Bulls aim to get physical
27 Jan 2009
Bulls coach Frans Ludeke says his side need to improve exponentially if they are to win a “momentum generating” warm-up match against the Cheetahs on Friday.
The Bulls slumped to a 44-21 defeat to the Lions on Saturday, although admittedly having fielded a relatively inexperienced side. The Lions dominated most facets of play, particularly the collisions and breakdown, the latter an area the Cheetahs are highly effective in.
While he was reluctant to discuss the details of his squad for the match at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane, Ludeke confirmed that they would field a side consisting of the majority of their Springboks. This should aid their desire to improve in the areas identified as a concern.
“We were not competitive in the collisions or at the breakdown and that needs to improve,” Ludeke told keo.co.za. “That forced us to scramble in defence often which wasn’t ideal. It was a real wake up call for us and we’ll have to make big progress in those areas or risk the Cheetahs exposing us again.”
Ludeke added that while he was disappointed in the result he was pleased that some fringe players had a decent hit out and that he had a better idea about the capabilities of certain if those players against quality opposition.
There is however concern about the fitness of prop Rayno Gerber, who’ll is set to be sidelined for two to weeks with a groin injury. Jaco Engels and Pedrie Wannenberg will be out for between seven and 10 days with what Ludeke described as “soft tissue injuries”.
“I’m not going to pretend that the result is of no importance for us,” Ludeke said when asked about his goals for the match.
“Winning is important to any coach and I’m no different. We’re looking for the overall result and that will come from getting results in facets of play like the collisions and breakdown. In warm-up matches getting your execution spot on is key. We’ll be looking to achieve those things and generate some momentum ahead of the opener against the Reds.”

492 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
27 Jan 2009, 18:29 pm
#197 JimT: how far am I off?
27 Jan 2009, 18:29 pm
#199 grootblousmile: Good course of action. will do that for now. Right, I do not trust Vista at this point too many bad reports from what I’ve seen. No have not tried Skype. Keep saying I should look into it but keep forgetting. I will check with Carol for your mail addie. But to avoid tying up your time GBS let me first buy a new battery & see if the problem goes away. Appreciate your sage advice & help on this matter. Btw it seems to take about 4-5 hours with Notebook online before this problem materialises, which again suggests an overheating problem.
27 Jan 2009, 18:30 pm
I got the pics of me at Newlands!
I’m saving that as my wallpaper!
27 Jan 2009, 18:32 pm
# SpringbokSarah: If I told you I would have to kill you
Besides the rules of the Witness Protection Program prohibit me from revealing personal information
27 Jan 2009, 18:33 pm
#204 JimT: rofl
27 Jan 2009, 18:34 pm
#203 SpringbokSarah: I noted your report the other day. Apart from the fact that you appeared to be tongue tied upon meeting Conrad it must have been fun for you
27 Jan 2009, 18:35 pm
#202 JimT: Rumors are flying that Microsoft is officially going to announce and stop supporting XP as at end Jan 2009….. so although I don’t fancy Vista either it is going to be the only “Flagship” Operating System for normal use….
A battery for that model should’nt cost you more than 150 USD… but I doubt that this will solve your problems…
Do yourself the favour, when the Notebook is OFF, turn it over on it’s back and using Jewellers Star screw driver, open the back… carefully noting where the different screws go…. till you get to the CPU Fan…. blow it out and test to see if it runs easily….
27 Jan 2009, 18:35 pm
#206 JimT: Insanely fun!
27 Jan 2009, 18:39 pm
Something odd is happening with my fb
27 Jan 2009, 18:42 pm
Province…
27 Jan 2009, 18:44 pm
#210 wp_boytjie: YAY!
27 Jan 2009, 18:46 pm
#210 wp_boytjie: Lions….#211 SpringbokSarah:
27 Jan 2009, 18:47 pm
even rassie
has turned into a
poofter
in the cape
the
brokeback mountain
coach
27 Jan 2009, 18:47 pm
#212 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
We’re 2 weeks away from D-day… the lines are drawn… you can feel it in the air
27 Jan 2009, 18:48 pm
Miaaauuwww
27 Jan 2009, 18:49 pm
#213 Porra: jys n bladdy poofter man
#207 grootblousmile: Yeah I keep reading that but I think too many users are still committed to XP for that decision to stick. But you never know, Jan 2009 is awfully close.
Will try your suggestion & make sure that Notebook is OFF first (he,he). Makes sense to try that before investing in new battery. Notebook is exactly 4 years old this month, which I suppose these days is getting long-in-the-tooth for these devices. Not opposed to buying a new machine but it’s a pain transferring all the applications & data to a new Notebook
#214 SpringbokSarah: Valentyns day?#203 SpringbokSarah: Putting them on FB?
27 Jan 2009, 18:50 pm
#213 Porra: Hehehehe Porra!!!!
27 Jan 2009, 18:50 pm
#215 wp_boytjie: Roar!!!
27 Jan 2009, 18:52 pm
Naand K9
27 Jan 2009, 18:52 pm
#213 Porra:
Rassie has a vission
Rugby is his forte
He’s on a mission
Nothing will get in his way
27 Jan 2009, 18:53 pm
#221 Karen: Halloooooo….Karrrrrrrren!!!!!
Neeeee….another Stormer!!!!!
27 Jan 2009, 18:53 pm
#222 SpringbokSarah: Nothing rhymes with “way”
27 Jan 2009, 18:54 pm
Only checkin now you lions have the bulls , cheetahs and sharks for your first 3 games…. met eish ja!
#218 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Valentines Day has been cancelled due to the S14… didn’t you get the memo?
Yip… taking ages though
#223 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Hahaha nog ‘n Leeu – het jy toe vir jou daai T-shirt georder
27 Jan 2009, 18:55 pm
#224 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: forte is pronounced for-tay (French origins)
27 Jan 2009, 18:56 pm
#225 wp_boytjie: The Sharks should be a tough one.
Which team did Jorrie Muller play for ?
#225 wp_boytjie: man every team is a problem for them
27 Jan 2009, 18:57 pm
#229 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: The Stormers are going to win that game
27 Jan 2009, 18:57 pm
#229 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Bakkies isn’t just gonna pitch up at Ellis Park either …. hehehe
27 Jan 2009, 18:58 pm
#227 Karen: Nee maar ek gaan!!!!#228 SpringbokSarah: #228 SpringbokSarah: Ja ja okaaaayyyyy
27 Jan 2009, 18:58 pm
#232 Karen: Hope so!
Only 3 teams I’m worried about: Saders, Sharks and Hurricanes
27 Jan 2009, 18:59 pm
#217 JimT: In computer terms, your Notebook came out with Noah and the Ark….
In SA, our SARS (South African Receiver of Revenue) – ie The horrible Tax Man allows us to depreciate computer equipment for business use to ZERO value over 2 and a half years, meaning that they accept that any form of PC has a 2 and a half years life span….. and they are bloody conservative…..
Check in your folders if you cannot perhaps find Noah’s list of animals, as they entered the ARK…..
If you were close I could transfer all info and Applications for you… ask K9 and a host here…. I’ve done it for them….
#232 Karen: Karen u r missing the point…refer to the comment I replied on.
#234 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Sarah and her poems
27 Jan 2009, 19:00 pm
#230 wp_boytjie: Jorrie is a Bok legend
27 Jan 2009, 19:00 pm
Who does Schalk Burger play for ?
27 Jan 2009, 19:01 pm
#235 SpringbokSarah: Rassie is worried about 13 teams
#237 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Well the Lions should win as well
#240 wp_boytjie: SSSSSSTTTTTTOOOOOORRRRRMMMMMEEEEERRRRRRSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
27 Jan 2009, 19:02 pm
#229 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Very tough. Hello K9, gbs, Sarah and everyone.
#244 Puma: Naaaaaaaaaaaand Soutie, jou bliksem !
#235 SpringbokSarah: Well I think everyone is thinking that it is going to be a walk in the park for the Stormers but I believe we can win that game.
#241 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: You’re right… he and Jean will kill me… every week they need to tell us how nervous they are… Jean gets so nervous he gets sick!
27 Jan 2009, 19:03 pm
Rassie tunes his disco lights
hes got the wooden spoon in his sights
what is he gonna do about his light five?
to keep their hopes alive.
27 Jan 2009, 19:03 pm
#246 Karen: Sorry Sarah – walk in the park for the Sharks – typo error
27 Jan 2009, 19:04 pm
#245 grootblousmile: lol. Howzit gbs. See you giving some intructions to JimT and his computer. Hope it gets sorted.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All