Sharks, Stormers tipped for S14 success

Former Springbok assistant coach Alan Solomons believes the Sharks or Stormers could become the second South African winners of the Super 14 while his outlook for New Zealand’s franchises is bleak.

Solomons, who currently works as a high performance consultant for the IRB, coached the Stormers to a semi-final in 1999 and was also the assistant to Nick Mallett during a golden period for the Springboks when they went 17 Tests undefeated. In addition, he has also coached Ulster to the Celtic Cup title.

Speaking to keo.co.za from Belfast, Solomons predicted that the quality of the Sharks’ squad and their coaching staff meant they had the best chance of winning the tournament, but he noted that the Stormers were an emerging force who would build on their improvement in 2008, and challenge for the title this season.

“My money is on the Sharks and Stormers to make the play-offs and then for one of them to kick on from there and win the whole thing,” he told this website.

“South Africa are currently in a golden cycle in terms of the calibre of players we’re producing or currently have playing the game at Super 14 level, and the Sharks in particular have the bulk of those elite players. They have the depth in talent, and in [John] Plumtree they have an outstanding coach. Their strength lies in the fact that they can rotate their squad and still field an unbelievable unit.

“The Stormers did well under Rassie [Erasmus - head coach] in 2008. I liked the brand of rugby they played and they’ve made some good signings between now and then. They’ll build on what they achieved last year and if they can get into the semi-final anything can happen on the day.”

Solomons noted that it would be a defining season for Bulls coach Frans Ludeke, who last year failed to mount a successful title defence with the Pretoria franchise.

“Last year was tough for Frans. He had just taken over the defending champions and replaced Heyneke Meyer, who had built that squad of players over a number of years,” he said.

“He struggled to put his unique mark on that side, which makes 2009 a defining year for him. He did well in the Currie Cup, but the measure of the man will come in the Super 14. He’ll be helped tremendously by the return of [Victor] Matfield though. I think people underestimate his impact from a playing and leadership perspective. It’ll be huge.

“There’s a question mark about how they’ll go, but I certainly think they’ll finish in the top half of the table. That said, if they play to their potential consistently they have the ability to win the tournament.”

His outlook for the Lions and Cheetahs was less optimistic however. Solomons identified a lack of depth as the primary challenges they would have to overcome if they hoped to be involved at the business end of the tournament, but he didn’t foresee them finishing in the top half of the table.

Meanwhile, Solomons noted the mass exodus of players from New Zealand to Europe would continue to hurt them.

“You could probably pick a very strong All Blacks side from the New Zealanders playing in Europe,” he said. “Their franchises have suffered with some top players deciding to move north and [Dan] Carter’s and [Robbie] Deans’s departures will certainly make the Crusaders vulnerable.

“Neither they nor Australia have the depth of talent we have to combat an exodus like that. When I was coach of the Stormers [between 1997 and 2000] the New Zealand blokes would often tell me that a fifth New Zealand franchise is not sustainable because they simply didn’t have the quality of players to fill five.

“This all points to a successful year for the Sharks and Stormers. I’m very positive about their chances. In fact, if they manage to keep their core of their sides together over the next four or five years, they could well dominate in the manner the Crusaders have.”

415 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 51.Wallabie. - The English always have an excuse after a pomp!!: Reply to this comment

#45 It is just a game:

Thats irrelevant…who wants to know who the sharks are…only if they are competitive then there might be some interest.

• 52.Watsonsemoer: Reply to this comment

#50 RedLion roars again: The Lions is an interesting case. They have a solid pack and watch out for Ross Geldenhuys – he is going to rock. If Pretorius can manage a S14 without injury, a top 8 position is more than getable. Just hope that guys like Mentz, Labuschagne and Willemse will add some value…

• 53.Wallabie. - The English always have an excuse after a pomp!!: Reply to this comment

#47 Sharksgirl:

You sure…they had all the talent last year and with Plum.

Wish you luck!

• 54.superBul: Reply to this comment

i have 34 in the pool all from here at Keo

Come join my pool in SuperBru Super 14, the ultimate Super 14 prediction game! It’s easy – just go to the website and enter the pool code wilyever to join my pool, Keo,s S14 Night Owls.

Pool code: wilyever
    Pool name: Keo,s S14 Night Owls

• 55.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#51 Wallabie. – The English always have an excuse after a pomp!!: THis year they WILL be competitive! Remember that Muir is now with the Springboks (look at the Boks, did they not look like the Sharks in S14 2008?) no more stupid squad rotation! Plum has allowed the team to Settle into positions, including our two predigious talents Ruan and STeyn, and when Boyd gets the Backs to fire on all cylinders, you will see we will be among the top four!

• 56.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

Correct Watsonsemoer.

I think in previous year we Lions supporters put too much pressure in the Pride to win the S14.

With more experience and now that we have wingers that can actually catch a ball and finish off – which we could not do last season – things are looking up.

• 57.clamburger: Reply to this comment

#29 NZINCHINA:

Almost the same ad nausum stuff about you boys winning the WC!

• 58.cane: Reply to this comment

#50 RedLion roars again:

The Blues will not be contenders Redness. The Teams that make up their Franchise, all had a less than memorable ANZNPC.

It may be a year or two, before the groundwork they are putting in comes to fruition. If indeed they putting in any groundwork. Normally they just bicker among themselves.

Of the NZ Teams, the Hurricanes remain basicly intact, and should be contenders for the Semi’s.

And while the Crusaders have lost Carter, Ali Willians and Sommerville they will be a well drilled and formidable Team just the same. Definately contenders.
    Carter replaced by Brett.
    Ali replaced by Filipo.
    Somerville by Crocket.

Different pipers, same tune.

• 59.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#53 Wallabie. – The English always have an excuse after a pomp!!: Yep but we also had Muir who never kept the same team for any match, look at Steyn he played every position other than hooker and prop! Also look at Plum, he took a forward pack that went backward if the oposition merely looked at them and turned them into what they are today, our backs are extremely talented and now with the Kiwi back line coach (Chris Boyd) and the input from Johns (Have I got the name right? That League legend from Oz) hopefully our backs will reach their true potential. Don’t discount the Sharks!

• 60.clamburger: Reply to this comment

#58 cane:

Cane, talk me through the ANZNPC. Whats with the lack of crowd support? Hangover from the WC still or some other feasable reason? Empty stadiums in most games I saw.

• 61.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

59 Sharkgirl

The Sharks are the only SA that may prevent the Mighty Lions from claiming the SA grand slam.

• 62.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

#59 Sharksgirl: I believe we have this season what we lacked the previous one. A good backline coach that will make our backs just as formidable as the forwards.

• 63.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#60 clamburger: spooner, you figured out how to change your nic eh?

i see the banter has begun, nice!

everybody ready for an *** whupping from the sharks?

season ticket? check!

make it worthwhile as usual Plum and co.

• 64.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#61 RedLion roars again:

Ai man, The moon is also made of cheese :)

• 65.cane: Reply to this comment

#60 clamburger:

No clammer, people just got better things to do.
    Since professionalism arrived, I don’t think people feel that they have ownership of the game anymore.

The Club and Provincial competitions are gutted of all high class players for much if not all of the competition.

The “Agents” pluck even good Club players, and export them to Japan and Europe. NZ has far more professional players Overseas than at home.

The irony for you Okes, is that when you finally do manage to win the S14, in a year when all our best are not getting recondition………..no one in NZ will care anymore………..We’ll all be at the Soccer. Here in Wellington the local Professional Soccer Team, get better crowds than the Rugby.

This would have been unthinkable 15 to 20 years ago. NZ has changed a lot, and continues to do so. Much like SA I assume.

(I’ll still care).

• 66.cane: Reply to this comment

#63 rangerman:

So da Clam is in fact da Spoon ?

What with Skoppie having 5 or 6 nicks, and now Spoonism going Schistophrenic…………….

• 67.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#61 RedLion roars again: Yep I think they may just do that, remember that the Lions are coming to play at The Shark Tank ;)

• 68.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#65 cane: thats a sad story cane.

sad.

but it begs the question…………

why have a world cup in a country where no-one cares anymore?

• 69.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#62 It is just a game: Agree with you 100%!

• 70.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#66 cane: it is a guess cane. i saw spooner asking how to change his nic and he was called a clamburger by hater a few times so……….

• 71.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

#65 cane: You don’t think that perhaps the real reason for a lack of Kiwi support is the fact that your team cant get their hands on the Webb Ellis trophee. :)

• 72.cane: Reply to this comment

#43 Watsonsemoer:

I agree with you Herr Watson. It will be a very even competition, with at least 6 or 7 Teams in contention for higher honours………much like last year.

Crusaders.
    Sharks.
    Hurricanes.
    Tahs.
    Stormers.
    Bulls.
    ……..and maybe the Chiefs/Brumbies.

• 73.bergbok: Reply to this comment

#4 Xkreni-WP: Jislaaik exkreni maar jy’s oorspronklik met jou grappies. Wat dink jy van jou eie span se kanse die jaar? Gaan hulle weer die top 10 breek?

Ek verwag ‘n semi van die stormers die jaar, dis dam een stappie verder as ’08, ‘n final sal ‘n moerse bonus wees en die titel net ‘n droom.

• 74.cane: Reply to this comment

#71 It is just a game:
    No not all Justa..

In fact that only adds spice/interest to the mix.

i.e. We get to Play World Campions, and kick there arses.

• 75.clamburger: Reply to this comment

#63 rangerman:

Close, but no cigar ranger :) I think a few of us got called a clamburger!!

• 76.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#75 clamburger: so…………………………….whatever! howzit buddy! :lol:

• 77.clamburger: Reply to this comment

#65 cane:

Yeah, I see the Pheonix are right up there (top 6?) and have a healthy support base. The soccer did not take off in Akld when it was tried a few years back.

Nice “suzzie” type jibe about your boys being reconditioned :)

• 78.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

#74 cane: You mentioned soccer as a excuse. Are the Kiwi kids getting more involved in soccer because you can earn more money maybe? I don’t have a lot of knowledge of Kiwi soccer except that they are Oceania champs.

• 79.clamburger: Reply to this comment

#76 rangerman:

• 80.rangerman: Reply to this comment

anyone watch that canadian lunatic on animal planet last night “habituating” a pride of lions on foot?

dave salmoni is his name and the show was “into the lions den”.

what a fekking nutcase, totallly opposed to anything like that but…………dave is a good guy even if he is a fekking nutcase :lol:

• 81.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#79 clamburger: yes!!

• 82.rangerman: Reply to this comment

where is dawn?

• 83.Puma: Reply to this comment

#53 Wallabie. – The English always have an excuse after a pomp!!: Plum was not the coach last year. Muir was. Big difference with Plum being head coach for the Sharks. See your final four without the Sharks there. Nah cant see that. Sharks will be in the final four and probably could make the final this year.

#72 cane: Thats what I had above earlier. Well something like that.

#65 cane: If NZ stopped caring about rugby it would be very sad indeed. Then they really did give the wc to the wrong country. Can we have it then? I know South Africa would grab for the chance to hold it here again. Cant see us stop caring about rugby here ever. Soccer is huge here aswell but so is rugby. Anyway to hear that Wellington get better crowds for the soccer than rugby is really sad. Always thought in NZ rugby was numer one sport there.

• 84.bergbok: Reply to this comment

#50 RedLion roars again:
    “My money in no order is on the Canes, Tahs, Blues, Saders and Sharks. The Bulls, Chiefs, Brumbies all stand an outside chance of making the semis.”

Interesting comment that. So you’re not even giving the stormers an outside change of making the semis? Weird considering they finished well above the Bulls, Chiefs and Brumbies.

• 85.clamburger: Reply to this comment

ranger, hav’nt seen dawn for a while to be honest. It’s been quiet during the cricket, apart from the bun fight with the lunetic fringe

• 86.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

In my view NONE of the Australian S14 franchises will make the playoffs.The Brumbies have lost too much quality over the years and have a new coach.Have a new captain in the lightweight that is Hoiles.Mortlock is their only class player and he is getting on a bit.Ashley Cooper had a shocker of a 2008.

Force are the most consistent side but have bben going through a lot of internal turmoil in the off season-Mitchell saga+Giteau threat to leave.

Reds will fare better this year,watch out for Leeroy Houston he will have a big 2009.But they are not champoinship material.

Tahs ahve lost their long time coach in McKenzie and their talisman in Rocky ElsomLost Dunning for the season and Kepu for most of the S14.Without those guys they look very green espeially in the backs.Will be in top6 but no playoff.

• 87.cane: Reply to this comment

#71 It is just a game:

Also Justa………..i think we just get too much Rugby.

I am getting to the later stages of middle age.

When I was young, we played SA in a Test Series every 4 years or so. It was novel, it was rare, it was classic stuff. Once a decade to witness these titanic matches.

The Boks, the Lions and the Wallabies would come to my little Town, thrash my little town 60-0, and we would think it marvelous. But they don’t go to my little Town any more. And AB’s don’t play there either.

Our good players don’t even stay to play club rugby, because they cannot get noticed unless they to “The City”.

Rugby is losing the Heartland.

Soccer is taking over. Rugby League gains ground every year.

But hey …………..we still got a few wins in us yet. 8)

• 88.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#65 cane:

The weather is shite, ticket prices are too high and SKY offers great coverage, I paid NZ$700 for my ticket to see the Lions play in 05″ – uncovered stand and beer included in that price, what a waste of money won’t be doing that again.

• 89.Puma: Reply to this comment

#62 It is just a game: Yip think so too.

• 90.cane: Reply to this comment

#77 clamburger:

“Nice “suzzie” type jibe “…………….let not the guilty rest.

• 91.Puma: Reply to this comment

#88 NZINCHINA: How you mate? hope well. You need to come watch rugby in SA then. Full sun here in the winter lots of beer and huge big braais too. Great vibe always at the rugga here. Especially at the Shark Tank. Our tickets for the Lions tour is also very expensive but think its all sold out already.

• 92.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#85 clamburger: sheesh, there has been blood on the walls round here recently :lol:

#86 mshiniwami: what was the mitchell saga about? the force seem to have the most controversy of any side. last year they were drunkenly chucking qokkas about, this year infighting.

but i rate them and i like the style of rugby they play. i think they may be more dangerous this year and wouldnt be surprised if they finish in the top four or just below.

• 93.Puma: Reply to this comment

#82 rangerman: She was here last week ranger but only for awhile not all day like she normally is. Maybe still on leave I think. I know she said she was taking leave from the 5th of Jan.

• 94.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#91 Puma:

Hi Puma, mate have been very fortunate to catch two games in SA, Ellis and Loftus have to agree with you, the sun was shining as was the beer and biltong.

• 95.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Overseas AB’s XV

1.Meeuws
    2.Oliver
    3.Hayman
    4.Jack
    5.Rawlinson
    6.Collins
    7.Holah
    8.Masoe

9.Kelleher
    10.Carter
    11.Gear
    12.Mauger
    13.McCalister
    14.Howlett
    15.Blair

16.Newby
    17.Blackie
    18.Taumopieau
    19.Somerville
    20.Regan King
    21.Tuitupou

Wow …Thats a lot of quality players

• 96.clamburger: Reply to this comment

#90 cane:

or the hallucinations continue :)

• 97.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

84 Bergbok

Yes indeed. But there is no need for me to jump on that wagon – there are hundreds of Capies on keo who will shout for the WP and their semi spot :grin:

• 98.clamburger: Reply to this comment

Right, outaya, cheers boys………….

• 99.cane: Reply to this comment

#78 It is just a game:
    Not using soccer as an excuse justa……….that’s just the way it is.

My son plays soccer. It’s his choice. It’s what his friends play.

The Junior membership at my local Soccer Club has increased by 20% a year for the last 5 years.
    The Soccerites love their game to, and promote it really well, with passion and a genuine love of the game.

• 100.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#93 Puma: ah yes, that must be it puma, cheers.

you still in umhlanga?

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.