Smit calls for measured approach
15 Nov 2008
Dick Muir’s statement concerning an expansive style has been misunderstood by the media according to Springbok captain John Smit.
The Boks came to the United Kingdom with the aim of winning three Tests, and it was accepted that a direct playing style would be prudent in northern hemisphere conditions. The Boks employed this style in Cardiff and were expected to follow suit in Edinburgh, but Muir told a press conference on Thursday he hoped flyhalf Ruan Pienaar would play less conservatively and the Boks as a collective would run at the Scots.
Smit spoke with with a rye smile when commenting on this statement, and confirmed the Boks will keep to the direct approach at Murrayfield.
“I think if we played up in Iceland Dick would still talk about moving the ball around,” he told keo.co.za. “But what he’s said has been misconstrued. We want to move the ball around but you have to earn the right to play it wide first.
“It’s about building first and creating the opportunity. Then you have to be good enough to make that advantage count.”
The Boks aren’t too optimistic about the weather on Saturday, as the Edinburgh rain and wind is bound to affect proceedings. The fact that their best scrumhalf Fourie du Preez is out with an injury is a big blow considering how valuable he’d be in wet or windy conditions.
“It’s not ideal,” said Smit. “We wanted to draw strength from keeping the same 22 together for two weeks running, as it would help with our consistency. The only momentum we got out of last week was the result and there are aspects we are looking to improve.
“It’s not a train smash to lose Fourie, but it will affect you when you lose the best scrumhalf in the world. We’re lucky we have such an experienced player in Ricky [Januarie] to fill the gap, and while Ruan Pienaar may be under more pressure from a tactical kicking point of view, Ricky does bring other attributes to the team.”
This is the last opportunity for the Boks as they head into the all-important Twickenham Test on 22 November. Smit said they will not underestimate the Scots, but this fixture is also about building confidence before they meet England.
“Our focus is on our own performance no matter who we play,” he said.

663 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All
15 Nov 2008, 15:41 pm
#648 grootblousmile: Not sure. I think Big Hit said it was a NH ref and if we thought last weeks ref was bad he said just wait until we see this ref this week. So just hope that this ref does not make the same mistakes as last week. I think that they said up there that all the SH teams will be reffed by NH refs this tour up there. So think all 3 of us 3N teams will have NH refs. They are the worst really and we complain about the Aussies and Nz refs here but they are better than the ones up north. South African refs are by far the best out of any other country at the moment.
15 Nov 2008, 15:43 pm
#648 grootblousmile: #649 Puma: A very good aftenoon to you boys
B R I N G O N T H E B O K K E S ! ! !
15 Nov 2008, 15:45 pm
#637 grootblousmile: I will be drinking…..Peppermint tea!
15 Nov 2008, 15:45 pm
#650 carol: lol. Good one Carol. You just shout for our BOKKE!!!! Are you able to get the game? If not you will have to stay posted here some will be on here the whole game and let you know the score.
15 Nov 2008, 15:46 pm
#651 carol: WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!! No champers then? lol. I had nothing last night so will have a few glasses of good red wine later.
15 Nov 2008, 15:46 pm
#650 carol: Goeie Middag Karlien !
Lekker dag vir rugby, braai & nookie, nê !!
(Lovely day for rugby, barbeque & nooky, hey !!)
15 Nov 2008, 15:49 pm
Bokke Match Thread is up…. lets move over there !!
#654 grootblousmile: Op watter kanaal is die Eng game? Sien dit nie op my menu.
#656 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: SS 7
15 Nov 2008, 15:50 pm
#652 Puma: Today, amazing the game will be live on the BBC. I am so pleased I will see the boys for the second Saturday in a row (although not in the flesh this time)!
15 Nov 2008, 15:50 pm
#654 grootblousmile: Baie Dankie. Great day for all those things !! Hehehe
15 Nov 2008, 15:52 pm
#658 carol: Thats great Carol. I hope its a good game this week. We never played so well last week. We went to sleep in the 2nd half and the ref was dreadful. Hate moaning about the ref but he made some huge mistakes last week. Never mind a win is a win.
15 Nov 2008, 15:54 pm
#659 carol: Gbs is teaching you well in Afrikaans. By the time you come here next year you will be saying quiet a lot in Afrikaans.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All