TUT feel Tigers’ wrath
9 Feb 2009
UCT recorded their first win of the 2009 Varsity Cup running in five tries in a resounding 39-21 win over TUT in Pretoria.
The Cape students were the more clinical of the two sides in a free-flowing, open contest. TUT continued to fight even when the result was a formality, but poor handling and ill discipline let them down.
John Dobson’s troops were solid upfront and their backline looked dangerous whenever they had the ball.
Ikeys were guilty of giving away a couple of penalties and TUT flyhaf Adillio Coutriers slotted them both in the opening ten minutes.
UCT, though, struck back immediately through a great team try finished off by centre Marvin Christians, but flyhalf Matthew Rosslee began where he left off last week against Maties as he missed the conversion.
Ikeys grabbed the lead just two minutes later as fullback Therlow Pietersen burst through the TUT defence and this time Rosslee added the extras to give the Tigers a 12-6 lead.
TUT were then penalised for infringing at the breakdown and Rosslee made no mistake extending his side’s lead.
Rosslee struck the upright with a penalty attempt 10 minutes later, but from the rebound prop Jan-Harm Steenkamp conceded yet another penalty and this time Rosslee made no mistake as he gave his side a 12 point lead.
The students from Pretoria finally hit back when scrumhalf Andre Potgieter pounced on a loose ball and off loaded to centre Tjaart Kleu who used his pace to score TUT’s first try of the game. But Courtiers missed the easy conversion.
UCT increased their lead in the 51st minute when Pietersen bagged his second of the evening. Rosslee added the extras with a superb kick from the right hand side touchline to make it 25-11 to the Tigers.
Five minutes later and TUT were back in the contest as outside centre Johannes Swartz scored his sides second try.
UCT, however, put the result beyond doubt in the 65th minute when the exciting Tiger Bax broke through the TUT defence before finding replacement Mark Goosen who finished off the move. Rosslee popped over the conversion and Ikeys lead by 16.
TUT grabbed a consolation try with five minutes left in the game when Bakkies Steenkamp pounced on a loose ball, but the University of Cape Town hit back shortly after the restart as Man of the Match Bax grabbed UCT’s fifth try to seal a 39-21 victory.
TUT – Tries: Tjaart Kleu, Johannes Swartz, Bakkies Steenkamp. Penalties: Adillio Coutriers (2).
UCT – Tries: Marvin Christians, Therlow Pietersen (2), Mark Goosen, Tiger Bax. Conversions: Matthew Rosslee (4). Penalties: Rosslee (2).

349 Comments
9 Feb 2009, 18:24 pm
Ikey dragons
9 Feb 2009, 18:25 pm
ho hum
9 Feb 2009, 18:27 pm
Tiger Bax has had two solid games now , good showing…
9 Feb 2009, 18:28 pm
watched the Maties Ikeys clash at the Green Mile the other evening. Too many penalties conceded handed the game to the Tassies drinking students on a plate. Otherwise a very entertaining game consumed by an appreciative crowd.
9 Feb 2009, 18:29 pm
#2 TheTackler: meaning what Tackles?
9 Feb 2009, 18:30 pm
#3 wp_boytjie: Tiger Bax was impressive every time he touched the ball, barring one little brainfart behind his own goal-line.
9 Feb 2009, 18:32 pm
would appear Tackles has gone walkabout and I’m achieving boredom at work. My signal to head for the hills. Chow boy-ous.
9 Feb 2009, 18:35 pm
Helloooooo
Shimlas has a good team, but so does Pukke… going to be interesting.
I commented last week already on Tiger Backs, the outside centre of Ikeys… bloody nice centre that !
9 Feb 2009, 18:38 pm
Bax to the max!
9 Feb 2009, 18:43 pm
Where is everybody?
9 Feb 2009, 18:46 pm
#9 Jinx: Jinx is that you Jinxie? Have not seen you here for a very long time.
9 Feb 2009, 18:48 pm
#11 Puma:
Yes…zat’s me.
9 Feb 2009, 18:50 pm
#11 Puma: 5 more sleeps till showdown Puma…5 more sleeps!!!!
9 Feb 2009, 18:51 pm
Oooooooooo einaaaa… the Shimlas hooker tackled his opposite No 2 sooooooo hard !
perfectly legal tackle….
I think that the numerous outages have had an effect here. Usually at the start of Super14 there would be a number of new people but this site has spent so much time being unusable they must have Googled there way somewhere else.
So I’m thinking Stormers
9 Feb 2009, 18:52 pm
#13 grant10: hahahaha. Cant wait grant10. Finally the S14 begins this Friday. For us the big one is on Saturday going to be a cracker.
#12 Jinx: Jeez have not seen you around here for a long time Jinx. Good to see you back mate.
9 Feb 2009, 18:52 pm
#12 Jinx: Hello ouboet digter !
9 Feb 2009, 18:54 pm
#15 church – like chch but pronounceable: They will be back church. Just hope what ever they are working on is going to be really something special as its taken so damn long. Been very frustrating not getting logged on in the last few days.
I never watched that test between WI and England but read on Sky sports that England were bowled out for 51 runs in the 2nd innings. Jeez thats dreadful by England. Read its their worst since 1930. Cant see them win the ashes if they are playing like that.
9 Feb 2009, 18:57 pm
We need those ‘Quick Links” back soon. Going to the home page all the time is so frustrating.
9 Feb 2009, 18:58 pm
#16 SpringbokSarah: I’m also thinking I need to not go to school on Friday…
9 Feb 2009, 18:59 pm
#18 grootblousmile:
#17 Puma:
Thanks for the welcome. Hello to you two too!!!
#20 Puma: Just open more than one browser page… one for each thread.
#20 Puma: tell me about it
#19 Puma:
I never new. I must see if someone uploads a highlights package on YouTube tomorrow.
9 Feb 2009, 19:00 pm
#22 Jinx: Whassahappening in the poet’s life ?
9 Feb 2009, 19:01 pm
Anyone watching the Shimla-Pukke game that can provide us with a score here and there please….? Thanks
9 Feb 2009, 19:02 pm
#20 Puma:
Why do you go back to the home page?
What browser are you running?
Download Firefox. It runs tabbed browsing and you keep each thread you want open on a different tab.
9 Feb 2009, 19:03 pm
#22 Jinx: Yeah missed your sense of humour here Jinx.
#25 church – like chch but pronounceable: Yes can you imagine getting bowled out for 51 in a TEST!!!!!!!!!!!!! PHEW England must feel dreadful after that especiall bowled out by WI. Read it on Sky.
#27 panniepeet: Pukke 7 / Shimlas 0
Pukke is dominating big time.
#26 grootblousmile:
Doing economic crunch for breakfast cereal.
Hanging in there.
#29 Puma: especiall = especially.
9 Feb 2009, 19:04 pm
#28 church – like chch but pronounceable: Will do that church.
9 Feb 2009, 19:05 pm
Thanks bigblue – heard the nr 8 of Pukke is a player to watch (van der Wal?)
9 Feb 2009, 19:05 pm
#31 Jinx: Thought with you being so scarse that you had met a sweet lady… who cooks, cleans and keeps Jinxie verrrrrryyyy busy !
9 Feb 2009, 19:06 pm
#29 Puma:
Humour is the only thing that gives me perspective and keeps me from taking things too seriously. Must laugh at one’s own folly. Makes the unexpected pitch up even quicker.
9 Feb 2009, 19:06 pm
#32 Puma: #35 grootblousmile:
Hey hey
9 Feb 2009, 19:07 pm
#35 grootblousmile:
#33 Puma:
How are you Pumes?
#33 Puma: IE 7 (Internet Explorer 7) also runs Tabs….#34 panniepeet: He is… hard player
9 Feb 2009, 19:09 pm
#37 Irish Devil: what am I, chopped liver? I saw Ireland won, well done.
#39 Irish Devil: Howzit Irish, I am well mate how you doing. Must feel great after that win by Ireland on the weekend. Was the best game to watch out of all the 6 Nations. Very pleased Ireland won. Was supporting Ireland the whole way. Got my prediction a little wrong said Ireland to win by 5 and they won by 9. Ireland looking very good. Think they could surprise Wales this year.
Shimlas v Pukke the original enemies – when I was at Pukke (mid 90′s) we were on a losing streak of 13 years against the bloody Shimlas…
9 Feb 2009, 19:10 pm
#41 SpringbokSarah:
Hey big one. How are you? Thanks man…
#37 Irish Devil:
My ancestors smiled down on Croke Park on Saturday. Well done Ireland. I thought they played with plenty guts and fire.
You must be happy that the Irish took out the Frogs.
God scored a good try too.
#37 Irish Devil: Yo, Collegue and my Learned Friend…. howziettttt ?
9 Feb 2009, 19:11 pm
#36 Jinx: Yeah your right Jinxie. Just remember that poem you wrote about KP was really funny. See England got a huge klap by WI got bowled out in the 2nd innings for 51 runs. Thats a hiding. They lost by a innings.
Chelski have sacked Luiz Felipe Scolari because they are only in 3rd. hehe Arsenal probably won’t even qualify for the Champions league. Arsene Wenger will be back at his Thailand home before the season is out
#41 SpringbokSarah:
Should read thanks girl… hehehe
#42 Puma:
Hey we are so proud, but would never let our feelings run aways with ourself. Hey my chest still is out there mate.
9 Feb 2009, 19:12 pm
#16 SpringbokSarah: So BokSarah, when are you going to follow Dawn’s lead and become a Lion? She has seen the light and is now a proud Lion and as a side effect she is much happier too.
9 Feb 2009, 19:13 pm
#37 Irish Devil:
Congrats on the excellent start.
#44 Irish Devil: I’m insanely good… considering. You?
(If you’re wondering I was supporting Ireland)
#44 Irish Devil: Ireland looking good Irish. Off to a great start. Think a quiet a few of those players could make the Lions tour down here this year.
9 Feb 2009, 19:14 pm
#45 Jinx: #46 grootblousmile:
Fanks my buds. Just knew I could rely on my true friends. Been hectic man. Working for a change. Used to play around. Maturing me thinks. Don’t get so much time now, but what I really know you guys are always here to put a smile on my twicker.
#49 Irish Devil: rofl
#50 RedLion: er… let me see… how’s the 2nd Tuesday of next week?
#47 Puma:
Oooh, yes glad that the Poms got slapped up in Jamaica. The world needs a strong WI.
Want more pain in Antigua for the Poms in the 2nd test.
#49 Irish Devil: Keep that chest out there Irish. Ireland played really well. Think they could beat Wales. Looking good so far Ireland.
9 Feb 2009, 19:15 pm
# church – like chch but pronounceable: #52 SpringbokSarah: #53 Puma:
Hey you guys and gals make me proud too. Congrats to the Proteas as well. Jeez they did the world proud too.
9 Feb 2009, 19:16 pm
#52 SpringbokSarah:
I’m ok not good – but ok…
9 Feb 2009, 19:16 pm
#56 Jinx: hahaha. I never watched it. Just read it on Sky could not believe they could be bowled out for 51 in the 2nd innings. Can you imagine the party there in Antigua? Cant see England win the ashes this year if they are playing like that. Makes our win over Oz seem all that more special.
9 Feb 2009, 19:17 pm
#53 Puma:
Keeping our feet firmly on the ground. We celebrate our win but admire our opposition too… It’s an Irish thing.
Jis jis
Daar is ‘n Fantasy league aan die gang met o.a. Keo ouens wat daar speel.
Muppit League en die poolcode is123954
Gaan kyk by http://www.testrugby.com/
#58 Irish Devil: You should be proud. They’re your team!
And thank you had to keep reminding this pessimistic lot.
Try Pukke…. very patient build up… good contenuity
9 Feb 2009, 19:18 pm
#54 Irish Devil:
My blood is 40 shades of green plus one shade of Springbok green.
Its a “shoulder to shoulder” thing yer know.
#59 Irish Devil: that’s not good
what’s wrong?
#58 Irish Devil: Well the Ireland and French game was the best from the 6 nations on the weekend. A cracker it was.
9 Feb 2009, 19:19 pm
#63 SpringbokSarah:
Missed you a lot… How’s school going?
Pukke 17
Farm boys 0
Thanks bigblue – good news that. Go on Pukke!
9 Feb 2009, 19:20 pm
#63 SpringbokSarah:
I hope you still writing your poetry. Keep growing and observing things around you. Take nothing for granted.
#65 Jinx:
Jinxie my man. We’ll answer Irelands call. Yes sir. Sure at least our teams are green.
#59 Irish Devil: Whats up Irish?
#61 Irish Devil: Its a good thing to be like that. Admire the Irish for being like that. Cant wait now to see Ireland play Wales think it will be a cracker of a game.
Sharks play Stormers this Saturday. Do you get any S14 Irish?
#55 SpringbokSarah: Sounds good to me.
9 Feb 2009, 19:21 pm
#66 SpringbokSarah:
Long story, but I will live…
9 Feb 2009, 19:21 pm
#61 Irish Devil:
Well said.
9 Feb 2009, 19:22 pm
#68 Irish Devil: awww I missed you too! Hence I think you should come back… cos we have a problem.
School? School is killing me. They say they wan to push us… but it feels like they’re pushing us right off a cliff. The person who invented IGCSE should be shot.
9 Feb 2009, 19:23 pm
#73 Puma:
Long story – when it’s over I will share it.
I think we do. I don’t have cable. Can’t afford it. Will go check at Paddy’s though. Maybe
9 Feb 2009, 19:24 pm
Cheers Irish, Jinx, Sarah and all. Seems like its only me here. Chat later.
9 Feb 2009, 19:24 pm
#76 Jinx:
Thanks
#77 SpringbokSarah:
You want me back? You sure?
9 Feb 2009, 19:25 pm
#79 Puma:
Cheers my bud. Keep well and hope your team goes well.
#78 Irish Devil: What ever it is stay strong mate.
Go check if Paddy’s have the game if not try and post with us here on Sat.
Miss your posts Irish. When do you do your exams?
#79 Puma: Cheers Oerwoudkat !
#60 Puma:
Puma, google …”Youtube England 46 all out”
Watching now, this is hilarious
#71 Jinx: How’d you know about that?
Yeah I’m still writing… not feeling very inspired though so everything sounds like sh… shiny potatoes to me.
#74 RedLion: Okay, second Tuesday of next week. That’s on the 30th Feb.
#75 Irish Devil: You have to have the bad things in life to really appreciate the good things
9 Feb 2009, 19:27 pm
#81 Irish Devil: Cheers Irish. Just keep posting here.
#79 Puma: Bye bye!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#80 Irish Devil: Now that’s a silly statement. Let’ me make it more obvious: Irish PLEASE come back
#82 Puma:
Not major problem buds, but thanks anyway. At least someone is missing me.
9 Feb 2009, 19:28 pm
#86 Puma: You tell him!
#84 church – like chch but pronounceable: Going to do that now. Will be a laugh to see England all out for that.
#72 Irish Devil:
That song get right into me. I think my DNA at that moment responds very powerfully. I start hearing many shades of Irish music almost clairaudiently…yes…like Christie Moore…I start having visions… and out of nowhere the fire in my blood flames and burns.
It is emotional.
9 Feb 2009, 19:29 pm
#85 SpringbokSarah:
Wise words girl… You are so mature…. Cant be 15.
#86 Puma:
Will do bud
#87 SpringbokSarah:
For you I killa da bull… Will do… Promise…. Need to sort a few things out and then I will be back…. for you…
9 Feb 2009, 19:30 pm
#90 Puma: you always do this… you say bye… we all say bye and then you hand around for another 5 minutes… you have spent too much time with me. I recommend lots of rest and 48 hours away from keo.
9 Feb 2009, 19:30 pm
#88 Irish Devil: Yeah I miss your posts Irish. Think a lot do. What ever it is you will get through it mate.
#83 grootblousmile: Still here gbs. Thought everyone had logged off so said cheers. Not sure if that ‘who is online function’ is working proper.
9 Feb 2009, 19:31 pm
#85 SpringbokSarah:
I observe things.
9 Feb 2009, 19:31 pm
#91 Jinx:
You must have Irish blood mate. We are passionate, yet very sensitive people. Love life, yet concerned enough for the not so fortunate. Celebrate our victories, but cherrish our losses, as you can’t learn if you are always a winner. Make sense:
9 Feb 2009, 19:32 pm
#93 SpringbokSarah: Cause I looke up at who was online and it was ONLY ME!!!!!!! HAHA Thought I had better log off was not going to chat to myself. Now everyone is online. Not sure if the online is working proper.
9 Feb 2009, 19:32 pm
#92 Irish Devil: I’m 15 and you know it
apparently I’m a an old women in a teenager’s body
#92 Irish Devil: awww thanks man!
9 Feb 2009, 19:33 pm
#94 Puma:
Sure thing mate. You are such a star… to be sure…
9 Feb 2009, 19:34 pm
#96 Irish Devil:
Of course. As I’ve said before… My ancestors are from County Wicklow (Greystones) and County Cork.
#98 SpringbokSarah:
You know what I mean? Cause I only say things I mean – you know dat too.
#96 Irish Devil: Its the best way to be Irish. A good quality that the Irish people have.
9 Feb 2009, 19:35 pm
#95 Jinx: well like I said, not feeling much inspiration. I had it when I was writing exams and again when I was in Dubai, but nothing great is coming to me.
#97 Puma: rofl… you could chat to yourself… quite entertaining
9 Feb 2009, 19:36 pm
This game between Pukke and Shimlas is very mistake-ridden… not a very good game.
9 Feb 2009, 19:36 pm
# Irish Devil: I know. I missed you a heck of a lot. keo wasn’t the same… even when carol was on, wasn’t the the same!
9 Feb 2009, 19:37 pm
#102 Puma: and Jinxie
If I were not Irish, I would be an African – to be sure – passionate bunch you lot. Hard as nails – but good honest buggers.
9 Feb 2009, 19:38 pm
#105 SpringbokSarah:
You just being kind I think…. but that is sweet like nuts my friend.
9 Feb 2009, 19:38 pm
#105 SpringbokSarah: You 2, get a room…. oops… noooooooo Sarah’s too young…. don’t get a room, go to the Movies or something…
9 Feb 2009, 19:39 pm
#105 SpringbokSarah:
Spoke to Carol yesterday I think, but Keo was giving huge problems. Is she well? I miss so many, but a few no ways….
9 Feb 2009, 19:39 pm
Tryyyyyyy Shimlas No 14
9 Feb 2009, 19:40 pm
#106 Irish Devil: Thanks Irish. Thats a compliment for us saffas. Thanks mate.
9 Feb 2009, 19:40 pm
#108 grootblousmile:
Bwahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. You never change and don’t. How’s your boy mate?
9 Feb 2009, 19:41 pm
Pukke 17
Farmers 5
9 Feb 2009, 19:41 pm
#111 Puma:
To be sure… You gotta be the nicest bloke on Keo…
9 Feb 2009, 19:42 pm
#112 Irish Devil: BonzaiGBS is fine… very bloody well in fact… he made his school’s First Team… at the age of 15…. I’m sooooo proud of the little schmuck !
Another Tryyyyyyyyyy Shimlas !
#109 Irish Devil: Yes she came on later cause she could not log on. I just read that this morning. She said sorry that she never answered your post because of not being able to log back on. There were huge problems with this site yesterday Irish. I just could not log on and when I eventually did and tried to submit a post it just logged me off……..lol. So just left it for today. Not been great this site this morning still having problems here. Think it will get sorted out soon.
#107 Irish Devil: lol
#108 grootblousmile: rofl. Yes Sarah is definitely too young!
#109 Irish Devil: keo gave me problems too… they must be working on the site or something. The last time I heard she was well… and she was a Stormers supporter!
9 Feb 2009, 19:43 pm
#108 grootblousmile:
There’s a saying: Once you can forgive you can live again….
So true, yet so hard…
Ya know what I mean…
9 Feb 2009, 19:44 pm
Pukke 20 / Shimlas 10
now it is
Pukke 20
Farmers 10
#114 Irish Devil: Thanks mate.
9 Feb 2009, 19:45 pm
In the average lifetime, a person will walk the equivalent of 5 times around the equator
#115 grootblousmile:
Wow congrats mate…. Please convey to the bugger.
#116 Puma:
It was terrible I know…
#117 SpringbokSarah:
Tweet
#119 grootblousmile & #120 RedLion: Both of you don’t have to give the scores. I’m sure we’ll be fine with just one
9 Feb 2009, 19:46 pm
#122 SpringbokSarah:
Imagine the tan….hmmm
9 Feb 2009, 19:47 pm
#115 grootblousmile: How is Bonzai doing gbs? Must feel great to have a son in the 1st team gbs.
9 Feb 2009, 19:47 pm
#122 SpringbokSarah: Hell, I have’nt been to Central Africa yet, so I have’nt walked on the equator at all !
Why is everybody wlking on the equator anyway ?
I’ll sommer walk to my office and back, to the car and back, to the Bottle Store and back….
9 Feb 2009, 19:48 pm
#123 Irish Devil: You know, when we’re all shouting for our teams on Saturday… you’re gonna feel left out… you need to become a Stormer…
#125 Irish Devil: roflmao… hey I live in CT, I’ve already got one!
9 Feb 2009, 19:48 pm
#119 grootblousmile: #124 SpringbokSarah: #121 Puma: and all the rest. Have overstayed my welcome a bit, but this has been great therapy and I thank you all. You have made me feel better too…
Missed you all greatly….
Will speak soon – promise.
Ciao
9 Feb 2009, 19:49 pm
#127 grootblousmile: lol
Odontophobia is the fear of teeth… wonder how that works…
124 Sarah – leave them be – they’re both doing a sterling job giving the score to us suckers who can’t see the game!
#123 Irish Devil: Think Roy is working on something new here and its taking a lot of time to get it done. Just hope its all sorted out before the S14 starts on Friday. Actually thought it would have been sorted out before the 6 Nations that started on Saturday.
9 Feb 2009, 19:50 pm
#128 SpringbokSarah:
Will do that with pleasure… See ya Saturday to give my support….
Bye bye all
9 Feb 2009, 19:50 pm
#129 Irish Devil: Bye bye Irish… don’t stay away too long now!
9 Feb 2009, 19:51 pm
#129 Irish Devil: Cheers Irish. Blog with us on Saturday during the big game against Stormers and Sharks. Should be a cracker. You never overstay your welcome Irish. You can blog here as long as you want mate.
9 Feb 2009, 19:51 pm
#131 panniepeet: Enjoying the score update… getting confused with all of them though
#133 Irish Devil: thanks man. bye!
9 Feb 2009, 19:53 pm
#133 Irish Devil: Tatta Oirish, you old (or young) modderotter !
9 Feb 2009, 19:53 pm
#135 Puma: agreed
Women are 37% more likely to go to a psychiatrist than men are.
I rockon it’s cos men make them that way… you know what they say about what’s behind every b!tch…
9 Feb 2009, 19:54 pm
#131 panniepeet: panniepeet. Thats such a funny nick. Sorry don’t want to sound rude its just so funny. Listen mate just a quick tip when you answer a post just click on that arrow next to that post you are answering to and it will go straight to the reply box and show up in yellow to your post. Its easier to answer to by doing that.
9 Feb 2009, 19:55 pm
Tryyyyyyyyy Shimlas……..
They’re playing much better in the second half !
9 Feb 2009, 19:57 pm
Ok both teams are farmers actually, so now it is:
Pukke Farm boys 20
Shimlas Farm boys 15
9 Feb 2009, 19:58 pm
Stressed is Desserts spelled backwards… IT’S A SIGN!
9 Feb 2009, 20:00 pm
#138 SpringbokSarah: BokSarah I am curious, as a Cape resident do you support UCT or Maties or both?
9 Feb 2009, 20:00 pm
Go the Tigers!
9 Feb 2009, 20:02 pm
How much time left there bigblue…?
9 Feb 2009, 20:03 pm
#145 panniepeet: 14 Minutes
Tryyyyyyy Kotze, the No 9 of Pukke
#143 RedLion: as a Cape Resident I support both. But I would like to go to UCT so I guess I have to support Ikeys but because I’m not there yet I guess I’m allowed to support both sides… I think.
9 Feb 2009, 20:04 pm
27 / 15
9 Feb 2009, 20:04 pm
#139 Puma: Thanks for the tip Puma – was wondering how the hell you guys do that…!lol
9 Feb 2009, 20:05 pm
#148 SpringbokSarah:
In the Cape, you either support Ikeys or Maties…
9 Feb 2009, 20:05 pm
#149 grootblousmile: you definitely doing a good job – doesn’t sound easy with how the scores are changing all the time hehehe
9 Feb 2009, 20:06 pm
#148 SpringbokSarah:
fair enough so you are a WP/Stormer and future Ikeys.
#150 panniepeet: No problem.
Pukke 27
Shimlas 15
9 Feb 2009, 20:08 pm
# PissAnt: sir please clarify something for me. UCT falls under WP and Maties falls under Boland? Am I on the right track?
# PissAnt: I want to go to UCT now but there is a chance I won’t get in so then I would have to change my team… so let’s wait til I’m 18.
#153 RedLion:
#155 RedLion: Sounds like my alma mater is on top there… Go Pukke!
9 Feb 2009, 20:09 pm
#149 grootblousmile: Who is in the lead gbs?
9 Feb 2009, 20:10 pm
‘n Mooi rak, bly darem maar ‘n mooi rak….
#158 panniepeet:
72 min into the match so yes it looks like it is theirs.
#155 RedLion: Red, bigblue – any players catching the eye as outstanding…?
9 Feb 2009, 20:11 pm
#159 Puma: Plukke 27 / Skimlassss 15
9 Feb 2009, 20:11 pm
Anyways I’m out… bye bye all
9 Feb 2009, 20:12 pm
#156 RedLion:
Been an issue since the beginning of time.
Stellenbosch falls under the Boland district, but Maties have always been included in the WP setup…
Lots of people unhappy with that especially the guys from Boland as you can well imagine…
#157 SpringbokSarah:
Fair enough – when you join either you will quickly find out you either support one or the other.
The rivalry is like WP vs. the Bulls of old.
I only support Maties if they play any team from up North!
9 Feb 2009, 20:13 pm
#163 grootblousmile: Thanks gbs. Going to log off. Huge thunderstorm here and lots of lightning. Before I go has Pietman arrived in the Cape yet?
9 Feb 2009, 20:14 pm
#166 Puma: Dunno, supposed to arrive round about today…
9 Feb 2009, 20:14 pm
#162 panniepeet: #14 for Shimlas has good pace. and a good step #9 for Pukke looks ok too.
9 Feb 2009, 20:15 pm
#167 grootblousmile: Good if you speak to Piet say hello from me.
Cheers everyone going to log off lots of lightning and thunder. Catch you all tomorrow.
9 Feb 2009, 20:17 pm
Plukke win 27 / Slimklas 15
9 Feb 2009, 20:18 pm
Game over Pukke win 27-15
RL out.
9 Feb 2009, 20:19 pm
#170 grootblousmile: Is that the final score…?
9 Feb 2009, 20:20 pm
#172 panniepeet: Yebo yes !
9 Feb 2009, 20:20 pm
#171 RedLion: #170 grootblousmile: Thanks for the scores-update gents, much appreciated from this side. Going to have a few cold ones on the Pukke tonight
9 Feb 2009, 20:22 pm
Nouja…. nou die volgende game…
9 Feb 2009, 20:43 pm
i see Rassie prepared to wait till friday before naming team…wants to give fiji as much time as possible to prove his fitness..
9 Feb 2009, 20:51 pm
#175 grootblousmile:
#176 grant10:
Huh, where did you guys go?
9 Feb 2009, 20:58 pm
#177 carol: hi there! Hows the snow?
9 Feb 2009, 20:59 pm
#177 carol: sent you an e mail this morning…did you get it?
9 Feb 2009, 20:59 pm
#177 carol: now you gone???
9 Feb 2009, 21:00 pm
#178 grant10: Hi there….
#179 grant10: Yes, actually I got both of them. Very funny too…..
9 Feb 2009, 21:00 pm
#178 grant10: Not funny this snowy white stuff, it is snowing again……..getting a bit cheesed off with it now!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:01 pm
#181 carol: cool…found you …wassup?? Good day at work…??
9 Feb 2009, 21:02 pm
Hello
9 Feb 2009, 21:02 pm
#184 grootblousmile: Helllloooooo to you too.
9 Feb 2009, 21:03 pm
#183 grant10: Dull to be honest, e mails and texts the highlight of the day!! Don’t tell the higher management!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:03 pm
#185 carol: Hi, just here briefly… for a while…
9 Feb 2009, 21:04 pm
#184 grootblousmile: Hi Gbs…not long till the big boys rumble!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:04 pm
#187 grootblousmile: Where are you rushing off to Afrikannse Broer?
9 Feb 2009, 21:06 pm
#183 grant10: What have you been up to, saw you hav an incredibly early start!
9 Feb 2009, 21:07 pm
#186 carol: i have quite a day tomorrow…lots of suits…should be fun…blonde writing a text book for grade 3 s …so she is hectic…deadline and all…free lancing and decent cash…tax man was great to me today…wonderful surprise in my bank account!!
#187 grootblousmile: Sharks by how many GBS?
#188 grant10: 4 days… or less…
Damn, salivating at the thought !
#189 carol: I do not want to / cannot work late again…. have been working late nights often in the last while, even on weekends… will keep my late nights for a proper chat….
9 Feb 2009, 21:08 pm
#190 carol: yes…felt like a farmer…up since 4 am…but a good day and a late afternoon swim has me all frisky!
9 Feb 2009, 21:08 pm
#192 carol: Sharks by 8
9 Feb 2009, 21:09 pm
#192 carol: they wish!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:09 pm
#191 grant10: Oh I do like those sort of surprises, does the blonde get taken out again to celebrate?
9 Feb 2009, 21:10 pm
#195 grootblousmile: no ways GBS…Stormers are so up for this one…
9 Feb 2009, 21:11 pm
#198 grant10: I say, Sharks by 8… watch and weep !
#197 carol: for sure…sat nite once we sorted the Sharks and after the bulls have beaten the reds…we will go big!!
#193 grootblousmile: Sounds like a good idea, have to keep home and hearth together…..
9 Feb 2009, 21:12 pm
#199 grootblousmile: ek sal huil ou maat!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:12 pm
#194 grant10: The only farmers that get up that early have stock. My farmer is not an early riser!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:13 pm
# carol: Yeah… need to work less late and chat more… and earlier…
9 Feb 2009, 21:14 pm
#195 grootblousmile: I feel it in my water that Sharks pull this off. Although I want Percy to run about three trys and kick with amazing accuracy to win the match for the Stormers
9 Feb 2009, 21:15 pm
#203 carol: thank your lucky stars…not cool …my tickets being dropped off tomorrow…yeeeeeeeehaaa Are you going to Wales…Eng game??
9 Feb 2009, 21:15 pm
#204 grootblousmile: Sounds like a plan….
9 Feb 2009, 21:16 pm
#205 carol: stop drinking water then dammit…haul out the Chardonnay…quick!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:17 pm
#205 carol: i dont think percy will start…it seems the fiji wing will be okay…and rassie wants him to play badly by all accounts..
9 Feb 2009, 21:18 pm
#206 grant10: WRS has said he will take me out for lunch before he goes to Cardiff ,if Gillies husband wants to to the match on Saturday.
I am quietly seething…….
9 Feb 2009, 21:20 pm
Mr Vodacom in the house. How dare you write off a team with jean, schalk, vermeulen,bekker, mujati@carol. PS: THESE GUYS ARE SUPERSTARS
#208 grant10: Will chardonay help that?
#210 carol: could be the defining fixture of the 6 nations…hope you get to go!
9 Feb 2009, 21:21 pm
#211 Wezwp: tell her Wez…the Stormers will be up for it…just hoping fiji will be fit!
9 Feb 2009, 21:22 pm
#212 carol: does the trick for me!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:22 pm
#209 grant10: So Percy wears 22 again!
9 Feb 2009, 21:23 pm
#215 grant10: Hey you are cheering me up anyway?
9 Feb 2009, 21:23 pm
#211 Wezwp: Hi Wes, I do hope ths Stormers do it…
9 Feb 2009, 21:24 pm
OK folks, that’s it for GBS tonight.
Have a fabulous night….
Have a wonderful day tomorrow….
See yah tomorrow sometime !
#212 carol: although i do prefer windhoek lager…as long as its from the back of the fridge….icy cold!! Damn…hold on…got 2 in the fridge…scuse me while i crack one !!
#213 grant10: However I am not getting my hopes up……
You do realise this could be useful ammunition…..remember I am a woman!!
#219 grootblousmile: cheers my good man!
9 Feb 2009, 21:25 pm
#219 grootblousmile: “Don’t be a stranger”!! Lekkerding ….xx
9 Feb 2009, 21:25 pm
#216 carol: rassie waiting till fri…all depens on fiji…
9 Feb 2009, 21:26 pm
#220 grant10: Hey it is Monday, shall I get a glass of wine…..oh no I see Tassies is back and you know he thinks I am a “Lush”!! lol
9 Feb 2009, 21:26 pm
#217 carol: either make you the happiest lady around or you hate me…story of my life!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:27 pm
We playoff contenders Carol. We definitely can pull this one off, and with the fijian we stand a even better chance. Percy will be a great impact player if he’s not in the starting line up.
9 Feb 2009, 21:27 pm
#221 carol: woman are scary creatures….SCARY!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:28 pm
#224 grant10: How do I work out the Kiwi and Aussie guys by Friday? Your 6 Nations prediction was pretty good by the way!
9 Feb 2009, 21:29 pm
#227 Wezwp: fiji is vital…i want to wait gefore i do the superbru thing to see if he is fit!
9 Feb 2009, 21:30 pm
gefore…LOL..Bloody lager!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:30 pm
#226 grant10: You do seem to get the extremes don’t you…..I am very chilled , really!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:31 pm
#227 Wezwp: Well as long as he is not left warming the bench up for too long…….at that age he needs some action….!!
#228 grant10: But a woman scorned is……..SCARY indeed..
#229 carol: i havent seen the fixtures yet…when in doubt the home team is the route to go….i called the winners but not so good with the scores!
9 Feb 2009, 21:32 pm
#231 grant10: That lager hit the spot pretty quickly didn’t it?
9 Feb 2009, 21:33 pm
#235 grant10: Hec, I said Scotland in a rash moment, have lived to regret that, well me and Skoppie LOL..
9 Feb 2009, 21:34 pm
#232 carol: #234 carol: i have yet to discover a truly chilled female…the moment comes when the territory is marked and the lioness lurks just below the surface,,,gotta write the book!
9 Feb 2009, 21:34 pm
Everyone is tipping the sharks this year. They should be backing us. We came extremely close to finishing above the sharks last year. To come back from 3 successive losses proved that this stormers team have lots of character. The nucleus of the team is still intact, i’ll be surprised if they don’t reach the semi’s.
9 Feb 2009, 21:35 pm
#236 carol: lol#237 carol: no wonder WRS doesent want to take you Sat…bloody hell…Scotland!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:37 pm
#239 Wezwp: i tend to agree with 2 provisos…no tight 5 injuries and we will have to tour well…we have a real **** draw Wez..Sharks will be right there…i do feel they may be underdone this sat though!
9 Feb 2009, 21:37 pm
#238 grant10: I think your book should be called “Fridges I have known”……
You could detail how you have lost all 9 fridges, a sports car and various houses to the women you have known……all I have cost you is a few texts……..a bargin I think!! Will I get a mention in your book?
9 Feb 2009, 21:39 pm
#240 grant10: Scotland looked SO good against the Boks, I thought they might have built on that, or were the Boks just really poor that day?
9 Feb 2009, 21:39 pm
#239 Wezwp: waratahs and crusaders also threats…hurricanes…tough …and dont write off the Bulls!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:40 pm
#244 grant10: don’t write off the Bulls or you will upset GBS, …..you really don’t want to do that!! lol
9 Feb 2009, 21:41 pm
I have just been sent a “blonde joke”, it is bit rude, do you want to hear it?
9 Feb 2009, 21:42 pm
I’m tipping the chiefs for a top 6 finish.
9 Feb 2009, 21:43 pm
#242 carol: #243 carol: My Cotswold temptress…yip, will have a spot for you!! Scotland seem a bit limited…like the way toy worked that prediction out though…shows intellect ! Boks dont normally tour well end of year…2008 a rare if lucky unbeaten excursion north…yes..Alfa Spyder…3 x houses…9 fridges…hell…life has been a roller coaster of note!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:44 pm
Btw well done to Mr Dobson. Looks we in line for another maties, ikeys final.
9 Feb 2009, 21:44 pm
#246 carol: yes…can relay it to a whole lot of ex s !!
9 Feb 2009, 21:48 pm
I’m off to the bbc606 folks will be back shortly. You guy’s should check it out. Those people are hilarious, they could all pass out for stand up comedians.lol
#248 grant10: Will my chapter be entitled “So near yet so far”!!!
Scotland really performed like they were expected too!!
Three houses, blimey…..pick yourself up, dust yourself down and start all over again!!
Grant, I have to admire your stamina…..and to think you are only 46!!
#247 Wezwp: yes…forgot about them! Blues look a little experimental and touring less ali williams, rudi wulf,and a few others so not easy for them…so many permutations…great tournament!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:49 pm
# Wezwp: Wes, if they are English of course they are hilarious…..that is how we are made? What else do you expect?
Ask JimT…
9 Feb 2009, 21:50 pm
#252 carol: started the journey at 22…not so sure its over yet!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:51 pm
I know in the past i said watching nh hemisphere rugby is like watching paint dry but the ireland game was magnificent.
9 Feb 2009, 21:53 pm
#252 carol: only brick n mortar and tyres and steel…cant take the material things with you…its the memories i love!! Hey…gotta go do stuff princess… e mail soon…stay wild and leggy!! Outta here….***
9 Feb 2009, 21:53 pm
OK the blonde joke, if you dont like rude bits look away now…..
Blonde takes her broken car to be repaired, fearing an expensive bill. But the mechanic fixes it in 2 minutes, “nothin serious luv, just sh*t in the air filter.”
She replies “really, how often do I have to do that”………
Actually wondering if I should post this or not……..ummmmmm, oh well here goes..
9 Feb 2009, 21:54 pm
Sorry Roy, tell me off now…….
It was an English blonde and not a South African one!!
9 Feb 2009, 21:54 pm
#256 Wezwp: irish are cool my man…you would of loved my grandad!
9 Feb 2009, 21:55 pm
#258 carol: LOL..you crazy,sexy ,leggy english princess…xx
But their English suck for English of all people.
#255 grant10: Good for you..
#257 grant10: Grant, it has been lovely, yep will mail soon….
Wild and leggy …me…!!! Hehehehe
Night to you XXXXXXX
9 Feb 2009, 21:56 pm
#261 grant10: Cute, thanks ***
9 Feb 2009, 21:57 pm
#262 Wezwp: Wes, could you explain that to me in English please?…..
9 Feb 2009, 22:01 pm
ain’t got all that much to contribute to proceedings thus far so when all else fails just turn to the sage of the 20th century and let him do the talking
Yes, my guard stood hard when abstract threats
Too noble to neglect
Deceived me into thinking
I had something to protect
Good and bad, I define these terms
Quite clear, no doubt, somehow.
Ah, but I was so much older then,
I’m younger than that now.
As to rugby predictions they probably as certain or fickle as a pretty blond standing on the corner
anyway I prefer the dark variety, as they say, beauty is always in the eye of the beholder.
9 Feb 2009, 22:02 pm
I’m surrounded by afrikaners Carol. Those people on 606 take the cake.
9 Feb 2009, 22:08 pm
The Ireland / France game on Saturday was one of the better games of flowing rugby union football I’ve seen for quite sometime and a very good advertisement for the advantages of ElV’s over the staid boring one dimensional crass we were subjected to up to WC 2007
Unfortunately Scotland just like the Bulls haven’t quite got the hang of them yet, so they still believe rugby is about being brave and stupid all at once and running smack bang headlong into the opposition one man at a time and testing ones stupidity and strength both at the same time. A little like Kankowski tried to do against 2 Italian locks from his own 22, stupidity personified.
So until they start to learn that rugby is about quite the opposite, like running into space and not into the man, and offloading after creating spaces between the players and not hospitalizing oneself or ones team mates by concussing yourself like a dolt with no brains, then they will continue to be playing catch up while the other more astute teams who are coached correctly forge ahead with their strategies.
9 Feb 2009, 22:10 pm
I was both astonished and relieved to see a secure line out performance by Wales and Scotland. I hope Ian mcgeechan take note.
9 Feb 2009, 22:16 pm
Just posted a perfectly innocuous post about the vagaries of decent rugby vs stupid rugby, as in Wales, Ireland and France playing clever rugby while Italy, Scotland and the Bulls still play somewhat stupid rugby
And they moderated it for some uncanny reason, even read through it again to find the offensive word and unless d()lt is deemed offensive, then they really getting knit picky around offensive terminology here.
can’t quite make up my mind about England, whether they fall into progressive or regressive rugby category,
I would say Martin Johnson is trying to turn the corner, and I reckon before the year is out he’ll have established the trend on the right track, far better than Mallet or even Jake the d()lt would have achieved with that conglomeration of mixed potentiality.
9 Feb 2009, 22:16 pm
Sadly i could not see what Martin Johnson could do to salvage the situation for England.@ Carol
9 Feb 2009, 22:17 pm
Lions locks should come from Ireland and Wales unless Borthwick is picked for old farts sakes
9 Feb 2009, 22:19 pm
Anyone have any updates on the Maties-UJ game…? Also where one can find the scores for the other games (Tuks v NMMU)?
9 Feb 2009, 22:19 pm
#266 yliad: Thank heavens we dont all chase the same types!! How you skop…you reckon we can put one over the chest beating Sharks…i reckon we will…a lot of them seriously undercooked!
9 Feb 2009, 22:20 pm
This site is still suffering a slow hangover considering the Super 14 kicks off this week.
Usually things would be buzzing by now.
Nope that was not the offensive term, so now I give up, could it possibly be the word crass?
#273 panniepeet: sorry …i dont!
9 Feb 2009, 22:22 pm
What is University of Johannesburg (I’m assuming its a name change)? What is TUT? These institutions weren’t around when I was at university.
9 Feb 2009, 22:22 pm
#276 yliad: huh??#275 wooden spoon: Hi, is a bit quiet hey! Reckon the bulls quiet because they still a bit shell shocked!
9 Feb 2009, 22:23 pm
#265 carol: where you now?
9 Feb 2009, 22:23 pm
#279 grant10: Hello Grant. I predict the Bulls will pull in +-9th this season, just don’t think they have it this year.
9 Feb 2009, 22:26 pm
What approach do you keo bloggers think the stormers should use against the sharkies.
#282 Wezwp: Nothing will help them.
#276 yliad: hey skop… i approved the comment … not sure why it landed up in the mod ques
9 Feb 2009, 22:28 pm
#281 wooden spoon: they seem to have all sorts of internal issues happening, started in George and appears all downhill from there…a real pity…would like to have our big3 competing aggressively and the lions and cheetahs making things difficult for the others…perhaps lions may be the dark horses…stormers waiting for naquelevuki before announcing team…will wait till fri if neccessary!
9 Feb 2009, 22:28 pm
#275 grant10:
I got my hopes up that if we click, and i reckon it’ll come from Grant and the loosies, we can take them on Saturday.
The loose ball and the half back axis is where we can take them, if we can rattle Pienaar and Kockorot and hold our own in the set pieces, line outs should pose no problem, only scrums a big worry, so avoid the set put in and play loose, we could have their number.
Beast, Deysel and Pienaar, Steyn, Terblanche, Jacobs, are their main go to guys
I say if Grant cooks like I know he can with JdV, Bobo and Fiji, and Burger, Louw and Watson do the business with Bekker and Fondse and AJ up front, we can rattle their cage and come up trumps.
9 Feb 2009, 22:29 pm
“chest beating Sharks”. Lol, don’t make me laugh. If anything, the Sharks have gone about their business very quietly, unlike the mob from the south.
#285 grant10: Guess what?
#282 Wezwp: go wide and make the undercooked sharkies like beast ,bissy , tired my man…let fiji take ball off 1 st phase and attack ruans channel!
9 Feb 2009, 22:30 pm
#285 Roy:
cheers Roy – I couldn’t work it out neither
9 Feb 2009, 22:30 pm
#287 wooden spoon: Hi Spooner, got your black and white scarf out?
9 Feb 2009, 22:31 pm
I totally agree with you woodenspoon. What do you make of the Aussie sides this year? My playoff prediction: 1>crusaders 2>waratahs 3>stormers 4>sharks
9 Feb 2009, 22:31 pm
#287 wooden spoon: LOL…i respect and support the sharks 99% of the time…this sat…not a chance!!
9 Feb 2009, 22:32 pm
#266 yliad: What are you trying to tell me Skop?
9 Feb 2009, 22:33 pm
#284 Roy: Sorry about the joke, it just sort of happened!!
#288 carol: Hi…sorted a call quicker than i thought…now about to debate the clash of the titans!
#289 grant10: I thought we had said goodbye!!
#291 carol: Hi Carol. It’s just started snowing again.
A black and white scarf would do very nicely. To be honest, I can’t stand the Sharks’ S14 jersey – it’s grey (supposedly to look like a real shark) – so I won’t be wearing one of those. Oh for the days we only played in black and white!
9 Feb 2009, 22:34 pm
#287 yliad:
Of course Bismark and his new tight head kapitan might have something to contribute to the potential spectacle on Saturday
It will be interesting, does the tight scrum still possess the daunting advantage it used to do as in the old game, or is mobility more of an asset these days, will be a case of the proof will be in the eating after 80 mins. on Saturday.
#278 wooden spoon: UJ is old RAU and TUT is old Technikon Pretoria I think….?
#296 grant10: I won’t distract you then…….but …..something has happened!!
#292 Wezwp: 1. Sharks 2. Canes 3. Chiefs 4. Crusaders
9 Feb 2009, 22:35 pm
i think Fiji crucial for stormers…real blow if he doesent play…the sharks will be concerned at his ability to create from anywhere!
9 Feb 2009, 22:35 pm
I think the Waratahs were head and shoulders above the stormers in last year’s competition.
9 Feb 2009, 22:36 pm
#297 carol: me too…you far too addictive!
9 Feb 2009, 22:36 pm
# carol: what??
9 Feb 2009, 22:37 pm
#298 wooden spoon: Oh is thats why its grey? Mmmmm, so subtle it was lost on me!!………
Did your Sharks have a nice black and white hooped jersey in days gone by?
Snow getting seriously boring now, how Soda Joe puts up with it for so long I will never know!!
#304 Wezwp: Waratahs have lost key players such as Rocky Elsom, David Lyons, Josh Valentine, Dan Vickerman as well as coach Ewen McKenzie.
Plus they are traditionally inconsistent…
#304 Wezwp: waratahs a damn good side as well!
9 Feb 2009, 22:38 pm
#308 wooden spoon: i feel better now!!
9 Feb 2009, 22:38 pm
Lol sharks no1? Don’t be surprised if they don’t qualify for the semi’s. They were damnn lucky to make it last year if it wasn’t for that lacklustre chiefs.
9 Feb 2009, 22:39 pm
j d moller will give j smit a good go sat…and mujati vs beast will be a great contest!
9 Feb 2009, 22:40 pm
#307 carol: Have you got yourself some Stormers gear yet? It pains me to ask
The Sharks traditional jersey is black with a big white band in the middle. They still use it for the Currie Cup.
Stormers on the other hand used to play in a horrible liquorice allsorts outfit (voted one of the worst in history), then they copied the sharks and went black, and now blue. Talk about trying to find an identity!
#306 grant10: See the heading of this thread “TUT feels Tigers wrath”!!! Well the new heading could be “WRS feels CAROL’S wrath”…….My Wales v England ticket has been ripped from my hands…………
I am NOT happy!!
#311 Wezwp: 1 sharks…2 crusaders…3 waratahs….4 stormers
9 Feb 2009, 22:41 pm
#311 Wezwp: I say it because they are my team (and they have a real chance). But in SA rugby, anything can happen, and the Sharks have finished last before so nothing will surprise me!
9 Feb 2009, 22:42 pm
#313 wooden spoon: I did briefly browse the Stormers clothing section……….but figure when Grant takes me to Newlands in June (are you listening to this Grant) I might get one then,… hey I could get Percy to sign it for me too……
9 Feb 2009, 22:43 pm
#295 carol:
Sorry (princess) really not trying to tell anybody anything
I’m a sucker for beauty in what ever shade or form it appears
and that beauty is always in the eye of the beholder, like you reckon Percy is akin to Brad Pitt, and I reckon Angelina is where the beauty is all at.
Strokes for folks as they say in the classics. Like Stormers vs Sharks, as in one mans preference is another mans folly – or something in that line of thinking.
9 Feb 2009, 22:43 pm
#314 carol: really feel for you …take gillie for lunch and have a great party!! And , for the 1 st time ever [ and quite probably the last time bloody ever!! ] I will back the poms!!!
9 Feb 2009, 22:44 pm
#313 wooden spoon: You have to admit you have to go along way to beat “Stade Francais” for horrible rugby tops!!
I always back the Poms against the arrogant little Welsh f *ckers.
#317 carol: yes…i will take you to the stormers shop at newlands and the shark tank in durban…we leave the blonde and WRS at home!!
9 Feb 2009, 22:45 pm
Round 2 results:
Maties 29-14 UJ
Tuks 39 – 20 NMMU
Pukke 27-15 Shimlas
UCT 39-21 TUT
#318 yliad: have to admit Jolie may convert me!!
#320 carol: Shhh, don’t tell anyone, but I grew to quite like their latest “masterpeice” of a jersey.
Perhaps in football though, not rugby.
9 Feb 2009, 22:46 pm
#318 yliad: Another great answer there Skop…..Blondes for Grant, Raven hair for you…….a place for all.
9 Feb 2009, 22:47 pm
#318 yliad: but jolie got no chance,imo, when i see sienna miller…now that is smouldering hot!
9 Feb 2009, 22:48 pm
The waratahs have 17 players in their sqaud who took part in the 2008 super14 final to face the canes this weekend. They are a team that can never be written off. It looks like Scott Fava will be no8 and Kurtley Beale at flyhalf.
9 Feb 2009, 22:48 pm
#319 grant10: Grrrrrrrr, yeah…lunch and shopping..
9 Feb 2009, 22:49 pm
#325 wooden spoon: jeez….you raising a few question mrks about your levels of red bloodedness there my man??
9 Feb 2009, 22:49 pm
#322 grant10: Yeahhhh…..and U2 later!
9 Feb 2009, 22:50 pm
#325 wooden spoon: The signed one, can Sprinbok Sarah see her signature on it?
9 Feb 2009, 22:50 pm
#328 Wezwp: i agree…i almost drowned at newlands in the rain last year when we drew with them…poured!!!!!!!
9 Feb 2009, 22:51 pm
#330 grant10: I eat steak raw and brush my teeth with beer. Nuff said.
9 Feb 2009, 22:51 pm
#331 carol: now you being a girl after my heart…luv the way you think!
9 Feb 2009, 22:53 pm
#334 wooden spoon: jeez…a cheetah supporter…you would be at home at the Mystic Boer…my favorite spot in Free State!
9 Feb 2009, 22:55 pm
#336 grant10: Perhaps with a bit of garlic and pepper sauce, medium rare, with a bottle of red wine to wash it down. That takes me out of the Free State, surely?
OK all, see you around. Cheers.
okay all…now have to run…Princess …be cool…go hug the WRS and tell him you understand…LOL…till later all…go stormers!!!
9 Feb 2009, 22:56 pm
#337 wooden spoon: welcome to the refined Cape Town my good man!
9 Feb 2009, 22:58 pm
#340 grant10: lol, cheers. I guess CT is good for a holiday or two…
Waratah starting line-up against the canes: 1-Benn Robinson 2-Polota.nau 3-Al Baxter 4-Dean Mumm 5-Will Caldwell 6-Ben Mowen 7-Phil Waugh 8-Scott Fava 9-Luke Burgess 10-Kurtley Beale 11-LoteTuiquiri 12-Tahu 13-Rob Horne 14-LachieTurner 15-Sam Norton Knight@ woodenspoon
#339 grant10: Hug him, you have got to be joking…….I am cross
9 Feb 2009, 22:59 pm
#338 wooden spoon: See you Spooner X
9 Feb 2009, 23:00 pm
#328 grant10:
Plenty of smoldering hot beauties all over this planet, far too many for my mind to cope with, but in the end its as simple as ashes become ashes and dust becomes dust, so where you reckon all that beauty resides after that fading illusion disappears over the horizon? Back to the eye of the beholder – thats where.
Who’s coaching Waratahs after Mckenzie?
They were a class side last year only eclipsed by the consistency of Deans’ Crusaders
Tahs, Brumbies, Canes, Chiefs, Saders, Sharks, Stormers, to probably battle out for the top 4 not necessarily in that order
Reds, Blues, Lions, Cheetahs, Bulls, Highlanders, Force not necessarily in that order to battle it out for the lower places
I’m off too, got to go and pout a bit and crash about……
As you so delicately put it woodenspoon “nuff said”.
9 Feb 2009, 23:03 pm
Waratahs head coach: Chris Hickey
9 Feb 2009, 23:12 pm
Having said that I wouldn’t be all that surprised if Lions and Bulls still have decent seasons this year and provide some surprises of their own over other fancied teams.
I reckon Robbie Deans is right, SA teams have enormous amount of depth of talent coming through, only problem is our coaching still has a huge gulf to catch up, once they can recognize and develop all that talent available then we could become real forces to be reckoned with in this competition.
The other issue is the competition is too thinly spread across the 14 teams, reduce it to 4 from NZ, 4 from SA, and 3 from Aus, and 1 from Pacific Islands combined and one would get the ultimate competitive results.