Sevens primed for Olympics

Sevens rugby could be included as an Olympic sport at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

International Rugby Board (IRB) Sevens tournament director, Beth Coalter, said the chairperson of the IRB, Bernard Lapasset, was lobbying the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to have Sevens instated as an Olympic sport.

The IRB expects to have an answer from the International Olympics Committee (IOC) by October 9 2009.

“There’s a possibility that we will be able to take part as early as 2012,” Coalter told Die Burger.

“The winners won’t receive medals though, but will play demonstration matches only. If these trials in London are a success, there is a strong possibility that Sevens rugby would be included in the 2016 Olympic Games as an official Olympic sport.

“With Sevens rugby you have two days of extremely exciting action. The big stadium in Beijing often stood empty during this year’s Games. When Sevens rugby was played at the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, spectators filled the seats.

“The profile of Sevens rugby would be raised considerably by being part of the Olympics, meaning that participating countries would also receive the support of their governments,” explained Coalter.

Speaking of the World Cup in Dubai (5-7 March 2009), Coalter said: “After the Dubai tournament, we went back to the drawing board to see how we could improve. One change to be implemented is that we will also have 16 women’s teams to go with the 24 men’s teams at the World Cup tournament.”

862 Comments

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 » Show All

• 751.grant10: Reply to this comment

#746 SodaJoe: hi soda ….been a cool day…your side?

• 752.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#739 SpringbokSarah: R u?

• 753.grant10: Reply to this comment

#748 carol: magical life…some guys just dont get it !! Amazes me!

• 754.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#749 grant10: DON’T CAROL! Babies in front seats cause accidents and accidents in back seats cause babies!

• 755.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#746 SodaJoe: Howzit Soda!!!!! Whats up???

• 756.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#752 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: yip, hence the “too”

• 757.carol: Reply to this comment

#749 grant10: Tempting!!!

• 758.grant10: Reply to this comment

#754 SpringbokSarah: Carol will be in good hands….

• 759.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#742 carol:

The worst about getting “dumped” or “wiped” is if you sit later the same day (for example) in a meeting at work and all of a sudden the salt water start running from your nostrils. It can be very embarrassing.

The taxis are sometimes a bit more risky but they are also quick and cheap. You should be OK.

• 760.carol: Reply to this comment

#753 grant10: I can add nothing to that!

• 761.carol: Reply to this comment

Back in 10…

• 762.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#751 grant10: #755 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: So just to give you the SJ weather update. -14C. Snow. Seriously we are the lost tribe. Everyone went left and we went right.

Life is good. Having to work hard but hey wey and away.

I quite like Keo. Actually I like it a lot. Does get out of control every now and then. But I’ve been at dinner parties and bars where that happens too.

• 763.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#758 grant10: hmmmm that’s what they all say

• 764.grant10: Reply to this comment

#761 carol: Tempting only….damn and there i thought we were going dancing!!

• 765.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#754 SpringbokSarah: And what happens on a camel?

• 766.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#758 grant10: Keep your hands in your pockets or the WRS will club you.

How’s business by the way.

• 767.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#754 SpringbokSarah: :lol:

• 768.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#762 SodaJoe:

Hi Soda,

omparing Keo to the other two rugby sites that Sarah mentioned is like comparing ACDC with the Carpenters. They are boring, those sites.

• 769.grant10: Reply to this comment

#759 Robzim: 2 nites in a row….dumped big time….bloody sore….spent an hour and a half on clifton 1 st tonite…no body surfing…just getting Gods Medicine to heal the bruises…ego more hurt than body!!

• 770.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#765 SodaJoe: Pamela Anderson

#767 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: It’s true

• 771.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#762 SodaJoe: Hehehe…..the lost tribe.

• 772.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#768 Robzim: That new ACDC cd is LEKKER!!!!!

• 773.grant10: Reply to this comment

#766 SodaJoe: Quiet …expecting a rate cut on thursday….praying….hopefully kick start business ….that time of the year….probably not much till 2nd week in jan.

• 774.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

My firends…. Handbriekie is hellova stressed tonight, because of the time of year at work…….. my turn to go pamper her, take out the scented aromatic oils, light some candles….. and rub her weary back and neck, hold her and make her feel special again….

Cheers people..

We’ll chat tomorrow !

• 775.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#768 Robzim: I am distracted enough by Keo. Opening Pandora’s box is not going to be helpful. I’ve made quite a few friends, which I find anthropolgically interesting – the process that is, not the friends.

It get’s different this time of year. i remember after teh RWC when there was no rugby, but the conversation is good.

How’s the shoulder?

• 776.grant10: Reply to this comment

#766 SodaJoe: WRS and i will be big mates….banter only my man…but hey …you know that!

• 777.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#770 SpringbokSarah: Classic. Good one.

• 778.grant10: Reply to this comment

#774 grootblousmile: cheers my bruised and battered friend!

• 779.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#776 grant10: I know just pulling your chain (again)

• 780.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#774 grootblousmile: Bye boet.

• 781.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#774 grootblousmile: gg, what’s up with you and massages

#777 SodaJoe: Which one?

• 782.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#773 grant10: It’s holiday time. Relax. Find a few good vaalies to buy a lot of property.

• 783.grant10: Reply to this comment

#775 SodaJoe: yes….strange this blog thing!! I find myself drawn to certain people and less so others! Anyway….say cheers to carol for me! Outta here

• 784.carol: Reply to this comment

#764 grant10: OK I am back, dancing for sure and the rest…

• 785.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#781 SpringbokSarah: Pamela Anderson.

• 786.carol: Reply to this comment

#783 grant10: See you X

• 787.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

See this is why everybody thinks we’re weird!

• 788.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#774 grootblousmile: Cheers gbs…gaan groot!!!!!

• 789.carol: Reply to this comment

#774 grootblousmile: Genet you drome. You know how to spoil a girl GBS….go for it!

• 790.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#775 SodaJoe:

It is much better, thanks. Physio’s can do wonders these days.

I did not even know about those other sites but just went for a look after Sarah mentioned it. No plans to visit it again.

Maybe the talk will be cricket next week

• 791.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#785 SodaJoe: oooooooo well she’s got bigger humps than the camel

• 792.carol: Reply to this comment

#759 Robzim: This salt water thing is a revelation to me…..yeukk.

• 793.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#787 SpringbokSarah: Hehehehe…..it is all a good laugh. Those other lot would have expevted GBS to say: Im off guys, my wife is stressed….Im going to throw her with a rugbyball till she relaxes…or sth like that!!!!!

• 794.carol: Reply to this comment

#750 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Technology…

• 795.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#793 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: lol, why do you think I’m here and not there?

• 796.carol: Reply to this comment

#754 SpringbokSarah: Thanks for your sisterly concern by the way. “Girl Power” – sorry that is a bit 1990′s LOL

• 797.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#794 carol: Geez Carol…u r waaaayyy up the thread hehe

• 798.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#795 SpringbokSarah: GBS’s massages? ;)

• 799.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#787 SpringbokSarah: We are, I embrace my deeper innner weirdness. I celebrate the Big W on the first Wednesday of every month. I think November should be changed to Wovember.

All in the name of the Boks beating the All Blacks twice next year. And the Lions.

• 800.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#796 carol: lol

#798 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: No because you are more colourful

#799 SodaJoe: roflmao

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.