Lions hammer bleak Bulls
24 Jan 2009
The Lions caused a shock when they gave the Bulls a 44-21 hiding in their friendly at a packed Wits University.
The Bulls may have opted to field an understrength unit without Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez to name just two, but they would have expected to be competitive at the very least.
But the Lions produced some stupendous rugby for this early in the season, scoring five first half tries, and seven in all, that entertained the 6 000 strong crowd.
The key to the win was quick ball they won at rucks, as this afforded the backs the necessary platform to pressure the Bulls’ defensive line. The first four tries were all scored on the overlap due to the earlier sterling work at the breakdown.
Such was the Lions’ dominance that they would have earned the bonus point - had this been competition time – after 32 minutes. The fifth was possibly the best of the evening after a 20m break from captain Baywatch Grobbelaar sent Jaque Fourie over to make the score 34-0 heading into the shed.
Fourie also highlighted his importance to the team with his marshaling of the defence, which kept the Bulls scoreless for the first half. One such hit on fellow Bok Danie Rossouw where he drove him backwards was particularly memorable.
What would have also pleased Lions coach Loffie Eloff was the form of his recruited Bok wingers, Ashwin Willemse and Henno Mentz. Finishing has been a problem, but both grasped any opportunity that came their way and were also productive around the park.
The second half saw a number of replacements on for both sides, and as a result the match deteriorated into a scrappy one. The Bulls managed to open their account five minutes into the second half with a try from replacement flank Deon Stegmann, but the Lions hit straight back.
Michael Killian, on for Willemse, charged down Burton Francis’s clearance and flopped on the ball to snuff out any hopes of an unlikely Bulls comeback.
The Lions have no more official friendlies and must wait three weeks until their Super 14 opener against the Cheetahs. Conversely for Frans Ludeke’s Bulls, they have two warm-ups where they will hope to gain some confidence.
Lions - Tries: Ashwin Willemse, Henno Mentz, Gert Muller, Earl Rose, Jaque Fourie, Michael Killian, Jano Vermaak. Conversions: Rose (3). Penalty: Rose.
Bulls - Tries: Deon Stegmann, Bakkies Botha, Akona Ndungane. Conversions: Burton Francis (2), Bryan Habana.
* The Lions B team beat their Bulls counterparts 22-13 after leading 12-3 at half-time. Lions centre Walter Venter was a standout for the hosts.
By Grant Ball, in Johannesburg

320 Comments
24 Jan 2009, 19:10 pm
Oh goody dragons !
24 Jan 2009, 19:12 pm
Damn, I see the Lions have chosen there best 15, Andre Pretoors excluded.
Well… let’s see…… do not expect too much from Bulls B
24 Jan 2009, 19:13 pm
should read: “their best 15″
24 Jan 2009, 19:15 pm
What about scores of Bulls C in the early match that started 18H00
24 Jan 2009, 19:24 pm
LIONS to take this one….
24 Jan 2009, 19:25 pm
#5 Hmmm:
Not that that is important…LoL
24 Jan 2009, 19:25 pm
Quick one: Bit of cricket news.
Nathan Bracken has been ruled out of the 4th One dayer in Adelaide on Monday.
That’s a real blow for Oz.
Ons gaan vir daai Aussie bliksems moer.
Enjoy the Lions-Bulls.
24 Jan 2009, 19:26 pm
Hope the LIONS get some structure right
24 Jan 2009, 19:27 pm
And are consistent!??!
24 Jan 2009, 19:28 pm
#7 I know nothing:
That is great news….he is a very tight bowler…not quite a Pollock but similar…
24 Jan 2009, 19:31 pm
There are probably only 7 Bulls players in the starting lineup that will be in a Super 14 match 22…….. most on the bench
Mangweni, Mametsa, Francis, Pedrie, Danie Pakslae, Chilli, Werner Kruger.
Bench players in this game that will make the Super 14 starting lineup…. Akona, Habana, Bakkies, Stegmann, Kirchner
24 Jan 2009, 19:35 pm
If the Lions do not win this one they will win nothing
24 Jan 2009, 19:38 pm
A bench without a scrumhalf. Either Adams or Hougaard
24 Jan 2009, 19:41 pm
honeys i am home.
been a bit absent of late, what with moving and new job etc. settled in in rustenburg, noit quite stellenbosch but it will do.
so, anyone know what happened in the other games? did the stormers sarries game happen today? amd the sharks?
24 Jan 2009, 19:41 pm
Hi …
24 Jan 2009, 19:42 pm
#14 Knersboy: Stormers v Saracens tomorrow!
24 Jan 2009, 19:43 pm
#16 carol: thanks carol. the sharks played today though didn’t they?
24 Jan 2009, 19:43 pm
My pick for eventual Bulls Super 14 run-on side will be:
15 Mangweni
14 Akona
13 Jaco Pretorius
12 Wynand Meisiekind
11 Habananana
10 Morne Steyn
9 Fourie du Preez
8 Potgieter
7 Pedrie
6 Stegmann
5 Big Vic
4 Bakkies
3 Ryno Gerber
2 Bandise Maku
1 Guthro Steenkamp
24 Jan 2009, 19:44 pm
#17 Knersboy: Did they?
24 Jan 2009, 19:46 pm
#19 carol: Hellooooooo
Yeah the Sharks plays / played the Pumas……. should have been a stroll in the park for them…. easy peasy…
24 Jan 2009, 19:48 pm
#20 grootblousmile: Hi there…….. should be, are they playing now then?
24 Jan 2009, 19:48 pm
#19 carol: yap, just heard that the sharks won 19-7, no details though.
24 Jan 2009, 19:49 pm
#21 carol: I think they played this afternoon….
#12 dWeePer:
Agreed…
hey gbs, hoelykit?
24 Jan 2009, 19:50 pm
#18 grootblousmile:
Backline does not look too good!??!
24 Jan 2009, 19:51 pm
#22 Knersboy: Not very inspiring win from the Tjarks… but I heard they fielded quite a B-side as well, like the Bulls will be diong tonight.
#13 dWeePer:
What happened with Adams?
#23 grootblousmile: There you go, your prediction correct – you did say you would help me with /superbru didn’t you!! Heheheh
24 Jan 2009, 19:53 pm
#25 Knersboy: Knersus…. nee dinge lyk gaaf…. g’n klagtes nie.
#26 Hmmm: To me it does….. 5 recent Springboks… PLUS Mangweni & Steyn…
24 Jan 2009, 19:53 pm
#27 grootblousmile:
It was not a good team at all…worst backline ever….and “lig innie broek” forwards….
But still they played a team that did not even make it to the semi in the CC b-comp…
24 Jan 2009, 19:57 pm
#30 grootblousmile:
At S14 level…I don’t think so…
JacoP played one good game in 2 years (hopefully for your sake the chamnge in scenery helps)…
Habana has been less than poor for a year….
Tiger needs to step up if he wants to be good in S14….
The rest I agree with…although Akona will only hold his own….not WoW anyone…
I don’t think they are too good…lets us hope your forwards give them enough advantage to shine….
24 Jan 2009, 19:58 pm
#32 Hmmm:
They will need all the space and advantage the forwards can give them…
24 Jan 2009, 19:58 pm
#29 carol: This first round of warm-up matches sees all the mix-and-match combo’s, the fringe players….. in the 2nd and third warm-up matches we’ll see the better players playing… that’s where we’ll be able to see if there’s light in the tunnel for the upcoming Super 14.
Tonight’s match should be won by the Lions, they are fielding their strongest possible team…
24 Jan 2009, 19:59 pm
Roar!
B team did the job now it is time for the A-Team Lions to do the job.
24 Jan 2009, 20:00 pm
#27 grootblousmile: ag well, will wait for the match report, warm up games.
anyone know if the stormers-sarries game is being televised. it would be a pity if not, we never get to see one of our teams play a nh side, even if it is a warm up, would be nice to watch.
24 Jan 2009, 20:01 pm
#36 Knersboy: Sarries game not televised
24 Jan 2009, 20:02 pm
#18 grootblousmile:
Derek WhoHard is such an averge player. All the commentators comment on him sitting so deep in the pocket. How did he ever start a s!4 match?
24 Jan 2009, 20:03 pm
#37 grootblousmile: thanks, that sucks.
24 Jan 2009, 20:03 pm
#34 grootblousmile: Possibly the only chance some players will have to impress.
A Lions win will bring a smile to K9′s face.
24 Jan 2009, 20:04 pm
#38 RedLion roars again: Yip !
Looking forward to Morne Steyn getting an extended run in the Super 14…
24 Jan 2009, 20:04 pm
#35 RedLion roars again:
Did we win?
What was the score…
24 Jan 2009, 20:05 pm
#41 grootblousmile:
Me too….he has really been looking good the last few years….and he is still young…he can still fight for a Bok spot….
24 Jan 2009, 20:05 pm
#40 carol: Yeah…. and he’ll be vocal as all hell…. conveniently forgetting that it’s Lions A against Bulls B…
On the other hand, should the Bulls win…. K9 will be deep in the kuk !
24 Jan 2009, 20:06 pm
Ok guys….gotta go….
24 Jan 2009, 20:07 pm
#44 grootblousmile: No money riding on this one then?
#45 Hmmm: Tatta
My S14 Bulle span
Kichner
Ndgane
Jaco P
WO
Habana
Steyn
FDP
Spies
Pedri
Stegmann
Vic
Gerber
Chile
Steenkamp
Reserwes
Kruger
Kuun
Danie
Dewald
Heini
Francis
JP
24 Jan 2009, 20:08 pm
#45 Hmmm: See you…
24 Jan 2009, 20:08 pm
#46 carol: None !
Logic dictates that Lions should win this one
24 Jan 2009, 20:09 pm
#42 Hmmm:
22-13 according to Grant ball
. It is a pity that this match is not being broadcast. Right now I am watching Derek Whooohard play for Heyneke’s orphaned team.
24 Jan 2009, 20:17 pm
No scores yet…. 10 min gone ??
24 Jan 2009, 20:18 pm
bulls 13 – Lions 12
24 Jan 2009, 20:19 pm
Grrrrrr, try from lions……. grrrrrrrr
24 Jan 2009, 20:20 pm
#50 grootblousmile: Ah, logic…..
K9 will be happy if logic has its way!
24 Jan 2009, 20:21 pm
#54 grootblousmile: Feel the fear!!
#53 madeliefie:
huh?
#55 carol: Yes…. and he’ll celebrate with Tequila…. and with Takbokpis (Jeagermeister)
24 Jan 2009, 20:23 pm
Grrrrrrrrrr, converted penalty Lions……… grrrrrrrrrrr
24 Jan 2009, 20:24 pm
Ash scored a try – that is not bad for a slow winger.
24 Jan 2009, 20:27 pm
#58 grootblousmile: Get your drinks chilled it may be you celebrating….Catch you later
Must dash…..
24 Jan 2009, 20:27 pm
Ohhhhhhh farkkkkkkkk nogga try… Menz…
See Karlien… my rugby logic argument works…
24 Jan 2009, 20:30 pm
So is this game being telecast somewhere ?
Go Lions. neek daai grootkop bulletjies in hulle moere in.
And Mentz also scoring a try. WOW not bad for a has-been winger
#61 carol: Cheers, enjoy the evening.
24 Jan 2009, 20:32 pm
Oooooooooooo haha… Lions scores again……. eina pyne !
24 Jan 2009, 20:33 pm
Die jaar gaan al daai spanne wat afgeskryf is, die andere gunstellinge n ding of twee wys
Lions, Cheetahs, Stormers moet net die ander twee grootkop baas spannetjies net ‘n ietsie wys
24 Jan 2009, 20:33 pm
Boys this is a new Lions team. The big difference between this team and last years team is the wingers. Last season those fools that Loffie employed on the wing squandered try after try after try. We left so many tries on the park I lost count.
This year with our Bok wingers we will be scoring try after try after try. Mark my words.
24 Jan 2009, 20:34 pm
20-zip to the Mighty Lions.
ROAR!
24 Jan 2009, 20:35 pm
20-0 after 23 min and counting
whats the verdict or the excuse… B team playing the A team or what gives?
24 Jan 2009, 20:36 pm
#68 RedLion roars again: I hope the Lions pick it up this year…
But this game is not a measure… Lions full strengh Super 14 team against Bulls B… none of this Bulls team should make the run-on Super 14 side
24 Jan 2009, 20:37 pm
DIE LIONS SUCK
24 Jan 2009, 20:37 pm
Wat ookal die telling gaan wees, vir die Bulle is die belangrikste om te sien hoe die volgende spelers vaar:
- van den Heever
- Francis
- Hougaard
- Chili
- Dries van S
24 Jan 2009, 20:38 pm
Is this game being televised anywhere, are any of you seeing it live?
24 Jan 2009, 20:39 pm
BULLS SAL N GEDUGTE SPAN WEES
24 Jan 2009, 20:42 pm
#75 KING JEEP: Janee…. maar nie met hierdie 15 nie…. hehehe
Neewat, ek komkommer nie… dissie die Bulls Super 14 run-on span die nie… dissie ouens wat net-net die 30=man squad maak wat nou speel.
24 Jan 2009, 20:42 pm
#71 grootblousmile:
Yes it is early days but for the boys to be 20 zip after only 20 min says alot about what the Lions are capable of doing against a full strenght Bulls outfit.
Right now there are at least 6 Bulls first team players getting mentaly beaten by Loffie’s pride.
The 6 damaged players.
Marius Delport
Pedrie Wannenburg
Danie Rossouw
Wilhelm Steenkamp
Chiliboy Ralepelle
Jaco Engels.
24 Jan 2009, 20:43 pm
Fokkkkkkkkk 27 / ZIP
24 Jan 2009, 20:43 pm
SHARKS STOTMERS BULLS MY HOPE
24 Jan 2009, 20:45 pm
1STE GAME LIONS CHEETAS GAN CLOSE WEES
24 Jan 2009, 20:45 pm
#77 RedLion roars again: Net Pedrie en dalk Chilli gaan span kry… Danie gaan oppie bench wees… en Marius Delport, Wilhelm en Jaco Engels gaan nie eers bench kry nie… watch maar !
24 Jan 2009, 20:46 pm
Bulls en Sharks gaan swaar kry die jaar, al in teenstelling van al die hype om hulle aangestelde kondisie.
Nee jinne, nou jaag die Lions………
#67 yliad: Lol, skoppie I had a good chuckle when you lumped the Stormers with the Lions and Cheetahs (the underdogs) and implied the Bulls and Sharks were “grootkoppe”.
The biggest talk has been coming out of the Cape so far… as usual.
24 Jan 2009, 20:48 pm
And this is a fairly decent Bulls team…
24 Jan 2009, 20:49 pm
Kyk, selfs ‘n tweede span van die Bulle mag nie so sleg verloor nie
Kom, Ludeke, onthou die gesegde: “jy speel soos jy oefen!”
SOLANK DIE LIONS NET N PAAS AUS EN NZ SPANNE KAN HOU IS EK HAPPY
Kyk julle die game live of nie?
just watch both the Sharkie sharks and the nulletjies both choke big time this year
27-0 wonder where Ludekak going to be hiding his head after this little fiasco.
24 Jan 2009, 20:50 pm
hoping habs can inject some spark into the bulls squad
24 Jan 2009, 20:51 pm
VIR DIE LIONS VOORSPM N STAP IN DIE REGTE RIGTINGEL DIE DAR
24 Jan 2009, 20:51 pm
34-0 Go Loffie show these brekers net wies baas oppie plaas die jaar ou man.
24 Jan 2009, 20:52 pm
Skoppie – Lol, watch the Stormers choke and finish out the running again… In fact it wouldn’t even be a surprise.
#91 yliad: Last year you were calling Loffie a waste of oxygen, quota lilywhite coach… what’s changed?
Goeie fokkkkkkk………..
Wys jou net wat is die verskil in kwaliteit tussen die A-span.. en die B-span
(A-span = Awake span ; B-span = Blinde span)
Hehehe
24 Jan 2009, 20:53 pm
WELL DONE LIONS EVEN TEEN N B SPAN LYK DIT BAIE GOED WAG NET VIR DIE KONINGS MORE
24 Jan 2009, 20:53 pm
#81 grootblousmile:
You may be right. We wait and see what the A-team is and how they do in their warm up matches.
24 Jan 2009, 20:54 pm
STORMERS GAAN WILD WEES
24 Jan 2009, 20:55 pm
#97 KING JEEP: why are you SHOUTING? Are you excited?
24 Jan 2009, 20:55 pm
PROBLEEM IS AS LIONS 2 BESERRINGS KRY SUKKEL HULLE WEER
24 Jan 2009, 20:56 pm
#96 RedLion roars again: Weren’t you a RedBull (formerly RedLion) last year? Jeez bro, like a yo-yo..
Mossie is back – I imagine him breaking the line and beating the scambling defence to score a try from the 50m line
When are the Stormers playing Sarries?
JA DIE S14 GAAN SIEK WEES KANI WAGI
24 Jan 2009, 20:57 pm
50 point are on offer for the Lions. Who will bet against that from happening?
MORE 16.00 OF 17/00
Tweede helfte gaan Loffie sy b span opsit, en Ludeke sy a span ?
24 Jan 2009, 20:58 pm
WHO ME
24 Jan 2009, 20:58 pm
#102 Mackie:
Tomorrow they will play against their victims. Right now it is the Lions who are spoiling Ludeke’s carefully planned warm up’s.
24 Jan 2009, 20:59 pm
SPOON
#93 wooden spoon:
I’ve always rated Loffie, even when he does dumb things like playing Rose as pivot.. you got me all wrong I never wrote Loffie off, he has always had my respect, last year he got his balance wrong but his front row are awesome probably the best in the country, I’ve always rated Loffie, unlike some other whiter shade of pale palookas, who we’ll refrain from mentioning now.
#109 KING JEEP: Ja, ek vra vir jou – hoekom SKREEU jy?
24 Jan 2009, 21:00 pm
JA HULLE DOEN
24 Jan 2009, 21:01 pm
SOZ beter
24 Jan 2009, 21:02 pm
#110 yliad: I must be mistaken. I thought you jumped on the bandwagon last year, when the topic was why PDV had never coached a S14 team.
Eloff has been at the Lions a while now – when will the “rebuilding” stop and the winning start? How much time would you give him if you were sitting in the GLRU?
24 Jan 2009, 21:03 pm
tahs 17 reds 5
24 Jan 2009, 21:05 pm
#114 wooden spoon:
It was JL1 that often talked Loffie down, I’ve always liked his style, they’ve been very thin for backup if they pick up injuries much like Cheetahs, but full strength they’ll give anyone a go, J.Pretorius might have made a big mistake crossing the Jukskei this year, much like W.Van Heerden before him.
24 Jan 2009, 21:06 pm
I’ve got to duck. Later.
24 Jan 2009, 21:07 pm
6 tries to one so far and 5 of them by backline players and wings.. looks like Loffie’s got his story straight so far this time, long as they can just keep it pumping.
24 Jan 2009, 21:07 pm
Heeeeeeeee haaaaaaaaaa Bulls are on the score sheet !
Hehehhehe
See Stegmann is on… makes an immediate impact, that boytjie…
24 Jan 2009, 21:09 pm
#117 wooden spoon: Cheers Woody
24 Jan 2009, 21:10 pm
15 Louis Ludik, 14 Ashwin Willemse, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Henno Mentz, 10 Earl Rose, 9 Jano Vermaak,
All of these players can play for the Boks tomorrow, except for Doppies no comment on Rose
The only players missing from the pack are Mostert and Ernst.
What a good looking team.
24 Jan 2009, 21:10 pm
And looks like Walter Venter had a top notch game in the B team, so Lions looking A-Ok in the backs this year to go with their awesome front row and Willem Alberts and Jannes Labuschagne as rough rider second row and back row enforcers
24 Jan 2009, 21:11 pm
en andre
24 Jan 2009, 21:13 pm
Nothing wrong with Doppies, he makes some nice little breaks inside, nice feed off to Jacque, and there is still Walter Venter off bench.. maybe even Rose will come of age this year too.
24 Jan 2009, 21:15 pm
Andre can soak it up on the bench and come on last 30 minutes if necessary, that way save his brittle bode
24 Jan 2009, 21:20 pm
Nog ‘n driekie, dryf daai spyker diep in die kus in boys. Ja!
24 Jan 2009, 21:21 pm
Die Bulls span lyk my is op pad agteruit, iemand beter a noodhulp oproep aan Heyneke deursit gou gou.
24 Jan 2009, 21:22 pm
#126 yliad: Geluk, julle is eerste op die log … met ‘n bonuspunt
24 Jan 2009, 21:23 pm
Come on Lions, one more converted try to the 50.
24 Jan 2009, 21:25 pm
#128 alf:
Noggie… maar watch net
24 Jan 2009, 21:27 pm
Pity its not a real game.. what counts… long as Loffie and the boys don’t go getting kop toe over this little rehearsal.
24 Jan 2009, 21:28 pm
Bakkie kry n drie… bietjie laat ou maat.. koels al lankal deur die kerk die keer.
24 Jan 2009, 21:31 pm
Sheez Bulls 2nd team is kak! Anyone know when the Sharks are playing?
24 Jan 2009, 21:32 pm
#121 RedLion roars again: Earl Rose over Pienaar? Bru what am have you been smoking?!
24 Jan 2009, 21:32 pm
Mmmmmm…….. look who scores for the Bulls……….. not the B-Team guys… the benchies…. who are actually A-Team guys….
And the Lions did not pull away after halftime… wonder why…. maybe because the Bulls started putting some better players on the pitch ??
Lions, don’t read anything into this win….. as I said before this game even started…. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
24 Jan 2009, 21:34 pm
‘Ashwin shrugs off Habana hype’
Looks like maybe he was right after all… more hype than substance… looks like a whole lot of glory boys going to have to be doing some serious soul searching all over again… the laurels are long past available for resting on, time to put in some serious hard work for a change.. or get your *** whipped.
24 Jan 2009, 21:34 pm
#121 RedLion roars again: sorry but I fail to see how Willemse is better than JP unless ofcourse he’s got his speed back and can play as replacement for JP in case of injury.
24 Jan 2009, 21:35 pm
#134 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Sharks beat the lowly Pumas 19 / 7…. also with a B-Team.
There is a BIGGGGGGGGGGGG difference between Bulls & Sharks A and their respective B-Teams…..
Be verrrrrrrrry afraid of the Bulls and the Sharks… be verrrrrrrrrry afraid !
#136 yliad: Is Habana playing today?
#135 grootblousmile:
We took it easy after that 1st half blitz no need risking injuries on B-team players
#131 yliad: 28 Februarie is die ware jakob, dan speel die Leeus teen die A span, op Ellispark.
24 Jan 2009, 21:36 pm
Apparently Sharks also sukkeled against the mighty Pumas, just scraped a win.
Bulls and Sharks will have to get some serious momentum going if they going to live up to all their pre season hype.
24 Jan 2009, 21:36 pm
#137 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
I am not saying that they must replace any of the current Boks, merely saying that they are Bok quality.
24 Jan 2009, 21:37 pm
#138 grootblousmile: Jeez that is poor, I hope there is a big big difference between Sharks A and B teams otherwise I’m going to be crying into my Castle! Well its only pre-season, all will be revealed on 14th Feb!
24 Jan 2009, 21:39 pm
#141 alf:
Ja dis die ware Jakob, dan sien ons die ware verhaal.. tot dan, vandag was definitief 1-0 Leeus, en dis altyd lekker om te weet jy’s op pad voorentoe, nie agteruit nie.
24 Jan 2009, 21:40 pm
#144 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Bro…. your Black & White Team and my Blue Team will be right up there…. whaen it really matters !
Watch the Sharks demolish the Stormers on 14 Feb….. I predict it now already…
24 Jan 2009, 21:41 pm
Afternoon guys
The last time I mentioned Lions were going to be competitive this year in super 14, I was told I was on Crack.
Ok its pre season, but just look at their pack for starters
24 Jan 2009, 21:42 pm
Mmmmm final score 44 / 21…
….. so the Bulls won the 2nd half 21 / 10….
Interesting…….. indeed……..
We shouldnt get too excited. Wont be that easy against one of the better teams.
Grant skryf in sy verslag: “The Lions caused a shock when they gave the Bulls 44-21 hiding in their friendly at a packed Wits University.”
Ja, ek stem saam, dit is vir almal ‘n groot skok as selfs die Leeus se A span die Bulle se B span klop …
24 Jan 2009, 21:43 pm
Grant you are the best writer on Keo.co.za
And as for my beautiful Lions beating 2 Bulls teams in one day! What a great show.
Now I am getting too carried away but look at the scoreboard. To have 7 different players scoring tries – WOW. This team is a try scoring team and there is no denying that. Ok they say it was a Bull b team. Fine add 20 point to the Bulls scorecard and then you get an idea as to what the Lions would have done to the A-team Bully boys.
And folks don’t forget we took released our grip around their throats in the second half.
24 Jan 2009, 21:44 pm
#146 grootblousmile: I hope you’re right boet, I really do
24 Jan 2009, 21:45 pm
#147 CoachPete:
Their pack is awesome, especially their front row will give all comers a hiding with Alberts at back and Labuschagne in the engine room, they got some muscle up front, and they got a decent well balanced 3/4 backline now too, so this year anything is possible..
These Nulletjies and Sharkies gonna see their gatte, and 14th Feb Valentines day is first wakey wakey call for the great white Guppies.
Hey there GBS K9 Soda, skoppie and others
#152 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: I’m telling you bro……. you can morgage the house on it…. hahaha
24 Jan 2009, 21:46 pm
#153 yliad:
I agree skoppie And it all starts with a solid pack.
I am not easily moved by pre-seasonal fixtures. Besides, the Bulls did not have their backline, nor their tight 5 on the field. There is a 50 point difference between the top side and this side. Good win for the Lions though.
#145 yliad: Stem saam, dit is goed vir die Leeus om op hierdie wennoot begin, al was dit nie teen die Bulle se A-span nie.
Die Bulle moet nou volgende week ‘n goeie en oortuigende wen behaal, wat nie maklik gaan wees nie, anders gaan daar so bietjie twyfel begin inkruip.
24 Jan 2009, 21:47 pm
Mortgage away if you ready to lose your boots
#136 yliad: To be fair haven’t the Lions fielded a near full strength team as opposed to a Bulls B team? Wasn’t it always going to be in favour of the Lions?
Also am I hallucinating or does the score card say that Habana kicked a conversion?!
#154 CoachPete: Hey coachie…
Been a nice relaxing day this side……
24 Jan 2009, 21:48 pm
“One such hit on fellow Bok Danie Rossouw where he drive him backwards was particularly memorable.”
Grant Ball
24 Jan 2009, 21:49 pm
#157 mosselbaaibul:
True, but its a much Lions squad.
Plus keep and eye on the yankee Clever
#154 CoachPete: Howzit Coach
Well it is early days but the Lions did what they had to do. Sat back the second half. No need to risk injuries. Lets hope they can build on this.
So, since the Bulls bench came on at half time, the score reads 21-10 to the Bulls.
#153 yliad: don’t get too cocky boet, the Stormers may also be in for a big surprise on the 14th! Sharks tight 5 is far better and it will be interesting to see how they cope Deysel rumbling up the midfield!
24 Jan 2009, 21:50 pm
#161 grootblousmile:
Hey there, noon here, just watched ospreys game
24 Jan 2009, 21:51 pm
#157 mosselbaaibul: Now you’re talking…. compare this Bulls B-Team man for man against the Bulls A-Team and it’s clear that there’s more than 50 points difference in the A and B teams.
Maar laat hulle vals hoop kry…. en laat die Bulls skouer aan die wiel sit…. dis reg so….
24 Jan 2009, 21:51 pm
#158 alf:
Ja dis die ding, sielkundigend is dit hoog noordsaaklik dat die Bulle hul sokkies nou heeltemaal oplig volgende week.
24 Jan 2009, 21:52 pm
#166 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Loins tight five are better than stormers tight five, looses forwards maybe even.
yes sharks are the team to beat
24 Jan 2009, 21:54 pm
OK boys, I’m outa here………..
Gooooooooooiiiiiiii Mielieeesssssssssss
24 Jan 2009, 21:54 pm
#171 grootblousmile:
24 Jan 2009, 21:55 pm
Ek sien loffie beplan nie enige verdere opwarmingswedstryde nie, terwyl al die ander SA spanne nog 2 opwarmwedstryde het.
Wonder wie is die slimste ?
24 Jan 2009, 21:56 pm
#160 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Maybe Habana should go to 15.. cos he’s not all that good at 11 no more.
#166 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Sharks going to get their first comeuppance on Feb 14th, and watch our loosies annihilate your lot, Deysel and all .. (who should have stayed put at the Lions then the Lions would have been the form team with Deysel, Grobbelaar, and Alberts together.)
24 Jan 2009, 21:57 pm
#154 CoachPete: Please let this continue. Great example of how a front row makes the difference in a team.
I also think it’s better to have a full warm up schedule. Whilst it’s a long haul, a fast start helps at the end, especially when your depth is limited.
#170 CoachPete: Sorry boet Stormers have a tight 2.
#173 alf:
Not sure there, extra friendly games can help, however you run the risks of injuries to key players
24 Jan 2009, 21:58 pm
#173 alf: Alf see my comment at 175.
24 Jan 2009, 21:58 pm
#176 SodaJoe:
sorry my mistake Hows the weather there still minus 50 degrees ?
24 Jan 2009, 22:00 pm
#173 alf:
Loffie is op pad, hy lees die prent reg
Dink die Bulle se groot probleem is motivering. Hulle het die spelers en die trofee (2007), maar niemand om hul weer te motiveer nie. Meyer kom terug !
#174 yliad:
Maybe 13 too?
#179 CoachPete: Pete I am gatvol. No let up right now. But Leeds and Lions had good wins so I am in a good mood.
Geez boet – Leeds & Lions – what did I do to deserve that?
24 Jan 2009, 22:02 pm
#183 SodaJoe:
Leeds soccer ?
24 Jan 2009, 22:02 pm
#180 yliad: He has a pack. And you know my feelings about that. Flyhalf is major weakness, but Fourie is becoming a real leader it would seem.
Disagree on Sharkies – I suspect they are going to be bliksem difficult to beat. Where do you think they are weak?
24 Jan 2009, 22:03 pm
#184 CoachPete: Si/Oui/Yebo
24 Jan 2009, 22:04 pm
#181 alf: Early days Alf. Don’t worry. But I think that they need more games. Meyer’s gone.
#182 CoachPete:
Yip good call, he’s lost his touch at 11 gets beat too often and over shoots his defense.. used to be a intercept merchant when playing for Jake and when he still possessed a lot of speed… too much of the good life and all those commercials softened him up good.
#185 SodaJoe:
Agreed to all of that except i feel maybe a few years behind Rose may have helped, and he maybe better this year
24 Jan 2009, 22:06 pm
#188 yliad:
yes 100% right about the intercepts May see a lot more ball at 13 next to an improved meisiekind
24 Jan 2009, 22:07 pm
Sharks have a balanced Team and some serious extra depth…. no glaring weaknesses…
The Stormers have a tight 2 in stead of a tight 5, no decent tight 5 backup whatsoever. In addition they have good loosies but no real “out and out” Fetcher. Also Stormers are very thin on Fly Half and one wing… and their overall Squad Depth is shocking !
Watch the Sharks doooooooooo the Stormers on 14 Feb……….. **** my lied !
24 Jan 2009, 22:07 pm
#189 CoachPete: I can only hope. If Earl steps up no one will be happier than me. But he seems to be a journeyman to me. He has quick hands, a reasonable boot, but head down or eyes wide open & slow is an image I have that’s hard to shake.
24 Jan 2009, 22:09 pm
#185 SodaJoe:
Ja I’m just pulling the rug a bit before they get too high n mighty c’ck sure, with Plumtree in the driving seat Sharks are the professional outfit to beat, but they still play a very predictable game and long as Stormers front 3 can hold theirs I reckon we can surely surprise them right off their preconceived dot.
#192 SodaJoe:
And better decision making too.
#190 CoachPete: No one’s going to move Habana from 11 you know that. But I was hoping his loss of form at the end of last year was temporary.
I wouldn’t be reading too much in to a friendly game.
The Lions will gain confidence, Bulls will see it as a meaningless exercise.
24 Jan 2009, 22:10 pm
#192 SodaJoe:
I am not a huge rose fan however with guys like fourie around him and him possibly maturing as a player, he could improve big time
24 Jan 2009, 22:11 pm
#195 SodaJoe:
Yeah, you are possibly right there.
24 Jan 2009, 22:11 pm
Grant is going to whip young Pienaar into shape, and Stormers back 3 will hammer Sharks loosies stukkend, just like they did last year, Watson included.
Sharks just like Bulls are all just big hype, next is the real deal, hype time will soon be over.
24 Jan 2009, 22:12 pm
#193 yliad: Skops I just don’t get Rassie’s lack of building a front row. Everything else is in place. Could be a surprise team, but no front row no mashed potatoes (let alone gravy).
24 Jan 2009, 22:13 pm
#198 yliad: Na boet. Pienaar is going to be an all time great.
24 Jan 2009, 22:13 pm
#199 SodaJoe:
yeah me too Why does he not try and get CJ back from Ireland
24 Jan 2009, 22:16 pm
# CoachPete: I tink it’s worth it for CJ to really raise his game in NH. Learn to be a fearsome scrummager.
24 Jan 2009, 22:18 pm
#200 SodaJoe:
Pienaar has the silky skills but lacks the fundamental overall stability, long as Pienaar is playing behind a dominant pack he’ll be fine, under pressure just like Steyn he will flurry and float, watch Grant put all those negator’s right back in their boxes with JdV right beside him… watch and witness.
24 Jan 2009, 22:18 pm
#202 SodaJoe:
Maybe but I would like to see our better props in RSA anf helping SA teams in Super 14
Rassie knew of the problems last year and he has to go with what he has.
I think Stormer front row will struggle again
24 Jan 2009, 22:20 pm
#203 yliad:
Sorry Skoppie I am with Soda on this one big time, Pienaar is the man at 10
Maybe grant as back up for boks . lets see how he plays
Sharks will have better ball from the scrum, than stormers
24 Jan 2009, 22:20 pm
#203 yliad: Well Skops if we finally get a flyhalf of the calibre of Carter, Larkham, etc we will win a ton of games.
Personally I think Ruan is better than Grant, but you think otherwise, having 2 very good potentially great flyhalves is awesome. Steyn is a 12/15 and a useless 10. Butch is done.
24 Jan 2009, 22:21 pm
#203 yliad:
Oh and dont rule out Butchie
24 Jan 2009, 22:22 pm
#205 CoachPete: Personally I think Gant on the bench ahead of Steyn. Steyn really wastes a lot of ball – either crash bang, or those ridiculous drop kicks.
#204 CoachPete:
Yip Rassie has got 6 or 7 international class loosies and only one decent prop and a powder puff front 3
Somehow he’s going all out for mobility and negating the basics, hopefully his little Maverick plan with Koster on the wing works, though I have my doubts even if Nick Mallet approves.
#206 SodaJoe:
Steyn is a 15 we have plenty centers.
Butch not a bad 10 if 3rd string back up
24 Jan 2009, 22:23 pm
#208 SodaJoe:
thats why he needs to ply 15
24 Jan 2009, 22:23 pm
#207 CoachPete: Nah he’s done. Thanks for the good times – great footballer and underrated hero of RWC, but hopeless in hurly burly speed of new rules.
24 Jan 2009, 22:24 pm
#209 yliad:
I hope he does not ruin Koster’s rugby career by playing him on the wing.
We are talking about the future boks captain who is a loose forward
24 Jan 2009, 22:24 pm
#209 yliad: Maybe the smartest coach that we have, but seriously – that front row makes John Smit look like Graham Price.
24 Jan 2009, 22:25 pm
#212 SodaJoe:
Ok then its Rose in place of Butch as 3rd # 10
24 Jan 2009, 22:25 pm
#213 CoachPete: Agree – the koster wing thing is just dof.
Stormers are going to fly or die – no in between.
24 Jan 2009, 22:26 pm
#205 CoachPete:
Pinaar or Grant at 10 last year and i guarantee we would have won the 3N, Butch lost us that competition, him and FdP and a poorly balanced loose trio in Burger, Smith and Spies
When Joe and Watson played with January at 9 we won in NZ, when we switched to the other combo for Perth and Cape Town and Durban we went backwards. Butch and FdP in Perth and in Cape Town were both diabolically shocking and so too was Percy that day.
24 Jan 2009, 22:27 pm
#215 CoachPete: Don’t jinx us – *******.
But Pretorius in form is a good player, journeyman but a good one.
24 Jan 2009, 22:27 pm
#213 CoachPete:
Agreed stupid move if ever I saw one, totally out of the box idiocy if you ask me.
24 Jan 2009, 22:29 pm
#217 yliad: Agree on Butch. Not the rest.
FdP + Ruan = one of our great combinations. Grant on bench to cover 10/12 & maybe 15.
Gotta go strip beds – be back in a bit
24 Jan 2009, 22:29 pm
#217 yliad:
Yes i agree i would have loved to see Fdp with Pienaar , earlier in 3N
Yes Spies only good when boks are on the front foot
Big Joe could handle going backwards better
24 Jan 2009, 22:31 pm
#218 SodaJoe:
But that appears the option . Pretorius is injury prone and like you say about Butch i think Pretorius is done.
24 Jan 2009, 22:31 pm
#215 CoachPete:
Better deal, Butch is PAST tense like as in DINOSAUR.. put him out to pasture already and get on with the real business of winning the 3N for once in a blue moon.
Grant and Pienaar are the Bok fly halves, with A.P. and even Rose as backup.
Steyn must stick at 12 and maybe 13 at a push, and lose his selfish big head streak, we got enough better 15′s than him, even this Wilton Pietersen I would groom to take over from Jantjes before Steyn at FB.
24 Jan 2009, 22:32 pm
#219 yliad:
Skopppie you see us expat yankee saffas think alike
24 Jan 2009, 22:34 pm
#223 yliad:
Maybe you rigth about Pietersen at 15, but how about him on the wing too.
Skoppie just remember right now we have Jdv and Jacobs and Fourie so where does steyn fit in?
24 Jan 2009, 22:38 pm
#221 CoachPete:
Did you watch FdP in the baa baas game with Steyn at 10, total abysmal f’up, they should have played Percy at 10 and when Gregan came on thats when things started happening round the fringes, FdP is a waste of ball and so too Butch and Steyn.
Today speed and precision momentum behind the scrum is paramount, all this skop skiet and donder bullsh’t went out with the dark ages of JW rugby, its doomed to failure, and had we played front foot rugby with Grant or Pienaar at 10 last year preferably with January at 9, we would have probably won 11 or 12 out of 13 and not only 9.
24 Jan 2009, 22:41 pm
#226 yliad:
Yes that was a poor performance by steyn I know you not a huge Fdp fan i
still like Fdp very soild, steady experianced player .
24 Jan 2009, 22:43 pm
#224 CoachPete:
yippidee do dah that we do, it cos you not like those other goolongonedwanaland bumkins that think they finally found the promised land and look down their elongated snouts at all and sundry beneath them. Least you lot that went west got enough common sense to check some progress where its due.
24 Jan 2009, 22:45 pm
#228 yliad:
Ok i wont get you started
24 Jan 2009, 22:47 pm
#227 CoachPete:
FdP is slow.. dead boring slow behind the scrum, he’s no match winner unless we playing a down and out England who stand around the scrum with flat feet all day long.
January and Adams much better, even Vermaak and De Bruin from Free State who’s a bit of a FdP clone with a big boot.. not mad about Kockott neither, far too big for his boots,.. he’s better suited to go play for the Goolongonewannabee team
24 Jan 2009, 22:49 pm
The bulls now have by far the worst pack in the competition. There backline isn’t much better. They need to go a buy school players from the Cape, as they normally do.
24 Jan 2009, 22:50 pm
OK Coach.. K9 been hanging in the wings for the past hour or so trying to get a word in edgewise, so I better be gone.. give somebody else a chance to talk k’k with you.. or whoever.. I’ll hang back for awhile now.
so long
24 Jan 2009, 22:52 pm
#230 yliad:
And Classens if he retuned?
We agree to disagree about Fdp. I like january when he is not knocking on behind scrums and rucks,
Adams has been unlucky and maybe in the wrong place.
Injuries have not helped him
Yeah i like Vermaak too
Kocket is a bit one dimensional, but can kick at goal pretty good.
I will watch De bruin more to comment.
24 Jan 2009, 22:53 pm
#232 yliad:
Ok cheers
24 Jan 2009, 22:56 pm
Ok i am outta here too.
Cheers soda and others
24 Jan 2009, 23:04 pm
#212 SodaJoe: Butch is fast becoming the poster boy for expansive rugby in the GP, Sky have his face all over their adverts. Huge game tomorrow for Bath at home against Toulouse, I hope Butch’s goal-kicking stays good.
#226 yliad: nooo, they should’ve played Shane Williams at 10, it is Barbarians rugby after all
the coaches were unlucky in that one in fairness to them, Steyn was the only 10 they knew of.
#203 yliad: I agree that Pienaar will find it tough under pressure, it will take time for him to convert. i’m surprised you’re a fan of JDV, all he seems to do is crash it up and although he gets through sometimes he can be very wasteful. If I were McGeechan and assuming JDV still has his place a big tackling 12 (maybe Wilkinson or Henson) could totally take him out of the game.
24 Jan 2009, 23:10 pm
#198 yliad: You are living in a dream world my friend, Pienaar is a far better pivot than Grant. If anything the Stormers are all hype. The Sharks team is packed full of Bok players, got a great centre combo with Steyn and Adi, a solid front row, mongrel in the loosies with Deysel, a great fullback and solid wingers with Odwa and JP, not to mention Pienaar who I have a feeling is going to be a great no.10.
The Sharks were by far and away the best team of the Currie Cup and were the only South African team that actually put up a serious fight against the Crusaders last year on their home turf, the rest just rolled over and died! So you have little evidence to back up your assertion that suddenly the Stormers are so great…
Also you need to factor in the arrival of a new Kiwi back coach, in my opinion South African coaches just aren’t creative enough!
24 Jan 2009, 23:15 pm
#236 Big Hit: Hello bud. Never said that he was a bad club player. But I think Butch struggled internationally, step up too big and fast. Anyway it’s time we built a flyhalf for the ages not the next test match.
I disagree on JdV – hardly a crash ball player – good tackler for sure but also very fluid, great vision and brings out the best in his flyhalf and outside center. Almost a complete footballer imo.
How’s the England team shaping up?
24 Jan 2009, 23:17 pm
#237 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Rassie might be getting too creative I think ….
Sharks are on paper asily the team to watch.
Skops is pulling your leg. He has an eye for good players, but even he knows the Stormers front row would be pumped by Paarl Gym front row.
24 Jan 2009, 23:26 pm
#238 SodaJoe: I think Butch was a good international 10 but didn’t get time to adjust to the ELVs. His first games under the ELVs were against the All Blacks in NZ (twice) and Australia in Perth.
I don’t see JDV doing much other than taking it up, he never kicks and he never sends the ball wide. Its 50/50 as to whether you’ll get an offload out of him.
The England team are suffering an injury crisis as usual: Moody, Rees, Wilkinson, Richards, Hipkiss, Grewcock, Palmer and now Stevens all out plus a couple like Simpson-Daniel and Strettle not considered due to injury. We play too many games up here. I’m still optimistic of three home wins however.
25 Jan 2009, 00:26 am
I love this. I hope all our sides are competitive this year. What an awesome headache for PDV to have too many players to pick from this year. Go Lions and Cheetahs. Sharks forever!!!!
25 Jan 2009, 01:26 am
only warrm up girls
25 Jan 2009, 06:43 am
It seems I have stumbled into a parallel universe where the Lions thrash the Bulls… maybe Bafana Bafana will win the world cup!
25 Jan 2009, 06:50 am
#243 SpringbokSarah: Morning Saartjie. What r u doing awake this time of a Sunday?
25 Jan 2009, 06:53 am
#244 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: I woke up at 4:30… I AM TOO AMPED TO SLEEP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I missed Newlands so much…
25 Jan 2009, 06:54 am
#241 CraigE: What about the Stormers?
25 Jan 2009, 06:56 am
#242 greatest13gerber: yeah…just imagine if the Lions didnt play at 50%…..
25 Jan 2009, 06:58 am
I need to remember to take my calming pills to Newlands…
25 Jan 2009, 06:59 am
#247 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: rofl…
Did Andre Pretorius play btw?
25 Jan 2009, 07:02 am
#245 SpringbokSarah: Lets hope ur team do well today and WIN……..the most important thing.
25 Jan 2009, 07:03 am
#249 SpringbokSarah: No.
25 Jan 2009, 07:06 am
#250 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Let’s! Otherwise I’ll be all emo til the 14th (probably go even more emo).
And I really like this high so I can’t let them ruin it…
25 Jan 2009, 07:06 am
# K9_BaasPatrolliehond: is he STILL injured?
25 Jan 2009, 07:08 am
#253 SpringbokSarah: No…Loffie is holding him back….for the bigger teams
25 Jan 2009, 07:09 am
#254 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: I was about to say! That guy plays 2 minutes and gets injured… he and Jaque remind me of Wilko
25 Jan 2009, 07:11 am
#255 SpringbokSarah: Well lets hope he holds out this season. The lions AND SA needs him.
25 Jan 2009, 07:13 am
#256 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: I know… that’s why he needs to be all tough and match fit… so he can slam into the ABs!
25 Jan 2009, 07:15 am
#257 SpringbokSarah: What time r u leaving for Newlands?
25 Jan 2009, 07:16 am
#258 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Latest 14:00…
But if I could leave now I so would… but I don’t think they’ll let me in
25 Jan 2009, 07:19 am
#259 SpringbokSarah: Only another 7 hours to go……. Between FB and Keo u should be able to kill off that time quickly.
25 Jan 2009, 07:19 am
Hope the weather gets better…
25 Jan 2009, 07:21 am
#260 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Actually I have to go now…
Still need to shower, wash hair, dry hair, eat and get dressed…
I’m a girl… hair is already an hour…
But I’ll probably be back later…
Bye bye!
Support the Stormers today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
25 Jan 2009, 07:22 am
#262 SpringbokSarah: Ciao
I will
25 Jan 2009, 08:31 am
Congrats to SA
I think they have this one
25 Jan 2009, 08:38 am
SA need a total of 4 to win. Yes 4!
Game limited to 4 overs. NZ lost too many wickets and so ended on 3.
25 Jan 2009, 08:40 am
SA on 5 in the 2nd over. They will go for a 9 to give them some breathing space
25 Jan 2009, 08:42 am
#266 church – like chch but pronounceable:
Woops … I mean 11
25 Jan 2009, 08:48 am
Chris Harris good bowling but SA using the rules well. They have a huge lead. This one is all over red rover
25 Jan 2009, 09:07 am
Big win by SA congrats
25 Jan 2009, 09:24 am
Thanks Keo, yes the Sharks also played yesterday, a second string team won convincingly.
(The Sharks may not be province, but they still play rugby, you may have heard of them).
25 Jan 2009, 09:27 am
How well did earl rose play? It look’s like he will be able to hold his own in the s14. Look how **** percy was at 1st until he turned it around.
25 Jan 2009, 09:29 am
#271 Wezwp: ER will never to top rate, until he puts on 20 kgs and learns to tackle and not run away.
25 Jan 2009, 09:36 am
ER is the next naas botha! No1 told naas to put on more kg’s or to tackle like a demon but he is still a legend. I think earl is much better than naas defensively.
25 Jan 2009, 09:43 am
Fedderer is making a fine comeback!:-)
25 Jan 2009, 10:49 am
is the stomers/saracens game being televised?
and where is the thread about the sharks warm up? they are only the CC champs i suppose……………..
25 Jan 2009, 10:51 am
The Stormers beat the Bulls in a warm up game a couple of years back.
Later that same year the got an almighty hiding conceding more than 70 points.
Read into warm-up games what you want…
Anycase, I am off to Newlands later, notebook under the arm and will hopefully hold up – at the moment it is partly cloudy but mostly sunny and damn warm.
25 Jan 2009, 11:14 am
#275 rangerman:
I hope it is being televised. The NH teams are all sub-standard, The 2 teams I saw yesterday play a Heineke cup match were like CC teams, 2 levels down from Super teams.
If the Stormers do not thrash them by 50 points I will be dissapointed.
25 Jan 2009, 11:18 am
#270 goyougoodthing2:
LOL?
25 Jan 2009, 11:19 am
Game is not televised according to SuperRugby.
25 Jan 2009, 11:19 am
#273 Wezwp: Naas played in the 1980s, there is a slight difference in the size of players these days
25 Jan 2009, 11:25 am
#280 goyougoodthing2:
Just for you, I went into a forbidden site (the Sharks site) and found the Sharks match 22 that ate the Pumas.
Sharks Match 22, it looks like an experimental team.
15. Len Olivier
14. Lwazi Mvovo
13. Luzuko Vulindlu
12. Andries Strauss
11. Chris Jordaan
10. Monty Dumond
9. Charl McLeod
8. Warren Whiteley
7. Justin Downey
6. Skholiwe Ndlovu
5. Johan Snyman
4. Alistair Hargreaves
3. John Smit ( C )
2. Craig Burden
1. Melusi Mthethwa
Replacements
16. Frik Venter
17. Wiehahn Herbst
18. Steven Sykes
19. Nikolai Blignaut
20. Rory Kockott
21. Ruan Pienaar
22. Riaan Swanepoel
25 Jan 2009, 11:31 am
Wow! That’s impressive. The sharks outfit definitely looks the part .
25 Jan 2009, 11:32 am
just read that CJ V D Linde on way home and in negotiations with Bulls And Wp …come on Rassie…get him to sign on the dotted line!!!
25 Jan 2009, 11:33 am
Leaving for Newlands at 14.30….heeehaaaaaa!!!!!!
25 Jan 2009, 11:35 am
“Lions too strong for our B team”
Can one believe this rubbish appearing on the Bulls site? It makes me feel sick, they even go on to say that the Bulls won the second half 10-22. Newsflash we only really played for 40min. In the second half we played to avoid injury.
25 Jan 2009, 11:35 am
Hi Carol…Bath and Stormers to shape today…i am so excited about watching some rugby today…damn its been too long!
25 Jan 2009, 11:36 am
#285 RedLion roars again: great win by Lions…they will be the real deal this year…Willem Alberts will come through…watch out Kankowski and Spies!!
25 Jan 2009, 11:38 am
If the Stormers get C J V D Linde we just a class lock away from being real super 14 challengers!!
25 Jan 2009, 11:40 am
#287 grant10:
Does any WP muppit have a cell phone to post live scoring from Newlands. That would be great.
And what is the WP match 22?
25 Jan 2009, 11:58 am
#289 RedLion roars again: i am a bit technically challenged so although i am at game with cell not sure what to do boet? Team is percy…nagelavuki…chavanga….bobo …jean de villiers….grant…januarie…watson…duane vermeulen…francois louw…andries bekker…fondse…moller…s brits and mujati…only schalk burger missing out due to slight ankle issue…10 on bench..
25 Jan 2009, 12:08 pm
I’ll be at newlands! Just let the keo boys put on a post and i’ll do the live texting from newlands.
25 Jan 2009, 12:09 pm
#289 RedLion roars again:
Keo’s journo’s will be there.
As will I, so if they do not post anything I will look to post some comments during the game.
25 Jan 2009, 12:15 pm
i dont understand why a visiting team like saracens, boasting star players from around the world, would be in an untelevised game against one of our (allegedly) big unions?
mostly i am just irritated that i wont get to watch really.
and pissed off that the stupid aussies scheduled a one day game for a monday instead of a sunday.
who is in charge? who makes these decisions?
aargh!
25 Jan 2009, 12:32 pm
Well done the Lions and the Lions B Team.
A very good double. Well done to Loffies Louts.
It’s always good to see the underdog snap back.
25 Jan 2009, 12:36 pm
Barack Obama has become the most powerful man in the World, as president of the US………. Black.
Lewis Hamilton won the F1 championship on points in his second season………. Black
Tiger Woods is the best golfer in the world…………. Black
Will Smith is the highest paid actor in the World………….. Black
Now is a very good time to be black.
Michael Jackson must be kicking himself!
25 Jan 2009, 12:40 pm
Don’ forget the best wing in the world, bryan habana is black!
25 Jan 2009, 12:45 pm
#295 cane:
#296 Wezwp:
Funny you lads should mention this on a Lions thread
A union that seemingly stubbornly refuses to embrace diversity
Our most successfull teams are also our most diverse teams: Bulls,Sharks & Stormer
Lions seem to want to remain of similiar hue
Shall show them no support
May they get hammered 13-0 this year
25 Jan 2009, 12:48 pm
#295 cane:
25 Jan 2009, 12:51 pm
I assume you all will be supporting the Stormers today, right? Please? Pretty please?
25 Jan 2009, 12:52 pm
#296 Wezwp: He’s coloured isn’t he?
25 Jan 2009, 12:53 pm
JC, Ryan AND Simon are on… is something going on?
25 Jan 2009, 12:53 pm
#299 SpringbokSarah: yes, we will.
although they deserve to have me withhold my support as they arent broadcasting the game!
25 Jan 2009, 12:54 pm
#297 PdV The Head Coach:
And that was 13 matches
25 Jan 2009, 12:55 pm
#302 rangerman: I’ve got a spare ticket?
25 Jan 2009, 12:56 pm
#297 PdV The Head Coach:
My post was a Joke, PdV.
Anyway, it’s not really about what Team is the most Ethnically diverse, is it.
It’s about what Unions develop and expand the game, whenever and wherever possible. Reading between the lines here on Keo, I think this honour goes to Eastern Province.
25 Jan 2009, 12:59 pm
Now very quickly I better add………………………..Everyone of you Saffas out there, knows 110% more than I on this issue.
And it is Your issue, Not mine. Sorry for even commenting. 8)
25 Jan 2009, 12:59 pm
#295 cane: rofl
25 Jan 2009, 13:02 pm
Shame poor people who are going to the match…
25 Jan 2009, 13:05 pm
Look at the time!
See you at Newlands!
25 Jan 2009, 13:11 pm
can somebody please help out .did habana score a conversion or rather y id he kick the conversion
25 Jan 2009, 13:50 pm
#286 grant10: Have a great time at Newlands today….Look forward to the report back later
25 Jan 2009, 14:50 pm
well well well
25 Jan 2009, 14:52 pm
#230 yliad: Rory and RP are legends, don’t ever think they are not. Gonna come munch your glory boys on Valentine’s day. The WP can go home and cry to their boyfriends after the match
25 Jan 2009, 15:05 pm
#306 cane:
Aboriginals did very well in the Australian awards today also. That won’t please RugbyRulz
25 Jan 2009, 16:21 pm
#297 PdV The Head Coach:
Oh rubbish…the LIONS just do not have enough money to hold onto their black talent…which is a a high commodity due to the pro-black laws….
Ricky was developed from when he was 19 by the LIONS, Habana from when he was 19, Conrad from when he was in high school…Ash Willemse…Mujati…Thabang Molefe (but he just never delivered on his promise muhc like a Jorie Muller – both were players of their respective U21 World Champs)…
That is just to name a few….
And where are all of those players now!??! (Ok except for Ash who has returned…and I loe him for his loyalty…unlike the other asses)….
25 Jan 2009, 16:24 pm
#315 Hmmm:
I don’t even know why I typed to him…he clearly knows nothing of what he is talking about…
One of those sad people that think if they don’t have everything the other side is wrong….
I dislike them all (white apartheidt, black victimheidt, ALL)…
They all should get over themselves…
25 Jan 2009, 16:46 pm
Well…I’ll support the LIONS all the way….
25 Jan 2009, 16:46 pm
Good start and glad to see Willemse being able to take his chances…
25 Jan 2009, 16:51 pm
I guess it must be a JHB thing…
I am a LIONS and a Pirates supporter…
Neither have much of the “other” race (can’t believe I m saying this **** just because of “PVD The Head Coach”)…in actual fact the Pirates have 98% black company from player to tea lady to management…
But we still support each other…
25 Jan 2009, 18:48 pm
#281 RedLion roars again: Yep, pretty much playing around. Gonna turn out the big guns against the Bulls’ 2nd team. Well we hope. Not sure what the coaches get up to between them