Goode fills Cipriani’s boots bings you the latest team announcements from the Six Nations squads.

Goode fills Cipriani’s boots

Martin Johnson has handed a surprise recall to Andy Goode, who will take Danny Cipriani’s place at flyhalf.

Cipriani started three of the four November Tests but his troubles have been well-documented and he was last night named in the England Saxons squad to play Ireland A on Friday. Toby Flood was expected to be handed the No 10 jersey, but his calf strain ruled him out.

Goode, who played for Leicester last year but has now moved to French club Brive, last played for England in 2006. Shane Geraghty will cover flyhalf off the bench.

Wing Mark Cueto and outside centre Mike Tindall also earn re-calls.

Openside flanker Steffon Armitage wins his debut, while his brother Delon will also start. Uncapped scrumhalf/fullback Ben Foden is in the 22.

England – 15 Delon Armitage (London Irish); 14 Paul Sackey (Wasps), 13 Mike Tindall (Gloucester), 12 Riki Flutey (Wasps), 11 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks); 10 Andy Goode (Brive), 9 Danny Care (Harlequins); 8 Nick Easter (Harlequins), 7 Steffon Armitage (London Irish), 6 James Haskell (Wasps), 5 Nick Kennedy (London Irish), 4 Steve Borthwick (Saracens, c), 3 Phil Vickery (Wasps), 2 Lee Mears (Bath), 1 Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks).

Subs: 16 Dylan Hartley (Northampton), 17 Jason White (Leicester), 18 Tom Croft (Leicester), 19 Joe Worsley (Wasps), 20 Ben Foden (Northampton), 21 Shane Geraghty (London Irish), 22 Matthew Tait (Sale Sharks).

Wallace to partner O’Driscoll

Paddy Wallace will make his first start as Brian O’Driscoll’s midfield partner in the Six Nations when Ireland play France on Saturday.

Wallace historically prefers flyhalf, but the pair did play together on last year’s tour of Australasia. This move has meant highly rated Luke Fitzgerald moves to the wing, while Rob Kearney then switches to fullback in the only changes to the team that defeated Argentina in November.

Gordon D’Arcy wins a place on the bench for the first time since breaking his arm in 2007.

Ireland – 15 Rob Kearney (Leinster); 14 Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), 13 Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster, c), 12 Paddy Wallace (Ulster), 11 Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster); 10 Ronan O’Gara (Munster), 9 Tomas O’Leary (Munster); 8 Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), 7 David Wallace (Munster), 6 Stephen Ferris (Ulster), 5 Paul O’Connell (Munster), 4 Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster), 3 Jim Hayes (Munster), 2 Jerry Flannery (Munster), 1 Marcus Horan (Munster).

Subs: 16 Rory Best (Ulster), 17 Tom Court (Ulster), 18 Malcolm O’Kelly (Leinster), 19 Dennis Leamy (Munster), 20 Peter Stringer (Munster), 21 Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster), 22 Geordan Murphy (Leicester).

France recall Beauxis

Marc Lievremont has recalled flyhalf Lionel Beauxis, No 15 Clement Poitrenaud and centre Florian Fritz to his team to face Ireland on Saturday.

Beauxis and Poitrenaud have both not payed during the Lievremont regime, with their last showings in the 2007 World Cup. Fritz, who last wore the French jersey in the previous Six Nations campaign, will partner Toulouse team-mate Yannick Jauzion in the midfield.

Lievremont has constantly experimented with weakened teams, but this looks to be his strongest outfit for the stern challenge in Dublin.

France – 15-Clement Poitrenaud, 14-Julien Malzieu, 13-Yannick Jauzion, 12-Florian Fritz, 11-Maxime Medard, 10-Lionel Beauxis, 9-Sebastien Tillous-Borde; 8-Imanol Harinordoquy, 7-Fulgence Ouedraogo, 6-Thierry Dusautoir, 5-Lionel Nallet (capt), 4-Sebastien Chabal, 3-Benoit Lecouls, 2-Dimitri Szarzewski, 1-Lionel Faure.

Subs: 16-Benjamin Kayzer, 17-Nicolas Mas, 18-Romain Millo-Chluski, 19-Louis Picamoles, 20-Morgan Parra, 21-Benoit Baby, 22-Cedric Heymans.