Proteas fall short
18 Jan 2009
South Africa squandered the chance to go 2-0 up in the series as Australia won the second ODI in Hobart by five runs.
Chasing 250 for victory, the Proteas would have backed themselves for the win but their inability to lift their run rate proved to be their undoing.
Mark Boucher tried in vain to see South Africa home, but needing 17 off the final over the Proteas fell just short.
Jacques Kallis played well for his 72, but both he and AB de Villiers could be criticised for failing to push on when South Africa required it, and in the end, left the likes of Boucher and Albie Morkel with too much to do.
Earlier in the day, South Africa pegged the Aussies back when youngster David Warner was caught behind off the bowling of Dale Steyn, but skipper Ricky Ponting and Shaun Marsh put on 135 for the second wicket taking Australia past the 150-mark.
Having reached this milestone with plenty of wickets in hand, 300 looked on the cards, but some disciplined bowling from the Proteas restricted the Australians to 249-9 off their 50 overs. Nevertheless, the total proved to be enough as Australia levelled the series at 1-1 with three to play.
Despite the Proteas’ disappointment, the match was once again a wonderful showcase for 50-over cricket with the game keeping fans on the edge of their seats right until the last over.
Australia 249-9 (50 overs)
Shaun Marsh 78, Ricky Ponting 64, Makhaya Ntini 3-39.
South Africa 244-6 (50 overs)
Jacques Kallis 72, AB de Villiers 44, Ben Hilfenhaus 2-60.
Australia won by five runs.
For a full scorecard click here.

369 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All
18 Jan 2009, 03:25 am
Shocker ! Australia have lost Marsh and Ponting ! Best Australia can hope now is for the Hussey to blaze away .
18 Jan 2009, 03:26 am
#39 Robzim:
I purchased that book of Donald’s from him personally, he gave me one from the boot of his car
known him and his wife now for awhile though since he was a Springbok surfer back in the 70′s, spent time with them at their Wilderness home and in the shack he built on the Plett smallholding.
We share a similar philosophy of life… though my kids a surfer, I never was having grown up in Joey’s.. small world here on this blog break
18 Jan 2009, 03:26 am
#50 rugbygenius:
You sound like your one eyed commentators dude! Marsh gone, Ponting gone, but the boys are thinking of home methinks. Catches win matches, and we can’t afford to let too many go a begging!
18 Jan 2009, 03:27 am
Wishing all a very happy and prosperous 2009. Back in the land of the living.
Just an observation:
1. Botha does not have a very good body language on the field. Looks flustered.
2. The catching is so poor – can’t remember a team who was so bad under the ball.
3. McKenzie is such a lazy fielder – everything he does looks like it is an effort.
Didn’t get time to watch much of the tests, but hear he was poor catching there as well.
You might get away with it once, but you are going to be punished some or other time.
18 Jan 2009, 03:28 am
#52 yliad:
Does not say much for Donald’s Philosophy on life!!
18 Jan 2009, 03:29 am
#54 Sniper:
Anything positive you wish to add?
18 Jan 2009, 03:30 am
#54 Sniper:
Oh, sorry, and a happy 2009 to you
18 Jan 2009, 03:31 am
#56 whatever:
Yes, the Aussies are looking good for about 320, and yes congrats on winning the Tests.
18 Jan 2009, 03:31 am
Thought also perhaps I should be putting whatever and ferns mind at ease… I probably been to more places around this globe than they could ever dream about… and it don’t include Angola… though must confess I did probably spend a few minutes or hours there while traversing the Caprivi cut line inadvertently during the heady days of bos patrollie in die boetie van die border weermag pretensie
18 Jan 2009, 03:35 am
#55 whatever:
says far less about yours… the overwhelming snot nosed f’ckadilly doos of all time twat
what some like Donald Paarman have achieved this life you wouldn’t or couldn’t even vaguely dream about… you so far up your own backside I’m surprised you even get the chance to breathe at all.
18 Jan 2009, 03:37 am
#60 yliad:
Been out of the country for a while. You must be Skop!
18 Jan 2009, 03:39 am
#60 yliad:
There you go again, the true colours come out. You know nothing about me dude, apart from where I once lived. The comment about your travelling was tongue in cheek, but you to doff and tied up in your own self pity to notice that I guess.
18 Jan 2009, 03:46 am
#62 whatever:
Sorry I am so negative, but got used to the high standards of the past fielding sides.
Cheers guys – let’s hope we can pull this one out of the hat as well.
18 Jan 2009, 03:57 am
#62 whatever:
you know you punk eyed two face two bit chicken runners are the worst kind of holier than thou pr’cks around this place, your self opinionated twat assed arrogance knows no bounds,.. and it only comes oozing out of the minds of you f’ckadilly arrogant poepols that seem to think your stench filled asses exude some kind of slummiefied perfume cos you high tailed it out of the slums of your colonialist heritage and landed with your *** wiped backsides in some other little hidy hole colonial enclave you now propound to be your new found Nirvana…
you and your other illustrious deluded snotty nosed brethren have still a damn far way to travel before you can remotely consider yourselves in any way educated or elevated or enlightened… so spare yourself the fraternizing self proclaimed idol worship… the entire colonialist high bred hybrid punk assed lot of you.. and start being the chicken running twats that you are… adopt the views and allegiances to your adopted new world empires… because this enlightening and dignity based bed of humanity is far better off and very well rid of the snot nosed hybrid colonialist trash that you lot are.
Put that in your schmuck faced snooty nosed snout and suck on it… hard.
Lets see quite how much tolerance the red button trigger happy reporters and their moral high ground police force are willing to adopt this time around.
the gauntlet is laid… bare.
18 Jan 2009, 04:05 am
#64 yliad:
Ubu the toothless Chiahauhau… the larfing stock of Keo… and that takes some feat!
You must be proud of yourself…
Go out and do something good for your country instead of spending all of your waking hrs on this site…
N’er seen more of a sad nutjob in all my 35 yrs!
18 Jan 2009, 04:09 am
#39 Robzim:
Hey Rob Do you remember in Endless summer 1, the guy with the grey van with Rhino on the side, his name was Terry Bullin.
I knew the Paarmans well.
My dad (doctor) was called to Glen Beach when one Paarman kid (Mark I believe) got run over by a speed boat drive by Peter Basford. He was Lucky to be alive. My Dad was good friends with John Whitmore.
I am sure I know you somehow. Maybe you know my boet who is South African ISA President.
18 Jan 2009, 04:09 am
#39 Robzim:
Occy’s book is a must read…
Pity Jordy Smith is moving to Aus… along with RSA’s next big thing Rudy Palmboom JR…
18 Jan 2009, 04:11 am
#64 yliad: My gosh, and I thought this was about cricket. Such vitriolic vehemence and poison hints at a very damaged psyche. C’mon. let’s play criccket lads and lasses.
18 Jan 2009, 04:13 am
Hey coach! What’s up?
18 Jan 2009, 04:15 am
#64 yliad:
Skoppie that was not nice. Dont you think its time to stop your feud with Whatever? Just ignore each other .
18 Jan 2009, 04:16 am
#44 whatever:
It’s TOMSON dammit…
Add to the list other unsung legends of RSA surf (notably all from Durban)… Errol Hickman, the Burness’, Mike Larmont, Whetland Sr (inventor of the snowboard), Peter Daniels etc etc etc!
18 Jan 2009, 04:16 am
Hey Mind is power. Things are fine. How are things in ” Red Bluff ?
it’s about 75 degrees here
18 Jan 2009, 04:18 am
#64 yliad:
18 Jan 2009, 04:18 am
#72 CoachPete: Blerrie warm man. Someone is trying to cheat me of my winter. If we do not get substantial rain and snow, we’re in deep doo-doo my friend. Thinga are soooooo dry.
18 Jan 2009, 04:19 am
Aaahh another wicket…
18 Jan 2009, 04:20 am
Australia have changed shades completely. What looked a 300 total now looks hard to touch 250. They just haven’t been able to find the boundaries. Here is James Hopes.
44.5 Ntini to DJ Hussey, OUT, and he’s gone, looking to get innovative! David Hussey backs away only to scoop a full and wide delivery off the toe end of the bat straight to Morkel at backward point
DJ Hussey c Morkel b Ntini 19 (51m 30b 1×4 0×6) SR: 63.33
#71 money_man:
Sorry, my bad. There was also Geoge Thompson, with his red Roasted Chicken kombi. My first board was a custom made Larmont. In fact I still have a Larmont, use it for skurfing behind the boat.
Been decent Scottish-like bowling by RSA today… despite poor fielding… not able to instil fear into the opposing batsman… but starving them all the same… this is a 300 plus wicket…
18 Jan 2009, 04:22 am
#72 CoachPete: Outta here for now. Need to have a lekker stort want die klein plasie het my vuil gemaak vandag. Will be listening to 2000 tho’.
18 Jan 2009, 04:23 am
#77 whatever:
Hehe… classic… I think we all have had a Larmont at some stage… wouldn’t surprise me if yours is a ‘twin-fin’…
Geez so many of the old ‘Bay of Plenty’ core I’ve left off the list… the late Baron Stander being just another…
18 Jan 2009, 04:25 am
#80 money_man:
6ft 6 rounded pin, single fin (Skeg box, the old type). A classic in its day
Showing my age!!
18 Jan 2009, 04:26 am
#79 mindispower:
Cheers Enjoy the cricket
18 Jan 2009, 04:26 am
Steyn’s bowling has been awesome… will go for less than 2.4 an over by the end…
No other bowler in the history of RSA cricket has lived up to his preceding rep in Aus as much as this young lad…
18 Jan 2009, 04:28 am
#81 whatever:
Jeez kudos on keeping it that long… some real craftsman from that RSA surfing era… from Reef wetsuits to Island Style…
18 Jan 2009, 04:29 am
Yeah money-man, Mike Esposito, Ant Brodowicz, Dave Hansen from Slummies.
18 Jan 2009, 04:30 am
Oh no… great catch by match 1 hero Albie… but he’s more than likely broken his finger!
Right boys, gonna go and watch the last of the Oz innings with both eys…
#65 money_man:
you and your snot nosed esquire mostly anglicized brothers in arms that ooze out your holier than thou arrogance are a clan of putrefied puerile puritanical pr’cks that believe by some stroke of genetic genius that your heritage denotes you have some superior grandeur of grotesque aggrandizement of your opinionated colonialist crappy creepy selves… its about good time you got way down off your hobby high horse about all your so called esteemed better breeding, cos I’m telling you all for a fact you lower than the lowest of the low with all of your indoctrinated high and mighty self centered esteem about yourselves… you and that whatever creep and your other micky mouse minny that calls and thinks himself manly.
got absolutely stuff all time for the likes of you colonialist creeps… then thats no secret around here… guess you might have known that already.
#70 CoachPete:
sorry coach… wasn’t meant to be nice… direct response to a direct slur.. they wanna play foul… let them play … the punks… they get their damn fine deserts just as good as they try give it… smack bang slap back in their holier than thou cockeyed snooty nosed schmuck filled faces.
see you round the bush.. if they haven’t dragged out the red card all over again.
18 Jan 2009, 04:31 am
#85 whatever:
Have you watched ‘Bustin down the door’?
18 Jan 2009, 04:32 am
7/233 near 48 overs…
18 Jan 2009, 04:33 am
#73 whatever:
thats a bit better..
keep it clean and jovial and we all might yet learn to get along around here… try that other high handed stuff and get it back with interest… plenty of it.
18 Jan 2009, 04:36 am
#89 money_man:
No not yet m_m. Heard about it
#88 yliad:
Go wipe your mouth, you’r dribbling!
18 Jan 2009, 04:36 am
#88 yliad:
I’ve told you many a time… don’t bother writing more than a one word response… I NEVER read more than the first sentence of your ingnorant, tortured vitriol…
Now go out and do something good for your country’s poor and orphaned by the corrupt govt instead of trolling around on a sports blog you sad fark… plenty of us ‘Colonials’ still do despite being expats for many years!
18 Jan 2009, 04:37 am
#91 yliad:
I’m shivering in my skin
18 Jan 2009, 04:39 am
#91 yliad:
For the record, I’ve never started with you skoppie. Just said you are a doos when you act like one!
18 Jan 2009, 04:39 am
#91 yliad:
He was larfing at you pal, like 99% of this site… you’re a downright cartoon character that keeps Shapiro in business…
Sit Ubu Sit… woof… good dog!
18 Jan 2009, 04:41 am
Might just keep them under 250… a ‘should be’ easy target to chase… great stuff…
18 Jan 2009, 04:41 am
and now, to be frank skoppie I could’nt be bothered anymore! There used to be a place just outside Queenstown for people like you. Komani, not sure if it still exists tho.
18 Jan 2009, 04:43 am
Hehe… Ntini runs out Hadden ball and left stump in hand… classic!
And a catch on the final ball…
Awesome come-back by the Proteas…
18 Jan 2009, 04:46 am
Well done SA.. Can’t see us losing from here, especially considering that the side we’ve got today bats quite far down the order.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All