No shocks as Henry caps seven new ones

All Blacks coach Graham Henry named seven new All Blacks in his touring squad of 35.

The All Blacks play five Tests, one against Australia in Hong Kong and four against the home unions, and a midweek match against European champions Munster.

Scott Waldrom was the biggest talking point as he has been picked as back-up to All Blacks captain Richie McCaw. Other newcomers are Wellington outside backs Corey Jane and Hosea Gear, as well as loose forwards Kieran Reid (Canterbury) and Liam Messam (Waikato), props Ben Franks (Tasman) and Jamie Mackintosh.

Corey Flynn gets a recall after four years of international inactivity and All Blacks Jason Eaton, Ross Filipo and Joe Rokocoko are all back in the fold after missing the Tri Nations through lack of form or injury.

Henry told the media Waldrom was a form selection.

“He’s always shown a lot of X-factor. He’s quick and has got good skills,” Henry said of his new specialist No 7. “He played well in the Super 14, particularly later in the tournament and he played exceptionally well in this (Air New Zealand Cup) tournament. He gives us some good presence at the breakdowns for turnover ball. He has got good hands and he gets to places most guys cant get to because he’s so quick.

“He’s 28, he’s mature, he’s not a baby. And he knows what’s required. He played in a Taranaki side that probably boxed above their weight in the finish. He was one of the major reasons they did that.”

Sione Lauaki was the major casualty, although it would have been more of a shock had he been selected.

“He would be the first to admit his form hasn’t been as consistent or as high as we’d like it,” said All Blacks forwards coach Steve Hansen. “He’s got to go away now and decide whether he wants to be part of this team (again).”

John Afoa – Auckland
Anthony Boric – North Harbour
Daniel Carter – Canterbury
Jimmy Cowan – Southland
Stephen Donald – Waikato
Jason Eaton – Taranaki
Andy Ellis – Canterbury
Ross Filipo – Wellington
Corey Flynn – Canterbury
Ben Franks – * Tasman
Hosea Gear – * Wellington
Andrew Hore – Taranaki
Cory Jane * Wellington
Richard Kahui – Waikato
Jerome Kaino – Auckland
Richie McCaw – Canterbury (captain)
Jamie Mackintosh – * Southland
Keven Mealamu – Auckland
Liam Messam – * Waikato
Malili Muliaina – Waikato
Ma’a Nonu – Wellington
Kieran Read – * Canterbury
Josevata Rokocoko – Auckland
Sitiveni Sivivatu – Waikato
Conrad Smith – Wellington
Rodney So’oialo – Wellington
Adam Thomson – Otago
Brad Thorn – Tasman
Neemia Tialata – Wellington
Isaia Toeava – Auckland
Anthony Tuitavake – North Harbour
Scott Waldrom – * Taranaki
Piri Weepu – Wellington
Ali Williams – Tasman
Tony Woodcock – North Harbour
*No overseas-based All Blacks were considered for selection