Sevens primed for Olympics
9 Dec 2008
Sevens rugby could be included as an Olympic sport at the 2012 London Olympic Games.
International Rugby Board (IRB) Sevens tournament director, Beth Coalter, said the chairperson of the IRB, Bernard Lapasset, was lobbying the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to have Sevens instated as an Olympic sport.
The IRB expects to have an answer from the International Olympics Committee (IOC) by October 9 2009.
“There’s a possibility that we will be able to take part as early as 2012,” Coalter told Die Burger.
“The winners won’t receive medals though, but will play demonstration matches only. If these trials in London are a success, there is a strong possibility that Sevens rugby would be included in the 2016 Olympic Games as an official Olympic sport.
“With Sevens rugby you have two days of extremely exciting action. The big stadium in Beijing often stood empty during this year’s Games. When Sevens rugby was played at the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, spectators filled the seats.
“The profile of Sevens rugby would be raised considerably by being part of the Olympics, meaning that participating countries would also receive the support of their governments,” explained Coalter.
Speaking of the World Cup in Dubai (5-7 March 2009), Coalter said: “After the Dubai tournament, we went back to the drawing board to see how we could improve. One change to be implemented is that we will also have 16 women’s teams to go with the 24 men’s teams at the World Cup tournament.”

862 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All
9 Dec 2008, 23:06 pm
#797 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Sorry had to to the “eating” thing and WRS is looking like he needs some TLC so I should be off soon.
9 Dec 2008, 23:07 pm
# carol: Little details that you would keep to yourself Carol
9 Dec 2008, 23:08 pm
#790 Robzim: I have to brush up on my cricket a bit……Glad the England boys went back to India though!
9 Dec 2008, 23:08 pm
#796 carol: I have this image of Gerri Halliwell with skinny jeans and a whip.
9 Dec 2008, 23:09 pm
#804 SodaJoe: thanks for that
9 Dec 2008, 23:09 pm
Must go, night all…………..#802 SpringbokSarah: What can I say!!
9 Dec 2008, 23:10 pm
#806 carol: well you could just say night
night
9 Dec 2008, 23:10 pm
7s at Olympics is a must. only need to see the success of the event at last common wealth games. london will get brilliant crowds for this
the spirit of 7s rugby fits with the spirit of the Olympics!
9 Dec 2008, 23:11 pm
#804 SodaJoe: Except I’m not ginger! Do have the other bits though!! Sorry Sarah, don’t mean to paint a picture!
9 Dec 2008, 23:11 pm
You know the saying “it’s always the last place you look”? Well of course it is why would I continue to look after I’ve found it?
9 Dec 2008, 23:12 pm
#803 carol:
It is an interesting one. I see Boycott is saying they should not have gone back under the circumstances (cricket is a sport, should be fun,etc) while others are arguing that they must support the Indians and go back.
What does WRS say about the issue?
9 Dec 2008, 23:17 pm
#808 Tomsta:
I agree. It is also our best chance to get at least one gold medal in london!
9 Dec 2008, 23:19 pm
#808 Tomsta: I agree. It will be a wonderful spectacle featuring a mainstream sport. The fringe sports that are included in the Olympics are just a joke. I mean how exciting is synchronized swimming?
The facts are that Rugby Union administrators are self serving expensive alcohol swilling incompetents. Their arrogance marginalizes a sport that could be very large globally.
But go 7′s. I think it would be awesome.
9 Dec 2008, 23:21 pm
#811 Robzim: I am in the camp that says you do not let terrorists succeed. Good for the team to go back. Takes a wee bit of courage, but I am sure that they will be safe.
9 Dec 2008, 23:22 pm
#812 Robzim: Not sure about that BobbyZ. Fiji, NZ playing for a gold medal. That would be my prediction. Saw that as a final once in HK 7′s.
The 2 teams did their “haka” war dances similtaneously. Scared the **** out of the crowd. They thought there was going to be an actual war.
9 Dec 2008, 23:24 pm
Ok people, I really have to go sleep (It’s 1:20 am) and apparantly I have ‘a big day of perfume shopping’ 2mo…. o joy
Night
9 Dec 2008, 23:25 pm
#361 saru1983: Jy is ‘n pooz
#813 SodaJoe: Just as long as Women’s Beach Volley Ball remains…!!!!!
#816 SpringbokSarah: Night Sarah.
9 Dec 2008, 23:26 pm
#809 carol: Nite carol.
9 Dec 2008, 23:26 pm
#818 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Absolutely. They can do away with the guys though. make them play 7′s.
9 Dec 2008, 23:27 pm
#817 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: King Edward don’t swim in the dirty water.
9 Dec 2008, 23:27 pm
#816 SpringbokSarah: Night.
9 Dec 2008, 23:28 pm
#821 SodaJoe: Oh yes…they must go!!!!!
9 Dec 2008, 23:29 pm
#822 SodaJoe: Ek sit lekker en lees almal se kak praat, en lag my gat af, dan kom so iets op. Nee man, dit is nie lekker nie.#823 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Hello my Leeu Maat.
9 Dec 2008, 23:30 pm
#817 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Hello my Leeu maatjie. Kry jy koud daar annerkant?
9 Dec 2008, 23:32 pm
#826 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Sjoe dit is koud. Gister was dit -22 grade farenheit met die wind faktor. Ek het behoorlik afgekak.
9 Dec 2008, 23:33 pm
#815 SodaJoe:
I agree that NZ and Fidji would be the favourites but we should at least be in with a chance unlike our flippin hockey players (for example) who usually end stone last. It is of course also possible that an olympic medal might serve as an incentive to get the real top players involved.
9 Dec 2008, 23:34 pm
#827 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Geez…neem jou nie kwalik nie. kan jy glo….meer as een Leeu op keo op dieselfde tyd. Wonder waars die ander een? hehehehe
9 Dec 2008, 23:35 pm
#829 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Hahaha, Dit is ‘n nuwe rekord, ek sien selfs red Lion is nou red bull.
9 Dec 2008, 23:37 pm
#825 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Not worth it bud. Just los it. I think everyone did really well ignoring that kind of stuff today.
Cold in Boston huh? I think we are giving ou a good go here in Minneapolis, plus we have early snow.
9 Dec 2008, 23:37 pm
SJ, Robzim
i think olympic folks are worried that rugby would be like the soccer. or even hockey for that matter. hopefully they get full understanding of what 7s is all about.
really they should just attend the Wellington 7s next year and see for themselves how good they would be for olympics. i’ll give them a personal intro
olympics will never lose the traditional sports, but also hopefully keep the party ones like beach and indoor volleyball
9 Dec 2008, 23:39 pm
#830 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Ja dis sommer kak!!! het al met hom gepraat daaroor!!!
9 Dec 2008, 23:40 pm
#831 SodaJoe: Sunday was the first time I ever saw snow. I enjoy the cold and snow, because now I can try skiing and some winter sports. I think we should meet up in Florida for a beer.
9 Dec 2008, 23:41 pm
#833 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Nee jong. Hy sal terug kom wanneer ons weer begin wen in so 5 of 6 jaar..hahaha
9 Dec 2008, 23:44 pm
Cheers almal. Ek gaan huis toe..
9 Dec 2008, 23:46 pm
#828 Robzim: thats my concern though. as soon as rugby is part of olympics would we then see superstars of the XV code being summoned to ensure gold medals. it will end up like the soccer then, with limitations to the number of ‘pros’ allowed on the field at a time.
instead they should just do 7s rugby with maybe a rule that stipulates that members of olympic 7s squad have to had at least 5 IRB season games.
it would be cool seeing countries like kenya, fiji, png, etc getting medals
9 Dec 2008, 23:46 pm
Hallo everyone, I’m new. this is a weird blog. I like rugby too. You’ll maybe see me some more around here. Have been reading here some time. Strange topics. I actually joined today. Will contribute some in the near future.
What a great perfomance by our boys in the 7′s. !!
Isn’t Mark Keohane that journalist? Some pedestal he built himself here. Everyone help propping please. HAHA.
Tonight looks like everyone is taking it easy. I also have login powers!!
What are the pointers for blogging here?? (maybe I have an idea or two..for later)
9 Dec 2008, 23:49 pm
I know it’s late, and only the lonely are still blogging. nothing meant by that.
9 Dec 2008, 23:52 pm
#828 Robzim: Well let’s hope so. We’re not the sporting giants of yore.
9 Dec 2008, 23:53 pm
#838 Checkin: welcome. Just be yourself. And have good manners.
9 Dec 2008, 23:54 pm
#836 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Cheers Ed…ek gaan ook nou slaap.
Cheers everybody…..been a long day.
#838 Checkin: Welcome …….. but NOT if ur a BULL
9 Dec 2008, 23:55 pm
#838 Checkin:
You do not need to have any particular skills or knowledge to join in. It is free and easy and anyone can join
You must just not become too clever then they ban you….
9 Dec 2008, 23:55 pm
#832 Tomsta: Jacques Rogge is a rugby fan in quite a big way.
I think that rugby has shot itself in the foot more than once. Maybe the women’s thing was also a big issue.
I really get so the moer in with administration. I almost sound like Skoppies the way I harp on it. I think I must practice what I preach.
9 Dec 2008, 23:56 pm
#842 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Tot Siens Big Dog.
9 Dec 2008, 23:57 pm
#837 Tomsta: That’s a good idea by the way. No ringers. What about age – Under 21?
9 Dec 2008, 23:58 pm
#841 SodaJoe: Thank you for the welcome. You mean no jokes of left wing preachers chilling with rigth wing activists being pro active? and those etc. Just joking.
9 Dec 2008, 23:58 pm
#834 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: How long have you been in Boston Ed?
North Carolina mate – that’s where it’s at. I hate Florida, boring as fk, with old women and fake breasts.
10 Dec 2008, 00:01 am
#838 Checkin: mate, there are some of us who blog from nz, aussie, usa, asia..so not late really.
10 Dec 2008, 00:01 am
#847 Checkin: There seems to be an informal etiquette that you earn yours stripes just a wee bit before you throw petrol on the fire.
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All