Proteas fall short
18 Jan 2009
South Africa squandered the chance to go 2-0 up in the series as Australia won the second ODI in Hobart by five runs.
Chasing 250 for victory, the Proteas would have backed themselves for the win but their inability to lift their run rate proved to be their undoing.
Mark Boucher tried in vain to see South Africa home, but needing 17 off the final over the Proteas fell just short.
Jacques Kallis played well for his 72, but both he and AB de Villiers could be criticised for failing to push on when South Africa required it, and in the end, left the likes of Boucher and Albie Morkel with too much to do.
Earlier in the day, South Africa pegged the Aussies back when youngster David Warner was caught behind off the bowling of Dale Steyn, but skipper Ricky Ponting and Shaun Marsh put on 135 for the second wicket taking Australia past the 150-mark.
Having reached this milestone with plenty of wickets in hand, 300 looked on the cards, but some disciplined bowling from the Proteas restricted the Australians to 249-9 off their 50 overs. Nevertheless, the total proved to be enough as Australia levelled the series at 1-1 with three to play.
Despite the Proteas’ disappointment, the match was once again a wonderful showcase for 50-over cricket with the game keeping fans on the edge of their seats right until the last over.
Australia 249-9 (50 overs)
Shaun Marsh 78, Ricky Ponting 64, Makhaya Ntini 3-39.
South Africa 244-6 (50 overs)
Jacques Kallis 72, AB de Villiers 44, Ben Hilfenhaus 2-60.
Australia won by five runs.
For a full scorecard click here.

369 Comments
18 Jan 2009, 00:10 am
Dragonzzzzzzz
18 Jan 2009, 00:34 am
Go Proteas, surprise us again.
18 Jan 2009, 00:36 am
#2 Boerboel: Slaap ons nie ?
18 Jan 2009, 00:38 am
Hoe laat begin die game?
18 Jan 2009, 00:39 am
Nou… oor paar minute
18 Jan 2009, 00:43 am
#5 grootblousmile: Ek kom nounet van die driving range af hehehehe Wat maak jy nog wakker?
18 Jan 2009, 00:46 am
#6 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Hel, ek is net nie moeg nie… het nog mooosa baie spoed !
18 Jan 2009, 00:47 am
#6 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Het julle julself wangedra na die stokke swaai ?
18 Jan 2009, 00:53 am
#8 grootblousmile: Nee…eintlik rustig gekuier. Maar ek is nou moeg. In die bed klim en begin krieket kyk…bietjie slaap en dan klaar kyk. Enige iets hier gebeur vandag wat die moeite werd is?
18 Jan 2009, 00:57 am
#9 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Ja…. op die Morkel Thread……
Flippen ET het Roy, die Webmaster, probeer teregwys en weer soos gewoonlik soos ‘n passer geargumenteer… was laaaank met Roy besig…
Van die ander moepels het beweringe gemaak dat ons (ek en Pietman en ons sogenaamde groep) die Webmaster onbehoorlik beinvloed om ouens geban te kry… klomp speknekke !
18 Jan 2009, 01:17 am
Come on Proteas…. I’m glad we’re batting 2nd…. I prefer a run-chase !
18 Jan 2009, 01:18 am
Warner could be the key player here. If he stays in for any lenght of time it could be tickets – seems very nervous though.
18 Jan 2009, 01:23 am
Wicketttttttt !
Warnerrrrrrrrrrr goneeeeeeee !
18 Jan 2009, 01:24 am
OOps, there we go!!
18 Jan 2009, 01:24 am
Lyk my ons het Warner vinnig uitgwerk en gesien waar sy swakpunte is.
18 Jan 2009, 01:25 am
#15 Fern: Hoop so !
18 Jan 2009, 01:29 am
Bread and butter for Ponting in that area.
18 Jan 2009, 01:31 am
#14 Robzim:
Rob, as a known avid surfer, tell me did you ever see the classic sufer movies Endless Summer and Endless Summer II?
18 Jan 2009, 01:39 am
#10 grootblousmile:
Klomp kekkelbekke, maar nogtans net moffies wat net soos n wolvepak a stryd kan handhhaaf.
18 Jan 2009, 01:45 am
#18 ET:
Hi ET,
Yeah I saw it. Still have it on Video. Shaun Thompson and even Kelly Slater performed in Endless summer 11 as well. Great shots!!.
You must stay on Keo. We must soon have a chat about the Stormers chances this year – I have a good feeling for 2009 for them!
18 Jan 2009, 01:47 am
#19 ET:
jy het jou gat alleen teen roy gesien
bwhahahahaha
18 Jan 2009, 01:52 am
#19 ET:
Still spewing your hatred and name calling I see. You come back like a bee to honey, so this site can’t be all that bad?
18 Jan 2009, 01:55 am
#22 whatever:
my thoughts exactly.
have you read the sunday times site?
anc not happy with mothlante,palace revolt still going on.
good news for the new opposition party.
18 Jan 2009, 01:59 am
#23 Fern:
Howzit Fern, yip maybe we can get a real opposition party going and create a genuine democracy, not a one party state. Might be good for all concerned.
18 Jan 2009, 02:00 am
oh come on mckenzie, dropped catches lose matches!!!
18 Jan 2009, 02:01 am
What happened to Steyn. Rotation or injury?
18 Jan 2009, 02:01 am
I cant believe it, what rubbish catching! Shocking. It’s been awful since the tests.. Wake up SA
18 Jan 2009, 02:02 am
#24 whatever:
COPE is going to do a lot of damage to the anc.
good for democracy.
Mandela has distanced himself from the current political scene saying he is old and done with politics,everyone should respect his view/request.the anc has also lost a “posterboy” this way that could cover for some of their non performance.
18 Jan 2009, 02:02 am
#20 Robzim:
Good, then you have not disappointed me and must truly be the avid surfer.. I found those movies extremely informative but also very hilarious and definitely a pick- me-up for me in this neck of the woods.
I was going to mention Shaun Tomson’s name to you and J-bay if you did see those movies and exhort you to do so. But i see you do not mention John Whitmore(and the West Coast) who you should know is the father of surfing in S.A. And he did look strange to me with his pure white beard. I am sure you enjoyed the mvies probably more than even i did.
I too have recorded both of them and do watch them from time to time especially for the J-bay area as my clan is in that area.
18 Jan 2009, 02:04 am
#28 Fern:
We can only hope
18 Jan 2009, 02:06 am
#29 ET:
dont talk about shaun tomson,you will upset skoppie.
shaun lives in the usa now,and not living in sa is a big no no.
18 Jan 2009, 02:10 am
#31 Fern:
I think what really gets skoppies goat is that he can’t travel. He’s been banned from too many countries
18 Jan 2009, 02:13 am
#32 whatever:
he has travelled,he has been to angola.
he may be one of those unfortuanate ones with severe post traumatic stress disorder.
18 Jan 2009, 02:16 am
#20 Robzim:
I am also aware of your discussion, mostly with cab, about S.A. cricketers and you are absolutely spot on wrt Graeme(the Master) Pollock and Barry Richards as pertained to that list of the first 55 world legends.
Richards is one of the 2 most technically correct batsmen I have ever had the privilege of seeing bat at the highest level. Either he or Tendulkar has to be ranked no.1 as the most correct batsmen. I do highly rank Lara, who I have met in Miami, and I regard him as a batting genius of the not to distant past. Graeme is and has been just superlative, majestic and I have seen him the most( even kept there score board at the Old Grey club grounds in Mount rd.,P.E. ). Most definitely the greatest lefty for me.
18 Jan 2009, 02:17 am
Gosh Australia are looking very solid . I think we are looking potentially at a 300+ score if these 2 stick around !
18 Jan 2009, 02:18 am
Ricky Ponting is surely the new Bradman . Some of these shots are exquisitely crafted .
18 Jan 2009, 02:24 am
#35 rugbygenius:
Yip, they were also looking solid when they put on a world record 430 odd a few seasons ago
18 Jan 2009, 02:25 am
#37 whatever: Yes . Well . As they say . Lightning never strikes twice
!
18 Jan 2009, 02:25 am
#29 ET:
I am pleasantly surprised to hear you such an interest in surfing.
Yep, oom John was also in that movie. I attended his memorial service at Glen Beach about 6 years ago. He surfed for over 50 years – a true legend if ever there was one.
I recently read a book by Donald Paarman called ‘Lunatic Surfer or Destiny’. It is about Donald’s life covering surfing, drugs, time in an asylum, alcoholism, suburban life, divorce and trying to find the truth through alternative and New Age philosophies. It is fascinating stuff and at least he came through it all and is healthy and still surfing today.
Speak to you some other time again, it’s getting late. Keep it up!
18 Jan 2009, 02:26 am
#35 rugbygenius:
Only if you say, after Barry Richards was the previous.
18 Jan 2009, 02:27 am
#38 rugbygenius:
How about the first test, second innings?
18 Jan 2009, 02:30 am
#41 whatever: Sigh . I forgot about that
! Yes fair enough mate !
18 Jan 2009, 02:33 am
#39 Robzim:
You cannot live in the Cape and love sport( and exercise physiol.) and not know it all. Paarma’n name is also known to me as a S.A.surfer. I often travel to S.Florida and often meet surfers there and shock them with my knowlegde about the S.A. boys. Even now there is a new breed of young upstart who I read win world junior champs and more. I get to see some of the champs on the box but it is a sspecial channel.
18 Jan 2009, 02:34 am
#39 Robzim:
John Whitmore was a real legend. But we have been lucky to have had lank surfing legends/pioneers, from Errnie Thompson to Gavin Rudolf to Spider Murphy, Larry Levin and even flippin Leonard Giles.
Wheres your home break Robzim?
ET, do you surf?
18 Jan 2009, 02:35 am
#42 rugbygenius:
18 Jan 2009, 02:42 am
Johan Botha is ****. Useless bowler, rubbish batsman.. And now he can’t even catch a sitter, yet he’s captain. Mind boggling
18 Jan 2009, 02:46 am
the don bradman comparisons are a biy exaggerated, but he is looking solid…only just safe!!
18 Jan 2009, 02:54 am
Ponting dropped for the third time today, and 5th time in 2 odis. SA’s catching standards are shocking.
18 Jan 2009, 03:01 am
Evenin’ gents. Can it be that the test series’ already in the bag and therefore slacking off? Ala Eng earlier? They didn’t drop one catch, bar McKenzie, in the tests. I’ve already lost count on how many in the ODI’s. Be that as it may…
I see Gibbs ending another bowler’s international career today. He is due for a big one. As in that Wanderers game. What happened to that fella? Anybody know?
18 Jan 2009, 03:19 am
Ponting can’t be a mere human ! No mortal has this sort of talent ! Ricky is just amazing. Ricky Ricky Ricky
!!!!! Score revision – 330 runs ! 350 if Andrew Symonds was playing
18 Jan 2009, 03:25 am
Shocker ! Australia have lost Marsh and Ponting ! Best Australia can hope now is for the Hussey to blaze away .
18 Jan 2009, 03:26 am
#39 Robzim:
I purchased that book of Donald’s from him personally, he gave me one from the boot of his car
known him and his wife now for awhile though since he was a Springbok surfer back in the 70′s, spent time with them at their Wilderness home and in the shack he built on the Plett smallholding.
We share a similar philosophy of life… though my kids a surfer, I never was having grown up in Joey’s.. small world here on this blog break
18 Jan 2009, 03:26 am
#50 rugbygenius:
You sound like your one eyed commentators dude! Marsh gone, Ponting gone, but the boys are thinking of home methinks. Catches win matches, and we can’t afford to let too many go a begging!
18 Jan 2009, 03:27 am
Wishing all a very happy and prosperous 2009. Back in the land of the living.
Just an observation:
1. Botha does not have a very good body language on the field. Looks flustered.
2. The catching is so poor – can’t remember a team who was so bad under the ball.
3. McKenzie is such a lazy fielder – everything he does looks like it is an effort.
Didn’t get time to watch much of the tests, but hear he was poor catching there as well.
You might get away with it once, but you are going to be punished some or other time.
18 Jan 2009, 03:28 am
#52 yliad:
Does not say much for Donald’s Philosophy on life!!
18 Jan 2009, 03:29 am
#54 Sniper:
Anything positive you wish to add?
18 Jan 2009, 03:30 am
#54 Sniper:
Oh, sorry, and a happy 2009 to you
18 Jan 2009, 03:31 am
#56 whatever:
Yes, the Aussies are looking good for about 320, and yes congrats on winning the Tests.
18 Jan 2009, 03:31 am
Thought also perhaps I should be putting whatever and ferns mind at ease… I probably been to more places around this globe than they could ever dream about… and it don’t include Angola… though must confess I did probably spend a few minutes or hours there while traversing the Caprivi cut line inadvertently during the heady days of bos patrollie in die boetie van die border weermag pretensie
18 Jan 2009, 03:35 am
#55 whatever:
says far less about yours… the overwhelming snot nosed f’ckadilly doos of all time twat
what some like Donald Paarman have achieved this life you wouldn’t or couldn’t even vaguely dream about… you so far up your own backside I’m surprised you even get the chance to breathe at all.
18 Jan 2009, 03:37 am
#60 yliad:
Been out of the country for a while. You must be Skop!
18 Jan 2009, 03:39 am
#60 yliad:
There you go again, the true colours come out. You know nothing about me dude, apart from where I once lived. The comment about your travelling was tongue in cheek, but you to doff and tied up in your own self pity to notice that I guess.
18 Jan 2009, 03:46 am
#62 whatever:
Sorry I am so negative, but got used to the high standards of the past fielding sides.
Cheers guys – let’s hope we can pull this one out of the hat as well.
18 Jan 2009, 03:57 am
#62 whatever:
you know you punk eyed two face two bit chicken runners are the worst kind of holier than thou pr’cks around this place, your self opinionated twat assed arrogance knows no bounds,.. and it only comes oozing out of the minds of you f’ckadilly arrogant poepols that seem to think your stench filled asses exude some kind of slummiefied perfume cos you high tailed it out of the slums of your colonialist heritage and landed with your *** wiped backsides in some other little hidy hole colonial enclave you now propound to be your new found Nirvana…
you and your other illustrious deluded snotty nosed brethren have still a damn far way to travel before you can remotely consider yourselves in any way educated or elevated or enlightened… so spare yourself the fraternizing self proclaimed idol worship… the entire colonialist high bred hybrid punk assed lot of you.. and start being the chicken running twats that you are… adopt the views and allegiances to your adopted new world empires… because this enlightening and dignity based bed of humanity is far better off and very well rid of the snot nosed hybrid colonialist trash that you lot are.
Put that in your schmuck faced snooty nosed snout and suck on it… hard.
Lets see quite how much tolerance the red button trigger happy reporters and their moral high ground police force are willing to adopt this time around.
the gauntlet is laid… bare.
18 Jan 2009, 04:05 am
#64 yliad:
Ubu the toothless Chiahauhau… the larfing stock of Keo… and that takes some feat!
You must be proud of yourself…
Go out and do something good for your country instead of spending all of your waking hrs on this site…
N’er seen more of a sad nutjob in all my 35 yrs!
18 Jan 2009, 04:09 am
#39 Robzim:
Hey Rob Do you remember in Endless summer 1, the guy with the grey van with Rhino on the side, his name was Terry Bullin.
I knew the Paarmans well.
My dad (doctor) was called to Glen Beach when one Paarman kid (Mark I believe) got run over by a speed boat drive by Peter Basford. He was Lucky to be alive. My Dad was good friends with John Whitmore.
I am sure I know you somehow. Maybe you know my boet who is South African ISA President.
18 Jan 2009, 04:09 am
#39 Robzim:
Occy’s book is a must read…
Pity Jordy Smith is moving to Aus… along with RSA’s next big thing Rudy Palmboom JR…
18 Jan 2009, 04:11 am
#64 yliad: My gosh, and I thought this was about cricket. Such vitriolic vehemence and poison hints at a very damaged psyche. C’mon. let’s play criccket lads and lasses.
18 Jan 2009, 04:13 am
Hey coach! What’s up?
18 Jan 2009, 04:15 am
#64 yliad:
Skoppie that was not nice. Dont you think its time to stop your feud with Whatever? Just ignore each other .
18 Jan 2009, 04:16 am
#44 whatever:
It’s TOMSON dammit…
Add to the list other unsung legends of RSA surf (notably all from Durban)… Errol Hickman, the Burness’, Mike Larmont, Whetland Sr (inventor of the snowboard), Peter Daniels etc etc etc!
18 Jan 2009, 04:16 am
Hey Mind is power. Things are fine. How are things in ” Red Bluff ?
it’s about 75 degrees here
18 Jan 2009, 04:18 am
#64 yliad:
18 Jan 2009, 04:18 am
#72 CoachPete: Blerrie warm man. Someone is trying to cheat me of my winter. If we do not get substantial rain and snow, we’re in deep doo-doo my friend. Thinga are soooooo dry.
18 Jan 2009, 04:19 am
Aaahh another wicket…
18 Jan 2009, 04:20 am
Australia have changed shades completely. What looked a 300 total now looks hard to touch 250. They just haven’t been able to find the boundaries. Here is James Hopes.
44.5 Ntini to DJ Hussey, OUT, and he’s gone, looking to get innovative! David Hussey backs away only to scoop a full and wide delivery off the toe end of the bat straight to Morkel at backward point
DJ Hussey c Morkel b Ntini 19 (51m 30b 1×4 0×6) SR: 63.33
#71 money_man:
Sorry, my bad. There was also Geoge Thompson, with his red Roasted Chicken kombi. My first board was a custom made Larmont. In fact I still have a Larmont, use it for skurfing behind the boat.
Been decent Scottish-like bowling by RSA today… despite poor fielding… not able to instil fear into the opposing batsman… but starving them all the same… this is a 300 plus wicket…
18 Jan 2009, 04:22 am
#72 CoachPete: Outta here for now. Need to have a lekker stort want die klein plasie het my vuil gemaak vandag. Will be listening to 2000 tho’.
18 Jan 2009, 04:23 am
#77 whatever:
Hehe… classic… I think we all have had a Larmont at some stage… wouldn’t surprise me if yours is a ‘twin-fin’…
Geez so many of the old ‘Bay of Plenty’ core I’ve left off the list… the late Baron Stander being just another…
18 Jan 2009, 04:25 am
#80 money_man:
6ft 6 rounded pin, single fin (Skeg box, the old type). A classic in its day
Showing my age!!
18 Jan 2009, 04:26 am
#79 mindispower:
Cheers Enjoy the cricket
18 Jan 2009, 04:26 am
Steyn’s bowling has been awesome… will go for less than 2.4 an over by the end…
No other bowler in the history of RSA cricket has lived up to his preceding rep in Aus as much as this young lad…
18 Jan 2009, 04:28 am
#81 whatever:
Jeez kudos on keeping it that long… some real craftsman from that RSA surfing era… from Reef wetsuits to Island Style…
18 Jan 2009, 04:29 am
Yeah money-man, Mike Esposito, Ant Brodowicz, Dave Hansen from Slummies.
18 Jan 2009, 04:30 am
Oh no… great catch by match 1 hero Albie… but he’s more than likely broken his finger!
Right boys, gonna go and watch the last of the Oz innings with both eys…
#65 money_man:
you and your snot nosed esquire mostly anglicized brothers in arms that ooze out your holier than thou arrogance are a clan of putrefied puerile puritanical pr’cks that believe by some stroke of genetic genius that your heritage denotes you have some superior grandeur of grotesque aggrandizement of your opinionated colonialist crappy creepy selves… its about good time you got way down off your hobby high horse about all your so called esteemed better breeding, cos I’m telling you all for a fact you lower than the lowest of the low with all of your indoctrinated high and mighty self centered esteem about yourselves… you and that whatever creep and your other micky mouse minny that calls and thinks himself manly.
got absolutely stuff all time for the likes of you colonialist creeps… then thats no secret around here… guess you might have known that already.
#70 CoachPete:
sorry coach… wasn’t meant to be nice… direct response to a direct slur.. they wanna play foul… let them play … the punks… they get their damn fine deserts just as good as they try give it… smack bang slap back in their holier than thou cockeyed snooty nosed schmuck filled faces.
see you round the bush.. if they haven’t dragged out the red card all over again.
18 Jan 2009, 04:31 am
#85 whatever:
Have you watched ‘Bustin down the door’?
18 Jan 2009, 04:32 am
7/233 near 48 overs…
18 Jan 2009, 04:33 am
#73 whatever:
thats a bit better..
keep it clean and jovial and we all might yet learn to get along around here… try that other high handed stuff and get it back with interest… plenty of it.
18 Jan 2009, 04:36 am
#89 money_man:
No not yet m_m. Heard about it
#88 yliad:
Go wipe your mouth, you’r dribbling!
18 Jan 2009, 04:36 am
#88 yliad:
I’ve told you many a time… don’t bother writing more than a one word response… I NEVER read more than the first sentence of your ingnorant, tortured vitriol…
Now go out and do something good for your country’s poor and orphaned by the corrupt govt instead of trolling around on a sports blog you sad fark… plenty of us ‘Colonials’ still do despite being expats for many years!
18 Jan 2009, 04:37 am
#91 yliad:
I’m shivering in my skin
18 Jan 2009, 04:39 am
#91 yliad:
For the record, I’ve never started with you skoppie. Just said you are a doos when you act like one!
18 Jan 2009, 04:39 am
#91 yliad:
He was larfing at you pal, like 99% of this site… you’re a downright cartoon character that keeps Shapiro in business…
Sit Ubu Sit… woof… good dog!
18 Jan 2009, 04:41 am
Might just keep them under 250… a ‘should be’ easy target to chase… great stuff…
18 Jan 2009, 04:41 am
and now, to be frank skoppie I could’nt be bothered anymore! There used to be a place just outside Queenstown for people like you. Komani, not sure if it still exists tho.
18 Jan 2009, 04:43 am
Hehe… Ntini runs out Hadden ball and left stump in hand… classic!
And a catch on the final ball…
Awesome come-back by the Proteas…
18 Jan 2009, 04:46 am
Well done SA.. Can’t see us losing from here, especially considering that the side we’ve got today bats quite far down the order.
18 Jan 2009, 04:47 am
Well done boys, nice comeback in the back end of the Oz innings. If we held some of those catches we might only be chasing 150
18 Jan 2009, 04:47 am
#98 whatever:
Or TARA in Gauteng…
Google and download a program called ‘bitcomet’… then go to http://www.mininova.org/search/?search=bustin%20down%20the%20door and you can download it and much more for nowt (I upload most the Bok games to the site)…
18 Jan 2009, 04:50 am
#102 money_man:
Shot m_m, I’ll give that a crack!
18 Jan 2009, 05:11 am
Puma i know you are watching the game, we have a big task at hand now , scoring 250 against Aus was never easy. Maybe we must lose a few wickets early, we are at our best when we have our backs to the wall. Send in 2 tailenders to start, offer them.
18 Jan 2009, 05:19 am
Marrag sportliefhebbers.
#104 superBul:
Jy slaap ook maar min.
Ek is self rooioog vanoggend.
Weer laatnag geraak hier met al daai ander nonsenspratery.
Dink ek gaan bietjie uitstap berg toe en asem skep, sit al n volle dag hier voor die rekenaar.
Maar dit reen hier
Geniet die krieket.
18 Jan 2009, 05:23 am
#105 Pietman: Pietman ek het swaar opgestaan om vanoggend se krieket te kyk, maar weer gaan le maar kon toe nie slaap nie. Kyk ek is n sucker vir Live sport, haat dit om agterna te kyk.
Ons moet ou Roy vra om n site te stig vir ouens wat nie so verbitterd is in die lewe nie. Ek sal selfs betaal om daar aan te sluit, solank die plek skoon gehou word.
18 Jan 2009, 05:30 am
#106 superBul:
Nee wat, ons bly hier.
Ignoreer net daai ander bedroefdes/gefrustreerdes/sielsiekes.
Soms moeilik, veral as hulle jou beledig en belieg, maar ek gaan probeer.
Ek sien daai post van jou oor naamskending op n publieke blog.
Die manne moet ligloop hier, of daar kan hofsake kom nog.
Gelukkig is dit amper rugbytyd, dan sal meeste weer wegraak want hulle kan nie rugby gesels nie, hehehehe!
Praat later, laat ek my reenjas gaan soek.
18 Jan 2009, 05:31 am
GBS gatgabba, ek sien jy is ook hier rond…..
18 Jan 2009, 06:10 am
#108 Pietman: En daar wen Geniel De Villiers die Dakar!
18 Jan 2009, 06:18 am
a bit rash
18 Jan 2009, 06:28 am
Morning all. Knew Gibbs would not last too long.
#106 superBul: Yip been watching since 5am. Morning superBul.
18 Jan 2009, 06:29 am
#110 church – like chch but pronounceable: Morning
18 Jan 2009, 06:29 am
#111 Puma: Morning
18 Jan 2009, 06:36 am
#112 AB:
Good morning
I have been watching all day. We are in the office doing an IT project go-live but have the TV on
18 Jan 2009, 06:37 am
Buenos Aires – Giniel De Villiers of South Africa won the Dakar Rally on Saturday after capturing the final stage to hold off Mark Miller of the United States, while Marc Coma of Spain won his second motorbike title.
18 Jan 2009, 06:38 am
#114 church – like chch but pronounceable: I have not watched the Aus innings but the wicket looks a bit tricky?
18 Jan 2009, 06:41 am
INot looking too bad at the moment. Just need to get some runs. Going a bit slow at the moment.
18 Jan 2009, 06:41 am
#117 Puma: INot = Not
18 Jan 2009, 06:43 am
#115 AB: Never follow that but its good news to hear that a SA won there.
18 Jan 2009, 06:49 am
#119 Puma: He has been in the mix now for a few years, I am glad we could at last win the car section! I think Alfie Cox won the bikers title a few years ago.
18 Jan 2009, 06:52 am
#111 Puma: Gibbs was a big mistake, how can a guy be out of the game and be expected to walk into the team and fire straight away. Hope that he comes good now we wasted 4 games with him now, the 5th one he owes us a massive 100
18 Jan 2009, 06:56 am
#121 superBul: Morning! Whats the weather like there?
18 Jan 2009, 06:58 am
Comon AB – you are giving too much respect to White & DJH! Too may dot balls!
18 Jan 2009, 07:02 am
#123 masudvorajee: Maybe, but it seems that the run-chase is going according to plan.
18 Jan 2009, 07:07 am
Yeah but lets thrash their 5th bowling option! In last game Duminy and McK got the chance to build their innings, here if we lose 2-3 quick wickets, it will be Aussies game to lose!
Going slow but rather that than lose the wickets now.
#122 AB: clear skies , had 2 really hot days , after the great rain
morning gents,
I am not a newbie but I dont post much either…
18 Jan 2009, 07:09 am
#126 Puma:
4-5 singles every over and 4s or 6s every now and then will see us home, Inshallah!
Go King Go….
#121 superBul: Agree Gibbs owes us big time. Really not sure if he should be in the team. Maybe let Loots Bosman play when the Aussies come here. Gibbs just looked nervous out there to me.
#121 superBul:
SuperB, I reckon we need to cut Gibbs some slack. He has done the business for us in the past and I still think he can do it again. Needs time to build a little confidence. At least he catches balls that come his way (most of the time)
18 Jan 2009, 07:10 am
#129 masudvorajee: Yes we should win it. Just must not lose too many wickets. That will change the game. For now everything looking good.
#127 superBul: I can buy Giraffe calfs at R10 000 a peace(not delivered), do you know if thats a good price?
#128 Plegend007:
G’day 007
18 Jan 2009, 07:12 am
I think Gibbs should be ejected a long time ago, he hasn’t produced the goods in forever…
18 Jan 2009, 07:12 am
#120 AB: Sorry only saw this post now. Back and forward to the tv. Its good to hear the South Africans winning there. I just never follow it though. But always like to hear when we are winning at any sport.
18 Jan 2009, 07:14 am
#134 whatever: to you to bro
#131 whatever: He is already 34 though. We need to build for the future. Agree Gibbs has played really well for us in the past but he just does not look the same out there today or Friday. Maybe needs game time. Then this is not the place to get it. Should be playing some domestic cricket. Saying this now just watch he will put on a big score on Friday.
#135 Plegend007:
Nah mate, give him a break, he’ll come good. What has Amla made in his last few knocks? I would’nt drop him!
18 Jan 2009, 07:16 am
you’ll swear that SA are at least 7 wickets down, the way this Australians commentaters are gaan’ng on…
18 Jan 2009, 07:17 am
#138 Puma:
I agree with that too Puma. Guys back from injury should have a local/domestic game just to get back into the swing of things. Not sure a net or too is enough when comming back into international stuff?
18 Jan 2009, 07:19 am
#140 Plegend007:
hehe, the one eyed wankers have been at it since December!!
18 Jan 2009, 07:19 am
#139 whatever: I think he has done is fair share for the good of South African cricket but IMHO opinion I don’t think that he will ever be the player that he once was…given his age, why persist with him if you could blood in a youngster who may do better…
18 Jan 2009, 07:22 am
#143 Plegend007: lol, I guess the more things changes, the more…
and I thought I missed much, lol
18 Jan 2009, 07:22 am
#143 Plegend007:
I agree in principle, but still think we need to give him this series to prove otherwise. If he fails in all then fair cop, but we need to give him a chance at least. Otherwise he may hit the dops again
18 Jan 2009, 07:25 am
Cant believe it. Did any of you see that ad they are doing over there in Oz while the cricket is on. ‘A Farmer Wants A Wife’ its a competition in Oz and a farmer wins a wife the commentator was saying. Holy Moly!!!!!!!! hahahahahaha. I had a good laugh there.
18 Jan 2009, 07:28 am
#141 whatever: Not sure why they are playing Gibbs though. I heard after his rehab that they were only going to play Gibbs only in the 20/20 now he is playing the ODI’s. Just hope he bats better in the next game otherwise he may just be dropped.
18 Jan 2009, 07:28 am
#145 whatever: lol, not to be cruel or anything, I will say he is grown man who has to take responsabilities for his actions in life…either produce the goods or be droped, its simple as that, people sholdn’t do him favours at that level
18 Jan 2009, 07:30 am
kallis out…he did his part
18 Jan 2009, 07:30 am
Now we are in a bit of trouble with Kallis out. The batmen coming in now will be under pressure as the run rate is not that good.
18 Jan 2009, 07:33 am
tyd om tetonk.
18 Jan 2009, 07:33 am
#150 Puma: IMHO, I dont think so, we stii have 7 wickets in hand, needing 103 runs out of 87 balls, I would say that SA are in a comanding position
18 Jan 2009, 07:36 am
First ball that Ntini bowls in the next ODI he will be bowling for a hat trick.
18 Jan 2009, 07:36 am
De Villies. fak
18 Jan 2009, 07:37 am
devilliers stumbles and run out,atleast duminy is still there.
ab’s hip still isnt lekker.
That was ssssoooooooooooooooooooooooo daft to take a extra run when its not on. Now AB run out. Its uphill from here.
De Villiers out…now I am getting a bit worried
18 Jan 2009, 07:39 am
#152 Plegend007: Now with AB out? Not looking as good. Kallis batted just far too slow and so did AB. It puts a lot of pressure on the batsmen that have to come in. We need more than 6 a over now.
18 Jan 2009, 07:39 am
We don’t seem to be holding concentration in these short form games. Crappy shots, dropped catches, the boys homesick or what?
18 Jan 2009, 07:44 am
#159 whatever:
i got homesick after a week in aus.
18 Jan 2009, 07:44 am
#158 Puma: Its true, but I think we still heve a slight uperhand on this game, given that we still have: Duminy, Mac, Boucher, Morkel and only needing 80 odd runs…
18 Jan 2009, 07:48 am
#159 whatever: they better not be, there’s still 3 more ODIs to follow…hehhehehe
18 Jan 2009, 07:53 am
62 balls and needing 83 runs. Getting harder now.
18 Jan 2009, 07:54 am
#160 Fern: hahahaha. Had a good laugh there.
18 Jan 2009, 07:55 am
Is it just me or are everyone’s nerves shot to ribbons here ??
18 Jan 2009, 07:56 am
#161 Plegend007: We need to up the run rate a bit here otherwise it could be very tough in the end. Maybe send in Morkel if one of these batsmen go.
18 Jan 2009, 07:57 am
#165 Zulusharkess: nah boet, we are as calm as a cucumber, lol
18 Jan 2009, 07:57 am
#165 Zulusharkess: Its looking really tough out there. We can still do it but need to up the run rate.
18 Jan 2009, 07:58 am
#167 Plegend007:Zulu is a woman!!!!!!!! lol.
18 Jan 2009, 07:59 am
Back to the tv.
18 Jan 2009, 07:59 am
#166 Puma: As I was typing I think so, another wicket tumbles, now we are in k#%
18 Jan 2009, 08:00 am
NM gone. Uphill from here.
18 Jan 2009, 08:00 am
#169 Puma: lol, my bad…my sincere apologies
18 Jan 2009, 08:01 am
#165 Zulusharkess: my apologies for assuming you are a male
18 Jan 2009, 08:01 am
#171 Plegend007: Not looking good now. They batted just to slow Amla, Gibbs, Kallis and AB. Now the pressure is on the lower order to come out and try and hit the 4′s and 6′s going to be really tough now.
18 Jan 2009, 08:03 am
#169 Puma: I answer to Boet ! LOL No worries here …….
18 Jan 2009, 08:04 am
#174 Plegend007: not a problem, nice to meet you…
#175 Puma: I think duminy, Boucher and Morkel can and will pull us through…
Should have sent Morkel in instead of Boucher. This could cost us.
18 Jan 2009, 08:05 am
#177 Zulusharkess: the pleasure is all mine…
18 Jan 2009, 08:06 am
#178 Plegend007: Hope so. I think we can but its looking tough. Should have sent in Morkel not Boucher. Then Boucher can also get the 4′s
18 Jan 2009, 08:07 am
#131 whatever: the same slack they gave Niel in the tests , yeah okay. But what are we doing we try to reinvent the 50 over game , try to bat 300 singles in a match. Funny how we fall into this lul and the moment we want to step up the pace we lose a wicket.
Its working but where is that intent to go for shots , a few bursts of 20 in 2 overs mixed with circumspect batting. Am i asking to much.
Or do they love to give us at home heart attacks.
18 Jan 2009, 08:08 am
#182 superBul: Think they want to give us heart attacks. Batted just sssssssssoooooooooooooooo slow up the order. Also I would have sent in Morkel and not Boucher.
18 Jan 2009, 08:10 am
#182 superBul: I think they are testing the pacemakers and maybe (serious now) allowing themselves to be too confident in their entire batting line-up. As Puma said in an earlier post, slow early batting is placing too much pressure on the lower order
18 Jan 2009, 08:12 am
#146 Puma: the 2nd series starts shortly in SA its called Boer soek n Vrou, on Kyknet. Funny , one guy from Hoedspruit paticipated in the 1st series. Shame he is now our star/poephole
18 Jan 2009, 08:13 am
Need 10 a over now. Phew!!! going to be tough but we can still do it.
18 Jan 2009, 08:14 am
#185 superBul: Why do we have to perpetuate this sort of nonsense. We copied the aussie ‘The Block’ too and there never was another one so the ratings must have been shocking, or it cost a fortune.
18 Jan 2009, 08:14 am
#184 Zulusharkess: Yes but thats the new game plan for Mickey, well lets wait and see , the test one worked. But if so he is n cruel man putting us trough all this stress.
18 Jan 2009, 08:15 am
#186 Puma: YES WE CAN
18 Jan 2009, 08:16 am
#185 superBul: Damn I laughed when I read that. They do that competition in Oz though. It was a ad there for the outback farmers to win a wife. Also saw a outback woman farmer looking for a husband. LOL. Never knew we done it here too.
18 Jan 2009, 08:16 am
#189 Plegend007: Yip we have to be positive here.
18 Jan 2009, 08:18 am
#187 Zulusharkess: i rarely watch this stuff, if not a local boikie i wouldnt even know of this show. My time on TV is about all spend on Sport. I hate series and soapies and Aussie cricket commentators
18 Jan 2009, 08:18 am
#189 Plegend007: YES WE CAN – if Obama can do it , so can we…….
18 Jan 2009, 08:20 am
#191 Puma: 55 runs out of 29 balls? phew…thats doeble, they must just not lose no more wickets
18 Jan 2009, 08:21 am
Someone questioned the move to put Boucher in ahead of Albie, just think of it his eyes would have been in by now
18 Jan 2009, 08:21 am
#192 superBul: AMEN
18 Jan 2009, 08:22 am
#193 Zulusharkess: lol, I am now more confident than before that we are going to win this game
18 Jan 2009, 08:23 am
I am female but I too have the tv locked onto the sport channels, anything at all. I follow rugby, cricket, English soccer, motorsport as in F1 , motorgp, and have even been known to rise at mossie-poep to watch a big boxing match !
18 Jan 2009, 08:23 am
Looking very tough now. Just not getting the 4′s. Needed to have Morkel in.
18 Jan 2009, 08:24 am
#197 Plegend007: Its getting very tough now. Just not getting enough runs. Need more than 12 a over now.
18 Jan 2009, 08:26 am
#195 superBul: I said it earlier instead of Boucher they should have sent in Morkel. Big mistake not have done that. These two just cant get the runs.
18 Jan 2009, 08:27 am
#199 Puma: they need to let those hands go a litle bit…however another wicket has just fallen( JP Duminy)
18 Jan 2009, 08:27 am
JP out. Its just too late now anyway to get the runs. Only 3 overs left.
18 Jan 2009, 08:28 am
why not dance down the wicket and loft it somewhere , no these guy will give me a heart attack. Just try it.
18 Jan 2009, 08:29 am
#200 Puma: I am still confident, though I must concur with you, its not looking as bright as the sun…
18 Jan 2009, 08:30 am
husband trying to give me heart failure now, he left early to play competitive bowls at Richards Bay and just phoned to say he can’t find the club ! Was joking the bugger, gave me a real rev !
18 Jan 2009, 08:30 am
#205 Plegend007: Need 44 off the last 3 overs. Cant see it happen. Then it could but its going to be very tough. They batted just so slow up the order today then when we should have sent in a guy that can hit big they send in Boucher. Morkel should have come in at that time.
18 Jan 2009, 08:32 am
29 out 14? its on…
18 Jan 2009, 08:33 am
#207 Puma: It will my friend, watch it happen…lol
18 Jan 2009, 08:37 am
#209 Plegend007: Not so sure. Only 8 balls left now. See when Morkel comes in he gets the runs. Big mistake not sending him in earlier.
18 Jan 2009, 08:37 am
Why is Boucher batting ahead of Morkel, in fact, why is he playing in the ODI in the first place, surely AB can keep wicket like Kumar is doing for Sri Lanka
18 Jan 2009, 08:38 am
Need 17 off the last over.
18 Jan 2009, 08:42 am
2 balls left. Just hit two sixes please.
18 Jan 2009, 08:44 am
Thanks Boucher, we owe, as a nation, you have been a hero
its over…Aus wins
Boucher is a passenger!!!!!!!
18 Jan 2009, 08:45 am
Oz win by 5 runs. This should have been a win for us. We batted just far, far to slow.
18 Jan 2009, 08:45 am
Losing by 5 runs is no disgrace and watching Dave Hussey do the Whew thing with his hand pretending to wipe the sweat from his brow tells you that the Aussies are not comfortable yet. This was too close.
18 Jan 2009, 08:46 am
#216 XhosaKid: No he is not. He batted well. Just that when the sent him into bat should have sent in Morkel instead. Would have got the runs quicker. It was AMLA and GIBBS mostly that were the passenger here. Go take a look who cost us this game.
18 Jan 2009, 08:48 am
#216 XhosaKid: I would love to hear Boucher respond to this comment, and he would probably do so in fluent Xhosa which I believe he can.
18 Jan 2009, 08:49 am
#219 Puma: That is the reason I advocate that we shloul be saying our good byes to Gibbs…the man has had better days…
#218 Zulusharkess: Not good enough for us. We had this game all the time but gave it away with our slow batting. Had enough wickets in the end aswell. Hardly anyone loses like that ever. We just never batted well. Should have picked up the runs a lot earlier and when we need the runs should have sent in a bigger hitter like Morkel. Hope we have learned by this today. We should have won this. We gave it away. They never bowled that well to keep us out like that. Kallis and Ab too batted just far too slow.
#218 Zulusharkess: this was unnecessary we should have taken this one now its them on a roll. Well easy to criticize but there is something wrong about this game plan. You cant win all your games in the last 3 overs, rethink boys.
18 Jan 2009, 08:50 am
It has been a long time since I have seen a team make such a pigs ear of a run chase.If you cant catch and hit a boundry until the 46th over you dont deserve to win,this was a very poor Ausie team and didnt deserve to win either,Kallis and De villiers have to take most of the blame for their glacier like scoring rate,you just new they were going to go out just when the tempo neede upping.
Aperfect opportunity to go 2?0 up lost, proteas looked clueless like a bunch of debutants if they not careful that chokers tag will be firmly around their necks again.
18 Jan 2009, 08:51 am
#219 Puma: For me it was Gibbs, and maybe it was too early to send AB back as to me he seemed stiff and still maybe sore. Also, Duminy did not fire which is okay as he can’t be expected to do it everytime. I agree with you that maybe Morkel should have come in earlier but how many times has Boucher saved this team, does anyone remember who was standing at the other end of the wicket when we won the big ODI in Jozi and also when we won the test series against England last year ????
18 Jan 2009, 08:51 am
#221 Plegend007: If they want to keep Gibbs in for the rest of this odi’s they must open with NM and Amla and bring in Gibbs around number 6 when he can just go in and hit big. Maybe he will play better down the order. I think if Gibbs came in when Boucher did we may have won there. Just don’t let him open anymore.
18 Jan 2009, 08:52 am
Cricinfos comments,
What fun. Australia look relieved. South Africa look miffed. Hilfenhaus bowled a tidy last over, despite the six, but he can credit plenty to that man Bracken. The players all shake hands. This was a tense match. Hats off to Australia. South Africa, like the home side earlier in the day, simply lost steam. Australia, led by Bracken, curbed the runs and took wickets.
At one stage it appeared that Australia would have only themselves to blame. They were 1 for 131 half way through their innings, and 300 was on the cards. Even after half-centurions Marsh and Ponting departed in relative succession, surely Australia should have got 280 from there. But South Africa took five wickets for 53 runs in the last 10 overs, and 7 for 92 in the last 20. It was a tremendous comeback to restrict Australia to 249, but there was never a sense of urgency in their chase and they ended up losers. Kallis and de Villiers were batting decently but like Marsh and Ponting, they were separated and the chase lost steam. Credit to Bracken and Hilfenhaus and Harris.
Well folks, its been a terrific match.
18 Jan 2009, 08:52 am
#223 superBul: that is what I said earlier, we let the middle to lower order take the pressure by batting too slowly up front. Yes, Kallis got runs today but too slowly.
18 Jan 2009, 08:54 am
#223 superBul: Agree there. We just gave the game away. Hardly ever do you see a team lose with still wickets in hand. They never boweled that well. We just took our time batting we really should have won it. The top order left a lot for the lower order to do. Not good enough.
18 Jan 2009, 08:55 am
#224 4moreyears: if you dont play your shots and all of a sudden wants to up the rate that is exactly what happens. I dont understand the reluctance to try and go over the top. With such a good batting line up one must at least have 2 players trying that.
18 Jan 2009, 08:56 am
Maybe the answer to why Morkel did not come in earlier was answered in Botha’s interview, Morkel is injured ??
#227 superBul: We had this game for the taking.
#226 Puma: I personally do not think it will work either because even in the T20′s he just cant seem able to make those runs he use to, I’ll say he must go, besides he as a top order set up the tone for this horrible run chase
18 Jan 2009, 08:58 am
#230 superBul: Yes agree. We should have been trying to go over the top. Not just a few times but a bit more. Thats what this game is all about. Also whent they send in Boucher probably lost the game then should have sent in Morkel. Probably would have scored quicker then Boucher must come in after. But it was Amla, Gibbs, Kallis and AB that took far too long to get the runs.
18 Jan 2009, 08:59 am
#225 Zulusharkess: Ya too right but SA have always had a habit of not sending in the big men when needed just think Lance Klusener.To be honest Morkel should have come in when Duminy came in and finished off the game SA lacking imagination.
18 Jan 2009, 08:59 am
#231 Zulusharkess: Well then thats why. Well if we lose Morkel to injury we lose a all rounder.
18 Jan 2009, 09:00 am
Sorry to see XhosaKid has gone, wanted him/her to back up his comment.
18 Jan 2009, 09:02 am
#236 Puma: Botha said dislocated, not broken so hopefully he will be still here for the Sidney game on Friday, got several days to come right…thank goodness
18 Jan 2009, 09:02 am
#230 superBul: Ya proteas seemed to take their cue from aus and just dribble out runs,the proteas reluctance to take a risk in the middle is killing us.
18 Jan 2009, 09:03 am
#235 4moreyears: Yes you are right. Thats when Morkel should have come in. Should take our chances there.
#233 Plegend007: Who can take Gibbs place there now? Not sure if we have another batsman there on tour. Please not Van Jaarsveld he is not upto this level. Think when Oz come here they must give Loots Bosman a chance.
18 Jan 2009, 09:03 am
#235 4moreyears: Don’t think that Johan Botha can be credited with having imagination. But he is not making decisions alone. I agree, we needed to be attacking and innovative, not complacent.
18 Jan 2009, 09:04 am
What does Hopes do to deserve 10 overs for only 43 runs, he does not look menacing. Bracken is really a pain somewhere,
he ties us down too much. No we blew this great chance.
18 Jan 2009, 09:05 am
Going to be very tough to win in Sydney huge ground,and with our lack of boundry hitting ability wont be suprised to see our boundary total in single figures.
18 Jan 2009, 09:06 am
#236 Puma: There is a few Titan team mates that can replace him, maybe a good idea to bring Harris back. Did you watch the MTN final?
18 Jan 2009, 09:06 am
#241 Zulusharkess: Absolutely I am having a go at the whole team.
18 Jan 2009, 09:07 am
#242 superBul: Don’t like Aussies full stop, but I do like Bracken. Good committed player and and always a pain in our side or anywhere else you may like to feel it
18 Jan 2009, 09:07 am
#242 superBul: Bracken is bowling well. Not so sure about Hopes. Yip we blew this one big time. Could have and really should have won this one it was there for the taking. Should have been 2 / 0 up now.
I think we miss Polly aswell in these games. Was very tight in these games. Also A. Hall was hardly gave much away in the odi’s.
18 Jan 2009, 09:08 am
#240 Puma: you just mentioned is name, we will really only know if he is given a chance. Gibbs is old and not the player he used to be, he doesnt have the work ethic and discipline to improve on the player he used to be…I’ll say there’s never been a better time to say good bye to him
#240 Puma: Did SA ever tried Gulam Bodi in ODIs?
#244 superBul: What a boring game, what were the FS Eagles thinking ? They were at home, they should have made it a bit more interesting than they did. Did you see Corrie’s face ?? Glad I was not in the dressing room after the game. Air must have been blue.
18 Jan 2009, 09:09 am
#244 superBul: No sorry I missed it. In the Titans are there players that can play at this level though?
18 Jan 2009, 09:10 am
#249 superBul: Yes I think we did.
18 Jan 2009, 09:11 am
#249 superBul: He was called up but was playing in England at the time, county cricket. Broke his finger between being called up and going to play. Never got the call again.
18 Jan 2009, 09:12 am
#249 superBul: not that I remember…
18 Jan 2009, 09:12 am
#248 Plegend007: Think Arthur must give Loots Bosman a chance playing well in the domestic cricket right now.
18 Jan 2009, 09:15 am
#243 4moreyears: Also that PITCH there is always dreadful to play on. The ball gets a lot of swing there. We cant play that well. Maybe JP can.
18 Jan 2009, 09:15 am
#251 Puma: You know i might sound like Steve Hofmyers Maak die Bulle almal bokke, but to think of it the Titans squad have Morne , Albie, AB, Steyn and Harris in the national squad. The rest of the players have enough time to practice against these international players. I firmly believe they benefit from it. Whether they have the temperament for the step up no one knows, we where not even sure about Duminy until he took over Australia.
18 Jan 2009, 09:18 am
#255 Puma: true, but truth is almost anybody would be an improvement on Gibbs right now…and thats tha saddest part that makes his selection so puzzling
18 Jan 2009, 09:19 am
That sucks. Thought they left it just a little too late
18 Jan 2009, 09:19 am
McKenzie lost this game for us.
Firstly, dropping Ponting on 10. It was a sitter…
Secondly, scoring 8 from 15. When he came in, we needed 93 off 83. When he left, we need 78 off 53. Seriously now?
Vaughn van Jaarsveld, even though he’s been poor in each of the three games he has played, should be given the confidence to play out the remainder of the series.
McKenzie is clearly not a long-term solution. Van Jaarsveld is a great player. All he needs is a bit of experience and time.
Remember Duminy on his debut series in Sri Lanka? Scored two ducks on his way to 29 runs from 5 completed innings. Average of 5.8. Now look at him.
18 Jan 2009, 09:20 am
*When he left, we needED 78 off 53
18 Jan 2009, 09:20 am
Gibbs needs to go home. I blame the selectors for his inclusion, clearly not up to it. JK has played slowly since the beginning of time so there is no surprise there… again selectors and NM looks like he only scores runs in 1 our of 14, even worse than Gibbs 1 out of 10
Should never have lost this match.
18 Jan 2009, 09:21 am
#254 Plegend007: I tell you if GS was there we would have won. He goes for the runs from the start. Never wastes time and he just about always gets a 50 or more. Think we miss the captain there.
18 Jan 2009, 09:22 am
#254 Plegend007: Well he is the top run maker in the MTN comp, and he scored 4 x 50 and 1 time 100 this year. In both the semi and final he scored 50s. So inform he is.
On that final, it was a disappointing game because the Free State never got started and was bowled for 135, a no contest from there on. Titans got there with 8 wickets and 19.4 overs left.
18 Jan 2009, 09:24 am
#264 superBul: Bodi is playing well, and cannot be worse than the drunkard
18 Jan 2009, 09:24 am
#260 ziyaad: Don’t think Van Jaarsveld is upto this level yet. Has not played well at all in any of the games. Maybe instead of bringing in NM at that time Boucher should have come in then. Then Morkel and NM after. All of the top order wasted time. NM is not a odi player. This game was there for the taking even after NM left. We just kept on only going for the 1′s not taking a chance by going over the top.
18 Jan 2009, 09:27 am
#262 goyougoodthing2: Yes should never ever have lost this one. Unforgiveable really to lose when you still have plenty wickets in hand. No one really loses like that anymore ever really. We had this game for the taking and just lost it ourselves. Just gave it to Oz really.
18 Jan 2009, 09:30 am
#266 Puma:
T20′s aren’t a good way to measure a player’s potential. Averages in T20 are about half ODI’s averages.
V v J scored about 440 runs at average of 71, striking at 130 in our domestic competition. If he is not good enough, then no one back home is. He was also playing for the worst team (Lions), so often had to fight lone crusades.
Give the guy time. I know he dropped two catches, and has looked inept when batting, but given time he will blossom into a fantastic international cricketer.
McKenzie, on the other hand, is batting at 6 and has a career strike rate of 70. In the modern game, your number 6 should be striking at 85+. Cameron White, for instance, is striking at 105.
We had four guys in the middle order who are unable (or unwilling?) to strike out. Not enough boundary hitter.s
18 Jan 2009, 09:33 am
#266 Puma: i dont think one can really pin it on one player , it is the whole game plan. It seems they believe we score 200 runs in 20/20 matches so one can use your time to play yourself in in 50 over games and then catch up, like Boucher did eventually ending with 37 off 32 balls.
18 Jan 2009, 09:36 am
#269 superBul: Some passenger – 37 off 32
18 Jan 2009, 09:36 am
#269 superBul: Should have sent in Boucher before NM and then Morkel would have won. Probably would have got the runs as both those players take more chances and not just go for the ones all the time.
#268 ziyaad: Just looks very nervous out there and really never looked up to this level. You are right though he needs proably more game time. If he does not get it then he probably wont get any better.
18 Jan 2009, 09:42 am
#271 Puma: well whatever we say here we still lost, i feel for van Jaarsveld its the toughest place and team to make your debut and without Sir Smith there to guide him he was a bit like a deer in the headlights.
But anyway i am going to take a power nap, up from very early.
18 Jan 2009, 09:43 am
#270 Zulusharkess: Boucher is no passenger. Just maybe should have come in before NM but when NM came in and after he got out Morkel should have came in then probably would have picked up the run rate quicker than Boucher. Then bring in Boucher.
18 Jan 2009, 09:45 am
#272 superBul: Agree we lost nothing we say will bring back that win we could have had. We miss GS HUGE here. Never wastes time and he always gets more runs per ball. We will always have pressure on our lower order if we dont have proper openers. Maybe they need to give Van Jarsveld another chance then. I think he will be nervous now though but thats part of the game. Now that we have lost this one maybe they wont chance that.
18 Jan 2009, 09:45 am
Well done Oz!! We can’t blame our batsmen here guys, the game was lost in the field. Have to hold the catches, who dropped balls today??
18 Jan 2009, 09:46 am
#273 Puma: Agreed, just cross with the person who called Bouch a passenger, then logged off without argueing his case. Just cross generally actually, we should have been 2 – 0 up.
18 Jan 2009, 09:46 am
#270 Zulusharkess:
Boucher scored 37 off 32 (strike rate 116) coming when we needed 78 off 53. Not good enough.
So we scored 35 off 21 at the other end. Much more productive.
But JP and McKenzie lost it for us when the scored 15 runs off 30 balls. We needed a very gettable 93 off 83 (6.72 r/po), but when McKenzie got it we needed 78 off 53 (8.83 r/po). More McKenzie (8 off 15) than Duminy (35 off 34)
18 Jan 2009, 09:47 am
#277 ziyaad:
Writing like a ******. Left out lots of words. I’m sure you’ll understand it though.
18 Jan 2009, 09:49 am
#275 whatever: Never watched the first half. Think it was NM that dropped Ponting on 10. WE should have won this. It was the batting that lost it for us today. No ifs or buts there. The slow batting cost us. No one ever loses like that anymore. Its unforgiveable to lose with still wickets in hand. They never boweled that well we just never took chances just taking the ones or blocking. Should have tried going over the top a few times maybe that would have helped. Take some chances thats what odi’s cricket is all about.
18 Jan 2009, 09:50 am
#214 XhosaKid:
******** comment!
18 Jan 2009, 09:51 am
#279 Puma:
Puma, I disagree mate, three dropped catches by my recollection!! We should have been chasing 190-200
18 Jan 2009, 09:52 am
#276 Zulusharkess: I know you never called Bouch a passenger. It was someone else. But a lot do say he is but I don’t think so. Look at Amla, Gibbs, Kallis and AB all too slow.
18 Jan 2009, 09:53 am
I also don’t think JP is a slogger. Does not seem to be able to reach the boundry in a presure cooker situation, but hey, maybe he should’nt have too?
18 Jan 2009, 09:54 am
#278 ziyaad: Understood. You are a stat man obviously. #280 whatever: Absolutely could not say it better myself but like to try remain a lady.
18 Jan 2009, 09:54 am
#282 Puma:
See blogg 280
18 Jan 2009, 09:55 am
#281 whatever: Yes dropped catches will always cost us. We still had this one for the taking. You cant lose like that with wickets in hand still. Why not take some chances and go over the top. Look at Morkel and Boucher they got runs in the end. Why not all the the others? Thats where we really lost it. Look at the run rate of Amla, Gibbs, Kallis, AB and NM. Thats where we lost it. Far too much pressure on the others then to make the runs. Also sending in Boucher before Morkel cost us. I know Bouch batted well but Morkel may have got the runs quicker like he did on Friday. Then they say he is injured so maybe not.
#284 Zulusharkess:
Sorry, I’ll watch the lingo
Going off now. Gotta do the bread and milk thing. Also, cool rainy day here Puma although may be getting sticky later so time to do some work in the garden. Been too hot other days. Puma – is there dry weather coming up the hill to Zululand ??
18 Jan 2009, 09:56 am
#287 whatever: No need
, like I said, I agree with the description !
18 Jan 2009, 09:56 am
#280 whatever: lol. Agree. But there are a few that don’t rate Boucher. I do and you just cannot leave him out the team.
18 Jan 2009, 09:57 am
#288 Zulusharkess: Love the weather like this. Just a bit humid now.
Cheers Zulu. Go do your bread and milk thing!! lol.
18 Jan 2009, 09:57 am
#286 Puma:
Yip, some valid points Puma. I gotta say that I’d love to have Bracken in my side. Sh…., oops sorry , bugger, he bowls well at the death!!
18 Jan 2009, 09:59 am
#292 whatever: Relax
you guys say what I am thinking often !!
18 Jan 2009, 09:59 am
#292 whatever: Bracken should be in their test side. They are missing out with leaving him out there. Reminds me of Polly really. Polly never gave away much either used to bowl really tight in these games.
18 Jan 2009, 10:00 am
Bye all, catch up later maybe…………….
18 Jan 2009, 10:00 am
#295 Zulusharkess: Cheers Zulu.
18 Jan 2009, 10:01 am
#294 Puma: Stop giving them ideas Puma!
18 Jan 2009, 10:02 am
#297 Zulusharkess: Silly to leave him out their test side. But they don’t think like that so its fine. lol.
18 Jan 2009, 10:04 am
#295 Zulusharkess:
Cheers ZS
#294 Puma:
Puma, did you watch the 20/20 game when Bracken was hooked up to the mike and bowling? Every ball he was thinking and trying something different. Not saying others don’t, but it showed a great fighting spirit.
18 Jan 2009, 10:06 am
#299 whatever:
He looks a bit naf with his soccer player alice band tho
18 Jan 2009, 10:07 am
Yip, I’m also gonna take five………………..
18 Jan 2009, 10:08 am
#299 whatever: Yes I did. He is a class bowler. How they can leave him out the test side is crazy. Then thats fine for us. We don’t have such a bowler in our side. Polly used to bowl like that hardly gave anything way not just at the end but the whole game. Seen once Polly getting only 13 runs off his 10 overs. Thats real class.
18 Jan 2009, 10:08 am
Me too out of here. Cheers all.
18 Jan 2009, 10:24 am
#225 Zulusharkess: Duminy, scorecd 35 from 34 balls, what do you mean he didn’t fire?, your lovely Boucher was at one stage 9 runs from 18 balls when only 4 overs were left
18 Jan 2009, 10:32 am
#237 Zulusharkess: What creates in your mind, the delusion that I cant back up my comments
18 Jan 2009, 11:23 am
What?! We couldn’t chase down 249 at the little Bellerive Oval? Disappointing. I went to bed when Australia were 125/1 after 25 overs, and the commentators were suggesting 300 would be a breeze (8 an over with wickets in hand). So I guess we did something right to restrict them to 249…
And what’s up with the dropped catches all of a sudden? McKenzie dropped a sitter (Ponting early) and so did Botha. It started in the Sydney test and is becoming a problem.
18 Jan 2009, 11:24 am
I’m no cricketing fundi but I can see temperament and character at a drop of a hat, and to my mind test cricket and ODI’s and 20/20′s are 3 different type games. You don’t go playing your 7′s rugby stars in a 15 man test unless the player is seriously cut out for both disciplines, same with cricket.
Kallis and McKenzie would be the 1st two I would drop from the limited over game team, and this should have happened a long time ago. Kallis has never been an asset in the ODI’s he lost us the WC game against OZ when he tied up his end when it was required of him to chase runs, he simply has not got the mentality or the mental strength to take the bowlers on unless the game is set up in his favor, if the pressure is on he usually folds. NM just the same and even Amla is not a good enough limited overs player.
So the management behind this team is all wrong, drop those self indulgent slow batters who are unable to up the tempo when it is required of them, from this ODI team, Kallis, Mckenzie and Amla should go.
Don’t know about Gibbs or Boucher, but Boucher has never really let the team down, always going in with a big enough heart to fight it out, he and Pollock saved the day together many a time when the top order folded.
Gibbs has oodles of talent but an Achilles heel in his wonky temperament but at least he never gets bogged down for long, either he gets a score or he gets out, at least he doesn’t hang around contributing little in way of run rate.
18 Jan 2009, 11:44 am
I was very disappointed to learn that van Jaarsveld was left out of the side and that Mac was retained. Give me a break selectors! Although I have not seen much of him, his stats and the urgency and apparent ease with which he tackled each innings to date, showed me that this boy has got class. He is very low on confidence, and he did not need to be dropped now.
Mac is far to slow for this form of cricket. Kallis just qualifies, but definitely not for 20/20, as much as he is trying to prove this to earn big IPL bucks.
Gibbs reached his sell by date two years ago. Talking about his talent and potential is not enough. he escapes being dropped by pulling out an innings of quality every now and then….these are false dawns move on selectors!!!!
It is time to move AB to keeper in 20/20 and ODIs. Boucher is not the same batsman that he was a couple of years ago, and his stumping ability has always been weak.
I have not seen Roelof V D Merwe yet. Based on performances I have read about and his stats, should he not have been included as an extra spinner. I really thought that they should have had two quality spinners going to Belrive. And he could be one for the future. That wicket is notorious for being difficult to bat on when the pace is off the ball. Remember what NZ and SL did to us at the WC early 90s?
Even before Sydney 20/20, I thought two spinners would be good to help counter Warner, and help take the pace off in mid innings. Parnell as an example is very attacking and his deliveries at this stage need to be balanced off by bowlers that can hold down the score and keep the pressure on.
I was very impressed by Wayne Parnell during the under 19s WC and was pleased when he was included in the squad. However from looking at the stats, as well as age group why was someone like Rusty Theron not included in the squad? I am asking that as I have not seen footage of Rusty but I understand that he is classy, and one sport report suggested that Parnell was a surprise inclusion. Can anyone shed some light on this for me?
18 Jan 2009, 11:49 am
oops… didn’t even know they were playing…
But I’m sure they’ll bounce back
18 Jan 2009, 12:00 pm
I wanted to punch Kallis in the face…he was just taking his time as if he didn’t have a care in the world.
18 Jan 2009, 12:05 pm
#307 yliad:
Well there you go skoppie, I agree with something you have said…….. the first four words of your sentence!!
18 Jan 2009, 12:10 pm
This is not the first time Kallis has done this to the team. It may be a team game but he is quite content to put all the pressure on those that follow him while he looks after his average.
He is is so content to play such boring cricket. He must be a very dull person.
McKenzie, Amla, Kallas should not be in the squad. AB is not fit.
Gibbs is also doubtful as is that other veteran Boucher. They are on their way down and should be replaced by younger players.
Botha has more fingers than IQ if he did not see this coming, the smirk on his face shows that he doesn’t even realise the stupidty of what his team have just done under his direction, both batting and fielding.
Where was Arthur in this debacle?
Kallis has no IQ either, evidently he cannot count.
18 Jan 2009, 12:15 pm
#311 whatever:
Wragtag!
Never thought I’d see the day…..maybe there is hope fo me and ET after all….naaaaaaaah, don’t think so, generation gap is too big, hehehehe!
18 Jan 2009, 12:18 pm
Jeez, you would swear someone just shot Obama! It’s a cricket match that was lost by 5 runs FFS!! You win some you lose some, you move on, you don’t hang yourself. You also don’t make ****** wholesale changes. And you probably should’nt start with personal attacks on the players. A bit childish to be fair??
18 Jan 2009, 12:18 pm
#313 Pietman:
18 Jan 2009, 12:24 pm
Kallis personally screwed up the match!
18 Jan 2009, 12:26 pm
#313 Pietman: I notice there is a bit of bad blood between you and ET.
Where did all of this rubbish start? Do you guys know each other from before?
It all seems a bit childish in my opinion. Blogging shouldn’t become personal.
18 Jan 2009, 12:32 pm
#44 whatever:
Great names you’re mentioning there.
Home break used to be Long Beach and Outer Kom in CT but nowadays because of approaching old age/family and work commitments it is only about 1 session per say every 10 days usually at some fun beach breaks just North of Blouberg (Derde Steen, Horse trails etc). During holidays and long weekends also Outer and Inner pool at Mossel Bay.
I have never done competitions and only surf for the pleasure of it and btw Leonard Giles used to irritate the sh#t out of everyone at Vic Bay because he thought he owned the place. He was flippin good though!
18 Jan 2009, 12:35 pm
#317 wooden spoon:
Ask ET.
I don’t know him from uncle.
I seldom even talk to him, childish indeed, at his end.
See if I care….
18 Jan 2009, 12:37 pm
just read Rayno Gerber to go to Stade Francaise after super 14…Bulls already expressing an interset in and chasing cj vd linde…Stormers..looking at sihning another Tongan back…damn it Rassie we need a lock and a prop…cj ideal!!!!!!!!!!
18 Jan 2009, 12:38 pm
#317 wooden spoon:
I think ET came on here in Feb last year after Stofile lost the election….and the next moment he was onto me for being critical of Cheeky and that mob down in the EC.
That’s all I know.
18 Jan 2009, 12:40 pm
this time next week getting ready for stormers saracens…yeyyyyyaaaa
18 Jan 2009, 12:41 pm
#320 grant10:
Hi Grant, long time no see. Is the wind blowing out at Clifton as well?
Hopefully Rassie knows something that we are all missing. I see he is also still of the intention to play Koster on the wing. Maybe we must just trust him guy although I share your views on the prop/lock situation.
18 Jan 2009, 12:49 pm
#323 Robzim: Hi rob…a bit breezy..not as bad as yesterday…early morning swim at Glen Beach…water back to freezing afetr 2 weeks of near Mauritian type temperatures…i have faith in Rassie…just frustrating that we lack the tight 5 depth to win the super 14…aj and lobberts as 2 starting super 14 locks? And we all know what happened when Moller got hurt last year…Cj ideal cos he can pack down both sides…look forward to saracens…miss the rugby terribly!
18 Jan 2009, 12:50 pm
Rassie in rapport
Die Stormers se wegwedstryde lyk vanjaar kwaai: teen die Bulls en die Cheetahs in Suid-Afrika en ’n moordende toer teen die Crusaders, die Waratahs, die Brumbies, die Hurricanes en die Highlanders.
“Twee jaar gelede sou dit my bekommer het,” erken Erasmus, “maar die Kapenaars kán toer en ek het hier kom leer dat dit glad nie die straf is wat ons ons soms verbeel nie.
Hy meen sukses sal ’n plek in die halfeindronde wees. “Ons het verlede jaar ewe veel ligapunte as die Hurricanes gehad, maar is uitgeskakel op punteverskil. Dit beteken ons kan vanjaar die halfeind haal. En as jy só ver kom, kan jy die toernooi wen.”
• Wat die omstredenheid rondom Luke Watson se gewraakte “Dutchmen”-uitlatings betref, verseker Erasmus dat dié kwessie binne die span uitgesorteer is.
“Hoe die toeskouers reageer, kan ons nie beheer nie, maar die kwessie is deeglik in die span gehanteer en die lug is gesuiwer. Luke werk op die oomblik verskriklik hard – ’n mens moet daardeur beïndruk wees…”
18 Jan 2009, 12:57 pm
#325 superBul:
‘n Mens sal seker volgende week al sien hoe die toeskouers sal reageer. Daar is egter nie veel wat hulle kan doen nie – ‘n bietjie boo hier en daar en dit sal seker al wees.
Party bittereinders sal seker nooit verby dit wat hy na bewering gese het kan kom nie maar hopelik sal die meerderheid volwasse genoeg wees om dit nou net te los en aan te gaan.
18 Jan 2009, 13:40 pm
dissapointing
18 Jan 2009, 13:48 pm
#327 cab:
Perhaps you Okes should let Morkel open. 8)
18 Jan 2009, 13:50 pm
#325 superBul: my afrikaans is pathetic… translator please!
Just the last 4 lines…
#322 grant10: You going? Where did you get tickets?
18 Jan 2009, 13:59 pm
#328 cane:
ha, perhaps, cant we replicate Duminy, they cant seem to get him out.
18 Jan 2009, 14:00 pm
#329 SpringbokSarah: “Wat die omstredenheid rondom Luke Watson se gewraakte “Dutchmen”-uitlatings betref, verseker Erasmus dat dié kwessie binne die span uitgesorteer is”
His teamates kissed and made up , all is forgiven, the WP boytjie love each other , all off them, no grudges or something like that
“Hoe die toeskouers reageer, kan ons nie beheer nie, maar die kwessie is deeglik in die span gehanteer en die lug is gesuiwer. Luke werk op die oomblik verskriklik hard – ’n mens moet daardeur beïndruk wees…”
We know some spectators is gooing to booooooo we cant control it, Luke works hard and one must admire him for that,…. and Luke spend some time hanging by his ears so now he is 4 inches longer
18 Jan 2009, 14:01 pm
#330 cab: yeah sure, why not…
18 Jan 2009, 14:02 pm
#331 superBul: it’s official I love the Stormers… you… yeah not so much
18 Jan 2009, 14:13 pm
#317 wooden spoon:
Oh, and less I forget, we had words about ET supporting the British Lions and expressing his hopes that the Springboks get thrashed at Newlands again like in 1974, small stuff like that…….
18 Jan 2009, 14:21 pm
Loins don’t stand a stinking chance…
Just thought I’d put it out there
18 Jan 2009, 14:23 pm
#333 SpringbokSarah: Sarah funny enough i always said SA rugby is strong when WP and the Bulls are strong, it was like that for many years. Now with professional rugby around the checkbook can decide who have the best team. But loyalty is something you cant buy, so this year the Bulls will have to proof me right, so many of our stalwarts stayed on at the Bulls i really hope it comes of for us.
WP is trying to buy a team, i dont know whether they will succeed it might have been better to use more of your own. Rassie is the big spender there trying to copy the Sharks plan.
HM said he will take 5 years to build the Bulls but we were impatient and forced him to produce quicker. There is a lesson for you guys and girls, do what the Bulls did when HM did not look like he is going to make it, 1st year, go toi toi on his and the unions stoep. Tell him you will hang him under a cable car from Table Mountain , whatever you do maak hom bang. That also worked for Frans Ludeke last year, some people wanted to hang him on a Jacaranda tree.
18 Jan 2009, 14:23 pm
#334 Pietman:
I attended that match in 74 as a young schoolkid. It was a wet day and Boland Coetzee’s first test ever. The first time he touched the ball Mervyn Davies took him out with the most fiercesome tackle I have seen until that stage. The crowd was silenced and realised something bad was going to happen.
The 2009 Lions wont even come close to that team imo.
18 Jan 2009, 14:27 pm
#336 superBul: believe me if I could take the cheque book away from Rassie I would…
18 Jan 2009, 14:27 pm
Correct me if i am wrong but even in the Titans team the local boys are the stars, AB, Steyn, Morkels ? not sure but with a few loyal home bred players you can build a team/union around it.
18 Jan 2009, 14:31 pm
#338 SpringbokSarah: Go toi toi at the union and they might listen. But maybe just maybe old sly Rassie have a trick or 2 that will take you guys to a semi against the other 3 SA teams in this years semis
wishful thinking , just dreaming ……….
18 Jan 2009, 14:36 pm
#340 superBul: Maybe there is a method to his madness… but I’m crazy and I haven’t got a cooking clue what he’s doing
And what other 3? The Lions or Cheetahs have a long way to go before they reach the semis.
18 Jan 2009, 14:49 pm
Man this place is quiet…
18 Jan 2009, 14:49 pm
#337 Robzim:
Yes, I recall.
Was lying in Leeuwendal Clinic, Tamboerskloof, with a busted knee that day, with Alan Old next to me (Lions flyhalf, we got operated on the same day as me), listening on the radio…12-3 we went down.
But I don’t think we will see the like of Willy’s boys again in our lifewtime, one of the best teams ever to grace our shores.
I still have Fergus Slattery’s muddied boots as souvenier of that June day….
18 Jan 2009, 14:53 pm
#341 SpringbokSarah: Believe sister believe we need al SA teams to knock off points from the antipodians,(spelling?)
Cheetahs lost a lot of games last year by a very small margin and in the last minutes, i think the lions too missed a few close ones.
Thats not my worry, the Bulls must revenge that defeat against the REDs last year, that was my most agonizing game for years, i was sitting in a nice bush pub and there was only Shark and Stormer supporters there, they had no sympathy with me, it was bloody hell.
18 Jan 2009, 14:56 pm
#344 superBul: I would love the Cheeaths to just go out there and smash everything… except the Stormers… that’s in their way. But it’s just like they couldn’t finish off… they came so close and it was just so frustrating. And if they can pull themselves together it will just be better for SA.
18 Jan 2009, 15:01 pm
#345 SpringbokSarah: 2 off those Cheetah games was lost through ill dicipline by thier scrumhalf (Oelsigh i think)
18 Jan 2009, 15:04 pm
#346 superBul: fitness and dicipline seems to be a problem for the Lions, Cheetahs and Stormers
18 Jan 2009, 15:05 pm
#345 SpringbokSarah: Have you decided on the Superbru competition?
Its easy , you will feel left out when we anounce the Rugby Guru every monday, the weeks best predictor.
Have you visited that site already?
18 Jan 2009, 15:08 pm
#347 SpringbokSarah: i dont know , but we, that is the Bulls also, lost far to many games in that last minute over the years. Its a sort of mental block we go in, at least the Proteas bettered on that flaw.
18 Jan 2009, 15:09 pm
#343 Pietman:
They were the greatest Lions team ever, the Lions have toured NZ eight times with the 71′ team being the only side to record a series victory – the Lions have great tradition but they just don’t have the players anymore, I will be very suprised if you don’t win every test.
18 Jan 2009, 15:09 pm
#348 superBul: actually know… feel left out? Hardly… I think I’m on 5 rugby blogs…
18 Jan 2009, 15:12 pm
#349 superBul: I just don’t get these mental blocks… they are just so good… it’s like they don’t see it… and when a player doesn’t back himself, the coach can’t.
#351 SpringbokSarah: know = no… must be hungry
#350 NZINCHINA: me too
18 Jan 2009, 15:28 pm
This silence is killing me…
18 Jan 2009, 15:33 pm
#351 SpringbokSarah: Last attempt to get you in.
The General welcomes you to SuperBru
17 Jan 2009
Dear Friends,
It?s Super 14 time! Exactly four weeks from now, [the Highlanders will have beaten the Brumbies] / [the Brumbies will have beaten the Highlanders] in the opening game at the House of Pain in Dunedin. I?ve been gazing with some disconsolation at the Round 1 fixtures: as ever with Super 14, these are tough games to predict, especially when we?re not sure who?s hot and who?s not yet for the season.
This is what makes the Super 14 such a terrific tournament for SuperBru. For sixteen non-stop weeks, we?ll all be in that Super 14 groove. It?s as regular as breathing:
Mondays are all about seeing how everyone did over the weekend. Emotionally, you?re probably over the disappointment of the Sharks stupidly losing in the last minute, and pumped that you picked up a bonus point from the Chiefs. Monday mornings are the time for emails telling your pool mates how useless they are. Lunchtime is for checking out Tank?s blog to get the big man?s reflections on the weekend.
Tuesdays are mostly for work. But in the back of your mind you?re thinking about the coming weekend. You?re keeping an eye on the news. Injuries. Weather predictions. These things are there in the background.
Around midday on Wednesday your reminder email from SuperBru arrives. This gets the juices going. You?re not going to pick today because you want to know the teams and the weather for the weekend, but at your squash/poker/tennis game in the evening this is what you?re talking about. You don?t want to give too much away though. You want to surreptitiously eek out of your mates what they?re thinking is going to happen.
Thursdays (if you?re a South African) are for picking, for nailing your flag firmly to the mast. With slightly raised heartrate, you click that submit button, and hasten to the view picks page to see what everyone else has picked. It?s not heartening when you?ve backed the Lions and the other 22 guys have picked the Force.
If you?re in NZ or Australia, you?ll probably make your picks on Friday, knock off work early, and get to that TV/stadium. South Africans will follow the one or two morning games at work (sneakily loading up Sport24.co.za?s live scoring), then engage in intense lunchtime banter about that lost bonus point. The afternoons are a formality, and then it?s weekend time!
Saturdays are all about quality time with the TV (and the laptop on the side). Five or six games of top class rugby, a break here and there for a meal or a beer… for sixteen weeks in a row! Come Saturday night (or early Sunday morning for the antipodeans), the round is done and dusted. Grand Slam Points are out, and you know your standings. Lament, celebrate, live the moment.
And Sundays, well, they?re for rest, aren?t they?
What?s new in 2009
We?ve introduced a few changes to the site. Quite a few pages have had a bit of touch-up work, so should be looking a bit sharper. The BanterBoard has been totally overhauled, and we?ve tried to wire it into the rest of the site a bit more so it?s easier to know when something new has been posted.
Movement between public pools will be shut off at the end of Round 1 – read more about this.
And we have a new product running within the game for businesses who wish to deliver a more branded experience than a pool to their customers, staffs or other stakeholders. This is called the client leaderboard, and some of you will be playing on one of these.
That?s about it for now. Get your pools set up, invite your buddies, and let?s get ready for a big season of rugby!
Respectfully,
The General
The General
18 Jan 2009, 15:43 pm
#354 superBul: chillax I signed up… having fun…
18 Jan 2009, 15:45 pm
#355 SpringbokSarah: Actuall I signed up about 5 minutes before you posted that
18 Jan 2009, 15:47 pm
#356 SpringbokSarah: Hey Sarah, looks like you, Grant and I are in the same public pool!
18 Jan 2009, 15:50 pm
Sharks tend to have their champagne and then they are too drunk to play…
GO STORMERS!
Just seen this post from you, enjoy . Since you can only pick once but can participate in 3 pools, did you see someone there started a girls only pool. Her nick is donsveertjie and she was born in 1986 , also someone young
1 days ago, donsveertjie started this thread: [17 Jan 13:42]
Ladies pool
Once again i invite any lady to join my super 14 pool for ladies only. Would love to have kiwi and aussie girls to compete against!
Pool name: The Ladies
Pool code: moodswab
18 Jan 2009, 15:54 pm
#357 wooden spoon: if you want to get into a certain pool you must click on My Pools
Then on join pool and then the pool code must be provided.
The pool code for Keo,s S14 Night Owls is wilyever
18 Jan 2009, 16:07 pm
#359 superBul: Cheers, just sent a request. Looking forward to it!
18 Jan 2009, 16:20 pm
OK Roy, what’s with the new thumbs up and thumbs down?
18 Jan 2009, 16:22 pm
#357 wooden spoon: awe!
#358 superBul: lol
18 Jan 2009, 16:22 pm
Why are there little hands on my page?
18 Jan 2009, 16:38 pm
Mirrag!
Never been so disappointed. Poor decision making and far too slow batting in the middle overs. We really squandered the opportunity of dumping the Aussies. You don’t get too many opportunities.
18 Jan 2009, 16:41 pm
Well done Retief on winning the Africa Open!
18 Jan 2009, 17:34 pm
Wanted to sign up for a while, but reading what’s going on here, not to sure…
18 Jan 2009, 22:53 pm
Someone should tell Gibbs that you can lose talent if you don’t practise enough. He has been relying on natural talent and not enough hard work for too long. time for him to go home and be replaced by a slogger of note. Someone that we can send in to get 50 off 25 balls, to make any tough total more easily gettable.
Hats off to JP duminy- he is a legend already!
18 Jan 2009, 23:26 pm
Yep we passed up a golden opportunity to go 2-0 up. Gibbs is still missing in action and McKenzie looked listless and caught in the headlights. A very disappointing let down. Three dropped catches in a close game as well. We are badly missing a good opening stand each match. With Biff there you know it will be agressive and positive rather than wishy washy. And always Kallis throws his wicket away whenever he gets set. What a shame!
19 Jan 2009, 01:09 am
#307 yliad:
Actually, skoppie, I re-read your post and it is one of your better ones dude. Lucid and makes sense. Well done, no strings of adjectives and no expletitives