Baa Baas confirm SA impact

Despite SA Rugby’s refusal to release some senior Boks to play for the Barbarians, the invitation team have named them in the squad to face Australia.

SA Rugby managing director Andy Marinos said last weekend that the Barbarians had not approached the organisation directly about the availability of the players. Marinos said that as things stood John Smit, Bryan Habana, Jean de Villiers, Fourie du Preez, Schalk Burger and Victor Matfield would not be available for the match at Wembley on 3 December.

Marinos cited player rest and rehabilitation as the main concern ahead of the British & Irish Lions tour next year. However, Matfield is the only one of the six left out of 22-man Baa Baas squad released on their official site.

Prop Gurthro Steenkamp, lock Bakkies Botha and centurion Percy Montgomery will also play, while uncapped Western Province flank Nick Koster is confirmed in the squad that contains nine South Africans. The World Cup-winning coaching pair of Jake White and Eddie Jones will take charge of the Barbarians.

Barbarians squad –

Backs – Percy Montgomery (SA), Bryan Habana (SA), Joe Rococoko (NZ), Shane Williams (Wales), Rico Gear (NZ), Jean de Villiers (SA), Ollie Smith (England), Francois Trinh-Duc (France), George Gregan (Australia), Fourie du Preez (SA)

Forwards – John Smit (SA), Mark Regan (England), Gurthro Steenkamp (SA), Carl Hayman (NZ), Patrice Collazo (France), Bakkies Botha (SA), Steve Borthwick (England), Chris Jack (NZ), Nick Koster (Western Province), Schalk Burger (SA), Jerry Collins (NZ), Richie McCaw (NZ)

Coach – Jake White

Assistant Coach – Eddie Jones