Welsh eye Bok scalp
16 Sep 2008
Former Welsh wing Ieuan Evans believes the Springboks will be Wales’ easiest southern hemisphere opposition during the end-of-year tours.
Wales play the Boks on 8 November followed by Canada, Australia and New Zealand – all at the Millennium Stadium on successive weekends. Former Welsh captain Evans believes the world champions present the easiest opportunity for the Six Nations champs to cause an upset over the Tri-Nations teams.
“South Africa is the best chance of a win. Australia are probably the most innovative [of the three] and New Zealand are going to be a handful,” Evans told Scrum V.
He cited player burnout, which is not easing up as most of the Springboks have gone straight from the internationals into Absa Currie Cup action, as a reason to make the Welsh favourites. He also highlighted how the Bok players have struggled to understand Peter de Villiers’s game-plan as an added bonus for the hosts.
“South Africa are still unsure what sort of game they want to play. Also, a lot of their players are looking tired. Butch James has played two years of solid rugby.”
Not even a year after their World Cup triumph and the Boks already seem to have lost their aura of World Champions in the eyes of the northern hemisphere.

410 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All
16 Sep 2008, 13:08 pm
#246 cab: Best tap tackle – Gary Armstrong
Hardest, fairest tackler (the alternative selection) – Scott Gibbs, Jason White, Trevor Leota.
16 Sep 2008, 13:09 pm
#249 johnnybravo: not if the forwards kept getting turned over
#250 WP Till I Die: it must be broken then because he’s not doing too well
#243 Big Hit:
put money on it. Cipriani will play 12 or 15(likely) next yr for the Lions.
15.Cipriani
14.Williams
13.O’Driscoll
12.Flood
11.Lamont
10.Wilkinson
09.Blair
possible Lions test XV?
#248 Big Hit:
lol, Lima’s tackles were more like execution’s, never seen anything like it.
i thought his tackle on a young hougaardt were horror events, but if u look at what he attempted on AP in the world cup, i aint seen anything like it.
#246 cab: It has to be Scott Gibbs. Just ask Os
16 Sep 2008, 13:10 pm
#251 stodders: White’s probably the hardest tackler ever given his size (maybe Ox du randt). But he doesn’t do it consistently.
16 Sep 2008, 13:10 pm
#249 johnnybravo:
I still believe that Morne Steyn is our answer at 10. He’s the most rounded FH in the country. He just needs to work on his goalkicking. a Few sessions with Monty and it’ll be sorted.
16 Sep 2008, 13:11 pm
#251 stodders:
Scott Gibbs was an immensely hard running centre, but tackler, not so sure.
Jason White is very physical, but not sure he really piledrove ppl back like the 3 i listed.
Leota made some huge hit, before his gut got the better of him, was at the cheetahs at one stage with ollie le roux, bejesus what a frontrow,
16 Sep 2008, 13:12 pm
#255 stodders:
I second that. Scott Gibbs was hard for a little fella
16 Sep 2008, 13:13 pm
#253 greatest13gerber: O’Driscoll has ground to make up, he’s not looking sharp these days.
Lions backline:
9. Blair (or Danny Care)
10. Wilkinson (fitness permitting)
11. Williams
12. Henson /Cipriani
13. Shanklin
14. Sackey
15. Kearney
16 Sep 2008, 13:13 pm
#255 stodders:
yeah that was a big tackle, but i think Os was slightly offbalance and unawares in that one, think its on utube somewhere.
16 Sep 2008, 13:14 pm
#252 Big Hit:
Well, Lizzie’s old, and prone to fainting.
I love the old bat, she has a wicked sense of humour.
16 Sep 2008, 13:14 pm
#213 WP Till I Die: Peter who?
16 Sep 2008, 13:15 pm
#258 cab: White can piledrive people, he broke Lawrence Dallaglio in half and Lol is a big guy but he doesn’t do it consistently enough.
#254 cab: yeah he tried to take Wilko’s head off too, when he gets it right tho, no one can match Lima’s ‘punch’ in the tackle
16 Sep 2008, 13:16 pm
#260 Big Hit:
Please don’t put Henson there.
I despise him.
He violated my sweetheart, Charlotte Church. He defiled her. She’s damaged goods now, thanks to him.
He is dead to me now.
16 Sep 2008, 13:17 pm
#264 Big Hit: lima is a thug man. he did the same high tackling kak in the 1995 wc.
i laughed my head off when the tosser knocked himself senseless on andre pretorius’s shoulder last year.
what a ****.
16 Sep 2008, 13:18 pm
Brian Lima!..sh*t, he is number one!
no one comes close.
end of debate
16 Sep 2008, 13:18 pm
#260 Big Hit:
i see you’ve picked the world’s greatest winger at 11, o’driscoll actually looks a bit heavy and out of shape, on your query on south african opensiders that fit the mould, as johnny said above probably baywatch is the toughest and most selfless, but he does not have the body position techniques of the best antipedean fectchers, yet.
croft is an an example of the size cuto-off that White was right about imo, has the same tigrish attitude and body position skills, but simply too small to compete against the likes of Waugh, Smith and even the new oke for NSA, beaux robinson.
16 Sep 2008, 13:19 pm
#253 greatest13gerber: Lions test XV:
1. A. Sheridan
2. D. Hartley
3. ? (Not many good tight heads in Britain and Ireland)
4. N. Hines
5. P. O’Connell
6. J. Haskell
7. A. Hogg/T. Rees/M Williams
8. R. Jones
9. M. Blair/M. Phillips
10. J. Wilkinson/ D. Cipriani
11. S. Lamont
12. G. Henson
13. T. Shanklin
14. S. Williams
15. R. Lamont
16 Sep 2008, 13:20 pm
#265 WP Till I Die:
I hate Henson..overrated.
Darcy and Flood are better options.
16 Sep 2008, 13:21 pm
#265 WP Till I Die: haha, I don’t think he defiled her, she’s a game sorta girl if u know what i mean
#268 cab: deysel? I actually think van heerden could still do a job, should kept with him
16 Sep 2008, 13:21 pm
#270 greatest13gerber: D’Arcy is always broken (would you want him to take up a valuable spot on the tour knowing he is going to breakdown against Valke 3rds!)
Flood isn’t even the best 12 in England.
16 Sep 2008, 13:22 pm
#264 Big Hit:
yeah lima comes in at such a speed and with such committment he just cleans everything out.
But for sheer momentum, i think if a package of Os du Randts greatest tackles were put together, it would make for quite a spectable. Os was not only huge, what many dont realise is he had the pace of a back, i saw him make a tackle on lomu, which is the one and only time when i think Lomu got up and felt what it was like to be really mowed down in a tackle.
16 Sep 2008, 13:22 pm
#269 stodders:
Lions test XV:
1. A. Sheridan
2. D. Hartley
3. ? (Not many good tight heads in Britain and Ireland)
4. N. Hines
5. P. O’Connell
6. J. Haskell
7. A. Hogg/T. Rees/M Williams
8. R. Jones
9. M. Blair/M. Phillips
10. J. Wilkinson/ D. Cipriani
11. S. Lamont
12. G. Henson/Riki Flutey (if he plays well for England, he could be a shoe in). first Kiwi to play for the Lions
13. T. Shanklin
14. S. Williams
15. R. Lamont
16 Sep 2008, 13:24 pm
#269 stodders: Hartley still has a bit to do, I’d choose Flannery of Ireland at hooker. Vickery if fit will be tighthead. Hines the angry aussie is a bit of a liability, Shaw or o’callaghan. Openside will be Rees or Moody if fit. And you’ve seen my backs, R.Lamont isn’t starting at 15 for Sale, Tait is.
16 Sep 2008, 13:24 pm
#269 stodders:
not bad..
some certainties..
1.Sheriden
2.Thompson(to return?)
3.Vickery/Stevens
some bolters…
8.James Forrester
2.Mark Regan( one last campaign?)
16 Sep 2008, 13:25 pm
#271 Big Hit:
She was virginal!
Then he put his grubby hands on her.
*******. I **** in his general direction.
16 Sep 2008, 13:25 pm
#273 cab: Wish i could see Lomu getting smashed, Mike Catt didn’t quite manage it
16 Sep 2008, 13:26 pm
#277 WP Till I Die: she’s got her own chat show here WPTID, and she’s anything but virginal, ask stodders
16 Sep 2008, 13:27 pm
#275 Big Hit:
Brad Barritt!!
Big Hit, I am quite certain Geechs already has in mind the players he wants to look at. I think he will base his backline game around an experienced pommy pack.
#272 stodders: Flood’s playing some good rugby at Leicester, don’t be surprised to see him in the squad.
#275 Big Hit: Flannery is too hit and miss as a lineout thrower. Against the Boks, we need consistency from the hooker.
Vickery won’t make it.
Hines is needed to bully Bakkies.
Hogg is a better openside than Moody. Rees is a good player too, but Martyn Williams may be selected depending on the type of Game Mceechan wants to play.
R. Lamont isn’t starting yet, but he has come back from a horrific injury (Balshaw’s knee in Calcutta cup match last year). Tait will do well to keep him out for the full season.
16 Sep 2008, 13:28 pm
#281 Big Hit: He’s playing 10, not 12. On that basis, there are better 10s who can also play 12 to chose from (Cipriani and Hook)
16 Sep 2008, 13:29 pm
#280 greatest13gerber: Thats what Woodward did, it didn’t work out. You might be right though, I would go for a big pack against the Boks too. Sheridan, Vickery, Shaw, Haskell and Moody would be certainties in my team with Jones, Flannery and O’Connell filling the gaps, thats a monster pack.
16 Sep 2008, 13:29 pm
#279 Big Hit:
Yip, she’s not virginal anymore. The point is, she was. Before Henson came along.
Oh, and I have an irrational fear of the Easter Bunny.
16 Sep 2008, 13:30 pm
#280 greatest13gerber: That’s what Woodward did last time and it worked a treat!
I don’t think you know McGeechan too well. He will select who he thinks the best players are, then he will give them all ample chance to stake a claim for the test side. The side that runs on in test 1 will be the best team on tour, not the best team conceived in a pub on the Thames!
If you don’t believe me, check out the team that played SA in 1997. There were a few Englishmen, but not that many.
16 Sep 2008, 13:31 pm
#282 stodders: Hartley’s been missing his throws for Northampton too. Mears is the best thrower of them. Hogg isn’t on that level, I’d back Barclay ahead of Hogg. Hines bullying Bakkies would probably get us a red card. O’Connell can mix it with Botha.
16 Sep 2008, 13:32 pm
#278 Big Hit:
yeah unless u count the smashing inflicted on lomu’s studs by mike’s head.
as for the os tackle on lomu, there were two SA defenders, but think that was incidental and not Os’ intention to double tag, he simply lines up and charges, normally puts in 2 or 3 in per game, can miss quite spectacularly, but gets down low and unbelievable accurate when one considers the bulk being shunted around.
16 Sep 2008, 13:36 pm
#286 stodders:
thats true. That ’97 side had a lot of shockers in terms of selection but Geechs picked the personnel he thought could do the job. Not necessarily the form players form the 6N. You’re right about him picking his test side during the tour.
That competitiveness is soo important and what was missing from the disaster that was ’05
Bring back Mark Regan..that guy annoyed the hell out of the Bok pack!..old dog
16 Sep 2008, 13:37 pm
#286 stodders: 1997 team:
1. Smith (Sco)
2. Wood (Ire)
3. Wallace (Ire)
4. Johnson (Eng)
5. Davidson (Ire)
6. Dallaglio (Eng)
7. Hill (Eng)
8. Rodber (Eng)
9. Dawson (Eng)
10. Townsend (Sco)
11. Bentley (Eng)
12. Gibbs (Wal)
13. Guscott (Eng)
14. Tait (Sco)
15. Jenkins (Wal)
I think thats accurate, a lot of injuries though.
16 Sep 2008, 13:38 pm
#284 Big Hit:
Sheridan – ok. But maybe McGeechan will select a smaller, more technical loosehead like he did playing Tom Smith in 1997. It was a masterstroke in 1997. Does lightning strike twice?
Shaw – there are better tighter locks available in the British Isles than Shaw. Hines, O’Callaghan are but two.
Haskell – ok. But he will have his work cut out against the likes of Jonathan Thomas. Keep an eye out for Tom Croft as a bolter.
Moody – Nope. Not when you have better specialist players like Hogg, Rees and Williams. Moody may go as he is a 6/7 hybrid and would be valuable bench cover.
No bulk lost, and better players to boot. It is a myth that England has all the big players. They get bullied just as much by other teams as they bully them these days.
16 Sep 2008, 13:41 pm
#291 stodders: ‘They get bullied just as much by other teams as they bully them these days.’
with their first choice pack out, this simply isn’t true
16 Sep 2008, 13:43 pm
#291 stodders:
8.Taylor
7.Wallace
6.Ryan Jones/Julian White
the depth is quite bad in many positions. Sheriden and Stevens are best of whats availible. there is no Tom Smith in the NH at present. Sheriden is getting stronger and better. he will be a dangerman.
16 Sep 2008, 13:43 pm
Let me guess, with Stodders on the site the best players are the ones wearing the silver fern called the All Blacks.
They must have in Dan Carter the best FH, Richie MacCaw, the best flanker and Ali Williams, greatest living lock, Sivivati must be the gretaest winger, Meealamu must be the best sub etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc
Yawn, yawn, yawn
16 Sep 2008, 13:45 pm
What rubbish is this also about the Welsh eyeing the Boks, this must be a misprint, in more than 100 years of rugby they have only beaten the Boks once
Real intelligent nation the Welsh, aren’t they?
16 Sep 2008, 13:46 pm
Sheriden vs Mumjati
Sheriden will eat this boy alive. We will be weak at 3 come next season.
16 Sep 2008, 13:46 pm
#290 Big Hit: Lucky bunch, a drop kick from JeremyGuscot and Boks playing without a recognised kicker
16 Sep 2008, 13:47 pm
Lions
1. Sheridan 2. Flannery 3. Hayes
4. Shaw 5. O’Connel
6. White 7. Moody 8. Poppen
9. Cussitter/Peel 10. Wilko
12. Cipriani 13. BoD
11. Williams 14. R Lamont 15.
15. welsh fullback in 2nd test v SA in june
#296 greatest13gerber: No not really, Mujati will stand his ground and grab more ground like his father
#292 Big Hit: Who was missing from your first choice pack at Murrayfield last year?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All