Cyberspace mag? You decide
22 Sep 2008
Would you be interested in subscribing to an online edition of SA Rugby magazine?
Please visit http://www.keo.co.za/pages/ for a sample of an online edition and let us know what you think.
If you live in SA would you rather read the mag online or in print? And how much would you be prepared to pay for the online version?
How many of you who live overseas, and aren’t prepared to pay for a print subscription, would consider the online version instead?
Post your comments below.

136 Comments
22 Sep 2008, 10:27 am
#48 King Shark:
Agreed
22 Sep 2008, 10:37 am
been asking for this for ages. What about selling the subscription at the same price as the mag. Would it be possible to get back issues online as well?
22 Sep 2008, 10:47 am
Hi all, been a long while since I was last in the online mix – ….. ah the great outdoors. I recommend it asap al you city slickers!
I was at a farm with no cell reception and a scratchy line, so decided to listen to the crazy sounds of the night.
Anyway, yes to the online mag edition. Also less of a footprint then the irrigation-to-tree-to-chainsaw-to-truck-to-warming gasses-polution-to-factory-to-chemicals-to-more warmin polution-to-paper plastic based gloss-chemicals- to print etc..etc… etc….
22 Sep 2008, 10:52 am
#53 zeitgeist: hmm, good point and being an eco warrior i likes, but where is the energy coming from to power all the computers?
also, at least the trees act as a carbon sink before they are harvested.
so many variables. its the 11th hour.
22 Sep 2008, 10:54 am
#53 zeitgeist: on that note, i will be in the maputo elephant reserve, braaing prawns on my campfire in three weeks time.
22 Sep 2008, 10:57 am
Yes im interested. Make it free – rahter put some ads in there to cover the cost
22 Sep 2008, 11:09 am
#54 rangerman: lol…. we did make the back ground black to same power
22 Sep 2008, 11:11 am
The online version will never replace the print copy, I see a lot of you want you would like past issues. how far back are we talking?
22 Sep 2008, 11:17 am
#57 Roy: hehe, like that google version?
thats outstanding roy!
22 Sep 2008, 11:18 am
#58 Roy: its a good idea for many expats. its a great mag but i expect a few baffled bosses around the world as internet usage spikes every month
22 Sep 2008, 11:26 am
#54 rangerman: Maputo sounds great, was there in 1999. Stayed on an island, only camping avail, had to fetch water from a well. Lots and lots and lots of fish. They would practically jump from the reef onto your braai! Unbelievable that places like that still exist.
Thought of that too, but the power for computers is so small the footprint is negligeable compared to even a walk to your CNA for a newspaper. Also carbon sink is better left in place then chopped down. At some point I am looking to buy a home wind-turbine solution. All power supplied in Cape Town conditions. Except heating – then solar for geyser, but on grid at times. Cooking methods too – to cook rice can take 40 mins, but if you use the wrap technique all you need to do is bring it to the boil in a few mins, wrap in a thermal blanket and in 20 mins you will have a steaming pot of fluffy rice/lentils/whatever etc cooked to perfection.
22 Sep 2008, 11:26 am
who cares
22 Sep 2008, 11:32 am
#61 zeitgeist: ja, all valid points.
i import a fluorescent energy saving system to south africa and we have had some successes with some large industrials. it is hard to break into a market but the large consumers/industrials are who we target as they have the biggest impact.
you were probably on inhaca island? the wife and i will camp south of the bay of maputo, in northern maputaland. the elephant reserve has about 250 eles that survived the war, but not much else. spectacular and isolated.
22 Sep 2008, 11:35 am
For my first page through I always take it to the bathroom.
Just in case I **** myself laughing if there is a photo of yet another attacker running straight over Liewe Lukie…….
22 Sep 2008, 11:40 am
#64 blhoo: or if Ollie opens his mouth.
22 Sep 2008, 11:45 am
No, please not. I am in the bush more than at home and have limited time on the net. I enjoy just sitting and reading and getting away from clients and other distractions
22 Sep 2008, 11:54 am
Not a bad idea at all.I am based overseas and have to wait longer to get my copy.This way I can read the mag whenever I want online.Access to past issues is a bonus.
22 Sep 2008, 11:57 am
Make it free and support it with advertising – thats the model that seems to work
22 Sep 2008, 12:01 pm
#68 vindicated: morning, where ya been?
22 Sep 2008, 12:08 pm
#68 vindicated: are we not on speaking terms?
22 Sep 2008, 12:22 pm
#63 rangerman: Ja Inhaca is the one!
22 Sep 2008, 12:29 pm
#68 vindicated: this is sa. no business will give you anything for free. you just get shafted from pillar to post.
22 Sep 2008, 12:44 pm
Overseas reader here, I think it’s a great idea!
Ad supported and free would be great, perhaps releasing them slower than the print based mags so not to detract from the traditional business.
22 Sep 2008, 12:46 pm
As an overseas resident I would definately subscribe to online mag. Hard copy is always better but I have never managed to subscribe to it and where I am I know for a fact I would only receive my January copy in Febuary or March!!
22 Sep 2008, 12:46 pm
#68 vindicated:
But then how will keo sponsor his visits to Carlucci’s?
22 Sep 2008, 12:49 pm
I think it is a good idea…I would read it. I would pay a subsription fee only if there is no cut and paste articles. Articles must be exclusive to the magazine.
Then go one better…on the online version you add Keo forum to each article. You will definitely get visitors as well as you guys can measure your content and popularity.
22 Sep 2008, 12:50 pm
Roy,
A very good idea Roy,
keep the basic Mag format, but with the odd extra Cyber/Keo type article.
i.e.
An Introductory article on yourself Roy.
Headline it………………”Meet the Mother that Shafted Skoppie’.
22 Sep 2008, 12:50 pm
#68 vindicated: This would only work if the volumes where huge + we can’t change the mag for the digital views, it must be the same as the print copy
22 Sep 2008, 12:57 pm
In the interests of freedom of information, I’d like to know who e-mailed Roy and threatened legal action if skoppie was not red-carded.
22 Sep 2008, 13:00 pm
Do both. Those who subscribe to the hardcopy get free access to online version but no download available. Also as someone said – make online version only available a few days later than hardcopy release.
Online version must be much cheaper. Small premium charged for download. ?
22 Sep 2008, 13:20 pm
Hi Simon
Good idea. I won’t buy/read it online myself but my feeling is someone overseas would. I’d rather have the mag in my hands on a Sunday afternoon, with a cold beer next to me – just doesn’t have the same effect doing the same on my laptop
Maybe a model to follow is the same that the Mail & Guardian does – have a look at http://www.mg.co.za. Also, might be worth your while to give them a call. Sure they have some insghts for you to learn from…
Still, if there was opportunity for me to make comments on articles, mag layout, new features etc – I would consider it more.
Keep up the good work!
22 Sep 2008, 13:32 pm
i’ll only subscribe to this mag
if we’re able to edit it!
22 Sep 2008, 13:33 pm
Hey guys, as an expat I would definately subscribe as long as the price is reasonable and I can download the whole doc in on go.
Yebo yesssssssss, I’d like to subscribe to the Online Mag……. most often too lazy to go buy the damn Printed version at the shops……. I hateeeeeeeeee shopping.
So make the Online Mag the same price and I’m in !
yeah i’d subscribe, but how secure is the site going to be? last thing u want is wedge dissapearing into the Fern – Back from the dead – Biltong, bank account.
#79 WP Till I Die: Was Dawn nie voor op die bandwagon met die Skoppie-saga nie?
22 Sep 2008, 13:34 pm
I live out of SA and would go for it, if the format was convenient and you didn’t try to rip off everyone outside SA with the ridiculous theory “they are earning dollars, pounds etc”. Also as the ads are irrelevant to us expats you need to think of a way just to provide content or ads that are meaningful. Overall it is a good idea though and I look forward to hearing more.
22 Sep 2008, 13:45 pm
The online magazine is an wesome idea – easier on the environment and easy to get to (for us Safas overseas)! Please do it! Please please please
22 Sep 2008, 13:58 pm
Not sure why, but enjoyed the latest one with Beast on the cover.
Good review on PdV.
22 Sep 2008, 14:02 pm
#89 Sheriff: what was their conclusion on PDV’s start?
22 Sep 2008, 14:07 pm
#90 Big Hit:
They looked at several aspects. He failed most, but passed a few.
22 Sep 2008, 14:08 pm
#91 Sheriff:
Did he pass the “entertainment value” segment?
22 Sep 2008, 14:14 pm
#92 WP Till I Die:
Did not read in detail, read it last week some time.
Personally, I want PdV to do his talking on the field. Off the field the following apply: less is more
It’s a pity that the Boks did not respond quicker. Hopefully it will pay off next year.
22 Sep 2008, 14:15 pm
Sounds like a great idea.
22 Sep 2008, 14:17 pm
#91 Sheriff: fair enough, I think he and his coaching team are definitely worth persisting with for the NH tour but they need to reproduce the performances like the one v Aus last time out.
22 Sep 2008, 14:21 pm
#95 Big Hit:
The Boks were on fire coming back to the CC.
Something happened at Ellis (Coke) park that day. The 53-8 result was a bonus but for the Boks as a unit it was a special day!
22 Sep 2008, 14:26 pm
sure thing, only k@k mags in the middle east, when do we sign up?
22 Sep 2008, 14:49 pm
#97 omanishark:
Smut’s pretty hard to come by, I reckon?
22 Sep 2008, 14:50 pm
I love the online version and will definitely subscribe.
22 Sep 2008, 15:09 pm
Overseas, and would love an online mag!