Lions hammer bleak Bulls

The Lions caused a shock when they gave the Bulls a 44-21 hiding in their friendly at a packed Wits University.

The Bulls may have opted to field an understrength unit without Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez to name just two, but they would have expected to be competitive at the very least.

But the  Lions produced some stupendous rugby for this early in the season, scoring five first half tries, and seven in all, that entertained the 6 000 strong crowd.  

The key to the win was quick ball they won at rucks, as this afforded the backs the necessary platform to pressure the Bulls’ defensive line. The first four tries were all scored on the overlap due to the earlier sterling work at the breakdown.

Such was the Lions’ dominance that they would have earned the bonus point - had this been competition time – after 32 minutes. The fifth was possibly the best of the evening after a 20m break from captain Baywatch Grobbelaar sent Jaque Fourie over to make the score 34-0 heading into the shed.

Fourie also highlighted his importance to the team with his marshaling of the defence, which kept the Bulls scoreless for the first half. One such hit on fellow Bok Danie Rossouw where he drove him backwards was particularly memorable.

What would have also pleased Lions coach Loffie Eloff was the form of his recruited Bok wingers, Ashwin Willemse and Henno Mentz. Finishing has been a problem, but both grasped any opportunity that came their way and were also productive around the park.

The second half saw a number of  replacements on for both sides, and as a result the match deteriorated into a scrappy one. The Bulls managed to open their account five minutes into the second half with a try from replacement flank Deon Stegmann, but the Lions hit straight back.

Michael Killian, on for Willemse, charged down Burton Francis’s clearance and flopped on the ball to snuff out any hopes of an unlikely Bulls comeback.

The Lions have no more official friendlies and must wait three weeks until their Super 14 opener against the Cheetahs. Conversely for Frans Ludeke’s Bulls, they have two warm-ups where they will hope to gain some confidence.

Lions -  Tries: Ashwin Willemse, Henno Mentz, Gert Muller, Earl Rose, Jaque Fourie, Michael Killian, Jano Vermaak. Conversions: Rose (3). Penalty: Rose.

Bulls - Tries: Deon Stegmann, Bakkies Botha, Akona Ndungane. Conversions: Burton Francis (2), Bryan Habana.

* The Lions B team beat their Bulls counterparts 22-13 after leading 12-3 at half-time. Lions centre Walter Venter was a standout for the hosts.

By Grant Ball, in Johannesburg

320 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

Mossie is back – I imagine him breaking the line and beating the scambling defence to score a try from the 50m line :grin:

• 102.Mackie: Reply to this comment

When are the Stormers playing Sarries?

• 103.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

JA DIE S14 GAAN SIEK WEES KANI WAGI

• 104.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

50 point are on offer for the Lions. Who will bet against that from happening?

• 105.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

MORE 16.00 OF 17/00

• 106.alf: Reply to this comment

Tweede helfte gaan Loffie sy b span opsit, en Ludeke sy a span ?

• 107.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

WHO ME

• 108.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

#102 Mackie:

Tomorrow they will play against their victims. Right now it is the Lions who are spoiling Ludeke’s carefully planned warm up’s.

• 109.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

SPOON

• 110.yliad: Reply to this comment

#93 wooden spoon:

I’ve always rated Loffie, even when he does dumb things like playing Rose as pivot.. you got me all wrong I never wrote Loffie off, he has always had my respect, last year he got his balance wrong but his front row are awesome probably the best in the country, I’ve always rated Loffie, unlike some other whiter shade of pale palookas, who we’ll refrain from mentioning now.

• 111.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#109 KING JEEP: Ja, ek vra vir jou – hoekom SKREEU jy?

• 112.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

JA HULLE DOEN

• 113.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

SOZ beter

• 114.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#110 yliad: I must be mistaken. I thought you jumped on the bandwagon last year, when the topic was why PDV had never coached a S14 team.

Eloff has been at the Lions a while now – when will the “rebuilding” stop and the winning start? How much time would you give him if you were sitting in the GLRU?

• 115.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

tahs 17 reds 5

• 116.yliad: Reply to this comment

#114 wooden spoon:

It was JL1 that often talked Loffie down, I’ve always liked his style, they’ve been very thin for backup if they pick up injuries much like Cheetahs, but full strength they’ll give anyone a go, J.Pretorius might have made a big mistake crossing the Jukskei this year, much like W.Van Heerden before him.

• 117.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I’ve got to duck. Later.

• 118.yliad: Reply to this comment

6 tries to one so far and 5 of them by backline players and wings.. looks like Loffie’s got his story straight so far this time, long as they can just keep it pumping.

• 119.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Heeeeeeeee haaaaaaaaaa Bulls are on the score sheet !

Hehehhehe

See Stegmann is on… makes an immediate impact, that boytjie…

• 120.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#117 wooden spoon: Cheers Woody

• 121.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

15 Louis Ludik, 14 Ashwin Willemse, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Henno Mentz, 10 Earl Rose, 9 Jano Vermaak,

All of these players can play for the Boks tomorrow, except for Doppies no comment on Rose :lol:

The only players missing from the pack are Mostert and Ernst.

What a good looking team.

• 122.yliad: Reply to this comment

And looks like Walter Venter had a top notch game in the B team, so Lions looking A-Ok in the backs this year to go with their awesome front row and Willem Alberts and Jannes Labuschagne as rough rider second row and back row enforcers

• 123.KING JEEP: Reply to this comment

en andre

• 124.yliad: Reply to this comment

Nothing wrong with Doppies, he makes some nice little breaks inside, nice feed off to Jacque, and there is still Walter Venter off bench.. maybe even Rose will come of age this year too.

• 125.yliad: Reply to this comment

Andre can soak it up on the bench and come on last 30 minutes if necessary, that way save his brittle bode

• 126.yliad: Reply to this comment

Nog ‘n driekie, dryf daai spyker diep in die kus in boys. Ja!

• 127.yliad: Reply to this comment

Die Bulls span lyk my is op pad agteruit, iemand beter a noodhulp oproep aan Heyneke deursit gou gou.

• 128.alf: Reply to this comment

#126 yliad: Geluk, julle is eerste op die log … met ‘n bonuspunt ;-)

• 129.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

Come on Lions, one more converted try to the 50.

• 130.yliad: Reply to this comment

#128 alf:

Noggie… maar watch net

• 131.yliad: Reply to this comment

Pity its not a real game.. what counts… long as Loffie and the boys don’t go getting kop toe over this little rehearsal.

• 132.yliad: Reply to this comment

Bakkie kry n drie… bietjie laat ou maat.. koels al lankal deur die kerk die keer.

• 133.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

Sheez Bulls 2nd team is kak! Anyone know when the Sharks are playing?

• 134.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#121 RedLion roars again: Earl Rose over Pienaar? Bru what am have you been smoking?!

• 135.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Mmmmmm…….. look who scores for the Bulls……….. not the B-Team guys… the benchies…. who are actually A-Team guys….

And the Lions did not pull away after halftime… wonder why…. maybe because the Bulls started putting some better players on the pitch ??

Lions, don’t read anything into this win….. as I said before this game even started…. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 136.yliad: Reply to this comment

‘Ashwin shrugs off Habana hype’

Looks like maybe he was right after all… more hype than substance… looks like a whole lot of glory boys going to have to be doing some serious soul searching all over again… the laurels are long past available for resting on, time to put in some serious hard work for a change.. or get your *** whipped.

• 137.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#121 RedLion roars again: sorry but I fail to see how Willemse is better than JP unless ofcourse he’s got his speed back and can play as replacement for JP in case of injury.

• 138.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#134 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Sharks beat the lowly Pumas 19 / 7…. also with a B-Team.

There is a BIGGGGGGGGGGGG difference between Bulls & Sharks A and their respective B-Teams…..

Be verrrrrrrrry afraid of the Bulls and the Sharks… be verrrrrrrrrry afraid !

• 139.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#136 yliad: Is Habana playing today?

• 140.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

#135 grootblousmile:

We took it easy after that 1st half blitz no need risking injuries on B-team players :wink:

• 141.alf: Reply to this comment

#131 yliad: 28 Februarie is die ware jakob, dan speel die Leeus teen die A span, op Ellispark.

• 142.yliad: Reply to this comment

Apparently Sharks also sukkeled against the mighty Pumas, just scraped a win.

Bulls and Sharks will have to get some serious momentum going if they going to live up to all their pre season hype.

• 143.RedLion roars again: Reply to this comment

#137 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:

I am not saying that they must replace any of the current Boks, merely saying that they are Bok quality. :smile:

• 144.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#138 grootblousmile: Jeez that is poor, I hope there is a big big difference between Sharks A and B teams otherwise I’m going to be crying into my Castle! Well its only pre-season, all will be revealed on 14th Feb!

• 145.yliad: Reply to this comment

#141 alf:

Ja dis die ware Jakob, dan sien ons die ware verhaal.. tot dan, vandag was definitief 1-0 Leeus, en dis altyd lekker om te weet jy’s op pad voorentoe, nie agteruit nie.

• 146.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#144 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Bro…. your Black & White Team and my Blue Team will be right up there…. whaen it really matters !

Watch the Sharks demolish the Stormers on 14 Feb….. I predict it now already…

• 147.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Afternoon guys
    The last time I mentioned Lions were going to be competitive this year in super 14, I was told I was on Crack.
    Ok its pre season, but just look at their pack for starters

• 148.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Mmmmm final score 44 / 21…

….. so the Bulls won the 2nd half 21 / 10….

Interesting…….. indeed……..

• 149.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

We shouldnt get too excited. Wont be that easy against one of the better teams.

• 150.alf: Reply to this comment

Grant skryf in sy verslag: “The Lions caused a shock when they gave the Bulls 44-21 hiding in their friendly at a packed Wits University.”

Ja, ek stem saam, dit is vir almal ‘n groot skok as selfs die Leeus se A span die Bulle se B span klop … ;-)

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.