Brilliant Boks break drought

The Springboks won the George Sevens for the first time ever when they downed New Zealand 12-7 at a packed Outeniqua Park.

The Boks also broke the drought by winning back-to-back tournaments after Dubai last week and fittingly captain Mzwandile Stick crashed over for the crucial score. Before that Gio Aplon was adjudged to have knocked the ball over the line after a cross-kick, but from the scrum the Boks forced a tighthead and Stick did the rest.

DJ Forbe’s opened the scoring for the Kiwis, but a try late in the opening half by Renfred Deyzel brought the hosts back at 5-7. Stick then scored with three minutes to go and added the conversion.

“It’s awesome to win here, we’ve struggled in the past in George due to the pressure,” said Stick. ”The support from the crowd was amazing and this was a very special one – our blood is green.”

Springboks - Tries: Renfred Deyzel, Mzwandile Stick. Conversion: Stick.

The Boks reached the final via a convincing 21-7 win over Fiji.

The hosts dominated possession in the opening half and three tries was the result – to Ryno Benjamin (2) and Mpho Mbiyozo who barged over.

The Fijians scored a consolation score with a minute to go but the result was beyond doubt.

Springboks - Tries: Mpho Mbiyozo, Ryno Benjamin (2). Conversions: Stick (3).

Meanwhile in the qaurters, Man of the Tournament Robert Ebersohn was instrumental in the Boks’ 17-12 victory over England.

Ebersohn scored the first try and set up the extra couple of scores. Ebersohn’s offload inbetween two tacklers inside his own 22 was instrumental in the second score, while his 40m break set up captain Mzwandile Stick for the try that sealed the win.

The Boks led 19-5 and a late try from the English was mere consolation.

Springboks - Tries: Robert Ebersohn, Ryno Benjamin, Mzwandile Stick. Conversion: Stick.

Click here for score updates.

A full report will be posted at the end of the day.

831 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 » Show All

• 751.grant10: Reply to this comment

#748 heckle_jeckyl: rainbow warriors,,,,,made me so proud to be a saffa!!

• 752.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Well done boks.
    Geez if only he was bigger he would be future bok 15

• 753.grant10: Reply to this comment

Carol….i am a tired wounded soldier who needs a shower and a good nights rest….i bid you , Skop , GBS and all the other bloggers a wonderful evening….June will soon be upon us and although our nations will be at war we shall reconcile on the dance floors of cape town aand durban….save the U2 dances for me!! Outta here…xx

• 754.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

#750 grant10:

yeah Grant they were practically the real McCoy Rainbow Warriors, been awhile coming but it was worth the wait. Now to see the 15′s flourish just the same.

Out now. done my broom dusting for the day, maybe for the whole week.

so long

• 755.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#750 grant10: No chance, the Sharks have got a taste for silverware and are hungry for more! This is the season for the Sharks to take back what was theirs in 2007!

• 756.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#754 heckle_jeckyl:
    Skopskiet, please bear in mind that keo is the SA blog most visited by foreigners.
    Some of them have never been to SA, and they may find your views very off-putting.
    We Saffas, of course, know better than to regard your arguments as representative of the majority of our countrymen.
    I, for one, won’t even argue with you.
    What’s the point?

• 757.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#574 Harry the beach walker:

This prick needs to be removed from this blog. This is the worst kind of hate speech. Another example of why South Africans cannot live in harmony together.

Imagine this piece of garbage living in your peaceful neighborhood…

• 758.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#669 heckle_jeckyl:

Same for this potential shark bait.

• 759.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#756 Pietman: I don’t think skop actually cares what the rest of the world thinks about SA, he probably wants to put off as many people as possible judging by the massive, nay gargantuan chip on his shoulder!

• 760.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#758 Predawn: ja makes you sick man doesn’t it? There’s no room in SA for this type of hate filled preaching! We need positive people in power who makes choices based on putting their people first and not corrupt politicians like Stofile syphoning off funds to further their personal fortunes and certainly don’t need these venom spouting kak kops like skop and the like! They’re only aim to spread hate and create division…that’s what got us into this mess we’re in today!

• 761.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#759 JayDaFiveOh:
    Ja bru, bloody sad case that.
    But most bloggers on keo know by now not to get into lengthy debates with him (and three or four others here).
    It is embarrassing.
    I realise you meant well in replying to his posts, I used to do the same.
    But now that I have read in the ‘Sunday Times’ yesterday that keo is the most renowned international blog in SA, I will be a little more careful when I address some of the ‘radical racist keolings’, unless I can do it in Afrikaans!
    (Btw, you in the UK?)

• 762.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#758 Predawn: #760 JayDaFiveOh:
    What gets me is this consistant justification of ‘today’s wrong’ by referring to ‘yesterday’s injustices (apartheid)’. Stupid, stupid, stupid !
    How de moer are we going to move forward if we are so hellbent on revenge and retribution?
    As GBS said, some of our youngsters playing sport weren’t even born during the apartheid years.
    Just look what Mugabe’s revenge did to Zim, it did nobody any good.

• 763.Predawn: Reply to this comment

In blogging terms Harry and heckle are commonly known as Trolls and they’re flaming to get the desired reactions from you guys. Just report them and ignore.

• 764.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#761 Pietman: ok, I’m a lot more clued up from now on…its easy to get pulled into these arguments.

Unfortunately my afrikaans isn’t that good! Ja man I agree and I also think that sport could play a significant part in helping to elevate deeply poor communities from poverty or at least to give the kids growing up there some sort of hope or goal to strive for instead of falling into a life of crime and its sickening seeing people like Komphela, Watson and Stofile attacking rugby and creating division rather than thinking about how the government can get sport to reach kids in the poorest areas of SA.

Have a look at this for example:
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ogacC0ObPAM

Its pathetic to think that our rugby players have to matters into their own hands in terms of helping promote rugby in SA but good on Habana for using his initiative and getting involved in charity work in SA, he’s really remained humble despite being so famous!

• 765.heckle_jeckyl: Reply to this comment

Hey you#760 JayDaFiveOh: and you#758 Predawn: and you Mnr. #756 Pietman:

you seem to think your views are the sum total representation of the sentiments of South Africans when in fact the entire lot of you do not even live here.

So who the hell gives you the right to speak for me or for any other South African for that matter, what makes an objective and otherwise view to your sugar coated clap trap, back slapping society over here more representative of the majority, than my views as an example? Nothing at all.

As for trolling, nothing whatsoever of the kind, you are the ones feeling oh so sensitive about being who you are, or coming from some privileged unassailable position, you reckon your frame of reference is the one most commonly looked at, while all along its you brave warriors that were the very first to run and hide.

You talk ****, each and every one of you, cowards that would look to designate hate speech to one who does not share your insecurities and very one sided and might I just add for the record, ‘Minority’ views.

So to take it one step further, anyone who has huge chips on their shoulders in fact is you esteemed chicken runners, no one else and especially not those you are so quick to lambaste as hate speaking trolls, you are no more than cowards, seeing as you are unable to face the very music you so eagerly would like to sweep beneath your illusory carpet.

You want to move forward then do so, but its the very likes of you who are unable to cross the meager little threshold of embracing humanity in his entirety, it is still you weaklings that pretend to be holier than the rest when in fact it is quite the reverse, you are no more than the weakling cowards you profess others to be in truth.

So put that in your progressive pipes and smoke it, and go on report this comment as hate speech, where in fact if any reader would like to know some truth of the matters, the happy go lucky back slapping society on here hardly represents the majority sentiment in this country, in fact more likely quite the reverse if all honesty was considered.

C’mon brave Rainbow Warriors, lets see if any one of you are anywhere near to the progressive steps in our society that for example Paul Treu and his group of real forward thinking adventurous rugby pioneers and some others are embarking on, no its rather you lot that would prefer to hearken back to your insular little small minded club of all things white and sugar coated rosy.

Its about time you got rid of your guilt consciences and stopped blaming the rest of the world for your own insecurities, and for one other thing grow up and become a man, even at your late stage of development.

Yours is not the progressive thinking you make out it is, and if you cannot stomach some alternate non corroborative white mans view, than you are even less courageous and less of the man than even you might have thought you were, after all perhaps you are just sissies, seeing Africa is too rough a place for the likes of you.

• 766.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

So it is 07:23 in Johannesburg when i log onto Keo – still glowing about the fantastic Bok performance this weekend.

I see 764 Posts – and i think – “Hell, I am not the only one ready to shout joy for our boys”

As usual, I read the last 30 posts to get up to speed – and i nearly kill myself due to the infighting and depression.

SOUTH AFRICANS DONT KNOW HOW TO CELEBRATE ! we are addicted to bad news – so whenever we win – we have to castle ourselves with bad bews.

Please let all the posts today celebrate this victory – not some non sensical politcal ****.

• 767.ET: Reply to this comment

My good grief!! What exquisite concern except that it is from a bunch of sanctimonious thieves. And concern about what? South Africa’s image in the world? Where was this selfless concern when Steve Biko (immortalised in song by Peter Gabriel) was mercilessly killed in the back of a police bakkie on some national road? And what about the countless others who are no longer living because your brothers, cousins, friends, fathers, grand-fathers brutalised them when in the police or military where they all probably played rugby too? What about the children of Athlone , Sharpville, Soweto, Langa and countless others who were shot in the back ? Where was your collective concern then? How more sanctimonious can you pitiful miscreants still become? You don’t know what suffering really is and so you complain about an emblem, a so-called ‘quota’ and when they win you drink yourselves into oblivion, and you say you are civilised? Stop labelling people, and complaining about people who have the guts, as many times above shows, to point out the truth to your face. You want to see a coward ? Go look in the mirror.

• 768.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

well done Paul Treu – a brilliant sevens tactician with a mind and resolve of steel

Renfred Dazel you beauty for that line you ran off Gio Aplon. Also – your feeds to the scrum make it impossible not to win the ball back

Gio Aplon for the break of a life time, and making some serious life or death tackles.

Well done Impi Mbiyozo – for taking the Kiwis on at their physical game. You fight way above your own weight

Rayno Benjamin – you have come back from having a **** year – and you shone in the semi final. you legend you.

Frankie Horne – the rock around which the side is built. Magnificent in the scrums, and the most under rated player in that side.

Phillip Snyman – My boy from the Free State. You have such a magnificent future. You are unbeaten at Sevens and have stood your man against the best of the best. Many winning years at the Cheetahs for you.

Kyle Brown – I dont know you – but hell did you show passion and heart husstling Zar Lawrence of the last move of the game. Go you good thing !!

THEN THE TWO SPECIAL MENTIONS:

Robert Ebersohn – Son, you are a legend. Last year this time you were in matric. Now you were voted the best player at an international tournament. The Cheetahs are so proud of you. Oh, and that drop goal was over !! Frans Steyn se gat.

Mzwandile Stick – a legendary leader, and a magnificent player. You were my Man of the Match. Fantastic defense and a cool calm leader. VIVA.

WELL DONE BOYS – YOU MADE ME PROUD !

• 769.jerimiyah: Reply to this comment

#767 Cheetha Champs:

Hear, Hear

each one of those boys became warrior men this weekend, truly courageous magnificent warriors that pulled out and carried an entire nations dream of sporting prowess on their larger than Atlas shoulders

The entire magnificent 7′s team led by Paul Treu and his strong Captain Courageous filtering that strength and courage through each and every body and mind in that team.

Pride and satisfaction are hardly the sentiments best describing such immense joy at watching those guys become men of immense great stature on Saturday.

They all deserve medals of valor each and every one of them.

• 770.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#765 heckle_jeckyl:

Not only a troll but a racist troll. Please go play in the traffic and make yourself uselful Mr Zuma. I might just decide to use the nice little badge of my Merc as sights for your broodkop…it’ll be worth the damage and feeling of satisfaction. :-)

• 771.tight head: Reply to this comment

Round and round and round they go.
    Blaming, blaming, blaming.
    So what do they want?
    Whites to all stand up and plead guilty?
    And then what?
    Sentence all whites to inprisonment for the sins of their fathers.
    In the meantime a country goes progressively down the drain as each day passes.
    Living in Zimbabwe is obviously okay, as long as you are selfrighteous and free.
    Move on ex liberation strugglers.
    The world is grey, not black and white.
    Build a country, not an ego.

• 772.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#767 ET:

Steve who..Hofmeyer?

I care not what other people did. It’s done, over.

Life is great and I love lying in my pool with an ice cold beer in my hand thinking about you suffering…especially you…jaaaaa life is great. How’s the wors there…pass me a lamb chop please….mmmmmm….tasty. Yep, life is great. Oh and I don’t have any guilt either….nope not me..too busy living it up while you suffer….and loving every minute of it.

Another Proudly South African moment by Predawn

• 773.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#771 tight head:

Sorry but do any of us really care who blamed who…..noooooooooooooo. The only regret I have is that I missed these ones in Daveyton when I was a Riot Unit cop. Only so much ammo and not enough hours in the day.

• 774.Puma: Reply to this comment

#766 Cheetha Champs: Hi Cheetha. I was really proud of our Bok 7′s side on Sat. Don’t just look at the last 30 posts go back the time of the game on Sat and you will see lots of very positive posts there how we were all so proud of our team on Saturday. Once again well done to Paul Treu and his magnificent team.

• 775.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

#767 ET:

And the bombings in Pretoria were justifed? Your goverment named streets and airports after these thugs, and yet we should apologise for what our forefathers did? LOL

• 776.Predawn: Reply to this comment

My Fijian and Kiwi mates were trying very hard to avoid the topic this morning.

• 777.Puma: Reply to this comment

#775 Richie_7: Morning Richie. Did you get the 7′s game on tv Sat? Great win for our team. Actually it was a great tournament. We beat some of the best sides in the tournament. Oz, England, Fiji and NZ in the final. Really proud of our Bok 7′s team.

• 778.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#773 Predawn:

You can always make up for lost time.

• 779.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#778 Dawn:

No weapon. Perhaps you have contacts with the gangs.

• 780.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

Tell me why I don’t like Mondays!

• 781.tight head: Reply to this comment

#778 Dawn:
    Dawnie.
    The tighter the bind, the better.

• 782.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

Juuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuusttttttttttttttttt warming up the fingers. Sorry

• 783.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

#781 tight head:
    How did the scrums go at George? Did they get their binds right? Right!

• 784.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#778 Dawn: #779 Predawn:
    You two know each other!
    It has just ‘dawned’ on me, of course, from Rugrats Gallery (RW)……!
    Small world indeed.
    Btw predawn, love your weapon on the photo there, hehehe!

• 785.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#779 Predawn:

Given your law enforcement background, shouldn’t be too hard for you to get a weapon.

#780 Irish Devil:

That feeling is mutual!

• 786.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#784 Pietman:

In my defence I came up with my nic first..long story :-)

• 787.AB: Reply to this comment

#784 Pietman: Morning! I must say this Mzwandile Stick has impressed me beyond limits! He played for the Sharkies at fullback two seasons ago, but I never noticed him. Could be a find for the 15 man game, he isnt that small, he is quick, got a good rugby brain and can kick! I wonder what his place kicking is like?

• 788.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

#785 Dawn:
    At least you have sunshine, sunshine!

• 789.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#785 Dawn:

I keep getting drunk in shebeens and losing the damn things.

• 790.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#786 Predawn:

As if.

• 791.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#788 Irish Devil:

People of the FIreman’s seem to think you’re not in Ireland at all!

So fess up. What are you looking at right now.

• 792.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#790 Dawn:

S’true.

• 793.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

#791 Dawn:
    I know which one? I am looking at Millstreet Country Park.

• 794.AB: Reply to this comment

Mzwandile Stokololo Stick is his full names, I wonder where we will be able to get more info on our Captain eg weight, height, age

• 795.Puma: Reply to this comment

#787 AB: Morning AB. That what I was saying last night. I hardly noticed Stick at the Sharks either. But spooner and gbs said he played wing at the Sharks in 2004/05. I too asked if they thought he could make the step back up to the 15′s. He really impressed me this weekend. He can tackle and is very fast. I was wondering if he could be back up to Ruan at 10. More than a fullback. Then if he is making it at 7′s he may never want to move back to the 15′s. But he is looking really good at the moment. His goal kicks in Dubai were magnificent too.

• 796.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

#791 Dawn:
    What does it matter! I am up against it.

• 797.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#786 Predawn:
    Lol! So she stalked you, hehehe! Naughty girl, our Dawnie.
    #787 AB:
    Oh yes, that boy has heaps of talent, for sure.
    Hell, he is good, great bmt, wonder where the Sharks will play him next year?
    If he bulks up he might well go to WC in 2011.

• 798.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#795 Puma:
    Yip, was just saying to AB.

• 799.AB: Reply to this comment

OK anybody interested here are the details from SA Rugby:
    Mzwandile Wanky Stick
    Playing Position:Fullback

Current Province:EP
    Club:Spring Rose
    Honours:
    EP Academy U16 2000
    EP Craven Week U18 2001
    EP U19 2001
    SARFU Academy (PE) 2002
    EP U21 2002
    EP U19 2002
    Mighty Elephants U21 2002Natal Wildebeest Vodacom Cup 2004
    Mighty Elephants Currie Cup
    Tusker Safari Sevens 2003
    SA Sevens 2004: Hong Kong; Singapore; France; London
    SA Sevens 2004-2005 Dubai; George
    Natal U21 2005
    SA Sevens 2005
    2007 – SA Sevens trials

Personal Details
    Full Name Mzwandile Wanky
    Nick Name Stokololo
    Surname Stick
    Height 181cm
    Weight 85kg
    Birth Date 5 October 1984
    Birth City Port Elizabeth
    Marital Status Single
    Favourite Film Man of Honour
    Favourite Music You Raise Me Up
    Favourite Food Pasta; Chicken
    Primary School Stephen Mazumgula
    Secondary School Newell High School

• 800.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#796 Irish Devil:

This is my morning.

Because of extreme heat and hot wind yesterday, fires broke out in the Boland area, which were so fierce that the whole of Cape Town is blanketed in a pall of high lying smoke.

The aircon in our building has broken down, so it’s like sitting in a sauna.

I am spending my morning sorting out f ups made by my stupid colleagues.

We have extremely irritating visiting family from overseas who fight and bicker with each other non-stop and spend their days sulking and moping.

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.