Lions hammer bleak Bulls
24 Jan 2009
The Lions caused a shock when they gave the Bulls a 44-21 hiding in their friendly at a packed Wits University.
The Bulls may have opted to field an understrength unit without Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez to name just two, but they would have expected to be competitive at the very least.
But the Lions produced some stupendous rugby for this early in the season, scoring five first half tries, and seven in all, that entertained the 6 000 strong crowd.
The key to the win was quick ball they won at rucks, as this afforded the backs the necessary platform to pressure the Bulls’ defensive line. The first four tries were all scored on the overlap due to the earlier sterling work at the breakdown.
Such was the Lions’ dominance that they would have earned the bonus point - had this been competition time – after 32 minutes. The fifth was possibly the best of the evening after a 20m break from captain Baywatch Grobbelaar sent Jaque Fourie over to make the score 34-0 heading into the shed.
Fourie also highlighted his importance to the team with his marshaling of the defence, which kept the Bulls scoreless for the first half. One such hit on fellow Bok Danie Rossouw where he drove him backwards was particularly memorable.
What would have also pleased Lions coach Loffie Eloff was the form of his recruited Bok wingers, Ashwin Willemse and Henno Mentz. Finishing has been a problem, but both grasped any opportunity that came their way and were also productive around the park.
The second half saw a number of replacements on for both sides, and as a result the match deteriorated into a scrappy one. The Bulls managed to open their account five minutes into the second half with a try from replacement flank Deon Stegmann, but the Lions hit straight back.
Michael Killian, on for Willemse, charged down Burton Francis’s clearance and flopped on the ball to snuff out any hopes of an unlikely Bulls comeback.
The Lions have no more official friendlies and must wait three weeks until their Super 14 opener against the Cheetahs. Conversely for Frans Ludeke’s Bulls, they have two warm-ups where they will hope to gain some confidence.
Lions - Tries: Ashwin Willemse, Henno Mentz, Gert Muller, Earl Rose, Jaque Fourie, Michael Killian, Jano Vermaak. Conversions: Rose (3). Penalty: Rose.
Bulls - Tries: Deon Stegmann, Bakkies Botha, Akona Ndungane. Conversions: Burton Francis (2), Bryan Habana.
* The Lions B team beat their Bulls counterparts 22-13 after leading 12-3 at half-time. Lions centre Walter Venter was a standout for the hosts.
By Grant Ball, in Johannesburg

320 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All
24 Jan 2009, 21:43 pm
Grant you are the best writer on Keo.co.za
And as for my beautiful Lions beating 2 Bulls teams in one day! What a great show.
Now I am getting too carried away but look at the scoreboard. To have 7 different players scoring tries – WOW. This team is a try scoring team and there is no denying that. Ok they say it was a Bull b team. Fine add 20 point to the Bulls scorecard and then you get an idea as to what the Lions would have done to the A-team Bully boys.
And folks don’t forget we took released our grip around their throats in the second half.
24 Jan 2009, 21:44 pm
#146 grootblousmile: I hope you’re right boet, I really do
24 Jan 2009, 21:45 pm
#147 CoachPete:
Their pack is awesome, especially their front row will give all comers a hiding with Alberts at back and Labuschagne in the engine room, they got some muscle up front, and they got a decent well balanced 3/4 backline now too, so this year anything is possible..
These Nulletjies and Sharkies gonna see their gatte, and 14th Feb Valentines day is first wakey wakey call for the great white Guppies.
Hey there GBS K9 Soda, skoppie and others
#152 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: I’m telling you bro……. you can morgage the house on it…. hahaha
24 Jan 2009, 21:46 pm
#153 yliad:
I agree skoppie And it all starts with a solid pack.
I am not easily moved by pre-seasonal fixtures. Besides, the Bulls did not have their backline, nor their tight 5 on the field. There is a 50 point difference between the top side and this side. Good win for the Lions though.
#145 yliad: Stem saam, dit is goed vir die Leeus om op hierdie wennoot begin, al was dit nie teen die Bulle se A-span nie.
Die Bulle moet nou volgende week ‘n goeie en oortuigende wen behaal, wat nie maklik gaan wees nie, anders gaan daar so bietjie twyfel begin inkruip.
24 Jan 2009, 21:47 pm
Mortgage away if you ready to lose your boots
#136 yliad: To be fair haven’t the Lions fielded a near full strength team as opposed to a Bulls B team? Wasn’t it always going to be in favour of the Lions?
Also am I hallucinating or does the score card say that Habana kicked a conversion?!
#154 CoachPete: Hey coachie…
Been a nice relaxing day this side……
24 Jan 2009, 21:48 pm
“One such hit on fellow Bok Danie Rossouw where he drive him backwards was particularly memorable.”
Grant Ball
24 Jan 2009, 21:49 pm
#157 mosselbaaibul:
True, but its a much Lions squad.
Plus keep and eye on the yankee Clever
#154 CoachPete: Howzit Coach
Well it is early days but the Lions did what they had to do. Sat back the second half. No need to risk injuries. Lets hope they can build on this.
So, since the Bulls bench came on at half time, the score reads 21-10 to the Bulls.
#153 yliad: don’t get too cocky boet, the Stormers may also be in for a big surprise on the 14th! Sharks tight 5 is far better and it will be interesting to see how they cope Deysel rumbling up the midfield!
24 Jan 2009, 21:50 pm
#161 grootblousmile:
Hey there, noon here, just watched ospreys game
24 Jan 2009, 21:51 pm
#157 mosselbaaibul: Now you’re talking…. compare this Bulls B-Team man for man against the Bulls A-Team and it’s clear that there’s more than 50 points difference in the A and B teams.
Maar laat hulle vals hoop kry…. en laat die Bulls skouer aan die wiel sit…. dis reg so….
24 Jan 2009, 21:51 pm
#158 alf:
Ja dis die ding, sielkundigend is dit hoog noordsaaklik dat die Bulle hul sokkies nou heeltemaal oplig volgende week.
24 Jan 2009, 21:52 pm
#166 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Loins tight five are better than stormers tight five, looses forwards maybe even.
yes sharks are the team to beat
24 Jan 2009, 21:54 pm
OK boys, I’m outa here………..
Gooooooooooiiiiiiii Mielieeesssssssssss
24 Jan 2009, 21:54 pm
#171 grootblousmile:
24 Jan 2009, 21:55 pm
Ek sien loffie beplan nie enige verdere opwarmingswedstryde nie, terwyl al die ander SA spanne nog 2 opwarmwedstryde het.
Wonder wie is die slimste ?
24 Jan 2009, 21:56 pm
#160 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Maybe Habana should go to 15.. cos he’s not all that good at 11 no more.
#166 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Sharks going to get their first comeuppance on Feb 14th, and watch our loosies annihilate your lot, Deysel and all .. (who should have stayed put at the Lions then the Lions would have been the form team with Deysel, Grobbelaar, and Alberts together.)
24 Jan 2009, 21:57 pm
#154 CoachPete: Please let this continue. Great example of how a front row makes the difference in a team.
I also think it’s better to have a full warm up schedule. Whilst it’s a long haul, a fast start helps at the end, especially when your depth is limited.
#170 CoachPete: Sorry boet Stormers have a tight 2.
#173 alf:
Not sure there, extra friendly games can help, however you run the risks of injuries to key players
24 Jan 2009, 21:58 pm
#173 alf: Alf see my comment at 175.
24 Jan 2009, 21:58 pm
#176 SodaJoe:
sorry my mistake Hows the weather there still minus 50 degrees ?
24 Jan 2009, 22:00 pm
#173 alf:
Loffie is op pad, hy lees die prent reg
Dink die Bulle se groot probleem is motivering. Hulle het die spelers en die trofee (2007), maar niemand om hul weer te motiveer nie. Meyer kom terug !
#174 yliad:
Maybe 13 too?
#179 CoachPete: Pete I am gatvol. No let up right now. But Leeds and Lions had good wins so I am in a good mood.
Geez boet – Leeds & Lions – what did I do to deserve that?
24 Jan 2009, 22:02 pm
#183 SodaJoe:
Leeds soccer ?
24 Jan 2009, 22:02 pm
#180 yliad: He has a pack. And you know my feelings about that. Flyhalf is major weakness, but Fourie is becoming a real leader it would seem.
Disagree on Sharkies – I suspect they are going to be bliksem difficult to beat. Where do you think they are weak?
24 Jan 2009, 22:03 pm
#184 CoachPete: Si/Oui/Yebo
24 Jan 2009, 22:04 pm
#181 alf: Early days Alf. Don’t worry. But I think that they need more games. Meyer’s gone.
#182 CoachPete:
Yip good call, he’s lost his touch at 11 gets beat too often and over shoots his defense.. used to be a intercept merchant when playing for Jake and when he still possessed a lot of speed… too much of the good life and all those commercials softened him up good.
#185 SodaJoe:
Agreed to all of that except i feel maybe a few years behind Rose may have helped, and he maybe better this year
24 Jan 2009, 22:06 pm
#188 yliad:
yes 100% right about the intercepts May see a lot more ball at 13 next to an improved meisiekind
24 Jan 2009, 22:07 pm
Sharks have a balanced Team and some serious extra depth…. no glaring weaknesses…
The Stormers have a tight 2 in stead of a tight 5, no decent tight 5 backup whatsoever. In addition they have good loosies but no real “out and out” Fetcher. Also Stormers are very thin on Fly Half and one wing… and their overall Squad Depth is shocking !
Watch the Sharks doooooooooo the Stormers on 14 Feb……….. **** my lied !
24 Jan 2009, 22:07 pm
#189 CoachPete: I can only hope. If Earl steps up no one will be happier than me. But he seems to be a journeyman to me. He has quick hands, a reasonable boot, but head down or eyes wide open & slow is an image I have that’s hard to shake.
24 Jan 2009, 22:09 pm
#185 SodaJoe:
Ja I’m just pulling the rug a bit before they get too high n mighty c’ck sure, with Plumtree in the driving seat Sharks are the professional outfit to beat, but they still play a very predictable game and long as Stormers front 3 can hold theirs I reckon we can surely surprise them right off their preconceived dot.
#192 SodaJoe:
And better decision making too.
#190 CoachPete: No one’s going to move Habana from 11 you know that. But I was hoping his loss of form at the end of last year was temporary.
I wouldn’t be reading too much in to a friendly game.
The Lions will gain confidence, Bulls will see it as a meaningless exercise.
24 Jan 2009, 22:10 pm
#192 SodaJoe:
I am not a huge rose fan however with guys like fourie around him and him possibly maturing as a player, he could improve big time
24 Jan 2009, 22:11 pm
#195 SodaJoe:
Yeah, you are possibly right there.
24 Jan 2009, 22:11 pm
Grant is going to whip young Pienaar into shape, and Stormers back 3 will hammer Sharks loosies stukkend, just like they did last year, Watson included.
Sharks just like Bulls are all just big hype, next is the real deal, hype time will soon be over.
24 Jan 2009, 22:12 pm
#193 yliad: Skops I just don’t get Rassie’s lack of building a front row. Everything else is in place. Could be a surprise team, but no front row no mashed potatoes (let alone gravy).
24 Jan 2009, 22:13 pm
#198 yliad: Na boet. Pienaar is going to be an all time great.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All