helm of the Boks and explain what he’ll have to do to pass the next examination with distinction
– Keo on why doubts remain about the intellectual capital and emotional intelligence of the Springbok coaching team
– Joe van Niekerk may have left for Toulon, but he wants to
play for the Springboks again. He speaks about this and what he hopes to achieve in France over the next 10 months.
– After a six-year absence from the national set-up, Adi Jacobs returned to the Test fold, manning the midfield with maturity. He reflects on his season and hits back at those critics who say he’s too small and weak on defence.
– Could privatisation be the ingredient needed to invigorate a bland Absa Currie Cup? We look at how our domestic competition would benefit from a dramatic revamp
– Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Waylon Murray, Brad Barritt – what’s gone wrong with this golden generation of backline players for the Sharks? We ask head coach John Plumtree and backs coach Grant Bashford.
– Heinrich Brussow may be small in stature but he’s set to make a big impact at the business end of this year’s Absa Currie Cup
– Nick Koster is still only 19 but his impact on Western Province this season has been sensational
– Eddie Jones on the Boks’ problems, where Peter de Villiers is going wrong, their lack of fitness, how it can be turned around quickly and why he’d want to coach them if the opportunity arose
– Neither Western Province nor the Sharks want to move into new football stadiums after the 2010 Fifa World Cup, but they may soon change their minds
– A six-month injury lay-off gave Chiliboy Ralepelle the opportunity to breathe and assess his life goals and aspirations. It also strengthened his resolve never to be a political puppet. Now he’s braced for the challenge of dragging himself up the pecking order of talented hookers until he faces his mentor John Smit in the battle for the bok No 2 jersey
– At 33, and having been out of rugby for three seasons, there were plenty who thought Robbie Deans was mad to bring rugby league star Brad Thorn back to the Crusaders. But the big man has been one of the stars of this season
* To subscribe to SA Rugby magazine e-mail kara@hsm.co.za or phone (021) 416-0141

481 Comments
16 Sep 2008, 11:32 am
Beast Dragon
16 Sep 2008, 11:34 am
This boykie is young,strong and is going to make a big differance to the Boks. I can’t wait to see him up against the Northern teams at EOTY your
16 Sep 2008, 11:38 am
Adi was another revelation this year and I for one was sceptical about his defence and he proved me wrong. What a combination he preved to be with JdV.
16 Sep 2008, 11:39 am
“proved”
16 Sep 2008, 11:39 am
Geez I thought this Dragons thing was hard to get
16 Sep 2008, 11:40 am
Is this a Pokkel Thread?
16 Sep 2008, 11:41 am
I would like to see how Pat Cilliers develop if he can stay without injuries. The other man that has impressed me was Deon Carstens.
16 Sep 2008, 11:42 am
As an aside, the amount of adds and adds stacked up in articles (splitting them) is really irritating.
I know its money and revenue but surely the layout could improve a bit in this regard.
16 Sep 2008, 11:42 am
#6 Ek sê my sê, ek sê: Dankie tog dit het nogal lonely geraak hier..en dit gebeur nie maklik op Keo nie
16 Sep 2008, 11:43 am
BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!
16 Sep 2008, 11:45 am
#3 pokkel:
Agree. Beast and Adi have been outstanding and one of the (admittedly few) positives to come out of PdV’s tenure as Bok coach.
16 Sep 2008, 11:45 am
Pokkel, lets see if you can get to 100 all on your own
16 Sep 2008, 11:47 am
#12 Tisme: I don’t have much time to blog so when I get the chance I need to say what I need to say
16 Sep 2008, 11:47 am
GO Sharks.
16 Sep 2008, 11:52 am
#11 Cyborg: All we need now in our backline is a Flyhalf in the Carter frame and our abckline could be the best in world.
16 Sep 2008, 11:53 am
Gotta go back to work , it was nice talking to(mostly)myself
16 Sep 2008, 12:00 pm
Sheesh…just the other day it was Heinke vd Merwe as the “new Os”
Now its the Beast….wonder who’s next in line for the media headlines.
Beast was just fantastic this season. Going to be another Os I think.
If Eddie Jones wants to coach the Boks please when PdV fails again next year please can we get Eddie. Will beat anyone with him there. He knows how we play. Should have had him this year already.
The Beast is a rare find. Will be a legend very soon.
16 Sep 2008, 12:01 pm
Perfect build for a modern prop.
#17 Smellthis: Really. Beast is way better than Os. Just watch that guy he is something really special in the no 1 jersey.
“Tendai Mtawarira has the potential to become one of the great loosehead props.”
utter BS. this crowd favourite will go down as probably one of the characters of rugby but ****** sake..one of the greatest??
don’t make me laugh..
16 Sep 2008, 12:02 pm
#18 Puma: I think Eddie could do well with the Sharks backline.
16 Sep 2008, 12:03 pm
#7 pokkel: Yes I say so too. Deon Carstens impressed me too.
16 Sep 2008, 12:04 pm
#17 Smellthis:
I still remember..Eddie Andrews will be the next big thing
#23 It is just a game: Yes or bring back Campo. I think it was him last year that got us going there and not Muir as can be seen with the Boks.
#18 Puma: Eddie Jones and Jake as Director of Rugby!! mmmmm
16 Sep 2008, 12:05 pm
where the hell is Kees Lensing?
the highest paided player in SA
thats Eddie Jones as head coach!
Somebody slap Puma …..Beast better than OS….honestly!!
16 Sep 2008, 12:06 pm
#28 greatest13gerber: That oke should have come to WP . We needed props, he was superfulous at sharks!
16 Sep 2008, 12:08 pm
Yes he will. He has it all this one execpt experience. He was my MoM against Australia. His workrate, srummaging, loose play and the fact that hits rucks harder and faster than anyone except Bakkies of course make him a formiddible opponent.
Like the look of the other articles, will definately purchase this issue!
16 Sep 2008, 12:08 pm
#31 grant10: Sharks will sign Heinke and then they’ll have all the good props leaving none for the rest of SA. Good strategy IMO.
16 Sep 2008, 12:09 pm
#21 Puma:
16 Sep 2008, 12:13 pm
#33 It is just a game: Another player WP would love to have. I thought Rassie would make a plan with Wiaan Du Preez of the Cheetahs, doesent seem to have panned out! If WP/\Stormers could get another quality 1 and 3 and an additional lock for depth we would be in the running for that Super 14! Instead we buy loosies….go figure??
16 Sep 2008, 12:15 pm
#31 grant10:
its crazy the situation with Kees..Natal wasted lot of money on him.
WP need to bring Daan Human and Eduard coetzee back somehow. Ditto for Faan
16 Sep 2008, 12:19 pm
#33 It is just a game:
its just crazy when one province had 2 complete test front rows at one time.
1.Beast
2.Smit
3.Botha
1.Cartsens
2.du Plessis
3.du Plessis
1.Lensing???
2.Burden
3.Cilliers
16 Sep 2008, 12:20 pm
Keo and co, well done on the cover. looks awesome.
16 Sep 2008, 12:22 pm
#37 greatest13gerber: you must be a Stomers/WP supporter… ha ha ha Go Sharkies
16 Sep 2008, 12:24 pm
I hate those stupid dumb *** plays on player’s names..annoys hell out of me.
Beauty and the Beast??..WTF?..where the fck is beauty?
16 Sep 2008, 12:25 pm
#39 snake wanna bite me…no no:
I spit on WP..where u being?
16 Sep 2008, 12:26 pm
#40 greatest13gerber: you still dont dig the beast eh?
he defo reminds me of a young os. fast and powerful.
he is the nkunzi nyama (black bull).
16 Sep 2008, 12:27 pm
#37 greatest13gerber: We also have Skipper.
16 Sep 2008, 12:32 pm
#37 greatest13gerber: You are a bit behind here greatest, Lessing has left the Sharks and is plying his trade in France, and BJ has also left our sunny shores for the Pound and miserable english weather!
16 Sep 2008, 12:34 pm
#40 greatest13gerber: Try reading the Beauty OF the Beast part
16 Sep 2008, 12:34 pm
#42 rangerman:
well..he reminds me of a young Ollie le Roux..he burst onto the scene like Beast..mobile, fast, powerful but faded as fast as he came.
the people love Beast..but give me Heinkie..the quiet worker..who can actually dominate opposition, screw them hard and make them squeel. Beast is flash I give the boy that.
credit where credit is due.
16 Sep 2008, 12:36 pm
I felt a bit sorry for the Cheetah youngster who had to go up against Jannie on Saturday. His anatomy got properly disected by the scrumming of Doc Du Plessis.
16 Sep 2008, 12:36 pm
#41 greatest13gerber:
For someone who hates WP so much, your nickname refers to one of the greatest ever WP players…
And why dont you like Beast? Wrong colour?
Heinke hasnt been anywhere near as impressive since Mujati left…
16 Sep 2008, 12:37 pm
I would like to read the Jacobs interview, any chance of putting it on here?
16 Sep 2008, 12:37 pm
Os sal altyd baas wees!!!
16 Sep 2008, 12:38 pm
#46 greatest13gerber: lol, ollie was still around to take a cc or two from the bulls.
i dont think they are the same player.
now heinke is powerful sure, but he doesnt do enough around the field imo. but having the two of them is a good place to be.
16 Sep 2008, 12:38 pm
#48 Dazzler: Greatest are going to correct you by saying Gerber was the greatest player from Despatch.
16 Sep 2008, 12:39 pm
You have perform for more than half a season to be “great”, I will wait…
16 Sep 2008, 12:40 pm
#43 It is just a game:
ah Skipper..dont’ get this converting winger to hooker BS..everyone lookin to make the next Uli maybe?
#45 oxfordshark:
sorry. I didn’t go Oxford..heck I never read much books at school
16 Sep 2008, 12:40 pm
#52 It is just a game:
Just like Vic, Bakkies and a whole host of others arent from Pretoria…
must’ve made him sick that Liefling was actually a WP boy…
16 Sep 2008, 12:41 pm
..have to perform ,sorry!
16 Sep 2008, 12:43 pm
#54 greatest13gerber: Nor do i,just live in this rip off of a town but atleast i can see the big letters!!
16 Sep 2008, 12:48 pm
#48 Dazzler:
Correction fool, Danie Gerber is born and bred Despatch and OP boy. His time in other provinces was professional. nothing more. His heart is Despatch and he has said this many times.
his association with OP is legend.
16 Sep 2008, 12:52 pm
#58 greatest13gerber:
But still (fool), no matter how many people you say that to, he will ALWAYS be known to Joe Public as a WP legend… that’s gotta hurt.
Blue and white hoops buddy, that’s what it’s all about. Get your a beautiful WP jersey with 13 Gerber on the back!
16 Sep 2008, 12:54 pm
23 It is just a game
When you look ofr such a player in the mould of dan carter i think we have one in Sias Ebersohn, one of those free stater twins. He hasn’t convinced as yet locally but his brother has been outstanding. I dont know why cheetahs waste their time with potgieter when sias whould be a great back up for chris russouw
16 Sep 2008, 12:58 pm
#59 Dazzler:
that WP jersey going straight in the fire after I spit on it
16 Sep 2008, 12:59 pm
#60 Brurasmus:
Sias Ebersohn??..Dan Carter mould??…:D
16 Sep 2008, 13:00 pm
#61 greatest13gerber:
You make the Bulls and Loftus so proud… and who says stereotype’s dont exist
16 Sep 2008, 13:00 pm
#18 Puma: Sorry Boet.
Please check Eddie Jones record before you employ him. eg.
Worst Aussie record ever 2005 – Lost 8 from 9 – contract terminated with 2 yrs left.
Queensland Reds 2007 – finished bottom with 2 home wins including that Bulls thrashing 93-3.
16 Sep 2008, 13:02 pm
#64 Sh Sh Shark: Also got a world cup medal and a runners up medal? Highly respected by SA players, we could do a lot worse??
16 Sep 2008, 13:05 pm
That’s correct – The Beast will be the best and greatest loosehead prop – if he is not already. And so will Adi Jacobs (centre). A shame though that the whites won’t ever admit that and will not give them a fair chance.
I hope snor will soon pick an all black team – I am sure the results will be much better as will the future of SA rugby.
16 Sep 2008, 13:07 pm
#65 grant10:
you mean Chester Williams?
16 Sep 2008, 13:08 pm
#66 Manfredo: that was sweet.
but sour.
you a chinese tshabalala by any chance?
16 Sep 2008, 13:10 pm
#66 Manfredo:
wake up my friend and smell reality. talking BS.
16 Sep 2008, 13:13 pm
#69 greatest13gerber:
You’re right about one thing, he does neet to wake up and smell reality. However so do you, you are the same as him on the other end of the scale… pro-white.
I’ve read alot of your comments on this site and i’m confident that in saying you yearn for the old days would not be far off the mark as well.
16 Sep 2008, 13:14 pm
ek sien party ouens hier is ook lede van die flat earth society! Sterkte.
16 Sep 2008, 13:17 pm
#70 Dazzler:
what color got do with it?
is it crime yearn for teh peace and security of teh old days?
pro white? I am pro rainbow..I go with the change.
NTvl forever!..but that not make me a racist?
come on
16 Sep 2008, 13:17 pm
#66 Manfredo: By your comments you appear to think black people are better at playing rugby than white people. Rugby playing ability is not based on skin colour.
16 Sep 2008, 13:19 pm
#73 Big Hit: manfredo is a troll.
the use of “snor” indicates he is looking for biters.
16 Sep 2008, 13:22 pm
Personally, I don’t care what colour the players are, what colour the coach is, or anything else along those lines – I just want to win ……..
16 Sep 2008, 13:25 pm
#74 rangerman: probably from CT as well
16 Sep 2008, 13:25 pm
Tendai Mtawarira is the present and the future…
Once in a while there are players who come arouind and change the face of the game with their athletic abilities etc.
The likes of:
Michael Jones
Jonah Lomu
Josh Kronfeld
Steve Larkham
As Beast develops his scrumming to that where he consistenly dominates opposition(which he is well on his way to doing),why would one ever look past him?Guthro Steenkamp is less athletic but in the same mould.Which leaves the likes of Heinke,Wian Du Preez etc with A LOT TO DO.Which in my opinion CANT.They simply arent as gifted.period.
This is not to say those players arent great players in their own right,but a fully fit & on form Beast,Guthro-will in my books always trump the others
Much like Carl Hayman when he started playing for AB’s,he struggled with his scrumming,especially consistency.But his biggest upside was his SIZE and MOBILITY.The AB’s sacrificed the scrumming ability of Sommerville at the time(04-05) to develop the juggernaut that became Hayman.The results speak for themselves.(Kees Meeuws was also the same in the late 90′s)
Heinke vd Merwe reminds me a lot of Marius Hurter.Was always in Bok reckoning in the mid-to late 90′s whith his powerful scrumming but never held a starting berth consistently.Got overlooked for the likes Adrian Garvey,Cobus Visagie,Dawie Theron,Toks van der Linde etc-I hope he rounds of the rest of his game.One prime facet of play is not enough to hold down a test berth in test rugby.perfection or sumthin close to it is needed.
16 Sep 2008, 13:30 pm
#77 mshiniwami:
Beast is a good young player with a very bright future – lets hope and pray that he is managed and coached well, then he may be a great player revered around the the world.
But for now, let him enjoy his rugby and let’s not “jinx” him by placing too great an exception on him so soon. One season doesn’t make a career.
16 Sep 2008, 13:32 pm
#77 mshiniwami:
“One prime facet of play is not enough to hold down a test berth in test rugby.perfection or sumthin close to it is needed”
That is a good analysis. I agree.
Heinkie for me reminds me of a young Hein Rodgers, Johan Styger..destructive at scrum but lacking in other areas. Hurter scrummaging faded after a while. More selected for his mobility in his early rep career.
16 Sep 2008, 13:32 pm
#74 rangerman: ahh well spotted. I shall endeavour to ignore in future.
16 Sep 2008, 13:35 pm
#68 rangerman: certainly some kind of root vegetable…. I am getting very bored with the racial bickering on this site- its pointlless and quite depressing..
16 Sep 2008, 13:36 pm
“– Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Waylon Murray, Brad Barritt – what’s gone wrong with this golden generation of backline players for the Sharks? We ask head coach John Plumtree and backs coach Grant Bashford.”
Well so far what has gone wrong is they are leading the Currie Cup with a few points to clear…….
16 Sep 2008, 13:38 pm
#82 jonnow:
Touche
16 Sep 2008, 13:39 pm
#81 gunther: you lucky
I get labelled “pro white” and racist because I love my province
16 Sep 2008, 13:42 pm
#82 jonnow: and reached the S14 semi final
16 Sep 2008, 13:44 pm
hehe, you guys are keeping to the line now. i likes.
dont let a thread on possibly the most exciting young prop in worl rugby degenerate.
BEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSST!!!!!
16 Sep 2008, 13:46 pm
#81 gunther: yup, but its got a bit better.
#77 mshiniwami: as usual, considered, well though out opinion mshini.
i battle to remember why we didnt get along at first. keep the truth coming man.
16 Sep 2008, 13:46 pm
#86 rangerman:
please don’t do that. fcking annoying.
16 Sep 2008, 13:47 pm
I
B-E-A-S-T – oh he is my favorite playa. Go Beast go…
Hello all you blogerists!
16 Sep 2008, 13:48 pm
#86 rangerman:
Calm down Ranger, calm down!!
It’s a pity his backs are so bad, according to the article.
Imagine how good they will be when they come right!!
16 Sep 2008, 13:48 pm
#88 greatest13gerber: Let’s anoy you more
BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTT
16 Sep 2008, 13:52 pm
Rumour has it he is high on Rassies shopping list ? And Mujati is helping getting him here ?
16 Sep 2008, 13:53 pm
#88 greatest13gerber: BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast
BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast
16 Sep 2008, 13:54 pm
#92 sparticus:
only if WP can attract some rich Arabs
16 Sep 2008, 13:55 pm
#93 It is just a game:
for fck sake…………..”report comment” coming up
16 Sep 2008, 13:55 pm
#88 greatest13gerber: ok, quiet one……beeeeaasssssst!
#90 tight head: phew, thank goodness you have arrived, just in the nick of time. i was having a beer flashback to sat!
ja, the backline is kak, our three tries were kak and the 60m droppie into the wind was KAK!
ag, the golden generation se gat. i am looking forward to s14 already. plum is getting our lads right!
16 Sep 2008, 13:56 pm
#95 greatest13gerber: dont be BEEEAAAASTLY!
16 Sep 2008, 13:57 pm
#96 rangerman:
don’t let over confidence blind you
16 Sep 2008, 13:57 pm
#97 rangerman: Ullo dangerman!
16 Sep 2008, 13:58 pm
#84 greatest13gerber: maar hulle hou nie van jou nie.
16 Sep 2008, 13:59 pm
#98 greatest13gerber: i think it was the beer actually.
#99 Ethel: howzit!
16 Sep 2008, 14:00 pm
#101 rangerman: R U Drinking?
16 Sep 2008, 14:03 pm
#102 Ethel: nah, i was having flashbacks to sat at the tank.
it was naaaice!
16 Sep 2008, 14:05 pm
#103 rangerman:
The tank was a good place to be on Saturday evening.
16 Sep 2008, 14:07 pm
#104 jonnow: it was indeed. did you see the black fans chanting and generally loving the atmosphere?
16 Sep 2008, 14:07 pm
afternoon gentlemen.
16 Sep 2008, 14:08 pm
#104 jonnow:
How come my missus doesn’t understand that it takes 3 hours to walk from the stadium to Rovers, to get the car?
16 Sep 2008, 14:08 pm
#103 rangerman: This training in Cape Town is killing me. I am bunking class and having a quick dop.
16 Sep 2008, 14:09 pm
#106 sondebok: What?
16 Sep 2008, 14:09 pm
#105 rangerman: Even I was chanting and enjoying the atmosphere (must have been the beer!), and I was in Kuip Taun!
16 Sep 2008, 14:10 pm
#110 sondebok: Me still in Suip Taun. Hehehe
16 Sep 2008, 14:12 pm
#107 tight head: she is being selfish!
wouldnt want to go bumping people about now would you?
#108 Ethel: i am playing touch tonight so the beer will only be after 8. i can wait but i may be thirsty!
#110 sondebok: ja, lol i was loving being there again. next time in durbs eh?
16 Sep 2008, 14:13 pm
#109 Ethel: Wat kyk jy?
16 Sep 2008, 14:14 pm
#111 Ethel: gesuip innie Kuip! Waar kuier jy?
16 Sep 2008, 14:15 pm
#113 sondebok: I looks 4 U? Waneer gaat ons weer saam suip?
16 Sep 2008, 14:15 pm
#112 rangerman:
Thanks Ranger.
Never thought about her being so selfish, especially when all my mates in the car park are being so generous with their coleman’s.
16 Sep 2008, 14:17 pm
#114 sondebok: Ek is in die bar by Cape Sun. Die training is k@k. Nou sit ek op my laptop – oh v$% – die laptop is op my skoot en my vodafone connection is in die gat en ek blog nou met my matertjies – bieter as die training.
16 Sep 2008, 14:17 pm
#116 tight head:
16 Sep 2008, 14:19 pm
#107 tight head:
Only 3 hours?
You must have sprinted to get there so quickly. My wife understands that it takes at least 4 – 5 hours to get to the car.
16 Sep 2008, 14:19 pm
#115 Ethel: Been busy ekse! Name the time and the place!
16 Sep 2008, 14:21 pm
#120 sondebok: Fireman’s anytime and any place.
16 Sep 2008, 14:22 pm
#87 rangerman:
Howzit ranger.Cant remember neither.LOL!!
Our boys finally put one over the Free Staters.Was at the game,looked like the Sharks were in cruise mode the whole game.Freak drop by Steyn,the line break was also spectacular.Pity about Ndungane,hope he makes it for the playoffs.he has been in superb form of late,we need hios crucial tries come the business end of the competition.
#78 SyKoPlaya:
Very true.but if he continues this exponential improvement-he will change the way we look at front-row fwds forever
One season shows you talent/capability.Multiple season translates to GREATNESS
16 Sep 2008, 14:22 pm
#119 jonnow:
I need her to meet my wife!!
16 Sep 2008, 14:26 pm
Off to class – speak again later.
16 Sep 2008, 14:27 pm
#117 Ethel: Jy`s lekka naby aan Dawn. Gee haar n luitjie, ek`s seker sy`s lus vir n dop.
16 Sep 2008, 14:28 pm
#121 Ethel:
Hei, ek wil saamsuip!
16 Sep 2008, 14:29 pm
Beast has become a great player and he seems to be a totally different scrummager to last year, i hope he continues, cos if he does, he really could be fantastic…would also like to see him impose himself more in tightloose, get some agression with that frame.
He and Mujati must be the best conditioned props in world rugby, not an ounce of fat on them, solid muscle.
16 Sep 2008, 14:30 pm
#122 mshiniwami:
Too true about Beast – how’s that drop goal and line break by Fransie Steyn. That is why he’ll be a great #12. JdV will have to compete at #13 for a spot with the Bokke.
16 Sep 2008, 14:31 pm
#127 cab:
Just like we were in the old days Cab.
Not an ounce of fat.
Just pounds!!
16 Sep 2008, 14:32 pm
#125 sondebok: Hmmmm
#126 WP Till I Die: Djy is net grootbek
16 Sep 2008, 14:33 pm
#125 sondebok:
Dis lekker om ‘n dop saam met Dawn te drink.
Dawn sê jy het haar lekker laat lag daai keer by Perseverance.
16 Sep 2008, 14:35 pm
#131 WP Till I Die: Baie lekka. Sy is so ‘n pragtige vroutjie. Ons drink baie saam. Onthou djulle nog die daie van Ruck?
16 Sep 2008, 14:36 pm
#59 Dazzler:
Dazzler you obviously only saw or know about the tail end of Danie Gerbers career. I cant imagine how anybody who was around at the beginning of Gerbers career can imagine him in anything but the black and red hoops of Eastern Province.
Danie Gerber will always be synonymous with Eastern Province and Despatch rugby and maybe only as an afterthought with Province.
16 Sep 2008, 14:36 pm
#131 WP Till I Die: Dawn moet ‘n lekka reunion arrange.
Ek moet stil praat want ek behoort om in training te wees.
16 Sep 2008, 14:37 pm
#126 WP Till I Die:
Ek ook!!
16 Sep 2008, 14:38 pm
#135 Slappes: Dan moet djy suip. Ek drink stilletijies alleen – gin en toniek – ek kan nou nie bier drink nie – dan ruik ek.
16 Sep 2008, 14:42 pm
#129 tight head:
lol, if you say so TH, i remember we had a few carrying great big boeps, still powerful as all hell tho. think the story was tommie laubsher was our strongest.
16 Sep 2008, 14:45 pm
#136 Ethel:
Ethel laat Dawn dit organise.
16 Sep 2008, 14:45 pm
#130 Ethel:
Wie’s jou djy, huh?
16 Sep 2008, 14:47 pm
Ja, ons moet die hele FIRM saam kry by Fireman’s. Net nie op ‘n Donderdag nie, dan pub quiz ek.
Ons moet vir ruck probeer terugkry daar.
16 Sep 2008, 14:54 pm
#140 WP Till I Die:
WP waarheen het Ruck verdwyn? of het sy n ander naam?
16 Sep 2008, 14:55 pm
Why is that that rumours abound that almost the whole Sharks team are looking to move?
“Rumour has it he is high on Rassie’s list”, etc, etc.
Steyn
Jacobs
Pienaar
Murray
Beast
Bismark
All apparently being lined up by Rassie and others.
Kak! The Sharks are not a selling club (they just sell the oupa’s to WP like Montgomery and Venter – you can have Terblanche too if you want).
16 Sep 2008, 14:56 pm
#92 sparticus: ur not serious are you?
16 Sep 2008, 14:57 pm
#141 Slappes:
Sy’s baie besig met werk op die oomblik, sy werk op die Internet.
16 Sep 2008, 14:59 pm
Good nite folks. being a good decent discussion this time round
16 Sep 2008, 15:01 pm
oscar pistorius another gold in 400 meters and world record
16 Sep 2008, 15:04 pm
#145 greatest13gerber:
Goodnight g13g, moenie vergeet om die vlag te laat sak nie ..iemand brand dit netnou
16 Sep 2008, 15:05 pm
– Keo on why doubts remain about the intellectual capital and emotional intelligence of the various visitors to his site
Farking smilies
16 Sep 2008, 15:05 pm
#142 wooden spoon:
Apparently Rassie and Beast met today to discuss his future
16 Sep 2008, 15:07 pm
#142 wooden spoon:
Hang on there mate, Stefan looks like he has another year left in those old legs.
Useful CC player while the Boks are away doing their thing.
16 Sep 2008, 15:08 pm
#143 Big Hit: No he is not serious, WP is rumoured to be buying all SAn registered players. A. He is a prop therefore WP wont be interested as they are happy with Broken Harris, and secondly I know Beast and he is happy at the Sharks.
16 Sep 2008, 15:08 pm
#128 SyKoPlaya:
Yeah Steyn did play well on Sat…
But I wouldnt go that far concerning JdV..DeVilliers is the best 12 in the world at present.
Steyn can do the impossible at times,granted.But can be ordinary…CONSISTENLY ORDINARY as we all kno..
I put him in the same bracket as
Pienaar
Spies
Freakishly talented but the incumbents in their position are still better.They must pay their dues.
Plus they might be young (in age) BUT they have had the neccessary exposure,if those soent produce consistently soon the likes of Francois Hougaard,Duane Vermuelen/Nick Koster,Burton Francis,Francois Bremmer are coming….AND FAST
No one is invaluable.I hope they know that as well as their fans
16 Sep 2008, 15:10 pm
#148 Ig:
what are you trying to say Ig?
how are things going?
16 Sep 2008, 15:13 pm
#151 Sharksgirl: its amazing how province supporters try starting rumours that players are going to the stormers
what they dont understand is rumours are just what they are rumours
facts are beast has already signed till 2010 , but has also on telly stated that while its in his hands he will never leave the sharks
16 Sep 2008, 15:14 pm
#151 Sharksgirl: cool and yeah it does seem that way. are WP the richest province?
16 Sep 2008, 15:14 pm
#152 mshiniwami: Good post, although I do rate Spies before WC and also lately. What is your take on the top 8′s at the moment?
16 Sep 2008, 15:16 pm
#148 Ig:
Howzit Ig! I assume you’re talking about the blue bulls fans above…shame man , they cant be blamed for the sins of their fathers.
16 Sep 2008, 15:17 pm
#142 wooden spoon: Adi Jacobs was offered R 1-million per year by WP but not guaranteed a starting place, The Sharks bettered the offer, so he will still be seen in the Sharks jersey…
#152 mshiniwami:
He rarely plays badly at #12 – however, I’ve seen him have too many shockers at #10, #13, #15.
I would like to see him settle at #12. Sure JdV is good at #12 – but I would prefer a #12 with a good kicking game, and JdV simply doesn’t have this.
A good #12 with a good kicking game removes huge pressure from #10, and both players tend to play better (some mental thing I think). eg: Carter looks better with MacAllister than with Nonu, same with Gitz with Barnes, Joel with Hennie, Naas with MdP, ect.
#155 Big Hit: no they are not although they try run aROUND BRAGGING THEY ARE
infact beggining last year there was press reports about stormers being in financial trouble
good example is last year its said sharks earned all in all 99 . something mil for the year
even having won the super 14 in 2nd highest earnings was bulls on 62. somthing mil
16 Sep 2008, 15:20 pm
#149 Richie_7:
doubt that…
Sharks are responsible for the development of the Beast as well as the transformation to the prop fwd he is today.He is also very haapy at the Sharks.
The sharks have never been a selling union,plus have the buying power to match any1.meanwhile WP is still trying to steady the boat.
Sharks sold the likes of:
Bobo
Watson
Tyibilika
Barritt
Smit(Who has since comebk)
BJ
Lensing(worst buy in Natal History along with Taione/Farani/Kokoali/C.Wanneburg)
When they have had backups in place plus never sold any1 at their peak of their powers like the Beast.Rumours of Jacobs/Waylon leaving have also dissipated amongst others.
Sharks
16 Sep 2008, 15:22 pm
#155 Big Hit: No actually last year it was said they were bankrupt, it was only after their improved performance in S14 that they started getting some money back into their coffers! I believe the two wealthier unions are the Sharks and Bulls.
#154 sharks_lover: Yeah and that is after dissing us and our team they want to purchase all our players
16 Sep 2008, 15:27 pm
#161 mshiniwami: the sharks have stopped all sales and secured their players till minimum end next year
they did this because of the sudden aussie interest
beast is busy planning a home for his family to move down from zim
and besides that he has signed for sharks till end 2010
16 Sep 2008, 15:29 pm
#158 Charlie: good stuff
16 Sep 2008, 15:29 pm
#162 Sharksgirl: lol true hun but it wont happen
read post 163
and good day to you hun hope all is well with you hubby and family
16 Sep 2008, 15:31 pm
#159 SyKoPlaya:
That might be true but JdV is the incumbent and the best international 12 at present.So kicking game or no kicking game,De Villiers has been SUPERB since the start of the S14 plus his leadership skills are an added advantage.
But I hear your 10/12 analogy-it works for the most part.
PS;But the best 12 ever rarely had to put boot to the ball because of class with BALL IN HAND….that would be TIM HORAN.
So it isnt a foreign concept
16 Sep 2008, 15:39 pm
#155 Big Hit: They will be the richest club in the world if they are forced to sell their stadium
16 Sep 2008, 15:41 pm
#167 BokEd: Well, second richest, Toulon have a bottomless pit
16 Sep 2008, 15:45 pm
#168 Big Hit: HAHA too true. They could buy a World XV on a yearly basis if they wanted to.
16 Sep 2008, 15:46 pm
#169 BokEd: they try to, but players are under contract a lot of the time e.g. Bakkies Botha
16 Sep 2008, 15:49 pm
#169 BokEd: you forget the sharks also now own absa park
16 Sep 2008, 15:50 pm
they have just finished paying off the last of the upgrade done a coule of years ago
16 Sep 2008, 16:02 pm
#30 Smellthis: SORRY I gave myself slap a good one!! hahahahaha. Had to rush and go out just typing quick. My mistake meant to say Heinke on my post 21 and not Os. Sorry all but Oz was the very best. Think Beast will eventually be a great 1 too.
16 Sep 2008, 16:05 pm
#34 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: I know sorry typed the wrong name meant to say Heinke. Only back now so only saw my mistake. Os was the greatest but Beast will get there.
16 Sep 2008, 17:14 pm
Beast is a joy to watch, a real crowd-thriller. He reminds me of the days when Mark ‘Bull’ Allen ruled the roost in Taranaki, to the extent that the ground was renamed the ‘Bullring’ in his honour. Every time Allen, the bald-headed prop, recived the ball, the crowd would sing out ‘BULLLLLLLLLLLLLLL’ in unison. Tremendous. He too was an average scrummager but a star in the loose.
Beast can only get better and lets also hope is the start of the end of Safas pointing their fingers at other teams for ‘poaching’ other countries players. He, like many other Bokke before him, has crossed borders to pull on the green’n'gold.
16 Sep 2008, 17:22 pm
#175 BlackPanther: Beast has been here a long time. Finished his schooling here. Its just like over the road here ZIM as the PI is so far from NZ its a big difference. The Zim’s who speak english well also speak with a South African accent. We hardly ever have to go over the border to look for players they come here as want to be Boks. Just damn pleased the Beast came. Goint to one of the very great no. 1
16 Sep 2008, 17:42 pm
I wish I could get SA rugby magazine… they don’t sell it here in texas, all I get twice a year is a rugby catalogue with a couple of articles about how crappy the eagles are…
16 Sep 2008, 18:02 pm
#176 Puma:
He’s Zimbabwean. Joe Rokocoko is ‘Fijian’ but ‘schooled in NZ’. Jonah Lomu was always ‘Tongan’ despite being born in Auckland. Jerry Collins, Tana Umaga, Rodney Soaiolo – all born in the Islands but reared in NZ. So if the cap fits, wear it, but dont try to make out your team is ‘cleaner’ than anyone elses. Montgomery, Krige, Chavanga, Mordt…..all Springboks too but noone else complains !
16 Sep 2008, 18:06 pm
#178 BlackPanther:
Yip, you’re quite right there.
I hate it when my fellow Saffas throw these poaching insults. But I see Big Hit has become quite silent on the issue after England started playing Vainikolo.
16 Sep 2008, 18:25 pm
#179 WP Till I Die: Big Hit will be very quiet this year if Riki Flutey dons the white of England. Flutey has represented NZ Maori, but never the ABs.
None of us in the NH have the moral high ground to judge NZ’s player selection policies, or to judge the Pacific Islanders for wanting a better standard of living by plying their trade in and for NZ. I mean, for goodness sake, Scotland has been the beneficiary over the modern era of foreign imports (Kiwis, South Africans and Ozzies).
But the world is changing. NZ is no longer where aspiring Polynesians see their future. They see it in Europe, where the money talks louder and their and their families futures can be secured far quicker. I will watch with amusement as England fills their positions with the sons of South Africans, Kiwis and players from far flung places, and watch their media and blinded supporters reap the barbs that they have so enjoyed sowing to others.
16 Sep 2008, 18:29 pm
#178 BlackPanther: We have always been mostly 100% and proudly south african in our rugby. Have had a few Zims playing but nothing, nothing like your lot in NZ. Just about half your rugby team is from the PI. I have been around for many, many years. One of the older bloggers here. I remember in the early 70′s your team was mostly just New Zealanders and never saw PI’s those days in your team. I guess you saw the huge talent in the PI’s that was not been used. I respect that. I think if PI’s cant play for their country then why not go and joing a great rugby nation like NZ even SA as they have one of the best rugga talent but not enough money in those countries for all the training equipment that you would get in NZ or SA. We too now have at WP a Fiji and think Rassie is getting another one for next years S14. Just think we have so many, many talent and depth here that we really don’t have to go and look in the PI for players. Yes bring them in from Zim as no way will Zim win anything in rugby if their rugby players don’t come here and live and eventually play for the Boks. They too grow up just dreaming to play for the Boks as Zim is right here on our border. Beast has said he had dreamed all his life to be a Bok. Well I am proud of him being a Bok he is so huge and talented just pleased he is in our team.
16 Sep 2008, 18:34 pm
#181 Puma: It’s called economic migrancy. You should look it up some time. Looks as if your views are quite old too.
Pray tell, what does your typical NZer look like?
16 Sep 2008, 18:35 pm
#177 miteemunkee: Percy and Mordt are born and bred South Africans. Corne was born in Zambia but a little known fact is that in Rhodesia and Zambia a child at birth did not automatically become a citizen of the country if his parents were not citizens at the time. Technically as his parents were South African, so was he until age 18 when he needed to apply for Zambian citizenship.
Chavanga is an import.
16 Sep 2008, 18:41 pm
#180 Puma: Hi Puma
Do you remember Brian Williams and Syd Going? Was that the 1970 ABs? I think Williams was Samoan, wasn’t he?
16 Sep 2008, 18:41 pm
#183 blhoo: The Dutch were immigrants of SA once, as were the English, Germans and French Hugenots. Over the centuries, they have become faces o whaht we now identify as being South African.
Give it 100 years and you won’t look at a Pacific Islander, or an Asian (SE Asia) and question whether they are a Kiwi either.
16 Sep 2008, 18:45 pm
#184 stodders: Are you suggesting that the Khoisan talent scouts phoned them up and asked them to come?
16 Sep 2008, 18:54 pm
#181 stodders:
And by the same token – what does your average British person look like nowadays?
I can assure you it’s a lot different from two hundred years ago
16 Sep 2008, 18:54 pm
#186 blhoo: No, they used pigeons
16 Sep 2008, 18:55 pm
#187 WP Till I Die: Well, if you watch BBC news and look at the presenters to give you an idea of the racial representation, you wouldn’t think there were very many white men left in Britain
16 Sep 2008, 18:56 pm
#187 stodders:
16 Sep 2008, 18:59 pm
Beast was shaped at the Sharks Academy.
If he stayed in Zim after school,where would he have been?
Besides he is proud of the Bok Jersey and wants to buy his family a home here.
Respect.
16 Sep 2008, 19:00 pm
#190 Fern:
if not mistaken,beast has a younger boet as well..
16 Sep 2008, 19:01 pm
#186 blhoo: Fact is, the world changes, and so do the stereotypical faces, races, religions of people in those countries.
The most powerful nation on Earth, USA, was founded solely on immigration, to the cost of the indigenous people. If it hadn’t happened, i’m sure the Sioux, Apache and Navajos would have been quite happy with their lot still.
16 Sep 2008, 19:01 pm
#192 Fern: Hands off him. Scotland are checking out his ancestry first
16 Sep 2008, 19:07 pm
#192 stodders:
Their are even some that suggest we are part alien and part human, so how far would one like to stretch the notion of being indigenous and for how long?
16 Sep 2008, 19:07 pm
#193 stodders:
Poses an interesting question, has Scotland ever had a black player in their history?
16 Sep 2008, 19:08 pm
#183 SA Barbarians: Hi there mate. Yes I think just maybe Brian Williams may have been Somoan. Remember Syd Going but he was a NZ I think. Those days we never had computers like now and our papers never wrote about where the person came from but most of the Ab’s those days were just from NZ.
16 Sep 2008, 19:09 pm
#195 WP Till I Die: Never. I can tell you that right now. Never.
16 Sep 2008, 19:09 pm
#193 stodders:
clutching at straws…
16 Sep 2008, 19:11 pm
#181 stodders: No Stodders my views are not old. I keep upto date. I am not that old but older than most of the bloggers here. They being a teenager in the 70′s does not make me too old I don’t think but on this blog maybe.
16 Sep 2008, 19:11 pm
i thought PDV had discussed resting Boks with the Currie cup teams. So far it doesent look like it! We obviously going to take a weakened team overseas,appears that the Crrie Cup is more important ? As long as we then never complain when the NH does it to us!
16 Sep 2008, 19:14 pm
#181 stodders: How old are you stodders a teenager? It sounds like it to me?
16 Sep 2008, 19:17 pm
#200 grant10: You are right grant10. I agree that PdV should have rested our Boks for end of year tour. After his terrible performance in the 3N don’t think he can just take a chance and take young ones that are going to get a huge hiding there. Just maybe they will send him back for a talking to during the tour like they did to Jake? Anyway I think now he should be taking his best team over. But after CC they are going to be very, very tired. Played far too much rugby this year already. I see a lot of injured players still coming up.
16 Sep 2008, 19:19 pm
#201 Puma:
Actually, stodders is quite grown up. And a more knowledgeable rugby mind you’ll probably be hard-pressed to find.
He’s a poor Jock stuck in Sassanach country
16 Sep 2008, 19:20 pm
#190 Fern: Agree he was schooled at the Sharks Academy. I also heard he wants to buy his family a home here. Respect to Beast from me too. I rate him very much.
16 Sep 2008, 19:20 pm
I miss skopskiet.
Let’s start a petition for his return.
16 Sep 2008, 19:22 pm
#203 WP Till I Die: Well thats nice to know. Also he must not forget the older ones have been around a lot but and we know our rugga well too. Is he not from Scotland? Is that what you mean when you say Sassanach? haahaha. I do love the Scots though so if he is one then all is forgiven.
16 Sep 2008, 19:23 pm
#205 WP Till I Die: where do we sign!
16 Sep 2008, 19:25 pm
#207 grant10: I will sign only if he behaves. He was really bad on Saturday. In a very insulting mood. Maybe thats what got him the red card.
16 Sep 2008, 19:25 pm
#206 Puma:
Sassanach is old Scots Gaelic for “Saxon”, its what the Scots called the men from the south, i.e. Englishmen. It has now become a term used in Scottish English to refer to any Englishman (be they of Saxon heritage or not). The English don’t like it that much, they consider it a bit derogatory
stodders is a Scot who is currently living in London – deep in Sassanach country
16 Sep 2008, 19:28 pm
#209 WP Till I Die: Well how sad as those English don’t like the Scots much and believe me its returned big time by the Scots. They actually hate the English even more. So I feel for him living in London but London being a big city maybe he will be fine there.
#202 Puma: i am truly amazes that we are able to do as well as we do on the world stage! We constantly undermine the Bok cause, refuse to do whsts in the interests of the national team,Schalk Burger,Januarie,JDV really required against Griquas at Newlands??? Bench them if really neccessary and bring them on only if wp struggling! Bloody local coaches dont care,self interest at every turn. Hell,we need a powerful Director of Rugby to lay down the law!!
amazes is amazed
16 Sep 2008, 19:29 pm
#204 Puma:
he is not playing rugga for himself but for his family.
it’s cheaper to wipe your *** with a zim dollar than to buy toilet paper
16 Sep 2008, 19:29 pm
#203 WP Till I Die: I also got the feeling that Stodders reading his posts here often was more of a Bok supporter than a AB one? Am I correct. I know he will support his Scottish team 100% but just thought from the SH he supported us.
16 Sep 2008, 19:30 pm
#208 Puma: i dont know him at all, heard he goes nuts every now and then. Spill the beans is quiet!!
16 Sep 2008, 19:31 pm
#213 Fern: Its a shame for him. Such a nice humbe guy. I wish him all the best and really hope that he gets over his injury quick. That shoulder never looked too good to me even last week.
16 Sep 2008, 19:31 pm
#215 grant10: He did and a lot.
16 Sep 2008, 19:32 pm
#211 grant10:
imagine if sa rugby had no politics and the coaching structures/money nz has.
no competition i reckon.
16 Sep 2008, 19:32 pm
#216 Puma: heard he has a groin injury as well
16 Sep 2008, 19:34 pm
#208 Puma:
Skopskiet feels very passionate about some issues and a few on this site try their utmost to provoke him. Some of them are also lucky that they have not been red-carded, mainly as I do not think the mods understand Afrikaans so well.
PdV has indicated he will rest some players during the eoy tour. He has no option, as the schedule next year is just too heavy and players wont last.
He cannot force the unions to rest players as the players are on their books and receive salaries. The unions are already suffering financially and the sponsors and public want the top players to play in the cc.
The end of the year tour is the only opportunity to rest players and to give fringe players and opportunity. The opposition is relatively weaker and younger players will find it easier to adapt. Some of the big names such as Schalk, Victor, Juan, Bakkies, Bryan and Jean should not go in my opinion.
16 Sep 2008, 19:36 pm
#216 Puma:
that just shows his guts for the bok jersey in the last game.
had a blinder and scrummed through the pain.
this kid has the makings of a legend.
just a thought;
why not have “no to rape” next weekend on the jerseys?this is a major issue.
16 Sep 2008, 19:37 pm
#214 Puma:
stodders just loves rugby, but I do know he quite likes watching the Springboks. That being said, he loves the All Blacks too.
16 Sep 2008, 19:38 pm
#220 Robzim: I don’t think any of the big name Boks are going on end of year tour except I think John Smit. PdV did say he was taking mostly young ones. Playing in the NH is not always that easy as its wet and conditions are different to here. We still have good players that can go. Just hope he picks a good team. I just feel we should always send the best but agree these guys have been playing far too much rugby this year and need a rest.
I understand with Skop just felt sometimes he really got out of hand. I never spoke to him on any of his posts as he just seemed to be angry all the time. So eventually never read his posts.
16 Sep 2008, 19:39 pm
#218 Fern: seriously fern, not about quotas or transformation ,just true professionalism,and a serious commitment by all role players to make decisions in the best interests of the bok team! We would be outta sight,no country would be in our league!! Fact! The quotas did lead to the unearthing of some wonderful talent, no need for it anymore.Now we need the best coaches,also in the super 14,meyer and mallet and white should be in our system, cruel and sad to have them overseas or uninvolved. Egos huge in SA rugby. We are crying out for a powerful Director of Rugby!!!
16 Sep 2008, 19:40 pm
#222 WP Till I Die: Well was hoping it was us that he supported as he comes on here a lot.
Anway all I am out for a hour chat later. Stodders must be on the tube home then. If you are there Stodders I remember speaking to you here the other day. You are fine mate have no problems with you. Especially that I now know that you are Scottish. I enjoy the Scots a lot. Great country and great people. Chat late all.
16 Sep 2008, 19:42 pm
#220 Robzim: those so called weaker teams may surprise you ! And again,the southern Hemisphere must not spit there dummies if the north do the same to us! bWe are vert hypocritical in this regard?
16 Sep 2008, 19:43 pm
#224 grant10:
preach it!
we have so much natural talent.
the sideshows has kept the rest of the world alive.
16 Sep 2008, 19:50 pm
#220 Robzim:
What needs to happe is that a squad including all our best players is picked for theeoyr, but the likes of Big Vic, JDEV ,Schalk etc play only in selective games . T
There are plenty from the current squad who can hardly make claim to being “over played”.
If the squad is picked cleverley we can rest and rotate players and yet not weaken the team as such.
A test remains a test ,we owe it to our NH rugby watching population to send our best, I expect the same from them, let’s not weaken test mathes ….ever !!!!
It will also help in getting our combination and team spirit right for the Lions Tour , PdeV must use this as a blue print for the Lions tour !!
16 Sep 2008, 19:51 pm
#226 grant10:
I agree it can get tough there especially in the wet. It is not “spitting of dummies” but a question of survival as the schedule during 2009 will just be too hectic.The jury that is out on PdV must also understand it if the results are not that great.Having said that I think we have enough talent to still be more then competitive.
16 Sep 2008, 19:55 pm
#228 justrugby:
I think your points are valid although I personally do not care much about the NH rugby watching population (I hope Big Hit is not on at the moment
16 Sep 2008, 19:56 pm
#230 Robzim:
LOL…….he’s going to line you up for sure !!!!
16 Sep 2008, 19:59 pm
squad of 30 for eoyt ,minus some stars ,may look as follows imo 15 Jantjes and fortuin 14 odwa and jpp 13 j fourie and adi jacobs 12 Barritt and w olivier 11 akona and chavanga 10 grant and Fsteyn 9 ruan pienaar and bolla 8 spies and d vermeulen 7 j deysel and wikus van heerden 6luke and brussouw 5 j muller and a bekker 4 danie rossouw and s sykes 3 mujati and cj 2 j smit and a strauss 1 beast and guthro
16 Sep 2008, 20:01 pm
#229 Robzim: my point is they should be resting now, not when there are tests to be won! But,no, we will rather care about cc over tests!
16 Sep 2008, 20:04 pm
#228 justrugby: i agree but these ploker coaches keep on playing the boks into the ground!! How you my man?
16 Sep 2008, 20:05 pm
ploker is plonker
16 Sep 2008, 20:08 pm
#234 grant10:
Good boet !!! I hear Carter ,Brad Thorne and some others have been pulled out of the NZ provincial tournament and will only play again on the eoyt !!!
16 Sep 2008, 20:11 pm
#236 justrugby: thats because they got the All Black jersey as the most nb part of there set up,not like here where we play JDV,Schalk, januarie,etc against griquas!!!! My blood boils, we need a director of rugby with real muscle!!!
16 Sep 2008, 20:15 pm
#232 grant10:
I will have Kirschner in place of Fortuin, Heini adams in place of Bolla, Kanko (needs the game time) in place of Vermeulen !!!
16 Sep 2008, 20:18 pm
#232 grant10: That means we leave at home bismarck,bakkies, victor,schalk,juan,fourie ,butch,jean,habana, they will be needed for the 2009 season!
16 Sep 2008, 20:20 pm
#238 justrugby: yes, agree boet, better choices,forgot about the great Kankowski! Would have liked to find a spot for heinke as well, !
16 Sep 2008, 20:21 pm
#239 grant10:
These guys should be using th cc as time to get into the gym and do conditioning work !!!, agree they should not be playing against the likes of griquas, boland etc,
16 Sep 2008, 20:26 pm
Not much happening on the site, gonna go check emails , see you later Grant 10
16 Sep 2008, 20:27 pm
#241 justrugby: as long as we put provincial interests before the boks we will never match the all blacks in terms of being no 1.The All blacks will go and win all matches on eoyt, we will be lucky to win 1,maybe 2 ! We ***** and moan when the nh teams are weakened but we do the same,bloody hypocrites!!
16 Sep 2008, 20:28 pm
#242 justrugby: cheers
16 Sep 2008, 20:29 pm
#233 grant10:
It is not so straight forward. The unions holds the aces as they have the players on their books. The players also want to play (remember they receive match fees). The sponsors (ABSA for cc) will also not be satisfied if the top players do not play.
If they want to rest the players they will firstly have to change the whole structural set-up but money will probably rule at the end of the day.
16 Sep 2008, 20:38 pm
Anyone here?
16 Sep 2008, 20:40 pm
#245 Robzim: i know that my man! that is the point, the unions will only look after themselves,i agree the structure is wrong and understand the sponsors and related interests. I am trying to say thet unless we centrally contract and use our resources better we will be in the same situation year in and tear out! Our entire structure needs an over haul. Not cool demeaning the jersey by getting klapped in the north with a 2nd string team, rather send over a SA A team or something. This is an annual occurrence, i am a wp fan but find it ridiculous to subject our stars to matches like friday nights! Bolla, skeate ,joe pietersen all good enough??
16 Sep 2008, 20:41 pm
#246 carol meredith: hi young lady! Hope you had a very special day!
16 Sep 2008, 20:41 pm
even less happening on my emails than on the site !!!!!
16 Sep 2008, 20:42 pm
#249 justrugby: good to have you back !
16 Sep 2008, 20:43 pm
#248 grant10: Can’t complain. Special would be pushing it. You?
16 Sep 2008, 20:44 pm
liverpool about to play marseille in champions league, could be worth a watch !!!
#249 justrugby: Do you wear an eye patch in Pirate mode?
#252 justrugby: What channel?
16 Sep 2008, 20:45 pm
#254 grant10:
16 Sep 2008, 20:48 pm
#243 grant10: Agree with you. We should have rested our players during CC but have not done that. Just watch how well the AB’s play at end of year tour. We wont look half as good. Especially with a young team I don’t think. I would rather have rested the Boks in CC and taken them on the end of year tour. Read your team above but have to find space for Kanko and maybe Rory Kockett too.
#251 carol meredith: Tough day, missing my lady and a couple of less than thrilling business meetings! Always got tomorrow!
#223 Puma: I think you should know the English don’t mind the Scot’s at all. We even pretend to like the bagpipes. It’s just that the Scots hate us with a passion (The English)
We just ridicule the Welsh!
16 Sep 2008, 20:49 pm
#255 justrugby: cool,thanks
16 Sep 2008, 20:50 pm
#256 Puma: kockott ,yes, a great talent,future bok,matter of time!
16 Sep 2008, 20:50 pm
#258 carol meredith: I know that. English don’t mind the Scots much but they do give them a hard time down there. Then again never as much as the Scots give the English up in Scotland. They just have such hate for you guys. I don’t understand it but it just seems that way.
16 Sep 2008, 20:52 pm
#257 grant10: I had better not be too sympathtic tonight incase they think I will be slipping round to cheer you up again!!
The Cotswolds to Cape Town how long would that take anyway?
#261 Puma:
Even I disliked the English after watching Braveheart ….LOL
#260 grant10: I think so. Young too I think only 20. Maybe should get a chance to tour instead of Bolla. Now with Ricky in the red (well not so with AC) maybe rest Ricky he has been playing a lot of rugby this season. Take Kockett and Ruan maybe FdP as he was rested a lot with injury.
16 Sep 2008, 20:54 pm
#263 justrugby: Hahahaha. Stodders will love that. I have many Scottish friends so maybe I side with them. Then again do have some English friends too. Just find the Scottish more friendly up there.
#258 carol meredith: sounds complicated, i am of Irish descent, and a lot of English too. Now Justrugby is a Saffa by birth but his dad is an Englishman from Nottingham. Still lives there! Dont call him English though, he is a proud South African !!
#262 carol meredith:
about 12 hours !!!
16 Sep 2008, 20:55 pm
#262 carol meredith: if you leave now i can pick you up in about 8 hours!! LOL
16 Sep 2008, 20:56 pm
#249 justrugby: That made me laugh.
16 Sep 2008, 20:57 pm
#267 justrugby: By plane. Still has to get a ticket though!!
16 Sep 2008, 20:57 pm
#267 justrugby: i stand corrected! LOL
16 Sep 2008, 20:59 pm
#263 justrugby: Show it to the boks 3 hours before kick off!
16 Sep 2008, 20:59 pm
#261 Puma: It’s usually sports that bring out the worst in us. We love it when the Scots loose at rugby AGAIN!
16 Sep 2008, 21:01 pm
#263 justrugby: I even disliked Mel Gibson after watching Braveheart. Was it the blue face or the terrible accent, I couldn’t decide?
#271 grant10:
You’d have t pick her up somewhere in Angola if 8 hrs …LOL
#272 grant10: Good one.
#273 carol meredith: I think its the football too that you hate losing to each other too. Maybe not just the rugby as England mostly beat Scotland in the Rugby.
16 Sep 2008, 21:02 pm
#275 justrugby: LOL
16 Sep 2008, 21:02 pm
#267 justrugby: just read AIG about to go down in the USA, largest Insurance Company in the USA! Scary times my man!
16 Sep 2008, 21:03 pm
#274 carol meredith:
LOL……must of been the accent !!! Angelina finds him yummy !!!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:04 pm
#275 justrugby
r Zimbabwe! What i wont do for a princess ! LOL
#274 carol meredith: I thought he never pum on a bad Scots accent.
#281 Puma: pum meant to be put
16 Sep 2008, 21:05 pm
#280 grant10: Going to collect anyone in Zim then you really must be brave!!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:06 pm
#278 grant10: #278 grant10: -
As you know I did the Old Trafford tour in february, the tour guide told us what AIG really means………….Alex is God !!!!! ….LOL
16 Sep 2008, 21:06 pm
#279 justrugby: Sienna Miller ,get the Dvd The Interview,,mmmm, my type personified!
16 Sep 2008, 21:07 pm
#266 grant10: Who was brave enough to leave these shores for the great unknown, your parents, grandparents or further back?#268 grant10: I quite fancy a break away………….Can I be back by Saturday to go to Twickenham. I have to see Martin Johnson play again.
16 Sep 2008, 21:07 pm
#283 Puma:
LOL….or stupid !!!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:08 pm
What time is football on justrugby?
#287 justrugby: Yeah, Zim is a NO NO
#22 greatest13gerber: He’s your Saviour.
#267 justrugby: Could be 12 hours well spent!
16 Sep 2008, 21:09 pm
#285 grant10: Will get it tomorrow, have u watched The Flock yet ??
#286 carol meredith: For me it was my great grandparents. Scottish.
#291 carol meredith:
Without doubt !!!!!!!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:10 pm
#279 justrugby: Shame Mel is loosing his hair though!
You should see Jonny Wilkinson, he is growing a Percy tribute mane!! Probably ready for the lions tour!
16 Sep 2008, 21:12 pm
#293 Puma:
Th Scots are geat, Bill Connolly one of my favourite comedians !!!!! Rod Steward in cape town soon , will make a plan to see him !!!
#295 carol meredith: Is JW still playing rugby? Been around now for a long time. Does England have the same problem as us finding another good 10
Marseille just gone 1-0 up !!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:14 pm
#281 Puma: Trust me it was really embarrasing! We all squirmed!
16 Sep 2008, 21:14 pm
#296 justrugby: Love Connolly have some dvd’s of his. Rod Steward although speaks with a English accent his Dad is Scottish and he is one very proud Scot. Supports Celtic football team. Yes he is also coming to Durban too. May go and see him.
16 Sep 2008, 21:15 pm
#295 carol meredith:
Hope “Johnny be good” stays injury free and is included in the Lions tour, I have my doubts though !!!!
#8 PissAnt:
I’m a subscriber and totally agree. The last issue seemed slightly better but in issues gone by the actual content in the magazine is very limited. In fact, I remember reading the entire magazine in one good session on the loo.
#299 carol meredith: I thought his Scots accent was not that bad. Then maybe the English would not think so. Still loved the movie though.
16 Sep 2008, 21:16 pm
Liverpool just equallised, great Gerard goal !!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:17 pm
#285 grant10: You are going to wear that Sienna DVD out.
By the way, when you collect me from the airport I will be the one wearing……………
16 Sep 2008, 21:17 pm
#301 justrugby: Was a great 10 but getting on a bit now. We have a problem with 10. Butch will still probably play there in the Lions tour down here. Or Steyn.
16 Sep 2008, 21:19 pm
Evening all
This is iafrica’s 3N dream team. What do you reckon?
Tri-Nations Dream Team
Article By: Tue, 16 Sep 2008 17:23
Our rugby team got together for our annual Tri-Nations selection process and produced a Dream Team. We think our team can beat any selection from the rest of the world.
They may have had an early-season wobble, but New Zealand came back strongly to win both the Tri-Nations and Bledisloe Cup — and not surprisingly they also dominate our team.
There are nine All Blacks in the Dream Team, four South Africans and two Australians.
The Tri-Nations Dream Team:
15 — Mils Muliaina (New Zealand): He wins our vote because he was just a touch more consistent that Conrad Jantjes and Adam Ashley-Cooper, who both put forward strong arguments.
14 — Peter Hynes (Australia): He always looked threatening with the ball in hand and his high workrate impressed us. Again, he faced strong challenges from Richard Kahui and Odwa Ndungane.
13 — Adi Jacobs (South Africa): This one took us a while to decide, as we debated for some time over a position where consistency was not at a premium. Jacobs edged Ryan Cross, a late charge, Conrad Smith and Stirling Mortlock.
12 — Jean de Villiers (South Africa): Easy decision and without doubt now the world’s premier inside centre.
11 — Sitiveni Sivivatu (New Zealand): Things did not always go his way, but with ball in hand he still kept the defensive lines honest. Lote Tuqiri was his strongest challenge.
10 — Dan Carter (New Zealand): Unanimous and simply the best. Need we say more?
9 — Jimmy Cowan (New Zealand): He took his opportunities this year to secure himself a regular starting spot in the national team, also overcoming some off-field troubles. Once he started focusing on his rugby, he had no trouble in beating off the challenges of Fourie du Preez and Ricky Januarie.
8 — Rodney So’oialo (New Zealand): He may have faced a late challenge from an ever-improving Pierre Spies, but So’oialo clinched our vote with his standout performance in the decider in Brisbane.
7 — Richie McCaw (New Zealand): Was there ever any doubt?
6 — Schalk Burger (South Africa): This one caused plenty of debate, but in the end the Burger clan won the vote on the basis of his relentless energy. But believe us, it was not without equally compelling arguments from the Rocky Elsom and George Smith camps.
5 — Ali Williams (New Zealand): He may not have covered himself in glory in Brisbane this past weekend, but for the duration of the tournament he was much better than a very disappointing Victor Matfield.
4 — James Horwill (Australia): He may have been a late entry, but he came home in the final stretch to win the sprint — especially his performance in Brisbane. Andries Bekker was his strongest rival.
3 — Greg Somerville (New Zealand): Steady rather than spectacular, but still streets ahead of any other tighthead prop in this year’s competition. Perhaps the most disappointing of all the positions.
2 — Andrew Hore (New Zealand): Having now firmly established himself as New Zealand’s best hooker, he was well clear of a very poor chasing bunch — which included World Cup winner Bismarck du Plessis.
1 — Tendai Mtawarira (South Africa): All we want to say is: ‘Beeeaast!!!’
Our individual selections:
Phil Coetzer XV: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Richard Kahui, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Ali Williams, 4 James Horwill, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Nick Pawson XV: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Peter Hynes, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 James Horwill, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Steve Farrell XV: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Paul Dobson XV: 15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 Peter Hynes, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 George Smith, 5 Ali Williams, 4 James Horwill, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Rob Peters XV: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Peter Hynes, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Andries Bekker, 3 Greg Somerville, Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Jan de Koning XV: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Peter Hynes, 13 Stirling Mortlock, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 George Smith, 5 Ali Williams, 4 James Horwill, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
16 Sep 2008, 21:19 pm
liverpool 2-1 Gerard penalty !!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:20 pm
#293 Puma: Highlanders or Islanders?#297 Puma: Big Hit will tell you Jonny played a blinder on his return for the Falcons on Saturday. 22 points. Mended shoulder etc. I think we have a 3 possible 10′s sniffing at his heels.
16 Sep 2008, 21:20 pm
#286 carol meredith: Great grandparents, Irish and English, I am a Sa though, very proud and all that! Especially with our new democracy , we not perfect , lots of challenges ! Somehow i believe we will make it, cant wait for 2010 world cup, hope the world will fall in love with sa, i know they will all love Cape Town!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:21 pm
#301 justrugby: We live in hope, he is a bit of an icon for us. We all need hero’s.
16 Sep 2008, 21:21 pm
#292 justrugby: havent,it is slow , may not be your cup of tea but she is special !
16 Sep 2008, 21:22 pm
And how can Phil Coetzer select JDV at 13? Did JDV play 13 in the 3N?
16 Sep 2008, 21:22 pm
#306 Puma:
Agree, Cipprati (not sure I’ve spelt it right) seems to be the new “Johnny”
16 Sep 2008, 21:23 pm
#296 justrugby: i am there my man!
16 Sep 2008, 21:24 pm
#308 carol meredith: Not highlanders. I believe they came from the Clyde so that must be around the Greenock area. Well that side anyway. What my grandmother told me they also lived in England before getting on the ship and headed for South Africa.
#304 justrugby: stunner …2 1 now Gerrard on fire!
#313 justrugby: Damn!! hope he is not as good. We still looking for ours.
16 Sep 2008, 21:25 pm
#314 grant10:
For sure !!!!!!!! I might even don a kilt …LOL
16 Sep 2008, 21:27 pm
#305 carol meredith: will need to synchronise dropping you off, the M Manager arrives back at 13h05 on Friday as well!! Gosh, reminds me of past complexities!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:27 pm
#296 justrugby: Are you sure you want to see Rod Stewart? Possibly a bad move, fight your way past his blondes and the zimmer frame!
“Do ya think i’m sexy” was a great song though
16 Sep 2008, 21:28 pm
#320 carol meredith:
I have no problem fighting past the blondes LOL…he’s had many great songs !!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:29 pm
#318 justrugby: well yes, at least its summer!
16 Sep 2008, 21:29 pm
#309 grant10: I think all that come for 2010 will take a visit to Cape Town. A favourite with all tourists that come here and the gameparks. Cape Town is beautiful but the world cup is held from mid June I believe. Just hope its not raining a lot in the Cape then.
16 Sep 2008, 21:30 pm
#312 wooden spoon: JdV played 12 in 3N, swopped no’s with Adi in JHB.
16 Sep 2008, 21:30 pm
#322 grant10: LOL
16 Sep 2008, 21:31 pm
#320 carol meredith: my favorite Stewart song! Yes, justrugby and i may find all those blondes a bit intimidating……
16 Sep 2008, 21:31 pm
#309 grant10: Great mix, Irish and English. You will have hybrid vigour!#319 grant10: Ok I will find a flight, sounds like you are practiced at subterfuge (is that how you spell that)?
16 Sep 2008, 21:32 pm
#325 SA Barbarians: Seems a bit silly to pick him as the tournament’s best 13 then…
#317 Puma:
Saw him play a couple of times last year…looked very good, got a nast injury and has only recently retuned to training, so yip I do not understand why we no longer produce world class FH’s !!
Some funny stuff…
Player of the Tournament: Dan Carter.
Forward of the Tournament: Richie McCaw.
Back of the Tournament: Jean de Villiers.
Newcomer of the Year: Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira.
Try of the Tournament: Ricky Januarie’s amazing last-gasp chip-and-chase score in Dunedin.
Best Performance: South Africa, winning 53-8 against Australia in Johannesburg.
Worst Performance: South Africa, losing 15-27 v Australia in Durban.
Turning point of the Tournament: New Zealand’s 39-10 win over Australia in Auckland.
Thanks for the memories (Kleenex Award): Percy Montgomery.
Runners-up: Greg ‘Yoda’ Somerville, Dan Vickerman.
Time Magazine Award for Most Newsworthy Person: Peter de Villiers.
The Murray Mexted Award for the Quote of the Year: It was quite a task choosing from an extensive Peter de Villiers collection, but the winner is: “Maybe I should just give the job back to the whites.”
Honourable mentions should however go to these gems:
“If you look at the Bible, Joseph started out in the pit and ended up in the palace. There was a moerse lot of kak in between.”
“The same people who threw their robes on the ground when ***** rode on a donkey were the same people who crowned him and hit him with sticks and stuff like that, and were the same people who said afterwards how we shouldn’t have done that, he’s the son of God. So that’s exactly what we do. You have to look at history is repeating itself, and I’m not saying that I’m God.”
Howard Stern Award for Most Controversial Incident: Brad Thorn’s spear-tackle on John Smit in Wellington.
The Y2K award for the Biggest Anti-Climax: Percy Montgomery’s 100th Test debacle.
The ‘Hoff’ Award for the Biggest Cult Following: Beeeeeeeeaaaaaaaast!
The Nadia Comaneci Award: Ricky Januarie’s hand-stand/summersault/cartwheel after the Boks’ win in Dunedin.
The Grudge Award: Tony Woodcock for scoring all five of his Test tries against Australia.
The Weakest Link Award: Matt ‘Doughnut’ Dunning for getting scrummed off the park inside 30 minutes by Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira in Johannesburg.
Roy Keane Award for the Worst Tackle: Brad Thorn’s spear-tackle on John Smit in Wellington.
Judge Dredd Award: This goes to the judicial commission that sentenced Brad Thorn to a lame one-week suspension.
Waterworld Award for the Biggest Box-Office Bomb: Backseat Instinct II, starring Peter de Villiers.
Weigh-Less Slimmer of the Year: Piri Weepu.
2008 Top of the Pops Awards:
Can’t buy me love – Luke Watson
I am the Walrus – Matt Dunning
Johnny B Goode – Brad Thorne
Lend me your comb – Percy Montgomery
The Colosseum Award: Durban’s Absa Stadium crowd, booing the Springboks off after their loss to Australia. There was plenty of vitriol amongst the Bok faithful after an abject display saw the Boks thumped for the third Tri-Nations match in a row.
Escape from Alcatraz Award: This surely has to go to New Zealand coach Graham Henry, who has been under heavy fire from the media and the Kiwi public since the All Blacks’ World Cup fiasco.
The Duck Egg Award: To South Africa for their fat, round zero against the All Blacks in Cape Town.
Three years is a long time: In 2005, All Blacks hooker Keven Mealamu broke South African hearts with a last-gasp try that gave his team victory, and the Tri-Nations title, in Dunedin. In 2008, Mealamu’s defensive blunder allowed Ricky Janaurie to skip through a ruck and set up the chip-’n-chase that gave his team an historic victory.
Selector of the Tournament: Cedric Frolick — yip, that’s the same guy that criticised the selection of World Cup winners Fourie du Preez and Percy Montgomery — ahead of Janurie and Conrad Jantjes — for the Test at Newlands. Frolick said of Monty’s selection: “Conrad Jantjes is, on present form, the number-one fullback. It is worrying that people make decisions with their heart to give someone [Montgomery] his 100th Test cap.”
Individual Performance of the Tournament: McCaw’s performance in Auckland was huge, Carter, despite his poor goal-kicking, was immense in Cape Town. But can anybody argue with Jongi Nokwe’s four tries against the Wallabies in Johannesburg?
The Hindsight Award: To Peter de Villiers, after Nokwe’s four-try performance. Bear in mind that Nokwe was playing only because of injuries to Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen, but after his four tries, Div said: “Nothing is a risk if you don’t take chances in life. I’ve always believed in him, from the start. He performed well for us today.” And the injuries just made it that much easier to pick him…
To the Newlands wind: Thanks for making Dan Carter miss five kicks at goal — you saved the Boks 14 points. Pity you also made Percy miss his two kicks at goal…
The Vuvuzela Award: To those little Vodacom djembe’s that created such a din, first at Newlands, and then in the remaining home Tri-Nations Tests. It was kinda nice, but not quite as irritating as those vuvuzela’s.
The Britney Spears Comeback Award: To Jimmy Cowan who was arrested three times this year for ‘disorderly behaviour’. He put his off-field demons aside, however, and ended the Tri-Nations as arguably the best number 9 on offer. During the tournament he admitted that without rugby he would have been doomed, saying: “Rugby’s probably been my saviour because I was pretty close to losing it at one stage.”
16 Sep 2008, 21:33 pm
#315 Puma: You should write your family stuff down otherwise it will be lost for the next generations.
Scottish weather is dreadful, you should be glad they made the move!
#323 Puma: this June was so wet Puma, i almost drowned at so many matches at Newlands this season. Biting cold and loads of rain this winter, could be a real problem next year,would be a shame!
Wow, that comes out as quite a long post. Makes for good reading though.
16 Sep 2008, 21:34 pm
#328 wooden spoon: Yes, they should leave him at 12, end of story
16 Sep 2008, 21:34 pm
Insanity in individuals is something rare – but in groups, parties, nations and epochs, it is the rule.
16 Sep 2008, 21:36 pm
#326 grant10: At least your eyes wouldn’t be level with their “assets”. Rod is a midget, and only ever sees cleavage! How intimadating is that!
16 Sep 2008, 21:37 pm
#327 carol meredith: for my sins had a 5 year stint as a regional sales manager of a bank,covering cape town to durban, hence my affinity for the sharks. 5years single and 5 cities left its mark!! LOL
16 Sep 2008, 21:38 pm
#334 Friedrich: Whatever you say is cool
Hi SA Barbarians, thank you for defending my honour last night.
Wooden Spoon, I am on the case.
#330 carol meredith: Damn glad they made the move. Thats the only thing I hate about Scotland is the weather. And the wind is even worse than in Cape Town and its feels like ice coming at you in the winter months there. Still love the Scots but pleased I grew up here in sunny South Africa. Love our weather its the best. Cape Town has good weather too just their winters are not that good. Winter in the rest of SA is probably better than your summer!!!
#331 grant10: I hope the weather is good in June in the Cape come 2010. In Umhlanga temps around 25 with full sun everyday then. Bliss and no humidity that time of year either.
#335 SA Barbarians: Agreed, best 12 in the world at the moment (contrary to what Big Hit thinks
) although I’d favour Mortlock at 13 to Jacobs. Jacobs was great this year though, but if we were to play a Mars XV tomorrow, Mortlock would be the man.
16 Sep 2008, 21:39 pm
#335 carol meredith: Intimidating? No……
16 Sep 2008, 21:41 pm
Whenever I seek to ascend I am followed by a dog called ‘Ego’.
#335 carol meredith:
And he mimes!!
#338 carol meredith: Hi CM
My pleasure. I sensed wishful thinking on some guys part
16 Sep 2008, 21:42 pm
#335 carol meredith:
Talking about midgets, Ronan Keating was in Cape town among many other celebs playing in a golf charity match, we went through and walked a few holes with the celeb’s and pro’s ,Angelina fancied Ronan until she saw him in real life close up…if he couldn’t sing he could easy be a jockey !!! she is still dissapointed !!!
#333 SA Barbarians: Steyn at 12 last Sat for the Sharks. How good was he there? Just a thought.
#340 carol meredith: Thank ye graciously. I’ve also been pointed in the direction of ‘Snow Dome’.
I’m now thinking of just carting them off to Paris for 2 nights – that solves the problem.
16 Sep 2008, 21:43 pm
#335 carol meredith: I am no midget, a bit of a leg man myself….LOL.. Cleavage is candy floss cute, great legs , i think Rod made a song about that too! Great legs…wearing me out…something like that!
#336 grant10: Is it curable? The mark!
#343 Robzim: You are not serious……….are you ??
16 Sep 2008, 21:44 pm
#334 Friedrich: deep stuff,,,,,cool!
16 Sep 2008, 21:45 pm
#339 Puma: love Umhklanga ! You blessed to live there!
16 Sep 2008, 21:46 pm
#339 Puma: Article in the Times today states the Scots are so unhealthy because of the lack of Vit D from lack of suns rays. They get M.S and a host of other ills, far worse than any other similar European nation, so they can no longer blame the deep fried mars bars for the nations ills.
16 Sep 2008, 21:47 pm
#340 wooden spoon: That would be a potent 12 & 13 for sure
# grant10 # justrugby # carol meredith cheers all. Out of here now. Enjoy the rest of your night. Chat again tomrrow.
#344 SA Barbarians: you sensed right! LOL
16 Sep 2008, 21:48 pm
Words are but symbols for the relations of things to one another and to us; nowhere do they touch upon absolute truth.
16 Sep 2008, 21:49 pm
#352 grant10:
Agree graet spot, but give me Camps Bay with the mountain backdrop anyday !!
#343 Robzim: Hi Rob, have you had the “pleasure” of an Evening with Rod Stewart? Does he have surgical appliances on stage? A hoist, or truss?
#353 carol meredith: Just a quick one then out of here. Yes agree they don’t get a lot of sun there. Have very pasty skin colour!! hahahaha. Those fried mars bars!!!! horrible hahahaha. Cheers all now out of here.
#346 Puma: Steyn was very good, I agree. Also liked him at 12 at the WC, just don’t think JdV should make way for him at the moment. But I do agree he should be in the team – maybe at 15 or even 10
16 Sep 2008, 21:50 pm
Getting old.
16 Sep 2008, 21:51 pm
#360 Puma:
Cheers Puma, great chatting as always
#344 SA Barbarians: Please remind me how to do a smiley.
#349 carol meredith: cured by the demise of the bank ,a maturation process and a dedication to fighting the wanderlust demons on a daily basis! Bloody Irish blood and all that!
#360 Puma: Night Puma, entertaining.
#355 Puma: cheers
16 Sep 2008, 21:52 pm
#348 grant10: “Hot legs”. Actually my best asset, I have been told!!
Chelsea and liverpool lead at half time in europe! Nice one
#352 grant10: I love it too.
#358 justrugby: But have to agree with you there justrugby. Camps Bay with the mountains at the back has to be the most beautiful spot in SA and its the best beach in the world for me. Believe me I have travelled to many countries no where on earth quiet like that view from Camps Bay and most of the Cape. Just magnificent. Just love the winter we get in Umhlanga but the humidity in the summer is awful. Still love living here. But I do have a home in Joburg so have to go up there sometimes too.
Now out of here for sure. Have fun all.
16 Sep 2008, 21:53 pm
Cheers Grant 10, Carol,I am out of here !!!
16 Sep 2008, 21:54 pm
#364 carol meredith: : – ) without spaces
16 Sep 2008, 21:54 pm
#345 justrugby: Is Ronan a midget too. You would never know by the camera angle. The Irish make great jockeys.
Angelina was traumatised then. Actually Mel Gibson is supposed to be on the small side. ( I did adore him for a while).
16 Sep 2008, 21:55 pm
#371 justrugby:
Byee
16 Sep 2008, 21:56 pm
#372 SA Barbarians: I tried to send one last night and it didn’t happen. Thank’s you have the magic touch.
16 Sep 2008, 21:57 pm
#350 justrugby:
Some friends who saw him in Canada during 2007 claimed that the voice was just too good to be true taking his age into consideration. We will never know for sure so perhaps must just give him the benefit of the doubt
16 Sep 2008, 21:58 pm
#347 wooden spoon: I’m getting lost hre tonight. The Snowdome a great one. Make sure you book though.
They will be forever grateful if you do Paris. What a cool older brother.
16 Sep 2008, 21:58 pm
#375 carol meredith: I have been told that before
By the way, what was the eventual outcome of the silicone vs cream issue?
16 Sep 2008, 22:01 pm
#365 grant10: Sit tight for the rough ride ahead with all this gloom and doom stuff. Be careful not to revert to your old ways!!! Justrugby will put you straight!
16 Sep 2008, 22:02 pm
#373 carol meredith:
Bryan Adams is also a midget. It is good though as it is not fair to be a brilliant musician and also tall dark,and handsome.
I saw Rod in the mid eighties in Sun city but was unfortunately too pissed that night to remember much.
16 Sep 2008, 22:04 pm
#378 SA Barbarians: Oh yes The intense debate cream cakes versus silicone implants. I sided with the cake option!!
16 Sep 2008, 22:06 pm
#371 justrugby: see you mate
16 Sep 2008, 22:08 pm
#368 carol meredith: damn, thats unfair!
16 Sep 2008, 22:10 pm
#379 carol meredith: absolutely!
16 Sep 2008, 22:11 pm
#381 carol meredith: Deafening applause
16 Sep 2008, 22:12 pm
#380 Robzim: Btyan Adams,greatest concert i went to, Green Point Stadium with Justrugby and a couple of ladies! Wild evening,fondly remembered!
16 Sep 2008, 22:15 pm
Joe Cocker was truly magical in the rain at Kirstenbosch Gardens! Saw that guy a couple of months agqo, sings that cute song…You beautiful…. also good.
16 Sep 2008, 22:16 pm
#380 Robzim: #386 grant10: “Run to You” another of my absolute favorites. May put it on really loud now……
16 Sep 2008, 22:17 pm
#383 grant10: Why unfair. I am a little short changed in the “Cream Cake” department so lucky I have a decent set of pins!!
16 Sep 2008, 22:20 pm
#386 grant10: Hate it when you have to sit down though. I would rather be bopping arround. Saw Genesis sitting down, a bit odd really.
16 Sep 2008, 22:20 pm
#386 grant10:
I missed that one but saw him at Kirstenbosch Gardens about two years ago. It was also a great concert.
16 Sep 2008, 22:21 pm
#389 carol meredith: thats my preferred shape, great legs is a rarity ,i am with Rod on that score, blonde and leggy!! LOL
16 Sep 2008, 22:22 pm
#389 carol meredith: intelligent and gifted!! Unfair!!
16 Sep 2008, 22:22 pm
#388 carol meredith: #391 grant10: Oh boy, seems my rush defense is going to tested again tonight
16 Sep 2008, 22:25 pm
#390 carol meredith: agree,live concerts bring out the kid in me,few beers and a bunch of mates and a great party! Seldom miss the opportunity to go to them!Sitting down a waste!
16 Sep 2008, 22:26 pm
#391 Robzim: Love those concerts, hate finding parking but what a priviliege to see the talent! Always worth the effort!
16 Sep 2008, 22:27 pm
#390 Robzim: You get quite a selection over there don’t you. I suppose everyone wants to play Cape Town, perhaps not some of the other outposts!!
16 Sep 2008, 22:28 pm
Would love to see Staind and pearl jam live, enjoy the Grunge rock genre.
16 Sep 2008, 22:31 pm
#391 grant10: I would hate you to think they were as extended as Rachel Hunters. I am 5’7″ after all and she is massive.#392 grant10: Your magic still works by the way! You have not lost the deft touch.
#397 carol meredith: yes,saw Elton John at Newlands cricket ground, thought it would be dull but it was a blast…..bumped into a rather obsessive ex girlfriend though!
#393 SA Barbarians: I may need saving……………….
16 Sep 2008, 22:34 pm
#380 Robzim: #386 grant10: Guys I worry about the politics on this site. But when the musical taste reaches these depths, my heart fills with despair.
16 Sep 2008, 22:34 pm
#399 carol meredith: i am 1.85m tall, just over 6 feet i think….Justrugby would say too small for a lock and too big for a flyhalf!! LOL
16 Sep 2008, 22:35 pm
I loved all the old punk stuff. Stranglers, Souxie and the Banshees, The Cure, The Stranglers. Not so keen on the sweating hordes there.
Really eclectic tastes also love some heavy metal, some soft rock, Nivarna, Kaiser Cheifs. Have they made it in S.A yet?
Dislike slow girly stuff for some reason, prefer to be deafened!
16 Sep 2008, 22:35 pm
#400 carol meredith: I think Bryan Adams also wears undies that are too tight and squish his goolies.
16 Sep 2008, 22:36 pm
#401 SodaJoe: Have I failed as well?
#403 carol meredith: Ms Cheltenham. You have got be joking. And there I thought that you were a chamber music kind of gal.
#405 carol meredith: A+
#402 SodaJoe: Whats your poison?
#396 carol meredith:
Yes, we had some good one’s here. I saw Adams, Ian Anderson (JTull) and Roger Waters (PF) over the last few years. Waters was absolutely amazing and Anderson disappointing.
The real big one’s that are still very popular do not come though. I would love to see Dylan, Springsteen and Clapton as well as some of the modern blues musicians such as Bonamassa.
16 Sep 2008, 22:37 pm
#393 SA Barbarians: tackle tackle tackle
16 Sep 2008, 22:37 pm
#404 carol meredith: cobain very special!
16 Sep 2008, 22:38 pm
Rugby
Boks had to lose to win RWC
2008-09-16 22:11Email | Print
Jake White did it right
Jaco van der Merwe
Johannesburg – Thirteen Test defeats in the run-up to the Rugby World Cup tournament was the pirce the Springboks had to pay for the Webb Ellis Cup last year, according to sports scientist Tim Noakes.
Jake White, who coached the Boks to World Cup glory last year, was heavily criticised when his team went down to a weak English side in the first Test at the end of 2006. It was the Boks’ eighth loss in 12 Tests and the swords were being sharpened for White.
According to Noakes, White’s decision to send a weakened team to England and Australasia for last year’s Tri-Nations Tests paved the way for the Boks’ second World Cup title. Noakes was White’s medical advisor throughout his four years at the helm.
“The World Cup isn’t won in the year in which it is played, but in the year before. The Boks won the World Cup because they had lost 13 Tests in the two preceding years, as their key players had to have opportunities to rest,” says Noakes.
“The whole country was virtually up in arms when Jake didn’t select his best players to face England at the end of 2006. People were flabbergasted that he should give the English an opportunity to win, and he very nearly lost his job because of it,” says Noakes.
“Before the World Cup tournament last year, people were just as angry with him when he wouldn’t pick his 26 best players for the Tri-Nations Tests in Australasia. But if he had sent his best team on that tour he would have given the World Cup away on a platter.
Unique position
“The players could simply not have gone on a tour like that for four weeks so close to the World Cup tournament and then have been able to recover completely.”
According to Noakes, White was in a unique position by the time the World Cup final arrived, because his entire squad of 30 players were all fit.
“It has never happened before that all 30 players in a squad have been available for a World Cup final. Furthermore, 12 of South Africa’s top 15 players were on the field for the full 80 minutes.
“That took some planning, and Jake had to manage the players in the two years leading up to the World Cup campaign in the face of all the criticism.
“Four years before the World Cup tournament he gave me the names of 22 players he wanted to see in the final in 2007. Ten of the players on the list were in the line-up of 22 that took on England in the final.”
16 Sep 2008, 22:38 pm
#399 grant10: You are brave to admit seeing Elton.#402 grant10: Could you be more perfect. (I realise seeing Elton was an exception)!
Have you walked the dog today?
16 Sep 2008, 22:40 pm
#410 Robzim: Dylan and springsteen, i am so there! U2 my favorite band, missed there last trip, would pay a lot of money to see them!
16 Sep 2008, 22:41 pm
#408 grant10: Kind of like asking what food do you like.
But I like Wilco, My Morning Jacket, Crowded House, Jayhawks, Floyd, Neil Young, Van the Man, Modern Jazz Quartet, John Coltrane, Wallflowers, Clash, Oasis, Gomez, Dylan, …..
I have thousands of CD’s , so it really is hard bud.
I don’t like middle of the road AOR, Heavy Metal, Hip Hop, Teenage pop. The rest is probably good to go.
16 Sep 2008, 22:41 pm
#410 SodaJoe: Hi Soda. By November I may also be suffering from burnout. As they say, defense puts more strain on the body than attack…
16 Sep 2008, 22:42 pm
Most people wouldn’t know music if it came up and bit them on the ***.
Frank Zappa
16 Sep 2008, 22:43 pm
#404 SodaJoe: Is that why he is small. Crushed his talents perhaps.#407 SodaJoe: OK my favorite dance track – Darude Sandstorm. Do you rate? or has it not left Europe?
16 Sep 2008, 22:44 pm
#414 carol meredith: Yes, walked him twice, he is pining, seems a bit depressed, Bevs dog so i am a rather clinical substitute, not too touchy feely with the mutt like bev is!
16 Sep 2008, 22:44 pm
#418 Friedrich: catholic girls!! A favorite of mine!
16 Sep 2008, 22:45 pm
#412 Supa Die Bloubul: SDB – I think that PdV needs to blood some new guys on the tour. I am not advocating a SH June tour pathetic excuse for “Test Match” status, but we certainly need to find out more about our options at 10, 4, 6, 7, 8, and wings.
However pressure on a SA coach is such that it’s almost impossible to ever lose a game.
But some of the guys are way too tired. Butch, Victor in particular.
16 Sep 2008, 22:46 pm
#416 SodaJoe: sport and music, the 2 greatest things on the planet!
#416 SA Barbarians: I know the feeling.
But when you’re on the field – offensive tackling boet. Focus, focus.
#422 grant10: Add in *** for the holy trinity.
All the truth in the world adds up to one big lie.
All this talk about equality. The only thing people really have in common is that they are all going to die.
Bob Dylan
16 Sep 2008, 22:47 pm
#411 grant10: #411 grant10: Opps, missed Guns and Roses.
16 Sep 2008, 22:47 pm
#418 carol meredith: The only decent dance music always has guitars.
F.
16 Sep 2008, 22:49 pm
Damn its been a while since I have posted on this site but things remain pretty much the same. My 2 cents over the the Bok performce.
The single greatest thing that PDV has done was to give deserving young players an opportunity to prove themselves at the highest level. The result of this is that when you look at our rugby, we probably have the greatest depth in the world in terms of international class players. There were 2 specific consequences of this.
One, our generally middle right media suddenly had tons of ammunition to fire at PDV on his selection with words like diabolical, illogical, etc being used to build this idea that PDV neither has the intellect or understanding of the game to be head coach….a key position that direclty influences who and who doesnt get an opportunity to play. When you build depth, the inevitable consequence is that you will have 2 equally good guys playing for the same position. So suddenly when Frans steyn and Ruan Pienaar are not in the starting line up Oom Piet has lost it. My question to the Ryan Vrede’s of this world is….who do you leave out. For all his talent, the reality is that Steyn, if you look at every position in the backline, when it comes to specific technical competency to playing the position, there is someone better. If Steyn doesnt specialise, no matter how talented he is, there is another player who because of specialization will be better than him in the position. Specialization is the reason Peter Grant will be the future Bok Pivot and not Steyn. The journos had a field day nailing Oom Piet. There has never been a Bok coach that has been more second guessed, doubted, questioned and critisised than PDV and the reason is simple….he is a Black man occupying the most important position in rugby. Like it, dont like, it but in this country there is a culture of “nail-the-darkie-ism”.
The second consequence of PDV giving deserving players an opportunity was that it has brought to the fore, countless deserving Black boks. A year ago when I was a fan of the site, we had many a debate with bloggers around the issue of Black boks and where they will come from. Alot of people held the view that there simple arent any deserving Black players outside of wing to start. The likes of Mshiniwam and myself asked for one simple thing, an equal opportunity, an equal development and exposure philosopy to Black players and White players. Jake White may have won the world cup but his taking WO to the world cup epitomised everyhting that was wrong with our rugby….unequal opportunity. PDv stuck to his guns and gave Adi, Conrad, Jongi, Mujati and Beast an opportuntiy to show what they can do. You see people, transformation has nothing to do with quotas. When a lilly white team runs out it sends out all the wrong messages. Apartheid was about White superiority and Black inferiority. Rugby was the preserve of Whites and a “PR” excercise in showing this White superiority. When coaches like Jake and alot of exisiting administrators give unequal opportunity which subsequently led to there only being a White selectable base, it retains the status quo and continues to present this view about any one races supposed superiority to another. I personally think its one of the reason the likes of Gavin Rich loathe PDV because in giving equal opportunity to Black deserving players, he has increased the selection base to include merit Black players. In as much as we see the ever occuring racial incident in SA, please accept that there are alot of people who dont want to see Black people involved in this game. PDV has once and for all killed off this notion that there arent merit Black players………and they hate him for it!
Now looking at our actual play, I think I must have watched a different game in Ellis park to probably 80% of the jouros out there. How did PDV revert back to JAke whites game plan. The only thing that happened differently is that we kicked the ball out, stayed on our feet longer, and ran into spaces better and actually played toward the ball and not the man in breakdownsrs. Jakes game was based on defensive pressure to create scoring opportunities. For the first time in our Rugby for the longest time, we have a backline that can disect any opposition backline from any phase possession. We actually know how to attack now and create tries instead of forcing opponents into errors and then feeding of them. We have potentially the most lethal backline in world rugby. That midfiled pairing of Jean and Adi is the best in the world bar none. Water tight on defence and deadly on attack. Piet said it that one of these days someone will get a hiding and you know what, it happened. The reality is this, no one in the world will be able to compete with our physicality, speed, athletisism. No one. BAsics in rugby are basics. When you kick, kick out. You dont drop balls from the kick off. You support the ball carrier. you clean out properly and secure possesion etc. Our players didnt do basics well which is why we didnt have a great S14. When they did however execute the basics well and coupled this to PDV gameplan, god damnit, everybody best watch out. Eddie Joans and whoever else wishes they had got the job can go fly a kite for all I care. In Ellis Park I saw Oom Piet vision and its a powerful vision. Can we not give the guy room and space to implement this. My opinion, no way in hell that happens. Nail-the-darkism is far too strong!
16 Sep 2008, 22:50 pm
#422 SodaJoe: I think we have no choice but to experiment , the provincial coaches are forcing a rest period , no way we shape in 2009 if we take the current squad across!
#421 SodaJoe:
Agree. Somewhere these guys will have rest. Matfield played a whole French season, then 9 tests, now ccup and now another 4 tests in November?! Too much. Just wish the coaches would realise that a fresh and well conditioned Matfield is worth more in fewer games than a tired Matfield in alot of games.
Butch played even more games than MAtfield.
#415 SodaJoe: Clash, London Calling another anthem of mine!
16 Sep 2008, 22:51 pm
#425 SodaJoe: bless you son!
16 Sep 2008, 22:52 pm
#401 SodaJoe:
Hey Joe,
Jimmy , Jim and Curt are dead and Skoppy is banned and we still live in Africa. It is difficult to keep up the musical taste in these difficult times!
16 Sep 2008, 22:53 pm
and now I will do a Keiser Sose and dissapear into the distance
PS shout out to Pietman, Mshiniwami, Pissant and all the other muppet legends. KEO is no place for a comrade! cheers
16 Sep 2008, 22:53 pm
#425 Friedrich: “All of that Rugby puts hairs on your chest, what chance of you got against a tie and a crest.
Eaton Rifles – The Jam
16 Sep 2008, 22:54 pm
#427 SodaJoe: The Flamenco, a bit fast for me!
16 Sep 2008, 22:57 pm
#419 grant10: You will find the dog will grow on you. Give him a hug from me.
Must go night George *** Have a better day tomorrow.
16 Sep 2008, 22:58 pm
Night Lads. See you.
Skoppie if you are looking in take care X
16 Sep 2008, 23:00 pm
Lekker skoppie jou nar! Bly jy is geban. Jy verdien dit oor en oor!
16 Sep 2008, 23:02 pm
#439 Supa Die Bloubul:
Relax, it is late.
16 Sep 2008, 23:03 pm
#429 odogg: I agree with a lot of your sentiments, Adi, beast , mujati , jantjes have become 1 st choice players and PDV deserves a lot of credit. He made some brave calls and this has lead to more depth in our country. I want PDV to succeed , the brand of rugby played in Joburg was inspired! I really dont know of anyone in my circles who even considers a players race, certainly it is about results and PDV will be judged by that and that alone, by me anyway!
16 Sep 2008, 23:04 pm
#438 carol meredith: cool , sleep well princess!
16 Sep 2008, 23:07 pm
#433 Robzim: I listen to a lot of African music too. Congolese, Youssour N’Dour (Senegal). I was given FeshlyGround from SA the other day that’s cool too.
There is no excuse for Bryan Adams.
Simply unACCEPTable!
16 Sep 2008, 23:10 pm
goodnight all , outta here!
16 Sep 2008, 23:12 pm
Where’s Spooner the claret?
Nice win Vs Spurs.
16 Sep 2008, 23:12 pm
#444 grant10: Night boet.
16 Sep 2008, 23:15 pm
I see Odogg still hasn’t lost the racial chip on his shoulder…
16 Sep 2008, 23:15 pm
Going to the article lead.
Beast was just great. Really can scrum = #1 job.
I was also pleased with Adi – showed up a lot of people.
Jantjes – he’s good. I would just have him on the wing, and Steyn at 15.
16 Sep 2008, 23:17 pm
#447 SodaJoe: Present. 2 – 1 and should’ve been more. But I’ve learnt to be patient, Villa usually start off on fire then… dis…en..te…grat…e (although not so much with O’Neill at the helm)
16 Sep 2008, 23:17 pm
#447 wooden spoon: It take s all kinds to make this place work.
Imagine if you all agreed that Leeds United are the greatest?
I like the diversity. It does get a little annoying when some people harp and harp and harp on the same ****. Make your point, establish your position then behave like an intelligent adult.
16 Sep 2008, 23:22 pm
#449 wooden spoon: So In saw your questions re family entertainment.
Lake District is always good – Lake Windermere. There’s a pretty fun car museum close by. Yorkshire Dales and the villages have nice pubs with good food.
Unfortunately Brummiedom is quite boring.
16 Sep 2008, 23:22 pm
Yeah, the problem for Odogg and the gravy trainers is that Jaque Fourie will return from injury to take back his place, Steyn will one day become SA’s best ever fullback (he is better than Jantjes now) and unless Mujati suddenly starts scrumming the world’s looseheads into oblivion, he will generally be considered a quota by the public as long as BJ Botha continues to be ignored. Beast is the success story. A great prospect.
I disagree with this notion that we have the best depth in the world. NZ have depth – they won the 3N with a supposed “average” side. SA’s ‘depth’ saw them win 2 of 6 games against 2 of the best teams in the world. That’s hardly depth worthy of shouting about from the rooftops…
16 Sep 2008, 23:26 pm
#453 SodaJoe: Thanks for the info, their first time out of SA (my sister is 12) – will all be mind blowing!
Excuse the ignorance, but what league are Leeds in these days? My Dad has a soft spot for them – apparently they had a purple patch back in the day.
16 Sep 2008, 23:26 pm
#452 wooden spoon: We have depth. But we also have arrogance to believe that there is such a thing as an “average” All Black team.
Jacques will have to win his place back. I haven’t seen anything to suggest that he is currently better than Adi.
16 Sep 2008, 23:30 pm
#453 wooden spoon: When you’re in London definitelydo the London Eye. Also you can scare the fk out of her at the London Dungeon which is more fun than standing in line for Madame Tussauds.
Don’t tease me about teh Mighty Whites.
We proudly stand 4′th in Division 1 (sometimes unkindly referred to as the 3′rd Division by Chelski supporters or those fair-weather fans who support teams in diabolical red.
16 Sep 2008, 23:31 pm
#456 SodaJoe: Look, Jacobs has been one of the top 3 standout performers this year for the Boks, and Fourie will have to fight for his place, but I reckon he is better.
From that point of view, at least we have decent competition for the 13 jersey. Can only be good. 13 is the least of our problems anyway. I’m thinking fullback, wing (Nokwe, Ndungane and Chavanga are still very raw. Not so much Ndungane but he is hardly going to set the world on fire), FLYHALF, opensider, lock and tighthead.
16 Sep 2008, 23:34 pm
#456 wooden spoon: Agree on wing, openside flank. Tighthead – with Beast in CJ looked good actually. Bismark Vs Smittie – now that’s going to be a tough call, but Bis CANNOT THROW IN THE BALL – FFS.
16 Sep 2008, 23:35 pm
#456 wooden spoon: Flyhalf most certainly. I really like Pienaar, and to my mind he looked the part, and Grant has a shout. Both would be great for the future. Now.
16 Sep 2008, 23:36 pm
Bud I have to go. See you through the window.
16 Sep 2008, 23:36 pm
#457 SodaJoe: London is great, there is so much to do the challenge will be fitting everything in.
I intensely dislike English teams that play in red, possibly because that’s the only colour you see hanging from rearview mirrors in cars in Durbs. I hate how SA ‘fans’ restrict themselves to Man U, Liverpool and Arsenal (and Chelsea since Abromovich arrived with the dough), but I guess it’s only natural to support fashionable sides when you generally have no ties to the country.
16 Sep 2008, 23:37 pm
#461 SodaJoe: Cheers.
17 Sep 2008, 00:00 am
howzit folks
without discounting/discarding talents like smit, bismark and cj, imagine a front row of beast, chilli, mujati
17 Sep 2008, 00:22 am
Beast.
All i can say is awesome.
He is the only player that i would probably cheer if he scored a try against NZ.
I have been a fan of beast since he came onto the international scene.Especially like the way the South Africans get behind this guy,its great to see.Great runner with the ball.
Has anyone talked to him?To me he seems he would be a quite speaker
17 Sep 2008, 00:22 am
Quite=Quiet
17 Sep 2008, 00:48 am
#464 Hurricane: mate, beast got a few man of the match awards this season, and each time in the interview he is very humble and always answers question from the point of view of his team, considering his team mates and what the team needs.
sounds like a cheerful chap really
kudos to him for developing his tight game on the international level to complement his outstanding loose game.
17 Sep 2008, 01:17 am
#465 Tomsta:
Hey tomsta
Yeah thought Beast would be like that,does seem very humble just by looking at him.Lets hope he stays in that Bok jersey
17 Sep 2008, 01:31 am
#466 Hurricane:
you going to the sevens?
17 Sep 2008, 02:43 am
Master stroke by **** Muir converting Beast…
17 Sep 2008, 03:10 am
carol meredith ?
very original
17 Sep 2008, 08:17 am
I’m a huge Beast fan – he does however need to get stuck in a little more, seem to be more on the wing than he should. We just did not seem to have the intimidating edge up front in this T-Nations. Also due to Bakkies and Smittie been out,
17 Sep 2008, 12:49 pm
The new SA RUGBY is here!!! Hell yes!!! Thanks for making it my only high point of a month guys. Keep the mag lekker.
…though Keo, Im still waiting for my signed MONTY!!
17 Sep 2008, 15:22 pm
Beast is fantastic. Particularly his loose play, however as Honkie says he needs to get stuck in a bit more at the break down, his game against Ozz 58-5 win, he was immense in all areas of the game. even had a few fights to compliment that.. lol Go beast..
17 Sep 2008, 15:23 pm
Mujati is overrated I prefer the BEAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
17 Sep 2008, 23:15 pm
Anyone see that picture in this month’s Sports Illustrated (Sorry Keo, it came out a day earlier than the SARUGBY) where Beast is doing incline dumbbell presses with 80kg dumbbells?!
18 Sep 2008, 12:36 pm
#181 Puma:
The Pacific Islanders that have lived in NZ most of there lifes do class themselves as New Zealanders as well as there home nation.I dont know what your post is getting at.
So if someone is born in Zim they are not South African even though they lived in SA most of there life?
Have you been to NZ Puma?
18 Sep 2008, 13:35 pm
BBBBEEEEEAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSTTTTTTTT!!!! He has the makings of being a Bok legend. He is on his way to becoming a complete Loosehead with the X-factor! And well, I do not see the arguments of his legitimacy of playing for SA as being valid. SA is the only world class rugby team in SA, and if there are classy players in Southern African countries, they should qualify themselves to play for SA. We’ve seen many a waste of great talents, such as Kees Lensing (Namibia) not fulfilling their potential due to their lack of games in international rugby.
France has seen this problem, hence they’ve naturalised Africans such as Yannick Nyanga, Thierry Dusautoir, and Serge Betsen to play for them.
1 Oct 2008, 13:39 pm
Heinke VD Merwe is a BEAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!He should be starting as is the next OS. Give him game time just like you gave Beast and youll see what a class act he is