Johnson calls in old heads

Martin Johnson has recalled veterans Mike Tindall and Mark Cueto while the uncapped Ben Foden has been awarded a spot in his Six Nations squad.

Tindall was last week banned from driving for three years after being found guilty for driving under the influence, but the 30-year-old’s form in the centres for Gloucester has forced Johnson’s hand. Cueto (29) hasn’t played for England since the World Cup final against the Springboks but has impressed this season after a return from injury earlier in the season.

Foden, 23, can play fullback and scrumhalf and has been in blistering form for Northampton in recent weeks. Injury-plagued flank Lewis Moody and Gloucseter No 15 Olly Morgan also return, while fullback Delon Armitage, wing Ugo Monye and No 8 Nick Easter, all played in the November Tests but are now officially included in the elite player squad.

Those that are dropped are Olly Barkley, Jordan Crane, Michael Lipman, the injured James Simpson-Daniel, Dan Hipkiss and Peter Richards.

The injured Wasps pair of Tom Rees and Tom Palmer are still in the squad but will play little part in the tournament.

Revised England elite player squad (32):

Forwards: Tim Payne (Wasps), Andrew Sheridan (Sale), Matt Stevens (Bath), Phil Vickery (Wasps), George Chuter (Leicester), Dylan Hartley (Northampton), Lee Mears (Bath), Steve Borthwick (Saracens), Nick Kennedy (London Irish), Tom Palmer (Wasps), Simon Shaw (Wasps), Tom Croft (Leicester), James Haskell (Wasps), Lewis Moody (Leicester), Tom Rees (Wasps), Nick Easter (Harlequins), Luke Narraway (Gloucester).

Backs: Delon Armitage (London Irish), Olly Morgan (Gloucester), Mathew Tait (Sale), Mark Cueto (Sale), Paul Sackey (Wasps), Ugo Monye (Harlequins), Jamie Noon (Newcastle), Mike Tindall (Gloucester), Riki Flutey (Wasps), Shane Geraghty (London Irish), Danny Cipriani (Wasps), Toby Flood (Leicester), Danny Care (Harlequins), Harry Ellis (Leicester), Ben Foden (Northampton).

Revised England Saxons squad (32):

Forwards: Matt Mullan (Worcester), Nick Wood (Gloucester), Julian White (Leicester), David Wilson (Newcastle), David Paice (London Irish), Joe Ward (Wasps), Rob Webber (Wasps), Richard Blaze (Leicester), Louis Deacon (Leicester), Ben Kay (Leicester), George Skivington (Wasps), Steffon Armitage (London Irish), Jordan Crane (Leicester), Tom Guest (Harlequins), Michael Lipman (Bath), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Joe Worsley (Wasps).

Backs: Nick Abendanon (Bath), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Matt Banahan (Bath), Topsy Ojo (London Irish), James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester), David Strettle (Harlequins), Olly Barkley (Gloucester), Dan Hipkiss (Leicester), Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), Dominic Waldouck (Wasps), Ryan Lamb (Gloucester), Stephen Myler (Northampton), Paul Hodgson (London Irish), Peter Richards (London Irish), Richard Wigglesworth (Sale).