Danny gets the chop
25 Nov 2008
Martin Johnson has axed Danny Cipriani for England’s Test against the All Blacks.
Cipriani has been talked up by the English press but the past three weekends have shown this to be more hot air than anything else. Cipriani had three kicks charged down against the Boks (one resulted in Ruan Pienaar’s try), was weary in defence, and failed to ignite the backline, and as a result he’s been replaced by Toby Flood.
Opensider Tom Rees has also been dropped as Michael Lipman comes in. Lock Tom Palmer makes way for Nick Kennedy, who will win his second cap after scoring on debut against the Pacific Islanders.
Johnson has brought Leicester centre Danny Hipkiss into the 22 as he opts for a conventional bench of four forwards and three backs for the first time under his tutelage.
England – 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Paul Sackey, 13 Jamie Noon, 12 Riki Flutey, 11 Ugo Monye, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Danny Care, 8 Nick Easter, 7 Michael Lipman, 6 James Haskell, 5 Nick Kennedy, 4 Steve Borthwick (c), 3 Phil Vickery, 2 Lee Mears, 1 Tim Payne.
Subs: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Matt Stevens, 18 Tom Croft, 19 Tom Rees, 20 Harry Ellis, 21 Danny Cipriani, 22 Danny Hipkiss.

167 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All
25 Nov 2008, 14:50 pm
shame poor oke he must feel like ****
25 Nov 2008, 14:51 pm
i think the abs will beat the poms with out even breaking a sweat
25 Nov 2008, 14:51 pm
would have played flood from the get go.
25 Nov 2008, 14:52 pm
Ek sal nooit nee se vir n lekker vark of skaap tjoppie.
25 Nov 2008, 14:53 pm
Pitty sa record thrashing will be broken by a very long way this week probably set an unbreakable record defeat for england this week.
25 Nov 2008, 14:56 pm
#5 obelix11a: The Poms should have moved the game to another stadium. Then the Boks would have kept the record at Twickers and the English losing record at Twickers wouldn’t get any worst.
25 Nov 2008, 14:57 pm
Think flood is even worse than Cipriani why dont they try flutey at 10 think he would be more than adequate looked a talented flyhalf when he played there for the canes in the s12
25 Nov 2008, 14:59 pm
Cipriani is so talented, I see he has made it onto the bench twice:) Truly an allrounder of note!
25 Nov 2008, 15:00 pm
How on earth can he drop the best flyhalf the world has ever seen – the press will certaintly not be happy with this!
25 Nov 2008, 15:03 pm
Racist game coming up on Saturday.
Blacks vs Whites.
25 Nov 2008, 15:05 pm
Hehe,love it when the pomm press blow smoke up some lities a$$ then it all goes titt$ up then they start looking for someone to blame.
25 Nov 2008, 15:07 pm
Re-arranging deck chairs on the Titanic.
25 Nov 2008, 15:12 pm
********NEWS FLASH*******
ENGLAND to beat the the ALL BLACKS
you heard it here first…………trust me
25 Nov 2008, 15:13 pm
i’ve got a fiver riding on it
25 Nov 2008, 15:14 pm
#12 PissAnt: indeed
25 Nov 2008, 15:15 pm
#13 brains_trust:
Say no to drugs.
25 Nov 2008, 15:16 pm
who are england’s coaches, since martin is merely the manager?
25 Nov 2008, 15:21 pm
They are way too talented to require coaching. Only some man-management, Martin style. Urgh.
#13 brains_trust: When you have finished having a delusional fit, head back to the bar and buy me drinks….
More chance of one of the journo’s in this place crediting the current Bok staff for the game against England
#17 viewer: Reacon it’s Pinky and the Brain
Yo KEO boys … (scribes) – I want to get some post match quotes from the English rugby legend Jeremy Guscott.
How about a follow up article to “Guscott backs Poms for upset” ????
go and get the story !!!!!
25 Nov 2008, 15:22 pm
Why dont the play hodgson and mark cuato?
25 Nov 2008, 15:23 pm
#15 Ig: Ig , nice to see u posting !! Pissant , normally I would agree but I do feel the Poms is gonna give them a fright. Well I am hoping at least
, still if the Abs let loose then I fear the result. Maybe they should make this a final ? That way the Poms will surely stand a good chance
25 Nov 2008, 15:28 pm
Quite looking forward to the next instalment of the Martin Johnson vs Sky Sports interviewer soap opera
25 Nov 2008, 15:29 pm
I don’t know if any of u fellas noticed but Adi plucked that ball out of Floods hands to go and score that magnificent try….Flood was sure he had intercepted the ball from JPP to have it vanish into thin air…and the next time he saw it the scoreboard had increased by 7 points.
That is how good Adi’s try was…
25 Nov 2008, 15:39 pm
#25 theOracle: Yea it was a classic
25 Nov 2008, 15:43 pm
#23 sparticus:
Nah mate.
The shocking thing is SA was not that great on Saturday – good but not great.
The Poms are just really kak at the moment.
25 Nov 2008, 15:48 pm
Well, he is the next Louis Koen so I will drop out of the squad entirely!!!
25 Nov 2008, 15:53 pm
Is ricky going to do the Haka like howlett and co did before the game?
Flood at 10 is no improvement. Really limited player. i would of gambeled on Cipriani and hoped he kicked into form.
25 Nov 2008, 15:54 pm
#27 PissAnt:
I think they’ll be better on Saturday, but probably not by much. I don’t think they will make as many mistakes or poor decisions in 80 mins like they did last weekend. The Boks forced them into those mistakes of course, but a better, more composed team would have found a way to counter the Bok physicality.
It certainly will be interesting to see if NZ are able to cut loose. If NZ perform like they did in the 2nd 40 mins against Wales, and England put in a performance like they did on Saturday, it could be a long 80 mins for England and its fans.
In saying all that, sport can be weird. If England can start the game with a hiss and a roar and get the crowd behind them, who knows.
25 Nov 2008, 15:56 pm
#29 Sonito: Agree with you. Flood is a stop gap. He’s there to be functional and not to make mistakes. He isn’t there to create or be a maverick. If nothing else, he probably won’t get a kick charged down.
He’s there as part of the damage limitation exercise!
25 Nov 2008, 15:58 pm
#31 stodders:
yeah thats the way I see it also. Probaly going to play more of a territory game.
I dont really rate this english pack for me they are rather Unathletic.
25 Nov 2008, 16:00 pm
#19 Ig: you think PDiv had something to do with the last spectacle?
25 Nov 2008, 16:02 pm
#33 Windhond_Sharks: PDV has everything to do with the last spectacle
25 Nov 2008, 16:02 pm
I’m suprised Barrit has’nt been called up yet ….
25 Nov 2008, 16:03 pm
#27 PissAnt:
No PA the shocking thing will be when the All Blacks fail to beat them by a margin of 36 points and village idiots here will then claim that the Boks are far superior to the All Blacks!!
25 Nov 2008, 16:03 pm
#32 Sonito: I’m interested to see who Henry picks this weekend. I expect to see the AB 1st XV team selected, but I have a feeling he’ll put one or two less experienced players in as well to give them more experience, i.e. John Afoa over Tialata.
25 Nov 2008, 16:04 pm
#36 tight head:
The Boks have to wait until next year now tighthead. Then the Boks play the ABs twice at home. If they win those and edge the series, they can claim superiority.
25 Nov 2008, 16:07 pm
#36 tight head:
If course.
Like last year.
We beat Argentina, who beat France, who beat the All Blacks – so we actually beat the All Blacks in a World Cup! And since Argentina beat France twice – we actually beat the All Blacks twice!
Same with beating England, who beat Aus!
25 Nov 2008, 16:07 pm
#35 Zulushark:
Thats a good point. if the english carry on the way they are, i am pretty sure he will be in the mix soon.
25 Nov 2008, 16:08 pm
If course = of course…
Time for a beer.
25 Nov 2008, 16:14 pm
#40 Sonito:
I’m not to up to speed with the english rugby but my impressions are that they seem to be short of some quality younger players or they are not coming through as they should. Earlier this year the junior poms made the final (i think) so where are these okes. Compared to SA and NZ, who despite many players going off to europe,their depth seems to be poor at the moment…..a result of two many forgien players in key positions in each team perhaps
25 Nov 2008, 16:16 pm
#36 tight head:
Being the local front row guru here, don’t you think that beast is possibly setting himself at scrum time with his feet a little far back. It’s a small thing but at the engage he seems to be struggling to keep himself up to make the bind properly.
25 Nov 2008, 16:17 pm
#21 brains_trust: Go to BBC Sport he does his writing for them. He goes on a long rant about all of Englands problems and hardly mentions the fact that a hell of a good team was apposing them. It’s the first thing I looked for on Monday morning. I lived in that damn country for nearly 7 years, damn their press are a right bunch.
25 Nov 2008, 16:25 pm
#39 PissAnt:
Watch out.
You will actually start the stats lovers thinking deeply about your rugby brain!!
25 Nov 2008, 16:29 pm
#45 tight head:
I am off, cheers.
Gee, some would have you believe that:-
1. Cipriani is a magician and better than Carter
2. Rees ‘outplayed’ McCaw the last time Engl played NZ
Yet…..both have been dropped.
So someone has got it wrong, really really wrong.
#39 PissAnt: you beat me to it… I had the same thing on my mind really. That is why some people expected the Boks to just run over both NZ & Aus this year’s 3N.
25 Nov 2008, 16:31 pm
#47 BlackPanther:
The english loose forwards are terrible.
25 Nov 2008, 16:39 pm
#49 Sonito:
Easter is an egg
Lipman is a lightweight.
Haskell atleast has some of the mongrel dog required.
But Rees ? well he’s quite fast. But he makes wrong decisions and gets isolated. But some will have you believe he’s better than McCaw…..
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All