Beauty of the Beast

Tendai Mtawarira has the potential to become one of the great loosehead props.

Beast was the success story of the recent Tri-Nations and is the future of Springbok rugby as far as the No 1 jersey is concerned. In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale Wednesday, we speak to him about his storming season and he whether he can become the new Os du Randt. Bok forwards coach Gary Gold also explains in detail what makes Beast so special.

“He is the most improved player in South Africa over the last 12 months bar none,” Gold says. “He’s come on in leaps and bounds in all departments – his fitness and conditioning, his game sense and understanding of his role. But the most notable improvement has been his scrumming. I’ve never seen a player develop so quickly in this regard. It’s phenomenal.”

Also in issue 139 of SA Rugby magazine:

Jake White speaks out: “I have never tried to undermine Peter de Villiers or the Boks this season”

– Two victories out of six in the Tri-Nations was just not good enough for the world champions. We compile a report card for Peter de Villiers’s stint at the helm of the Boks and explain what he’ll have to do to pass the next examination with distinction

Keo on why doubts remain about the intellectual capital and emotional intelligence of the Springbok coaching team

Joe van Niekerk may have left for Toulon, but he wants to play for the Springboks again. He speaks about this and what he hopes to achieve in France over the next 10 months.

– After a six-year absence from the national set-up, Adi Jacobs returned to the Test fold, manning the midfield with maturity. He reflects on his season and hits back at those critics who say he’s too small and weak on defence.

– Could privatisation be the ingredient needed to invigorate a bland Absa Currie Cup? We look at how our domestic competition would benefit from a dramatic revamp

– Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Waylon Murray, Brad Barritt – what’s gone wrong with this golden generation of backline players for the Sharks? We ask head coach John Plumtree and backs coach Grant Bashford.

Heinrich Brussow may be small in stature but he’s set to make a big impact at the business end of this year’s Absa Currie Cup

Nick Koster is still only 19 but his impact on Western Province this season has been sensational

Eddie Jones on the Boks’ problems, where Peter de Villiers is going wrong, their lack of fitness, how it can be turned around quickly and why he’d want to coach them if the opportunity arose

– Neither Western Province nor the Sharks want to move into new football stadiums after the 2010 Fifa World Cup, but they may soon change their minds

– A six-month injury lay-off gave Chiliboy Ralepelle the opportunity to breathe and assess his life goals and aspirations. It also strengthened his resolve never to be a political puppet. Now he’s braced for the challenge of dragging himself up the pecking order of talented hookers until he faces his mentor John Smit in the battle for the bok No 2 jersey

– At 33, and having been out of rugby for three seasons, there were plenty who thought Robbie Deans was mad to bring rugby league star Brad Thorn back to the Crusaders. But the big man has been one of the stars of this season

* To subscribe to SA Rugby magazine e-mail kara@hsm.co.za or phone (021) 416-0141

481 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 51.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#46 greatest13gerber: lol, ollie was still around to take a cc or two from the bulls.

i dont think they are the same player.

now heinke is powerful sure, but he doesnt do enough around the field imo. but having the two of them is a good place to be.

• 52.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

#48 Dazzler: Greatest are going to correct you by saying Gerber was the greatest player from Despatch.

• 53.oubaas aka durbstormer: Reply to this comment

You have perform for more than half a season to be “great”, I will wait…

• 54.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#43 It is just a game:

ah Skipper..dont’ get this converting winger to hooker BS..everyone lookin to make the next Uli maybe? :D

#45 oxfordshark:

sorry. I didn’t go Oxford..heck I never read much books at school

• 55.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

#52 It is just a game:

Just like Vic, Bakkies and a whole host of others arent from Pretoria…

must’ve made him sick that Liefling was actually a WP boy…

• 56.oubaas aka durbstormer: Reply to this comment

..have to perform ,sorry!

• 57.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

#54 greatest13gerber: Nor do i,just live in this rip off of a town but atleast i can see the big letters!!

• 58.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#48 Dazzler:

Correction fool, Danie Gerber is born and bred Despatch and OP boy. His time in other provinces was professional. nothing more. His heart is Despatch and he has said this many times.

his association with OP is legend.

• 59.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

#58 greatest13gerber:

But still (fool), no matter how many people you say that to, he will ALWAYS be known to Joe Public as a WP legend… that’s gotta hurt.

Blue and white hoops buddy, that’s what it’s all about. Get your a beautiful WP jersey with 13 Gerber on the back!

• 60.Brurasmus: Reply to this comment

23 It is just a game

When you look ofr such a player in the mould of dan carter i think we have one in Sias Ebersohn, one of those free stater twins. He hasn’t convinced as yet locally but his brother has been outstanding. I dont know why cheetahs waste their time with potgieter when sias whould be a great back up for chris russouw

• 61.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#59 Dazzler:

that WP jersey going straight in the fire after I spit on it

• 62.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#60 Brurasmus:

Sias Ebersohn??..Dan Carter mould??…:D

• 63.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

#61 greatest13gerber:

You make the Bulls and Loftus so proud… and who says stereotype’s dont exist

• 64.Sh Sh Shark: Reply to this comment

#18 Puma: Sorry Boet.
    Please check Eddie Jones record before you employ him. eg.
    Worst Aussie record ever 2005 – Lost 8 from 9 – contract terminated with 2 yrs left.
    Queensland Reds 2007 – finished bottom with 2 home wins including that Bulls thrashing 93-3.

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

#64 Sh Sh Shark: Also got a world cup medal and a runners up medal? Highly respected by SA players, we could do a lot worse??

• 66.Manfredo: Reply to this comment

That’s correct – The Beast will be the best and greatest loosehead prop – if he is not already. And so will Adi Jacobs (centre). A shame though that the whites won’t ever admit that and will not give them a fair chance.

I hope snor will soon pick an all black team – I am sure the results will be much better as will the future of SA rugby.

• 67.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#65 grant10:

you mean Chester Williams?

• 68.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#66 Manfredo: that was sweet.

but sour.

you a chinese tshabalala by any chance?

• 69.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#66 Manfredo:

wake up my friend and smell reality. talking BS.

• 70.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

#69 greatest13gerber:

You’re right about one thing, he does neet to wake up and smell reality. However so do you, you are the same as him on the other end of the scale… pro-white.

I’ve read alot of your comments on this site and i’m confident that in saying you yearn for the old days would not be far off the mark as well.

• 71.Staal: Reply to this comment

ek sien party ouens hier is ook lede van die flat earth society! Sterkte.

• 72.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#70 Dazzler:

what color got do with it?

is it crime yearn for teh peace and security of teh old days?

pro white? I am pro rainbow..I go with the change.

NTvl forever!..but that not make me a racist?

come on

• 73.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#66 Manfredo: By your comments you appear to think black people are better at playing rugby than white people. Rugby playing ability is not based on skin colour.

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#73 Big Hit: manfredo is a troll.

the use of “snor” indicates he is looking for biters.

• 75.SyKoPlaya: Reply to this comment

Personally, I don’t care what colour the players are, what colour the coach is, or anything else along those lines – I just want to win ……..

• 76.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#74 rangerman: probably from CT as well

• 77.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Tendai Mtawarira is the present and the future…

Once in a while there are players who come arouind and change the face of the game with their athletic abilities etc.

The likes of:

Michael Jones
    Jonah Lomu
    Josh Kronfeld
    Steve Larkham

As Beast develops his scrumming to that where he consistenly dominates opposition(which he is well on his way to doing),why would one ever look past him?Guthro Steenkamp is less athletic but in the same mould.Which leaves the likes of Heinke,Wian Du Preez etc with A LOT TO DO.Which in my opinion CANT.They simply arent as gifted.period.

This is not to say those players arent great players in their own right,but a fully fit & on form Beast,Guthro-will in my books always trump the others

Much like Carl Hayman when he started playing for AB’s,he struggled with his scrumming,especially consistency.But his biggest upside was his SIZE and MOBILITY.The AB’s sacrificed the scrumming ability of Sommerville at the time(04-05) to develop the juggernaut that became Hayman.The results speak for themselves.(Kees Meeuws was also the same in the late 90′s)

Heinke vd Merwe reminds me a lot of Marius Hurter.Was always in Bok reckoning in the mid-to late 90′s whith his powerful scrumming but never held a starting berth consistently.Got overlooked for the likes Adrian Garvey,Cobus Visagie,Dawie Theron,Toks van der Linde etc-I hope he rounds of the rest of his game.One prime facet of play is not enough to hold down a test berth in test rugby.perfection or sumthin close to it is needed.

• 78.SyKoPlaya: Reply to this comment

#77 mshiniwami:

Beast is a good young player with a very bright future – lets hope and pray that he is managed and coached well, then he may be a great player revered around the the world.

But for now, let him enjoy his rugby and let’s not “jinx” him by placing too great an exception on him so soon. One season doesn’t make a career.

• 79.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#77 mshiniwami:

“One prime facet of play is not enough to hold down a test berth in test rugby.perfection or sumthin close to it is needed”

That is a good analysis. I agree.

Heinkie for me reminds me of a young Hein Rodgers, Johan Styger..destructive at scrum but lacking in other areas. Hurter scrummaging faded after a while. More selected for his mobility in his early rep career.

• 80.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#74 rangerman: ahh well spotted. I shall endeavour to ignore in future.

• 81.gunther: Reply to this comment

#68 rangerman: certainly some kind of root vegetable…. I am getting very bored with the racial bickering on this site- its pointlless and quite depressing..

• 82.jonnow: Reply to this comment

“– Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Waylon Murray, Brad Barritt – what’s gone wrong with this golden generation of backline players for the Sharks? We ask head coach John Plumtree and backs coach Grant Bashford.”

Well so far what has gone wrong is they are leading the Currie Cup with a few points to clear…….

• 83.SyKoPlaya: Reply to this comment

#82 jonnow:

Touche

• 84.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#81 gunther: you lucky

I get labelled “pro white” and racist because I love my province :(

• 85.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#82 jonnow: and reached the S14 semi final

• 86.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hehe, you guys are keeping to the line now. i likes.

dont let a thread on possibly the most exciting young prop in worl rugby degenerate.

BEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSST!!!!!

• 87.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#81 gunther: yup, but its got a bit better.

#77 mshiniwami: as usual, considered, well though out opinion mshini.
    i battle to remember why we didnt get along at first. keep the truth coming man.

• 88.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#86 rangerman:

please don’t do that. fcking annoying.

• 89.Ethel: Reply to this comment

I

B-E-A-S-T – oh he is my favorite playa. Go Beast go…

Hello all you blogerists!

• 90.tight head: Reply to this comment

#86 rangerman:
    Calm down Ranger, calm down!!
    It’s a pity his backs are so bad, according to the article.
    Imagine how good they will be when they come right!!

• 91.Ethel: Reply to this comment

#88 greatest13gerber: Let’s anoy you more

BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTT

• 92.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Rumour has it he is high on Rassies shopping list ? And Mujati is helping getting him here ?

• 93.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

#88 greatest13gerber: BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast
    BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast BeastBeastBeastBeastBeastBeast

• 94.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#92 sparticus:

only if WP can attract some rich Arabs :D

• 95.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#93 It is just a game:

for fck sake…………..”report comment” coming up

• 96.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#88 greatest13gerber: ok, quiet one……beeeeaasssssst!

#90 tight head: phew, thank goodness you have arrived, just in the nick of time. i was having a beer flashback to sat!

ja, the backline is kak, our three tries were kak and the 60m droppie into the wind was KAK!

ag, the golden generation se gat. i am looking forward to s14 already. plum is getting our lads right!

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#95 greatest13gerber: dont be BEEEAAAASTLY!

• 98.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#96 rangerman:

don’t let over confidence blind you

• 99.Ethel: Reply to this comment

#97 rangerman: Ullo dangerman!

• 100.Ethel: Reply to this comment

#84 greatest13gerber: maar hulle hou nie van jou nie.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.