Toulon rope in Jake

Struggling French club Toulon have acquired the services of Jake White as an adviser.

The World Cup-winning coach will only be with the club from 3-22 December, but president Mourad Boudjellal believes any input can help at this stage. Toulon are currently at 11th in the French domestic competition.

“Even I have my limitations and may still be in certain respects a president of a second division club, who for so long dreamed of gaining promotion,” said Boudjellal. “I want to find out what is not working and that is why I have looked outside the club for an opinion.”

John Connolly was initially brought in to aid Tana Umaga but clashed with the incumbent manager and was quickly removed.

200 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.balsak: Reply to this comment

Gareyh Jacobs is the dragon

• 2.carol: Reply to this comment

Toulon Dragon
    Jake is everywhere at the moment!!

• 3.balsak: Reply to this comment

Beat that Gaps!!!

• 4.carol: Reply to this comment

# balsak: Arrrgggghh.

• 5.makakulu: Reply to this comment

Poor Boudjellal

from one fraud to the next, why doesn’t he hire a proper coach instead.

• 6.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

when is jake gonna coach the poms?

• 7.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Skoppie must be frothing at the mouth.

• 8.JL1: Reply to this comment

#7 Loosehead: see #5

• 9.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Good for Jake. All the best.

• 10.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#5 makakulu:

Tjank tjank… grrrr… morning Ubu the toothless Chihuahua…

• 11.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Jake must be savouring this opportunity, returning to the land where he found everlasting glory and fame a mere year ago!
    His talent being sought after by some of the wealthiest rugby fraternities in Europe, I can’t even begin to imagine how much money JW must be making, mind-boggling stuff!
    As if he didn’t make enough already from his book sales.
    Legend…..

• 12.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#11 Pietman:

Still doesn’t change the fact that this is yet more intellectual property wasted to South Africa unfortunately…

Powers that be most certainly know how to f@ck things up on a grandiose scale when taking advantage of the once strong brains trust RSA had right across the board… with hundreds of thousands of the countries top teachers, professors, doctors, finance guru’s, engineers, CEO’s, MD’s etc etc adding value to other top tier countries…

The result…

Spiralling crime, tertiary education not worth the paper it’s written on, collapsing infrastructure, extrem power problem, a resource sector on the brink of collapse, billions of rands of army-ware lying dormant, Durban harbour now the drug portal of the world etc etc etc etc etc etc…

Banana’s anyone?

• 13.Expatinus: Reply to this comment

#11 Pietman: Howzit Pietman and others. Long time no blog.

Great opp for Jake. Nothing like doing a 2 week assessment, pointing out where the issues are. That’s the easy part. Then they’ll have to deal with job reservations, and bad habits to remove the root cause. Nice addition to his resume though. Probably also means Matfield gave him a good reference.

• 14.Expatinus: Reply to this comment

#12 bryce_in_oz: Sad but true. And let me tell you, it’s the South Africans and Indians here in US that sits till midnight finding solutions to work related issues, great work ethic. That gets rewarded here. And I’m not even including taxes in this topic.

• 15.Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Having just complained – it is what it is. Tough at times but very rewarding personally to be the 1st generation in a new country. We can always tell the story of arriving with 3 suitcases and $3k. For the sake our kids’ future. A good thing. Besides, the planet has become so small who cares where you live, what currency / language – it’s all becoming one to a degree. You pick your nose in Russia the same way you pick it in Mexico.

• 16.Expatinus: Reply to this comment

#15 Expatinus: Hello Expatinus – are you talking to yourself mate?

• 17.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#15 Expatinus:

Ain’t no country like Aus… mate… :wink:

• 18.Expatinus: Reply to this comment

#17 bryce_in_oz: We were heading there via NZ, then decided to do US for 3 years, now it’s been 10. CAN’T WAIT to see Oz one day soon. Sounds and looks stunning.

• 19.Expatinus: Reply to this comment

That said – US is now the country we really came to see and live in – with a true professional in charge, that also happens to be an icon.

• 20.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#19 Expatinus:

He’s certainly inherited the inbox from hell though…

They’re digging themselves deeper and deeper printing money to fund bad debts…

The one BIG positive though for mine with Obama’s election… is that minority groups across the US… can no longer play the victim… and can move forward, hopefully with positive effect on the super-power…

Pity 14 yrs on… some South Africans haven’t been able to do the same…

• 21.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#17 bryce_in_oz: #19 Expatinus:
    Morning boys.
    Yep, nice to see Saffas all over the globe making their mark and raking in the bucks! Just look how many expats are here on keo, for instance.
    I was in Malaysia last week, ‘arrivals’ at the airport crowded with our people of all colours, you here Afrikaans being spoken all over the place..
    Here, in my little part of the world, we have CEO’s for KPMG, Nike, Coca Cola, and BP (from the free State town of Welkom!), all South Africans.
    I live in a ‘small town’, by these people’s standards, and we have 5 black teachers here from KZN that I know of, and I don’t know how many ‘Capies’.
    Lekker, makes me feel right at home every time I see their faces !!!
    Saffas are in demand, they don’t mind hard work and they are very sociable and liked by their hosts.
    Great to see!
    And as Expat says, the world is so small, you can get back home within a day from almost anywhere for a holiday or family matters.
    (Btw Expat, when is Thanksgiving, tomorrow?)

• 22.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#20 bryce_in_oz:
    I see the Rand has strenghtened a bit, darn!
    I was just about on my way to buy some dollars for my forthcoming trip to SA…

• 23.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#21 makakulu:
    Yeah, what happened to mongrel, haven’t seen him here on keo for ages, now that you mention him.
    He was an interesting oke to talk to, knows alot about WP rugby history, I used to enjoy our little banter.

• 24.Caracal: Reply to this comment

Back to the topic – I wonder if Jake can make a difference there? A decent run and one or two more players and they stay up – you never know what might happen next season. Look at how well Bayonne are doing? I see Ross Skeate’s already had his say: http://www.rossskeate.com

The French league for all its detractors at least serves up on a more regular basis than elsewhere evenly contested matches and you know that on any given day anybody could feasibly beat a so-called bigger team.

• 25.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#21 makakulu:

Tjank… tjank… tjank… grrrr… tjank… tjank…

That’s all I read skopskat… sorry pal…

• 26.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#22 Pietman:

You can add Marius Kloppers the head of the world’s most powerful mining entity and a hard-nosed legend… interesting life story he has including adopting a black kid… much like many of us ex-pats…

He’s a legend…

#25 Caracal:

Who are the detractors… their leagues are a tough as they come…

Definitely something not right at Toulon… second division but with world class international players… something just doesn’t gel…

Good move to bring in a ‘fresh’ opinion… always helps when it’s one of the best analysts in the business…

• 27.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

Hey there guys. I am in Korea and except for what went on on the Park, I did not catch much of whats going on in SA rugby this year.
    So I have one question, if anyone will be so kind. What happened with that ***-tape thing? Was he found not-guilty, or merely let loose on a technicality like Puky?

• 28.Expatinus: Reply to this comment

#21 makakulu: what’s the matter, you got something in your throat?

#22 Pietman: Thanksgiving on Thursday! Got a 19 pounder in the fridge. Will deep fry in peanut butter oil. To help the wine slide down nicely!

• 29.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#28 Greenpoint-Gunner: It kind of just died – everybody involved denied any knowledge of its existence, and the communications manager who started the whole thing up and told Snor about it resigned after being targeted by a committee appointed to investigate the matter, and being called to a disciplinary tribunal. Talk about shoot the messenger! The poor guy then then died in a plane accident (no not the same one as Hansie). So now nobody talks about it. It’s just fallen off the face of the earth.

• 30.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

seems like umaga’s ego got in the way of anything positive that might have come from john connolly,,,if thats possible.

will jake put this team right? who knows how he will see things. for one thing though he will know how to sure up their defensive abilities :)

• 31.Koos: Reply to this comment

#21 makakulu: Skop rerig, you should go and see someone, this is going to kill you!

• 32.whatever: Reply to this comment

#21 makakulu:

Doooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooosssss

• 33.Koos: Reply to this comment

#33 whatever: Aish, naar maar waar!

• 34.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Skoppie,

All of your ancestors must number in the millions; it’s hard to believe that many people are to blame for producing you.

• 35.Tulsa: Reply to this comment

Werfbobbejane unite,your saviour have found employment.

• 36.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#36 Tulsa: Jy begin alweer met jou kuk!!!!

• 37.tight head: Reply to this comment

What I admire most about Skoppie, is that he never allows the debate to become personal!!

• 38.Koos: Reply to this comment

#37 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Nee wat Brak, moenie tyd mors nie, lig eerder jou been teen iets wat die moeite werd is!

• 39.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

#38 tight head: Or reasonable for that matter.

• 40.tight head: Reply to this comment

#40 Loosehead:
    Ha Ha !!
    Good one!!

• 41.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

• 42.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#42 WP Till I Die: Jy Tulsa? :roll:

• 43.jondood: Reply to this comment

#21 makakulu:

Did Jakes two beer fetchers give you a bloody nose?

• 44.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#43 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:

Wie de tos is Tulsa?

• 45.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#36 Tulsa: Jou moer seuntjie. Pasop vir jou!!!

• 46.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

So, is Jake going to act as technical advisor for UCT AND Toulon next year?

• 47.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#45 WP Till I Die:
    Roep vir Dawn.
    Sy se mos dis net die wittes wat anderskleuriges so noem.
    Sy sy moet haat roer, en kom kyk hoe vloek ek sy ma se $oo3 nog n keer.

• 48.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#36 Tulsa:
    Ek wag net vir Dawn, dan kuk jy, jou Fapla.
    Moes jou laas in Mos al geblaas het.

• 49.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#48 Pietman:

Dawn is gewoonlik eers 08:30 in.

Jy en Tulsa kom al aan vanaf daai “Peter plays the character card” thread, toe jy en GBS en saru1983 en Tulsa mekaar so sleggesê, dinge te doen met mense se meisies en vrouens en so aan.

Almal moet net hulle f*kken kuk stop man. Dis mos nie die moeite werd nie.

• 50.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#49 Pietman:

Fapla? Hulle was in Angola, Pietman, nie in Mosambiek. In Mosambiek sou jy FRELIMO’s uitmekaar geblaas het.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.