Saru wins power struggle

The Department of Sports and Recreation’s plans to gain more control over the issue of national selection have reportedly been scrapped.

Earlier in the week, SA Rugby president Oregan Hoskins told keo.co.za that he completely rejected the new laws and claimed he would consider resigning from his post if the proposed changes were implemented.

However, according to Afrikaans newspaper Beeld, the new law changes were in fact illegal and have been trashed.

The new laws aimed to hand Sports and Recreation minister Makhenkesi Stofile complete control over the selection of players for all major sporting codes.

Squads would have to be announced 30 days prior to any major tournament and sent to the minister who would then be able to make any changes he felt necessary.

The other contentious law changes concerned the issue of foreign recruits which would require players to hold a South African passport to be eligible for national selection, and the minister would also be the only person with the power to award national colours.

Deputy minister of sport Gert Oosthuizen claimed there were never any intentions to interfere in the selection process.

“We just want to prevent someone that runs onto a rugby field for a second from getting national colours … that is not interfering,” Oosthuizen told Beeld.

Hoskins said on Monday that SA Rugby had briefed their lawyers and were planning an official legal response, but it now appears that it might not be required.

73 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Mmmm…I have my doubts about this. Its only a matter of time before Stofile finds a way to get his greasy hands in control of SA Rugby.

Tha fact that the law changes were illegal means nothing so don’t confide in that. Affirmative action is illegal, it is a direct breach of the Constitution which affords equality and an equal right to every citizen…….that didn’t stop them.

• 52.khoisanking: Reply to this comment

49 disa:i see you have found your people at last.good on you boy!

• 53.Disa: Reply to this comment

#51 Yetirat: Dont think he will stay after the elections next year, can only hope.

Saw on the other thread you were at the game Sunday, how did Koster play? Couldnt find any player ratings on the net

• 54.Disa: Reply to this comment

#52 khoisanking: Didnt know i was looking. Ai man, kan maar net my kop skud vir jou. Relax n bietjie en praat rugby

• 55.khoisanking: Reply to this comment

51 yeirat:still crying over affirmative action?did you bleat when south africa had a legal affirmative policy up to 1994?, well at least in the eyes of the minority.do you remember those great times where white police student recruits immediately became the seniors of 10 year serving black sergeants?those were lovely times don’t you think so?

• 56.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#49 Disa:
    Janee wat, maar gelukkig is hulle in die minderheid en stadig besig om uit te sterf….geduld broer, geduld, dis die wekroep.

• 57.Disa: Reply to this comment

#56 Pietman: Ja nee ek sien hy vat nou tot vir Skoppie van alle mense aan!

• 58.Nguni Stud: Reply to this comment

The fact that i lined up Krige’s name among guys born in Zim was not to say he’s a Zimbabwean. I know he was born in Zambia.

What i was saying is clear. We need to have a set of concrete rules about who plays for the country re- citizenship

That Mujati, Beast and Chavanga came into SA as adolescents is not different from Bob Skinstad and Teichman coming into the country at kindergaten and puberty.

The important part is that as adults they all played professional rugby in south african and were all selected for test sides and have made a great contribution to the game.

The same people who dont have an issue with Krige, Bob and Gary playing for the boks are the same ones who do when Beast, Tondi and Brian come through.

I love all 6 players i just mentioned plus the fact the 2 of the 6 are sharks legends, having won the currie cup (Beast and Teichman- carefull here, i’m not equating Beast’s overall legendary status with that of Teichman). Loved Korne when he was a Province rookie, he later turned out to be a loudmouth but no ever boos him.

Politicians might nt get their way in everything they propose but they will some of the times. This also goes to the rugby fraternity, they will not always get what they want.

It appears as if sa politicians and sa rugby administrators want the game to improve but differ on how this should be done. the other one has overt power while the other uses it in a CCB/BOSS covert manner and with great effect

these two mutualy exclusive views of developing the game will be at odds for the foreseeable future so i do not worry myself about what government is bringinh or about the nuttiness of the president’s council.

Rugga always.

• 59.Cosa: Reply to this comment

#55 khoisanking:

Maybe your display here is the very reason why that “horrible policy of apartheid” happened. My forefathers wanted to distance themselves from you “and your kind”, to use your terminology.

• 60.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#59 Cosa:
    Eiiiina!
    Moenie!
    Hy gaat nou eers van voor af ween…..

• 61.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

Gert Oosthuizen, you and your ilk are liars and will only look for personal gain in your attempts to control selection, I dont trust you as far as I can throw you, thanks heavens this has been stopped….for now.

• 62.Cosa: Reply to this comment

#60 Pietman:

Sal ek my post hierbo sommer self rapporteer?

• 63.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#62 Cosa:
    Nee man, dit was moerse in die kol daai!
    Maar ek dink daai san-ou is sommer n rondloper troller hier, los die flentergat op straat.
    Daai post van jou was te subtiel, dink nie die semelkop sal die ironie snap nie.

• 64.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#61 carcharodon carcharias:
    Can you believe these guys are actually getting paid in tax payers’ money to spin that bs?

• 65.Cosa: Reply to this comment

#61 carcharodon carcharias:

I know the guy. He is like a Grade1 pupil bringing the teacher an apple every day, and wait an hour after school to carry her briefcase to her car.

Regte gatkruiper!

• 66.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

no man, this is just ridiculous.

• 67.Cosa: Reply to this comment

#63 Pietman:

Sy sinstrukture herrinder my aan SkopSkiet sn.

• 68.Cosa: Reply to this comment

#67 Cosa:

En sy gebruik van woorde wat hy nie verstaan of kan spel nie!

• 69.khoisanking: Reply to this comment

pietman:i see you have been joined by another”saadkop”.

• 70.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the lying anc has sold out the people of zimbabwe!

just remember all you voters out there, they sold morgan and the majority out because they feel that they and their “revolutionary” comrades have a better idea of what is good for the poor people of zim than the people themselves.

cholera and starvation, hatred and division are all that has been sowed in zim and look what it has reaped?

beware the anc all you good people, the sports laws are the warning. no matter how much it hurts to see the erstwhile liberation movement brought down by a mafia led by zuma and his communist handlers, face the truth.

it is all that can save us.

• 71.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

If the ANC regime really WANT to pass an edict, they can and they will and they have a democratic two-thirds majority to make it all 100% legal.

If they back off, it’s only because they CHOOSE to rather than that they HAVE to.

Quit trying to pretend that their foot is not firmly placed on your neck.

It IS.

And, if you still need any reminding, they can — at will — press the foot down and put you squarely in your place.

The whole ongoing “Springbok emblem” debacle is just an ongoing reminder of who calls all the shots here. It’s the ANC and not SARU.

Don’t forget it.

• 72.Kid Omo III: Reply to this comment

Die ANC se moer. Hulle kan nie net maak en breek soos hul lus kry nie.
    Remember to register to vote! 7 & 8 Feb.

• 73.Cosa: Reply to this comment

#69 khoisanking:

Skopskiet, jy is ‘n parra!

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.