Brilliant Boks break drought

The Springboks won the George Sevens for the first time ever when they downed New Zealand 12-7 at a packed Outeniqua Park.

The Boks also broke the drought by winning back-to-back tournaments after Dubai last week and fittingly captain Mzwandile Stick crashed over for the crucial score. Before that Gio Aplon was adjudged to have knocked the ball over the line after a cross-kick, but from the scrum the Boks forced a tighthead and Stick did the rest.

DJ Forbe’s opened the scoring for the Kiwis, but a try late in the opening half by Renfred Deyzel brought the hosts back at 5-7. Stick then scored with three minutes to go and added the conversion.

“It’s awesome to win here, we’ve struggled in the past in George due to the pressure,” said Stick. “The support from the crowd was amazing and this was a very special one – our blood is green.”

Springboks - Tries: Renfred Deyzel, Mzwandile Stick. Conversion: Stick.

The Boks reached the final via a convincing 21-7 win over Fiji.

The hosts dominated possession in the opening half and three tries was the result – to Ryno Benjamin (2) and Mpho Mbiyozo who barged over.

The Fijians scored a consolation score with a minute to go but the result was beyond doubt.

Springboks - Tries: Mpho Mbiyozo, Ryno Benjamin (2). Conversions: Stick (3).

Meanwhile in the qaurters, Man of the Tournament Robert Ebersohn was instrumental in the Boks’ 17-12 victory over England.

Ebersohn scored the first try and set up the extra couple of scores. Ebersohn’s offload inbetween two tacklers inside his own 22 was instrumental in the second score, while his 40m break set up captain Mzwandile Stick for the try that sealed the win.

The Boks led 19-5 and a late try from the English was mere consolation.

Springboks - Tries: Robert Ebersohn, Ryno Benjamin, Mzwandile Stick. Conversion: Stick.

Click here for score updates.

A full report will be posted at the end of the day.

831 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] Show All

• 801.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#799 AB:
    Wraggies, Spring Rose?
    Daai klub het al beroemde spelers opgelewer.

• 802.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

#800 Dawn:
    Go to the Beach! Just checked the weather in Cape Town – minimum 20 – if we have that as a max in summer we are :)

• 803.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#802 Irish Devil:

All very well and good but there’s smoke everywhere.

• 804.Puma: Reply to this comment

#798 Pietman: Morning Piet. Yes I wonder if Stick could make a return to 15′s. Asked last night and they said he came on from the bench in 2004 for the Sharks. I hardly remember him. But damn he has impressed me in the 7′s maybe he could just make a step back up to the 15′s.

#799 AB: So that will make him 25 next year. Still young enough to go back and play 15′s What a great player. Also would love to see Ebersohn eventaully playing 15′s He still wants to play 7′s this year though.

• 805.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

#803 Dawn:
    Everywhere!!! Then you are in ****

• 806.AB: Reply to this comment

# Pietman: #804 Puma: I just saw he played fullback for the Sharks July 15 2007.

• 807.Puma: Reply to this comment

#806 AB: I hardly even noticed him so was not even sure where he played. Spooner said he played for Sharks as a wing but only came on from the bench in 2004. I just thought on Sat if he could make the step back to the 15′s as he seems like a real class player to me. But if he plays for the 7′s the whole of next year by the following year he will be 26 then. I would have to be next year to get the experience. I thought of him actually playing 10 for back up to Ruan. But it was just a wild idea. His kicking at goal was reall magnificent in Dubai.

• 808.AB: Reply to this comment

#807 Puma: Yip I agree. Only time will tell, lets see what the powers to be does with this man!

• 809.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I wonder what would’ve happened if Stick had f*up and SA had lost.

• 810.Puma: Reply to this comment

#808 AB: Stick is a really class player and really all of that 7′s team. They are all great. Really proud of the whole team.

• 811.Irish Devil: Reply to this comment

#809 Dawn:
    The AB’s would have won :???:

• 812.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#811 Irish Devil:

I mean in terms of the comments here.

• 813.jerimiyah: Reply to this comment

#773 Predawn: #772 Predawn: #770 Predawn:

Who is this fool that thinks he is justified in performing his magnanimous humane deeds lining up people in his sights from his mercedes. Cowardice made manifest, big deals with big wheels brandishing their big guns in self defence on the unsuspecting cannon fodder of civilization.

Such idiots have no place in society such as is being sought after here.

Worst part of these false motioned brains is they actually believe they are justified in their causes of ethnic cleansing, the sooner this planet is free of the blight of such discriminatory garbage such as this self righteous fool the better.

• 814.saynotohelium: Reply to this comment

Outstanding effort. Well done too them. Alas no coverage on SABC so no one at grass roots level for whom the game is intended got to see it.

• 815.cab: Reply to this comment

and the Lord sayeth to his flock i shall smite thee down and banish your ballas into the next dimension…

hell, this is funny stuff.

• 816.cab: Reply to this comment

oh yes congratulation to the 7′s sides, okes are playing better and better, 2 tournaments in a row, big win over kiwis too.

• 817.jerimiyah: Reply to this comment

whats the lord got to do with any of this egotistical mayhem, naught whatsoever, in fact he is rolling around in his big armchair up there and having one almighty cackle

• 818.cab: Reply to this comment

must admit its tempting to adopt another persona, but just dont feel right.

• 819.jerimiyah: Reply to this comment

different strokes for different folks, some only feel secure behind big wheels and big deal bazookas, brandishing their cowardice on their lapels.

While the rest of mankind continue in their quest to get by through another day.

Persona’s are just as like ego’s they come and then they go.

Meantime it is as best as one can make of it, sometimes its simply just a better bet choosing ones acquaintances and company as wisely as one can. . . . under the circumstances.

• 820.Rugby Tator: Reply to this comment

Brilliant effort from the SA 7′s team. Credit to their persistence and craft. One big thing though. Learn to be gratious in victory. Dancing around after the final whistle is great, only after you have gone up to the opposition to thank them for the game.

It is not just old fashioned, it is the sign of good manners to go to the opponents and thank them, and then go mad!

Why did we not hear from the Kiwi’s on TV?

• 821.Nguni Stud: Reply to this comment

Neil Powell anyone? Nah,

Nah, Stokoloko is just fine

Stokoloko inja engena mazinyo ( Stokoloko, a dog without teeth) but Stick does have them and is using them and i scheme Neil Powell will have a problem seeing that he was an average player and captain.

I want the list of all the contracted players for our saffa Super 14 franchises, anyone who can dig the info?

• 822.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Boks were brilliant
    love it when the all blacks lose
    the look on their face is priceless

• 823.Scrumdown: Reply to this comment

What a VERY sad series of posts. SA is indeed still a very sick society.

KEO why not start a socio-political web site for all of the sad people to rant and rave on? I think you’ll get more comments than you get Rugby comments here.

• 824.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#702 gunther: strange that, since there is more space to defend in teh sevens game, so you would think that if Gio is good on defence at 7′s then he shouldbe great at 15′s. I suppose one difference is that you do get bigger guys in 15′s. But he was bad on defence against other centres in th epast. I hope that this is because his defence has come on in leaps and bounds and he will be well able in teh 15man code now. He does some damn fine twinkel toes.

Another player that I am very impressed with is Mzwandile Stick – his tactical awareness and eye for space was great these last two weekend, and his kicking outstanding! Who knows, could he be SA’s next black flyhalf?

• 825.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#709 carol: The English use it in the same way – as a humorous thing, and as a derogatory thing, and as a body part..

• 826.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#799 AB: His middle name is “Wanky” and his surname “Stick” but his nickname is Stokololo? WTF?

• 827.Predawn: Reply to this comment

#813 jerimiyah:

Don’t walk too close to the side of the road. There’s a badge out there looking for your ***.

• 828.jerimiyah: Reply to this comment

Rambo revisited,

Congratulations keo, looks like you have just elevated the collective consciousness on your web site by 1000%, now you have Sylvester Stallone style hit men roaming your blogs. They should head back off to Hollywood, or else change their nicknames to ‘Prehistoric’.

• 829.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#765 heckle_jeckyl: look here doos, the choice of not living in SA wasn’t made by me but regardless of this fact I have been raised as a Saffer, my blood is green and heritage is afrikaans even though my afrikaans sucks these days. I’m a patriotic South African through and through and I will never stop supporting South African teams.

However with the current state SA is in there’s little point of me going back to live there for the foreseeable future, I’m the wrong colour to get a job (just stating a fact) and I’m not sure if I want to spend the rest of my days watching my back, getting paranoid at stop streets, waiting for that day to come when someone holds a gun to my head.

My cousin was murdered in central Jo’burg in 94 while waiting to meet his mate. He was robbed and killed, stabbed through the chest for R30 my friend…fck all. My uncle had to hire a private detective to find him because the police were of no help, and they found him in a morgue 5 days later. He was only 18. And to make it even more painful for my uncle, he couldn’t get the murdered convicted. Police found a t-shirt of his which was stained with my cousin’s blood but the case was thrown out of court because of “insufficient evidence”. This guy is still walking around today. My uncle told me that he knew where this knunt lived and his car reg, he even considered hiring someone to kill him but never went through because he said it would make him as bad as his son’s killer! So don’t you lecture me about knowing nothing about SA. When a tragedy likes this affects your family, it makes reflect on whether its worth braving the risks of living in such a crime ridden city or is it more important to ensure your life own family doesn’t go through the pain my uncle had to endure and will continue to for the rest of his life.

I’m not quite sure what you’re on about, your last post is a rambling nonsensical mess but it seems to me that you don’t like people speaking out against how the ANC are running things right now…and for your information I still have lots of family in SA, I read SA papers online everyday and make regular visits so I am fully aware of what’s going on , good and bad.

As for this bulle kak accusations of being a racist, I actually deplore apartheid, and what it has done to the country. The ANC’s achievement of keeping the country together during what is usually the descent into war for most countries transitioning from a regime to a democracy is monumental but this does not give them license to squander public funds for their own personal gain and no political party is free from criticism. So what is it about criticising the government that is so offensive to you? Are they perfect in your opinion? Or can only black people criticise the ANC?

I would like nothing more for black, white, indian, coloured, pink, green Saffers to be able to live together but while there is still grinding poverty, no jobs, AIDS and unprecedented levels of crime blighting society things will just get worse…this is why it angers me when I see all this infighting going on in the ANC, future presidents involved in corruption scandals, reports of millions being squandered. South Africa was in a precarious position before the ANC took over which is why it needs careful, measured governance where corruption is not tolerated and public funds and taxpayers money is used economically and innovatively to help aleviate the grinding poverty, fight the AIDS epidemic and bolster what is now becoming a crumbling police force!

Are you telling me that nothing is the matter when private security firms are doing the job of the police in Hillbrow and vigiantilism is rife in the townships! Boy wake up and smell the coffee! When law and order breaks down, communities find their own methods for dealing with criminals in their midst, which will inevitably be more violence – violence begets violence! You call this good governance?! The ANC are failing to keep the promises they made to millions of South Africans in 1994.

Have a look at this program the BBC recently made about Jo’burg:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00g1vdq/Louis_Theroux_Law_and_Disorder_in_Johannesburg/

This is how we’re really perceived by the rest of the world. Perhaps we need to send a copy of this to Zuma and his officials because clearly they are hopelessly out of touch with the situation on the ground. I

s this the sort of image you want South Africa to resemble? A crime ridden, broken society where the government is impotent or unwilling to do anything? You tell me.

• 830.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#804 Puma: Doesn’t Ebersohn already play for the Cheetahs?

• 831.JayDaFiveOh: Reply to this comment

#822 Boksarenumber1: Oh yes, was particulary satisfying given what a doos DJ Forbes is! It reminded me a little bit of our win in Dunedin and how depressed So’oialo looked when he was being interviewed after the match!

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.