Southern extravaganza
15 Dec 2008
Three of South Africa’s Super 14 franchises should feel confident about a top-six finish in the coming 2009 tournament.
The SA Rugby magazine team analyse all 14 sides and their prospects for the new season, and how various arrivals and departures will affect the dynamic of the respective squads. The Sharks are looking strong while the Stormers are set to build on their solid 2008 performance. The Bulls cannot be discounted, but unfortunately it looks as if the Lions and Cheetahs will struggle to finish mid-table yet again.
The latest edition includes a detailed preview on each franchise as well interviews with the five South African coaches.
Also in the new mag:
- Ruan Pienaar reveals his thoughts on the switch from scrumhalf to flyhalf, why Butch James is his hero, and how filling Percy Montgomery’s boots as the premier Springbok goal-kicker is no easy task
- We review the Boks’ 2008 season highlighting the success in the UK but underlining a few shortcomings that require attention ahead of the Lions tour
- BJ Botha and John Plumtree offer their views on why the John Smit tighthead experiment requires further time before assessment
- Brad Barritt, Wikus van Heerden, Joe van Niekerk and Ross Skeate report back on their recent playing experiences in Europe
- All Blacks great Anton Oliver learns there’s life after rugby as he pursues his studies at Oxford
- Turning of the Tide: SA Rugby examines what Sanzar needs to do to keep the Super 14 competition fresh and vibrant
- In an edited chapter of Monty, learn how Percy Montgomery was mismanaged by coach Harry Viljoen at an internally divided Western Stormers franchise and how James Small proved an unlikely source of inspiration
- Plus: Club and Schools rugby, as well as world-class columnists in Jake White, Mark Keohane and Mark Hinton

948 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 » Show All
16 Dec 2008, 09:57 am
Bliksem!!! Is this the BonzaiGBS and Saartjie date blog…..hehehehehehe.
Bonzai if you pull in here sometime today give the old man a high five and a sletsappie from Kwagga.
16 Dec 2008, 11:03 am
# KWAGGA ROBERTSE: No this is Sarah and Dyl’s date blog
16 Dec 2008, 11:28 am
# KWAGGA ROBERTSE: What sletsappie!!!! Rather make it a double tequila. Sletsappie is for Wynand Olivier groupies.
16 Dec 2008, 11:40 am
SOMEBODY SAVE ME!
16 Dec 2008, 11:42 am
#804 SpringbokSarah: Hey sorry about Kwagga’s comment, he’s one of my dad’s best friends and he means it in a good way.
16 Dec 2008, 11:45 am
#805 BonzaiGBS: it’s ok… really… no need to apologise
16 Dec 2008, 11:46 am
#806 SpringbokSarah: Hows it going in Dubai?………it must be realy hot
16 Dec 2008, 11:50 am
#807 BonzaiGBS: Actually no… it’s winter here so it’s not cold like Cape Town but it’s a little chilly
16 Dec 2008, 11:56 am
#808 SpringbokSarah: oh ok……what sites have you seen?
16 Dec 2008, 12:01 pm
#808 SpringbokSarah: hello
16 Dec 2008, 12:01 pm
#809 BonzaiGBS: Jumeirah beach, the burj tower, the Dubai Mall, the mall of the emirates and Abu Dhabi….
16 Dec 2008, 12:02 pm
#810 BonzaiGBS: I’m still here… still breathing…
16 Dec 2008, 12:13 pm
#812 SpringbokSarah: so am i
16 Dec 2008, 17:24 pm
so is this another fearless prediction by Keo and his staff ??? if its anything like their 3N’s predictions, then I am going to put my house on only 1 SA team making the top 6
…
16 Dec 2008, 17:29 pm
Whats so amazing is the sudden expectation for a SA team to win it… last years was an anomaly, as SA has had some great teams in the S14, and it took GH’s rest and rotation policy to hand SA its one and only S14 title… I can only see it reverting back to the normal trend, 2 kiwi sides , 1 aussie and 1 SA side as the final four, with a NZ team to once again walk away with the spoils…
16 Dec 2008, 17:29 pm
#814 poppa69: lol. I think Sharks will make it if its only one. But Bulls could be there too. Also heard that Rassie may get JF to play for WP next year. Not so sure about it. WP could make it but for now I think Sharks have a good chance.
16 Dec 2008, 17:31 pm
#815 poppa69: Who will make it for NZ poppa? How do you see Crusaders doing without Deans? They should still be a very strong side but have lost Carter aswell for S14
16 Dec 2008, 17:32 pm
#816 Puma: I agree, I think the Sharks are your best chance… WP could surprise, and the Bulls were extremely disappointing this year, would like to see them improve to compete… should be a very interesting and exciting comp… hope you are having a great holiday season Puma…
16 Dec 2008, 17:35 pm
#817 Puma: Yeah , Crusaders, Auckland and Wellington are my picks out of the kiwi sides to challenge, would like to see the Chiefs get there, but they always either falter at the start of the season, or towards the very end…
As for the crusaders, I still think they will be as strong as ever mate, they have such a strong subculture and ethic in that club, that you always have to respect whoever is in their jersey…
16 Dec 2008, 17:38 pm
#818 poppa69: I am having a great day today. Its a public holiday here. So its been a nice break. Are you on holiday yet poppa? Most SA are on their summer holday this time of year.
I think the Sharks are going to be really competitive next year. Plum is doing a great job. Now heard from someone here on the blog Sharks have a kiwi Backline coach aswell. Not sure about it just read it here. But we have great players in the Sharks team so expect them to make the semi. WP could suprise.
16 Dec 2008, 17:39 pm
#819 poppa69: I have no doubt the Crusaders will be there in the semi probably the final aswell. I for one would like to see Sharks make the final aswell. Hoping. I am a Shark supporter who do you support poppa is it the Saders or Chiefs?
16 Dec 2008, 17:48 pm
#821 Puma: neither of those two sides mate.. I was raised in auckland (they have an acronym for aucklanders in NZ, they call them Jafa’s Just Another Farkin Aucklander
) so the blues all the way for me mate… my cousin also played for them (Troy Flavell) so no choice really…
I think a sharks crusaders final would be an extremely entertaining match..
16 Dec 2008, 17:52 pm
#822 poppa69: It would be thats if we make the final.
So Flavell is your cousin. Interesting. Yes then you have no choice but to support the Blues. They are a good team. They could make it to the semi aswell.
16 Dec 2008, 17:53 pm
#822 poppa69: Are you on night shift poppa? When do you take leave? Does most kiwis also take leave this time of year like most saffas do?
16 Dec 2008, 17:57 pm
#821 Puma: i love it all the hype about the Sharks, go for it boys get SAs 2nd S14 title , hopefully the Bulls will start their recovery early. hell we were beaten by a few points in the CC final but nothing is given to us. We ended the S14 with great wins against the forerunners , but yes please ignore us thats when the est comes out from us , WELL I HOPE SO.
16 Dec 2008, 18:00 pm
#825 superBul: Hi superBul. I know that you can never count the Bulls out. But the Sharks have a great team of players and this year we have Plum that wont keep changing the players around all the time in different postions. I think it will make a difference.
Bulls will be there a very hard team to beat. But then the Sharks know that.
16 Dec 2008, 18:03 pm
#824 Puma: yes Im on nightshift at the moment mate, its 3am here in Sydney… Im working right through mate, I am a contractor, so no work, no money, and no money means no play
16 Dec 2008, 18:08 pm
#827 poppa69: Thought you were living in Aucland. Sydney is a beautiful place to stay. Went there on holiday once.
I understand no work no play. Night shift must be hard work.
16 Dec 2008, 18:12 pm
#828 Puma: No mate , been in Sydney for 14 years, someone has to give it to the convicts
it is a great place mate, I enjoy it, as for work, I sit and monitor comp. systems all night, then when theres a problem, I tell someone else hahaha so lifes tough mate…
16 Dec 2008, 18:16 pm
#829 poppa69: Thats great living in Sydney. You been there a long time now. Do you prefer it there than NZ? I must say I did enjoy our holiday in Sydney when we went a few years back. But would love to see NZ one day too. Believe its beautiful. Just have to go in the right months and not your winter months.
So your nightshift work is not that demanding then? lol.
16 Dec 2008, 18:17 pm
# KWAGGA ROBERTSE:
16 Dec 2008, 18:17 pm
#829 poppa69: Poppa there must be thousands of Saffas living in Sydney aswell. So there are a lot giving it to the convicts hey!! lol.
16 Dec 2008, 18:23 pm
#832 Puma: Yes, there is a SA here at work , big boy too, hes 6’4′ , about an inch shorter then me, though he is a bit more solid
we had fun during the 3N’s , but we were united whenever either team play the wallaby’s…
I miss the scenery in NZ, everything is so green back home… and of course my family thats still there… but Aussie is my home now… I go back every year, and yes, you must get to NZ.. I reckon 2011 would be a great time to be there, I will be going back for sure…
16 Dec 2008, 18:29 pm
#833 poppa69: I bet you and the saffa oke will be together on who ever is playing the Aussies. But the rivalry against our teams that I think will live forever and both supporters from Boks and AB’s.
I am sure you must miss NZ especially if your family is back there. But its not a long flight home though. How many hours back home by plane?
I have quiet a few saffa friends that live in Melbourne and Brisbane. They love it there but always miss home too.
I would like to come over the the wc in 2011. You know I don’t even know which month it is? Which month is the wc being held? NZ will be very excited holding the cup. I know when it was held here in SA the atmosphere for the whole wc was awesome.
I used to have a kiwi friend when I grew up. Now thats many, many years ago. But that family eventually went to live in OZ and we lost touch. We were just kids then though.
16 Dec 2008, 18:33 pm
Poppa. Nice to chat to you again my friend. I have been called to eat dinner. If you are still on in a half hour will chat to you then. Cheers.
16 Dec 2008, 18:35 pm
#834 Puma: Yeah,me and the oke
were hahaha hes a great guy, we have a laugh and talk rugger, what could be better ? Its only 3 hours approx, so not long at all… There is always no place like home mate, no matter where you are from. I would be guessing it will be around Sep-Oct mate… I remeber in 87, and it was a buzz then, so should be as good if not better mate…
I think, because of the rugby, that SA’s and kiwis will always be friends off the field, too much history and tradition not to be mate…
16 Dec 2008, 19:29 pm
#836 poppa69: Thats a quick flight back home. 3 hours is not long. It takes almost 2 hours from Joburg to Cape Town.
I know the feeling there is just really no where like home no matter where you live. Its always great to be among your own people you grew up with.
I think the wc in NZ will be even better this time than it was in 1987. Much more rugby nations will be playing aswell. And we will be there this time!!! lol. We missed that wc. I hope its around Oct as I think your weather will be a lot nicer then. But the atmosphere should be as good as it was here in SA being a rugby nation like here and really rugga mad like we are here.
Thats for sure mate. Kiwis and Saffas will always be friends because our rivalry that has gone on for so many years in our rugby. Yeah we have too much tradtion and history that goes way, way back.
Hope your night shift is just about over mate.
16 Dec 2008, 20:24 pm
#444 ziyaad: Mid table is anything not in semi’s but also not fighting for the lack of wooden spoon. So yes, Stormers were mid table.
16 Dec 2008, 22:11 pm
folks start saving now. tickets to 2011 World Cup final are gonna be around NZ$1400 a seat.
16 Dec 2008, 22:42 pm
#839 Tomsta: shite… do you wanna pay for me?
17 Dec 2008, 03:06 am
#822 poppa69: we all know what Flavell is famous for…
17 Dec 2008, 09:54 am
#839 Tomsta:
Notr so bad really – good seats to the HKG Bledisloe went for NZ$360 a seat …
#841 Big Hit:
Well, it’s not tiddlywinks :lol;
17 Dec 2008, 11:50 am
#5 bokfan1: Your your 3 + 2 in the semis don’t computer, you must mean 2 NZ teams in the final!
17 Dec 2008, 15:33 pm
#813 BonzaiGBS: Sjoe dit het my nou lank gevat om uit figure wie jy is…
Jou naam is ‘n oxymoron.
17 Dec 2008, 15:50 pm
Stormers, Sharks definite semi finalists, Bulls a big maybe.
17 Dec 2008, 20:28 pm
I still think extravaganza is a funny word
okay im here
#844 Desert Stormer: DS! Where you been?
#846 SpringbokSarah: Y?
17 Dec 2008, 20:29 pm
#847 BonzaiGBS: yay… I forgot what we were talking about
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 » Show All