Brilliant Boks break drought

The Springboks won the George Sevens for the first time ever when they downed New Zealand 12-7 at a packed Outeniqua Park.

The Boks also broke the drought by winning back-to-back tournaments after Dubai last week and fittingly captain Mzwandile Stick crashed over for the crucial score. Before that Gio Aplon was adjudged to have knocked the ball over the line after a cross-kick, but from the scrum the Boks forced a tighthead and Stick did the rest.

DJ Forbe’s opened the scoring for the Kiwis, but a try late in the opening half by Renfred Deyzel brought the hosts back at 5-7. Stick then scored with three minutes to go and added the conversion.

“It’s awesome to win here, we’ve struggled in the past in George due to the pressure,” said Stick. ”The support from the crowd was amazing and this was a very special one – our blood is green.”

Springboks - Tries: Renfred Deyzel, Mzwandile Stick. Conversion: Stick.

The Boks reached the final via a convincing 21-7 win over Fiji.

The hosts dominated possession in the opening half and three tries was the result – to Ryno Benjamin (2) and Mpho Mbiyozo who barged over.

The Fijians scored a consolation score with a minute to go but the result was beyond doubt.

Springboks - Tries: Mpho Mbiyozo, Ryno Benjamin (2). Conversions: Stick (3).

Meanwhile in the qaurters, Man of the Tournament Robert Ebersohn was instrumental in the Boks’ 17-12 victory over England.

Ebersohn scored the first try and set up the extra couple of scores. Ebersohn’s offload inbetween two tacklers inside his own 22 was instrumental in the second score, while his 40m break set up captain Mzwandile Stick for the try that sealed the win.

The Boks led 19-5 and a late try from the English was mere consolation.

Springboks - Tries: Robert Ebersohn, Ryno Benjamin, Mzwandile Stick. Conversion: Stick.

Click here for score updates.

A full report will be posted at the end of the day.

831 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 » Show All

• 701.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#696 carol: Oh so this is skopskiet? I used to respect some of the points he made in defence of PdV and thought perhaps he was unfairly treated on this blog but now I see he’s a complete and total doos!

• 702.gunther: Reply to this comment

#678 heckle_jeckyl: sevens is so different, look at aplon a tiny guy with the heart of a lion…in 15 game he is dangerous on attack…but in defense…well the players call him the human speed bump..

#632 carol: hard to find more desperate creatures on god’s earth, sometimes difficult to tell them apart from their horses! joking

• 703.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#700 heckle_jeckyl: Refer to my post at 698.

• 704.carol: Reply to this comment

#700 JayDaFiveOh: I have great respect for Skop, he can be a laugh but is a bit too deep for me sometimes and gets a bit insulting…….

• 705.carol: Reply to this comment

Grant10 where did you go? One moment here then………

• 706.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#277 carol: its the Afrikaans equivalent of the English usage of the word c_ _t. It also means the same thing in terms of body parts.
    It has three usages – as a slang term for a body part, when you are really pissed at someone (when it is very derogatory), and when you are heckling somoen or referring to yourself as an idiot (in a more humorous kind of way).

• 707.carol: Reply to this comment

GBS you would be impressed with my computer skills,I am talking to Springbok Sarah at the same time on Facebook!

• 708.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#700 heckle_jeckyl: Sorry but kindly point out to me where I have implied or categorically said that Europeans are superior to “anything non-white” and have “…hurled insidious racial undertones”.

I see these days it such a crime to have been born a white person. So you expect me to hate myself because I’m white, sorry but nobody can determine what colour they are born and the fact that concepts such as colour and race even exist shows what is so inherently wrong with this world!

Sorry but whoever you are, you are proving yourself a bigotted racist by pre-supposing I look down upon people of different colours. Some of my best friends are non-white so exactly does that make me “an abhorrent, insidious racist”.

Once again I apologise for being born white, I will now go shoot myself…btw, good luck with the white genocide!

• 709.carol: Reply to this comment

#705 SjamBok: A word with three meanings so both Puma and GBS explained it correctly to me!!

• 710.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#697 JayDaFiveOh:

easy easy now, just retract a little from the defensive, its really not worth all the consternation rushing through your blood stream.

If you in all earnestness know yourself to be a good man of honorable integrity, then nothing I or anyone else would say to you could turn you away from your sense of self worth and humane credibility.

So in a nutshell if you know and believe yourself to be that man of lofty human principle, then remain that person, and stop worrying whatsoever what anyone else or the next man may think of you.

Racism could be considered as a very fine line between that connotation of superior racial consideration and that of a genuine affinity for all humanity, it may be still some distance to travel for all mankind to become totally and unequivocally free from its insidious blemish, but all that counts and matters is that each individual in his own reasoning and understanding tries to make strides in his own mind and person to become wholesomely free from its somewhat inherent and conditioned fallacy.

• 711.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#704 carol: A bit insulting? He’s downright offensive and hostile in my opinion! He’s basically what they call a troll – someone who goes on the blogs/forums and launches irrational attacks on posters to stir up arguments and anger people…they get a kick out of it!

• 712.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#708 carol: Karlien…. yeah…. now in Skoppies case, he’s the dreaded “c” kind….

Look at his vitriol and tell me he’s not deluded beyond repair !!

• 713.carol: Reply to this comment

Grant, how was the trip today? Precious package collected OK?

• 714.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#694 SjamBok:

Nice idea I like that idea of a ratel, tough little bugger as they come, and again the pronking Springbok is no mean spirited animal whatsoever, no harm in keeping him firmly attached just above the heart

• 715.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

watched highlights of the sevens. well done bokke!!! am really looking fwd to wellington 7s now. my costume for the weekend might just have to be a massive bok!

• 716.carol: Reply to this comment

# gunther: Explain that one? I am lost I think, then possibly not!

• 717.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#710 JayDaFiveOh: Man, I’ve been hammering this fool for very good reason, for long enough now……. the man is a retributionist fool….. the most dispicable kind !

Don’t bother defending your stance, you and me know that you’re perfectly within your limits and rights…….. just let go and root this guy off the blog !

• 718.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#710 heckle_jeckyl: Oh right now after personally attacking me, calling me an insidious racist for absolutely no reason at all, now you come out with some philosophical kak about how a man must strive to be free of any form of racism, conditioned or otherwise…talk about schizophrenic. I would have to agree with you…surprised? But perhaps mate you need to take a look in the mirror yourself because you’re clearly a very opinionated and judgemental person who presumes himself to be superior to everyone else around him and above reproach for the same “inherent and conditioned fallacy”.

• 719.carol: Reply to this comment

#711 grootblousmile: I just don’t know, anyway he is not speaking to me tonight!
    What is Jerpico by the way?

• 720.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#710 JayDaFiveOh: I pointed it out earlier for your benefit but you obviously didn’t see. skopskiet = heckle_jekyl = Mr Mistofelees [sic]. It’s not worth arguing with old skoppie, just as how you would stop banging your head against a wall the minute it starts to hurt. He will NEVER compromise or budge from his opinion, so no point arguing.

Carol – if you’re interested, Louis Theroux is on BBC2 at 9 – a show about crime in Johannesburg. Last’s week’s episode was in Philly, it will be interesting to see how JHB compares with Philly. Philly was bad.

Cheers, I’m out for the day.

• 721.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#718 carol: Jerepico is a lovely desert wine, made from the Jerepico grape…….. sweet as they come……. heavenly stuff !

• 722.carol: Reply to this comment

#719 wooden spoon: Oh I like Louis, thanks for that! See you.

• 723.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#717 grootblousmile: well I can’t be bothered with his **** anymore, life’s too short to argue about whose opinion is more valid and this and that…I’ve got stuff to do!

• 724.grant10: Reply to this comment

#712 carol: hi see dunning thread 6!

• 725.charo: Reply to this comment

all this talk of people being advantaged or disadvantaged is frankly tiresome.
    having been born of an english immigrant father and a dutch/irish mother, should i consider myself priviledged?
    well, our house was in the lower end of the middle class suburb, my parents never had enough money to give me all the best things in life but i manged to progress and reach a fairly senior position in a multinational company.
    did i have an advantage in life?
    considering my upbringing and environment compared with a young guy growing up in say uk, usa, canada, oz or nz, the answer would definitely be NO.
    i had to compete with the best in the world to achieve my current status – no freebies in international business.
    so why should i apologise for my upbringing and environment?

• 726.carol: Reply to this comment

#720 grootblousmile: You do have a sweet tooth don’t you…..is it a South African wine?

• 727.grant10: Reply to this comment

hi all….off to finish the braai…Princess ***

• 728.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#720 wooden spoon: yeh I saw that, but sometimes I need to get my point across.

Hmm might be tempted to watch that although whenever I watch these sort of shows it completely puts me off going back to visit SA, especially as Jo’burg is my old home…it always seem to look and sound a lot worse than it is.

• 729.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#717 JayDaFiveOh:

you decide if the cap fits or not, you should know better than anyone if it does,

as to these other holier than though garbage talkers, they think they may have some handle on superiority, let these brave nincompoops like this GBS twat try his luck with me in person, he will know exactly where his superiority will land him.

• 730.carol: Reply to this comment

#726 grant10: Have seen no.6. Thanks, glad all is well have fun and catch you laterXXXX Part two will follow!!! XX

• 731.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#694 SjamBok: Haha, a honey badger. One of those took on my boerboel in our yard a few years back. I was inside, heard an almighty racket – just got outside to see the thing fit under a hole in the fence and run away. The dog was a bit dazed but seemed to come out trumps.

Honey badgers are black and white too. Ahh, how PC is that…the perfect emblem for the new SA! lol

• 732.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#725 carol: Yeah, very South African……. quite a few places make their own brand of the stuff….. like I say it get’s it’s name from the type of grape. Much like you would get different kinds of sherry or cabernet or beer for that matter…

• 733.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#728 heckle_jeckyl: I would take you out of this life with a smile…… you useless piece of tripe !

• 734.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#725 charo: I couldn’t agree more! For the most part we make our own way in this world. There are a lot of injustices in this world that need to be addressed but to be expected to feel guilty about where you have come from is pointless and makes no difference to the rest of the world. Actions speak louder than words.

• 735.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#724 charo:

No one whomsoever is suggesting anyone makes an apology of any sort whatsoever.

The crux of the issue is that there remains a tiresome degree of inherent racial conditioning within some European bred in contrast to African bred members of society, and can in like manner also be attributed to the equivalent sentiment of racism from the other way around.

What the consideration and discussion ensuing from perhaps a post I blogged here earlier this morning, is that some people will jump to any form of conclusion regarding racially based political leanings, where in fact the fundamental ideal is that there should be no discrimination or superiority complexity abounding in society whatsoever from whichever side of the racial dividing line.

• 736.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

#479 bryce_in_oz:

Bryce Leigh,

My goodness.

An unprovoked very personal racist attack.

You’re a big man

• 737.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#732 grootblousmile:

Come Mr. come and make my day, you sorry sad sod, any day of any week will I make this acquaintance with you face to face and sort you out once and for all.

• 738.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#736 heckle_jeckyl: Yeah bakkiebouer…. easy to state on the blog…. I’ll be there in the Cape in Feb……. will come klap you then, OK…. till then, you know where Brakpan is… you can come here for a klap as well !

• 739.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

#479 bryce_in_oz:

Bryce Leigh,

“479 bryce_in_oz Report comment
    December 7th, 2008 at 5:42 am
    Awesome performance…

Skopskiet, Saffa-guy and all the other blinkered RSA citizens there in their All Black jumpers syphoning pap-saks were shown up in the best way possible… a Fijian thumping and then a win over the AB’s in the finals…”

The archives are filled with my posts.
    Please substantiate your attack with references to my posts
    Feel free to copy and paste any of my posts

Awaiting your reply

• 740.carol: Reply to this comment

YAWN………….Boys, why do you need this aggravation……. bugger this scrapping…….

• 741.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#739 carol: Good night Karlien… this is me signing out…

Lekker doedoe !
    (Sleep well !)

• 742.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#737 grootblousmile:
    I wait in anticipation for Feb, lets see just how big and brave you are, I give the establishment here the OK to pass on my details for your reference, so see you in Feb Mnr. Superioriteit, laat ons sien net hoe ‘superior’ jy is in Feb, maand.

• 743.carol: Reply to this comment

#740 grootblousmile: Soet drome and gedra jouself X

• 744.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

I must comment on Gio aplon – his attack as we all know is fantastic- with those twinkle toes of his – but I have been most impressed by his defence- he has made solid tackles, bringing down MUCH bigger guys than himself!!

WELL DONE GIO APLON- CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DESERVED!!

• 745.carol: Reply to this comment

#741 heckle_jeckyl: Pistols at dawn!!!
    Whatever…..you are all bonkers…

• 746.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#738 saffa_guy:

That is the very brave post that got this whole rigmarole going from the start today, my response to that **** talk artists post got the entire happy lot of bloggers on the warpath, sycophant creep of a snot nosed arrogant colonialist descendant, thats the way I sum up that ******* doos, chucking his crass **** across the oceans from his havens of self made exiled eroded illusion.

• 747.grant10: Reply to this comment

#741 heckle_jeckyl: #740 grootblousmile: #739 carol: I am with this Princess on this one….and anyway after 12 hours on the road….a great swim…although i almost bloody drowned….3 Windhoek lagers and a glass of white wine…i am too bloody tired to fight…far rather be curling up with a Princess…mmmmm

• 748.charo: Reply to this comment

despite the fact that our 7′s boys got out of jail a few times in the first 2 tournaments of the season, they have been absolutely brilliant and deserve their current status.
    well done mr stick and your boys.

• 749.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#743 SjamBok:

him and that whole team played right out of their skin, I have not witnessed a SA team that dedicated to each other and to their cause of one pointed defense and offense in complete coordinated unison for quite some time.

hats off to the entire lot of them, from Paul Treu, through Stick and every one of them, black, brown, white, true bred Springbok Rainbow Warriors

• 750.grant10: Reply to this comment

#745 heckle_jeckyl: hi my man…awesome win by the bok 7 s …again…hell life is good!! Just hope the stormers sort out the sharks on feb 14!! Heehaa

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.