Canterbury closes shop
27 Jan 2009
Springbok kit sponsor Canterbury South Africa has applied for voluntary liquidation.
The clothing manufacturer has sponsored the Boks since 2004 and is currently working on the new Bok jersey that will feature the King Protea on the left-hand side. Canterbury also sponsors the Cheetahs and Lions Super 14 teams, as well as all six of SA’s cricket franchises.
SA Rugby MD Andy Marinos said that news of Canterbury’s demise had come as a great shock to the organisation, but that they had been assured that their kit requirements would be met.
“We have had discussions with Iqbal Khan – senior executive of Brimstone, the owners of Canterbury South Africa – to get some clarity on the impact this is likely to have on SA Rugby,” said Marinos in a statement on Tuesday.
“Mr Khan told us that they are in discussions with Canterbury International and he confirmed that they will be able to supply Springbok kit.
“We are now awaiting the outcome of a Canterbury International board meeting that is scheduled for Wednesday.”

86 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
28 Jan 2009, 03:35 am
#28 wooden spoon: #46 Pietman:
Ooops, sorry, I now see spooner has already reported this.
28 Jan 2009, 04:38 am
Just thought I’d let you all know that one of our Kiwi bloggers, Patrick, passed away yesterday, so PissAnt informs me.
Some of you old keolings might remember him, used to sign each of his posts with ‘Patrick’ at the end.
Hardnosed and ardent Kiwi supporter he was.
RIP old timer.
28 Jan 2009, 05:03 am
Other Sport
‘Draconian’ sport plans canned
2009-01-27 23:36
Email | Print
Makhenkesi Stofile
Pieter du Toit
Cape Town. – Proposed sports regulations that would make the minister of sport an almighty selector were withdrawn on Tuesday night.
The regulations would effectively have given Makhenkesi Stofile the power to prescribe who should play flyhalf for the Springboks or open the bowling for the Proteas.
It also appears that the government wanted to regulate the selling of replica jerseys and other supporters’ clothing. That would have led to the loss of millions of rands for sports governing bodies.
The regulations were delivered quietly at sports federations shortly before Christmas and the deadline for comment was shortly after the festive period. It was published as a supplement to the existing law on sport and recreation.
However, a highly-placed source informed Beeld on Tuesday night that the regulations were set to be withdrawn. They are apparently not legal.
According to the regulations a national colours board, which would have been appointed by the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee, would have decided over the awarding of national colours.
It would have taken punitive measures against federations that ignore the regulations and even withdraw recognition, for example in a case where a foreigner plays in the country without the minister’s permission.
Sporting federations would have to select squads 30 days before a tournament, after which the board would decide on the awarding of national colours.
The minister would have the right to recall any decision by the colours board. He would basically decide who runs onto the field.
An apparent contradictory clause said the board would not be allowed to interfere in team selection, but there would have to be motivation for why certain players are picked.
“It’s totally unacceptable for rugby. We won’t leave it there,” Saru president Oregan Hoskins said Tuesday.
“I gave up my right to change teams long ago so that the final decision rests with the coach. Now the government can decide who plays or not?”
Deputy minister of sport Gert Oosthuizen denied the aim was to interfere in sport.
“We just want to prevent someone that runs onto a rugby field for a second from getting national colours … that is not interfering,” he said.
28 Jan 2009, 05:37 am
Last sentence says it all…since when is that government business, Gert?
Gert is really bored in that job it seems.
Who is this guy, anyway?
28 Jan 2009, 05:54 am
#53 Pietman:
Just another gravy-trainer… one of many bringing the country down…
28 Jan 2009, 06:00 am
#54 money_man:
Who are these people?
Gert, Frolick, Dugmore etc….never heard of them in a rugby context before.
You mean to tell me they actually have meetings, seminars, consultations and such, only to come up with this nonsense afterwards?
Waste of time and money, if you asked me.
Bloody ****** parade, that’s all it is.
That last sentence of Gert’s statement in # 52 is a motion of no confidence in Peter de Villiers, is it not?
28 Jan 2009, 06:20 am
#55 Pietman:
Add Stofile, Yeye etc etc … all failed miserably in running other Govt dept’s/ entities only to be rewarded with new ones by their ANC ‘comrades’… banana’s anyone?
28 Jan 2009, 06:24 am
#56 money_man:
It’s ironic all these numnut failures get passed into one of RSA’s most successful products ie sport- particularly rugby and cricket…
Irony… or intent… methinks the latter!
28 Jan 2009, 06:43 am
#57 money_man:
And then they mess it up, once you give them a shot at it.
Not one example of where they really did ANYTHING worthwhile but to divide the nation.
Hope COPE sort this bunch out soon…
Btw, where has been Einstein Komphela been hiding lately?
28 Jan 2009, 06:48 am
#58 Pietman:
Ominously silent isn’t he at the moment… perhaps the numnuts at the top are realising that COPE has arisen out of their persistence with the incompetent gravy-trainers… then again…
Anyways too hot here in Melbourne to be on the computer (43 degrees)… knocking off to the pool… cheers Pietman…
28 Jan 2009, 06:50 am
#59 money_man:
Cheers, I saw that, how those people can play tennis in that weather I don’t know, I’d die right there on court.
28 Jan 2009, 06:51 am
#55 Pietman:
More Pietman
Dugmore is die etter wateers die Wes Kaapse MEC vir onderwys was. Hy is die een wat gefaal het in sy poging om Afrikaanse skole te forseer om onderig in Engels te gee. Terwyl hy met hofsake teen die skole besig was, moes ‘n horde stywe krulkoppies in ”limbo” sit in een of ander pre-fab klaskamer.
Oosthuizen klink soos Kortbroek, seker oorgeloop van die ou NNP na die ANC om sy werk te verseker.
Frolick, wel ons weet hy is die kleurlinge se Julius Malema.
28 Jan 2009, 06:57 am
#61 Xkreni-WP:
Ja, ek **** hy kom van Gansbaai af, blykbaar onlangs daar gesien by een of ander begrafnis van perlemoenstroper.
Ek is volgende week daar, sal ek bietjie ‘recce’.
Sien jou later mater, ek moet vinnig my goete doen dat ek kan maak soos rokkof by die kantoor oormore.
Cheers.
28 Jan 2009, 07:08 am
#45 Pietman:
That is cool.Hope you flight plans work out well.
Min 12 sounds a bit chilly! Here it is already 20 degrees in the Waterfront at 06h45. When I left Dville 30 minutes ago it was 16 deg.there. South easter is pumping already but it could be a blessing in disguise.
I hope your system can still handle the heat. It seems as if we are heading for serious heat in Feb in the WC.
I am not 100% sure to which Grant you referred?
28 Jan 2009, 07:18 am
Short night, was it?
GrantB, the one I am hopefully having a beer with on the 14th.
C’mon over, you’r emost welcome.
Should be a cultural experience as well, most of the members of ‘Keo KKK’ (Klapmuts Kultuur Klub) will be there, hehehe!
Gotta run.
Laters.
28 Jan 2009, 07:25 am
#41 Robzim:
Sorry Rob I was away from my PC
Yes either way Tiger or Bull shark both the most dangerous sharks ahead of the great white.
My boet sent me some pics of the attack Not pretty at all
Yes and not the sharks to blame here either
28 Jan 2009, 07:48 am
‘n Pa vang sy seun met ‘n kondoom in sy sak en vra: “Wat maak jy met daai ding?”
Die laaitie antwoord: “Ek trek hom oor my tong as ek turksvye eet.”
Pa sê: “ Dit is ‘n kak antwoord!!!”
Laaitie sê: Dit is ‘n kak vraag!!!!!”
28 Jan 2009, 08:01 am
Sign of the times I am afraid.. Professional sports are going to feel the full brunt of the global recession if they have not already done so..
Pity that some on this site want to turn this in to yet another political issue…
28 Jan 2009, 08:08 am
Are we going to get rugby merchandise on the cheap?
28 Jan 2009, 08:18 am
On the subject of sports kit i think South African teams generally wear sub standard material with the exception of the Bokke.
When are the Proteas changing that Hummel (Danish)? With us on top of the cricketing world, i do not think i’d go out of my way to buy those shabby looking jerseys; that goes for the greens and whites.
England has the best, the 3 stripes come through nicely there, Australia also brings in some variety with the 3 stripes as well. This makes me think of what we used to wear back in 2000. The SA 1 day cricket kit we wore in the 3-3 home and away series with Oz was best we have ever heard, it was the brand with 3 stripes.
India also comes through nicely with their Nike.
Even the ICC officials do better than SA with their Reebok.
Bafana are the worst with the gold/green combo. You would not think that Liverpool, Chelsea, Bayern Munich, Real Madrid and Bafana have the same technical sponsor. The poor kit is caused by poor admin, surely it must be because we are not professional enough off the field (cricket and soccer).
With us as the host nation, South Africans should demand more from ADIDAS. France came up with a ne set for 1998 and so did Germany in 2006.
28 Jan 2009, 08:28 am
# Pietman: Oh man that is bad news for the day,would he be the same Patrick that emails the weekly rugby newletter ? I always wondered if they were the same person because they certainly sounded the same , in any event condolences to his family and friends , he will surely be missed by many.
28 Jan 2009, 08:37 am
Regarding the Springbok emblem that has to move ,,, the national cricket team has the Protea on the left-hand side of their shirts; the national rugby team is accomodating the politicians and is also moving the Bok emblem to the righthand side to feature the Protea on the lefthand side.
BOTH OUR CRICKET & RUGBY TEAMS PERFORM GREAT (and is the last 3years or so, constantly under the top 3 in the world); BUT WHY IS THE PATHETIC NATIONAL SOCCER TEAM, ALLOWED & BEING DIFFERENT AS THEY FEATURE THE PROTEA ON THE RIGHTHAND SIDE OF THEIR SHIRTS???
28 Jan 2009, 08:50 am
#70 sparticus:
Yip, that’s him bro.
He was 85, would you believe, but as sharp as razor when it came to rugby matters.
Probaly left with his rugby boots on, ready for the next game with his old mates ‘upstairs’.
RIP.
28 Jan 2009, 09:00 am
Mr Anderson
sa soccer is not competitive indeed
rugby a 20 nation sport (number is rising albeit very slowly)
cricket a 10 nation sport (commonwealth – imperialist sport)
soccer a 100 nation plus sport (global and competitiveness is rising)
The SAFA admin ineptitude is sickening but as a critic you also need to have a clearer perspective when criticising.
Kaka’s Man City transfer would have been what SAFA and the PSL use to fund soccer over a 5 year period. Get that and move away from the petty Protea business
Ngconde and Stofile cant admonish Irvin Khoza because he is as some know and alleged mafioso, Khoza is a powerful man.
To see how powerful he is go http://www.molotovcocktail.co.za. Check one of the 4 issues with THE ORGANOGRAM. There you will see his network, JZ’s network, Patrice Motsepe, Thabo Mbeki and Bulelani Ngcuka. Many other business people and spooks all in one organogram and that goes for ouw own Donald Trupm (Tokyo Sexwale).
Knowing these things makes me understand that the admin and management of soccer is just one big tender and a few are cashing in. Disgusting to say the least but that is the nature of global business and politics and saffas are part of the web.
The petty talk of emblems and proteas is a political sideshow to wind up white people so that they do not see the real destruction.
Why is it that the nation is not enthused about hosting a WC tourney, apart from Gauteng?
Narrow soccer interests have killed the game in other provinces and whethere you put the protea on the left or on thi right will not address the ANC linked Kaizer Motaung corruption that is found in soccer.
Soccer corruption is much bigger than SA rugby presidents council. The reason is that sa soccer and sa rugby have glossed over professionalism while retaining the old hands from amateur admin from the 70s and 80s.
28 Jan 2009, 09:23 am
Mr Anderson
The failed Kaka transfer was 110 million pounds which as you know is well over a billion rands. This is what allows the likes of Kaka, Rivaldo, Dunga, Ronaldo to establish multimillion rand soccer schools in impoverished areas that they usually come from
i do not know the South African PSLs annual budget but i do think the 1.4 billion rand transfer would carry SA soccer’s operations for the next 5 – 10 years.
Before you multiply your criticism and spread like a virus, do make sure you find the one and only truth about SA politics, money and sport. Unfortunately they are linked.
How do you explain Mr Khoza getting a lear jet as a gift from a friend based in india (well known drug trader from india)
How else would you explain a soccer official evading SARS with tens of millions of rands worths of taxes only to be fined 10 mill.
Lastly, the same man (khoza) is one who was found to be in possession of a rifle or a few guns which had been stolen from one the army base responded to people questioning how he got hold of the arms (go ask Zuma)
all these were published in the local media.
that is the chairman of sa’s world cup
chairman of sa’s PSL
Previously Deputy President of South African Football Association, he relinquished this position in 2005/06 after a number of people cried coz of the number of seats he holds in the local game
He is chairman of Orlando Pirates the second biggest club in South Africa which just might be the second biggest club in the SADC region
The man is the very same man who leads the annual bonuses for winning the rights to host 2010 WC, these can go up to 10 mil each
the protea emblem or the bok emblem is a symbolical issue and what the politicians do is to sidetrack both black and white people from asking them the serious questions
i suggest you do the same, stop asking petty questions. emblems will not change sa sport, money in the right hands will.
Kiazer motaung is the owner of Chiefs, the biggest club in SA and SADC. His son, an MD at the club is the owner of a construction company building a billion rand world cup stadium in Mpumalanga, company is Mbombela construction. Motaung Jr’s business partnet has skipped the country and is alleged to have murdered some anc mayor from mpumalanga
That Mr Anderson is SA soccer administration and ask yorself why Bhutana Khompela never asks SAFA and PSL questions.
28 Jan 2009, 09:45 am
#67 gretep: Pity is defined as “sorrow” or “regret”.
No, it’s a pity that the pathetic politicians are attempting to make this a political issue. There’s your pity. It’s not a pity at all when people comment on their actions on a blog.
28 Jan 2009, 10:09 am
#74 Nguni Stud: Well played there Mr. Stud!
How about putting some of that in your pipe and smoking it.. hehe! One point and rather less obvious is the fact that Mr. Komphela and Mr. Stofile (for that matter) sits around the same table as the aforementioned gents, Khoza, Motaung, and they are very much informed of decisions that are yet to be made in the fraternity.
28 Jan 2009, 10:19 am
#72 Pietman: 85 ????? OMG, he wrote like he was 35 !!! Young upstairs , had the passion of a young boy just learning the game , he gave the NZ and Henry in particular a very hard time. I will miss him and his great veiws , we argued a few times via email mainly on Schalk Burger (u see I am blindly a Schalk fan) haa haa , he was right off course , I just did not want to admit it so here it is.
Patrick , u are 100% correct in saying that Schalk is NOT a number 8 , also he needs to channel his energy more and is too loose , also his best position is 7 or @ 6 as the NZ play the loosies , also he cannot shoot fireballs out of his a$$ like Mel Gibson in Braveheart (serious , did this to piss him off) and last but not least if the real Hulk would apprear I guess he would beat Schalk in arm wrestling.
OK there , RIP my friend , I will miss you.
28 Jan 2009, 10:39 am
#74 Nguni Stud:
WOW WOW and WOW… thanks for the enlightenment… truly!
Makes the Watson spiv BEE mining deals and Kebble saga’s out to be a game of tiddly-winks in comparison…
Oh so correct you are in your last sentence…
28 Jan 2009, 11:31 am
#74 Nguni Stud:
on the money there. if you will.
28 Jan 2009, 11:32 am
# Pietman:
Thank You for keeping us informed Piet.
I had no idea Patrick Patrick was an Octogenarian.
Other Posters must have told him 30 times he didn’t need to sign off every Post, but that was his trade mark.
Rest well Patrick Patrick.
Cane.
28 Jan 2009, 11:38 am
#71 Anderson: Raymond Hack (SAFA CEO) confirmed in an interview that the kits are supplied by the technical sponsor (Adidas in this case) months in advance. The new design with the king protea on the left will only come out in May this year, but it will definitely be in use come the confed cup.
28 Jan 2009, 11:42 am
#80 cane:
Howzit Cane.
I only learned it from PissAnt yesterday.
Didn’t want the old mate to pass us by unnoticed here.
28 Jan 2009, 12:48 pm
#66 EEE: HAahahahaha
28 Jan 2009, 12:50 pm
#69 Nguni Stud: Very good points there madoda!
29 Jan 2009, 01:05 am
#52 Pietman:
Thats a damn shame.
He had really good head on his shoulders when it came to rugby.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All