Steyn the latest Baa Baa
28 Nov 2008
Frans Steyn and Johann Muller have been called up to join the Barbarians team to play the Wallabies at Wembley on Wednesday.
The late inclusion of the pair looks to have strengthened the squad – which had already resembled a World XV – while it also appears that Steyn will get a chance to start at flyhalf as he is the only specialist pivot in the 22.
Steyn replaces injured Frenchman Francois Trinh-Duc and in the pack props Federico Pucciariello and Samoan Census Johnston come in for Gurthro Steenkamp and Carl Hayman, while Muller replaces England captain Steve Borthwick at lock.
Fourie du Preez remains in the 22, despite not being fit for the Boks’ final two Tests with a leg injury.
Barbarians –
Backs – Percy Montgomery (SA), Bryan Habana (SA), Joe Rococoko (NZ), Shane Williams (Wales), Rico Gear (NZ), Jean de Villiers (SA), Ollie Smith (England), Francois Steyn (SA), George Gregan (Australia), Fourie du Preez (SA)
Forwards – John Smit (SA), Mark Regan (England), Census Johnston (Samoa), Federico Pucciariello (Italy), Patrice Collazo (France), Bakkies Botha (SA), Johann Muller (SA), Chris Jack (NZ), Nick Koster (Western Province), Schalk Burger (SA), Jerry Collins (NZ), Richie McCaw (NZ)
Coach – Jake White
Assistant Coach – Eddie Jones

316 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All
28 Nov 2008, 22:44 pm
Cheers Coach enjoy the pumpkin pie.
28 Nov 2008, 22:44 pm
#296 c4: I would suspect that is the norm amongst most ‘normally’ intelligent people. Like reading a newspaper. I canhonestly say that I have learnt more about the game of rugby from this site(over 3 years) than any other source in my entire life and I’d hate to tell you how many years i’ve been following the game. The knowledge amongst some(yes – few) is very high but you have to weed the gibberish from the chaff.
28 Nov 2008, 22:46 pm
#300 CoachPete: Cheers Pete. Lunch would exclude ‘boerie’ I suppose?
28 Nov 2008, 22:52 pm
Ag shame, so Puma is still bleating about some nasty howwible Kiwi who said that John Smit squealed like a pig. If Puma hadn’t been crying into his Little Kitty pillow, he may have noticed from Black Panther’s other posts that he has a lot of respect for John Smit, and that he said the same things about Sean Fitzpatrick. But since Puma is actually a 10 year old girl, you can’t expect her to be rational.
28 Nov 2008, 22:53 pm
#301 c4: c4 I’d love to chat but unlike the Coach, who has a lunch to consider, I have a bed/book/wife calling and not neccessarily in that order. So I’ll bid you an au rivoir with a hope that we can chat again sometime soon. There are good blokes on this site who make for a wonderful escape into a space few are privileged to tred.
28 Nov 2008, 22:54 pm
#302 TASSIES:
The knowledge of rugby is great here, being in my late 20′s I have sit back and listen most of the time, but with time I can also become a tome!
28 Nov 2008, 22:55 pm
#304 Croc: huh?
28 Nov 2008, 22:55 pm
#305 TASSIES:
Cheers Tassies
28 Nov 2008, 23:01 pm
#306 c4: get involved slowly. Attempting to be a knowall will invite the inevitable and you’ll soon be brought down to earth. So blogg humbly and you soon learn to understand your rugby competence. After all it is for your entertainment and not designed to inflate egos, as some believe.
Now Im outta here. Cheers.
28 Nov 2008, 23:15 pm
Money and the Springbok logo
Rodney Hartman
November 28 2008 at 08:22AM
It is now plain to see why the sports minister claimed recently that his department owned the Springbok emblem. The Springbok emblem equals money, and money is something the sports minister’s department ain’t got.
Don’t take this column’s word for it – the auditor-general has revealed in his report that the Department of Sport and Recreation is in a sorry financial state. It seems that a whole lot of money, millions in fact, has simply gone missing.
The auditor-general lists several items of irregular or unauthorised expenditure in the national department, including odd bonuses to employees and donations being dished out and no proper records kept, a sum of R4 million being sent to athletes amid claims they did not receive the money, and so on.
There are a couple of other bits in the report that tell an unusual tale. It finds, for example, that there are “no records of assets and therefore no idea of what the department owns”, and that there are “no proper records of royalties received for the use of the Protea as a national emblem”. Get it? Because it has no records, the department didn’t have a clue whether it owned the Springbok, but it knew it had no opposition in using the Protea for acquiring royalties of the undisclosed variety.
At a guess, one could venture that the political row over the future of the Springbok was therefore a well-orchestrated ruse. The department knew the antelope had too much commercial value to be scrapped, but what it really wanted was its ownership to solve its financial plight.
Perhaps the minister thought that, in exchange for keeping the Springbok on the jersey, rugby would hand over ownership of the emblem. In that way, the game would be happy, and so would he.
The actual monetary value of the Springbok badge probably runs into hundreds of millions.
This is just the kind of loot that the sports ministry needs to extricate itself from what the auditor-general suggests is a rather sticky mess.
SA Rugby, however, stuck to its guns over the real ownership of the beast, and the minister had to back off.
If he is getting paid royalties on the flower – and the auditor-general suggests this is the case – then it is in his interests to get as many people wearing the Protea as possible because the more exposure it gets, the better the royalties.
In line with this, and once the department is over its present financial woes, it might consider enlisting the help of a marketing specialist to push Protea merchandise in the retail outlets.
Finally, what of the anti-Springbok lobby? Well, all five of them appeared to go away quietly. Their kickback is the disappearance of the Springbok blazer as we know it. In future, the Boks will wear only the Protea blazer.
29 Nov 2008, 00:20 am
#310 straight talk: A good reason to boycott all SA Rugby products bearing the Protea logo. If SA Rugby were smart they’d be punting merchandise with the Bok logo only. But doubt they’d the foresight to right that into any agreement with the DoS.
29 Nov 2008, 00:26 am
#235 grootblousmile: All Blacks by 60plus!! We’ll see GBS, come tomorrow.
“Then they bonk the women”!! You have a fertile imagination !
There might be a fight for Dan Carter though!
29 Nov 2008, 00:31 am
#258 TASSIES: Tassies, I would just use that book to prop open the door. Sounds deadly still………
Good to be with the girls tonight, sounds like you guys had a very convivial evening here though.
29 Nov 2008, 00:32 am
# Puma: Puma, would you stop being so unkind to us Poms!! I may start to take it personally !! LOL
30 Nov 2008, 00:35 am
FRANS we’ve spoken our hearts out for u 2 hav a startin jersey in the springboks dnt let us down boet!
30 Nov 2008, 00:54 am
evening all
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All