Bulls aim to get physical

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke says his side need to improve exponentially if they are to win a “momentum generating” warm-up match against the Cheetahs on Friday.

The Bulls slumped to a 44-21 defeat to the Lions on Saturday, although admittedly having fielded a relatively inexperienced side. The Lions dominated most facets of play, particularly the collisions and breakdown, the latter an area the Cheetahs are highly effective in.

While he was reluctant to discuss the details of his squad for the match at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane, Ludeke confirmed that they would field a side consisting of the majority of their Springboks. This should aid their desire to improve in the areas identified as a concern.

“We were not competitive in the collisions or at the breakdown and that needs to improve,” Ludeke told keo.co.za. “That forced us to scramble in defence often which wasn’t ideal. It was a real wake up call for us and we’ll have to make big progress in those areas or risk the Cheetahs exposing us again.”

Ludeke added that while he was disappointed in the result he was pleased that some fringe players had a decent hit out and that he had a better idea about the capabilities of certain if those players against quality opposition.

There is however concern about the fitness of prop Rayno Gerber, who’ll is set to be sidelined for two to weeks with a groin injury. Jaco Engels and Pedrie Wannenberg will be out for between seven and 10 days with what Ludeke described as “soft tissue injuries”.

“I’m not going to pretend that the result is of no importance for us,” Ludeke said when asked about his goals for the match.

“Winning is important to any coach and I’m no different. We’re looking for the overall result and that will come from getting results in facets of play like the collisions and breakdown. In warm-up matches getting your execution spot on is key. We’ll be looking to achieve those things and generate some momentum ahead of the opener against the Reds.”

492 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 151.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#146 grootblousmile: why? Didn’t do anything wrong

#147 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Oh come on you were so asking for it! ;-)

• 152.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#150 JimT: Hehehe… my enforcers / hitmen will do it…….. capische !!

• 153.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#148 JimT: Yes… I’m gonna need to see a Shrink…

• 154.SA Barbarians: Reply to this comment

a knee capping ….. could have been much more sinister than that

• 155.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#153 SpringbokSarah: Don’t go see a shrink, they usually need a shrink more than their own patients…

• 156.JimT: Reply to this comment

#152 grootblousmile: Let me adroitly switch subjects out of a sense of self preservation. I have a technical question GBS.

• 157.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#156 JimT: Yes my dear foreign man… fire away !

• 158.JimT: Reply to this comment

#153 SpringbokSarah: Don’t blame me. It’s those perverts on the Lions management team that your father & shrink should be pursuing. I just report the facts m’aam. just the facts :-(

• 159.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#149 grootblousmile: Baie selfvertroue gekry. Weet nie hoekom nie. Nie as ek **** hoe haar spannetjie gespeel het nie.

• 160.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#155 grootblousmile: well then I’m screwed…

• 161.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#159 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Nee, sy is sommer lelik met ons…. dink sy moet terug Dubai toe… daar was sy vriendeliker met ons….

• 162.JimT: Reply to this comment

#152 grootblousmile: With all due respect I believe the professional term is no longer the “hitman” but rather the “mechanic” capische? :-)

• 163.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#160 SpringbokSarah: Oi, “screwed” is such an ugly word….

• 164.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#161 grootblousmile: Maar eks nou deurmekaar. Sys 15 maar ekt gedog sys nou std 6 toe. Jy sê std 8?

• 165.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#158 JimT: ma’am? I’m half you age… want me to call you Sir?

• 166.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#162 JimT: Are you telling me how I should run my Organisation / Family…. aw well, I’ll call them “Pest Control”

• 167.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#161 grootblousmile & #164 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Hey hey, I’m still here people!

What you said was bad. Like really really bad. And it hurt. It really really hurt

#163 grootblousmile: sorry… in huge trouble then…

• 168.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#165 SpringbokSarah: Your maths suck… try a quarter… and you’ll still be light on years…..

• 169.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#168 grootblousmile: gg… didn’t think JimT was old…

• 170.Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Reply to this comment

Middag manne en mannene. Hoop alles gaan voor die wind daar by julle. Hier is die knaterkrimpend koud.

• 171.JimT: Reply to this comment

#157 grootblousmile: GBS my notebook has been crashing of late. At first the system would just lose power, zilch, nada. I suspected that the infernal machine was over heating. Note that I had removed the battery because it was no longer retaining its charge. Maybe these two events are related?
    More recently I’ve been experiencing an error message Windows Display not operating normally & the fonts become huge on the display. I can continue to process for a few minutes & then the system dies on me. Somwhere in the process I get a message “atidvag” stopped working normally with a suggestion to obtain a new device driver for the video card.
    Questions: is the overheating related to the windows display problem? Where/how does one find a new ati driver?

• 172.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#170 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Gmpffffff, knaterkrimpend seg jy…….. kling onaangenaam !

Janee, dit gaan darem klopdisselboom !

• 173.JimT: Reply to this comment

#154 SA Barbarians: You mean to say he’s going to let me off lightly? :-)

• 174.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#167 SpringbokSarah: Hehe…how would u know.#170 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Howzit Ed……..glad to see another LION here!!!!!

• 175.JimT: Reply to this comment

#165 SpringbokSarah: I’m mature enough to handle an older woman, a question that StormerGirl posed the other day :-)

• 176.Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Reply to this comment

#172 grootblousmile: Bly om te **** dit gaan so lekker daar. Ons verwag weer so tussen 8 en 12 duim sneeu in die oggend ure. Lekker man. Start die kar, en dan vat dit jou so 20 minute om al die sneeu van die kar af te kry, daarna is alles seer, blou en gekrimp.

• 177.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#174 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: how would I know what exactly?

• 178.Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Reply to this comment

#174 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Ek loer kort kort in om te kyk of julle ok is. Ek sien net gister hoe was gesê sommige van julle het nie lewens nie. Julle is altyd op Keo. Gelukkig het ek gesien wie die bron van die informasie was, toe lag ek net lekker en begin weer werk.

• 179.JimT: Reply to this comment

#166 grootblousmile: Your family business is your family business. I’m not aquainted with the customs of the local South African branch of “our thing” :-)

• 180.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#175 JimT: TMI

• 181.SA Barbarians: Reply to this comment

#173 JimT: yea he’s actually a good oke .. get your timing right and you could get away with a few fingers maybe

• 182.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#171 JimT: Brother, it sounds indeed as if you’ve got an overheating problem…. is the fan inside, which keeps the CPU cold functional (can you feel heated air coming out) ?

The ATI Card in Notebooks is part of the motherboard…. so if the system fails, the Display card will necessesarily also fail… Usually the Graphics card uses “Shared Ram” ie it uses system Ram…

What Name, make and Model Notebook do you have… and what Operating System do you use….. there are tools (softs) I could Mail, depending on the system which could tell you more about your system health….

• 183.JimT: Reply to this comment

#168 grootblousmile: #169 SpringbokSarah: I take umbrage at these dispersions & innuendos about my age :-(

• 184.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#177 SpringbokSarah: What me and GBS had been saying ;)

• 185.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

I suggest call some microsoft helpdesk personell.

• 186.JimT: Reply to this comment

#169 SpringbokSarah: Correct thinking on your part my dear :-)

• 187.JimT: Reply to this comment

#180 SpringbokSarah: Huh? Please clarify. Is this an elderly person’s term? :-)

• 188.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#185 Wezwp: And what exactly is that going to help JimT………. it is a hardware issue…. with Software warnings of the hardware issue !

• 189.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#183 JimT: I thought you were like 30 max

#184 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: I understand Afrikaans… just please don’t ask me to write anything

• 190.JimT: Reply to this comment

#181 SA Barbarians: You have me checking my hands already with that remark. Everything still intact at this point :-)

• 191.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#186 JimT: yay!

#187 JimT: Too Much Info

• 192.Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Reply to this comment

Totsiens mense, chat weer later.

• 193.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#192 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: bye bye

• 194.JimT: Reply to this comment

#182 grootblousmile: Its a Toshiba Satellite A60/65 series. Windows XP. You think I should stick the battery back in for now, even though it does not retain it’s charge, until I buy another battery?

• 195.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#192 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Cheers… goooi koue mieliessssssssssss

• 196.JimT: Reply to this comment

#188 grootblousmile: That’s what I suspect. You seemed to have confirmed that.

• 197.JimT: Reply to this comment

#189 SpringbokSarah: You’re close enough, I’ll take it. he, he :-)

• 198.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#192 Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Ciao Ed!

• 199.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#194 JimT: Yeah, you should stick the battery back…

I know the Toshiba Satellite A60/65 Series…. glad you’re still running XP… hell bro, you dont use Skype or one of these other direct “chat” type of Applications ?

We might be busy a while to get to the root of the problem… this would not be the correct forum to address it….

PS ! Ask Carol for my mail addie… so we can exchange mail…

• 200.JimT: Reply to this comment

#191 SpringbokSarah: I see, will have to remember that. In our younger circles we are not familiar with that term :-)

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.